虚拟机管理器

menu icon

虚拟机管理器

无虚拟化,就无法实现云计算。 无虚拟机管理器,就不可能进行虚拟化。 这个薄层软件支持整个云生态系统。

什么是虚拟机管理器?

在虚拟机管理器成为主流之前,大多数物理计算机一次只能运行一个操作系统 (OS)。 由于计算硬件只需处理一个操作系统的请求,因此非常稳定。 但这种方法的缺点在于浪费资源,因为操作系统并不始终在使用计算机的所有计算能力。

虚拟机管理器正是为了解决这一问题而生。 它是一个小型软件层,支持多个操作系统相互独立地并行运行,共享相同的物理计算资源。 这些操作系统采用虚拟机 (VM) 的形式,也就是在软件中模拟整个计算硬件环境的文件。

虚拟机管理器也称为虚拟机监控器 (VMM),用于管理这些相互独立运行的虚拟机。 它在逻辑上将虚拟机彼此分离,为每个虚拟机分配自己的底层计算能力、内存和存储分片。 这可防止 VM 相互干扰;因此,当一个操作系统崩溃或受到安全攻击时,其他操作系统可不受影响。

要了解有关虚拟化和虚拟机的更多信息,请查看“虚拟化:完整指南”和“什么是虚拟机?”

有关虚拟机管理器如何管理 VM 的更多信息,请查看视频“虚拟化详解” (5:20):

虚拟机管理器的特征

存在不同类别的虚拟机管理器,每个类别中都有不同品牌的虚拟机管理器。 市场已相当成熟,虚拟机管理器作为企业领域的商用产品提供,但仍有一些差异化的因素指导您选择产品。 这些因素包括:

  • 性能:查看对标分析数据,了解虚拟机管理器在生产环境中的性能。 理想情况下,裸机虚拟机管理器以接近原生系统的速度支持访客操作系统的性能。
  • 生态系统:您需要出色的文档和技术支持,以在多个物理服务器上大规模实施和管理虚拟机管理器。 此外,请加入健康发展的第三方开发人员社区,利用其提供的代理和插件支持虚拟机管理器,包括备份和恢复容量分析以及故障转移管理等功能。
  • 管理工具:在使用虚拟机管理器时,运行 VM 并不是唯一必须管理的任务。 您必须配置、维护和审计 VM,清除未使用的 VM,以防止“VM 无序蔓延”。 确保供应商或第三方社区支持虚拟机管理器架构和全面的管理工具。
  • 实时迁移:这使您能够在不同物理机器上的虚拟机管理器之间移动 VM,而无需停止运行这些机器,这对于故障转移和工作负载均衡非常有用。
  • 成本:要考虑许可虚拟机管理器技术涉及的成本和费用结构。 而不只考虑虚拟机管理器本身的成本。 使虚拟机管理器可扩展以支持企业环境的管理软件往往非常昂贵。 最后,研究供应商的许可结构,这可能会因您是在云中部署还是在本地部署而异。

类型 1 vs. 类型 2

虚拟机管理器主要分为两大类: 类型 1 和类型 2。

类型 1 虚拟机管理器

类型 1 虚拟机管理器直接在底层计算机的物理硬件上运行,直接与 CPU、内存和物理存储器交互。 因此,类型 1 虚拟机管理器也称为裸机虚拟机管理器。类型 1 虚拟机管理器取代主机操作系统。

  • 优点:类型 1 虚拟机管理器非常高效,因为它们直接访问物理硬件。 这也提高了安全性,因为在虚拟机管理器和 CPU 之间没有任何内容可让攻击者有机可乘。
  • 缺点:类型 1 虚拟机管理器通常需要单独的管理机器,以管理不同的 VM 并控制主机硬件。

类型 2 虚拟机管理器

类型 2 虚拟机管理器并不直接在底层硬件上运行。 而是在操作系统中作为应用运行。 类型 2 虚拟机管理器很少出现在基于服务器的环境中。 相反,它们适合需要运行多个操作系统的个人 PC 用户。 这包括工程师、分析恶意软件的安全专业人员,以及需要访问仅在其他软件平台上提供的应用的业务用户等。

