云存储

menu icon

云存储

介绍云存储的重要方面,包括工作方式、优点以及可用的不同类型的云存储。

什么是云存储?

云存储支持您在非现场位置保存数据和文件,通过公共因特网或专用私有网络连接进行访问。 您将数据转移到异地存储变成了第三方云提供商的职责。 提供商负责托管、保护、管理和维护服务器和关联的基础架构,并确保您可以随时根据需要访问数据。

云存储能够经济有效而且可扩展地取代将文件存储在本地硬盘驱动器或存储网络上的方法。 计算机硬盘驱动器只能存储有限数量的数据。 当用户耗尽存储容量时,他们需要将文件传输到外部存储设备。 传统上,组织构建并维护存储区域网络 (SAN) 以归档数据和文件。 但是,由于存储的数据量不断增加,企业不得不进行投资,添置服务器和基础架构,以满足不断增加的需求,因此,存储 SAN 的成本较高。

云存储服务富有弹性,这意味着您可以在数据量增加时扩展容量,也可以根据需要缩减容量。 通过将数据存储在云中,贵组织只需为存储技术和容量即服务付费,而无需投资建设和维护内部存储网络,从而节省成本。 你只需为实际使用的容量付费。 对于具有较高数据量的客户而言,虽然成本可能会随着时间的推移而增加,但不必为了预期增加的数据量而过度供应存储网络。

它如何工作?

与本地存储网络一样,云存储使用服务器来保存数据; 但是,数据将发送到非现场位置的服务器。 您使用的大多数服务器是托管在物理服务器上的虚拟机。 随着存储需求的增加,供应商可创建新的虚拟服务器以满足需求。

有关虚拟机的更多信息,请参阅“虚拟机:完整指南”。

通常,通过因特网或专用私有连接(使用 Web 门户网站、网站或移动应用)连接到存储云。 根据云提供商的运营规模,您所连接的服务器将数据转发到位于一个或多个数据中心的服务器池。

作为服务的一部分,提供商通常将同一数据存储在多台机器上以实现冗余。 这样,即使某台服务器因维护或发生故障而停机,您仍可以访问自己的数据。

云存储可通过私有云、公有云和混合云提供。

  • 公有存储云: 在这种模型中,您通过因特网连接到由云提供商维护并由其他公司使用的存储云。 提供商通常支持从任何设备(包括智能手机和桌面设备)访问服务,帮助您根据需要进行缩放。
  • 私有云存储:私有云存储设置通常复制云模型,但它们位于贵组织的网络中,利用物理服务器创建虚拟服务器的实例以增加容量。 您可选择完全控制本地私有云;或与云存储供应商合作以构建专用私有云,使用专用连接进行访问。 可能更喜欢使用私有云存储的组织包括银行或零售公司,因为他们处理和存储数据具有私有性质。
  • 混合云存储: 这种模型结合了私有云和公有云的元素,使组织可以选择要在其中存储数据的云。 例如,具有严格归档和复制要求的受到高度监管的数据通常更适合私有云环境,而不太敏感的数据(例如不包含商业机密的电子邮件)则可以存储在公有云中。 一些组织使用混合云,作为内部存储网络与公有云存储的补充。

利弊

与任何其他基于云的技术一样,云存储具有一些独特优点。 但这也引起了一些企业的担忧,主要是安全和管理控制方面的问题。

优点

云存储的优点包括:

  • 非现场管理: 云提供商承担维护和保护所存储数据的职责。 这使您的工作人员可以从与存储相关的任务中解放出来,例如采购、安装、管理和维护。 这样,您的员工就可以集中精力从事其他优先任务。
  • 快速实施: 使用云服务可加快设置和添加存储功能的过程。 通过云存储,您可以在几小时或几天内配置服务并开始使用,具体取决于涉及的容量。
  • 经济高效: 如前文所述,您只需为自己所使用的容量付费。 这样,贵组织就能够将云存储成本作为日常运营开支,而不是资本开支,因此可以消除相关的前期投资和税收影响。
  • 可扩展性: 扩展限制是本地存储的最严重制约因素之一。 借助云存储,您可以根据需要扩大规模。 容量几乎不受限制。
  • 业务连续性: 在发生自然灾害或恐怖袭击而无法进入您自己的场所的情况下,在非现场存储数据支持业务连续性。

