什么是数字孪生?

数字孪生是对系统或对象在其整个生命周期中的虚拟表示,根据实时数据进行更新,并使用模拟、机器学习和推理来帮助决策。

Processor in digital environment

数字孪生的工作原理

数字孪生是一个虚拟模型,用于准确地反映物理对象。 所研究的对象(例如风力涡轮)会配备各种与重要功能领域相关的传感器。 这些传感器产生与物理对象不同方面的性能相关的数据,如能量输出、温度、天气条件等等。 然后,这些数据将转发到处理系统并应用于数字副本。 

获得这类数据后,虚拟模型就可以用来运行模拟,研究性能问题和生成可能的改进,最终目的是产生有价值的见解 - 而见解又可以反过来应用于原始物理对象。

数字孪生与模拟

虽然模拟和数字孪生都利用数字模型来复制系统的各种过程,但数字孪生实际上是一个虚拟环境,因此具有更加丰富的研究意义。 数字孪生和模拟的区别主要在于规模:模拟通常研究一个特定的过程,但数字孪生本身可以运行任意数量的有用模拟来研究多个过程。

二者的区别远不止于此。 例如,实时数据通常对模拟而言并无益处。 但是数字孪生是围绕双向信息流的而设计的。对象传感器向系统处理器提供相关数据时出现第一次信息流,然后在处理器生成见解并与原始源对象共享时出现反向信息流。

如果与广泛领域相关的数据质量更高并且持续更新,再加上虚拟环境所具备的额外算力,数字孪生便能够从更有利的起点开始研究更多问题,而不仅仅是标准模拟,最终增加改进产品和流程的机会。


数字孪生的类型

数字孪生有多种不同的类型,具体取决于产品放大率水平。 这些双胞胎之间的最大区别是应用领域。 一个系统或过程中共存不同类型的数字孪生十分常见。 下面我们将介绍不同类型的数字孪生,以了解它们之间的区别和应用方式。

组件双胞胎/零件双胞胎

组件双胞胎是数字孪生的基本单元,是功能组件的最小示例。 零件双胞胎基本相同,但与相对不太重要的组件有关。

资产双胞胎

当两个或更多的组件一起工作时,就形成了所谓的资产。 资产双胞胎允许您研究这些组件之间的交互,交互会产生大量的可处理性能数据,然后转化为可操作的见解。

系统或单元双胞胎

下一级放大率涉及系统或单元双胞胎,使您能够了解不同资产如何汇集到一起而形成整个功能系统。 系统双胞胎提供有关资产交互的可见性,并可能指示性能增强。

过程双胞胎

过程双胞胎即宏级别放大率,揭示了系统如何协同工作以创建一个完整的生产设施。 那些系统是否全部同步到以峰值效率运作?一个系统发生延迟是否会影响其他系统? 过程双胞胎可以帮助确定精确的计时方案,最终影响总体有效性。


数字孪生技术发展史

1991 年, David Gelernter 出版了《 镜像世界》,首次提出数字孪生技术的想法。 但是,Michael Grieves 博士(后来在密歇根大学任教)于 2002 年第一次将数字孪生概念应用于制造业,正式宣布数字孪生软件概念的诞生。 最终,美国宇航局的 John Vickers 在 2010 年引入了一个新名词“数字孪生”。

但其实,在更早之前,已经出现了利用数字孪生研究物理对象的核心理念。 实际上,可以说是美国宇航局在 1960 年代太空探索任务中就率先使用了数字孪生技术,每一艘宇宙飞船都有一个完全一样的复刻版本留在地球上,供美国宇航局人员研究和模拟,以便为机组人员提供服务。


数字孪生的优势与益处

改进研发工作
通过使用数字孪生,结合大量的可能的性能结果数据,可以实现更有效的产品研究和设计。 这些信息可以产生见解,帮助公司在开始生产前做出必要的产品优化。

提高效率
即使新产品已经开始生产,数字孪生也可以帮助镜像和监控生产系统,关注整个制造过程中达到和保持峰值效率的情况。

产品寿命结束
数字孪生甚至可以帮助制造商决定如何处理生命周期已经结束并需要进行最终处理的产品,例如回收或采取其他措施。 通过使用数字孪生,他们可以确定可以回收哪些产品材料。


