什么是内部威胁?
内部威胁来自有权合法访问公司资产且有意或无意滥用这些资产的用户。
沉思中的男子特写,他的眼镜上反射出电脑屏幕画面
为什么内部威胁特别危险?

滥用访问引起的网络攻击可能会损害公司、员工和客户的利益。根据 “2020 年 IBM X-Force® 威胁情报指数”,2019 年的数据泄露量比 2018 年高出 200%,主要原因是因疏忽造成的内部威胁。内部人员通常知道企业敏感数据所在的位置,并具备较高的访问权限,无论他们是否怀有恶意都会存在威胁。

内部攻击对组织来说代价也非常高昂。在波耐蒙研究所 (Ponemon Institute) 开展的 “2020 年内部威胁成本调研”中,研究人员发现,内部数据泄露的年平均成本为 1,145 万美元,其中 63% 的事件都是由疏忽造成。 ​

无论有意还是无意,内部人员都可能暴露或促成暴露机密的客户信息、知识产权和资金。


内部威胁的类型

现有员工、前员工、承包商、业务合作伙伴或业务伙伴都是可能构成威胁的内部人员。但是,任何拥有公司计算机 系统和数据访问权限的人员(包括提供商或供应商)也可能会对组织造成威胁。

内部人员的动机、意识、权限级别和意图各有不同。波耐蒙研究所将其分为疏忽大意、涉及犯罪和充当“凭证”三大类。同时,Gartner 将内部威胁分为四类:小卒、呆瓜、勾结者和单独行动者。备注:波耐蒙研究所 (Ponemon Institute) 与 Gartner 编写并向企业和政府机构发布独立调研、咨询和教育报告。

小卒

小卒是指在不知情的情况下被操纵执行恶意活动的员工。无论是下载恶意软件,还是通过鱼叉式网络钓鱼或社交工程向欺诈者泄露凭证,小卒都会给组织带来不少危害。

呆瓜

呆瓜是指认为自己不受安全政策约束的无知或傲慢用户。他们出于方便或不称职,主动尝试绕过安全控制。他们还违反安全政策,让易受攻击的数据和资源处于不安全的状态,让攻击者能够轻松访问网络。根据Gartner的"“高级内部人员威胁检测策略”"报告,"“90% 的内部事件由呆瓜造成的”。"

勾结者

勾结者与外部人员(如公司的竞争对手或竞争国家/地区)串通合谋进行犯罪。他们通常利用自己的访问权限,窃取知识产权和客户信息或造成企业运营中断,往往是为了获得经济或个人收益。

单独行动者

此外还有单独行动者,他们通常在没有外部影响或操纵的情况下,为了获取经济收益,像孤狼一样单独开展恶意活动。权限较高的单独行动者尤其危险,例如系统管理员或数据库管理员。


欺诈者如何利用易受攻击的内部人员

如果欺诈者的目标在受保护的系统内部,他们的重点是获得员工的访问特权。欺诈者欺骗“小卒”和“呆瓜”来进行网络犯罪。他们使用许多策略和技术来获取凭证,例如:网络钓鱼电子邮件、水坑式攻击和武器化恶意软件。有了这些凭证,欺诈者可以在系统内横行、提升权限、进行更改并访问敏感数据或资金。欺诈者可以在出站通信期间使用命令与控制 (C2) 服务器从不安全的位置访问数据或信息。他们可以进行出站尝试更改或执行批量出站转移。

欺诈者如何攻击:

寻找漏洞

  • 部署 网络钓鱼电子邮件或恶意软件
  • 识别 流氓用户
  • 获取 被泄露的凭证

利用漏洞进行访问

  • 横向移动至所需目标
  • 根据需要提升权限
  • 访问资产

滥用访问权限

  • 混淆网络活动
  • 更改数据
  • 泄露数据

如何减轻内部威胁

组织可以采用不同的技术和非技术控制措施来改进对每种内部威胁类型的检测和预防。

每种类型的内部威胁都呈现出不同的症状,以供安全团队进行诊断。但是,通过了解攻击者的动机,安全团队可以主动开展内部威胁防御。成功的组织采用综合方法来减轻内部威胁。他们可能使用具有以下功能的安全软件:

  • 映射可访问数据
  • 建立信任机制——授予访问权限、撤销访问权限并实施多因子身份验证 (MFA)
  • 定义有关设备和数据存储的策略
  • 监控潜在威胁和危险行为
  • 在需要时采取行动

SANS 2019 年高级威胁报告指出,安全从业者发现内部威胁防御存在重大缺口。该报告发现,以下两个方面的可视化不足会导致出现这种缺口:正常用户行为的基线和特权用户帐户管理。这些缺口成为网络钓鱼策略和凭证窃取的重点目标。 ​

了解您的用户

  1. 谁有权访问敏感数据?
  2. 谁应该有权访问?
  3. 最终用户如何处理数据?
  4. 管理员如何处理数据?

