DevSecOps

menu icon

DevSecOps

DevSecOps 在软件开发生命周期的每个阶段自动实施安全措施,支持以敏捷方法和 DevOps 的速度开发安全的软件。

什么是 DevSecOps?

DevSecOps 是“开发、安全运营”的缩写,在软件开发生命周期的每个阶段自动集成安全性 - 从最初的设计到集成、测试、部署直至软件交付。

DevSecOps 表示开发组织实施安全性的自然和必要的发展过程。 过去,安全性总是由单独的安全团队在开发周期结束时(几乎是事后)添加到软件中,并由单独的质量保证 (QA) 团队进行测试。

当软件更新每年仅发布一次或两次时,这种方法是可管理的。 但是,由于软件开发人员采用了敏捷和 DevOps 实践,能够将软件开发周期缩短到几周甚至几天,传统的“添加式”安全方法会形成不可接受的瓶颈。

DevSecOps 可将应用和基础架构安全无缝集成到敏捷和 DevOps 流程和工具中。 它解决了安全问题,因为这些问题出现后,用户可以更轻松、更快速、以更低的成本加以解决(在投入生产环境之前)。 此外,DevSecOps 使应用和基础架构安全性成为开发、安全和 IT 运营团队的共同责任,而不仅仅是安全职能的职责。 它使“软件更安全,更快完成开发” - 这是 DevSecOps 的座右铭 - 在不减慢软件开发周期的情况下自动交付安全的软件。

DevSecOps 的优势

DevSecOps 的两个主要优势是速度和安全性。 开发团队更快地交付更安全的代码,因此,成本更低。

DevSecOps 宣言的共同作者 Shannon Lietz 表示:“DevSecOps 的目的和意图是建立每个人都负责安全的理念,目标是在不牺牲必要安全性的前提下,快速、安全、大规模地将安全决策分配给那些拥有最高背景级别的人。”

快速、经济有效的软件交付

当软件在非 DevSecOps 环境中开发时,安全问题会导致巨大的时间延迟。 修复代码和安全问题既耗时又昂贵。 DevSecOps 的快速安全交付可节省时间并减少成本,最大程度减少在事后重复执行流程以解决安全问题的需要。

由于集成安全性消除了重复评审和不必要的重新构建,从而产生了更安全的代码,因此 DevSecOps 更高效,成本效益更高。

改进的主动安全性

DevSecOps 从开发周期开始就引入网络安全流程。 在整个开发周期中,对代码进行评审、审计、扫描和测试,以发现安全问题。 一旦发现问题,就会立即处理。 在引入其他依赖关系之前,解决安全问题。 如果在周期中尽早确定和实施防御技术,就可以降低安全问题的成本。

此外,开发、安全和运营团队之间更好的协作有助于改进组织对发生的事件和问题的响应。 DevSecOps 实践有助于缩短修补漏洞的时间,并使安全团队能够专注于更高价值的工作。 这些做法还可确保并简化合规性,节省应用开发项目的精力,使其不必为安全性进行追溯。

加速安全漏洞修补

DevSecOps 的一个主要优势是它能够快速管理新发现的安全漏洞。 随着 DevSecOps 将漏洞扫描和补丁集成到发布周期中,发现和修补常见漏洞和风险 (CVE) 的能力逐渐退出舞台。 这限制了威胁制造者在面向公众的生产系统中利用漏洞的时间窗口。

与现代开发相适应的自动化

如果组织使用持续集成/持续交付管道交付软件,那么可将网络安全测试集成到运营团队的自动化测试套件中。

安全检查自动化很大程度上取决于项目和组织目标。 自动化测试可确保整合的软件依赖关系处于适当的补丁级别,并确认软件通过安全单元测试。 此外,在最终更新升级到生产环境之前,它可以使用静态和动态分析来测试和保护代码。

可重复、自适应的过程

随着组织逐步成熟,其安全姿态也日趋成熟。 DevSecOps 将自身实施为可重复、自适应的过程。 这确保在环境中一致地应用安全性,随着环境发生变化,安全性也会适应新要求。 成熟的 DevSecOps 实现将具有坚实的自动化、配置管理、编排、容器、不可改变的基础架构甚至无服务器计算环境。

DevSecOps 的最佳实践

DevSecOps 可将安全控制自然融入开发、交付和运营流程。

左移

“左移”是 DevSecOps 的一种说法: 它鼓励软件工程师将安全性从DevOps(交付)流程的右侧(末尾)移至左侧(开头)。 在 DevSecOps 环境中,安全性从一开始就成为开发流程不可分割的组成部分。 使用 DevSecOps 的组织将其网络安全架构师和工程师作为开发团队的一部分。 他们的工作是确保技术栈中的每个组件和每个配置项都已修补、安全地配置并妥善记录。

左移让 DevSecOps 团队能够及早发现安全风险,并确保立即解决这些安全威胁。 开发团队不仅要考虑高效地构建产品,还在构建时实施安全性。

安全教育

安全性是工程与合规性的结合。 组织应在开发工程师、运营团队和合规团队之间形成联盟,确保组织中的所有人了解公司的安全状况,遵循相同的标准。

参与交付过程的每个人都应该熟悉应用安全性的基本原则、开放式 Web 应用安全项目 (OWASP) 的前 10 大实践、应用安全测试和其他安全工程实践。 开发人员需要了解线程模型和合规性检查,并了解如何衡量风险以及如何实施安全控制