数字孪生市场与产业

虽然数字孪生因其用处而备受重视,但并不能保证它们对于每一个制造商或创造的每一个产品均有用处。 并不是每一个对象都复杂到需要定期产生大量的传感器数据流来满足数字孪生的需要。 从财务角度来看,投入大量资源创建数字孪生也并非总是物有所值。 (请记住,一个数字孪生是对一个物理对象的精确复制,因此创造成本可能非常高。)

另一方面,许多类型的项目确实会因为使用数字模型而受益:

  • 大型项目 需要严格遵守工程规则的建筑物、桥梁和其他复杂结构。 
  • 机械复杂的项目 喷射涡轮机、汽车和飞机。 数字孪生可以帮助提高复杂机械和庞大发动机内部的效率。
  • 电力设备 这包括发电和输电两种机制。
  • 制造项目 数字孪生擅长帮助简化过程效率,在使用协同作业机器系统的工业环境中尤为明显。

因此,通过数字孪生取得最大成功的行业都是涉及大规模产品或项目的行业:

  • 工程(系统)
  • 汽车制造
  • 飞机制造
  • 轨道车设计
  • 建筑构造
  • 制造业
  • 电力企业

数字孪生市场:蓄势待发

数字孪生市场的迅速扩张表明,虽然数字孪生已经在许多行业得到运用,但未来一段时间内,对数字孪生的需求将会越来越高。 2020 年,数字孪生市场价值达到 31 亿美元。 一些行业分析师推测,至少在 2026 年之前,该市场仍会继续大幅上涨,估计会攀升至 482 亿美元1


利用数字孪生提升制造效率

借助端到端数字孪生,所有者/运营商能够减少设备停机时间,同时提高生产力。 探索由 IBM 和 Siemens 联合打造的服务生命周期管理解决方案


数字孪生应用

数字孪生已广泛用于以下领域:

发电设备

大型引擎 - 包括喷射发动机、机车发动机和发电涡轮机,极大地受益于数字孪生的使用,尤其是帮助确立定期维护时间表。

结构及其系统

大型物理结构,例如大型建筑物或海上钻井平台,通过数字孪生得到改进,尤其是在设计阶段。 对于设计这些结构内运行的系统(例如 HVAC 系统)也很有用。

制造作业

由于数字孪生是为了镜像一个产品的整个生命周期,因此它自然地广泛应用于所有制造阶段,在从产品设计到最终成品的所有环节提供指导作用。

医疗保健服务

正如产品可以通过使用数字孪生来描述一样,接受医疗保健服务的患者同样如此。 传感器生成数据的同一类型系统可用于跟踪各种健康指标和生成关键见解。

汽车行业

汽车代表许多类型的复杂并协同运作的系统。数字孪生广泛运用于汽车设计,既能提升车辆性能,又能提高汽车的生产效率。

城市规划

土木工程师和其他参与城市规划活动的人员受到数字孪生的极大帮助,它可以实时显示 3D 和 4D 空间数据,还能将增强现实系统融入构建好的环境。


数字孪生的未来

很显然,现有经营模式正在发生着根本性改变。 数字革命正在席卷资产密集型行业,以颠覆性的方式改变运营模式,这就需要从物理和数字的角度全面掌控资产、设备、设施和过程。 数字孪生是这一变革的重要部分。

数字孪生几乎拥有无可限量的未来,因为认知功能的持续增长不断促进数字孪生的使用。 所以,数字孪生总在不断学习新的技能和能力,这意味着他们可以继续生成所需的见解,帮助生产更优质的产品和提高生产效率。

阅读以下文章,了解借助数字孪生改变资源运营将会为您的行业带来哪些影响。


相关解决方案

IBM Digital Twin Exchange

了解制造商、OEM 和第三方供应商在哪些方面共享数字资源作为数字孪生。


IBM Engineering Systems Design Rhapsody

了解用于建模和系统设计的一站式解决方案,帮助您更快地交付系统和软件。


IBM Maximo Application Suite

通过提高资产可用性、减少成本以及降低设备故障的风险,最大程度提高资产的绩效。

How does a digital twin work?

A digital twin is a virtual model designed to accurately reflect a physical object. The object being studied — for example, a wind turbine — is outfitted with various sensors related to vital areas of functionality. These sensors produce data about different aspects of the physical object’s performance, such as energy output, temperature, weather conditions and more. This data is then relayed to a processing system and applied to the digital copy. 

