什么是 k 最近邻算法?
了解 k 最近邻算法,这是当今机器学习中使用的流行且最简单的分类和回归分类器之一
正在写代码的开发人员的后背视图
K-最近邻算法

k-最近邻算法,也称为 KNN 或 k-NN,是一种非参数、有监督的学习分类器,它使用邻近度对单个数据点的分组进行分类或预测。 虽然它可以用于回归或分类问题,但它通常用作分类算法,假设可以在彼此附近找到相似点。


对于分类问题,根据多数票分配类别标签,也就是使用在给定数据点周围最常表示的标签。 虽然这在技术上被认为是"最高票制",但"多数票"一词在文学中更常用。 这两个术语之间的区别在于,"多数票"在技术上要求超过 50% 的多数,这主要适用于只有两个类别的情况。 有多个分类时(例如四个类别),不一定要求 50% 的投票才能对一个分类下结论;您可以分配一个投票率超过 25% 的类别标签。 威斯康星大学麦迪逊分校通过 此处的 示例很好地总结了这一点 (PDF, 1.2 MB) (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)。 

回归问题使用与分类问题类似的概念,但在这种情况下,取 k 个最近邻的平均值来对分类进行预测。 这里的主要区别是分类用于离散值,而回归用于连续值。 但是,在进行分类之前,必须定义距离。 最常用的是欧几里得距离,我们将在下面深入研究。
还值得注意的是,KNN 算法也是"惰性学习"模型家族的一部分,这意味着它只是存储训练数据集,而不是经历训练阶段。 这也意味着所有计算都发生在进行分类或预测时。 由于这种算法严重依赖内存来存储其所有训练数据,因此也称为基于实例或基于内存的学习方法。
Evelyn Fix 和 Joseph Hodges 在 1951 年的这篇 论文  (PDF, 1.1 MB) (链接位于 ibm.com 外部) 中提出了围绕 KNN 模型的最初想法,而 Thomas Cover 在他的 研究  (PDF 1 MB)(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)中扩展了他们的概念:“最近邻模式分类”。 虽然这种算法不再像以前那样受欢迎,但由于其简单性和准确性,仍然是人们在数据科学中学习的首选算法之一。 然而,随着数据集的增长,KNN 变得越来越低效,影响了整体模型的性能。 这种算法通常用于简单的推荐系统、模式识别、数据挖掘、金融市场预测、入侵检测等。 


计算 KNN:距离度量

总结一下,k 最近邻算法的目标是识别给定查询点的最近邻,以便我们可以为该点分配一个类标签。 为了做到这一点,KNN 有几个要求:

确定距离度量

为了确定哪些数据点最接近给定查询点,需要计算查询点与其他数据点之间的距离。 这些距离度量有助于形成决策边界,而决策边界可将查询点划分为不同的区域。 你通常会看到使用 Voronoi 图可视化的决策边界。

虽然可以选择多种距离度量,但本文仅涵盖以下几种:

欧几里得距离(p=2) :这是最常用的距离度量,仅限于实值向量。 使用下面的公式,可以测量查询点和被测量的另一个点之间的直线。

曼哈顿距离(p=1):这也是另一种流行的距离指标,它测量两点之间的绝对值。 也称为出租车距离或城市街区距离,因为它通常用网格可视化,说明人们如何通过城市街道从一个地址导航到另一个地址。

闵可夫斯基距离:此距离度量是欧几里得和曼哈顿距离度量的广义形式。 下面公式中的参数 p 允许创建其他距离度量。 当 p 等于 2 时,欧几里得距离用这个公式表示,而曼哈顿距离用 p 等于 1 来表示。

汉明距离:这种技术通常与布尔或字符串向量一起使用,识别向量不匹配的点。 因此,它也被称为重叠度量。 这可以用以下公式表示:

举个例子,如果您有以下字符串,则汉明距离将为 2,因为只有两个值不同。


计算 KNN:定义 k

k-NN 算法中的 k 值定义了将检查多少个邻居以确定特定查询点的分类。 例如,如果 k=1,实例将被分配到与其单个最近邻相同的类。 定义 k 可以是一种平衡行为,因为不同的值会导致过拟合或欠拟合。 k 值越小,可能导致方差越大,但如果偏差较低,以及 k 值越大可能导致偏差较高且方差较低。 k 的选择将很大程度上取决于输入数据,因为具有更多异常值或噪声的数据可能会在 k 值较高时表现更好。 总体而言,建议 k 使用奇数以避免分类联系,交叉验证策略可以帮助你为数据集选择最佳 k。

