什么是攻击面?
攻击面是一个组织的网络攻击漏洞的总和。
坐在办公桌前并使用笔记本电脑的人
什么是攻击面?

组织的攻击面是网络攻击方面的漏洞、途径或方法(有时称为攻击媒介)的总和,黑客可以利用这些攻击面,未经授权地访问网络或敏感数据,或者发起网络攻击。

随着组织越来越多地采用云服务以及混合工作模式(到公司上班/在家工作),其网络和相关攻击面变得越来越大,越来越复杂。 根据 Randori(IBM 的一家子公司)的《2022 年攻击面管理状态》报告(链接位于 ibm.com 外部),67% 的受访组织的攻击面规模在过去两年有所扩大。 行业分析机构 Gartner 将攻击面扩大列为 2022 年头号安全与风险管理趋势(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)。

安全专家将攻击面分为三种:数字攻击面、实体攻击面和社会工程攻击面。

数字攻击面

数字攻击面有可能将组织的云和本地基础架构暴露给使用互联网连接的任何黑客。 组织的数字攻击面中常见的攻击媒介包括:

  • 低安全性的密码:容易被猜到或易于通过蛮力攻击破解的密码会增加网络犯罪分子破解用户帐户的风险,从而可以访问网络、窃取敏感信息、传播恶意软件以及以其他方式破坏基础架构。 根据 IBM 的《2021 年数据泄露成本报告》,泄露的凭证是 2021 年最常被利用的初始攻击媒介。
     

  • 配置错误:配置不当的网络端口、通道、无线接入点、防火墙或协议成为黑客的攻击入口。 例如,中间人攻击利用消息传递通道上的弱加密协议,拦截系统之间的通信。
     

  • 软件、操作系统 (OS) 和固件漏洞:黑客和网络犯罪分子可以利用第三方应用、操作系统和其他软件或固件中的编码或实现错误来渗透网络、访问用户目录或植入恶意软件。 例如,在 2021 年,网络犯罪分子利用 Kaseya 的虚拟存储设备 (VSA) 平台中的缺陷(链接位于 ibm.com 外部),将伪装成软件更新的勒索软件分发给 Kaseya 的客户。
     

  • 面向互联网的资产:Web 应用、Web 服务器和其他面向公共互联网的资源本质上容易受到攻击。 例如,黑客可以将恶意代码注入不安全的应用编程接口 (API),致使其不当泄露甚至破坏关联数据库中的敏感信息。
     

  • 共享的数据库和目录:黑客可以利用系统和设备之间共享的数据库和目录,未经授权地访问敏感资源或发起勒索软件攻击。 2016 年,Virlock 勒索软件(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)通过感染多个设备访问的协作文件夹而广泛传播。
     

  • 过时或淘汰的设备、数据或应用:如果未坚持安装升级和补丁,可能会产生安全风险。 一个典型的例子是 WannaCry 勒索软件,它利用一个 Microsoft Windows 操作系统漏洞(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)进行传播,而其实针对这个漏洞已经发布了补丁。 与此类似,如果过时的终端、数据集、用户帐户和应用未正确卸载、删除或丢弃,它们也会产生不受监控的漏洞,使网络犯罪分子有机可乘。
     

  • 影子 IT:"影子 IT"是软件、硬件或设备,指的是员工在 IT 部门不知情或未批准的情况下使用的免费或流行的应用、便携式存储设备以及不安全的个人移动设备。 由于影子 IT 不受 IT 或安全团队的监控,因此会形成黑客可以利用的严重漏洞。

实体攻击面

实体攻击面会暴露通常只有授权进入组织的实体办公场所或授权使用终端设备(服务器、计算机、笔记本电脑、移动设备、IoT 设备、运营硬件)的用户才能访问的资产和信息。

  • 恶意内部人员:心怀不满或被收买的员工或其他有恶意意图的用户使用其访问权限窃取敏感数据、禁用设备、植入恶意软件或制造更严重的破坏。
     

  • 设备偷窃:犯罪分子可能会潜入组织场所,窃取或访问终端设备。 一旦拥有硬件,黑客就可以访问存储在这些设备上的数据和程序。 他们还可以使用设备的身份和许可权,访问其他网络资源。 远程工作人员使用的终端、员工的个人设备和未正确废弃的设备是典型的盗窃目标。 
     