文化: 通信、人员、流程和技术

出色的领导能力能够促进良好的企业文化,推动组织内的变革。 在 DevSecOps 中,传达流程和产品所有权的安全职责至关重要。 只有这样,开发人员和工程师才能成为流程负责人,为其工作承担责任。

DevSecOps 运营团队可使用适合其团队和当前项目的技术和协议,创建适当的系统。 通过支持团队创建适合自己需求的工作流程环境,他们成为项目成果中的投资利益相关方。

可跟踪性、可审计性和可视性

在 DevSecOps 流程中实现可跟踪性、可审计性和可视性,获得更深入的洞察,建立更安全的环境:

  • 可跟踪性旨在跟踪开发周期中的配置项,确定在代码中实现需求的位置。 这可以在组织的控制框架中发挥关键作用,因为它有助于实现合规性,减少错误,确保应用开发中的安全代码,以及建立代码可维护性。
  • 可审计性对于通过安全控制确保合规性而言非常重要。 技术、程序和管理安全控制必须可审计,形成正式文件,并由所有团队成员遵守。
  • 可视性通常是良好管理实践,但对于 DevSecOps 环境非常重要。 这意味着组织实施了牢固的监控系统,用于衡量运营状况,发送警报,提高对变更和网络攻击的认识,并在整个项目生命周期内建立问责机制。

DevSecOps 和 IBM

使用 DevSecOps 工具和实践的组织为数字化转型奠定了强大的基础;随着自动化需求广泛覆盖业务和 IT 运营,使应用实现现代化

要实现更大程度的自动化,首先要从可衡量的小型成功项目起步,然后可针对其他流程和组织的其他部分扩大规模和进行优化。

通过与 IBM 合作,您可以访问基于 AI 的自动化能力,包括预先构建的工作流程,使每个 IT 服务流程更加智能化,使团队能够专注于最重要的 IT 问题并加速创新。

IBM 还拥有一套面向 DevSecOps 的工具和服务,以实现安全的持续交付、集成的安全测试和云原生交付管道。

采取下一步行动:

  • 使用 IBM® UrbanCode®,自动执行软件部署,获取对复杂发布周期的控制,加快发布流程并提高产品质量。
  • 通过 IBM DevOpsDevOps InsightsIBM Cloud Pak® for Applications(具有可选的 DevOps 附加组件),提高企业敏捷性,缩短发布周期并增强网络安全。
  • 了解如何利用 IBM Cloud Pak for Watson AIOps,将 AI 置于整个 IT 运营工具链的核心,通过将洞察和建议直接纳入团队工作流程,消除对多个仪表板的需求,加快事件解决速度。
  • 立即注册,下载 Gartner 报告,了解如何使用 AI 建立面向未来的 IT 运营。 
  • 下载 IBM Cloud® 信息图 (PDF,464 KB) ,了解基于 AI 的 IT 运营自动化的收益。

即刻开始使用 IBM Cloud 帐户

By: IBM Cloud Education

DevSecOps automatically bakes in security at every phase of the software development lifecycle, enabling development of secure software at the speed of Agile and DevOps.

What is DevSecOps?

DevSecOps—short for development, security, and operations—automates the integration of security at every phase of the software development lifecycle, from initial design through integration, testing, deployment, and software delivery.

DevSecOps represents a natural and necessary evolution in the way development organizations approach security. In the past, security was 'tacked on' to software at the end of the development cycle (almost as an afterthought) by a separate security team and was tested by a separate quality assurance (QA) team.

This was manageable when software updates were released just once or twice a year. But as software developers adopted Agile and DevOps practices, aiming to reduce software development cycles to weeks or even days, the traditional 'tacked-on' approach to security created an unacceptable bottleneck.

DevSecOps integrates application and infrastructure security seamlessly into Agile and DevOps processes and tools. It addresses security issues as they emerge, when they're easier, faster, and less expensive to fix (and before they are put into production). Additionally, DevSecOps makes application and infrastructure security a shared responsibility of development, security, and IT operations teams, rather than the sole responsibility of a security silo. It enables “software, safer, sooner”—the DevSecOps motto–by automating the delivery of secure software without slowing the software development cycle.

Benefits of DevSecOps

The two main benefits of DevSecOps are speed and security. Development teams deliver better, more-secure code faster, and, therefore, cheaper.

“The purpose and intent of DevSecOps is to build on the mindset that everyone is responsible for security with the goal of safely distributing security decisions at speed and scale to those who hold the highest level of context without sacrificing the safety required,” describes Shannon Lietz, co-author of the “DevSecOps Manifesto.”

Rapid, cost-effective software delivery

When software is developed in a non-DevSecOps environment, security problems can lead to huge time delays. Fixing the code and security issues can be time-consuming and expensive. The rapid, secure delivery of DevSecOps saves time and reduces costs by minimizing the need to repeat a process to address security issues after the fact.

