什么是软件开发?

了解软件开发的基础知识以及它如何帮助企业实现创新并获得竞争优势

Side view portrait of contemporary African-American man looking at computer screen while working late at night writing code, copy space

什么是软件开发?

软件开发是指专门针对软件创建、设计、部署和支持过程的一系列计算机科学活动。

软件本身是对计算机发号施令的一系列指令或程序。 它独立于硬件,并支持对计算机进行编程。 其分为三种基本类型:

系统软件,用于提供诸如操作系统、磁盘管理、实用程序、硬件管理及其他运营必备要素的核心功能。

编程软件,用于为程序员提供工具,如文本编辑器、编译器、连接器、调试器和其他用于创建代码的工具。

应用软件(应用程序或应用),可帮助用户执行任务。 比如办公生产力套件、数据管理软件、媒体播放器和安全程序。 应用程序还指代 Web 和移动应用程序,如用于在 Amazon.com 上购物、通过 Facebook 进行社交互动或将照片发布到 Instagram 的应用。1

可能存在的第四种类型为嵌入式软件。 嵌入式系统软件用于控制通常不被视为计算机的机器和设备,如电信网络、汽车、工业机器人等等。 这些设备及其软件可作为物联网 (IoT) 的一部分实现连通。2

软件开发主要由程序员、软件工程师和软件开发人员进行。 这些角色彼此互动且存在交叠,另外他们之间的互动方式在开发部门和社区间变化明显。

程序员或编码员负责编写源代码来对计算机进行编程,目的是完成诸如合并数据库、处理在线订单、路由通信、执行搜索或显示文本和图形等具体任务。 程序员通常会解释来自软件开发人员和工程师的指令,并利用 C++ 或 Java 等编程语言来实施指令。

软件工程师运用工程原理来构建软件和系统,以解决问题。 他们使用建模语言和其他工具来设计解决方案,这些解决方案往往可用于解决常规问题,而不是仅解决具体实例或客户的相关问题。 软件工程解决方案遵循科学方法,且必须具有现实可用性,其作用类似于桥梁或电梯。 随着产品越来越智能,并新增了大量微处理器、传感器和软件,软件工程师的职责范围也随之扩张。 不仅有更多的产品依靠软件获得了市场优势,另外产品的软件开发工作必须与产品的机械和电气开发工作协调一致。

软件开发者相比工程师而言,其角色不那么正式,且可能与具体项目领域密切相关,如编写代码。 同时,他们还推动着整个软件开发生命周期的发展,包括跨职能团队合作,以将需求转换为功能,管理开发团队和流程,并开展软件测试和维护。3

软件开发工作并不仅限于编码人员或开发团队。 科学家、设备制造商和硬件制造商等专业人员尽管不是主要的软件开发人员,但他们也可以创建软件编码。 同时软件开发也不局限于传统的信息技术行业,如软件或半导体业务。 事实上,根据 Brookings Institute(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)研究报告,这些企业中“有不到一半的公司会进行软件开发。”

但一个重要的区别是,他们从事的是定制软件开发,而非商业软件开发。 定制软件开发是针对一系列特定用户、功能或组织过程设计、创造、部署和维护软件的过程。 相反,成熟的商业软件 (COTS) 旨在满足一系列广泛的需求,可进行包装并用于商业营销和分发。


软件开发流程中的步骤

开发软件通常涉及以下步骤:

  • 收集需求以了解并归档用户和其他利益相关者所需的内容。
  • 选择或构建一个架构作为底层结构,供软件在其中运行。
  • 进行解决方案的相关设计,以解决需求反映出的问题,通常涉及流程模型和故事板。
  • 利用建模工具建立模型,此类工具利用 SysML 或 UML 等建模语言开展早期验证、原型制作和设计模拟。
  • 以相应的编程语言构造代码。 参与同行和团队评估,尽早排除问题,更快开发出高质量软件。
  • 在软件设计和编码过程中借助预先计划的场景进行测试,同时开展性能测试,以模拟应用程序上的负载测试。
  • 管理配置和缺陷以了解所有软件工件(需求、设计、编码和测试),并构建不同版本的软件。 确定质量保证优先级和发布标准,以解决并跟踪缺陷。
  • 部署软件以供使用,以及响应和解决用户问题。
  • 如有必要,将数据从现有应用程序或数据源迁移至全新或更新的软件。
  • 管理和评估项目,以保持应用程序生命周期的质量和交付,同时通过能力成熟度模型 (CMM) 等模型来评估开发流程。

软件开发流程的一系列步骤融合成了 应用程序生命周期管理  (ALM)。 IBM 的工程管理解决方案是一系列出色的 ALM,支持对并行的机械、电气和软件开发进行管理。

  • 需求分析及规格
  • 设计与开发
  • 测试
  • 部署
  • 维护与支持

软件开发流程步骤可归入生命周期的各个阶段,但生命周期的重要性在于它会不断循环,以实现持续改进。 例如,维护和支持阶段出现的用户问题可能成为下一周期开始时的需求。


为何软件开发如此重要?