缺点

云存储器的缺点包括:

  • 安全性: 安全问题是基于云的服务的常见现象。 云存储器提供商尝试使用最新技术和实践来保护基础架构,但偶尔还是会发生安全违规问题,从而让用户感到不舒服。
  • 管理控制: 能够查看、访问并随意移动数据是云资源的另一个常见问题。 通过将维护和管理工作交给第三方,会给您带来优势,但也可能限制您对数据的控制。
  • 延迟: 由于流量拥堵,尤其是在使用共享公有因特网连接时,可能会发生与云之间的数据传输延迟。 但是,企业可通过增加连接带宽,最大程度减少延迟。
  • 法规合规性: 包括医疗保健和金融在内的特定行业必须遵守严格的数据隐私和归档法规,这可能导致企业无法将云存储用于某些类型的文件,例如医疗和投资记录。 如果可以的话,请选择支持遵守影响贵企业的任何行业法规的云存储供应商。

示例

云存储有三种主要类型: 文件对象。每种类型都有各自的一些优点:

块存储

块存储传统上在 SAN 中使用,但在云存储环境中也很常见。 在这种存储模型中,数据被组织成称为“块”的大型卷。 每个块代表一个单独的硬盘驱动器。 云存储提供商使用块来分割多个存储节点中的大量数据。 借助低 IO 延迟(完成系统与客户端之间的连接所需的时间),块存储资源可以在网络上实现更理想的性能,尤其适合大型数据库和应用。

在云中使用时,块存储可以轻松扩展,以支持贵组织数据库和应用的增长。 如果您的网站需要捕获大量要存储的访客数据,那么块存储将很有用。

块存储:完整指南”提供了关于块存储的大量信息。

文件存储

文件存储方法将数据保存在我们大多数人都非常熟悉的分层文件和文件夹结构中。 数据保留自己的格式,无论是位于存储系统中还是产生数据的客户端中,层次结构有助于更方便更直观地查找和检索文件。 文件存储通常用于开发平台、主目录以及视频、音频和其他文件的存储库。

在视频“块存储与文件存储”中,Amy Blea 比较了这两种云存储选项:

块存储与文件存储 (04:03)

对象存储

对象存储不同于文件和块存储,因为它将数据作为对象管理。 每个对象包含文件中的数据、关联的元数据和标识。 对象以到达时的格式存储数据,并且能够定制元数据,以便于访问和分析数据。 对象并非组织成文件或文件夹层次结构,而是保留在存储库中,具备几乎无限制的可扩展性。 由于没有归档层次结构,并且元数据可定制,因此对象存储能够以经济有效的方式优化存储资源。

查看“IBM Cloud Object Storage: 专为企业构建”,以了解有关对象存储优点的更多信息:

IBM Cloud Object Storage: 专为企业构建 (04:10)

面向企业的云存储

各种云存储服务可用于任何类型的企业,无论是独资企业还是大型企业。

如果您运营小型企业,那么云存储可能很有意义,特别是当您自己没有管理存储的资源或技能时。 云存储还使存储成本可预测,因此对于预算规划很有帮助,使您能够随着业务的增长而扩展容量。

如果您在大型企业工作(例如制造企业、金融服务公司或具有几十个经营地点的零售连锁店),那么可能需要定期传输成百上千 GB 的数据以进行存储。 在这些情况下,应当与可处理您的数据容量的成熟云存储提供商合作。 在某些情况下,您也许能够与提供商协商定制交易,以获得最佳价值。

安全

云存储安全性是个严肃的问题,特别是当贵组织处理信用卡信息和医疗记录等敏感数据时。 您希望使用最新的方法来保护数据免受网络威胁。 您希望采用分层式安全解决方案,包括终端保护、内容和电子邮件过滤、威胁分析,以及包含定期更新和补丁的最佳实践。 此外,您需要明确定义的访问和认证策略。