了解您的数据

  1. 哪些数据属于敏感数据?
  2. 敏感信息是否泄露?
  3. 敏感数据存在哪些相关风险?
  4. 管理员能否控制特权用户对敏感数据的访问?

检测和修复

建立威胁模型后,组织将专注于检测和修复内部威胁和安全漏洞。

安全团队必须区分用户的常规活动和潜在的恶意活动,以检测内部威胁。为了区分这些活动,组织首先必须弥补可视化缺口。然后,他们应将安全数据聚合至集中监控解决方案中,无论是 安全信息和事件管理 (SIEM) 平台 的一部分,还是独立的用户和实体行为分析 (UEBA) 解决方案。许多团队从访问、认证和帐户更改日志开始。然后,随着内部威胁用例的成熟,他们将范围扩大到其他数据源,例如虚拟专用网络 (VPN) 和端点日志等。 ​

组织必须采用特权访问管理 (PAM) 解决方案,并将有关该解决方案访问特权帐户的数据输入至 SIEM。组织集中信息后,就可以对用户行为进行建模并分配风险分数。风险分数与特定的风险事件相关,例如用户地域更改或下载至可移动介质。分配风险分数机制还可支持安全运营中心 (SOC) 团队监控整个企业的风险,无论是创建监控列表还是突出组织中风险最高的用户。 ​

有了足够的历史数据,安全模型可为每个用户创建正常行为的基线。该基线说明用户或机器的正常运行状态,以便系统标记偏差。应跟踪个别用户的偏差,并与同一位置、同一职位或工作职能的其他用户进行比较。 ​

采用以用户为中心的视图,安全团队能够快速发现内部威胁活动,并从一个集中位置管理用户风险。例如,用户行为分析可以在一天中异常时间、从异常位置或发生多次密码尝试失败时检测异常登录尝试,并适时生成警报,以供分析人员进行验证。换句话说,任何行为异常都有助于识别用户何时转化成为恶意的内部人员,或者外部攻击者是否已窃取相关内部凭证。

验证之后,安全编排、自动化与响应 (SOAR) 系统会创建内部威胁补救工作流程。然后,行动手册会指定需要哪些补救措施。潜在的补救措施包括使用 MFA 质询内部人员身份或撤销访问权限,其中任何一个补救措施都可以在身份访问管理 (IAM) 解决方案中自动完成。


如何防范内部远程员工威胁

随着居家工作和远程工作范围的扩大,安全 威胁也不断增加,变得更加复杂。因此,远程工作从根本上改变了安全优先级和安全措施。这种安全上的改变给安全团队带来了新的挑战:

  • 总体安全事件随行为变化和攻击面增加而增多
  • 网络钓鱼攻击增多
  • 未连接到 VPN 的端点和服务器缺乏可视化管理
  • 工作时间不规律、地点不同以及 Web 浏览行为变化导致员工行为出现变化
  • SaaS 应用程序使用增加以及缺乏可视化管理

IT 安全问题延伸至公司内网之外,首席信息安全官 (CISO) 必须应对 IT 安全的快速转变。CISO 的团队必须更好地了解远程员工独有的标识行为以及远程工作对内部威胁检测的影响,才能有效保护公司的资产。为了应对远程员工队伍的挑战,CISO 必须回答以下问题: ​

  • 我们如何验证登录公司虚拟专用网络 (VPN) 的人是员工,而不是使用被盗凭证的攻击者?
  • 我们如何验证员工的反常行为不是远程工作导致的?
  • 我们如何帮助确保连接至开放且不安全的互联网位置(如咖啡店)的员工安全?