软件开发的重要性还源于它无处不在。 IBM 副总裁,同时也是博客作者 Dibbe Edwards 指出:“随着不断发展的物联网实现了从汽车到洗衣机和恒温器等产品的互联互通,软件已成为众多产品的一个关键优势。”

几个例子:

  • Soul Machines(链接位于 ibm.com 外部) 使用软件创建人工智能在线顾问,以改进客户服务并提升效率。 此类顾问拥有人脸、表情和声音,可以对客户问题和需求做出智能、善解人意且有效的反应。 它们可以在无需人为干预的情况下回答超过 40% 的客户查询,同时它们还会从其互动中不断学习和改进。 Soul Machines 借助 IBM Watson Assistant 将人工智能 (AI) 功能整合到开发流程,在大约 8 到 12 周的时间内创建并推出了一款人工智能顾问
  • “这也算是一个种族,”Erik Bak-Mikkelsen 说。 “我们必须跟上市场的发展。” Bak-Mikkelsen 是 car2go(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)的云运营总监。 他明白,向 car2go 的共享出行应用和车辆交付全新功能部件和功能是取得并保持领先地位的关键。 为此,car2go 将其开发运营迁移到托管服务云并采用了 DevOps 开发模型。 这最终加速了开发周期,缩短了上市时间,并能够面向未来发展不断扩张。
  • 使用电源线可能存在致命危险。 为了确保安全,工程师利用物理标签和挂锁将电气置于“锁定”状态,避免工作场所出现用电问题。 法国能源公司 Enedis(链接位于 ibm.com 外部) 与 IBM Garage for Cloud 合作开发软件,以检测这些挂锁和标签并将其连接到共享网络。 每次从工程师的货车上卸下标签和挂锁时都会进行检测,并记录时间和地理位置。 工程师装上挂锁后,其位置将记录在数字地图中。 所有利益相关者共享同一地图视图,以确保安全,减少停机时间,同时便于维修。 IBM Cloud Garage 协作开发方法支持 Enedis 在三个月内便开发出现场就绪型原型。

有效软件开发的主要特点

利用软件开发 来突显品牌并获得竞争优势 要求熟练运用各种技巧与技术,从而加快软件部署,提升质量和成效。

  • 人工智能 (AI): AI 支持软件仿真人类决策和学习过程。 神经网络、机器学习、自然语言处理和认知能力为开发人员和企业带来了机遇,他们可以开发出引发市场变革并使其保持竞争优势的产品和服务。 IBM Watson 为开发人员提供了在其应用程序中通过应用编程界面或 API 连接并使用人工智能服务的方式。 您还可以使用利用 IBM Watson 检查模棱两可、操作者不明确、复合式或消极性需求、缺少单位或容错、需求不完整和数量不具体等问题,从而完善产品需求。
  • 云原生开发:云原生开发是一种构建应用程序来利用云环境的方式。 云原生应用由不同的可复用组件(称为微服务)组成,旨在集成到任何云环境中。 这些微服务充当构建块,通常打包在容器中。 鉴于此架构,云原生应用可以使用云环境来提高应用程序性能、灵活性和可扩展性
  • 基于云的开发:正如 IT 组织求助于云来改善资源管理并削减成本,软件开发组织也是如此。 由此,云可以用作一种快速、灵活和具有成本效益的集成开发环境 (IDE) 或开发平台即服务 (PaaS)。 基于云的开发环境可支持编码、设计、集成、测试和其他开发功能。 它们还支持访问 API、微服务、DevOps和其他开发工具、服务和专业知识。 
  • 区块链: 区块链是一个以安全的数字化方式链接的账本,可避免多方参与所引发的成本和漏洞,如银行银行、监管机构和其他中介机构。 它具备腾出资本、加速交易过程、降低交易成本等诸多优势,因而将逐步实现企业转型。  区块链为软件开发带来巨大机遇。 开发人员正在使用分布式账本和开源 Hyperledger(链接位于 ibm.com 外部) 技术改变企业的运作方式。
  • 少代码: Forrester 将少代码定义为:“产品和/或云服务采用可视化的声明式技术,而非编程方法,进行应用程序开发,适用于资金和培训资源短缺的客户...” 4简言之,这是一种开发方法,此方法可降低编码需求,并支持非程序员或平民开发者以较低的成本,快速构建或帮助构建应用程序。
  • 分析:截止 2020 年,数据研究员、数据开发人员和数据工程师的年度需求缺口将接近 70万。 需求意味着公司从数据爆炸中获取洞察和价值是何等重要。 因此,软件开发人员正在将高级分析功能整合到其应用程序中。 基于云的服务和 API 支持更加轻松地指导数据探索、自动执行预测分析并创建仪表板,从而交付新的洞察并改进决策。
  • 基于模型的系统工程 (MBSE):在 MBSE 中,软件建模语言用于执行早期原型制作、模拟以及软件设计分析,以便尽早验证。 MBSE 中的构建设计可帮助您分析和详细阐述项目需求,并快速从设计转移至实施。  
  • 移动: 软件开发人员的主要作用是打造与数据深度连接的移动应用,从而丰富和提升用户体验。 Forrester 发现,“深度整合数字/移动客户数据对于客户与品牌的互动方式有很大影响。”

