多因素身份验证
了解多因素身份验证如何增强安全性,满足合规要求,并支持零信任安全策略。
显示移动通信、数据和媒体的女性等距插图
什么是多因素身份验证?

多因素身份验证 (MFA) 是一种身份验证方法,要求用户除了密码以外至少再提供一个身份验证因素,或者至少提供两个非密码的身份验证因素,才能访问网站、应用或网络。

由于黑客需要破解多个身份验证因素而不仅仅是密码,而其他类型的因素比起密码更难盗取或伪造,因此与单因素(用户名和密码)身份验证相比,MFA 能够更有效地保护组织免受未经授权的访问。

MFA 已成为许多组织的身份和访问管理战略的基本组成部分。 在许多行业和政府机构中,这通常是强制要求或推荐的身份验证方法。 大多数员工或互联网用户都遇到过 MFA 的一种子类型,称为双因素身份验证 (2FA),要求用户提供密码和第二种因素 ( 通常是发送到手机或电子邮件的验证码 ) ,才能登录到系统或网站。 其实任何使用银行卡和个人身份识别号码 (PIN) 访问 ATM 的人都是在使用某种形式的 MFA。

身份验证因素的种类

MFA 在两个层面上挫败黑客的企图。 在最基本的层面上,破解两个或更多的因素比仅仅破解一个因素更困难。 但任何 MFA 方案的最终强度取决于它要求用户提供的身份验证因素的类型。

知晓因素:用户知道的事情

知晓因素是理论上只有用户自己知道的信息,例如密码、PIN 以及安全问题的答案等。 知晓因素既是使用最广泛,也是最脆弱的身份验证因素类型。 黑客可通过网络钓鱼攻击,通过在用户设备上安装击键记录器或间谍软件,或通过运行脚本或机器人来生成和测试可能的密码直至成功,来获取密码和其他知晓因素。

其他知晓因素并没有给黑客带来太大难度。 如果黑客了解用户,或者在社交媒体上做些研究,就能破解某些安全问题的答案。 其他因素也可能相对容易猜到。 难怪,根据 IBM 的《2022 年数据泄露成本调研》,在 2022 年,被破解或盗取的凭证成为最常被利用的初始攻击媒介。

一个常见的误解是,构成 MFA 需要两个知晓因素,例如密码和安全问题的答案。 提供第二个知晓因素可以在一定程度上增强安全性,但真正的 MFA 需要使用两个或更多个类型的因素。

拥有因素:用户拥有的东西

拥有因素是用户拥有的实体物体,例如被授权开实体锁的钥匙或 ID 卡、安装了身份验证应用程序的移动设备,或包含身份验证信息的智能卡。

许多 MFA 实现使用称为“手机即令牌”的方法,由用户的手机接收或生成需要成为拥有因素的信息。 如上所述,MFA 通常以短信、电子邮件或电话呼叫等方式,向个人的手机发送一次性密码 (OTP)。 但 OTP 也可通过特殊的移动应用(称为身份验证应用程序)生成。 一些身份验证系统发送推送通知,用户只需简单的点击即可确认自己的身份。

其他 MFA 解决方案使用物理令牌或专用的硬件安全密钥。 一些物理令牌插入计算机的 USB 端口,将身份验证信息传输到登录页面。 另一些则生成 OTP 以供用户输入。

与知晓因素相比,拥有因素具有几个优势。 恶意行为者需要在登录时具有用户拥有的因素才能假冒用户。 由于接收短信(短信)和运行应用 (IP) 分属两个不同的网络,因此黑客必须截获两个不同的通信通道才能窃取凭证。 即使黑客可以获得 OTP,也必须在 OTP 到期之前获取和使用它,而且不能再次使用。   

但这也存在风险。 因为物理令牌是物体(通常是小物体),所以可能会被盗、丢失或放错地方。  虽然窃取 OTP 比传统密码更困难,但它们仍容易受到狡猾的网络钓鱼或中间人攻击,或者 SIM 克隆的攻击,即恶意行为者创建受害者手机 SIM 卡的功能复制品。