k 最近邻和 python

要深入研究,您可以通过使用 Python 和 scikit-learn(也称为 sklearn)来了解有关 k-NN 算法的更多信息。 Watson Studio 中的 教程 可帮助您学习该库的基本语法,该库还包含其他流行的库,如 NumPy、pandas 和 Matplotlib。 以下代码是如何使用 KNN 模型创建和预测的示例:

from sklearn.neighbors import KNeighborsClassifier
model_name = 'K-Nearest Neighbor Classifier'
knnClassifier = KNeighborsClassifier(n_neighbors = 5, metric = 'minkowski', p=2)
knn_model = Pipeline(steps=[('preprocessor', preprocessorForFeatures), ('classifier' , knnClassifier)])
knn_model.fit(X_train, y_train)
y_pred = knn_model.predict(X_test)


k-NN 在机器学习中的应用

k-NN 算法已在各种应用中得到运用,主要是在分类中。 其中一些用例包括:

数据预处理:数据集经常有缺失值,但 KNN 算法可以在称为缺失数据插补的过程中估计这些值。

推荐引擎:通过使用来自网站的点击流数据,KNN 算法已被用于向用户提供有关其他内容的自动推荐。 这项研究(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)显示用户已分配到特定的分组,并根据该分组的用户行为,为他们提供建议。  然而,考虑到 KNN 的缩放问题,这种方法对于较大的数据集可能不是最优的。

金融:该算法也被用于各种金融和经济用例。 例如,一篇论文  (PDF, 439 KB)  (链接位于 ibm.com 外部) 展示了如何通过对信用数据使用 KNN 算法来帮助银行评估向组织或个人提供贷款的风险。 它用于确定贷款申请人的信用状况。 另一份期刊  (PDF, 447 KB)(链接位于 ibm.com 外部) 重点介绍了它在股票市场预测、货币汇率、交易期货和洗钱分析中的用途。

医疗保健:KNN 还应用于医疗保健行业,预测心脏病发作和前列腺癌的风险。 该算法用于计算最有可能的基因表达。

模式识别:KNN 还有助于识别模式,例如文本和数字分类 (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)。 这对于识别表格或邮寄信封上的手写数字特别有用。 


KNN 算法的优缺点

就像任何机器学习算法一样,k-NN 也有其优点和缺点。 根据项目和应用,它可能是也可能不是正确的选择。

优势

易于实现:鉴于算法的简单性和准确性,它是新数据科学家将学习的首批分类器之一。

轻松适应:随着新训练样本的增加,算法会根据任何新数据进行调整,因为所有训练数据都存储在内存中。

很少的超参数:KNN 只需要 a k 值和距离度量,与其他机器学习算法相比,所需的超参数很少。

缺点

不能很好地扩展:由于 KNN 是一种惰性算法,因此与其他分类器相比,它占用了更多的内存和数据存储。 从时间和金钱的角度来看,这可能是昂贵的。 更多的内存和存储将增加业务开支,而更多的数据可能需要更长的时间来计算。 虽然已经创建了不同的数据结构(例如 Ball-Tree)来解决计算效率低下的问题,但分类器是否理想可能取决于业务问题。

维度的诅咒:KNN 算法容易成为维度诅咒的受害者,这意味着它在高维数据输入时表现不佳。 这有时也称为峰值现象 (PDF,340 MB) (链接位于 ibm.com 外部),在算法达到最佳特征数量后,额外的特征会增加分类错误的数量,尤其是当样本尺寸较小时。

容易过拟合:由于"维度的诅咒",KNN 也更容易过拟合。 虽然利用特征选择和降维技术来防止这种情况发生,但 k 的值也会影响模型的行为。 较小的 k 值可能会过度拟合数据,而较大的 k 值往往会"平滑"预测值,因为它是对更大区域或邻域的值进行平均。 但是,如果 k 的值太高,那么可能会欠拟合数据。 


相关解决方案

IBM Cloud Pak for Data

IBM Cloud Pak for Data 是一个开放式、可扩展的数据平台,它提供的数据架构可使所有数据在任何云端用于 AI 与分析。


IBM Watson Studio

构建、运行和管理 AI 模型。 使用开源代码或可视化建模在任何云中准备数据和构建模型。 预测并优化结果。


IBM DB2 on Cloud



后续步骤

k-NN 节点和 IBM Cloud Pak for Data

Cloud Pak for Data 是一组工具,可帮助为 AI 实施准备数据。 k-NN 节点是 IBM Cloud Pak for Data 中可用的一种建模方法,可以让开发预测模型变得非常容易。 该插件部署在任何云上,并无缝集成到您的现有云基础设施中。

What is the k-nearest neighbors algorithm?

