什么是网络安全?
网络安全技术和最佳实践可保护关键系统和敏感信息免遭不断增长且持续演变的威胁。
电路板及其众多连接
什么是网络安全?

网络安全是用于保护关键系统和敏感信息免遭数字攻击的实践,也称之为信息技术 (IT) 安全。网络安全措施旨在打击针对联网系统和应用的威胁,无论这些威胁源自于企业内部还是外部。

2020 年,全球数据泄露的平均成本为 386 万美元,美国为 864 万美元。这些成本包括发现和响应数据泄露的费用、停机成本和收入损失,以及对企业及其品牌的声誉造成的长期损害。网络犯罪分子以客户的个人身份信息 (PII) 为目标,包括姓名、地址、身份证号码(例如,美国的社会安全号码、意大利的财政代码)和信用卡信息,然后在地下数字市场上出售这些记录。PII 遭泄露通常会导致失去客户信任,招来监管罚款,甚至是法律诉讼。

由不同技术创建的复杂安全系统以及内部专业知识的匮乏,会抬高这些成本。而拥有全面网络安全策略、通过最佳实践进行管理并使用高级分析、人工智能 (AI) 和机器学习,实现自动化运行的企业,则可以更有效地对抗网络威胁,能够在发生数据泄露时缩短其生命周期并降低相关影响。


网络安全领域

强大的网络安全策略通过多层保护来抵御网络犯罪,包含以下网络 攻击:试图访问、更改或破坏数据;向用户或企业勒索钱财;或旨在破坏正常业务运营。采取的对策需解决以下几方面问题:

  • 关键基础架构安全 - 这些实践用于保护计算机系统、网络和其他资产,社会依赖于这些资产来保障国家安全、经济健康运行和/或公共安全。美国国家标准与技术研究院 (NIST) 创建了一个网络安全框架,为该领域的组织提供帮助,而美国国土安全部 (DHS) 则提供额外的指导。

  • 网络安全 - 用于保护计算机网络免受入侵者侵害的安全措施,包括有线和无线 (Wi-Fi) 连接。

  • 应用安全 - 帮助保护在本地和云端运行应用的流程。应用在设计阶段就应植入安全性,并考虑如何处理数据、用户身份验证等。

  • 云安全 - 具体是指真正的保密计算,用于对静态(存储中)、动态(往返于云的传输和在云中传输)和使用中(在处理过程中)的云数据进行加密,从而保障客户隐私,并满足业务要求和合规标准。

  • 信息安全 - 数据保护措施,例如,通用数据保护条例 (GDPR),可保护最敏感的数据免遭未经授权的访问、暴露或盗窃。

  • 最终用户教育 - 在整个企业内建立安全意识,加强终端安全。例如,可以对用户进行培训,让他们删除可疑的电子邮件附件,避免使用未知的 USB 设备等。

  • 灾难恢复/业务连续性规划 - 用于响应计划外事件(例如自然灾害、停电或网络安全事件)的工具和程序,尽可能减少关键运营受到的各种扰动。

  • 存储安全 - IBM FlashSystem® 通过众多保护措施提供坚如磐石般的数据安全恢复弹性。这包括加密措施以及不可篡改的隔离数据副本。这些副本保留在同一个池中,因此可以快速恢复,最大限度降低网络攻击带来的影响。

  • 移动安全 - IBM Security® MaaS360 with Watson 可让您通过应用安全、容器应用安全和安全的移动邮件来管理和保护移动员工。 

危险的网络安全误区

虽然网络安全事件的数量在全球范围内呈上升趋势,但人们仍存在一些误解,这包括以下观点:

  • 网络犯罪分子是局外人。实际上,网络安全漏洞通常是恶意内部人士为自己谋利或与外部黑客勾结的结果。这些内部人士也可能属于由某个民族国家支持的组织严密的团体。
  • 风险是众所周知的。事实上,风险面仍在不断扩大,新旧应用和设备中已报告了数千个新漏洞。人为错误的机会一直在不断增加,特别是由于某些员工或承包商因疏忽而无意中造成的数据泄露。
  • 攻击向量已得到遏制。网络犯罪分子一直在寻找新的攻击向量,包括 Linux 系统、运营技术 (OT)、物联网 (IoT) 设备和云环境。
  • 我所在的行业很安全。每个行业都有各自的网络安全风险,几乎在每个政府和私营部门组织内,网络攻击者都会利用通信网络的必要因素。例如,勒索软件攻击(见下文)针对的行业部门比以往任何时候都要多,包括地方政府和非营利组织,而供应链、".gov" 网站和关键基础设施所面临的威胁也有所增加。