大多数云存储供应商提供基本的安全措施,包括访问控制、用户认证和数据加密。 在有关数据涉及机密业务档案、人员记录和知识产权时,确保这些措施的实施尤其重要。 有法规合规要求的数据可能需要添加保护措施,因此必须了解所选择的提供商是否符合所有适用的法规要求。

每当数据传输时,就容易受到安全风险的影响。 您有责任确保传向存储云的数据的安全。 企业可通过加密传输中的数据,并使用专用私有连接(而不是公有因特网)与云存储供应商连接,最大程度化解风险。

备份

数据备份与安全性一样重要。 企业需要备份数据,以便能够访问文件和应用的副本,防止由于网络攻击、自然灾害或人为错误而造成的数据丢失导致业务中断。

在基于云的解决方案推出早期,基于云的数据备份和恢复服务就已十分流行。 与云存储本身一样,可通过公共因特网或专用连接访问服务。 云备份和恢复服务使组织从定期复制关键业务数据的繁重任务中解放出来,当自然灾害、网络攻击或无意用户错误造成数据丢失后,您始终可以轻松获得所需的数据备份。

云备份为企业带来的优点与存储一样 - 经济高效、可扩展性和易于访问。 云备份最吸引人的特点之一是自动化。 要求用户不断备份自己的数据会产生各种各样的结果,因为一些用户总是会拖延或忘掉这件事。 这就造成了数据丢失不可避免的情况。 通过自动备份,您可以决定备份数据的频率 - 每天、每小时或每当向网络添加新数据时。

在云中异地备份数据带来了额外的优点: 距离。 遭受自然灾害、恐怖袭击或其他灾难影响的建筑可能会损失本地备份系统,导致无法恢复丢失的数据。 异地备份为此类事件提供了保险。

服务器

云存储服务器是虚拟服务器 - 用于模拟物理服务器的软件定义的服务器。 物理服务器可以托管多个虚拟服务器,因此能够更轻松为多个客户提供基于云的存储解决方案。 虚拟服务器的使用有助于提高效率,因为物理服务器通常以低于容量的方式运行,这意味着它们的某些处理能力被浪费。

这种方法使云存储供应商能够提供按使用量付费的云存储,仅对您使用的存储容量收取费用。 当您的云存储服务器即将达到容量时,云提供商会启动另一个服务器以增加容量,或使您能够自己启动额外的虚拟机。

虚拟化:完整指南”提供了虚拟化和虚拟服务器的完整概述。

开放源代码

如果贵组织拥有构建自己的虚拟云服务器的专业知识,那么可使用的选项之一是开源云存储。 开源意味着服务中使用的软件可供用户和开发人员学习、检查、更改和分发。

开源云存储通常与 Linux 和其他开源平台关联,这些平台提供了构建您自己的存储服务器的选项。 这种方法的优点包括控制管理任务和安全性。

成本效益是另一个优点。 虽然基于云的存储提供商可提供几乎无限制的容量,但也需付出代价。 使用的存储容量越多,支付的费用越高。 使用开源的话,只要拥有开发和维护存储云的编码和工程专业知识,就可以持续扩展容量。

不同的开源云存储提供商提供不同级别的功能,因此必须货比三家,然后决定要使用的服务。 开源云存储服务提供的一些功能包括:

  • 在多个位置中的设备之间同步文件
  • 双因子认证
  • 审计工具
  • 数据传输加密
  • 受密码保护的共享

定价

如前所述,云存储通过消除内部存储基础架构,帮助企业削减成本。 但云存储具有多种定价模式。 一些云存储提供商每月按吉字节收取费用,而另一些则根据存储的容量收取费用。 费用差别很大;根据您选择的提供商,每月 100 GB 存储容量可能要支付 USD 1.99 到 USD 10 不等的费用。 将数据从您的网络传输到存储云的额外费用通常包含在总体服务价格中。