 


简短术语表

  • 敏捷开发将需求分解为可使用的功能,并通过渐进式开发快速交付这些功能。 反馈循环帮助查找和修复缺陷,确保功能的持续部署。
  • 能力成熟度模型 (CMM) 评估软件开发过程的成熟度。 该模型跟踪从特别操作到已定义步骤,再到估测结果和经优化流程的进展情况。
  • DevOps 是开发和运营的组合,是一种敏捷型方法,可在软件的设计、开发、部署和支持中将软件开发和 IT 运营融合到一起。

  • 快速应用程序开发 (RAD) 是一种非线性方法,它将设计和编码构造压缩为一个更全面互联互通的步骤。

  • 规模化敏捷框架 (SAFe) 支持将敏捷方法扩展到规模更大的软件开发团队或组织。

  • 瀑布式方法通常被视作传统的软件开发方法,它是从规划和需求收集到部署和维护的一系列级联的线性步骤。

软件开发工具及解决方案

IBM Engineering Systems Design Rhapsody

经验证的建模和设计活动解决方案,帮助您更快地交付更高质量软件和系统。


IBM Engineering Workflow Management

针对个人和团队的高级软件版本控制、工作空间管理、分布式源代码控制和并行开发支持可以自动跟踪工件变更情况,从而帮助提高生产力。 该软件支持几乎无限制的暂挂与恢复功能,以处理工作中断情况。


IBM Engineering Lifecycle Optimization – 集成适配器

在 IBM Engineering Lifecycle Management 工具和 Git、GitLib 和 GitHub 等第三方工具之间建立连接,以管理软件的版本控制。

What is software development?

According to IBM Research: “Software development refers to a set of computer science activities dedicated to the process of creating, designing, deploying and supporting software.”

Software itself is the set of instructions or programs that tell a computer what to do. It is independent of hardware and makes computers programmable. There are three basic types:

System software to provide core functions such as operating systems, disk management, utilities, hardware management and other operational necessities.

Programming software to give programmers tools such as text editors, compilers, linkers, debuggers and other tools to create code.

Application software (applications or apps) to help users perform tasks. Office productivity suites, data management software, media players and security programs are examples. Applications also refers to web and mobile applications like those used to shop on Amazon.com, socialize with Facebook or post pictures to Instagram.1

A possible fourth type is embedded software. Embedded systems software is used to control machines and devices not typically considered computers — telecommunications networks, cars, industrial robots and more. These devices, and their software, can be connected as part of the Internet of Things (IoT).2

Software development is primarily conducted by programmers, software engineers and software developers. These roles interact and overlap, and the dynamics between them vary greatly across development departments and communities.

Programmers, or coders, write source code to program computers for specific tasks like merging databases, processing online orders, routing communications, conducting searches or displaying text and graphics. Programmers typically interpret instructions from software developers and engineers and use programming languages like C++ or Java to carry them out.

Software engineers apply engineering principles to build software and systems to solve problems. They use modeling language and other tools to devise solutions that can often be applied to problems in a general way, as opposed to merely solving for a specific instance or client. Software engineering solutions adhere to the scientific method and must work in the real world, as with bridges or elevators.