常见网络威胁

尽管网络安全专业人员在努力补上安全漏洞,但攻击者也在时刻寻找新方法来避开 IT 通知、规避防御措施并利用新出现的漏洞。最新的网络安全威胁正在赋予“已知”威胁新的特征,充分利用居家工作环境、远程访问工具和新的云服务。这些不断变化的威胁包括:

恶意软件

“恶意软件”一词是指恶意软件的变体,例如蠕虫、病毒、木马和间谍软件,它们提供未经授权的访问或对计算机造成破坏。恶意软件攻击越来越“无文件”化,旨在绕过熟悉的检测方法,例如,用于扫描恶意文件附件的防病毒工具。

阅读 2022 年恶意软件威胁情报指数报告

勒索软件

勒索软件是恶意软件的一种类型,它会锁定文件、数据或系统,并威胁要删除或销毁数据(或将私人或敏感数据公开),除非向发起攻击的网络犯罪分子支付赎金。最近勒索软件攻击的目标是各州和各地方政府,它们比组织更容易被攻破,并且在压力下不得不支付赎金让民众所依赖的应用和网站恢复运行。

网络钓鱼/社会工程

网络钓鱼是社会工程的一种形式,它诱使用户提供自己的 PII 或敏感信息。在网络钓鱼诈骗中,电子邮件或短信貌似来自合法公司,它们要求提供敏感信息,例如信用卡数据或登录信息。FBI 已注意到与疫情相关的网络钓鱼攻击激增,这与远程工作数量大幅增长有密切关联。

内部威胁

现任或前任员工、业务合作伙伴、承包商或过去曾访问过系统或网络的任何人,如果滥用其访问权限,那么都可以被视为内部威胁。对于专注于外部威胁的传统安全解决方案(如防火墙和入侵检测系统)来说,内部威胁可能是隐形的。

分布式拒绝服务 (DDoS) 攻击

DDoS 攻击试图通过让服务器、网站或网络的流量过载(通常来自多个协调系统),致使其崩溃。DDoS 攻击通过用于调制解调器、打印机、交换机、路由器和服务器的简单网络管理协议 (SNMP),让企业网络不堪重负。

高级持续性威胁 (APT)

在 APT 中,单个或一群入侵者会渗透到系统中,并在很长一段时间内未被察觉。入侵者保持网络和系统完好无损,以便监视业务活动,窃取敏感数据,同时避免企业启动防御对策。最近的 Solar Winds 对美国政府系统的破坏就是 APT 的一个典型例子。

中间人攻击

中间人是一种窃听攻击,即网络犯罪分子拦截和转发双方之间的消息以窃取数据。例如,在不安全的 Wi-Fi 网络上,攻击者可以拦截在访客设备和网络之间传递的数据。


关键网络安全技术和最佳实践

以下最佳实践和技术可以帮助企业实施强大的网络安全防护,进而减少遭受网络攻击的安全隐患,并保护关键信息系统,同时又不影响用户使用或客户体验:

  • 身份与访问管理 (IAM) 定义每个用户的角色和访问权限,以及授予或拒绝其权限的条件。IAM 方法包括单点登录,确保用户在同一会话期间只需登录网络一次,而无需重新输入凭证;多因子身份验证,需要两个或多个访问凭证;特权用户帐户,仅授予某些用户管理权限;以及用户生命周期管理,用于管理每个用户从初始注册直至退出的身份和访问权限。通过 IAM 工具,网络安全专业人员还可以更深入地了解最终用户设备上的可疑活动,包括他们无法实际访问的终端。这有助于加快调查和响应速度,从而隔离和遏制数据泄露造成的损害。

