什么是漏洞管理?
了解漏洞管理解决方案如何帮助安全团队主动发现 IT 资产中存在的安全漏洞,划分漏洞的优先级并加以解决。
两名工作人员共同坐在办公桌前看着电脑显示器
什么是漏洞管理?

漏洞管理是 IT 风险管理领域中的一个子领域,旨在持续发现组织的 IT 基础架构和软件中存在的安全漏洞,划分漏洞的优先级并加以解决。

安全漏洞是指网络或联网资产的结构、功能或实施中存在的任何缺陷或弱点,黑客可以利用它们发起网络攻击,未经授权即访问系统或数据,或者以其他方式对组织造成损害。 常见漏洞的示例包括防火墙错误配置,这可能会允许某些类型的恶意软件进入网络,还包括操作系统的远程桌面协议中未修补的错误,这些错误可能会允许黑客接管设备。

由于当今的企业网络如此分散,每天都会发现数不胜数的新漏洞,因此几乎不可能进行有效的手动或临时漏洞管理。 网络安全团队通常依赖漏洞管理解决方案来实现流程自动化。

互联网安全中心 (CIS) 将持续漏洞管理列为其关键安全控制措施(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)之一,旨在防御最常见的网络攻击。 通过漏洞管理,IT 安全团队可以赶在漏洞遭到利用之前及早识别并解决这些漏洞,从而建立更主动的安全态势。 

漏洞管理流程

由于新漏洞随时都可能出现,安全团队将漏洞管理视为一个连续的生命周期,而不是一个离散的事件。 这个生命周期包括五个持续且重叠的工作流程:发现、分类和划分优先级、解决、重新评估和报告。

1. 发现

发现工作流程以漏洞评估为中心,这是一个检查组织的所有 IT 资产是否存在已知和潜在漏洞的过程。 通常情况下,安全团队会使用漏洞扫描软件自动执行此过程。 一些漏洞扫描程序会按照计划定期执行全面的网络扫描,而另一些漏洞扫描程序则会使用笔记本电脑、路由器和其他终端上安装的代理来收集每台设备上的数据。 安全团队还可以使用不定期的漏洞评估(例如渗透测试)来定位扫描程序可能扫描不到的漏洞。  

2. 分类和划分优先级

一旦识别了漏洞,就会将它们按类型(例如,设备配置错误、加密问题、敏感数据暴露)进行分类,并按严重程度划分优先级,即对每个漏洞的严重性、可利用性和导致攻击的可能性进行估计。

为确定严重性,漏洞管理解决方案通常会利用威胁情报来源,例如通用漏洞评分系统 (CVSS),这是一种开放的网络安全行业标准,它以 0 到 10 的等级对已知漏洞的严重性进行评分;MITRE 的常见漏洞和暴露 (CVE) 列表;以及 NIST 的国家漏洞数据库 (NVD)。 

3. 解决

一旦确定了漏洞的优先级,安全团队就可以通过以下三种方式之一解决这些漏洞:

  • 补救 - 完全解决漏洞,使其不再被利用,例如,安装能够修复软件错误的补丁,或者淘汰易受攻击的资产。 许多漏洞管理平台都提供补救工具,例如补丁管理,用于自动下载补丁并进行测试;以及配置管理,用于从集中式仪表板或门户解决网络和设备错误配置问题。
  • 缓解 - 使漏洞更难以被利用,以及/或在不完全消除漏洞的情况下减轻被利用后产生的影响。 让易受攻击的设备在线,但将其与网络的其余部分隔离开来,就是缓解漏洞的一个例子。 当补丁或其他补救手段尚不可用时,通常会执行缓解措施。 
  • 接受 - 选择不解决漏洞。 严重性评分较低的漏洞通常会为人们所接受,这些漏洞不太可能会被利用,或者不太可能造成重大损害。 

4. 重新评估

当漏洞得到解决时,安全团队通常会开展新一轮漏洞评估,确保他们的缓解或补救工作有效,且没有引入任何新的漏洞。

5. 报告

漏洞管理平台通常会提供仪表板,用于报告平均检测时间 (MTTD) 和平均响应时间 (MTTR) 等指标。 许多解决方案还维护已识别漏洞的数据库,允许安全团队跟踪已识别漏洞的解决情况,并对过去的漏洞管理工作加以审计。

借助这些报告功能,安全团队能够为正在进行的漏洞管理活动建立基线,并长期监控项目绩效。 报告还可用于在安全团队和其他 IT 团队之间共享信息,这些 IT 团队可能负责管理资产,但并不直接参与漏洞管理流程。 

什么是基于风险的漏洞管理?