  • 诱饵:诱饵也是一种攻击形势,黑客将已感染恶意软件的 U 盘留在公共场所,试图诱骗用户将设备插入计算机并在无意中下载恶意软件。

社会工程攻击面

社会工程会操纵人们分享他们本不该分享的信息,下载本不该下载的软件,访问本不该访问的网站,向犯罪分子汇款,或者犯下其他损害个人或组织资产或安全的错误。

由于社会工程利用的是人性弱点,而不是技术或数字系统漏洞,因此有时被称为"人性黑客攻击"。

了解更多关于社会工程的信息

组织的社会工程攻击面实际上是对社会工程攻击毫无准备或容易上当的授权用户数量的总和。

网络钓鱼是人们最熟悉和最普遍的社会工程攻击媒介。 在网络钓鱼中,诈骗者发送电子邮件、短信或语音消息,操纵收件人分享敏感信息、下载恶意软件、向错误的人转移金钱或资产,或采取其他破坏性行动。 诈骗者精心炮制网络钓鱼消息,使其看起来或听上去像是来自可信或可靠的组织或个人,比如热门的零售商、政府组织,有时甚至是收件人本人认识的个人。

根据 IBM 的《2021 年数据泄露成本》报告,社会工程是造成数据泄露的第二大原因。

攻击面管理

攻击面管理 (ASM) 是指从黑客的视角和方法出发看待组织攻击面的流程和技术,发现并持续监控黑客在针对组织时可能会看到并尝试利用的资产和漏洞。 ASM 通常涉及:

持续发现、清点和监控存在潜在漏洞的资产。 任何 ASM 计划都始于为组织中面向互联网的 IT 资产(包括本地和云资产)建立完整且持续更新的清单。 采用黑客的方法不仅可以确保发现已知资产,还可以发现影子 IT(见上文)、已弃用但未被删除或停用的应用或设备(孤立的 IT)、黑客或恶意软件植入的资产(流氓 IT)等 — 基本上囊括任何可能被黑客或网络威胁利用的资产。

一旦发现,就会持续实时地监控这些作为潜在攻击媒介的资产,以发现可能导致风险加剧的变化。

攻击面分析、风险评估和优先级划分。 ASM 技术根据资产的漏洞和构成的安全风险对资产进行评分,并确定其优先级以进行威胁响应或补救。

攻击面减少和补救。 安全团队可以应用他们从攻击面分析和红客联盟中获得的结果,采取各种短期措施来减少攻击面。 这可能包括强制使用安全性更强的密码,停用不再使用的应用和终端设备,安装应用和操作系统补丁,培训用户以识别网络钓鱼诈骗,在办公室门口实施生物特征识别门禁控制,或修改有关软件下载和移动介质的安全控制措施和策略。

组织还可以采取更具结构性或更长期的安全措施来减少攻击面,无论是作为攻击面管理计划的一部分,还是独立于攻击面管理计划单独实施。 例如,实施双因子身份验证 (2fa)多因子身份验证 可减少或消除与低安全性密码或糟糕的密码策略相关的潜在漏洞。

在更广泛的范围内,零信任安全方法可以显著减少组织的攻击面。 零信任方法要求所有用户 — 无论是在网络外部,还是位于网络内部 — 都必须经过身份验证、授权和持续验证,才能获得并保持对应用和数据的访问权限。 零信任原则和技术(持续验证、最低访问特权、持续监控、网络微分段)有助于减少或消除许多攻击媒介,并为持续的攻击面分析提供有价值的数据。

了解更多关于攻击面管理的信息

相关解决方案
IBM Security Randori Recon

管理数字足迹的扩展,通过减少误报实现目标,快速提高组织的网络弹性。

探索 Randori Recon
IBM Security QRadar® XDR Connect

连接各种工具,实现安全运营中心 (SOC) 自动化,从而将相关人员解放出来,有时间去从事最重要的工作。

探索 QRadar XDR Connect
漏洞管理服务

采用漏洞管理计划,发现可能暴露最关键资产的漏洞,对其划分优先级并管理修复措施

探索漏洞管理服务
资源 什么是社会工程?

社会工程利用心理操纵而不是黑客技术来损害个人或企业的安全。

什么是恶意软件?

恶意软件是一种软件代码,旨在损坏或破坏计算机或网络,或者未经授权地访问计算机、网络或数据。

什么是零信任?

零信任方法要求所有用户 — 无论是在网络外部,还是位于网络内部 — 都必须经过身份验证、授权和持续验证,才能获得并保持对应用和数据的访问权限。

什么是内部威胁?

当有权访问企业资产的用户有意或无意地破坏这些资产时,就会出现内部威胁。

什么是云安全性?

保护云计算环境和工作负载的指南。

什么是数据安全性?

数据安全性是指在整个生命周期内保护数字信息免遭窃取、损坏 或未经授权访问的实践。

采取下一步行动

组织在寻找和修复受管组织资产上的已知漏洞方面已经做得很好。 但是,混合云模式的迅速普及,以及远程工作成为常态,致使企业攻击面不断扩大,显著增加了安全团队的管理难度。IBM Security Randori Recon 使用准确的持续发现流程来发现影子 IT,并提供相关的事实结果,帮助抵御诱惑,从而快速实现安全目标。 简化的工作流程通过与现有安全生态系统整合,提高整体弹性。

探索 Randori Recon

What is an attack surface?
Explore IBM's attack surface solution Subscribe to Security Topic Updates
Person sitting at office desk and using laptop computer
What is an attack surface?