类型 2 虚拟机管理器通常包含额外的工具包,以供用户安装到访客操作系统中。 这些工具在访客 VM 与主机操作系统之间提供增强连接,通常使用户能够在两者之间进行剪切和粘贴,或从访客 VM 中访问主机操作系统文件和文件夹。

  • 优点:类型 2 虚拟机管理器支持快速轻松地访问独立于在主机系统上运行的主操作系统的另一个访客操作系统。 这对于提高最终用户的生产力非常重要。 例如,消费者可使用它来访问自己常用的基于 Linux 的开发工具,同时使用仅在 Windows 中可用的语音听写系统。
  • 缺点:类型 2 虚拟机管理器必须通过主机操作系统访问计算、内存和网络资源,而主机操作系统对物理机器具有主访问权。 这会造成延迟问题,影响性能。 这也会带来潜在的安全风险,因为如果攻击者破解主机操作系统,那么他们随后就可以操纵在类型 2 虚拟机管理器中运行的任何访客操作系统。

示例

VMware 虚拟机管理器

  • ESXi 虚拟机管理器:VMware ESXi (Elastic Sky X Integrated) 是针对数据中心内服务器虚拟化的类型 1(裸机)虚拟机管理器。 ESXi 管理 VMware 虚拟机的集合。
  • VSphere 虚拟机管理器:客户可免费使用 VMware ESXi 作为免费 vSphere 虚拟机管理器的一部分,后者是基本的服务器虚拟化产品。 具有企业云环境的企业往往会获得许可以使用 vSphere,这种更完整的系统包含 VMware vCenter Server 的许可。 这是一种单独的服务器,用于管理在物理主机上运行的 vSphere 环境。 VSphere 可以在专用本地云环境或托管云配置中运行。

VMware 还为台式机和笔记本电脑用户提供 2 种主要的类型 2 虚拟机管理器产品系列:

  • VMware Fusion:这是该公司专用于 MacOS 的产品,它使 Mac 用户能够运行大量的访客操作系统。
  • Workstation:VMware 的专注于 Linux 和 Windows 的平台有两种版本: Pro - 这是付费版本;Player - 这是供个人使用的免费版本。 Pro 版本支持用户在一台 PC 上运行多个操作系统,还能够连接到 VMware vSphere,就像 Fusion 一样。 Workstation Player 仅支持单个访客操作系统。
  • VirtualBox:在 Linux、Mac OS 和 Windows 操作系统上运行的类型 2 虚拟机管理器。 Oracle 在 2010 收购 Sun Microsystems 时继承了该产品。

VMware:完整指南”深入介绍了所有 VMware 的产品和服务。

Hyper-V 虚拟机管理器

Hyper-V 是专为 Windows 系统设计的 Microsoft 虚拟机管理器。 它在 2008 年作为 Windows Server 的一部分提供,这意味着客户需要安装整个 Windows 操作系统才能使用它。 Microsoft 随后发布了名为 Hyper-V Server 的专用版本,在 Windows Server Core 上运行。 这使管理员能够在不安装完整版本的 Windows Server 的情况下运行 Hyper-V。 Windows 客户端上也提供了 Hyper-V。

Microsoft 将 Hyper-V 指定为类型 1 虚拟机管理器,即使它与许多竞争对手产品的运行方式不同。 Hyper-V 安装在 Windows 上,但直接在物理硬件上运行,将自身插入主机操作系统之下。 然后,所有访客操作系统都通过虚拟机管理器运行,但主机操作系统具有对硬件的特殊访问权,从而使其具有性能优势。

Citrix XenServer

XenServer(现在称为 Citrix Hypervisor)是支持 Linux 和 Windows 操作系统的商用类型 1 虚拟机管理器。 XenServer 诞生于 Xen 开源项目(链接位于 IBM 外部)。

