Docker

menu icon

Docker

Docker 是一个开源平台,用于构建、部署和管理容器化应用程序。 了解容器、它们与虚拟机的区别,以及 Docker 应用如此之广的原因。

什么是 Docker?

Docker 是一个开源的容器化平台。 开发人员可使用 Docker 将应用程序打包到容器中;容器是标准化的可执行组件,可以将应用程序源代码与在任何环境中运行该代码所需的操作系统 (OS) 库和依赖项相结合。 容器简化了分布式应用程序的交付,并且随着组织转向云原生开发和混合多云环境而变得越来越流行。

开发人员可以在不使用 Docker 平台的情况下创建容器,但该平台可以使构建、部署和管理容器的过程变得更便捷且更安全。 Docker 本质上是一个工具包,支持开发人员通过单个 API,使用简单的命令和省力的自动化技术来构建、部署、运行、更新和停止容器。

Docker 可以指代 Docker, Inc.(链接位于 IBM 外部),这是销售商业版 Docker 的公司,也可以指代 Docker 开源项目(链接位于 IBM 外部),Docker, Inc. 及许多其他组织和个人都为此项目做出了贡献 。

容器如何工作以及容器为何如此受欢迎

容器是通过 Linux 内核中内置的过程隔离和虚拟化功能来实现。 这些功能 - 例如 控制组(即 Cgroup,用于在进程之间分配资源)以及名称空间(用于限制进程访问或系统的其他资源或区域的可视性)- 使多个应用程序组件能够共享主机操作系统的单个实例的资源,这与管理程序使多个虚拟机 (VM) 共享单个硬件服务器的 CPU、内存和其他资源的方式大致相同。

因此,容器技术不仅提供了虚拟机的所有功能和优势(包括应用程序隔离、经济高效的可扩展性和可处置性), 而且还提供了其他的重要优势:

  • 更轻巧:与虚拟机不同,容器不会承载整个操作系统实例和管理程序的有效负载; 它们仅包括执行代码所需的操作系统进程和依赖项。 容器大小以兆字节为单位(某些虚拟机则是以千兆字节为单位),因此它们可以更好地利用硬件容量,并具有更快的启动时间。
  • 提高资源效率:在同一硬件上使用容器运行的应用程序副本数是使用虚拟机时的数倍。 这可以减少云支出。
  • 提高开发人员工作效率:与虚拟机相比,容器的部署、配置和重启过程更快且更简单。 这使得容器非常适合在持续集成持续交付 (CI/CD) 管道中使用,并且更适合采取敏捷和 DevOps 实践的开发团队。

使用容器的公司还报告了一些其他好处,包括提高应用程序质量、更快地应对市场变化等等。 了解有关此交互式工具的更多信息:

下载完整报告:企业中的容器 (PDF, 1.4MB)

为何选择使用 Docker?

Docker 目前非常受欢迎,以至于“Docker”和“容器”可以互换使用。 但是在 2013 年 Docker 面世之前,与容器相关的首批技术已经出现了数年甚至是数十年(链接位于 IBM 外部)之久。

最值得注意的是,在 2008 年,Linux 内核中实现了 LinuXContainers (LXC),LXC 完全支持单个 Linux 实例的虚拟化。 虽然目前仍在使用 LXC,但却提供了使用 Linux 内核的新技术。现代的开源 Linux 操作系统 Ubuntu 也提供了此功能。

Docker 通过以下技术增强了本机 Linux 容器化功能:

  • 增强的无缝可移植性:虽然 LXC 容器通常引用特定于机器的配置,但 Docker 容器无需修改即可在任何桌面、数据中心和云环境中运行。
  • 更轻巧且更精细的更新:使用 LXC,可以在单个容器中组合多个进程。 对于 Docker 容器,每个容器中只能运行一个进程。 这样就可以构建如下应用程序:在其中一个部分关闭以进行更新或修复时可以继续运行的应用程序。
  • 自动创建容器:Docker 可以根据应用程序源代码自动构建容器。
  • 容器版本控制:Docker 可以跟踪容器映像的版本,回滚到先前的版本,以及跟踪版本的构建者和构建方式。 它甚至可以只上载现有版本和新版本之间的变更内容。
  • 容器复用:现有容器可用作基本映像(本质上类似于用于构建新容器的模板)。
  • 共享容器库:开发人员可以访问包含数千个用户贡献的容器的开源注册表。