基于风险的漏洞管理 (RBVM) 是一种相对较新的漏洞管理方法。 RVBM 将利益相关方特定的漏洞数据与人工智能和机器学习能力相结合,从三个重要方面加强漏洞管理。

借助更多上下文可更有效地划分优先级。 如上所述,传统的漏洞管理解决方案使用 CVSS 或 NIST NVD 等行业标准资源来确定严重性。 这些资源所依赖的笼统概述,可用来确定所有组织中一般情况下漏洞的严重性。 但它们缺乏利益相关方特定的漏洞数据,这可能导致面对特定公司对某个漏洞的严重程度估计不足或过高。

例如,由于没有安全团队花费时间或资源来解决其网络中的每个漏洞,因此许多人在划分漏洞优先级时,会优先给予“高”(7.0-8.9) 或“严重”(9.0-10.0) 级别的 CVSS 分数。 但是,如果存在“严重”漏洞的资产并不存储或处理任何敏感信息,也不提供通往网络高价值部分的途径,那么采取补救措施可能就是对安全团队宝贵的时间进行的一次错误分配。 另一方面,与其他组织相比,CVSS 分数较低的漏洞对某些组织造成的威胁可能更大。 2014 年发现的 Heartbleed 漏洞依照 CVSS 等级被评为“中等”(5.0)(链接位于 ibm.com 外部),但黑客却利用它发动了大规模攻击,例如,从美国最大的连锁医院之一窃取了 450 万患者的数据(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)。

RBVM 使用利益相关方特定的漏洞数据来补充评分信息,即受影响资产的数量和重要性、这些资产与其他资产的连接方式,以及漏洞利用可能导致的潜在损害,此外还提供了现实世界中网络犯罪分子如何与漏洞交互的数据。 它使用机器学习来制定风险评分,从而更准确地反映每个漏洞对于该组织的具体风险。 这使 IT 安全团队能够优先考虑数量较少的关键漏洞,而不会牺牲网络安全性。

实时探索。 在 RBVM 中,漏洞扫描通常是实时进行的,而不是定期进行。 此外,RBVM 解决方案可以监控更广泛的资产。传统的漏洞扫描程序通常仅限于直接连接到网络的已知资产,而 RBVM 工具通常则可以扫描本地和远程移动设备、云资产、第三方应用和其他资源。

自动重新评估。 在 RBVM 流程中,可以通过持续的漏洞扫描自动进行重新评估。 在传统的漏洞管理中,重新评估可能要求有意识地进行网络扫描或渗透测试。 

漏洞管理和攻击面管理

漏洞管理与攻击面管理 (ASM) 密切相关。 ASM 是指持续发现、分析、补救和监控构成组织攻击面的漏洞和潜在攻击途径。 ASM 和漏洞管理之间的核心区别之一就是范围。 虽然这两个过程都监控和解决组织资产中存在的漏洞,但 ASM 采用了更全面的网络安全方法。 

ASM 解决方案包括资产发现功能,用于识别和监控连接到网络的所有已知资产、未知资产、第三方资产、子公司资产和恶意资产。 ASM 还扩展到 IT 资产之外,能够识别组织的物理和社会工程攻击面中存在的漏洞。 然后,它会从黑客的角度分析这些资产和漏洞,了解网络犯罪分子如何利用它们来渗透网络。

随着基于风险的漏洞管理 (RBVM) 的兴起,漏洞管理和 ASM 之间的界限变得越来越模糊。 组织经常会在 RBVM 解决方案中部署 ASM 平台,因为 ASM 提供了比单独的漏洞管理更全面的攻击面视图。

相关解决方案
X-Force Red 漏洞管理服务

采用漏洞管理计划,识别可能暴露最关键资产的缺陷,对其划分优先级并管理补救措施

探索 X-Force Red 服务
威胁捕获解决方案

采用漏洞管理计划,识别可能暴露最关键资产的缺陷,对其划分优先级并管理补救措施

使用 IBM QRadar 探索威胁捕获
治理、风险与合规

通过综合治理、风险和合规方法管理 IT 风险,建立治理结构,并提高网络安全成熟度。

探索治理、风险与合规服务
资源 什么是攻击面管理 (ASM)?

攻击面管理可帮助组织发现网络攻击漏洞、确定其优先级并进行补救。

什么是 DevSecOps?

DevSecOps 会在软件开发生命周期的各个阶段自动融入安全性。

什么是数据安全性?