提供商可以在基本存储和数据传输的基础上收取额外费用。 例如,您每次访问云中的数据以进行更改或删除,或将数据从一个地方移动到另一个地方时,可能会产生额外费用。 您每月执行的这些操作越多,成本就越高。 即使提供商在总体价格中包含某种基本级别的活动,但如果超出允许的限制,您需要承担额外费用。

提供商还可能在费用中考虑访问数据的用户数、用户访问数据的频率,以及数据传输的距离。 根据存储的数据类型、数据是否需要出于隐私目的而添加安全级别以及合规性,费用可能会有所不同。

示例

有数十个供应商提供云存储服务,以满足所有需求,覆盖个人用户乃至具有数以千计位置的跨国组织。 例如,您可以在云中存储电子邮件和密码,以及用于与其他用户共享和协作的电子表格和 Word 文档等文件。 此功能使用户能够更方便地针对项目开展协作,这说明文件传输和共享是云存储服务最常见的用途。

某些服务提供文件管理和同步,确保每当有人更改某个文件时,多个位置中同一文件的版本就会更新。 您还可以通过云存储服务获取文件管理功能。 使用该功能,您可以在认为合适的情况下组织文档、电子表格和其他文件,并使其可供其他用户访问。 云存储服务还可以处理介质文件,如视频和音频,以及大量的数据库记录,如果不使用云存储,则需要在网络中占用过多的空间。

无论有何种存储需求,您都不必担心如何寻找云存储服务以满足所需的容量和功能。

云存储和 IBM

IBM Cloud Storage 提供全面的云存储服务套件,包括现成的解决方案、用于创建自己的存储解决方案的组件以及独立和辅助存储器。

IBM Cloud 解决方案的优势包括:

  • 全球化服务
  • 可扩展性
  • 灵活性
  • 简单性

您还可以利用 IBM 的自动化数据备份和恢复系统,该系统通过 IBM Cloud Backup WebCC 浏览器实用程序进行管理。 该系统支持您安全地在全球一个或多个 IBM 云数据中心内备份数据。

预计到 2020 年,存储软件预计将超过存储硬件,届时需要管理 40 ZB(4*10^36 字节)的数据。 查看 IBM 报告“混合云的混合存储”。

通过 Cloud Architect ProfessionalCloud SRE Professional 课表中的课程,培养存储技能。

立即开始使用 IBM Cloud 帐户

Cloud Storage

By: IBM Cloud Education

An introduction to the important aspects of cloud storage, including how it works, its benefits, and the different types of cloud storage that are available.

What is cloud storage?

Cloud storage allows you to save data and files in an off-site location that you access either through the public internet or a dedicated private network connection. Data that you transfer off-site for storage becomes the responsibility of a third-party cloud provider. The provider hosts, secures, manages, and maintains the servers and associated infrastructure and ensures you have access to the data whenever you need it.

Cloud storage delivers a cost-effective, scalable alternative to storing files on on-premise hard drives or storage networks. Computer hard drives can only store a finite amount of data. When users run out of storage, they need to transfer files to an external storage device. Traditionally, organizations built and maintained storage area networks (SANs) to archive data and files. SANs are expensive to maintain, however, because as stored data grows, companies have to invest in adding servers and infrastructure to accommodate increased demand.

Cloud storage services provide elasticity, which means you can scale capacity as your data volumes increase or dial down capacity if necessary. By storing data in a cloud, your organization save by paying for storage technology and capacity as a service, rather than investing in the capital costs of building and maintaining in-house storage networks. You pay for only exactly the capacity you use. While your costs might increase over time to account for higher data volumes, you don’t have to overprovision storage networks in anticipation of increased data volume.

How does it work?

Like on-premise storage networks, cloud storage uses servers to save data; however, the data is sent to servers at an off-site location. Most of the servers you use are virtual machines hosted on a physical server. As your storage needs increase, the provider creates new virtual servers to meet demand.