Once informed with such data, the virtual model can be used to run simulations, study performance issues and generate possible improvements, all with the goal of generating valuable insights — which can then be applied back to the original physical object.


Digital twins vs. simulations

Although simulations and digital twins both utilize digital models to replicate a system’s various processes, a digital twin is actually a virtual environment, which makes it considerably richer for study. The difference between digital twin and simulation is largely a matter of scale: While a simulation typically studies one particular process, a digital twin can itself run any number of useful simulations in order to study multiple processes.

The differences don’t end there. For example, simulations usually don’t benefit from having real-time data. But digital twins are designed around a two-way flow of information that first occurs when object sensors provide relevant data to the system processor and then happens again when insights created by the processor are shared back with the original source object.

By having better and constantly updated data related to a wide range of areas, combined with the added computing power that accompanies a virtual environment, digital twins are able to study more issues from far more vantage points than standard simulations can — with greater ultimate potential to improve products and processes.


Types of digital twins

There are various types of digital twins depending on the level of product magnification. The biggest difference between these twins is the area of application. It is common to have different types of digital twins co-exist within a system or process. Let’s go through the types of digital twins to learn the differences and how they are applied.

Component twins/Parts twins

Component twins are the basic unit of digital twin, the smallest example of a functioning component. Parts twins are roughly the same thing, but pertain to components of slightly less importance.

Asset twins

When two or more components work together, they form what is known as an asset. Asset twins let you study the interaction of those components, creating a wealth of performance data that can be processed and then turned into actionable insights.

System or Unit twins

The next level of magnification involves system or unit twins, which enable you to see how different assets come together to form an entire functioning system. System twins provide visibility regarding the interaction of assets, and may suggest performance enhancements.

Process twins

Process twins, the macro level of magnification, reveal how systems work together to create an entire production facility. Are those systems all synchronized to operate at peak efficiency, or will delays in one system affect others? Process twins can help determine the precise timing schemes that ultimately influence overall effectiveness.


History of digital twin technology

The idea of digital twin technology was first voiced in 1991, with the publication of Mirror Worlds, by David Gelernter. However, Dr. Michael Grieves (then on faculty at the University of Michigan) is credited with first applying the concept of digital twins to manufacturing in 2002 and formally announcing the digital twin software concept. Eventually, NASA’s John Vickers introduced a new term — “digital twin”— in 2010.

However, the core idea of using a digital twin as a means of studying a physical object can actually be witnessed much earlier. In fact, it can be rightfully said that NASA pioneered the use of digital twin technology during its space exploration missions of the 1960s, when each voyaging spacecraft was exactly replicated in an earthbound version that was used for study and simulation purposes by NASA personnel serving on flight crews.


Advantages and benefits of digital twins

Better R&D

The use of digital twins enables more effective research and design of products, with an abundance of data created about likely performance outcomes. That information can lead to insights that help companies make needed product refinements before starting production.


Greater efficiency

Even after a new product has gone into production, digital twins can help mirror and monitor production systems, with an eye to achieving and maintaining peak efficiency throughout the entire manufacturing process.


Product end-of-life

Digital twins can even help manufacturers decide what to do with products that reach the end of their product lifecycle and need to receive final processing, through recycling or other measures. By using digital twins, they can determine which product materials can be harvested.


Digital twin market and industries

While digital twins are prized for what they offer, their use isn’t warranted for every manufacturer or every product created. Not every object is complex enough to need the intense and regular flow of sensor data that digital twins require. Nor is it always worth it from a financial standpoint to invest significant resources in the creation of a digital twin. (Keep in mind that a digital twin is an exact replica of a physical object, which could make its creation costly.)

On the other hand, numerous types of projects do specifically benefit from the use of digital models:

  • Physically large projects Buildings, bridges and other complex structures bound by strict rules of engineering. 
  • Mechanically complex projects Jet turbines, automobiles and aircraft. Digital twins can help improve efficiency within complicated machinery and mammoth engines.
  • Power equipment This includes both the mechanisms for generating power and transmitting it.
  • Manufacturing projects Digital twins excel at helping streamline process efficiency, as you would find in industrial environments with co-functioning machine systems.

