什么是攻击面管理?

攻击面管理可帮助组织发现网络攻击漏洞、确定其优先级并进行补救。

坐在办公桌前并使用笔记本电脑的人
什么是攻击面管理?

攻击面管理 (ASM) 持续发现、分析、修复和监控构成组织攻击面的网络安全漏洞和潜在攻击媒介。

与其他网络安全领域不同,ASM 完全从黑客的角度而不是从防御者的角度运行。 它可以识别目标,并根据其暴露于恶意攻击者的可能性来评估风险。 ASM 的方法和资源大多与黑客使用的相同,并且许多 ASM 任务和技术由熟悉网络犯罪分子行为并擅长模仿其行为的道德黑客设计和执行。

外部攻击面管理 (EASM) 是一种相对较新的 ASM 技术,有时可以与 ASM 互换使用。 但 EASM 特别关注组织的外部或面向互联网的 IT 资产(有时称为组织的攻击数字攻击面)中出现的漏洞和风险。 ASM 还解决组织的物理和社会工程攻击面中的漏洞,例如恶意内部人员或最终用户针对网络钓鱼诈骗的训练不足。


为什么组织使用攻击面管理

新冠病疫情加速了云采用、数字化转型和远程工作的扩展,加之普通公司每天都有新资产涌入网络,其数字足迹和攻击面变得更广、更分散、更具动态性。

根据 Randori 的2022 年攻击面管理状态 (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)报告,67% 的组织在过去 12 个月内的攻击面扩展,69% 的组织在同一时期受到未知或管理不善的互联网资产的危害。 (Randori 是 IBM Corp. 的子公司) Gartner 行业分析师 (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)将攻击面扩展列为 2022 年 CISO 的安全和风险管理首要优先事项。

传统的资产发现、风险评估和漏洞管理流程在企业网络较为稳定和集中时开发,无法跟上当今网络中新漏洞和攻击媒介的速度。 例如,渗透测试可测试已知资产中的可疑漏洞,但无法帮助安全团队识别每天新出现的网络风险和漏洞。

但 ASM 的持续工作流程和黑客视角支持安全团队和安全运营中心 (SOC)在面对不断增长和不断变化的攻击面时创建主动响应的安全态势。 ASM 解决方案可在漏洞和攻击媒介出现时提供对其的实时可视性。 他们可以利用传统风险评估和漏洞管理工具与流程中的信息,在分析和确定漏洞优先级时提供更多的背景信息。 它们可以与威胁检测和响应技术集成,包括安全信息和事件管理 (SIEM)端点检测与响应 (EDR) 或扩展检测和响应 (XDR),在整个企业范围内改进威胁缓解并加快威胁响应。


ASM 如何工作

ASM 由四个核心流程组成:资产发现、分类和优先级排序、修复以及监控。 同样,由于数字攻击面的大小和形态不断变化,这些过程是持续进行的,ASM 解决方案在任何时候都可实现这些流程的自动化。 其目标是确保安全团队始终拥有漏洞资产的完整且最新的清单,并加快对给组织带来最大风险的漏洞和威胁的响应。

资产发现

资产发现可自动持续扫描并识别面向互联网的硬件、软件和云资产,这些可能会被黑客或网络犯罪分子用作攻击组织的切入点。 这些资产包括

  • 已知资产 — 组织了解并积极管理的所有 IT 基础架构和资源,包括路由器、服务器、公司发行或私有的设备(PC、笔记本电脑、移动设备)、IoT 设备、用户目录、部署在本地和云的应用程序、网站和专有数据库。
  • 未知资产 — 在 IT 或安全团队不知情的情况下使用网络资源且“不在库”的资产。 影子 IT — 在没有官方管理批准和/或监督的情况下部署在网络上的硬件或软件,这是最常见的一种未知资产。 下载到用户计算机的免费字体、通过组织网络使用的个人网站或云应用程序,以及用于访问企业信息的非托管个人移动设备等都属于影子 IT。 孤立 IT — 尚未正确停用的不再使用的旧软件、网站和设备,这是另一种常见的未知资产。
  • 第三方或供应商资产 — 不为组织所有但是组织 IT 基础架构或数字供应链一部分的资产。 这些包括软件即服务 (SaaS)应用、API、公有云或组织网站中使用的第三方服务。
  • 附属资产 — 属于组织子公司网络的任何已知、未知或第三方资产。 合并或收购后,这些资产可能不会立即引起上级组织的 IT 和安全团队的注意。
  • 恶意或流氓资产 — 威胁行为者为目标公司创建或从中窃取的资产。 这可能包括冒充公司品牌的网络钓鱼网站,或数据泄露后在暗网上共享的被盗敏感数据。

分类、分析和优先级划分

一旦资产被识别,就会进行分类和漏洞分析,并按“可攻击性”进行优先级排序,可攻击性本质上是衡量黑客针对它们发起攻击的可能性的客观指标。

资产按照身份、IP 地址、所有权以及与 IT 基础架构中其他资产的联系入库。 它们按照出现漏洞的可能性、原因(例如,配置错误、编码错误、缺少补丁)以及黑客可能通过这些漏洞(例如,窃取敏感数据,传播勒索软件或其他恶意软件)发起的攻击类型进行分析。 

