Robotic Process Automation
cloud leadspace
什么是机器人流程自动化?

了解机器人过程自动化 (RPA),这是使用软件机器人来自动执行手动任务的一种形式的业务流程自动化技术,请参阅 w.ibm.com/cn-zh/cloud/automation 。

机器人过程自动化 (RPA),又称软件机器人,使用自动化 技术来模拟人类工作者的后台任务,如提取数据、填充表格和移动文件等等。 它结合了 API 和用户界面 (UI) 互动来集成和执行企业与生产应用之间的重复性任务。 通过部署可以模拟手动流程的脚本,RPA 工具可以在不相关的软件系统之间自动执行各项活动和事务。

这种形式的自动化使用基于规则的软件来大规模开展业务流程活动,从而释放人力资源来优先执行更复杂的任务。 RPA 允许 CIO 和其他决策者加速开展数字化转型工作,并提高员工生成投资回报 (ROI) 的水平。

特色产品

Robotic Process Automation

IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation


RPA 与智能自动化

RPA 工具要想在市场上保持竞争力,必须超越任务自动化范畴,扩展到智能自动化 (IA) 领域。 这种类型的自动化可以覆盖人工智能的子学科(如机器学习、自然语言处理和计算机视觉),以扩展 RPA 的功能。  

智能过程自动化需要的不仅仅是简单的基于规则的 RPA 系统。 您可将 RPA 视为“做”任务,同时将 AI 和 ML 分别视为提供更多的“思考”和“学习”能力。 它利用数据训练算法,使软件能够以更快速、更有效的方式执行任务。

相关链接

了解试用版


RPA 和人工智能

机器人 过程自动化经常被误认为是人工智能(AI),但两者截然不同。 AI 结合了认知自动化、机器学习(ML)、自然语言处理 (NLP) 、推理、假设生成和分析。

主要区别在于 RPA 是过程驱动的,AI 则是数据驱动的。 RPA 机器人只遵循最终用户定义的流程,而 AI 机器人则使用机器学习来识别数据中的模式,特别是非结构化数据,并长期进行学习。 换句话说,AI 旨在模拟人类智能,而 RPA 则仅用于复制人类主导的任务。 虽然人工智能和 RPA 工具的使用能够最大限度地减少手动干预需求,但它们实施过程自动化的方式是不同的。 

也就是说,RPA 和 AI 彼此还起到很好的互补作用。 AI 可以帮助 RPA 更全面地自动化任务,并处理更复杂的用例。 RPA 使 AI 见解能够更快地付诸实施,而不是等待手动实施。


RPA 如何工作?

根据 Forrester 的说法,RPA 软件工具必须包含以下内核能力:

  1. 构建自动脚本的低代码能力
  2. 与企业应用相集成
  3. 编排管理,包括配置、监控和安保

诸如 RPA 之类的自动化技术也可以通过遗留系统访问信息,从而通过前端集成很好地与其他应用相集成。 这使得自动化平台的行为类似于人类工作者,例如执行登录系统以及将数据从一个系统拷贝粘贴到另一个系统等常规任务。 虽然到数据库和企业 web 服务的后端连接也有助于实现自动化,但 RPA 的真正价值却在于它快速简单的前端集成。


RPA 的优势

RPA 具有多个优势,包括:

  • 更少的编码:RPA 不一定需要开发人员进行配置;用户界面中的拖放功能 让非技术人员更容易上手。
  • 快速节省成本: 由于 RPA 减少了团队的工作量,因此,员工可以重新分配到需要人手的其他重要工作,从而提高生产力和 ROI 。 
  • 提高客户满意度: 由于机器人和聊天机器人 可以全天候工作,因此能够减少客户的等待时间,导致更高的客户满意率。
  • 提高员工士气: 通过将工作团队从重复性的、大批量的工作中解放出来,RPA 允许工作团队专注于更缜密战略性决策。 这种工作上的转变对员工的幸福感有着积极的影响。
  • 更高的精准度与合规性: 由于您可以编程 RPA 机器人来遵循特定的工作流 和规则,您将能够减少人为错误,特别是对精准度与合规性有着严格要求的工作,如监管 标准。 RPA 还可以提供审计跟踪,使您能够轻松监控进度问题并且更加快速地解决问题。  
  • 现有系统保持不变: 机器人过程自动化 软件不会对底层系统造成任何破坏,因为机器人在现有应用的表示层上工作。 因此,您可以在没有应用编程接口 (API) 或其他资源来开发深度集成的情况下实施机器人。

