业务流程管理

menu icon

业务流程管理

了解业务流程管理,并了解它如何帮助您持续优化和自动执行业务流程以提高效率并降低成本。

什么是业务流程管理?

Gartner 定义的业务流程管理 (BPM)(链接位于 IBM 外部)提供了一些用于发现、建模、分析、衡量、改进和优化业务策略及流程的方法。 虽然 BPM 有时会与任务管理和项目管理相混淆,但它的应用范围比这些相近主题更广泛一些。 任务管理侧重于单个任务,而 BPM 着眼于整个端到端流程。 项目管理是指一次性的工作范围,而 BPM 则专门关注可重复的流程。 通过持续流程重组,组织可以简化整体工作流程,从而提高工作效率并节省成本。 这个概念并不新鲜,六西格玛和精益原则都是 BPM 方法的示例。

通过结合高级分析、活动监控和决策管理功能,业务流程管理套件可以协调人员、系统、信息和材料以实现业务成果。 因此,它们在加快实现数字化转型战略方面特别有帮助。

BPM 类型

主要有以下三种类型的业务流程管理: 以集成为中心、以人为中心和以文档为中心

  • 以集成为中心的 BPM:这种类型的 BPM 侧重于不需要太多人工干预的流程。 这些流程更依赖于 API 和跨系统集成数据的机制,例如人力资源管理 (HRM) 或客户关系管理 (CRM)。
  • 以人为中心的 BPM:与以集成为中心的 BPM 不同,这种类型的 BPM 侧重于人为参与,通常用于需要审批的地方。 具有拖放功能的直观用户界面允许团队将任务分配给不同的角色,以便于在整个过程中追究个人的责任。
  • 以文档为中心的 BPM:这种类型的 BPM 侧重于特定文档,例如合同。 当公司购买产品或服务时,需要经过多轮不同形式的审批,才能在客户与供应商之间达成一致。

业务流程管理生命周期

成功的 BPM 系统是从定义工作流程阶段开始的。 这有助于团队确定改进领域和用于跟踪进度的指标。 通过应用业务流程管理,组织可以改进运营模式,从而取得更好的业务成果。 为了取得这些成果,您应该充分了解 BPM 生命周期。 下面是五个生命周期步骤:

  1. 流程设计:团队应该从列出流程中的里程碑开始。 在此阶段,应确定整个 BPM 流程中的各个任务以及工作流程中每个步骤的任务所有者。 应该明确定义这些步骤,以便团队可以确定流程优化领域以及用于跟踪其改进情况的后续指标。
  2. 建模: 在此步骤中,团队应创建流程模型的可视化表示。 这应该包括具体的细节,例如,时间表、任务描述以及流程中的任何数据流。 在此阶段使用业务流程管理软件将会很有帮助。
  3. 执行:团队应执行概念验证,并由一个人数有限的小组来测试新的 BPM 系统。 在纳入任何反馈后,团队可以开始向更广泛的受众推出该流程。
  4. 监控:在此步骤中,团队应监控流程、衡量效率的改进情况并确定任何其他瓶颈。
  5. 优化:在最后一步中,团队对流程进行最终调整以改进业务活动。

成功的 BPM 项目需要进行仔细规划和开放式沟通,但在改进一组活动后,团队很快就会看到这样做的好处。

业务流程管理的优势

BPM 解决方案通过改进流程来提高组织价值,从而带来诸多好处。 这包括:

  • 提高效率并节省成本:BPM 系统有助于优化现有流程并将更多结构融入新流程的开发中。 可通过消除流程冗余和瓶颈来实现这一点,从而提高效率和生产力。 凭借更强的敏捷性,企业可以更快地实现预期的业务成果,并且可以将任何剩余资源分配给其他高优先级的工作。
  • 改进员工和客户体验:BPM 工具套件有助于消除重复性工作并使信息更易于访问。 通过消除干扰,员工能够专注于他们的工作和客户,从而提高客户满意度。 清晰的工作流程还可以缩短员工入职流程中的学习路线,进而提高生产力和参与度。
  • 提高流程可扩展性:由于 BPM 可以实现更好的流程执行和工作流程自动化,因此在要将流程扩展到世界其他地区时可以顺利转移这些流程。 业务流程管理工具可以明确角色并确保整个流程的一致性,同时还可以提供整合业务规则以实现自动化的机会,使团队能够更加专注于创新。
  • 提高透明度:由于业务流程自动化明确定义了流程中各个任务的所有者,因此在整个给定流程中提高了透明度并改进了问责制。 这将鼓励团队进行更多沟通。
  • 减少对开发团队的依赖:BPM 提供了低代码功能,可消除对开发工作的潜在依赖。 业务用户可以快速轻松地使用这些工具,从而提高整个公司的流程自动化程度。

