什么是黑客行为?
订阅 IBM 时事通讯 探索 IBM Security QRadar
人们在电脑前工作的俯瞰图

黑客行为(也称为网络黑客行为)是指使用非常规或非法手段未经授权访问数字设备、计算机系统或计算机网络。

黑客的典型例子是网络罪犯,他们利用安全漏洞或攻破安全措施闯入计算机或计算机网络来窃取数据。但黑客行为并不总是带有恶意。从技术上讲,操纵个人智能手机运行自定义程序的用户也是黑客。

恶意黑客已经建立了一个巨大的网络犯罪经济,非法者通过发起网络攻击或出售恶意软件或窃取的数据来获利。据一项估计(ibm.com 外部链接),这个地下市场是仅次于美国和中国的世界第三大经济体。

黑客行为的另一方面,网络安全社区越来越依赖道德黑客(具有助人而非犯罪意图的黑客)来测试安全措施、识别和解决安全缺陷以及预防网络威胁。道德黑客通过帮助公司加固安全系统,或与执法部门合作打击恶意黑客,以此谋生。

恶意黑客

恶意黑客(有时称为“黑帽黑客”)自己进行网络攻击,或开发恶意软件或漏洞,然后在暗网上出售给其他黑客(例如,请参阅勒索软件即服务)。他们可能单独行动,也可能是有组织的黑客或网络犯罪团伙的成员。

经济利益是恶意黑客最常见的动机。他们通常会

  • 窃取信息或个人数据(登录凭证、信用卡号、银行账号、社会保障编号),用来闯入其他系统或进行身份盗窃。

  • 发起社交工程攻击,例如网络钓鱼或商业电子邮件泄露诈骗,诱骗人们向他们汇款或发送敏感数据。

  • 实行勒索,例如,使用勒索软件攻击或分布式拒绝服务 (DDoS) 攻击来劫持数据、设备或业务运营,直到受害者支付赎金。根据 X-Force Threat Intelligence 指数,27% 的网络攻击会勒索受害者。

  • 受雇进行企业间谍活动,从客户公司的竞争对手那里窃取知识产权或其他敏感信息

但是,恶意黑客实施或促成网络攻击也可能会各有其不同或额外动机。例如,心怀不满的员工可能纯粹因为被拒绝晋升而入侵雇主的系统。

道德黑客

道德黑客(有时称为“白帽黑客”)利用他们的技能帮助公司发现并修复安全漏洞,使恶意行为者无法利用它们。

道德黑客是一种合法的职业,道德黑客通常以安全顾问或被黑公司员工的身份工作。道德黑客遵循严格的行为准则:他们在进行黑客攻击之前总是获得许可,不造成任何损害,并对他们的发现保密。

最常见的道德黑客服务之一是渗透测试,在这种测试中,黑客会对网络应用程序、网络或其他资产发起模拟网络攻击,找出它们的弱点然后,他们与资产所有者合作来修复这些弱点。道德黑客还可以进行漏洞评估,分析恶意软件以收集威胁情报,或参与安全软件开发生命周期。

其他类型的黑客

有些黑客并不完全属于道德阵营或恶意阵营。这些黑客(有时称为“灰帽黑客”)未经许可闯入系统,但他们的行为并非出于恶意目的。相反,这些黑客会向所入侵的公司告知,他们在系统中发现的缺陷。他们可能会主动提出修复漏洞,以便收取费用甚至获得工作机会。虽然他们的初衷是好的,但这些义务黑客可能会不小心向恶意黑客提供新的攻击媒介。

一些业余程序员只是为了好玩、学习新知识,或因攻破高难度目标而声名鹊起。

“黑客行动主义者”是指通过黑客攻击系统来引起人们对社会和政治问题关注的活动家。松散的 Anonymous 组织可能是最著名的黑客行动组织,曾对俄罗斯政府(ibm.com 外部链接)等目标发动过攻击。

国家支持的黑客有民族国家的官方支持。他们与政府合作,监视对手,破坏关键基础设施或传播错误信息。这些黑客是道德的还是恶意的,仁者见仁智者见智。例如,对伊朗核设施的 Stuxnet 攻击(据信是由美国和以色列政府实施的),很可能被所有将伊朗核计划视为威胁的人视为是道德的。

黑客工具

没有所谓的“典型”黑客。黑客会根据他们的目标和所针对的系统使用不同的策略。黑客攻击可以很简单,例如发送大量网络钓鱼电子邮件以窃取任何被攻击者的密码,也可以像高级持续性威胁 (APT) 一样复杂,秘密潜伏在网络中数月,等待发动攻击的机会。

尽管如此,黑客们确实有一套他们广泛使用的标准工具。

专用操作系统:虽然黑客可以从标准 Mac 或 Microsoft 操作系统发起攻击,但许多人使用定制操作系统。例如,Kali Linux,一种专为渗透测试而设计的开源 Linux 发行版,在道德黑客中很受欢迎。