要了解有关业务用户设置 RPA 工具需要满足哪些要求的更多信息,请在这里阅读我们的博客。


RPA 的挑战

虽然 RPA 软件可以帮助企业成长,但也存在一些障碍,如组织文化、技术问题和伸缩性。

组织文化
尽管 RPA 能够降低对特定工作角色的需求,但它也能驱动新角色的增长,以处理更复杂的任务,从而允许员工专注于更高层次的战略和创意性的问题解决方式。 随着工作职责的转变,企业需要促进学习和创新文化。 劳动力的适应性对于自动化和数字化转型项目取得成功至关重要。 通过培训您的员工并投资于培训项目,您可以帮助工作团队为应对工作优先级的变化做好准备。

难以扩展
虽然 RPA 可以同时执行多个操作,但它很难随法规更新或内部规则的更改而在整个企业中进行扩展。 Forrester 报告指出,52% 的客户表示他们很难扩大 RPA 计划的规模。 一家企业必须拥有 100 个或更多的活跃机器人才有资格称为高级 RPA 项目,但能够将规模扩展到最初的 10 个机器人之外的 RPA 项目寥寥无几。


RPA 用例

有些行业正在利用 RPA 技术来简化业务运营。 以下行业都实施了 RPA:

银行和金融服务业: Forrester 在名为“RPA 服务市场到 2023 年将增长至 120 亿美元”的报告中指出,RPA 有 36% 的用例是在金融和会计领域。 如今,超过三分之一的机器人部署在金融行业,考虑到银行业对自动化技术的部署较早,这一点并不奇怪。 今天,许多大银行都在使用 RPA 自动化解决方案来自动执行任务,如客户研究、开户、查询处理和反洗钱等。 一家银行部署了成千上万的机器人来自动执行大批量的手动数据输入任务。 这些过程包含大量的基于规则的乏味任务,自动化可以简化这些任务。

保险业: 保险行业充满了非常适合自动化的重复过程。 例如,您可以将 RPA 应用于索赔处理、法规遵从、策略管理和承保任务。

零售业: 电子商务的崛起使 RPA 成为现代零售业的一个重要组成部分,改善了后台办公运营和客户体验。 热门应用包括客户关系管理,仓库和订单管理、客户反馈处理和欺诈检测。

医疗保健行业: 精准性与合规性是医疗保健行业的重中之重。 一些世界上最大的医院使用机器人过程自动化 软件来优化信息管理、处方管理、保险索赔处理和支付周期等流程。

立即试用我们的产品,开始您的自动化之旅。


机器人过程自动化和 IBM

随着自动化 的需求在业务和 IT 运营中不断扩大, 过程自动化成为向前迈出所不可或缺的重要一步。 要实现更大程度的自动化,首先要从可衡量的小型成功项目起步,然后可针对其他流程和组织的其他部分扩大规模,进行优化。 

通过与 IBM 合作,您可以访问  AI 驱动的自动化功能,包括预先构建的工作流,以帮助您通过提高每个流程的智能性来加速创新。 

采取下一步行动: 

  • 通过 IBM® 机器人过程自动化解决方案 开始您的自动化之旅。 它是 AI 驱动的 RPA 解决方案,可以帮助您以传统 RPA 的轻松程度和速度来大规模自动化更多的业务和 IT 流程。 
  • 观看这个产品概述演示 (04:03) ,了解如何使用 IBM 机器人过程自动化解决方案来构建无人值守的机器人,以便处理更新客户信息等常见任务。 
  • 30 天免费试用 IBM 机器人过程自动化解决方案,了解如何通过构建和运行软件机器人或虚拟代理来自动执行流程。
  • IBM 机器人过程自动化解决方案还集成了作为IBM Cloud Pak for Business Automation 一部分的自动化功能,如内容、捕获、工作流和决策等,从而提供一组灵活的集成软件来帮助您在任何云上使用低代码工具大规模设计、构建和运行智能自动化服务和应用。