开源虚拟机管理器

某些虚拟机管理器(如 KVM)来自开源项目。 Red Hat 与开源社区的关系使 KVM 成为所有主要 OpenStack 和 Linux 虚拟化分发版的核心。

开源虚拟机管理器也可以免费配置的形式提供。 KVM 可单独下载,或作为 OVirt 开源虚拟化解决方案的一部分下载,Red Hat 是该解决方案的长期支持者。

另一个是 Xen,它是在 Intel 和 ARM 架构上运行的开源类型 1 虚拟机管理器。 它源自剑桥大学的一个项目,该项目团队随后通过创建 XenSource 将其商业化,Citrix 于 2007 年收购了该项目。

2013 年,该开源项目成为 Linux 基金会的合作项目。 许多云服务提供商使用 Xen 来支持自己的产品。

Xen 支持多种类型的虚拟化,包括使用 Intel VT 和 AMD-V 的硬件辅助环境。 它还支持准虚拟化,用于调整访客 OS 以便与虚拟机管理器配合工作,从而实现性能优势。

虚拟机管理器 KVM

Linux 还将虚拟机管理器功能直接构建到其操作系统内核中。 基于内核的虚拟机 (KVM) 在 2007 年成为 Linux 内核主线的一部分,作为对 QEMU 的补充,后者是完全在软件中仿真物理机器处理器的虚拟机管理器。

KVM 支持 Intel 和 AMD 内置于处理器架构的虚拟化扩展,旨在更好地支持虚拟机管理器。 这些扩展分别称为 Intel VT 和 AMD-V ,使处理器能够帮助虚拟机管理器管理多个虚拟机。 如果这些扩展可用,那么 Linux 内核可使用 KVM。 否则就只能使用 QEMU。

从 Red Hat 了解有关 KVM 的更多信息(链接位于 IBM 外部)。

Red Hat Hypervisor

Red Hat 在 KVM 虚拟机管理器的基础上提供 Red Hat Enterprise Virtualization Hypervisor。 它的虚拟化解决方案围绕虚拟机管理器构建额外的功能。 这包括虚拟化管理器,提供具有搜索驱动的图形用户界面的集中式管理系统;以及安全的虚拟化技术,有助于强化虚拟机管理器,使其能够抵御针对主机或虚拟机的攻击。 Red Hat 的虚拟机管理器可运行许多操作系统,包括 Ubuntu。

虚拟桌面集成 (VDI)

类型 1 虚拟机管理器不仅仅虚拟化服务器操作系统。 它们还可以虚拟化桌面操作系统,为希望集中管理最终用户 IT 资源的企业提供支持。

虚拟桌面集成 (VDI) 支持用户在中央服务器上的虚拟机上运行桌面,使 IT 人员能够更轻松地管理和维护其操作系统。

在此环境中,虚拟机管理器将运行多个虚拟桌面。 每个桌面都位于自己的 VM 中,保留在称为虚拟桌面池的集合中。 每个 VM 都为通过网络访问的单个用户提供服务。

用户的终端可以是相对便宜的瘦客户端,也可以是移动设备。 这使他们拥有一致访问同一桌面操作系统的优势。 他们可以在任何设备上获取相同的数据和应用,而无需在安全环境之外移动敏感数据。

用户并不直接连接到虚拟机管理器。 相反,他们访问连接代理程序,然后与虚拟机管理器协调,以从池中获取相应的虚拟桌面。

包括 VMware Horizon 在内的产品通过您自己的本地服务或通过托管的云服务供应商,在单个产品中提供所有这些功能。

故障排除

由于虚拟机管理器各不相同,因此对每个虚拟机管理器进行故障诊断都包括访问供应商自己的支持页面和特定于产品的修订包。 但是,一些常见问题包括无法启动所有 VM。 当您耗尽主机的物理硬件资源时,可能会发生这种情况。 要解决此问题,可使用虚拟机管理器的管理软件,将更多资源添加到主机计算机,或减少 VM 的资源需求。