Learn about the k-nearest neighbors algorithm, one of the popular and simplest classification and regression classifiers used in machine learning today

Rear view of developer writing code

K-Nearest Neighbors Algorithm

The k-nearest neighbors algorithm, also known as KNN or k-NN, is a non-parametric, supervised learning classifier, which uses proximity to make classifications or predictions about the grouping of an individual data point. While it can be used for either regression or classification problems, it is typically used as a classification algorithm, working off the assumption that similar points can be found near one another.


For classification problems, a class label is assigned on the basis of a majority vote—i.e. the label that is most frequently represented around a given data point is used. While this is technically considered “plurality voting”, the term, “majority vote” is more commonly used in literature. The distinction between these terminologies is that “majority voting” technically requires a majority of greater than 50%, which primarily works when there are only two categories. When you have multiple classes—e.g. four categories, you don’t necessarily need 50% of the vote to make a conclusion about a class; you could assign a class label with a vote of greater than 25%. The University of Wisconsin-Madison summarizes this well with an example here (PDF, 1.2 MB) (link resides outside of ibm.com). 

Regression problems use a similar concept as classification problem, but in this case, the average the k nearest neighbors is taken to make a prediction about a classification. The main distinction here is that classification is used for discrete values, whereas regression is used with continuous ones. However, before a classification can be made, the distance must be defined. Euclidean distance is most commonly used, which we’ll delve into more below.
It's also worth noting that the KNN algorithm is also part of a family of “lazy learning” models, meaning that it only stores a training dataset versus undergoing a training stage. This also means that all the computation occurs when a classification or prediction is being made. Since it heavily relies on memory to store all its training data, it is also referred to as an instance-based or memory-based learning method.
Evelyn Fix and Joseph Hodges are credited with the initial ideas around the KNN model in this 1951 paper (PDF, 1.1 MB) (link resides outside of ibm.com) while Thomas Cover expands on their concept in his research (PDF 1 MB) (link resides outside of ibm.com), “Nearest Neighbor Pattern Classification.” While it’s not as popular as it once was, it is still one of the first algorithms one learns in data science due to its simplicity and accuracy. However, as a dataset grows, KNN becomes increasingly inefficient, compromising overall model performance. It is commonly used for simple recommendation systems, pattern recognition, data mining, financial market predictions, intrusion detection, and more. 


Compute KNN: distance metrics

To recap, the goal of the k-nearest neighbor algorithm is to identify the nearest neighbors of a given query point, so that we can assign a class label to that point. In order to do this, KNN has a few requirements:

Determine your distance metrics

In order to determine which data points are closest to a given query point, the distance between the query point and the other data points will need to be calculated. These distance metrics help to form decision boundaries, which partitions query points into different regions. You commonly will see decision boundaries visualized with Voronoi diagrams.

While there are several distance measures that you can choose from, this article will only cover the following:

Euclidean distance (p=2): This is the most commonly used distance measure, and it is limited to real-valued vectors. Using the below formula, it measures a straight line between the query point and the other point being measured.

Manhattan distance (p=1): This is also another popular distance metric, which measures the absolute value between two points. It is also referred to as taxicab distance or city block distance as it is commonly visualized with a grid, illustrating how one might navigate from one address to another via city streets.

Minkowski distance: This distance measure is the generalized form of Euclidean and Manhattan distance metrics. The parameter, p, in the formula below, allows for the creation of other distance metrics. Euclidean distance is represented by this formula when p is equal to two, and Manhattan distance is denoted with p equal to one.

Hamming distance: This technique is used typically used with Boolean or string vectors, identifying the points where the vectors do not match. As a result, it has also been referred to as the overlap metric. This can be represented with the following formula:

As an example, if you had the following strings, the hamming distance would be 2 since only two of the values differ.


Compute KNN: defining k

The k value in the k-NN algorithm defines how many neighbors will be checked to determine the classification of a specific query point. For example, if k=1, the instance will be assigned to the same class as its single nearest neighbor. Defining k can be a balancing act as different values can lead to overfitting or underfitting. Lower values of k can have high variance, but low bias, and larger values of k may lead to high bias and lower variance. The choice of k will largely depend on the input data as data with more outliers or noise will likely perform better with higher values of k. Overall, it is recommended to have an odd number for k to avoid ties in classification, and cross-validation tactics can help you choose the optimal k for your dataset.