如今,Docker 容器化也适用于 Microsoft Windows 服务器。 大多数云提供商都提供了一些专用服务,这些服务可帮助开发人员构建、交付和运行使用 Docker 进行容器化的应用程序。

由于这些原因,Docker 迅速被采用并且其采用量持续激增。 在撰写本文时,Docker Inc. 报告每月有 1100 万开发人员和 130 亿次容器映像下载(链接位于 IBM 外部)。

Docker 工具和术语

使用 Docker 时,您会遇到以下工具和术语:

DockerFile

每个 Docker 容器都从一个简单的文本文件开始,其中包含有关如何构建 Docker 容器映像的指示信息。DockerFile 将自动执行 Docker 映像创建过程。 它本质上是一个命令行界面 (CLI) 指令列表,Docker 引擎将运行这些指令来组装映像。

Docker 映像

Docker 映像包含可执行的应用程序源代码以及在将应用程序代码作为容器运行时所需的所有工具、库和依赖项。 当运行 Docker 映像时,它会成为容器的一个(或多个)实例。

虽然可以从头开始构建 Docker 映像,但大多数开发人员都是从公共存储库中提取 Docker 映像。 可以通过一个基本映像来创建多个 Docker 映像,并且它们将共享一个公共堆栈。

Docker 映像由组成,每个层对应于该映像的一个版本。 每当开发人员对映像进行更改时,都会创建一个新的顶层,该顶层将替换之前的顶层作为映像的当前版本。 之前的层会被保存下来,以便执行回滚或在其他项目中进行复用。

每次通过 Docker 映像创建容器时,都会创建另一个称为“容器层”的新层。 对容器所做的更改(例如添加或删除文件)仅保存到容器层中,并且仅在容器运行时才会出现。 这种迭代式映像创建过程可以提高整体效率,因为可以仅从一个基本映像中运行多个实时的容器实例,如果这样做,这些实例将使用一个公共堆栈。

Docker 容器

Docker 容器是实时运行的 Docker 映像实例。 Docker 映像是只读文件,而容器是实时的瞬态可执行内容。 用户可以与它们进行交互,管理员可以使用 docker 命令调整其设置和条件。

Docker Hub

Docker Hub(链接位于 IBM 外部)是 Docker 映像的公共存储库,自称为“世界上最大的容器映像库和社区”。它拥有超过 100,000 个来自商业软件供应商、开源项目和个人开发人员的容器映像。 它包括由 Docker, Inc. 生成的映像、属于 Docker Trusted Registry 的经过认证的映像以及成千上万的其他映像。

所有 Docker Hub 用户都可以随意共享其映像。 他们还可以从 Docker 文件系统下载预定义的基础映像,用作任何容器化项目的起点。

Docker 守护程序

Docker 守护程序是在操作系统上运行的服务,例如 Microsoft Windows、Apple MacOS 或 iOS。 此服务使用来自客户机的命令为您创建和管理 Docker 映像,充当 Docker 实现的控制中心。

Docker 注册表

Docker 注册表是一个用于 Docker 映像的可扩展开源存储和分发系统。 此注册表使您可以使用标记进行标识来跟踪存储库中的映像版本。 可使用 git 版本控制工具来完成此操作。

Docker 部署和编排

如果您只运行几个容器,那么在 Docker Engine(行业实际使用的运行时)中管理应用程序将相当简单。 但是,如果您的部署包含数千个容器和数百个服务,在没有这些专用工具的帮助下,您几乎不可能管理该工作流程。

Docker Compose

如果您正在使用位于同一主机上的多个容器中的进程来构建应用程序,那么可以使用 Docker Compose 来管理应用程序的架构。Docker Compose 将创建一个 YAML 文件来指定应用程序中要包含的服务,并且可以使用单个命令来部署和运行容器。 使用 Docker Compose,您还可以定义用于存储的持久卷、指定基本节点以及记录和配置服务依赖项。

Kubernetes

要在更复杂的环境中监视和管理容器生命周期,您需要转为使用容器编排工具。 虽然 Docker 提供了自己的编排工具(称为 Docker Swarm),但大多数开发人员还是会选择 Kubernetes

Kubernetes 是一个开源的容器编排平台,源自为 Google 内部使用而开发的项目。Kubernetes 可调度和自动执行对于基于容器的架构管理而言不可或缺的任务,包括容器部署、更新、服务发现、存储配置、负载均衡、运行状况监控等。 此外,Kubernetes 工具的开源生态系统(包括 IstioKnative)使组织能够为容器化应用程序部署高生产力的 Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS),并更快地进入无服务器计算时代。