虚拟机管理器中导致 VM 无法启动的另一常见问题是 VM 的损坏检查点或快照。 这就是为什么 VM 备份是企业虚拟机管理器解决方案的重要组成部分,但虚拟机管理器管理软件可能支持您将文件回滚到最新的有效检查点,然后从这里启动。. 但是这可能意味着您会都是一部分工作。

虚拟机管理器和 IBM

IBM 在 1960 年代就为自己的大型机计算机发明了虚拟机管理器。 目前,IBM z/VM 就是面向 IBM z Systems 大型机的虚拟机管理器,可在单台大型机上运行数以千计的 Linux 虚拟机。 IBM PowerVM 提供在 IBM Power Systems 上运行的 AIX、IBM i 和 Linux 操作系统。

IBM 在云中支持一系列虚拟化产品。 IBM Cloud Virtual Server 完全受管而且可定制,具有可随着计算需求的增长而进行扩展的选项。

如果您当前正在本地运行虚拟化,请查看 IBM VMware 合作关系中的解决方案。

立即开始创建您自己的 IBM Cloud 帐户

By: IBM Cloud Education

Cloud computing wouldn’t be possible without virtualization. Virtualization wouldn’t be possible without the hypervisor. This thin layer of software supports the entire cloud ecosystem.

What are hypervisors?

Before hypervisors hit the mainstream, most physical computers could only run one operating system (OS) at a time. This made them stable because the computing hardware only had to handle requests from that one OS. The downside of this approach was that it wasted resources because the operating system couldn’t always use all of the computer’s power.

A hypervisor solves that problem. It is a small software layer that enables multiple operating systems to run alongside each other, sharing the same physical computing resources. These operating systems come as virtual machines (VMs)—files that mimic an entire computing hardware environment in software.

The hypervisor, also known as a virtual machine monitor (VMM), manages these VMs as they run alongside each other. It separates VMs from each other logically, assigning each its own slice of the underlying computing power, memory, and storage. This prevents the VMs from interfering with each other; so if, for example, one OS suffers a crash or a security compromise, the others survive.

To explore more about virtualization and virtual machines, check out "Virtualization: A Complete Guide" and "Virtual Machines: A Complete Guide."

For more information on how hypervisors manage VMs, check out this video, "Virtualization in 2019":

Characteristics

There are different categories of hypervisors and different brands of hypervisors within each category. The market has matured to make hypervisors a commodity product in the enterprise space, but there are still differentiating factors that should guide your choice. Here’s what to look for:

  • Performance: Look for benchmark data that show how well the hypervisor performs in a production environment. Ideally, bare-metal hypervisors should support guest OS performance close to native speeds.
  • Ecosystem: You will need good documentation and technical support to implement and manage hypervisors across multiple physical servers at scale. Also, look for a healthy community of third-party developers that can support the hypervisor with their own agents and plugins that offer capabilities, such as backup and restore capacity analysis and fail-over management.
  • Management tools: Running VMs isn’t the only thing you must manage when using a hypervisor. You must provision the VMs, maintain them, audit them, and clean up disused ones to prevent "VM sprawl." Ensure that the vendor or third-party community supports the hypervisor architecture with comprehensive management tools.
  • Live migration: This enables you to move VMs between hypervisors on different physical machines without stopping them, which can be useful for both fail-over and workload balancing.
  • Cost: Consider the cost and fee structure involved in licensing hypervisor technology. Don’t just think about the cost of the hypervisor itself. The management software that makes it scalable to support an enterprise environment can often be expensive. Lastly, examine the vendor’s licensing structure, which may change depending on whether you deploy it in the cloud or locally.

Type 1 vs. Type 2

There are two broad categories of hypervisors: Type 1 and Type 2.

Type 1 hypervisor

A Type 1 hypervisor runs directly on the underlying computer’s physical hardware, interacting directly with its CPU, memory, and physical storage. For this reason, Type 1 hypervisors are also referred to as bare-metal hypervisors. A Type 1 hypervisor takes the place of the host operating system.