业务流程管理用例

BPM 软件围绕流程提供了更多结构,并消除了给定工作流程中的一些低效问题。 成功应用 BPM 的一些示例包括:

  • 内容分发: 媒体公司可以使用 BPM 来自动执行内容准备和交付过程(从内容创建到分发)。 业务流程管理系统可以设计为与内容管理系统、权限管理系统、内容流量系统和工作订单系统进行交互。
  • 客户服务:客户服务代表可以确定聊天机器人将要处理的常见问题,以便在服务请求量较大时减轻团队的负担。 来自呼叫中心和聊天机器人的转录数据还可以帮助进一步自动化流程,并为客户提供更个性化的答案。
  • 金融:公司可以创建模板来规范化各个团队的采购订单提交过程,使他们能够更快地采购业务软件或硬件。 此外,可以为独特的场景建立定制工作流程。
  • 人力资源: HR 可以使用 BPM 来简化文档和工作流程管理。 BPM 提供了一个更加结构化的环境来处理各种 HR 表单,例如,员工入职和离职、绩效评估、休假申请和时间表审批。
  • 银行: 在处理个人或企业贷款时,银行需要评估申请人的潜在信用风险。 这涉及到从多个来源(例如申请人、雇主和信用评级机构)收集信息。 BPM 通过管理整个流程中的信息流并减少文档中的错误来加快做出贷款资格方面的决策。
  • 订单履行: 公司可以使用 BPM 来提高其订单履行系统的运行效率。 他们可以使用 BPM 来管理特价商品、订单获取和订单履行。 这将流程转向以客户为中心的订单管理,从而提供更大的业务价值。

业务流程管理和 IBM

BPM 可帮助公司实现业务价值并增强其竞争优势。 随着业务和 IT 运营需要的自动化范围越来越广,采用 BPM 代表着公司已经迈出了重要的一步。 要实现更大程度的自动化,首先要从可衡量的小型成功项目起步,然后可针对其他流程和组织的其他部分扩大规模和进行优化。

与 IBM 合作后,您可以使用 AI 支持的自动化功能(包括可自动执行和增强业务流程、决策和内容的可扩展 BPM 解决方案),通过使每个流程更加智能来帮助加快创新的步伐。

采取下一步行动:

立即开始使用 IBM Cloud 帐户

menu icon

Business Process Management

Learn about business process management and how it can help you continuously optimize and automate your business processes to improve efficiency and reduce costs.

What is business process management?

Business process management (BPM), as defined by Gartner (link resides outside IBM), employs methods to discover, model, analyze, measure, improve and optimize business strategy and processes. While it is sometimes confused with task and project management, its scope is broader than these adjacent topics. Task management focuses on individual tasks whereas BPM observes the whole end-to-end process. Project management refers to a one-time scope of work while BPM focuses specifically on processes that are repeatable. Through continuous process reengineering, organizations can streamline their overall workflows, leading to increased efficiencies and cost-savings. This concept isn’t new; six sigma and lean principles are examples of BPM methodologies.

By incorporating advanced analytics, activity monitoring, and decision management capabilities, business process management suites are able to coordinate people, systems, and information and material to achieve business outcomes. As a result, they have been particularly helpful in accelerating digital transformation strategies. 

Types of BPM

There are three main types of business process management: integration-centric, human-centric, and document-centric

  • Integration-centric BPM: This type of BPM focuses on processes that do not require much human involvement. These processes are more dependent on APIs and mechanism which integrate data across systems, like human resource management (HRM) or customer relationship management (CRM).
  • Human-centric BPM: Unlike integration-centric BPM, this type centers around human involvement, typically where approvals are required. Intuitive user interfaces with drag-and-drop features allow teams to assign tasks to different roles, making it easier to hold individuals accountable along the process.
  • Document-centric BPM:  This type of BPM centers around a specific document, such as a contract. When companies purchase a product or service, it needs to go through different forms and rounds of approval to develop an agreement between the client and vendor.