固有因素:作为个人的用户所独有的东西

固有因素,也称为生物特征识别因素,是用户所独有的物理特征或特点。  一个人的指纹、声音、面部特征或虹膜和视网膜图案都是固有因素的例子。 如今,许多移动设备都可通过使用指纹或面部识别来解锁;一些计算机可使用指纹将密码输入到网站或应用。

固有因素是最难破解的因素。 它们不会被遗忘、不会丢失或放错地方,而且很难复制。

但这并不意味着它们是万无一失的。 如果固有因素存储在数据库中,则可能会被窃取。 例如,在 2019 年,一个包含 100 万用户的指纹的生物特征识别数据库遭到入侵。 理论上,黑客可以窃取这些指纹,或者将他们自己的指纹与数据库中另一个用户的个人档案关联起来。

当生物特征识别数据被破解后,无法快速或轻松地更改,从而导致受害者难以阻止正在进行的攻击。

行为因素:用户所做的事情

行为因素是基于行为模式验证用户身份的数字工件。 用户登录到应用时通常所处的 IP 地址范围或位置数据就是行为因素的例子。

行为身份验证解决方案使用人工智能,确定用户正常行为模式的基线,然后标记异常活动,例如来自新设备、新电话号码、新 Web 浏览器或新位置的登录。 这也常用于自适应身份验证(也称为基于风险的身份验证)方案,在自适应身份验证方案中,当风险发生变化时,身份验证要求也会随之改变,例如当用户尝试从不受信任的设备登录时、尝试首次访问某个应用时,或者尝试访问特别敏感的数据时。

虽然行为因素提供了一种先进的方法对用户进行身份验证,但这需要部署大量的资源和专业知识。 此外,如果黑客获得了可信设备的访问权限,则他们可将行为因素作为一种身份验证因素加以利用。

无密码 MFA

由于被破解的知晓因素是网络安全违规行为中最常见的初始攻击方向,因此许多组织都在探索无密码身份验证。 无密码身份验证依赖于拥有因素、固有因素以及行为因素来验证身份。 无密码身份验证有助于降低网络钓鱼攻击和凭证填充攻击(黑客使用从一个系统窃取的凭证,获取另一个系统的访问权限)的风险。

尽管无密码身份验证消除了身份验证链中公认的最薄弱的环节,但拥有因素、固有因素和行为因素的弱点仍然存在。 组织可通过实施一种方法,要求用户必须提供多种类型的非知晓型身份验证凭证,以缓解这些弱点的风险。 例如,要求用户提供指纹和物理令牌可构成无密码 MFA。

MFA 与法规合规性

为了应对汹涌而来的网络攻击,政府和政府机构已经开始要求处理敏感数据的系统实施 MFA。 2020 年,美国国税局 (IRS) 强制要求在线报税系统的供应商实施 MFA。 2021 年,约瑟夫·拜登总统关于《改善国家网络安全》的行政令要求所有联邦机构实施 MFA。 一份后续的备忘录要求所有国家安全、国防部和情报机构的系统在 2022 年 8 月 18 日之前实施 MFA。

一些行业法规,包括《支付卡行业数据安全标准》(PCI-DSS) 特别要求处理信用卡和支付卡数据的系统实施 MFA。 许多其他法规,包括萨班斯-奥克斯利法案 (SOX) 和 HIPAA,强烈建议将 MFA 作为确保合规性的关键要素。 多年来,一些州级法规已强制要求实施 MFA。 未遵守纽约州金融服务管理局 (NYDFS) 2017 年网络安全法规第 23 NYCRR 500 号中的 MFA 规定的企业面临最高 300 万美元的罚款 (链接位于 ibm.com 之外)。