要更深入地了解 Kubernetes,请观看视频“Kubernetes 解释”:

Kubernetes 解释 (10:59)

Docker 和 IBM Cloud

企业容器平台可提供跨多个公共云和私有云的编排,将您的环境统一起来以提高业务绩效和运营绩效。 它是开放式混合云战略的关键组成部分,可让您避免供应商锁定、随时随地以一致的方式构建和运行工作负载,以及优化所有 IT 并将其现代化

采取下一步行动:

  • 使用 Red Hat OpenShift on IBM Cloud 部署高度可用、完全托管的 Kubernetes 集群;Red Hat OpenShift on IBM Cloud 是一项托管的 OpenShift 服务,利用 IBM Cloud 的企业规模和安全性来自动执行更新、扩展和配置任务。
  • 使用 IBM Cloud Satellite(一种托管的分布式云解决方案)跨本地、边缘计算和公共云环境部署和运行来自任何供应商的应用程序
  • 通过使用 IBM 混合云存储解决方案跨本地和公共云环境无缝部署支持容器的企业存储,以简化和整合您的数据湖
  • 使用 IBM Cloud 托管服务来简化复杂的混合 IT 管理。

立即开始使用 IBM Cloud 帐户

By: IBM Cloud Education

Docker is an open source platform for building, deploying, and managing containerized applications. Learn about containers, how they compare to VMs, and why Docker is so widely adopted and used.

What is Docker?

Docker is an open source containerization platform. Docker enables developers to package applications into containers—standardized executable components that combine application source code with all the operating system (OS) libraries and dependencies required to run the code in any environment.

While developers can create containers without Docker, Docker makes it easier, simpler, and safer to build, deploy, and manage containers. It’s essentially a toolkit that enables developers to build, deploy, run, update, and stop containers using simple commands and work-saving automation.

Docker also refers to Docker, Inc., the company that sells the commercial version of Docker, and to the Docker open source project, to which Docker Inc. and many other organizations and individuals contribute.

Why use containers?

Containers are made possible by operating system (OS) process isolation and virtualization, which enable multiple application components to share the resources of a single instance of an OS kernel in much the same way that machine virtualization enables multiple virtual machines (VMs) to share the resources of a single hardware server.

Containers offer all the benefits of VMs, including application isolation, cost-effective scalability, and disposability. But the additional layer of abstraction (at the OS level) offers important additional advantages:

  • Lighter weight: Unlike VMs, containers don’t carry the payload of an entire OS instance—they include only the OS processes and dependencies necessary to execute the code.
  • Greater resource efficiency: With containers, you can run several times as many copies of an application on the same hardware as you can using VMs. This can reduce your cloud spending.
  • Improved developer productivity: Compared to VMs, containers are faster and easier to deploy, provision, and restart. This makes them ideal for use in continuous integration and continuous delivery (CI/CD) pipelines and a better fit for development teams adopting Agile and DevOps practices.

Learn more about containerization and how containers compare to VMs in our video “Containerization Explained”:

Why use Docker?

Docker is so popular today that ‘Docker’ and ‘containers’ are used interchangeably, but the first container-related technologies were available for years—even decades—before Docker was released to the public in 2013. Most notably, in 2008, LXC (for LinuX Containers) was implemented in the Linux kernel, fully enabling virtualization for a single instance of Linux.

The first versions of Docker leveraged LXC exclusively, but Docker soon developed its own custom containerization technology that enabled the following:

  • Improved—and seamless—portability: While LXC containers often reference machine-specific configurations, Docker containers run without modification across any desktop, data center, and cloud environment.
  • Even lighter weight and more granular updates: With LXC, multiple processes can be combined within a single container. With Docker containers, only one process can run in each container. This makes it possible to build an application that can continue running while one of its parts is taken down for an update or repair.
  • Automated container creation: Docker can automatically build a container based on application source code.
  • Container versioning: Docker can track versions of a container image, roll back to previous versions, and trace who built a version and how. It can even upload only the deltas between an existing version and a new one.
  • Container reuse: Existing containers can be used as base images—essentially like templates for building new containers.
  • Shared container libraries: Developers can access an open-source registry containing thousands of user-contributed containers.

For these reasons, Docker adoption quickly exploded and continues to surge. At this writing, Docker Inc. reports 105 billion container downloads—up from 50 billion just one year ago—and more than 750 enterprise Docker customers.

