什么是网络安全?
网络安全可以保护您的 IT 基础架构免受各种威胁。
工厂里戴安全帽的女士
定义的网络安全

在基础层面上,网络安全是保护连接到网络的数据、应用程序、设备和系统的操作。

尽管网络安全(主要指内部使用网络的安全)和网络安全(主要指应对外部威胁的安全)在许多方面都有重叠,但通常将前者定义为后者的一个子集。 以传统的"城堡和护城河"去类比基于边界的安全方法——在这一类比中,贵企业是城堡,而储存在城堡内部的数据就是王冠上的宝石——网络安全最为关心的是城堡围墙内的安全。

在这种基于边界的设想中,城堡城墙内的区域可以代表企业的 IT 基础架构,其中包括其网络组件、硬件、操作系统、软件和数据存储。 网络安全保护这些系统免受恶意软件/勒索软件、分布式拒绝服务 (DDoS) 攻击,网络入侵等攻击,为用户、计算机和程序在 IT 环境中执行其功能创造了一个安全的平台。

随着组织转向混合和多云的环境,其数据、应用程序和设备正在分散在不同的位置和地域。 用户希望从任何地方、在任何设备上都可以访问企业系统和数据。 因此,传统的基于边界的网络安全方法正在逐步淘汰。 在 零信任安全 方法中,组织从不信任,并一直进行验证访问,这一方法正迅速加强组织安全态势的新途径。


网络安全类型

防火墙保护

防火墙是一种软件程序或硬件设备,预防未经授权的用户访问您的网络,阻止可疑流量进入,同时允许正当流量通过。 几种防火墙类型的安全级别各有不同,从简单的信息包过滤防火墙到代理服务器,再到复杂的下一代防火墙,下一代防火墙使用 AI 和机器学习来比较和分析试图通过的信息。

入侵检测和预防

入侵检测和预防系统(IDPS)可以直接部署在防火墙后,提供针对危险主体的第二层防御。 IDPS 通常与它的前身,即更被动的入侵防御系统 (IDS) 协同工作,IDPS 位于源地址和目的地址之间,在流量进入网络前创建额外中止。 高级 IDPS 甚至可以使用机器学习和 AI 立即对传入的数据进行分析,并在检测到可疑活动时触发自动流程,例如发出警报,阻断来自该源的流量或重置连接。

网络访问控制 (NAC)

站在防御第一线的网络访问控制就是做这个的:控制对您网络 的访问。 NAC 常用于"端点运行状况检查" ,它可以对端点设备(如笔记本电脑或智能手机)进行筛查,确保其具有充足的杀毒保护、适当的系统更新等级和正确的配置,然后方可进入。 NAC 还可以编程为"基于角色的访问",在这种访问中,用户的访问将基于他们的个人资料受到限制,因此,一旦进入网络,他们只能访问批准的文件或数据。

云安全

云安全保护例如敏感数据、应用程序、虚拟化 IP 地址和服务等在线资源远离泄露、丢失或盗窃。 要保证基于云的系统的安全,需要完善的安全策略,以及防火墙架构、访问控制、虚拟专用网 (VPN)、数据加密或屏蔽、威胁情报软件和灾难恢复程序等安全方法的层次。

虚拟专用网 (VPN)

虚拟专用网 (VPN) 是一种通过加密用户数据、屏蔽用户 IP 地址和位置来保护用户身份的软件。 当人们使用 VPN 时,他们不再直接连接到互联网,而是连接到一个安全的服务器,然后由该服务器代表他们连接到互联网。 VPN 经常用于企业,就个人而言,尤其是对在咖啡店或机场使用公用 WiFi 的人来说也越来越必需。 VPN 可以保护用户远离黑客,黑客可以窃取电子邮件、照片、信用卡号码和用户身份等任何东西。

数据损失预防 (DLP)

数据丢失预防(有时称为"数据泄漏预防")是一套策略和工具,用于确保端点用户不会意外或恶意地在公司网络之外共享敏感信息。 为遵守政府针对关键数据(如信用卡、财务或健康信息)的规定,通常使用 DLP 策略和软件,它们通过警报、加密和其他行动来监控和控制企业网络和云中的端点活动,以保护移动、使用中和静止的数据。

终端保护

端点安全通常需要多层次的方法,保护所有连接到您网络的端点——笔记本电脑、平板电脑、智能手机、可穿戴式设备以及其他移动设备。 虽然端点保护是一项复杂的工作,但是托管式安全服务可以利用杀毒软件、数据丢失预防、加密等其他有效安全措施,帮助保持您的设备、数据和网络安全。

统一威胁管理 (UTM)

通过 UTM 设备,企业可以使用如防火墙、VPN、IDS、Web 内容过滤和反垃圾邮件软件等多种网络安全工具降低成本,提高网络保护和监控的易管理性。

安全 Web 网关

这种安全技术防止未经授权的网络流量进入内部网络,保护可能访问包含病毒或恶意软件的恶意网站的用户和员工。 安全 Web 网关通常包含 Web 过滤技术和 Web 应用程序的安全控制。


网络安全是如何工作的?