For more information on virtual machines, see “Virtual Machines: A Complete Guide.”

Typically, you connect to the storage cloud either through the internet or a dedicated private connection, using a web portal, website, or a mobile app. The server with which you connect forwards your data to a pool of servers located in one or more data centers, depending on the size of the cloud provider’s operation.

As part of the service, providers typically store the same data on multiple machines for redundancy. This way, if a server is taken down for maintenance or suffers an outage, you can still access your data.

Cloud storage is available in private, public and hybrid clouds.

  • Public storage clouds: In this model, you connect over the internet to a storage cloud that’s maintained by a cloud provider and used by other companies. Providers typically make services accessible from just about any device, including smartphones and desktops and let you scale up and down as needed.
  • Private cloud storage: Private cloud storage setups typically replicate the cloud model, but they reside within your network, leveraging a physical server to create instances of virtual servers to increase capacity. You can choose to take full control of an on-premise private cloud or engage a cloud storage provider to build a dedicated private cloud that you can access with a private connection. Organizations that might prefer private cloud storage include banks or retail companies due to the private nature of the data they process and store.
  • Hybrid cloud storage: This model combines elements of private and public clouds, giving organizations a choice of which data to store in which cloud. For instance, highly regulated data subject to strict archiving and replication requirements is usually more suited to a private cloud environment, whereas less sensitive data (such as email that doesn’t contain business secrets) can be stored in the public cloud. Some organizations use hybrid clouds to supplement their internal storage networks with public cloud storage.

Pros and cons

As with any other cloud-based technology, cloud storage offers some distinct advantages. But it also raises some concerns for companies, primarily over security and administrative control.

Pros

The pros of cloud storage include the following:

  • Off-site management: Your cloud provider assumes responsibility for maintaining and protecting the stored data. This frees your staff from tasks associated with storage, such as procurement, installation, administration, and maintenance. As such, your staff can focus on other priorities.
  • Quick implementation: Using a cloud service accelerates the process of setting up and adding to your storage capabilities. With cloud storage, you can provision the service and start using it within hours or days, depending on how much capacity is involved.
  • Cost-effective: As mentioned, you pay for the capacity you use. This allows your organization to treat cloud storage costs as an ongoing operating expense instead of a capital expense with the associated upfront investments and tax implications.
  • Scalability: Growth constraints are one of the most severe limitations of on-premise storage. With cloud storage, you can scale up as much as you need. Capacity is virtually unlimited.
  • Business continuity: Storing data offsite supports business continuity in the event that a natural disaster or terrorist attack cuts access to your premises.

Cons

Cloud storage cons include the following:

  • Security: Security concerns are common with cloud-based services. Cloud storage providers try to secure their infrastructure with up-to-date technologies and practices, but occasional breaches have occurred, creating discomfort with users.
  • Administrative control: Being able to view your data, access it, and move it at will is another common concern with cloud resources. Offloading maintenance and management to a third party offers advantages but also can limit your control over your data.
  • Latency: Delays in data transmission to and from the cloud can occur as a result of traffic congestion, especially when you use shared public internet connections. However, companies can minimize latency by increasing connection bandwidth.
  • Regulatory compliance: Certain industries, such as healthcare and finance, have to comply with strict data privacy and archival regulations, which may prevent companies from using cloud storage for certain types of files, such as medical and investment records. If you can, choose a cloud storage provider that supports compliance with any industry regulations impacting your business.

Examples

There are three main types of cloud storage: block, file, and object. Each comes with its set of advantages:

Block storage

Traditionally employed in SANs, block storage is also common in cloud storage environments. In this storage model, data is organized into large volumes called “blocks." Each block represents a separate hard drive. Cloud storage providers use blocks to split large amounts of data among multiple storage nodes. Block storage resources provide better performance over a network thanks to low IO latency (the time it takes to complete a connection between the system and client) and are especially suited to large databases and applications.

Used in the cloud, block storage scales easily to support the growth of your organization’s databases and applications. Block storage would be useful if your website captures large amounts of visitor data that needs to be stored.