Business process management lifecycle

A successful BPM system starts by defining the stages involved in a workflow. This helps the team identify areas of improvement and metrics to track progress. By applying business process management, organizations can improve their operations, leading to better business outcomes. To achieve these results, you should fully understand the BPM lifecycle. Here are the five lifecycle steps:

  1. Process design: The team should start by outlining the milestones within the process. From there, individual tasks within the overall BPM process should be identified along with task owners for each step in the workflow. The steps should be clearly defined so that the team can identify the areas for process optimization and the subsequent metrics to track its improvement. 
  2. Model: During this step, the team should create a visual representation of the process model. This should include specific details, such as timelines, task descriptions, and any flow of data in the process.  Utilizing business process management software is helpful during this stage.
  3. Execute: The team should conduct a proof of concept, testing the new BPM system with a limited group. After incorporating any feedback, the team can begin to roll out the process to a broader audience.
  4. Monitor: During this phase, the team should monitor the process, measuring improvements in efficiency and identifying any additional bottlenecks. 
  5. Optimize: At the final step, the team make any final adjustments to the process to improve business activity.

A successful BPM project requires careful planning and open communication, but after improving a set of activities, teams quickly see the benefits of it.

Business process management benefits

BPM solutions increase organizational value through process improvement, yielding a number of benefits. Some of these include:

  • Increased efficiency and cost savings: BPM systems help to optimize existing processes and to incorporate more structure into the development of new processes. It does this by removing process redundancies and bottlenecks, resulting in improved efficiency and productivity. With more agility, businesses can achieve their intended business outcomes at a faster rate, and they can allocate any excessive resources to other high priority work.
  • Enhanced employee and customer experience: A BPM suite of tools assists in eliminating repetitive work and in making information more accessible. By removing distractions, employees are able to focus on their work and their customers, leading to increases in customer satisfaction. Clear workflows also shorten the learning curve within the employee onboarding process, enhancing productivity and engagement.  
  • More scalable processes: Since BPM enables better process execution and workflow automation, this transfers well when scaling processes to other geographies across the world. Business process management tools can bring clarity to roles, ensuring consistency along the process, and it can also surface opportunities to incorporate business rules for automation, allowing teams to focus more on innovation.
  • Greater transparency: Since business process automation clearly defines owners for tasks along the process, this provides more transparency and accountability throughout a given process. This fosters more communication among teams,
  • Less dependency on development teams: BPM offers low-code features which remove potential dependencies on development. Business users can be onboarded onto these tools quickly and easily, increasing process automation across the company.

Business process management use cases

BPM software provides more structure around processes, removing some of the inefficiencies within a given workflow. Some examples where it has been applied successfully include:

  • Content distribution: Media firms can use BPM to automate the process of content preparation and delivery, from content creation to distribution. A business process management system can be designed to interact with content management, rights management, content traffic and work order systems.
  • Customer service: Customer service representatives can identify frequently asked questions for chatbots to handle, alleviating the team when there is a high volume of service requests. Transcript data from call centers and chatbots can also help automate processes further as well as inform more personalized answers for customers.
  • Finance: Companies can create templates to standardize purchase orders submissions from various teams, allowing them to procure business software or hardware more quickly. In addition, customize workflows can be established for unique scenarios.
  • Human resources: HR can employ BPM to streamline document and workflow management. It provides a more structured environment for processing HR forms, such as employee on-boarding and off-boarding, performance evaluations, vacation requests and timesheet approval.
  • Banking: When processing individuals or businesses for loans, banks need to evaluate applicants for potential credit risk. This involves collecting information from multiple sources, such as the applicants, employers, and credit rating agencies. BPM expedites decisions around loan eligibility by managing the flow of information throughout the process and reducing errors in documentation.
  • Order fulfillment: Firms can improve the operational efficiency of their order fulfillment systems using BPM. They can use BPM to manage special offers, order capture, and order fulfillment. This shifts the process toward customer-centric order management that delivers greater business value.

Business process management and IBM

BPM helps your company to gain business value and hone its competitive edge. IBM offers a scalable BPM platform for prototyping solutions that automate and augment business processes, decisions and content. IBM's business processes management software and solutions include:

IBM Business Automation Workflow helps organizations automate processes and cases for agility, visibility, and consistency across business operations.

IBM Blueworks Live is a business process mapping and modeling solution hosted on IBM Cloud.

For more information on IBM's BPM tools and solutions, sign up for an IBMid and create an IBM Cloud account today.