就最基本的层次而言,安全网络集中于两个基本原则:验证和授权。 换句话说,首先您需要确保您网络中的每一位用户都是 经过验证 、得到允许的用户,其次您需要您网络中的每一位用户都 得到 访问他们正在访问的指定数据的授权。

网络安全基础知识

网络安全涉及方方面面,从设置和实施企业范围内的策略和程序,到安装能够自动检测和阻止网络安全威胁的软件和硬件,再到雇佣网络安全顾问和工作人员来评估您需要的网络保护水平,然后实施所需的安全解决方案。

阅读网络安全解决方案的更多相关信息

受管安全服务 (MSS)

托管式安全服务有助于保护当今日益复杂的混合多云网络。 高级托管式安全服务甚至提供全天候的监控、管理和对高级威胁、风险和合规需求的响应。

探索最新的托管式安全服务

相关解决方案

网络渗透测试

即使攻击者们仅仅利用您网络中的一个漏洞,他们也可能会危及整个环境。 但是有这么多可能的访问点,您要从哪里开始测试您的系统呢? IBM Security 部门的资深黑客团队 X-Force Red 可以帮助确定组件测试的优先等级,然后识别并帮助修复企业内部和外部网络中风险最高的漏洞。


事件响应解决方案

近四分之三的企业没有一致的、全公司范围的网络安全事件响应计划。 然而,万一发生数据泄露,制定适当的计划可以节省数百万美元。 IBM Security 资源可以帮助贵企业准备、检测和响应可能会发生的任何事件。


安全信息与事件管理 (SIEM)

SIEM 解决方案已经发展到包含高级用户行为分析 (UBA),网络流洞察和人工智能,以增强威胁检测,与安全、策划、自动化和响应 (SOAR) 平台无缝集成。 在娴熟的顾问的帮助下构建您的 SIEM 基础。


IT 基础架构安全

案例研究证明了 IBM 可扩展的 IT 基础架构安全解决方案的优势。 了解 Carhartt、Met Office(英国国家气象局)和 Bradesco(巴西最大的银行之一)如何应用 IBM 技术和管理产品来确保无论是在本地、在云中还是在两者之间移动的数据安全。


网络安全的云基础架构

在保护云环境及其中存储的信息以及防止恶意活动到达服务器或用户方面,防火墙和安全组十分重要。


网络安全解决方案

调整您的安全策略与业务使之保持一致,保护您的数字资产,管理您对日益增长的威胁的防御,并使用 IBM Security 服务让您的安全策略现代化。 探索身份和访问管理策略、SIEM 和 SOAR、多云安全等。

What is network security?

Network security can protect your IT infrastructure from various threats.

Woman in hardhat in a factory

Network security defined

At a foundational level, network security is the operation of protecting data, applications, devices, and systems that are connected to the network.

Though network security and cybersecurity overlap in many ways, network security is most often defined as a subset of cybersecurity. Using a traditional “castle-and-moat analogy,” or a perimeter-based security approach – in which your organization is your castle, and the data stored within the castle is your crown jewels – network security is most concerned with the security within the castle walls.

In this perimeter-based scenario, the area within the castle walls can represent the IT infrastructure of an enterprise, including its networking components, hardware, operating systems, software, and data storage. Network security protects these systems from malware/ransomware, distributed denial-of-service (DDoS) attacks, network intrusions, and more, creating a secure platform for users, computers, and programs to perform their functions within the IT environment.

As organizations move to hybrid and multicloud environments, their data, applications, and devices are being dispersed across locations and geographies. Users want access to enterprise systems and data from anywhere and from any device. Therefore, the traditional perimeter-based approach to network security is phasing out. A zero-trust approach to security, wherein an organization never trusts and always verifies access, is fast becoming the new method for strengthening an organization’s security posture.


Types of Network Security

Firewall protection

A firewall is either a software program or a hardware device that prevents unauthorized users from accessing your network, stopping suspicious traffic from entering while allowing legitimate traffic to flow through. There are several types of firewalls with different levels of security, ranging from simple packet-filtering firewalls to proxy servers to complex, next-generation firewalls that use AI and machine learning to compare and analyze information as it tries to come through.

Intrusion detection and prevention

Intrusion detection and prevention systems (IDPS) can be deployed directly behind a firewall to provide a second layer of defense against dangerous actors. Usually working in tandem with its predecessor, the more passive intrusion defense system (IDS), an IDPS stands between the source address and its destination, creating an extra stop for traffic before it can enter a network. An advanced IDPS can even use machine learning and AI to instantly analyze incoming data and trigger an automated process – such as sounding an alarm, blocking traffic from the source, or resetting the connection – if it detects suspicious activity.