立即开始通过 IBM Cloud 账户 使用该产品。


相关解决方案

Cloud Pak for Business Automation

更快的流程和更短的客户等待时间 — 这就是基于 AI 的自动化的优势。


IBM Robotic Process Automation

通过功能丰富的、AI 驱动的机器人过程自动化 (RPA) 实现更快的 ROI。


AI 支持的自动化

从业务工作流程到 IT 运营,我们为您提供了 AI 支持的自动化。

What is robotic process automation (RPA)?
Explore IBM's RPA solution Subscribe for AI updates
Illustration for RPA topic
What is RPA?

Robotic process automation (RPA), also known as software robotics, uses intelligent automation technologies to perform repetitive office tasks of human workers, such as extracting data, filling in forms, moving files and more.

 

RPA combines APIs and user interface (UI) interactions to integrate and perform repetitive tasks between enterprise and productivity applications. By deploying scripts which emulate human processes, RPA tools complete autonomous execution of various activities and transactions across unrelated software systems.

This form of automation uses rule-based software to perform business process activities at a high-volume, freeing up human resources to prioritize more complex tasks. RPA enables CIOs and other decision makers to accelerate their digital transformation efforts and generate a higher return on investment (ROI) from their staff.

Build responsible AI workflows with AI governance

Learn the building blocks and best practices to help your teams accelerate responsible AI.

Related content

Register for the ebook on Presto

RPA and intelligent automation

In order for RPA tools in the marketplace to remain competitive, they will need to move beyond task automation and expand their offerings to include intelligent automation (IA). This type of automation expands on RPA functionality by incorporating sub-disciplines of artificial intelligence, like machine learning, natural language processing, and computer vision.  

Intelligent process automation demands more than the simple rule-based systems of RPA. You can think of RPA as “doing” tasks, while AI and ML encompass more of the “thinking” and "learning," respectively. It trains algorithms using data so that the software can perform tasks in a quicker, more efficient way.

RPA and artificial intelligence

Robotic process automation is often mistaken for artificial intelligence (AI), but the two are distinctly different. AI combines cognitive automation, machine learning (ML), natural language processing (NLP), reasoning, hypothesis generation and analysis.

The critical difference is that RPA is process-driven, whereas AI is data-driven. RPA bots can only follow the processes defined by an end user, while AI bots use machine learning to recognize patterns in data, in particular unstructured data, and learn over time. Put differently, AI is intended to simulate human intelligence, while RPA is solely for replicating human-directed tasks. While the use of artificial intelligence and RPA tools minimize the need for human intervention, the way in which they automate processes is different. 

That said, RPA and AI also complement each other well. AI can help RPA automate tasks more fully and handle more complex use cases. RPA also enables AI insights to be actioned on more quickly instead of waiting on manual implementations.

How does RPA work?

According to Forrester, RPA software tools must include the following core capabilities:

  1. Low-code capabilities to build automation scripts

  2. Integration with enterprise applications

  3. Orchestration and administration including configuration, monitoring and security

Automation technology, like RPA, can also access information through legacy systems, integrating well with other applications through front-end integrations. This allows the automation platform to behave similarly to a human worker, performing routine tasks, such as logging in and copying and pasting from one system to another. While back-end connections to databases and enterprise web services also assist in automation, RPA’s real value is in its quick and simple front-end integrations.

The benefits of RPA

There are multiple benefits of RPA, including:

  • Less coding: RPA does not necessarily require a developer to configure; drag-and-drop features in user interfaces make it easier to onboard non-technical staff.

  • Rapid cost savings: Since RPA reduces the workload of teams, staff can be reallocated towards other priority work that does require human input, leading to increases in productivity and ROI. 