Block Storage: A Complete Guide” provides a wealth of information on block storage.

File storage

The file storage method saves data in the hierarchical file and folder structure with which most of us are familiar. The data retains its format, whether residing in the storage system or in the client where it originates, and the hierarchy makes it easier and more intuitive to find and retrieve files when needed. File storage is commonly used for development platforms, home directories, and repositories for video, audio, and other files.

In the video “Block Storage vs. File Storage,” Amy Blea compares and contrasts these two cloud storage options:

Object storage

Object storage differs from file and block storage in that it manages data as objects. Each object includes the data in a file, its associated metadata, and an identifier. Objects store data in the format it arrives in and makes it possible to customize metadata in ways that make the data easier to access and analyze. Instead of being organized in files or folder hierarchies, objects are kept in repositories that deliver virtually unlimited scalability. Since there is no filing hierarchy and the metadata is customizable, object storage allows you to optimize storage resources in a cost-effective way.

Check out the “What is Object Storage?” overview video to hear major use cases and benefits of object storage:

Cloud storage for business

A variety of cloud storage services is available for just about every kind of business— anything from sole proprietor to large enterprises.

If you run a small business, cloud storage could make sense, particularly if you don’t have the resources or skills to manage storage yourself.  Cloud storage can also help with budget planning by making storage costs predictable, and it gives you the ability to scale as the business grows.

If you work at a larger enterprise (e.g., a manufacturing company, financial services, or a retail chain with dozens of locations), you might need to transfer hundreds of gigabytes of data for storage on a regular basis. In these cases, you should work with an established cloud storage provider that can handle your volumes. In some cases, you may be able to negotiate custom deals with providers to get the best value.

Security

Cloud storage security is a serious concern, especially if your organization handles sensitive data like credit card information and medical records. You want assurances your data is protected from cyber threats with the most up-to-date methods available. You will want layered security solutions that include endpoint protection, content and email filtering and threat analysis, as well as best practices that comprise regular updates and patches. And you need well-defined access and authentication policies.

Most cloud storage providers offer baseline security measures that include access control, user authentication, and data encryption. Ensuring these measures are in place is especially important when the data in question involves confidential business files, personnel records, and intellectual property. Data subject to regulatory compliance may require added protection, so you need to check that your provider of choice complies with all applicable regulations.

Whenever data travels, it is vulnerable to security risks. You share the responsibility for securing data headed for a storage cloud. Companies can minimize risks by encrypting data in motion and using dedicated private connections (instead of the public internet) to connect with the cloud storage provider.

Backup

Data backup is as important as security. Businesses need to back up their data so they can access copies of files and applications— and prevent interruptions to business—if data is lost due to cyberattack, natural disaster, or human error.

Cloud-based data backup and recovery services have been popular from the early days of cloud-based solutions. Much like cloud storage itself, you access the service through the public internet or a private connection. Cloud backup and recovery services free organizations from the tasks involved in regularly replicating critical business data to make it readily available should you ever need it in the wake of data loss caused by a natural disaster, cyber attack or unintentional user error.

Cloud backup offers the same advantages to businesses as storage—cost-effectiveness, scalability, and easy access. One of the most attractive features of cloud backup is automation. Asking users to continually back up their own data produces mixed results since some users always put it off or forget to do it. This creates a situation where data loss is inevitable. With automated backups, you can decide how often to back up your data, be it daily, hourly or whenever new data is introduced to your network.

Backing up data off-premise in a cloud offers an added advantage: distance. A building struck by a natural disaster, terror attack, or some other calamity could lose its on-premise backup systems, making it impossible to recover lost data. Off-premise backup provides insurance against such an event.

Servers

Cloud storage servers are virtual servers—software-defined servers that emulate physical servers. A physical server can host multiple virtual servers, making it easier to provide cloud-based storage solutions to multiple customers. The use of virtual servers boosts efficiency because physical servers otherwise typically operate below capacity, which means some of their processing power is wasted.