Software developers have a less formal role than engineers and can be closely involved with specific project areas — including writing code. At the same time, they drive the overall software development lifecycle — including working across functional teams to transform requirements into features, managing development teams and processes, and conducting software testing and maintenance.3

The work of software development isn’t confined to coders or development teams. Professionals such as scientists, device fabricators and hardware makers also create software code even though they are not primarily software developers. Nor is it confined to traditional information technology industries such as software or semiconductor businesses. In fact, according to the Brookings Institute, those businesses “account for less than half of the companies performing software development.”

An important distinction is custom software development as opposed to commercial software development. Custom software development is the process of designing, creating, deploying and maintaining software for a specific set of users, functions or organizations. In contrast, commercial off-the-shelf software (COTS) is designed for a broad set of requirements, allowing it to be packaged and commercially marketed and distributed.

Community resources

Join the IBM Code community

graphic icon with keyboard symbols for greater than and underscore

Access code. Solve programming challenges. Get the t-shirt.

developerWorks® TV

graphic of a television displaying a play button and progress bar

Demonstrations, insights and tutorials on the hottest technologies for developers.

Steps in the software development process

Developing software typically involves the following steps:

  • Selecting a methodology to establish a framework in which the steps of software development are applied. It describes an overall work process or roadmap for the project. Methodologies can include Agile development, DevOps, Rapid Application Development (RAD), Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe), Waterfall and others. (See the glossary.)
  • Gathering requirements to understand and document what is required by users and other stakeholders.
  • Choosing or building an architecture as the underlying structure within which the software will operate.
  • Developing a design around solutions to the problems presented by requirements, often involving process models and storyboards.
  • Constructing code in the appropriate programming language. Involves peer and team review to eliminate problems early and produce quality software faster.
  • Testing with pre-planned scenarios as part of software design and coding — and conducting performance testing to simulate load testing on the applicatio.
  • Managing configuration and defects to understand all the software artifacts (requirements, design, code, test) and build distinct versions of the software. Establish quality assurance priorities and release criteria to address and track defects.
  • Deploying the software for use and responding to and resolving user problems.
  • Migrating data to the new or updated software from existing applications or data sources if necessary.
  • Managing and measuring the project to maintain quality and delivery over the application lifecycle, and to evaluate the development process with models such as the Capability Maturity Model (CMM).

The steps of the software development process fit into application lifecycle management.

  • Requirements analysis and specification
  • Design and development
  • Testing
  • Deployment
  • Maintenance and support

Software development process steps can be grouped into the phases of the lifecycle, but the importance of the lifecycle is that it recycles to enable continuous improvement. For example, user issues that surface in the maintenance and support phase can become requirements at the beginning of the next cycle.

Agile Product Development for Dummies

See why an agile approach is vital to IoT development, discover key strategies and avoid the big mistakes.

DevOps for Dummies

Discover the business need and value of DevOps, navigate adoption paths and see how cloud can help.

Systems Engineering for Dummies

Learn more about systems engineering and how to develop smart, connected products.

Why is software development important?

Software development is important because it helps businesses differentiate themselves and be more competitive. It can improve customer experiences, bring more innovative, feature-rich products to market faster, and make operations more efficient, safe and productive.

Software development is also important because it is pervasive. As IBM vice president and blogger Dibbe Edwards points out: “Software has emerged as a key differentiator in many products — from cars to washing machines to thermostats — with a growing Internet of Things connecting them.”

A few examples:

  • Soul Machines uses software to create artificial online advisors that improve customer service and efficiency. The advisors have human faces, expressions and voices that react intelligently, empathetically and efficiently to customer questions and needs. They can answer over 40 percent of customer inquiries without human intervention — and they learn from their interactions to improve over time. Using IBM Watson Assistant to incorporate artificial intelligence (AI) capabilities into the development process, Soul Machines can create and roll out an artificial advisor in about 8 to 12 weeks.
  • “This is a race,” says Erik Bak-Mikkelsen. “We have to keep up with what’s happening in the market.” Bak-Mikkelsen is head of cloud operations at car2go. He understands that delivering new features and functions to car2go’s ride-sharing apps and vehicles is key to getting and staying ahead. To do so, car2go moved its development operations to a managed-services cloud and adopted a DevOps development model. The result is accelerated development cycles, faster time to market and the capability to scale for future growth.
  • Working with electrical power lines can be deadly. To stay safe engineers set electrical “lockouts” using physical tags and padlocks to divert power from work locations. French energy company Enedis worked with IBM Garage for Cloud to develop software that instruments these locks and tags and ties them into a shared network. Tags and locks detect each time they are removed from an engineer’s van and communicate the time and geo-location. As the engineer attaches the locks, their location is recorded on a digital map. All stakeholders share a view of the map to ensure safety, reduce downtime and facilitate repairs. The IBM Cloud Garage collaborative development approach enabled Enedis to develop field-ready prototypes in three months.

