了解网络攻击以及如何防范

IBM Services

网络攻击是什么?

网络攻击是指通过恶意软件蓄意不当利用计算机系统和网络来破坏数据或禁用操作。网络攻击会导致诸如信息盗窃、欺诈和勒索软件骗局之类的网络犯罪。 

常见的网络攻击类型

恶意软件是流氓软件。它是网络攻击的主要武器,包括病毒、蠕虫、木马、勒索软件、广告软件、间谍软件机器人、错误和 Rootkit。它会在用户单击链接或采取操作时进行安装。在内部,恶意软件会阻止对数据和程序的访问,窃取信息并使系统无法运行。

勒索软件是一种通过威胁发布敏感信息或锁定用户直到支付赎金来勒索受害者的恶意软件,通常以比特币之类的加密货币来支付。IBM 估计,2017 年,全球勒索软件攻击给公司造成的损失超过 USD 80 亿美元。

网络钓鱼通常使用来源看似可信或声誉良好的电子邮件。毫无戒心的用户会打开电子邮件,并采取进一步的措施,例如,提供受保护的信息或下载恶意软件。

中间人攻击会介入两个通信方之间,以便访问和窃取数据,例如,介入到用户与公共 Wi-Fi 集线器之间。

拒绝服务 (DoS) 攻击会用泛滥的流量来淹没系统,消耗资源和带宽,并使它们无法执行。

SQL 注入是结构化查询语言的缩写。这些攻击将恶意软件安装在服务器上,并查询服务器以揭示受保护的信息。

零时差攻击通过软件或系统的制造商或用户未知的漏洞引入恶意软件。它是“零时差”的,因为开发人员根本没有时间来解决或修补漏洞。

网络攻击通过欺诈或勒索(如勒索软件)等犯罪手段来牟取经济利益。在某些情况下,蓄意破坏或报仇是其触发因素。比如,心怀不满的员工可能会因此而发起攻击。网络攻击还具有政治意义,并用于网络战。

网络攻击并非总是源自组织外部。“在 2018 年黑帽大会上,白帽暗网专业人士认为,许多黑客似乎都是经过认证的专业人员,他们充当可信赖的定时炸弹,并且已经渗透到大多数组织中。”ITBizAdvisor这样表示。⁽³⁾

 

资源

贵企业能否安然度过数字化转型这一关?

IDC 解释了数字化转型如何为网络攻击制造了更大的漏洞,以及网络安全永续如何提供帮助。

观看企业能否在数字化转型中生存下来视频 (02:16)

 

网络攻击为何值得注意?

网络攻击给企业带来的成本及其产生的后果(如数据泄露)是毁灭性的。据 Ponemon Institute 2018 年的数据泄露成本调研结果显示,数据泄露的平均总成本为 USD 386 万美元。⁽⁴⁾

网络攻击不仅会导致金钱上的巨大损失,还会……]

  • 损害品牌和声誉
  • 影响甚至是大幅降低客户忠诚度
  • 导致丧失知识产权
  • 让公司破产
  • 招来监管处罚
  • 危害政府和国家安全
  • 增加未来遭受攻击的可能性

 

预防网络攻击可以为组织节省大量资金,避免诸多麻烦,但这可能并不是一种可行之计。IBM 认为,攻击只是时间早晚的问题,而不是发生与否的问题。⁽⁵⁾ 思科前 CEO John Chambers 曾说:“公司目前可分为两类:已被黑客攻击的公司和尚不知道自己已被黑客攻击的公司。”⁽²⁾

现实中的数字证实了这一观点。2017 年,网络安全事件翻了一番,⁽⁶⁾ 公开披露事件泄露的记录数超过 29 亿条。⁽¹⁾

Ponemon Institute 2018 年数据泄露成本调研了解数据泄露产生的后果和影响。

Ponemon Institute 对全球超过 477 家企业开展的调研按行业和国家或地区分门别类,详细罗列了数据泄露的成本和影响。

阅读调研报告

有效响应网络攻击的主要功能

鉴于网络攻击的普遍性(如果并非不可避免的话),组织需要做到响应和预防并重。IDC 的 IT 分析师指出:“随着企业采用新技术,其保护策略必须加以改变以跟上发展步伐。这些策略必须包含更强大、更多样化的安全机制,同时还必须包括一旦发生泄露或事件时快速恢复的方法。”⁽⁷⁾

很多组织都在采用网络安全永续方法来确保防患于未然以及快速恢复。

网络安全永续包括数据保护灾难恢复以及业务连续性和灾备实践。它将上述实践与先进的技术相结合,进而评估风险,保护应用和数据,并在网络攻击期间及攻击之后快速恢复。IBM 与 IDC 的观点一致,认为网络安全永续生命周期涵盖五个要点:

识别风险和漏洞 - 动态分析 (DAST)、静态分析 (SAST) 和开源测试可帮助确定业务关键型应用和相关风险。根据业务连续性和灾难恢复准备情况评估运营中断对业务的潜在影响。

保护应用和数据 - 目标是在利用应用和数据之前就对它们加以保护。气隙技术 - 以自动防故障形式在物理上隔离数据 - 是一种保护备份数据免遭感染的有效方法,尤其是防范会快速遍历并感染互联系统的恶意软件。

检测数据损坏和配置异常 - 组织纷纷在寻找自动化测试功能,用于检测数据和系统配置文件中的更改,而不会中断业务系统。

响应配置和数据更改 - 需要快速处理未经授权的配置和数据更改。通过仪表板技术可以实时查看存在的漏洞,并快速予以响应,乃至采取预防性措施。

恢复对关键应用和数据的访问 - 如果遭受攻击,那么必须通过气隙备份快速恢复关键业务型应用和数据。自动化和编排技术使用预先确定的工作流程,一键式恢复整个业务流程、应用、数据库或离散系统。

 

资源

IDC:支持网络安全永续框架的五大关键技术

通过网络安全永续战略,考虑如何利用数字化转型来打破传统保护措施的桎梏。发现以可控、可度量的方式减轻风险和支持恢复的实践与技术。

阅读网络安全永续白皮书

 

案例研究

观看并了解数据保护

发现可帮助保护企业最宝贵资产的服务。

观看连续备份即服务视频 (01:22)

 

观看并了解灾难恢复

系统已关闭。在几分钟甚至是几秒钟内恢复正常运行。

观看连续灾备即服务视频 (03:10)

 

观看并了解业务连续性和灾备

面对人为错误、病毒等,仍保持正常运转。

观看业务连续性及灾备服务概述视频 (02:24)

 

产品服务

网络业务连续性服务

业务连续性服务

数据备份与保护服务

 

来源

1. IBM X-Force Threat Intelligence Index 2018,IBM Security,2018 年 3 月 (PDF, 3 MB)

2. What Are The Most Common Cyberattacks?Cisco, Systems, Inc.

3. Business resiliency boot camp – part I: The evolving cyber-threat landscape,Anyck Turgeon,ITBizAdvisor,2018 年 9 月 26 日

4.  2018 Cost of a Data Breach Study: Global Overview,Ponemon Institute,2018 年 7 月

5. IBM Resiliency Orchestration with Cyber Incident Recovery,IBM Corporation,2018 年 8 月

6. Cybersecurity Incidents Doubled in 2017, Study Finds,SecurityIntelligence,2018 年 1 月 30 日

7. Five Key Technologies for Enabling a Cyber Resilience Framework,Phil Goodwin 和 Sean Pike,IDC,2018 年 6 月

Learn about cyber attacks and how to defend against them

By IBM Watson Health

What is a cyber attack?

A cyber attack is deliberate exploitation of computer systems and networks using malicious software (malware) to compromise data or disable operations. Cyber attacks enable cyber-crimes like information theft, fraud and ransomware schemes.

 

Common types of cyber attacks

Malware is malicious software. It’s the chief weapon of a cyber attack and includes viruses, worms, trojans, ransomware, adware, spyware bots, bugs and rootkits. It installs when a user clicks a link or takes an action. When inside, malware can block access to data and programs, steal information and make systems inoperable.

Ransomware is malware used to blackmail victims by threatening to publish sensitive information or locking users out until a ransom is paid — often in cryptocurrency such as Bitcoin. IBM estimates ransomware attacks cost companies more than $8 billion globally in 2017.⁽¹⁾

Phishing typically uses email that appears to be from a trusted or reputable source. Unsuspecting users open the email and take further actions like providing protected information or downloading malware.

Man-in-the-Middle attacks get between two communicating parties to access and steal data — getting in between a user and a public Wi-Fi hub for example.

Denial-of-service (DoS) attacks inundate systems with traffic to consume resources and bandwidth and make them unable to perform.

SQL injection is short for Structured Query Language. These attacks install malware on servers and query the server to reveal protected information.

Zero-day exploits introduce malware through vulnerabilities unknown to the maker or user of software or systems. It is “zero-day” because developers have had zero-time to address or patch the vulnerability.⁽²⁾

Cyber attacks are perpetrated for financial gain through crimes like fraud or extortion, as with ransomware. There are cases where sabotage or revenge are factors. Think disgruntled employee. Cyber attacks also have a political dimension and are used in cyber-warfare.

Cyber attacks don’t always originate outside organizations. “According to white hat Dark Web professionals at Black Hat 2018, it appears that many hackers are certified professionals who operate as trusted time bombs and have already penetrated most organizations,” said ITBizAdvisor: ⁽³⁾

 

Resources

Can your business survive digital transformation?

IDC explains how digital transformation creates greater vulnerability for cyber-attacks and how cyber resilience can help.