数据安全实践和技术可保护数字信息免遭未经授权的访问、损坏或盗窃。

What is vulnerability management?
Explore IBM's vulnerability management solution Subscribe to Security Topic Updates
Illustration with collage of pictograms of clouds, mobile phone, fingerprint, check mark
What is vulnerability management?

Vulnerability management, a subdomain of IT risk management, is the continuous discovery, prioritization and resolution of security vulnerabilities in an organization’s IT infrastructure and software.

A security vulnerability is any flaw or weakness in the structure, functionality or implementation of a network or networked asset that hackers can exploit to launch cyberattacks, gain unauthorized access to systems or data or otherwise harm an organization.

Examples of common vulnerabilities include firewall misconfigurations that might allow certain types of malware to enter the network or unpatched bugs in an operating system’s remote desktop protocol that might allow hackers to take over a device.

Today’s enterprise networks are so distributed, and various new vulnerabilities are discovered daily, making effective manual or ad hoc vulnerability management nearly impossible. Cybersecurity teams typically rely on vulnerability management solutions to automate the process.

The Center for Internet Security (CIS) lists continuous vulnerability management as one of its Critical Security Controls (link resides outside ibm.com) to defend against the most common cyberattacks. Vulnerability management allows IT security teams to adopt a more proactive security posture by identifying and resolving vulnerabilities before they can be exploited.

IBM Security® X-Force® Threat Intelligence Index

Gain insights to prepare and respond to cyberattacks with greater speed and effectiveness with the IBM Security X-Force Threat Intelligence Index.

Related content

Register for the Cost of a Data Breach report

The vulnerability management process

Because new vulnerabilities can arise at any time, security teams approach vulnerability management as a continuous lifecycle rather than a discrete event. This lifecycle comprises five ongoing and overlapping workflows: Discovery, categorization and prioritization, resolution, reassessment and reporting.

1. Discovery

The discovery workflow centers around vulnerability assessment, a process for checking all an organization’s IT assets for known and potential vulnerabilities. Typically security teams automate this process by using vulnerability scanner software. Some vulnerability scanners perform periodic, comprehensive network scans on a regular schedule, while others use agents installed on laptops, routers and other endpoints to collect data on each device. Security teams can also use episodic vulnerability assessments, such as penetration testing, to locate vulnerabilities that elude a scanner.  

2. Categorization and Prioritization

Once vulnerabilities are identified, they’re categorized by type (for example, device misconfigurations, encryption issues, sensitive data exposures) and prioritized by level of criticality. This process provides an estimation of each vulnerability’s severity, exploitability and the likelihood of an attack.

Vulnerability management solutions typically draw on threat intelligence sources such as the Common Vulnerability Scoring System (CVSS), an open cybersecurity industry standard, to score the criticality of known vulnerabilities on a scale of 0 to 10. Two other popular intelligence sources are MITRE’s list of Common Vulnerabilities and Exposures (CVEs) and NIST’s National Vulnerability Database (NVD). 

3. Resolution

Once vulnerabilities are prioritized, security teams can resolve them in one of three ways:

  • Remediation—fully addressing a vulnerability so it can no longer be exploited, such as by installing a patch that fixes a software bug or retiring a vulnerable asset. Many vulnerability management platforms provide remediation tools such as patch management for automatic patch downloads and testing, and configuration management for addressing network and device misconfigurations from a centralized dashboard or portal.
  • Mitigation—making a vulnerability more difficult to exploit and lessening the impact of exploitation without removing the vulnerability entirely. Leaving a vulnerable device online but segmenting it from the rest of the network is an example of mitigation. Mitigation is often performed when a patch or other means of remediation is not yet available. 
  • Acceptance—choosing to leave a vulnerability unaddressed. Vulnerabilities with low criticality scores, which are unlikely to be exploited or unlikely to cause significant damage, are often accepted. 

4. Reassessment

When vulnerabilities are resolved, security teams conduct a new vulnerability assessment to ensure that their mitigation or remediation efforts worked and did not introduce any new vulnerabilities.

5. Reporting

Vulnerability management platforms typically provide dashboards for reporting on metrics like mean time to detect (MTTD) and mean time to respond (MTTR). Many solutions also maintain databases of identified vulnerabilities, which allow security teams to track the resolution of identified vulnerabilities and audit past vulnerability management efforts.

These reporting capabilities enable security teams to establish a baseline for ongoing vulnerability management activities and monitor program performance over time. Reports can also be used to share information between the security team and other IT teams who may be responsible for managing assets but not directly involved in the vulnerability management process. 