MFA 与单点登录

单点登录 (SSO) 是一种身份验证方法,允许用户通过一组登录凭证访问多个相关的应用和服务。 用户登录一次,SSO 解决方案对其身份进行验证并生成会话身份验证令牌。 该令牌作为用户的安全密钥,适用于各种相互连接的应用和数据库。

为了缓解依靠单一一组登录凭证访问多个应用的风险,组织通常要求对 SSO 进行自适应身份验证。 自适应 SSO 将自适应身份验证的功能应用于 SSO 方案。 如果用户在尝试通过 SSO 登录时或在其 SSO 认证的会话期间表现出异常行为,他们会被要求提供额外的身份验证因素。 异常行为的例子可能包括通过无法识别的 VPN 进行连接,或访问用户会话身份验证令牌未涵盖的应用或数据。

零信任网络安全架构(从不信任并且始终验证用户的身份)通常使用自适应 SSO 和 MFA 组合进行身份验证。 通过在整个会话过程中持续验证用户身份,并根据风险要求提供额外的身份验证因素,自适应 SSO 和 MFA 可在不妨碍用户体验的情况下加强访问权限管理。

相关解决方案
身份和访问管理 (IAM)

利用 IBM Security® Verify IAM 解决方案,将每个用户与正确的访问级别关联在一起。

探索 IAM 解决方案
SSO

对云和本地应用集中进行访问控制。

探索 SSO
高级认证

使用无密码或多因素身份验证选项超越基本认证

探索高级身份验证解决方案
自适应访问

利用 IBM Security Verify,借助 AI 辅助的基于风险的身份验证,保护用户和资产。

探索自适应访问解决方案
Cloud IAM 解决方案

为云 IAM 注入深度上下文,进行基于风险的身份验证,确保少摩擦而且安全的访问。

探索云 IAM 解决方案
IBM Security Verify Trust

利用 IBM Security Verify Trust 软件,将风险置信度注入 IAM 系统,实现智能的身份验证。

探索 IBM Security Verify Trust
零信任解决方案

发现围绕每个用户、每个设备和每个连接的安全解决方案。

探索零信任解决方案
移动设备管理 (MDM) 解决方案

终端和用户的可视性、管理和安全性  

探索移动设备管理解决方案
资源 IBM 安全框架和发现研讨会

在一场时长 3 小时、虚拟或面对面的设计思维免费对话中,与 IBM 的资深安全架构师和顾问一起了解贵组织的网络安全形势,确定各种计划的优先顺序。

IAM

了解为什么 IAM 是安全计划的关键组成部分 — 通过控制企业网络访问权限,帮助保护数据。

移动设备管理 (MDM)

了解 MDM 如何在确保企业数据安全的情况下支持使用移动生产力工具和应用。

内部威胁

了解为什么内部威胁非常危险、内部威胁的类型、指示信号、如何缓解它们以及 IBM 的解决方案。

数据安全

了解为什么数据安全比以往任何时候都更重要。 了解数据安全性的类型、战略、趋势和 IBM 的数据安全解决方案。

X-Force 威胁情报指数

借助威胁态势的全局视图,了解您面临的网络攻击风险。

Multi-factor authentication

Learn how multi-factor authentication strengthens security, meets regulatory compliance requirements, and supports a zero-trust security strategy

Isometric illustration of woman displaying mobile communication, data, and media

What is multi-factor authentication?

Multi-factor authentication (MFA) is an identity verification method that requires users to provide at least one authentication factor in addition to a password, or at least two authentication factors instead of a password, to gain access to a web site, application or network.

Because it takes more work to hack multiple authentication factors than to hack a password alone, and because other types of factors are more difficult than steal or falsify than passwords, MFA better protects an organization from unauthorized access than single-factor (username and password) authentication.

MFA has become a foundational component of many organizations’ identity and access management strategies. It is frequently a mandated or recommended authentication method in many industries and government agencies. Most employees or internet users have encountered a subtype of MFA, called two-factor authentication (2FA), which requires users to supply a password and a second factor,  – typically a passcode sent to a mobile phone or email – to log in to a system or web site. But anyone who has accessed an ATM using a bank card and a personal identification number (PIN) has used a form of MFA.