Network access control (NAC)

Standing at the frontline of defense, network access control does just that: it controls access to your network. Most often used for “endpoint health checks,” NAC can screen an endpoint device, like a laptop or smart phone, to ensure it has adequate anti-virus protection, an appropriate system-update level, and the correct configuration before it can enter. NAC can also be programmed for “role-based access,” in which the user’s access is restricted based on their profile so that, once inside the network, they can only access approved files or data.

Cloud security

Cloud security protects online resources – such as sensitive data, applications, virtualized IPs, and services – from leakage, loss, or theft. Keeping cloud-based systems secure requires sound security policies as well as the layering of such security methods as firewall architecture, access controls, Virtual Private Networks (VPNs), data encryption or masking, threat-intelligence software, and disaster recovery programs.

Virtual Private Networks (VPNs)

A virtual private network (VPN) is software that protects a user’s identity by encrypting their data and masking their IP address and location. When someone is using a VPN, they are no longer connecting directly to the internet but to a secure server which then connects to the internet on their behalf. VPNs are routinely used in businesses and are increasingly necessary for individuals, especially those who use public wifi in coffeeshops or airports. VPNs can protect users from hackers, who could steal anything from emails and photos to credit card numbers to a user’s identity.

Data loss prevention (DLP)

Data loss prevention (sometimes called “data leak prevention”) is a set of strategies and tools implemented to ensure that endpoint users don’t accidentally or maliciously share sensitive information outside of a corporate network. Often put in place to comply with government regulations around critical data (such as credit card, financial or health information), DLP policies and software monitor and control endpoint activities on corporate networks and in the cloud, using alerts, encryption, and other actions to protect data in motion, in use, and at rest.

Endpoint protection

Often requiring a multi-layered approach, endpoint security involves protecting all of the endpoints – laptops, tablets, smartphones, wearables, and other mobile devices – that connect to your network. Although securing endpoints is a complex endeavor, a managed security service can help keep your devices, data, and network safe using antivirus software, data loss prevention, encryption, and other effective security measures.

Unified threat management (UTM)

With UTM appliances, organizations can reduce costs and improve the manageability of network protection and monitoring using multiple network-security tools such as firewalls, VPNs, IDS, web-content filtering, and anti-spam software.

Secure web gateway

This security technology prevents unauthorized network traffic from entering the internal network and protects users and employees that may access malicious websites that contain viruses or malware. Secure web gateways typically include web-filtering technology and security controls for web applications.


How does network security work?

At its most fundamental level, secure networking centers on two basic tenets: authentication and authorization. In other words, first you need to make sure that every user in your network is an authentic user that is permitted to be there, and then you need to make sure that each user within your network is authorized to access the specific data that they are accessing.

Network security basics

Network security involves everything from setting and enforcing enterprise-wide policies and procedures, to installing software and hardware that can automatically detect and block network security threats, to hiring network security consultants and staff to assess the level of network protection you need and then implement the security solutions required.

Managed security services (MSS)

Managed security services can help secure today’s increasingly complex hybrid multicloud networks. Advanced managed security services even offer around-the-clock monitoring, management, and response to advanced threats, risks, and compliance requirements.


Related solutions

Network penetration testing

If attackers exploit just one vulnerability in your network, they could potentially compromise the entire environment. But with so many possible access points, where do you start testing your system? X-Force Red, IBM Security’s team of veteran hackers, can help prioritize which components to test, and then identify and help fix the highest-risk vulnerabilities within an organization’s internal and external networks.

Incident response solutions

Nearly three-quarters of organizations don’t have a consistent, company-wide cybersecurity incident response plan. Yet having a plan in place could save millions of dollars in the event of a data breach. IBM Security resources can help your organization prepare for, detect, and respond to whatever incidents come your way.

Security information and event management (SIEM)

SIEM solutions have evolved to include advanced user behavior analytics (UBA), network flow insights, and artificial intelligence to enhance threat detection and integrate seamlessly with security, orchestration, automation, and response (SOAR) platforms. Build your SIEM foundation with the help of skilled consultants who can help.

IT infrastructure security

Case studies testify to the strength of IBM’s scalable security solutions for IT infrastructures. Learn how Carhartt, the Met Office, and Bradesco, one of Brazil’s largest banks, have applied IBM technology and management offerings to keep their data secure, whether on premises, in the cloud, or moving in between.

Cloud infrastructure for network security

Firewalls and security groups are important in securing your cloud environment and the information stored in it, as well as preventing malicious activity from reaching your servers or users.

Cybersecurity solutions

Align your security strategy with your business, protect your digital assets, manage your defenses against growing threats, and modernize your security strategies with IBM Security Services. Explore strategies for identity and access management, SIEM and SOAR, multicloud security, and more.