This becomes more efficient and cost-effective since integrated security cuts out duplicative reviews and unnecessary rebuilds, resulting in more secure code.

Improved, proactive security

DevSecOps introduces cybersecurity processes from the beginning of the development cycle. Throughout the development cycle, the code is reviewed, audited, scanned, and tested for security issues. These issues are addressed as soon as they are identified. Security problems are fixed before additional dependencies are introduced. Security issues become less expensive to fix when protective technology is identified and implemented early in the cycle.

Additionally, better collaboration between development, security, and operations teams improves an organization’s response to incidences and problems when they occur. DevSecOps practices reduce the time to patch vulnerabilities and free up security teams to focus on higher value work. These practices also ensure and simplify compliance, saving application development projects from having to be retrofitted for security.

Accelerated security vulnerability patching

A key benefit of DevSecOps is how quickly it manages newly identified security vulnerabilities. As DevSecOps integrates vulnerability scanning and patching into the release cycle, the ability to identify and patch common vulnerabilities and exposures (CVE) is diminished. This limits the window a threat actor has to take advantage of vulnerabilities in public-facing production systems.

Automation compatible with modern development

Cybersecurity testing can be integrated into an automated test suite for operations teams if an organization uses a continuous integration/continuous delivery pipeline to ship their software.

Automation of security checks depends strongly on the project and organizational goals. Automated testing can ensure incorporated software dependencies are at appropriate patch levels, and confirm that software passes security unit testing. Plus, it can test and secure code with static and dynamic analysis before the final update is promoted to production.

A repeatable and adaptive process

As organizations mature, their security postures mature. DevSecOps lends itself to repeatable and adaptive processes. This ensures security is applied consistently across the environment, as the environment changes and adapts to new requirements. A mature implementation of DevSecOps will have a solid automation, configuration management, orchestration, containers, immutable infrastructure, and even serverless compute environments.

Best practices for DevSecOps

DevSecOps should be the natural incorporation of security controls into your development, delivery, and operational processes.

Shift left

'Shift left' is a DevSecOps mantra: It encourages software engineers to move security from the right (end) to the left (beginning) of the DevOps (delivery) process. In a DevSecOps environment, security is an integral part of the development process from the beginning. An organization that uses DevSecOps brings in their cybersecurity architects and engineers as part of the development team. Their job is to ensure every component, and every configuration item in the stack is patched, configured securely, and documented.

Shifting left allows the DevSecOps team to identify security risks and exposures early and ensures that these security threats are addressed immediately. Not only is the development team thinking about building the product efficiently, but they are also implementing security as they build it.

Security education

Security is a combination of engineering and compliance. Organizations should form an alliance between the development engineers, operations teams, and compliance teams to ensure everyone in the organization understands the company's security posture and follows the same standards.

Everyone involved with the delivery process should be familiar with the basic principles of application security, the Open Web Application Security Project (OWASP) top 10, application security testing, and other security engineering practices. Developers need to understand thread models, compliance checks, and have a working knowledge of how to measure risks, exposure, and implement security controls

Culture: Communication, people, processes, and technology

Good leadership fosters a good culture that promotes change within the organization. It is important and essential in DevSecOps to communicate the responsibilities of security of processes and product ownership. Only then can developers and engineers become process owners and take responsibility for their work.

DevSecOps operations teams should create a system that works for them, using the technologies and protocols that fit their team and the current project. By allowing the team to create the workflow environment that fits their needs, they become invested stakeholders in the outcome of the project.

Traceability, auditability, and visibility

Implementing traceability, auditability, and visibility in a DevSecOps process leads to deeper insight and a more secure environment:

  • Traceability allows you to track configuration items across the development cycle to where requirements are implemented in the code. This can play a crucial part in your organization’s control framework as it helps achieve compliance, reduce bugs, ensure secure code in application development, and help code maintainability.
  • Auditability is important for ensuring compliance with security controls. Technical, procedural, and administrative security controls need to be auditable, well-documented, and adhered to by all team members.
  • Visibility is a good management practice in general, but very important for a DevSecOps environment. This means the organization has a solid monitoring system in place to measure the heartbeat of the operation, send alerts, increase awareness of changes and cyberattacks as they occur, and provide accountability during the whole project lifecycle.

DevSecOps and IBM

IBM has a suite of DevSecOps-ready tools and services to enable secure continuous delivery, integrated security testing, and cloud native delivery pipelines.

IBM’s Urban Code helps IBM customers automate software deployment, gain control over complex release cycles, speed the release process, and improve product quality.

Increase your enterprise agility, shorten your release cycles, and enhance your cybersecurity with IBM DevOps, DevOps Insights, and IBM Cloud Pak for Applications (with optional DevOps add-on).

Learn more about how IBM can support your DevSecOps practices and sign up for a free IBM Cloud account today to get started with the IBM Cloud Pak for Applications.

Follow IBM Cloud

IBM Cloud News connects you to insight and information you can put to work right away—straight from the minds of IBM Cloud experts, IBM customers, and business and IT leaders.

Email subscribeRSS

Be the first to hear about news, product updates, and innovation from IBM Cloud