This approach is what enables cloud storage providers to offer pay-as-you-go cloud storage, and to charge only for the storage capacity you consume. When your cloud storage servers are about to reach capacity, the cloud provider spins up another server to add capacity—or makes it possible for you to spin up an additional virtual machine on your own.

Virtualization: A Complete Guide” offers a complete overview of virtualization and virtual servers.

Open source

If you have the expertise to build your own virtual cloud servers, one of the options available to you is open source cloud storage. Open source means the software used in the service is available to users and developers to study, inspect, change and distribute.

Open source cloud storage is typically associated with Linux and other open source platforms that provide the option to build your own storage server. Advantages of this approach include control over administrative tasks and security.

Cost-effectiveness is another plus. While cloud-based storage providers give you virtually unlimited capacity, it comes at a price. The more storage capacity you use, the higher the price gets. With open source, you can continue to scale capacity as long as you have the coding and engineering expertise to develop and maintain a storage cloud.

Different open source cloud storage providers offer varying levels of functionality, so you should compare features before deciding which service to use. Some of the functions available from open source cloud storage services include the following:

  • Syncing files between devices in multiple locations
  • Two-factor authentication
  • Auditing tools
  • Data transfer encryption
  • Password-protected sharing

Pricing

As mentioned, cloud storage helps companies cut costs by eliminating in-house storage infrastructure. But cloud storage pricing models vary. Some cloud storage providers charge monthly the cost per gigabyte, while others charge fees based on stored capacity. Fees vary widely; you may pay $1.99 or $10 for 100 GB of storage monthly, based on the provider you choose. Additional fees for transferring data from your network to the fees based on storage cloud are usually included in the overall service price.

Providers may charge additional fees on top of the basic cost of storage and data transfer. For instance, you may incur an extra fee every time you access data in the cloud to make changes or deletions, or to move data from one place to another. The more of these actions you perform on a monthly basis, the higher your costs will be. Even if the provider includes some base level of activity in the overall price, you will incur extra charges if you exceed the allowable limit.

Providers may also factor the number of users accessing the data, how often users access data, and how far the data has to travel into their charges. They may charge differently based on the types of data stored and whether the data requires added levels of security for privacy purposes and regulatory compliance.

Examples

Cloud storage services are available from dozens of providers to suit all needs, from those of individual users to multinational organizations with thousands of locations. For instance, you can store emails and passwords in the cloud, as well as files like spreadsheets and Word documents for sharing and collaborating with other users. This capability makes it easier for users to work together on a project, which explains while file transfer and sharing are among the most common uses of cloud storage services.

Some services provide file management and syncing, ensuring that versions of the same files in multiple locations are updated whenever someone changes them. You can also get file management capability through cloud storage services. With it, you can organize documents, spreadsheets, and other files as you see fit and make them accessible to other users. Cloud storage services also can handle media files, such as video and audio, as well as large volumes of database records that would otherwise take up too much room inside your network.

Whatever your storage needs, you should have no trouble finding a cloud storage service to deliver the capacity and functionality you need.

Cloud storage and IBM

IBM Cloud Storage offers a comprehensive suite of cloud storage services, including out-of-the-box solutions, components to create your own storage solution, and standalone and secondary storage.

Benefits of IBM Cloud solutions include:

  • Global reach
  • Scalability
  • Flexibility
  • Simplicity

You also can take advantage of IBM’s automated data backup and recovery system, which is managed through the IBM Cloud Backup WebCC browser utility. The system allows you to securely back up data in one or more IBM cloud data centers around the world.

Storage software is predicted to overtake storage hardware by 2020, by which time it will need to manage 40 zettabytes (40 sextillion bytes) of data. Check out IBM’s report “Hybrid storage for the hybrid cloud.”

Get started with an IBM Cloud account today.

Follow IBM Cloud

IBM Cloud News connects you to insight and information you can put to work right away—straight from the minds of IBM Cloud experts, IBM customers, and business and IT leaders.

Email subscribeRSS

Be the first to hear about news, product updates, and innovation from IBM Cloud