An organization’s attack surface is the sum of vulnerabilities, pathways, or methods—sometimes called attack vectors—that hackers can use to gain unauthorized access to the network or sensitive data, or to carry out a cyberattack.

As organizations increasingly adopt cloud services and hybrid (on-premises/work-from-home) work models, their networks and associated attack surfaces are becoming larger and more complex by the day. According to Randori's The State of Attack Surface Management 2022, 67% of organizations have seen their attack surfaces grow in size over the past two years. Industry analyst Gartner named attack surface expansion the No. 1 security and risk management trend for 2022 (link resides outside ibm.com).

Security experts divide the attack surface into three sub-surfaces: The digital attack surface, the physical attack surface, and the social engineering attack surface.

IBM Security X-Force Threat Intelligence Index

Gain insights to prepare and respond to cyberattacks with greater speed and effectiveness with the IBM Security X-Force Threat Intelligence Index.

Related content

Register for the Cost of a Data Breach report

Digital attack surface

The digital attack surface potentially exposes the organization’s cloud and on-premises infrastructure to any hacker with an internet connection. Common attack vectors in an organization’s digital attack surface include:

  1. Weak passwords
  2. Misconfiguration
  3. Software, operating system (OS), and firmware vulnerabilities
  4. Internet-facing assets
  5. Shared databases and directories
  6. Outdated or obsolete devices, data, or applications
  7. Shadow IT
  • Weak passwords: Passwords that are easy to guess—or easy to crack via brute-force attacks—increase the risk that cybercriminals can compromise user accounts to access the network, steal sensitive information, spread malware and otherwise damage infrastructure. According to IBM's Cost of a Data Breach Report 2021, compromised credentials were the most commonly used initial attack vector in 2021.
     

  • Misconfiguration: Improperly configured network ports, channels, wireless access points, firewalls, or protocols serve as entry points for hackers. Man-in-the-middle attacks, for example, take advantage of weak encryption protocols on message-passing channels to intercept communications between systems.
     

  • Software, OS, and firmware vulnerabilities: Hackers and cybercriminals can take advantage of coding or implementation errors in third-party apps, OSs, and other software or firmware to infiltrate networks, gain access to user directories, or plant malware. For example, In 2021, cybercriminals took advantage of a flaw in Kaseya's VSA (virtual storage appliance) platform (link resides outside ibm.com) to distribute ransomware, disguised as a software update, to Kaseya's customers.
     

  • Internet-facing assets: Web applications, web servers and other resources that face the public internet are inherently vulnerable to attack. For example, hackers can inject malicious code into unsecured application programming interfaces (APIs), causing them to improperly divulge or even destroy sensitive information in associated databases.
     

  • Shared databases and directories: Hackers can exploit databases and directories that are shared between systems and devices to gain unauthorized access to sensitive resources or launch ransomware attacks. In 2016, the Virlock ransomware spread (link resides outside ibm.com) by infecting collaborative file folders that are accessed by multiple devices.
     

  • Outdated or obsolete devices, data, or applications: Failure to consistently apply updates and patches creates security risks. One notable example is the WannaCry ransomware, which spread by exploiting a Microsoft Windows operating system vulnerability (link resides outside ibm.com) for which a patch was available. Similarly, when obsolete endpoints, data sets, user accounts, and apps are not uninstalled, deleted, or discarded, they create unmonitored vulnerabilities cybercriminals can easily exploit.
     

  • Shadow IT: "Shadow IT" is software, hardware, or devices—free or popular apps, portable storage devices, an unsecured personal mobile device—that employees use without the IT department’s knowledge or approval. Because it’s not monitored by IT or security teams, shadow IT may introduce serious vulnerabilities that hackers can exploit.

Physical attack surface

The physical attack surface exposes assets and information typically accessible only to users with authorized access to the organization’s physical office or endpoint devices (servers, computers, laptops, mobile devices, IoT devices, or operational hardware).

  • Malicious insiders: Disgruntled or bribed employees or other users with malicious intent may use their access privileges to steal sensitive data, disable devices, plant malware or worse.
     

  • Device theft: Criminals may steal endpoint devices or gain access to them by breaking into an organization's premises. After they are in possession of the hardware, hackers can access data and processes that are stored on these devices. They might also use the device's identity and permissions to access other network resources. Endpoints used by remote workers, employees' personal devices, and improperly discarded devices are typical targets of theft. 
     

  • Baiting: Baiting is an attack in which hackers leave malware-infected USB drives in public places, hoping to trick users into plugging the devices into their computers and unintentionally downloading the malware.