接下来,按照漏洞优先级进行补救。 确定优先级是一项风险评估工作:通常做法是,根据分类和分析期间收集的信息,对每个漏洞进行安全评级或风险评分;

  • 来自威胁情报源(专有和开源)、安全评级服务、暗网和其他来源的关于黑客可发现的漏洞、漏洞利用难易程度以及利用方式等的数据;
  • 组织自身的漏洞管理和安全风险评估活动的结果。 有一种名为“红色团队”的活动,本质上是从黑客的角度进行渗透测试(通常由内部或第三方道德黑客进行)。 该活动成员不测试已知或可疑的漏洞,而是测试黑客可能利用的所有资产。

补救

通常按优先级顺序来修复漏洞。 这包括:

  • 对相关资产应用适当的安全控制措施 - 例如,应用软件或操作系统补丁,调试应用程序代码,实施增强的数据加密
  • 控制以前未知的资产 — 为以前不受管理的 IT 设置安全标准,安全地淘汰孤立 IT,消除流氓资产,将子公司资产集成到组织的网络安全战略、策略和工作流程中。

补救还会涉及实施更广泛的跨资产措施来修复漏洞,例如实施最低访问特权或多因子认证 (MFA)

监控

由于每当部署新资产或以新方式部署现有资产时,组织中攻击面的安全风险都会发生变化,因此会持续监视和扫描在库的网络资产和网络本身以发现漏洞。 持续监控使 ASM 能够实时检测和评估新的漏洞和攻击媒介,并提醒安全团队注意需要立即关注的任何新漏洞。

What is attack surface management?
Explore IBM's attack surface management solution Subscribe to Security Topic Updates
Person sitting at office desk and using laptop computer
What is attack surface management?

Attack surface management (ASM) is the continuous discovery, analysis, prioritization, remediation and monitoring of the cybersecurity vulnerabilities and potential attack vectors that make up an organization’s attack surface.

Unlike other cybersecurity disciplines, ASM is conducted entirely from a hacker’s perspective, rather than the perspective of the defender. It identifies targets and assesses risks based on the opportunities they present to a malicious attacker. ASM relies on many of the same methods and resources that hackers use. Many ASM tasks and technologies are devised and performed by ‘ethical hackers’ who are familiar with cybercriminals’ behaviors and skilled at duplicating their actions.

External attack surface management (EASM), a relatively new ASM technology, is sometimes used interchangeably with ASM. But EASM focuses specifically on the vulnerabilities and risks presented by an organization’s external or internet-facing IT assets—sometimes referred to as an organization’s digital attack surface. ASM also addresses vulnerabilities in an organization’s physical and social engineering attack surfaces, such as malicious insiders or inadequate end-user training against phishing scams.

Cost of a Data Breach

Get insights to better manage the risk of a data breach with the latest Cost of a Data Breach report.

Related content

Register for the X-Force Threat Intelligence Index

Why organizations are turning to attack surface management

Increased cloud adoption, digital transformation and remote work expansion in recent years made the average company’s digital footprint and attack surface larger, more distributed and more dynamic, with new assets that connect to the company network daily.

According to Randori’s State of Attack Surface Management 2022 report, 67% of organizations saw their attack surfaces expand in the past 12 months, while 69% were compromised by an unknown or poorly managed internet-facing asset in the past year. (Randori is a subsidiary of IBM® Corp.) Industry analysts at Gartner (link resides outside ibm.com) named attack surface expansion a top security and risk management priority for CISOs in 2022.

Traditional asset discovery, risk assessment and vulnerability management processes, which were developed when corporate networks were more stable and centralized, can‘t keep up with the speed at which new vulnerabilities and attack vectors arise in today's networks. Penetration testing, for example, can test for suspected vulnerabilities in known assets, but it can’t help security teams identify new cyber risks and vulnerabilities that arise daily.

But ASM‘s continuous workflow and hacker’s perspective enable security teams and security operations centers (SOCs) to establish a proactive security posture in the face of a constantly growing and morphing attack surface. ASM solutions provide real-time visibility into vulnerabilities and attack vectors as they emerge.

They can draw on information from traditional risk assessment and vulnerability management tools and processes for greater context when analyzing and prioritizing vulnerabilities. And they can integrate with threat detection and response technologies—including security information and event management (SIEM), endpoint detection and response (EDR) or extended detection and response (XDR)—to improve threat mitigation and accelerate threat response enterprise-wide.

How ASM works

ASM consists of four core processes: Asset discovery, classification and prioritization, remediation and monitoring. Again, because the size and shape of the digital attack surface changes constantly, the processes are carried out continuously, and ASM solutions automate these processes whenever possible. The goal is to arm security teams  with complete and current inventory of exposed assets and to accelerate response to the vulnerabilities and threats that present the greatest risk to the organization.