Therefore, the industries that achieve the greatest success with digital twins are those involved with large-scale products or projects:

  • Engineering (systems)
  • Automobile manufacturing
  • Aircraft production
  • Railcar design
  • Building construction
  • Manufacturing
  • Power utilities


Digital twin market: Poised for growth

The rapidly expanding digital twin market indicates that while digital twins are already in use across many industries, the demand for digital twins will continue to escalate for some time. In 2020, the digital twin market was valued at USD 3.1 billion. Some industry analysts speculate it could continue to rise sharply until at least 2026, climbing to an estimated USD 48.2 billion.¹

 


Digital twin use cases and applications

Improving manufacturing efficiency with digital twin

The use of end-to-end digital twins lets owner/operators reduce equipment downtime while upping production. Discover a Service Lifecycle Management solution created by IBM and Siemens.

Applications

Digital twins are already extensively used in the following applications:

Power-generation equipment

Large engines — including jet engines, locomotive engines and power-generation turbines — benefit tremendously from the use of digital twins, especially for helping to establish timeframes for regularly needed maintenance.

Structures and their systems

Big physical structures, such as large buildings or offshore drilling platforms, can be improved through digital twins, particularly during their design. Also useful in designing the systems operating within those structures, such as HVAC systems.

Manufacturing operations

Since digital twins are meant to mirror a product’s entire lifecycle, it’s not surprising that digital twins have become ubiquitous in all stages of manufacturing, guiding products from design to finished product, and all steps in between.

Healthcare services

Just as products can be profiled through the use of digital twins, so can patients receiving healthcare services. The same type system of sensor-generated data can be used to track a variety of health indicators and generate key insights.

Automotive industry

Cars represent many types of complex, co-functioning systems, and digital twins are used extensively in auto design, both to improve vehicle performance and increase the efficiency surrounding their production.

Urban planning

Civil engineers and others involved in urban planning activities are aided significantly by the use of digital twins, which can show 3D and 4D spatial data in real time and also incorporate augmented reality systems into built environments.


The future of digital twin

A fundamental change to existing operating models is clearly happening. A digital reinvention is occurring in asset-intensive industries that is changing operating models in a disruptive way, requiring an integrated physical plus digital view of assets, equipment, facilities and processes. Digital twins are a vital part of that realignment.

The future of digital twins is nearly limitless, due to the fact that increasing amounts of cognitive power are constantly being devoted to their use. So digital twins are constantly learning new skills and capabilities, which means they can continue to generate the insights needed to make products better and processes more efficient.

Learn how change will impact your industry in this article on transforming asset operations with digital twins.


Digital twin case studies

ASTRI embraces MBSE processes Industry: Research

Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute Company Limited (ASTRI) cut costs and integration time by adopting Model-Based Systems Engineering (MBSE) processes.

Rotterdam scores big with test scenarios Industry: Shipping

The Port of Rotterdam is using IBM digital twin technology to transform itself from the biggest to the smartest.

UC San Francisco builds with digital twins Industry: Education

By building its new healthcare facility using a digital twin created with IBM Maximo, the university saves times, reduces costs and streamlines ongoing operations.

Schaeffler’s bold cognitive transformation Industry: Manufacturing

Through a multi-year partnership with IBM, German industrial giant Schaeffler has been infusing its entire business with Watson’s cognitive intelligence.

Resources

IBM Developer: What are digital twins?

Hear from a trio of IBM technologists on the subject, who also address related topics such as how to use digital twins to solve real-world problems, key considerations about using digital twins and a look at their reference architecture.

Cheat Sheet: What is Digital Twin?

Get quickly up to speed on digital twin with this helpful overview, which offers a nutshell definition of the term, possible use cases and the value of digital twin, as well as estimates of where this dynamic technology is heading next.

Plan for your digital twin

Digital twins can help address various problems that organizations face, but bringing the pieces together requires a good plan and clear understanding of the organization’s goals.

Solutions

IBM Digital Twin Exchange

See where manufacturers, OEMs and third-party providers share digital resources as digital twins.

IBM Engineering Systems Design Rhapsody

Meet a one-stop solution for modeling and systems design, helping you deliver systems and software faster.

IBM Maximo Application Suite

Maximize asset performance by increasing asset availability, lowering costs and reducing the risk of equipment failure.

Footnote