通过了解远程员工的行为,安全团队可以检测到可能表明凭证泄露或恶意意图的异常行为。他们通常可以在员工造成潜在损害之前在 VPN 边界检测到这些行为。在边界上,CISO 应确定当前的内部威胁能力是否可支持:

  • 针对访问、认证和 VPN 日志,部署适当的可视化管理。
  • 确定员工凭证是同时在两个地方使用,还是来自异常的地理位置。
  • 确定员工是否在其所在城市的正常工作时间之外使用凭证,或者连接时间是否比平时更长
  • 终止连接、阻止设备并通过 IAM 撤销凭证。

内部威胁指标

假设攻击者设法在周边逃避检测,并且位于组织内网。在这种情况下,安全团队应通过查找泄露的凭证或滥用指标来检验威胁攻击的源头。 ​

安全团队可以通过许多方法获得内部威胁指标,通常由机器学习辅助。这些方法可以帮助确定访问是否来自合法员工,或是窃取凭证的人员。在组织网络中,CISO 应评估当前的内部威胁能力是否可支持他们: ​

  • 对独特的标准活动模式和频率建模,以检测基线偏差。偏差说明存在有意或无意的滥用情况。
  • 通过某天出站通信尝试或连接次数来监控数据渗透尝试。如果员工的出站通信数量激增,可能会建议密切监控该用户的凭证。
  • 识别某位员工的大量异常数据传输。监控聚合数据传输可以提供简单但有效的早期泄露迹象。
  • 检查可疑应用程序的端点完整性,这可能表明有恶意软件活动。通过识别新流程或应用程序执行,您可以阻止恶意软件,降低组织的安全风险。

通过主动调整计划来应对员工行为转变,以及最大限度增加现有工具投资资产,安全团队即可更好保护企业网络安全。


相关解决方案

与持续增加的内部威胁作斗争,保护数据的安全

信息盗窃、IT 破坏和欺诈活动正越来越多地出自技术娴熟而且了解情况的内部人员之手。他们能够轻松访问最有价值的信息,利用安全缺陷,对企业造成无法弥补的损害。


针对内部威胁,部署可视化管理

IBM® QRadar® User Behavior Analytics (UBA) 可分析用户活动以检测可疑的内部人员,确定用户凭证是否被窃。安全分析人员可以轻松查看存在风险的用户,检查其异常活动,深入研究与用户风险分数有关的底层日志和流数据。


将每位用户安全连接至正确的访问级别

授予访问权限、从任意设备提供单点登录、通过多因子身份验证增强安全性、启用用户生命周期管理、保护特权帐户等。


针对内部威胁,进行集中式可视化管理

从孤立的安全数据获取切实可行的洞察,快速识别最关键的威胁,并减少警报总量。通过在本地和云端环境部署更广泛的可视化管理,团队可采用 AI 技术加速调查,并实现自动响应和补救。


加速事件响应

威胁检测只完成了安全保护的一半。您还需要对持续增长的警报、多种工具和人员短缺等问题做出明智的事件响应。成熟的组织采用一站式安全编排与自动化响应 (SOAR) 平台,并结合使用咨询与管理服务,改进其安全运营中心的效率。

Why are insider threats particularly dangerous?

Why are insider threats particularly dangerous?

Cyber attacks through access abuse can harm a company, its employees and its customers. According to the 2020 IBM X-Force Threat Intelligence Index, inadvertent insider threats are the primary reason for the greater than 200% rise in the number of records breached in 2019 from 2018. Insiders typically know where an organization's sensitive data lives and often have elevated levels of access, regardless of whether they have malicious intentions or not.

Insider attacks are costly for organizations, too. In the Ponemon Institute's 2020 Cost of Insider Threats study, researchers found that the internal data breach's average annual cost was USD 11.45 millions, with 63% of the incidents attributed to negligence.

Whether accidentally or deliberately, insiders can expose—or help expose—confidential customer information, intellectual property and money.


Types of insider threats

Current employees, former employees, contractors, business partners or business associates are all insiders that could pose a threat. However, any person with the right level of access to a company's computer systems and data can harm an organization, too, including suppliers or vendors.

Insiders vary in motivation, awareness, access level and intent. Ponemon Institute identifies insiders as negligent, criminal or credential. And Gartner groups insider threats into four categories: pawns, goofs, collaborators and lone wolves. Note: Ponemon Institute and Gartner generate and provide independent research, advisory and educational reports to enterprise and government organizations.

The Pawn

Pawns are employees who, unaware, are manipulated into performing malicious activities. Whether downloading malware or disclosing credentials to fraudsters through spear phishing or social engineering, pawns harm an organization.

The Goof

Goofs are ignorant or arrogant users who believe they are exempt from security policies. Out of convenience or incompetence, they actively try to bypass security controls. And against security policies, goofs leave vulnerable data and resources unsecured, giving attackers easy access. "90% of insider incidents are caused by goofs," according to Gartner's report, "Go-to-Market for Advanced Insider Threat Detection."