  • Pros: Type 1 hypervisors are highly efficient because they have direct access to physical hardware. This also increases their security, because there is nothing in between them and the CPU that an attacker could compromise.
  • Cons: A Type 1 hypervisor often needs a separate management machine to administer different VMs and control the host hardware.

Type 2 hypervisor

A Type 2 hypervisor doesn’t run directly on the underlying hardware. Instead, it runs as an application in an OS. Type 2 hypervisors rarely show up in server-based environments. Instead, they’re suitable for individual PC users needing to run multiple operating systems. Examples include engineers, security professionals analyzing malware, and business users that need access to applications only available on other software platforms.

Type 2 hypervisors often feature additional toolkits for users to install into the guest OS. These tools provide enhanced connections between the guest and the host OS, often enabling the user to cut and paste between the two or access host OS files and folders from within the guest VM.

  • Pros: A Type 2 hypervisor enables quick and easy access to an alternative guest OS alongside the primary one running on the host system. This makes it great for end-user productivity. A consumer might use it to access their favorite Linux-based development tools while using a speech dictation system only found in Windows, for example.
  • Cons: A Type 2 hypervisor must access computing, memory, and network resources via the host OS, which has primary access to the physical machine. This introduces latency issues, affecting performance. It also introduces potential security risks if an attacker compromises the host OS because they could then manipulate any guest OS running in the Type 2 hypervisor.

Examples

VMware hypervisors

  • ESXi hypervisor: VMware ESXi (Elastic Sky X Integrated) is a Type 1 (or bare-metal) hypervisor targeting server virtualization in the data center. ESXi manages collections of VMware virtual machines.
  • VSphere hypervisor: Customers can use VMware ESXi for free as part of the free vSphere hypervisor, which is a basic server virtualization offering. Companies with enterprise cloud environments will license vSphere, a more complete system that includes a license for VMware’s vCenter Server. This is a separate server used to administer vSphere environments running on physical hosts. VSphere can run in a private on-premiss cloud environment or in a hosted cloud configuration.

VMware also offers two main families of Type 2 hypervisor products for desktop and laptop users:

  • VMware Fusion: This is the company’s MacOS-focused offering, which lets Mac users run a large range of guest operating systems.
  • Workstation: VMware’s Linux- and Windows-focused platform comes in two flavors: Pro, which is a paid version, and Player, which is free for personal use. The Pro version allows users to run multiple operating systems on a single PC and also connects to VMware vSphere, just like Fusion. Workstation Player only supports a single guest OS.
  • VirtualBox: A Type 2 hypervisor running on Linux, Mac OS, and Windows operating systems. Oracle inherited the product when it bought Sun Microsystems in 2010.

"VMware: A Complete Guide" goes into much more depth on all of VMware's offerings and services.

Hyper-V hypervisor

Hyper-V is Microsoft’s hypervisor designed for use on Windows systems. It shipped in 2008 as part of Windows Server, meaning that customers needed to install the entire Windows operating system to use it. Microsoft subsequently made a dedicated version called Hyper-V Server available, which ran on Windows Server Core. This enabled administrators to run Hyper-V without installing the full version of Windows Server. Hyper-V is also available on Windows clients.

Microsoft designates Hyper-V as a Type 1 hypervisor, even though it runs differently to many competitors. Hyper-V installs on Windows but runs directly on the physical hardware, inserting itself underneath the host OS. All guest operating systems then run through the hypervisor, but the host operating system gets special access to the hardware, giving it a performance advantage.

Citrix XenServer

XenServer, now known as Citrix Hypervisor, is a commercial Type 1 hypervisor that supports Linux and Windows operating systems. XenServer was born of the Xen open source project.

Open source hypervisors

Some hypervisors, such as KVM, come from open source projects. Red Hat's ties to the open source community have made KVM the core of all major OpenStack and Linux virtualization distributions.

Open source hypervisors are also available in free configurations. KVM is downloadable on its own or as part of the oVirt open source virtualization solution, of which Red Hat is a long-term supporter.