k-nearest neighbors and python

To delve deeper, you can learn more about the k-NN algorithm by using Python and scikit-learn (also known as sklearn). Our tutorial in Watson Studio helps you learn the basic syntax from this library, which also contains other popular libraries, like NumPy, pandas, and Matplotlib. The following code is an example of how to create and predict with a KNN model:

from sklearn.neighbors import KNeighborsClassifier
model_name = ‘K-Nearest Neighbor Classifier’
knnClassifier = KNeighborsClassifier(n_neighbors = 5, metric = ‘minkowski’, p=2)
knn_model = Pipeline(steps=[(‘preprocessor’, preprocessorForFeatures), (‘classifier’ , knnClassifier)])
knn_model.fit(X_train, y_train)
y_pred = knn_model.predict(X_test)


Applications of k-NN in machine learning

The k-NN algorithm has been utilized within a variety of applications, largely within classification. Some of these use cases include:

- Data preprocessing: Datasets frequently have missing values, but the KNN algorithm can estimate for those values in a process known as missing data imputation.

- Recommendation Engines: Using clickstream data from websites, the KNN algorithm has been used to provide automatic recommendations to users on additional content. This research (link resides outside of ibm.com) shows that the a user is assigned to a particular group, and based on that group’s user behavior, they are given a recommendation. However, given the scaling issues with KNN, this approach may not be optimal for larger datasets.

- Finance: It has also been used in a variety of finance and economic use cases. For example, one paper (PDF, 391 KB)  (link resides outside of ibm.com) shows how using KNN on credit data can help banks assess risk of a loan to an organization or individual. It is used to determine the credit-worthiness of a loan applicant. Another journal (PDF, 447 KB)(link resides outside of ibm.com) highlights its use in stock market forecasting, currency exchange rates, trading futures, and money laundering analyses.

- Healthcare: KNN has also had application within the healthcare industry, making predictions on the risk of heart attacks and prostate cancer. The algorithm works by calculating the most likely gene expressions.

- Pattern Recognition: KNN has also assisted in identifying patterns, such as in text and digit classification (link resides outside of ibm.com). This has been particularly helpful in identifying handwritten numbers that you might find on forms or mailing envelopes. 


Advantages and disadvantages of the KNN algorithm

Just like any machine learning algorithm, k-NN has its strengths and weaknesses. Depending on the project and application, it may or may not be the right choice.

Advantages

- Easy to implement: Given the algorithm’s simplicity and accuracy, it is one of the first classifiers that a new data scientist will learn.

- Adapts easily: As new training samples are added, the algorithm adjusts to account for any new data since all training data is stored into memory.

- Few hyperparameters: KNN only requires a k value and a distance metric, which is low when compared to other machine learning algorithms.

Disadvantages

- Does not scale well: Since KNN is a lazy algorithm, it takes up more memory and data storage compared to other classifiers. This can be costly from both a time and money perspective. More memory and storage will drive up business expenses and more data can take longer to compute. While different data structures, such as Ball-Tree, have been created to address the computational inefficiencies, a different classifier may be ideal depending on the business problem.

- Curse of dimensionality: The KNN algorithm tends to fall victim to the curse of dimensionality, which means that it doesn’t perform well with high-dimensional data inputs. This is sometimes also referred to as the peaking phenomenon (PDF, 340 MB) (link resides outside of ibm.com), where after the algorithm attains the optimal number of features, additional features increases the amount of classification errors, especially when the sample size is smaller.

- Prone to overfitting: Due to the “curse of dimensionality”, KNN is also more prone to overfitting. While feature selection and dimensionality reduction techniques are leveraged to prevent this from occurring, the value of k can also impact the model’s behavior. Lower values of k can overfit the data, whereas higher values of k tend to “smooth out” the prediction values since it is averaging the values over a greater area, or neighborhood. However, if the value of k is too high, then it can underfit the data. 


Related solutions

IBM Cloud Pak for Data

IBM Cloud Pak for Data is an open, extensible data platform that provides a data fabric to make all data available for AI and analytics, on any cloud.


IBM Watson Studio

Build, run and manage AI models. Prepare data and build models on any cloud using open source code or visual modeling. Predict and optimize your outcomes.


IBM Db2 on Cloud

Learn about Db2 on Cloud, a fully managed SQL cloud database configured and optimized for robust performance.



Next steps

k-NN Node and IBM Cloud Pak for Data

The Cloud Pak for Data is a set of tools that helps to prepare data for AI implementation. k-NN node is a modeling method available in the IBM Cloud Pak for Data, which makes developing predictive models very easy. The plugin deploys on any cloud and integrates seamlessly into your existing cloud infrastructure.