  • 全面的数据安全平台可保护多个环境(包括混合多云环境)中的敏感信息。最佳的数据安全平台可实时自动呈现数据漏洞视图,并持续进行监控,提醒相关人员注意数据漏洞和风险,防止发生数据泄露事件;它们还应简化对政府和行业数据隐私法规的遵守情况。备份和加密对于确保数据安全也至关重要。

  • 安全信息与事件管理 (SIEM) 可聚合和分析来自安全事件的数据,进而自动检测可疑用户活动,并触发预防或补救响应措施。如今,SIEM 解决方案包括高级检测方法,如用户行为分析和人工智能 (AI)。SIEM 可以根据企业的风险管理目标自动确定网络威胁响应的优先级。许多企业正在将他们的 SIEM 工具与安全编排与自动化响应 (SOAR) 平台相集成,从而进一步完成自动化运行,并加速企业对网络安全事件的响应,无需人为干预即可解决许多事件。

零信任安全策略

如今的企业正在以前所未有的方式互联互通。您的系统、用户和数据总是在不同的环境中存储和运行。仅仅保障运营边界的安全已远远不够,但在每个环境中实施安全控制又会增加复杂性。这两种情况无一例外地都会导致对最重要资产的保护降级。零信任策略始终假设存在威胁,因此始终设置控制措施来验证每个用户、设备和企业连接的真实性和目的。为了成功执行零信任策略,企业需要通过某种方式来组合安全信息,以便生成相关控件环境(设备安全、位置等),用于告知和执行验证控制措施。


网络安全和 IBM

IBM Security 提供最先进的集成企业安全产品和服务组合之一。该组合由世界知名的 IBM X-Force® 研究团队支持,其安全解决方案可帮助企业将安全性融入其业务架构,确保在面对不确定性时也能蓬勃发展。

如需风险评估、事件检测和威胁响应方面的帮助,请务必查看:

有关 IBM Security 专家提供的最新网络安全策略、趋势和洞察,请访问 IBM Security Intelligence (链接位于 ibm.com 外部) 站点。

了解有关 IBM Security 产品和服务的更多信息

解决方案:

IBM Cloud Pak® for Security

集成安全工具以深入洞察混合多云环境中的威胁。


人工智能与网络安全

人工智能正在改变网络安全的整体格局,它可以分析大量的风险数据,帮助用户加速响应,在安全资源投入不足的情况下提高运营安全性。


IBM Security® QRadar®

了解智能安全分析,洞察最关键的威胁。


零信任安全性

企业正在转向零信任安全解决方案,仅在有限的基础上和适当的情况下才允许访问他们的数据和资源,进而保护这些数据和资源。


云安全解决方案

将云整合至现有企业安全计划中,不仅仅是添加更多控制或单点解决方案。这需要评估资源和业务需求,针对企业的文化和云安全战略开发全新的方法。


数据安全解决方案

保护多个环境中的企业数据,遵守隐私法规并降低操作复杂性。


统一终端管理 (UEM)

确保可自始至终查看和控制所有移动设备、应用和内容。运行 AI 驱动的安全分析并维护所有平台的安全性。

What is cybersecurity?

Cybersecurity technology and best practices protect critical systems and sensitive information from an ever-growing volume of continually evolving threats.

What is cybersecurity?

Cybersecurity is the practice of protecting critical systems and sensitive information from digital attacks. Also known as information technology (IT) security, cybersecurity measures are designed to combat threats against networked systems and applications, whether those threats originate from inside or outside of an organization.  

In 2020, the average cost of a data breach was USD 3.86 million globally, and USD 8.64 million in the United States. These costs include the expenses of discovering and responding to the breach, the cost of downtime and lost revenue, and the long-term reputational damage to a business and its brand. Cybercriminals target customers’ personally identifiable information (PII) - names, addresses, national identification numbers (e.g., Social Security numbers in the U.S., fiscal codes in Italy), credit card information - and then sell these records in underground digital marketplaces. Compromised PII often leads to a loss of customer trust, regulatory fines, and even legal action.

Security system complexity, created by disparate technologies and a lack of in-house expertise, can amplify these costs. But organizations with a comprehensive cybersecurity strategy, governed by best practices and automated using advanced analytics, artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning, can fight cyberthreats more effectively and reduce the lifecycle and impact of breaches when they occur.