DevOps Self-Assessment: Accelerate delivery of innovation to the market

Key features of effective software development

Using software development as a way to differentiate brands and gain competitive advantage, requires proficiency with the techniques and technologies that can accelerate software deployment, quality and efficacy.

  • Artificial intelligence (AI) – AI enables software to emulate human decision-making and learning. Neural networks, machine learning, natural language processing and cognitive capabilities present developers and businesses with the opportunity to offer products and services that disrupt marketplaces and leap ahead of the competition. IBM Watson offers developers a way to connect with and use artificial intelligence services as part of their applications through application programming interfaces or APIs.
  • Cloud-native development – Cloud-native development is a way of building applications to exploit cloud environments. A cloud-native application consists of discrete, reusable components known as microservices that are designed to integrate into any cloud environment. These microservices act as building blocks and are often packaged in containers. Because of this architecture, cloud-native applications can use cloud environments to improve application performance, flexibility and extensibility.
  • Cloud-based development – Just as IT organizations look to the cloud to improve resource management and cut costs, so do software development organizations. In this way, the cloud can be used as a fast, flexible and cost-efficient integrated development environment (IDE) or development Platform as a Service (PaaS). Cloud-based development environments can support coding, design, integration, testing and other development functions. They can also offer access to APIs, microservices, DevOps and other development tools, services and expertise. 
  • Blockchain – Blockchain is a secure, digitally linked ledger that eliminates cost and vulnerability introduced by parties like banks, regulatory bodies and other intermediaries. It is transforming businesses by freeing capital, accelerating processes, lowering transaction costs and more.  Blockchain presents a tremendous opportunity for software development. Developers are working with distributed ledgers and open source Hyperledger technology to change how businesses operate.
  • Low code – Forrester defines low code as: “Products and/or cloud services for application development that employ visual, declarative techniques instead of programming and are available to customers at low- or no-cost in money and training ...”4 In short, it’s a development practice that reduces the need for coding and enables non-coders or citizen developers to build or help build applications quickly and at lower cost.
  • Analytics – Annual demand for data scientists, data developers, and data engineers will reach nearly 700,000 openings by 2020. The demand signifies how critical it is for companies to gain insight and value from the explosion of data. Accordingly, software developers are integrating advanced analytics capabilities into their applications. Cloud-based services and APIs make it simpler to guide data exploration, automate predictive analytics and create dashboards that deliver new insights and improve decision making.
  • Mobile – Fifty-four percent of global executives believe that customer buying behavior has shifted from products and services to experiences. Many of these experiences occur in mobile environments. A key capability for software developers is creating mobile apps with deep connections to data that enriches and elevates user experiences. Forrester has found that “deeply integrating digital/mobile customer data has a strong effect on how customers interact with brands.”

Five vital steps for successful software delivery in a chaotic world

A quick glossary

  • Agile development – breaks requirements into consumable functions and delivers rapidly on those functions through incremental development. A feedback loop helps find and fix defects as functionality continues to deploy.
  • Capability Maturity Model (CMM) – assesses the proficiency of software development processes. It tracks progress from ad hoc actions to defined steps to measured results and optimized processes.
  • DevOps – a combination of development and operations – is an agile-based approach that brings software development and IT operations together in the design, development, deployment and support of software.
  • Rapid application development (RAD) – is a non-linear approach that condenses design and code construction into one interconnected step.
  • Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) – provides a way to scale agile methodology to a larger software development team or organization.
  • Waterfall – often considered the traditional software development methodology – is a set of cascading linear steps from planning and requirements gathering through deployment and maintenance.

Resources for software developers

Software development on IBM Developer

Code, content, community and more

THE BLOG on IBM Developer

News and insights for developers, from developers

IBM Developer newsletters

Sign up for the topics that matter most

Get the complete guide to DevOps

Learn DevOps processes and understand how they evolved from existing models

IBM Blockchain Platform

Simplicity, speed and value for blockchain developers

Build with IBM Watson

Integrate powerful AI into applications

Software development solutions

IBM Watson Studio

Simplify and scale data science to predict and optimize business outcomes.

IBM DevOps

Shorten releases, improve reliability and stay ahead of the competition.

IBM Garage for Cloud

A network of physical innovation hubs. Create engaging applications at garages around the world.