View the video.

 

Why are cyber attacks significant?

The cost to businesses from cyber attacks and their consequences, such as data breaches, are devastating. According to the 2018 Cost of a Data Breach Study by Ponemon Institute, the average total cost of a data breach is $3.86 million.⁽⁴⁾

It’s more than dollars and cents. Cyber attacks can also…

  • Damage brands and reputations
  • Erode and even decimate customer loyalty
  • Result in loss of intellectual property
  • Put companies out of business
  • Invite regulatory penalties
  • Impair security for governments and states
  • Increase potential for future attacks

 

Preventing cyber attacks would save organizations a lot of money and trouble, however, this may not be a practical approach. IBM contends that attacks are a matter of “when” not “if.”⁽⁵⁾ Former Cisco CEO John Chambers said, “There are two types of companies: those that have been hacked, and those who don’t yet know they have been hacked.” ⁽²⁾

The numbers bear out this perspective. Cybersecurity incidents doubled in 2017⁽⁶⁾ and more than 2.9 billion records were leaked from publicly disclosed incidents.⁽¹⁾

2018 Cost of Data Breach Study by the Ponemon Institute Understand the implications and effects of a data breach.

Ponemon Institute's study of over 477 organizations around the globe details costs and impact of data breaches, with breakdowns by industry and country.

Read the study.

Key features of an effective response to cyber attacks

Given the prevalence, if not inevitability, of cyber attacks, organizations need to address response as much as prevention. IT analyst IDC notes that “as businesses adopt new technologies, their protection strategies must change to keep pace. These strategies must include stronger and more varied security mechanisms, but they must also include ways to recover quickly should a breach or an incident occur.”⁽⁷⁾

Organizations are adopting an approach of cyber resilience to gain this position of preventive security and rapid recovery.

Cyber resilience encompasses data protection, disaster recovery and business continuity and resiliency practices. It combines them with advanced technologies to assess risks, protect applications and data, and recover rapidly during and after a cyber attack. IBM, aligning with the IDC view, has identified a five-point, cyber resilience lifecycle:

Identify risks and vulnerabilities – Dynamic analysis (DAST), static analysis (SAST) and open source testing can help pinpoint business-critical applications and associated risks. Potential business impact of disruption is assessed against business continuity and disaster recovery readiness.

Protect applications and data – The goal is to safeguard applications and data before they are leveraged. Air gapping — physically separating data as a fail-safe — is an effective way to secure back-up data from infection, particularly against malware that can rapidly traverse and infect connected systems.

Detect data corruption and configuration anomalies – Organizations are looking to automated testing capabilities to detect changes in data and system configuration files, without disrupting business systems.

Respond to changes in configuration and data – Unauthorized changes in configurations and data need to be rapidly addressed. Dashboard technologies can provide real-time visibility into open vulnerabilities and enable rapid, if not preventive, response.

Recover access to critical applications and data – Should an attack be sustained, mission-critical applications and data (from air-gapped backup) must be restored rapidly. Automation and orchestration technologies use pre-determined workflows to restore an entire business process, application, database or discrete system with the click of a button.

 

Resources

IDC: Five key technologies for enabling a cyber resilience framework

A cyber resilience strategy considers how digital transformation breaks down the traditional safeguards. Discover practices and technologies to mitigate risks and support recovery in a controlled, measurable way.

Read the white paper

 

Case Studies

Watch and learn about data protection

Discover services to help protect a business’s most valuable asset.

Watch the video (YouTube;  01:21)

 

Watch and learn about disaster recovery

The system is down. Get back up and running in minutes — maybe seconds.

Watch the video (YouTube; 03:21)

 

Watch and learn about business continuity and resiliency

Stay up and running in the face of human error, viruses and more.

Watch the video (YouTube;  02:23)

 

Blogs

ITBizAdvisor

Find the latest analysis and insight from top IT business continuity and resiliency experts and leaders.

Visit the site

 

Offerings

Cyber Resilience Services

Business Resiliency Services

Data Backup and Protection Services

 

Sources

1. IBM X-Force Threat Intelligence Index 2018, IBM Security, March 2018

2. What Are The Most Common Cyberattacks? Cisco, Systems, Inc.

3. Business resiliency boot camp – part I: The evolving cyber-threat landscape, Anyck Turgeon, ITBizAdvisor, September 26, 2018.

4. 2018 Cost of a Data Breach Study: Global Overview, Ponemon Institute, July 2018

5. IBM Resiliency Orchestration with Cyber Incident Recovery, IBM Corporation, August 2018

6. Cybersecurity Incidents Doubled in 2017, Study Finds, SecurityIntelligence, January 30, 2018

7. Five Key Technologies for Enabling a Cyber Resilience Framework, Phil Goodwin, Sean Pike, IDC, June 2018