The Collaborator

Collaborators cooperate with outsiders, like a company's competitors or nation-states, to commit a crime. They use their access to steal intellectual property and customer information or cause business operations disruptions, often for financial or personal gain.

The Lone Wolf

Also, often for financial gain, lone wolves act independently and maliciously without external influence or manipulation. Lone wolves are especially dangerous when they have elevated levels of privilege, such as system administrators or database admins.


How fraudsters use vulnerable insiders

If a fraudster's target lies inside a protected system, they focus on attaining an employee's access privileges. Fraudsters prey on pawns and goofs for their cybercrimes. They use many tactics and techniques to get credentials: phishing emails, watering holes and weaponized malware, to name a few. With those credentials, fraudsters can move laterally within a system, escalate their privileges, make changes and access sensitive data or money. Fraudsters can access data or information from unsecured locations during outbound communication, using a command-and-control (C2) server. They can make outbound attempt changes or perform volume outbound transfers.

How fraudsters attack:

Seek vulnerability

  • Deploy phishing email or malware
  • Identify a rogue user
  • Attain compromised credentials

Exploit access

  • Move laterally to the desired target
  • Escalate privilege as needed
  • Access assets

Abuse access

  • Obfuscate network activity
  • Alter data
  • Exfiltrate data

How to mitigate insider threats

There are different technical and non-technical controls that organizations can adopt to improve detection and prevention with each insider threat type.

Each type of insider threat presents different symptoms for security teams to diagnose. But by understanding the motivations of attackers, security teams can approach insider threat defense proactively. To mitigate insider threats, successful organizations use comprehensive approaches. They might use security software that:

  • Maps accessible data
  • Establishes trust mechanisms—granting access, revoking access and implementing multifactor authentication (MFA)
  • Defines policies around devices and data storage
  • Monitors potential threats and risky behavior
  • Takes action when needed

In a 2019 SANS report on advanced threats, security practitioners identified significant gaps in insider threat defense. The report found that the gaps are driven by a lack of visibility in two areas: a baseline of normal user behavior and privileged user accounts management. These gaps become attractive targets for phishing tactics and credential compromise.

Know your users

  1. Who has access to sensitive data?
  2. Who should have access?
  3. What are end-users doing with data?
  4. What are administrators doing with data?

 

Know your data

  1. What data is sensitive?
  2. Is sensitive information being exposed?
  3. What risk is associated with sensitive data?
  4. Can admins control privileged user access to sensitive data?

 


Detection and remediation

After establishing a threat model, organizations focus on detecting and remediating insider threats and security breaches.

Security teams must distinguish between a user's regular activity and potentially malicious activity to detect insider threats. To differentiate between activities, organizations must first close visibility gaps. They should then aggregate security data into a centralized monitoring solution, whether part of a security information and event management (SIEM) platform or standalone user and entity behavior analytics (UEBA) solution. Many teams begin with access, authentication and account changelogs. Then, they broaden the scope to additional data sources, such as a virtual private network (VPN) and endpoint logs, as insider threat use cases mature.

Organizations must adopt a privileged-access-management (PAM) solution and feed data about access to privileged accounts from that solution into their SIEM. Once organizations centralize the information, they can model user behavior and assign risk scores. Risk scores are tied to specific risky events, such as user geography changes or downloading to removable media. Assigning risk scores also gives security operations center (SOC) teams the ability to monitor risk across the enterprise, whether creating watch lists or highlighting the top risky users in their organization.

With enough historical data, security models can create a baseline of normal behavior for each user. This baseline indicates the normal operating state of a user or machine so that the system can flag deviations. Deviations should be tracked for individual users and compared to other users in the same location, with the same job title or job function.

By adopting a user-focused view, security teams can quickly spot insider threat activity and manage user risk from a centralized location. For example, user behavioral analytics can detect abnormal login attempts at an unusual time of day or from an unusual location or multiple failed password attempts and generate an alert as appropriate for an analyst's validation. In other words, any behavioral anomalies will help identify when a user has become a malicious insider or if an external attacker has compromised their credentials.

Once validated, a security orchestration, automation and response (SOAR) system can create an insider threat remediation workflow. Then, the playbook can specify what remediation is needed. Potential remediation could include challenging the insider with MFA or revoking access, either of which can be done automatically in the identity access management (IAM) solution.