Docker tools and terms

Some of the tools and terminology you’ll encounter when using Docker include the following:

DockerFile

Every Docker container starts with a simple text file containing instructions for how to build the Docker container image. DockerFile automates the process of Docker image creation. It’s essentially a list of commands that Docker Engine will run in order to assemble the image.

Docker images

Docker images contain executable application source code as well as all the tools, libraries, and dependencies that the application code needs to run as a container. When you run the Docker image, it becomes one instance (or multiple instances) of the container.

It’s possible to build a Docker image from scratch, but most developers pull them down from common repositories. Multiple Docker images can be created from a single base image, and they’ll share the commonalities of their stack.

Docker images are made up of layers, and each layer corresponds to a version of the image. Whenever a developer makes changes to the image, a new top layer is created, and this top layer replaces the previous top layer as the current version of the image. Previous layers are saved for rollbacks or to be re-used in other projects.

Each time a container is created from a Docker image, yet another new layer called the container layer is created. Changes made to the container—such as the addition or deletion of files—are saved to the container layer only and exist only while the container is running. This iterative image-creation process enables increased overall efficiency since multiple live container instances can run from just a single base image, and when they do so, they leverage a common stack.

Docker containers

Docker containers are the live, running instances of Docker images. While Docker images are read-only files, containers are live, ephemeral, executable content. Users can interact with them, and administrators can adjust their settings and conditions.

Docker Hub

Docker Hub is the public repository of Docker images that calls itself the “world’s largest library and community for container images.” It holds over 100,000 container images sourced from commercial software vendors, open source projects, and individual developers. It includes images that have been produced by Docker, Inc., certified images belonging to the Docker Trusted Registry, and many thousands of other images.

All Docker Hub users can share their images at will. They can also download predefined base images to use as a starting point for any containerization project.

Docker deployment and orchestration

If you’re running only a few containers, it’s fairly simple to manage your application within Docker Engine itself. But if your deployment comprises thousands of containers and hundreds of services, it’s nearly impossible to manage without the help of these purpose-built tools.

Docker Compose

If you’re building an application out of processes in multiple containers that all reside on the same host, you can use Docker Compose to manage the application’s architecture. Docker Compose creates a YAML file that specifies which services are included in the application, and can deploy and run containers with a single command. Using Docker Compose, you can also define persistent volumes for storage, specify base nodes, and document and configure service dependencies.

Kubernetes

To monitor and manage container lifecycles in more complex environments, you’ll need to turn to a container orchestration tool. While Docker includes its own orchestration tool, called Docker Swarm, most developers choose Kubernetes instead.

See “Docker Swarm vs. Kubernetes: A Comparison” for a breakdown of the two options.

Kubernetes is an open source container orchestration platform descended from a project developed for internal use at Google. Kubernetes schedules and automates tasks integral to the management of container-based architectures, including container deployment, updates, service discovery, storage provisioning, load balancing, health monitoring, and more.

For a deeper dive on Kubernetes, see out video “Kubernetes Explained”: 

The open-source ecosystem of tools for Kubernetes—including Istio and Knative—enables organizations to deploy a high-productivity Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS) for containerized applications and a faster on-ramp to serverless computing.

In October of 2017, Docker announced that it would seamlessly integrate Kubernetes into the Docker Platform. Still, many people erroneously believe that Kubernetes and Docker are opposing technologies. In the video “Kubernetes vs. Docker: It's Not an Either/Or Question,” Sai Vennam goes through the misconceptions around the Kubernetes vs. Docker question and outlines the key advantages of Docker and Kubernetes when used together: 

Docker and IBM Cloud

Docker, Inc. and IBM Cloud have partnered to introduce an edition of Docker Enterprise that’s purpose-built to run on IBM Cloud. This Container-as-a-Service platform helps enterprises manage and secure their diverse applications across today’s complex IT infrastructures. It provides an unmanaged native Docker environment within IBM Cloud, giving access to all Docker platform basic and advanced tier features as well as IBM Cloud’s full catalog of services.

In addition, Docker containers are fully supported within the IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service, which offers a fully managed version of the popular container orchestration solution. The IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service enables DevOps practices to build greater speed and efficiency into their pipelines, can bind to advanced offerings like blockchain and Watson, and makes working with Docker containers easy, even at scale.

To learn more about building with containers on IBM Cloud, sign up for a free IBM Cloud account today.