Types of authentication factors

MFA confounds hackers on two levels. On the most basic level, it's more difficult to hack two or more factors than to hack just one. But ultimately the strength of any MFA scheme depends on the types of authentication factors it requires a user to provide.

Knowledge factors: Something the user knows

Knowledge factors are pieces of information that, theoretically, only the user would know, such as passwords, PINs, and answers to security questions. Knowledge factors are both the most widely used and the most vulnerable type of authentication factor. Hackers can obtain passwords and other knowledge factors through phishing attacks, by installing keystroke recorders or spyware on users' devices, or by running scripts or bots that generate and test potential passwords until one works.

Other knowledge factors don't present much more of a challenge. Answers to some security questions can be cracked by a hacker who knows the user or does some research on social media. Others can be relatively easy to guess. Small wonder, then, that compromised credentials where the most commonly exploited initial attack vector in 2021, according to the IBM Cost of a Data Breach 2021 study.

A common misconception is that requiring two knowledge factors, such as a password and the answer to a security question, constitutes MFA. Requiring a second knowledge factor provides some additional security, but true MFA requires the use of two or more types of factors.

Possession factors: Something the user has

Possession factors are physical objects users have with them, such as a fob or ID card granting access to a physical lock, a mobile device with an installed authenticator app, or a smart card containing authentication information.

Many MFA implementations use a method called "phone-as-a-token," in which the user's mobile phone receives or generates the information it needs to become a possession factor. As noted above, MFA commonly sends a one-time password (OTPs) to a person's phone through text message, email message or phone call. But OTPs can also be generated by special mobile apps called authenticator apps. And some authentication systems send push notifications that users can simply tap to confirm their identity.

Other MFA solutions systems use physical tokens, or dedicated hardware security keys. Some physical tokens plug into a computer’s USB port and transmit authentication information to the log-in page. Others generate OTPs for the user to enter.

Possession factors offer several advantages over knowledge factors. Malicious actors need to have the factor in their possession at the time of log in to impersonate a user. Because they operate over a different network (SMS) than the application (IP), a hacker would need to intercept two different communication channels to steal the credentials. Even if a hacker could obtain an OTP, they would need to obtain and use it before it expired and could not use it again.   

But there are risks. Because they are objects (and usually small ones), physical tokens can be stolen, lost or misplaced.  While OTPs are harder to steal than traditional passwords, they are still susceptible to sophisticated phishing or man-in-the-middle attacks – or to SIM cloning, in which malicious actors create a functional duplicate of the victim’s smartphone’s SIM card.

Inherent factors: Something unique to the user as a person

Inherent factors, also called biometrics, are physical characteristics or traits unique to the user.  A person's fingerprints, voice, facial features or iris and retinal patterns are examples of inherent factors. Today many mobile devices can be unlocked using fingerprints or facial recognition; some computers can use fingerprints to enter passwords into web sites or applications.

Inherent factors are the most difficult factors to crack. They can’t be forgotten, lost or misplaced, and they are extraordinarily difficult to replicate.

But that doesn’t mean they’re foolproof. If inherent factors are stored in a database, they can be stolen. For example, in 2019 a biometric database containing 1 million users’ fingerprints was breached. Theoretically, hackers could steal these fingerprints, or link their own fingerprints to another user’s profile in the database.

When biometric data is compromised, it can't be changed quickly or easily, and this can make it difficult for victims to stop attacks in progress.

Behavioral factors: Something the user does

Behavioral factors are digital artifacts that verify a user’s identity based on behavior patterns. An IP address range, or location data from which a user typically logs in to an application, are examples of behavioral factors.