Asset discovery

Asset discovery automatically and continuously scans for and identifies internet-facing hardware, software and cloud assets that could act as entry points for a hacker or cybercriminal trying to attack an organization. These assets can include:

  • Known assets – all IT infrastructure and resources that the organization is aware of and actively managing—routers, servers, company-issued or privately-owned devices (PCs, laptops, mobile devices), IoT devices, user directories, applications deployed on premises and in the cloud, web sites and proprietary databases.

  • Unknown assets – ‘uninventoried’ assets that use network resources without the IT or security team’s knowledge. Shadow IT—hardware or software that is deployed on the network without official administrative approval and/or oversight—is the most common type of unknown asset. Examples of shadow IT include personal web sites, cloud applications and unmanaged mobile devices that use the organization's network. Orphaned IT—old software, web sites and devices no longer in use that have not been properly retired—are another common type of unknown asset.

  • Third-part or vendor assets – assets that the organization doesn’t own, but are part of the organization's IT infrastructure or digital supply chain. These include software-as-a-service (SaaS) applications, APIs, public cloud assets, or third-party services used within the organization’s web site.

  • Subsidiary assets – any known, unknown or third-party assets that belong to networks of an organization’s subsidiary companies. Following a merger or acquisition, these assets may not immediately come to the attention of the IT and security teams of the parent organization.

  • Malicious or rogue assets – assets that threat actors create or steal to target the company. This can include a phishing web site impersonating a company’s brand, or sensitive data stolen as part of a data breach being shared on the dark web.

Classification, analysis and prioritization

Once assets are identified, they are classified, analyzed for vulnerabilities and prioritized by ‘attackability‘—essentially an objective measure of how likely hackers are to target them.

Assets are inventoried by identity, IP address, ownership and connections to the other assets in the IT infrastructure. They’re analyzed for the exposures they might have, the causes of those exposures (e.g., misconfigurations, coding errors, missing patches) and the kinds of attacks that hackers may carry out through these exposures (e.g., stealing sensitive data, spreading ransomware or other malware). 

Next, the vulnerabilities are prioritized for remediation. Prioritization is a risk assessment exercise: Typically, each vulnerability is given security rating or risk score based on

  • Information gathered during classification and analysis.

  • Data from threat intelligence feeds (proprietary and open source), security rating services, the dark web and other sources regarding how visible vulnerabilities are to hackers, how easy they are to exploit, how they’ve been exploited, etc.

  • Results of the organization’s own vulnerability management and security risk assessment activities. One such activity, called red teaming, is essentially penetration testing from the hacker’s point of view (and often conducted by in-house or third-party ethical hackers). Instead of testing known or suspected vulnerabilities, red teamers test all assets a hacker might try to exploit.

Remediation

Typically, vulnerabilities are remediated in order of priority. This can involve:

  • Applying appropriate security controls to the asset in question—e.g., applying software or operating system patches, debugging application code, implementing stronger data encryption.

  • Bringing previously unknown assets under control—setting security standards for previously unmanaged IT, securely retiring orphaned IT, eliminating rogue assets, integrating subsidiary assets into the organization’s cybersecurity strategy, policies and workflows.

Remediation can also involve broader, cross-asset measures for addressing vulnerabilities, such as implementing least-privileged access or multi-factor authentication (MFA).

Monitoring

Because security risks in the organization's attack surface change any time new assets are deployed or existing assets are deployed in new ways, both the inventoried assets of the network and the network itself are continuously monitored and scanned for vulnerabilities. Continuous monitoring enables ASM to detect and assess new vulnerabilities and attack vectors in real time, and alert security teams to any new vulnerabilities that need immediate attention.

Related solutions
IBM Security Randori® Recon

Manage the expansion of your digital footprint and get on target with fewer false positives to improve your organization's cyber resilience quickly.

Explore Randori Recon
IBM Security QRadar® XDR Connect

Connect your tools, automate your security operations center (SOC) and free up time for what matters most.

Explore QRadar XDR Connect
Vulnerability management services

Adopt a vulnerability management program that identifies, prioritizes and manages the remediation of flaws that might expose your most-critical assets.

Explore vulnerability management services
Resources What is an attack surface?

An organization’s attack surface is the sum of its cybersecurity vulnerabilities.

What are insider threats?

Insider threats occur when users with authorized access to a company's assets compromise those assets deliberately or accidentally.

What is zero trust?

A zero trust approach requires that all users, whether outside or already inside the network, be authenticated, authorized and continuously validated in order to gain and maintain access to applications and data.

What is malware?

Malware is software code written to damage or destroy computers or networks, or to provide unauthorized access to computers, networks or data.

What is cloud security?

A guide to securing your cloud computing environment and workloads.

What is data security?

Data security is the practice of protecting digital information from theft, corruption or unauthorized access throughout its lifecycle.

Take the next step

Widespread hybrid cloud adoption and permanent remote workforce support have made it impossible to manage the enterprise attack surface. IBM Security Randori Recon uses a continuous, accurate discovery process to uncover shadow IT. Randori keeps you on target with fewer false positives, and improves your overall resiliency through streamlined workflows and integrations with your existing security ecosystem.

Explore Randori Recon Book a live demo