Cybersecurity domains

A strong cybersecurity strategy has layers of protection to defend against cyber crime, including cyber attacks that attempt to access, change, or destroy data; extort money from users or the organization; or aim to disrupt normal business operations. Countermeasures should address:

  • Critical infrastructure security - practices for protecting the computer systems, networks, and other assets that society relies upon for national security, economic health, and/or public safety. The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) has created a cybersecurity framework to help organizations in this area, while the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) provides additional guidance.

  • Network security - security measures for protecting a computer network from intruders, including both wired and wireless (Wi-Fi) connections.

  • Application security - processes that help protect applications operating on-premises and in the cloud. Security should be built into applications at the design stage, with considerations for how data is handled, user authentication, etc.

  • Cloud security - specifically, true confidential computing that encrypts cloud data at rest (in storage), in motion (as it travels to, from and within the cloud) and in use (during processing) to support customer privacy, business requirements and regulatory compliance standards.

  • Information security - data protection measures, such as the General Data Protection Regulation or GDPR, that secure your most sensitive data from unauthorized access, exposure, or theft.

  • End-user education - building security awareness across the organization to strengthen endpoint security. For example, users can be trained to delete suspicious email attachments, avoid using unknown USB devices, etc.

  • Disaster recovery / business continuity planning - tools and procedures for responding to unplanned events, such as natural disasters, power outages, or cybersecurity incidents, with minimal disruption to key operations.

Dangerous cybersecurity myths

The volume of cybersecurity incidents is on the rise across the globe, but misconceptions continue to persist, including the notion that:

  • Cybercriminals are outsiders. In reality, cybersecurity breaches are often the result of malicious insiders, working for themselves or in concert with outside hackers. These insiders can be a part of well-organized groups, backed by nation-states.
  • Risks are well-known. In fact, the risk surface is still expanding, with thousands of new vulnerabilities being reported in old and new applications and devices. And opportunities for human error - specifically by negligent employees or contractors who unintentionally cause a data breach - keep increasing.
  • Attack vectors are contained. Cybercriminals are finding new attack vectors all the time - including Linux systems, operational technology (OT), Internet of Things (IoT) devices, and cloud environments.
  • My industry is safe. Every industry has its share of cybersecurity risks, with cyber adversaries exploiting the necessities of communication networks within almost every government and private-sector organization. For example, ransomware attacks (see below) are targeting more sectors than ever, including local governments and non-profits, and threats on supply chains, ".gov" websites, and critical infrastructure have also increased.

Common cyber threats

Although cybersecurity professionals work hard to close security gaps, attackers are always looking for new ways to escape IT notice, evade defense measures, and exploit emerging weaknesses. The latest cybersecurity threats are putting a new spin on “known” threats, taking advantage of work-from-home environments, remote access tools, and new cloud services. These evolving threats include:

Malware

The term “malware” refers to malicious software variants—such as worms, viruses, Trojans, and spyware—that provide unauthorized access or cause damage to a computer. Malware attacks are increasingly “fileless” and designed to get around familiar detection methods, such as antivirus tools, that scan for malicious file attachments.

Ransomware

Ransomware is a type of malware that locks down files, data or systems, and threatens to erase or destroy the data - or make private or sensitive data to the public - unless a ransom is paid to the cybercriminals who launched the attack. Recent ransomware attacks have targeted state and local governments, which are easier to breach than organizations and under pressure to pay ransoms in order to restore applications and web sites on which citizens rely.

Phishing / social engineering

Phishing is a form of social engineering that tricks users into providing their own PII or sensitive information. In phishing scams, emails or text messages appear to be from a legitimate company asking for sensitive information, such as credit card data or login information. The FBI has noted about a surge in pandemic-related phishing, tied to the growth of remote work.

Insider threats

Current or former employees, business partners, contractors, or anyone who has had access to systems or networks in the past can be considered an insider threat if they abuse their access permissions. Insider threats can be invisible to traditional security solutions like firewalls and intrusion detection systems, which focus on external threats.