Behavioral authentication solutions use artificial intelligence to determine a baseline for users’ normal behavioral patterns and then flag anomalous activity, such as logging in from a new device, phone number, web browser or location. They are also commonly used in adaptive authentication (also called risk-based authentication) schemes, in which authentication requirements change when risk changes – such as when a user attempts to log in from an untrusted device, attempts to access an application for the first time, or attempts to access particularly sensitive data.

While behavioral factors offer a sophisticated way to authenticate users, they require significant resources and expertise to deploy. Moreover, if a hacker gains access to a trusted device, they can use it as an authentication factor.


Passwordless MFA

Because compromised knowledge factors are the most common initial vector in cybersecurity breaches, many organizations are exploring passwordless authentication. Passwordless authentication relies on possession, and inherent and behavioral factors to verify identities. Passwordless authentication reduces the risk of phishing attacks and credential stuffing, in which hackers use credentials stolen from one system to gain access to another.

While passwordless authentication removes what is widely considered the weakest link in the identity verification chain, it is still susceptible to the vulnerabilities of possession, and inherent and behavioral factors. Organizations can mitigate these vulnerabilities by implementing an approach in which users must provide multiple types of non-knowledge factor authentication credentials. For example, asking a user for a fingerprint and a physical token would constitute passwordless MFA.


MFA and regulatory compliance

In response to the rising tide of cyberattacks, governments and government agencies have begun requiring MFA for systems that handle sensitive data. In 2020, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) mandated MFA for providers of online tax preparation systems. President Joseph Biden’s 2021 Executive Order on Improving the Nation’s Cybersecurity made MFA a requirement for all federal agencies. A follow-up memorandum requires all national security, Department of Defense and intelligence community systems to implement MFA by August 18, 2022.

A handful of industry regulations, including the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI-DSS), specifically require MFA for systems that handle credit card and payment card data. Many other regulations, including Sarbanes-Oxley (SOX) and HIPAA, strongly recommend MFA as critical to assuring compliance. Some state-wide regulations have mandated MFA for years. Companies that have failed to comply with the MFA provisions of the New York Department of Financial Services (NYDFS) 2017 cybersecurity regulation 23 NYCRR 500 have faced fines of up to USD 3 million (link resides outside of ibm.com).


MFA and single sign-on

Single sign-on (SSO) is an authentication method allowing users to access multiple related applications and services through one set of login credentials. The user logs in once, and an SSO solution authenticates their identity and generates a session authentication token. This token acts as the user's security key for various interconnected applications and databases.

To alleviate the risk of relying on a single set of login credentials for multiple applications, organizations typically require adaptive authentication for SSO. Adaptive SSO applies the functionality of adaptive authentication to SSO schemes. If a user displays abnormal behavior while attempting to login through SSO, or during their SSO-authenticated session, they will be asked to supply additional authentication factors. Examples of abnormal behavior might include connecting through an unrecognized VPN or accessing an application or data not covered by the user's session authentication token.

Zero trust cybersecurity architectures, in which a user’s identity is never trusted and always verified, often use a combination of adaptive SSO and MFA for authentication purposes. By continuously verifying the user's identity throughout the session and asking for additional authentication factors based on risk, adaptive SSO and MFA strengthen access management without impeding user experience.


Related solutions

Identity and access management (IAM)

Connect every user to the right level of access with IBM Security® Verify IAM solution.


SSO

Centralize access control for cloud and on-premises applications.


Advanced authentication

Go beyond basic authentication with options for passwordless or multifactor authentication.


Adaptive access

Protect users and assets with AI-assisted, risk-based authentication with IBM Security Verify.


Cloud IAM solutions

Infuse cloud IAM with deep context for risk-based authentication for low-friction, secure access.


IBM Security Verify Trust

Infuse risk confidence into IAM systems to deliver smarter authentication with IBM Security Verify Trust software.


Zero trust solutions

Discover security solutions wrapped around every user, every device and every connection.


Mobile device management (MDM) solutions

Get visibility, management and security for endpoints and users