  • Higher customer satisfaction: Since bots and chatbots can work around the clock, they can reduce wait times for customers, leading to higher rates of customer satisfaction.

  • Improved employee morale: By lifting repetitive, high-volume workload off your team, RPA allows people to focus on more thoughtful and strategic decision-making. This shift in work has a positive effect on employee happiness.

  • Better accuracy and compliance: Since you can program RPA robots to follow specific workflows and rules, you can reduce human error, particularly around work which requires accuracy and compliance, like regulatory standards. RPA can also provide an audit trail, making it easy to monitor progress and resolve issues more quickly.
     
  • Existing systems remain in place: Robotic process automation software does not cause any disruption to underlying systems because bots work on the presentation layer of existing applications. So, you can implement bots in situations where you don’t have an application programming interface (API) or the resources to develop deep integrations.

To learn more about what’s required of business users to set up RPA tools, read on in our blog here.

Challenges of RPA

While RPA software can help an enterprise grow, there are some obstacles, such as organizational culture, technical issues and scaling.

Organizational culture
While RPA will reduce the need for certain job roles, it will also drive growth in new roles to tackle more complex tasks, enabling employees to focus on higher-level strategy and creative problem-solving. Organizations will need to promote a culture of learning and innovation as responsibilities within job roles shift. The adaptability of a workforce will be important for successful outcomes in automation and digital transformation projects. By educating your staff and investing in training programs, you can prepare teams for ongoing shifts in priorities.

Difficulty in scaling
While RPA can perform multiple simultaneous operations, it can prove difficult to scale in an enterprise due to regulatory updates or internal changes. According to a Forrester report, 52% of customers claim they struggle with scaling their RPA program. A company must have 100 or more active working robots to qualify as an advanced program, but few RPA initiatives progress beyond the first 10 bots.

RPA use cases

There are several industries that leverage RPA technology to streamline their business operations. RPA implementations can be found across the following industries:

Banking and financial services: In the Forrester report on “The RPA Services Market Will Grow To Reach USD 12 Billion By 2023”, 36% of all use cases were in the finance and accounting space. More than 1 in 3 bots today are in the financial industry, which is of little surprise given banking's early adoption of automation. Today, many major banks use RPA automation solutions to automate tasks, such as customer research, account opening, inquiry processing and anti-money laundering. A bank deploys thousands of bots to automate manual high-volume data entry. These processes entail a plethora of tedious, rule-based tasks that automation streamlines.

Insurance: Insurance is full of repetitive processes well suited for automation. For example, you can apply RPA to claims processing operations, regulatory compliance, policy management and underwriting tasks.

Retail: The rise of ecommerce has made RPA an integral component of the modern retail industry that has improved back office operations and the customer experience. Popular applications include customer relationship management, warehouse and order management, customer feedback processing and fraud detection.

Healthcare: Accuracy and compliance are paramount in the health care industry. Some of the world's largest hospitals use robotic process automation software to optimize information management, prescription management, insurance claim processing and payment cycles, among other processes.

Explore our trial to start your automation journey today.

Related solutions
IBM Robotic Process Automation

Achieve faster ROI with full-featured AI-driven robotic process automation (RPA).

Explore IBM Robotic Process Automation
IBM Automation®

From your business workflows to your IT operations, we’ve got you covered with AI-powered automation. 

Explore IBM Automation®
IBM Cloud Pak® for Business Automation

Faster processes and shorter customer wait times—that's the brilliance of AI-powered automation.

Explore IBM Cloud Pak® for Business Automation
Resources Robotic process automation: A "no-hype" buyer's guide

Read the buyer's guide to learn what RPA is, its pros and cons, and how to get started.

Intelligent business automation helps you achieve ROI faster

Move repetitive tasks to always-on bots to free up your team for innovating.

What is process mining?

Learn about process mining, a method of applying specialized algorithms to event log data to identify trends, patterns and details of how a process unfolds.

Take the next step

Start your automation journey with IBM Robotic Process Automation (RPA). It’s an AI-driven solution that helps you automate more business and IT processes at scale with the ease and speed of traditional RPA. 

Explore Robotic Process Automation Try for free