Distributed denial-of-service (DDoS) attacks

A DDoS attack attempts to crash a server, website or network by overloading it with traffic, usually from multiple coordinated systems. DDoS attacks overwhelm enterprise networks via the simple network management protocol (SNMP), used for modems, printers, switches, routers, and servers.

Advanced persistent threats (APTs)

In an APT, an intruder or group of intruders infiltrate a system and remain undetected for an extended period. The intruder leaves networks and systems intact so that the intruder can spy on business activity and steal sensitive data while avoiding the activation of defensive countermeasures. The recent Solar Winds breach of United States government systems is an example of an APT.

Man-in-the-middle attacks

Man-in-the-middle is an eavesdropping attack, where a cybercriminal intercepts and relays messages between two parties in order to steal data. For example, on an unsecure Wi-Fi network, an attacker can intercept data being passed between guest’s device and the network.


Key cybersecurity technologies and best practices

The following best practices and technologies can help your organization implement strong cybersecurity that reduces your vulnerability to cyber attacks and protects your critical information systems, without intruding on the user or customer experience:

  • Identity and access management (IAM) defines the roles and access privileges for each user, as well as the conditions under which they are granted or denied their privileges. IAM methodologies include single sign-on, which enables a user to log in to a network once without re-entering credentials during the same session; multifactor authentication, requiring two or more access credentials; privileged user accounts, which grant administrative privileges to certain users only; and user lifecycle management, which manages each user's identity and access privileges from initial registration through retirement. IAM tools can also give your cybersecurity professionals deeper visibility into suspicious activity on end-user devices, including endpoints they can’t physically access. This helps speed investigation and response times to isolate and contain the damage of a breach.

  • A comprehensive data security platform protects sensitive information across multiple environments, including hybrid multicloud environments. The best data security platforms provide automated, real-time visibility into data vulnerabilities, as well as ongoing monitoring that alerts them to data vulnerabilities and risks before they become data breaches; they should also simplify compliance with government and industry data privacy regulations. Backups and encryption are also vital for keeping data safe.

  • Security information and event management (SIEM) aggregates and analyzes data from security events to automatically detect suspicious user activities and trigger a preventative or remedial response. Today SIEM solutions include advanced detection methods such as user behavior analytics and artificial intelligence (AI). SIEM can automatically prioritize cyber threat response in line with your organization's risk management objectives. And many organizations are integrating their SIEM tools with security orchestration, automation and response (SOAR) platforms that further automate and accelerate an organizations response to cybersecurity incidents, and resolve many incidents without human intervention.

Zero trust security strategy

Businesses today are connected like never before. Your systems, users and data all live and operate in different environments. Perimeter-based security is no longer adequate but implementing security controls within each environment creates complexity. The result in both cases is degraded protection for your most important assets. A zero trust strategy assumes compromise and sets up controls to validate every user, device and connection into the business for authenticity and purpose. To be successful executing a zero trust strategy, organizations need a way to combine security information in order to generate the context (device security, location, etc.) that informs and enforces validation controls.


Cybersecurity and IBM

IBM Security offers one of the most advanced and integrated portfolios of enterprise security products and services. The portfolio, supported by world-renowned IBM X-Force research, provides security solutions to help organizations drive security into the fabric of their business so they can thrive in the face of uncertainty.

For help with risk assessment, incident detection, and threat response, be sure to check out:

For the latest cybersecurity strategies, trends and insights from IBM Security experts, visit the IBM Security Intelligence (link resides outside of ibm.com) site.


Solutions

Cloud Pak for Security

Integrate security tools to gain insights into threats across hybrid, multicloud environments.

AI and Cybersecurity

AI is changing the game for cybersecurity, analyzing massive quantities of risk data to speed response times and augment under-resourced security operations.

IBM Security QRadar

Learn about intelligent security analytics for insight into your most critical threats.

Zero trust security

Organizations are turning to zero trust security solutions to help protect their data and resources by making them accessible only on a limited basis and under the right circumstances.

Cloud security solutions

Integrating cloud into your existing enterprise security program is not just adding a few more controls or point solutions. It requires an assessment of your resources and business needs to develop a fresh approach to your culture and cloud security strategy.

Data security solutions

Protect enterprise data across multiple environments, meet privacy regulations and simplify operational complexity.