Another is Xen, which is an open source Type 1 hypervisor that runs on Intel and ARM architectures. It began as a project at the University of Cambridge and its team subsequently commercialized it by founding XenSource, which Citrix bought in 2007.

In 2013, the open source project became a collaborative project under the Linux Foundation. Many cloud service providers use Xen to power their product offerings.

Xen supports several types of virtualization, including hardware-assisted environments using Intel VT and AMD-V. It also supports paravirtualization, which tweaks the guest OS to work with a hypervisor, delivering performance gains.

Hypervisor KVM

Linux also has hypervisor capabilities built directly into its OS kernel. The kernel-based virtual machine (KVM) became part of the Linux kernel mainline in 2007 and complements QEMU, which is a hypervisor that emulates the physical machine’s processor entirely in software.

KVM supports virtualization extensions that Intel and AMD built into their processor architectures to better support hypervisors. These extensions, called Intel VT and AMD-V respectively, enable the processor to help the hypervisor manage multiple virtual machines. Where these extensions are available, the Linux kernel can use KVM. Otherwise, it falls back to QEMU.

Find out more about KVM from Red Hat.

Red Hat Hypervisor

Red Hat bases its Red Hat Enterprise Virtualization Hypervisor on the KVM hypervisor. Its virtualization solution builds extra facilities around the hypervisor. This includes a virtualization manager that provides a centralized management system with a search-driven graphical user interface and secure virtualization technologies that harden the hypervisor against attacks aimed at the host or at virtual machines. Red Hat's hypervisor can run many operating systems, including Ubuntu.

Virtual desktop integration (VDI)

Type 1 hypervisors can virtualize more than just server operating systems. They can also virtualize desktop operating systems for companies that want to centrally manage their end-user IT resources.

Virtual desktop integration (VDI) lets users work on desktops running inside virtual machines on a central server, making it easier for IT staff to administer and maintain their OSs.

In this environment, a hypervisor will run multiple virtual desktops. Each desktop sits in its own VM, held in collections known as virtual desktop pools. Each VM serves a single user who accesses it over the network.

The user’s endpoint can be a relatively inexpensive thin client, or a mobile device. This gives them the advantage of consistent access to the same desktop OS. They can get the same data and applications on any device without moving sensitive data outside a secure environment.

Users don’t connect to the hypervisor directly. Instead, they access a connection broker that then coordinates with the hypervisor to source an appropriate virtual desktop from the pool.

Products like VMware Horizon provide all this functionality in a single product delivered from your own on-premises service or via a hosted cloud service provider.

Troubleshooting

Because there are so many different makes of hypervisor, troubleshooting each of them will involve a visit to the vendor's own support pages and a product-specific fix. However, some common problems include not being able to start all of your VMs. This can happen when you have exhausted the host's physical hardware resources. To fix this problem, you can either add more resources to the host computer or reduce the resource requirements for the VM using the hypervisor's management software.

Another common problem for hypervisors that stops VMs from starting is a corrupt checkpoint or snapshot of a VM. This is why VM backups are an essential part of an enterprise hypervisor solution, but your hypervisor management software may allow you to roll back the file to the last valid checkpoint and start it that way. However, this may mean losing some of your work.

Hypervisors and IBM

IBM invented the hypervisor in the 1960s for its mainframe computers. Today, IBM z/VM, a hypervisor for IBM z Systems mainframes, can run thousands of Linux virtual machines on a single mainframe. IBM PowerVM provides AIX, IBM i, and Linux operating systems running on IBM Power Systems.

IBM supports a range of virtualization products in the cloud. IBM Cloud Virtual Servers are fully managed and customizable, with options to scale up as your compute needs grow.

If you’re currently running virtualization on-premise, check out the solutions in the IBM VMware partnership.

Get started by creating your own IBM Cloud account today.

Follow IBM Cloud

IBM Cloud News connects you to insight and information you can put to work right away—straight from the minds of IBM Cloud experts, IBM customers, and business and IT leaders.

Email subscribeRSS

Be the first to hear about news, product updates, and innovation from IBM Cloud