How to protect against insider remote workforce threats

Security threats have increased and become more complex as work-from-home and remote-work practices have expanded. As a result, remote work has fundamentally shifted security priorities and changed security measures. This security shift has introduced new challenges for security teams:

  • Increased overall security incidents due to behavior changes and increased attack surface
  • Increased phishing attacks
  • Lack of visibility of endpoints and servers not connected to VPN
  • Changes in employee behaviors due to irregular work hours, different locations and web browsing behavior changes
  • Increased SaaS application use and lack of visibility

Chief information security officers (CISOs) must cope with the rapid shift in IT security as it moves outside of the corporate network. A CISO's team must better understand their remote employees' distinct behaviors and remote-work implications to insider threat detection to effectively secure a company's assets. To address remote workforce challenges, CISOs must be able to answer the following questions:

  • How can we verify the person logging into the corporate virtual private network (VPN) is the employee, not an attacker using stolen credentials?
  • How can we verify an employee's anomalous behavior isn't a result of working remotely?
  • How can we help secure employees connecting to open and unsecured internet locations, such as coffee shops?

By understanding remote workers' behaviors, security teams can detect abnormal behavior that could signal credential compromise or malicious intent. They can often detect these behaviors at the VPN boundary before employees cause potential damage. On the perimeter, CISOs should determine if their current insider threat capabilities enable them to:

  • Get the appropriate visibility into access, authentication and VPN logs.
  • Determine if employee credentials are being used in two places simultaneously or from an unusual geographic location.
  • Identify if the employee uses credentials outside of regular working hours for the city of the primary employee location or if the connection duration is longer than usual.
  • Terminate the connection, block the device and revoke credentials through IAM.

Insider threat indicators

Suppose an attacker manages to evade detection at the perimeter and is inside the organization's network. In that case, security teams should validate the threat by looking for several compromised credentials or abuse indicators.

Security teams can derive insider threat indicators through many methods, often assisted by machine learning. These methods can help determine if the access is from a legitimate employee or a credential thief. Within the organization's network, CISOs should evaluate whether their current insider threat capabilities enable them to:

  • Model distinct standard activity patterns and frequency to detect baseline deviation. A deviation can indicate abuse, whether intentional or accidental.
  • Monitor data exfiltration attempts by the number of outbound communication attempts or connections on a given day. If an employee's number of outbound communications spikes, it could suggest monitoring that user's credentials closely.
  • Identify large, abnormal data volume transfers for a given employee. Monitoring the aggregate data transfer can offer a simplistic yet powerful, early compromise indication.
  • Inspect endpoint integrity for suspicious applications, which might indicate malware activity. By identifying new processes or application executions, you can contain the malware and reduce the organization's security risk.

By proactively adjusting their programs to compensate for the shift in employee behavior and maximize existing tool investments, security teams can better secure an enterprise network.

Resources

What is threat management?

A look into what threat management is and which tools and techniques help manage cyber threats.

Insider threat community support

Engage with IBM experts, share advice and best practices with peers and stay up to date on the latest product enhancements.

Cost of insider threats report

According to the report, an estimated USD 6 trillion in damages will occur by 2021, costing more than all global natural disaster damages that take place in a single year. How will you be affected by insider threats?

IBM Security X-Force Insider Threat Report

Learn the role access level plays in insider attacks and best practices for mitigating insider threats.

Solutions

Combat the rise of insider threats to protect your data

Information theft, IT sabotage and fraud are increasingly occurring at the hands of skilled and knowledgeable insiders. With easy access to your most valuable information, they can take advantage of security gaps and cause irreparable harm to your organization.

Gain visibility into insider threats

IBM® QRadar® User Behavior Analytics (UBA) analyzes user activity to detect malicious insiders and determine if a user’s credentials have been compromised. Security analysts can easily see risky users, view their anomalous activities and drill down into the underlying log and flow data contributing to a user’s risk score.

Securely connect every user to the right level of access

Grant access rights, provide single sign-on from any device, enhance security with multifactor authentication, enable user lifecycle management, protect privileged accounts and more.

Centralize the visibility of insider threats

Gain actionable insights into siloed security data, quickly identify the top threats and reduce the total alert volume. With more visibility across on-premises and cloud-based environments, your team can apply AI to accelerate investigations and automate response and remediation.

Accelerate incident response

Threat detection is only half of the security equation. You also need a smart incident response to the growing volume of alerts, multiple tools and staff shortages. Mature organizations adopt a single security orchestration, automation and response (SOAR) platform and work with consulting and managed services to improve their security operations centers.

Fight fraud and financial crime

Use an intelligence analysis tool to tackle complex investigations and detect sophisticated fraud and financial crime across your enterprise.