Social engineering attack surface

Social engineering manipulates people into making mistakes that compromise their personal or organizational assets or security through various ways, such as:

  • sharing information that they shouldn’t share
  • downloading software that they shouldn’t download
  • visiting websites that they shouldn’t visit
  • sending money to criminals 

Because it exploits human weaknesses rather than technical or digital system vulnerabilities, social engineering is sometimes called ‘human hacking’.

Learn more about social engineering

An organization‘s social engineering attack surface essentially amounts to the number of authorized users who are unprepared for or otherwise vulnerable to social engineering attacks.

Phishing is the best-known and most-prevalent social engineering attack vector. In a phishing attack, scammers send emails, text messages, or voice messages that try to manipulate recipients into sharing sensitive information, downloading malicious software, transferring money or assets to the wrong people, or taking some other damaging action. Scammers craft phishing messages to look or sound like they come from a trusted or credible organization or individual—a popular retailer, a government organization, or sometimes even an individual the recipient knows personally.

According to IBM's Cost of a Data Breach 2021 report, social engineering is the second-leading cause of data breaches.

Attack surface management

Attack surface management (ASM) refers to processes and technologies that take a hacker‘s view and approach to an organization’s attack surface—discovering and continuously monitoring the assets and vulnerabilities that hackers see and attempt to exploit when targeting the organization. ASM typically involves:

Continuous discovery, inventory, and monitoring of potentially vulnerable assets. Any ASM initiative begins with a complete and continuously updated inventory of an organization‘s internet-facing IT assets, including on-premises and cloud assets. Taking a hacker’s approach ensures discovery not only of known assets, but also shadow IT applications or devices. These applications or devices might have been abandoned but not deleted or deactivated (orphaned IT). Or assets that are planted by hackers or malware (rogue IT), and more—essentially any asset that can be exploited by a hacker or cyberthreat.

Once discovered, assets are monitored continuously, in real time, for changes that raise their risk as a potential attack vector.

Attack surface analysis, risk assessment and prioritization. ASM technologies score assets according to their vulnerabilities and security risks that they pose, and prioritize them for threat response or remediation.

Attack surface reduction and remediation. Security teams can apply their findings from attack surface analysis and red teaming to take various short-term actions to reduce the attack surface. These might include enforcing stronger passwords, deactivating applications and endpoint devices no longer in use, applying application and OS patches, training users to recognize phishing scams, instituting biometric access controls for office entry, or revising security controls and policies around software downloads and removable media.

Organizations might also take more structural or longer-term security measures to reduce their attack surface, either as part of or independent of an attack surface management initiative. For example, implementing two-factor authentication (2fa) or multifactor authentication can reduce or eliminate potential vulnerabilities that are associated with weak passwords or poor password hygiene.

On a broader scale, a zero trust security approach can significantly reduce an organization’s attack surface. A zero trust approach requires that all users, whether outside or already inside the network, be authenticated, authorized, and continuously validated to gain and maintain access to applications and data. Zero trusts principles and technologies—continuous validation, least-privileged access, continuous monitoring, network microsegmentation—can reduce or eliminate many attack vectors and provide valuable data for ongoing attack surface analysis.

Learn more about attack surface management

Related solutions
IBM Security Randori Recon

Manage the expansion of your digital footprint and get on target with fewer false positives to improve your organization's cyber resilience quickly.

Explore Randori Recon
IBM Security QRadar® XDR Connect

Connect your tools, automate your security operations center (SOC), and free up time for what matters most.

Explore QRadar XDR Connect
Vulnerability management services

Adopt a vulnerability management program that identifies, prioritizes, and manages the remediation of flaws that might expose your most-critical assets.

Explore vulnerability management services
Resources What is social engineering?

Social engineering compromises personal or enterprise security using psychological manipulation rather than technical hacking.

What is malware?

Malware is software code written to damage or destroy computers or networks, or to provide unauthorized access to computers, networks or data.

What is zero trust?

A zero trust approach requires that all users, whether outside or already inside the network, be authenticated, authorized and continuously validated in order to gain and maintain access to applications and data.

What are insider threats?

Insider threats occur when users with authorized access to a company's assets compromise those assets deliberately or accidentally.

What is cloud security?

A guide to securing your cloud computing environment and workloads.

What is data security?

Data security is the practice of protecting digital information from theft, corruption. or unauthorized access throughout its lifecycle.

Take the next step

Widespread hybrid cloud adoption and permanent remote workforce support have made it impossible to manage the enterprise attack surface. IBM Security Randori Recon uses a continuous, accurate discovery process to uncover shadow IT. Randori keeps you on target with fewer false positives, and improves your overall resiliency through streamlined workflows and integrations with your existing security ecosystem.

Explore Randori Recon Book a live demo