在网络威胁态势日新月异的环境中,时间就是金钱

防止数据泄露最好的方法是了解其背后的原因。 《数据泄露成本报告》现已进入第 17 个年头,2022 年的报告就不断扩大的网络威胁态势提供了最新洞见,并就如何减少响应时间和降低损失提供了建议。

对 83% 的企业而言,他们关注的焦点已不在于数据泄露是否会发生,而在于何时发生。 且他们遭遇的数据泄露通常不止一次。 面对网络威胁,检测、响应和恢复的速度越快,效果就越好。 在部署了 AI 和自动化的企业中,数据泄露周期比未部署的企业缩短了 74 天,平均节省 300 万美元的成本。

*本网站所示金额均以“万美元”为单位

区域(全球)洞见

美国的数据泄露成本是全球平均水平的两倍多

美国连续第 12 年成为数据泄露成本最高的国家,比全球平均水平高出 509 万美元。

944 万美元

美国数据泄露的平均成本

435 万美元

全球数据泄露的平均总成本

行业洞见

医疗保健行业是重灾区

自 2020 年以来,医疗保健行业的数据泄露成本上升了 42%。 医疗保健行业已连续 12 年成为数据泄露平均成本最高的行业。

1,010 万美元

医疗保健行业数据泄露的平均总成本

初始攻击媒介

因凭证被盗或泄露而造成的数据泄露成本十分高昂

使用被盗或泄露的凭证不仅是造成数据泄露的最常见原因,而且发现此类问题所需的时间也最长,其生命周期达 327 天。 这种攻击媒介最终造成的损失比数据泄露的平均成本高 15 万美元。

生命周期

说到数据泄露,节省时间就是节省成本

2022 年,发现并遏制一次泄露事件平均需要 277 天,即大约 9 个月的时间。 将发现和遏制数据泄露的时间缩短到 200 天或更短,可以节省成本。

112 万美元

在 200 天或更短时间内遏制数据泄露平均所节省的成本

关键成本因素

勒索软件攻击数量增加,破坏性攻击成本增加

去年,由勒索软件引起的数据泄漏比例增长了 41%,识别和遏制所需的时间比平均时间长 49 天。 此外,破坏性攻击成本增幅超 43 万美元。

454 万美元

勒索软件攻击导致的平均成本

512 万美元

破坏性攻击导致的平均成本

成本节省

部署 AI 和自动化可最大限度地节省成本

全面部署 AI 和自动化程序的企业能够比未部署的组织早 28 天发现并遏制漏洞,由此节省的成本达 305 万美元。 不过,并非只有全面部署才有效果。 部分部署 AI 和自动化的企业,其状况也要优于未部署的企业。

云漏洞

近一半的数据泄露发生在云端

虽然 45% 的数据泄露发生在云端,但与采用公共或私有云模式的企业相比,采用混合云模式的企业平均数据泄露成本更低,仅 380 万美元。

424 万美元

采用私有云的企业的平均数据泄露成本

502 万美元

采用公有云的企业的平均数据泄露成本

事件响应

制定事件响应计划后, 您还需进行测试。

制定事件响应 (IR) 计划只是第一步。 定期测试该计划有助于主动识别网络安全中的薄弱之处并加强防御。 更重要的是,此举还有助于降低数百万美元的数据泄露成本。

266 万美元

没有 IR 团队或未对计划进行测试的企业与拥有 IR 团队且由该团队对计划进行了测试的企业所节省的平均泄露成本

后续步骤

In an evolving threat landscape, time is money

The best way to prevent a data breach is to understand why it’s happening. Now in its 17th year, the 2022 Cost of a Data Breach report shares the latest insights into the expanding threat landscape and offers recommendations for how to save time and limit losses.

For 83% of companies, it’s not if a data breach will happen, but when. Usually more than once. When detecting, responding to and recovering from threats, faster is better. Organizations using AI and automation had a 74-day shorter breach lifecycle and saved an average of USD 3 million more than those without.

Regional (global) insights

A data breach in the US costs over twice the global average

For the 12th year in a row, the United States holds the title for the highest cost of a data breach, USD 5.09 million more than the global average.

$9.44M

Average cost of a data breach in the United States

$4.35M

Global average total cost of a data breach

Industry insights

Healthcare gets hit hard

The cost of a breach in the healthcare industry went up 42% since 2020. For the 12th year in a row, healthcare had the highest average data breach cost of any industry.

$10.10M

Average total cost of a breach in the healthcare industry

Initial attack vectors

Stolen or compromised credentials are costly

Stolen or compromised credentials were not only the most common cause of a data breach, but at 327 days, took the longest time to identify. This attack vector ended up costing USD 150,000 more than the average cost of a data breach.

Lifecycle

Days saved are dollars saved when it comes to a data breach

In 2022, it took an average of 277 days—about 9 months—to identify and contain a breach. Shortening the time it takes to identify and contain a data breach to 200 days or less can save money.

$1.12M

Average savings of containing a data breach in 200 days or less

Key cost factors

Ransomware attacks grew and destructive attacks got costlier

The share of breaches caused by ransomware grew 41% in the last year and took 49 days longer than average to identify and contain. Additionally, destructive attacks increased in cost by over USD 430,000.

$4.54M

Average cost of a ransomware attack

$5.12M

Average cost of a destructive attack

Cost savings

AI and automation offer the biggest savings

Organizations that had a fully deployed AI and automation program were able to identify and contain a breach 28 days faster than those that didn’t, saving USD 3.05 million in costs. However, it’s not all or nothing. Organizations with a partially deployed AI and automation program fared significantly better than those without.

Nearly half of all data breaches happen in the cloud

While 45% of breaches occurred in the cloud, organizations with a hybrid cloud model had lower average data breach costs—USD 3.80 million—compared to organizations with a public or private cloud model.

$4.24M

Average data breach cost in organizations with private clouds

$5.02M

Average data breach cost in organizations with public clouds

Incident response

Don’t just make an incident response plan. Test it.

Having an incident response (IR) plan is only the first step. Testing that plan regularly can help you proactively identify weaknesses in your cybersecurity and shore up your defenses. Not to mention you can save millions in data breach costs.

$2.66M

Average breach cost savings at organizations with an IR team that tested their plan versus those who didn’t

Next steps