What is risk-based vulnerability management? 

Risk-based vulnerability management (RBVM) is a relatively new approach to vulnerability management. RVBM combines stakeholder-specific vulnerability data with artificial intelligence and machine learning capabilities to enhance vulnerability management in three important ways.

More context for more effective prioritization. Traditional vulnerability management solutions determine criticality by using industry-standard resources like the CVSS or the NIST NVD. These resources rely on generalities that can determine the average criticality of a vulnerability across all organizations. But they lack stakeholder-specific vulnerability data that can result in dangerous over- or under-prioritization of a vulnerability’s criticality to a specific company.

For example, because no security team has the time or resources to address every vulnerability in its network, many prioritize vulnerabilities with a “high” (7.0-8.9) or “critical” (9.0-10.0) CVSS score. However, if a “critical” vulnerability exists in an asset that doesn’t store or process any sensitive information, or offers no pathways to high-value segments of the network, remediation may not be worth it.

Vulnerabilities with low CVSS scores can be a bigger threat to some organizations than others. The Heartbleed bug, discovered in 2014, was rated as “medium” (5.0) on the CVSS scale (link resides outside ibm.com). Even so, hackers used it to pull off large-scale attacks, such as stealing the data of 4.5 million patients (link resides outside ibm.com) from one of the largest US hospital chains.

RBVM supplements scoring with stakeholder-specific vulnerability data—the number and criticality of the asset that is affected, how the assets are connected to other assets, and the potential damage an exploit might cause—as well as data on how cybercriminals interact with vulnerabilities in the real world. It uses machine learning to formulate risk scores that more accurately reflect each vulnerability’s risk to the organization specifically. This enables IT security teams to prioritize a smaller number of critical vulnerabilities without sacrificing network security.

Real-time discovery. In RBVM, vulnerability scans are often conducted in real-time rather than on a recurring schedule. Additionally, RBVM solutions can monitor a broader array of assets: Whereas traditional vulnerability scanners are usually limited to known assets directly connected to the network, RBVM tools can typically scan on-premises and remote mobile devices, cloud assets, third-party apps, and other resources.

Automated reassessment. In an RBVM process, reassessment can be automated by continuous vulnerability scanning. In traditional vulnerability management, reassessment may require an intentional network scan or penetration test. 

Vulnerability management and attack surface management

Vulnerability management is closely related to attack surface management (ASM). ASM is the continuous discovery, analysis, remediation, and monitoring of the vulnerabilities and potential attack vectors that make up an organization’s attack surface. The core difference between ASM and vulnerability management is one of scope. While both processes monitor and resolve vulnerabilities in an organization’s assets, ASM takes a more holistic approach to network security. 

ASM solutions include asset discovery capabilities that identify and monitor all known, unknown, third-party, subsidiary, and malicious assets connected to the network. ASM also extends beyond IT assets to identify vulnerabilities in an organization’s physical and social engineering attack surfaces. It then analyzes these assets and vulnerabilities from a hackers perspective to understand how cybercriminals might use them to infiltrate the network.

With the rise of risk-based vulnerability management (RBVM), lines between vulnerability management and ASM have become increasingly blurred. Organizations often deploy ASM platforms as part of their RBVM solution, because ASM provides a more comprehensive view of the attack surface than vulnerability management alone.

Related solutions
X-Force® Red Vulnerability Management Services

Adopt a vulnerability management program that identifies, prioritizes and manages the remediation of flaws that might expose your most-critical assets.

Explore X-Force Red services
Threat hunting solutions

Adopt a vulnerability management program that identifies, prioritizes and manages the remediation of flaws that might expose your most-critical assets.

Explore threat hunting with IBM QRadar
Governance, risk and compliance

Manage IT risk, establish governance structures and increase cybersecurity maturity with an integrated governance, risk and compliance approach.

Explore governance, risk and compliance services
Resources What is attack surface management (ASM)?

Attack surface management helps organizations discover, prioritize and remediate vulnerabilities to cyberattack.

What is DevSecOps?

DevSecOps automatically bakes in security at every phase of the software development lifecycle.

What is a data security?

Data security practices and technologies protect digital information from unauthorized access, corruption or theft.

Take the next step

Cybersecurity threats are becoming more advanced, more persistent and are demanding more effort by security analysts to sift through countless alerts and incidents. IBM Security QRadar SIEM helps you remediate threats faster while maintaining your bottom line. QRadar SIEM prioritizes high-fidelity alerts to help you catch threats that others miss.

Explore QRadar SIEM Book a live demo