凭证破解工具:这些程序可以通过破解加密或发起蛮力攻击来发现密码,这些攻击使用机器人或脚本自动生成和测试潜在的密码,直到密码成功为止。

端口扫描程序:端口扫描程序远程测试设备中是否有开放和可用的端口,黑客可以利用这些端口来访问网络。

漏洞扫描程序:漏洞扫描程序在系统中搜索已知漏洞,使黑客能够快速找到目标的入口。

数据包分析器:这些工具分析网络流量以确定其来自何处、去往何处以及在某些情况下确定其包含哪些数据。

恶意软件:恶意软件或恶意程序是恶意黑客武器库中的关键武器。一些最常用的恶意软件类型包括:

  • 勒索软件锁定受害者的设备或数据,并要求支付赎金才能解锁它们。

  • 僵尸网络是指由黑客控制的连接互联网、感染恶意软件的设备组成的网络。黑客经常使用僵尸网络发起分布式拒绝服务 (DDoS) 攻击

  • 特洛伊木马伪装成有用的程序或隐藏在合法软件中,诱骗用户安装。黑客使用木马在用户不知情的情况下秘密远程访问设备或下载其他恶意软件。

  • 间谍软件秘密收集敏感信息(例如密码或银行账户详细信息)并将其传输回攻击者。

著名的黑客和黑客事件
414

20 世纪 80 年代初,一群被称为“414”的年轻黑客入侵了洛斯阿拉莫斯国家实验室和斯隆-凯特琳癌症中心等知名目标。虽然 414 这样做是为了好玩,并没有造成什么实际损害,但他们的黑客行为促使美国国会通过了《计算机欺诈和滥用法》,该法案正式将恶意黑客行为定为犯罪。

莫里斯蠕虫

莫里斯蠕虫是最早的计算机蠕虫之一,1988 年作为一项实验被设计并发布到早期的互联网上。然而,它最终造成了比预期更大的损害。该蠕虫病毒导致数千台计算机脱机,停机和修复的相关费用估计高达 10,000,000 美元。该蠕虫病毒的程序员 Robert Tappan Morris 是第一个根据《计算机欺诈和滥用法》被判重罪的人。

Colonial Pipeline

2021 年,黑客使用勒索软件感染了 Colonial Pipeline 的系统,迫使该公司暂时关闭供应美国东海岸 45% 燃料的管道。黑客使用在暗网上找到的员工密码来访问网络。Colonial Pipeline Company 支付了 500 万美元的赎金以重新获取其对数据的访问权限。

防御黑客

任何依赖计算机系统实现关键功能的组织(包括大多数企业)都面临被黑客攻击的风险。要想不被黑客盯上是不可能的,但公司可以增加黑客入侵的难度。

强密码和多重身份验证

根据 IBM 的数据泄露成本报告,凭证失窃和泄露是数据泄露最常见的攻击媒介。需要强密码可以使黑客更难窃取凭证,而多重身份验证 (MFA) 可以让黑客无法通过盗取的密码进入系统。一些组织强制要求使用密码管理器,帮助员工为不同的账户创建不同的密码,避免重复使用密码。

网络安全意识培训

社会工程攻击,有时被称为“人类黑客攻击”,使用的是心理操纵而非技术手段。培训员工识别和应对社会工程攻击可以帮助降低这些诈骗的效果。

补丁管理

黑客经常寻找容易的目标,选择破坏具有已知漏洞的网络。正式的补丁管理计划可以帮助公司随时更新软件供应商提供的安全补丁,使黑客更难入侵。

网络安全软件

防火墙和入侵防御系统 (IPS) 可以帮助检测和阻止黑客进入网络。安全信息和事件管理 (SIEM) 软件可以帮助发现正在进行的黑客攻击。防病毒程序可以查找并删除恶意软件,端点检测和响应 (EDR) 平台可以自动响应 APT 等复杂的黑客攻击。远程员工可以使用虚拟专用网络 (VPN) 来防止通信被窃听。

道德黑客攻击

上面已经提到,但依然值得强调的是:道德黑客是抵御恶意黑客的最佳防御措施之一。道德黑客可以使用漏洞评估、渗透测试、红队和其他服务,在黑客和网络威胁利用它们之前找到并修复漏洞和安全问题。

相关解决方案
IBM Security® QRadar® Suite

利用互联的现代化安全套件战胜攻击。QRadar 产品组合嵌入了企业级 AI,并提供用于端点安全、日志管理、SIEM 和 SOAR 的集成产品,所有这些产品都具有通用用户界面、共享见解和互联工作流程。

探索 QRadar Suite
X-Force® 事件响应团队

主动威胁搜寻、持续监控和深入调查威胁只是本已忙碌的 IT 部门面临的几个优先事项。拥有一支值得信赖的事件响应团队随时待命可以减少您的响应时间,最大限度地减少网络攻击的影响,并帮助您更快地恢复。

探索 X-Force 事件响应
勒索软件防御解决方案

阻止勒索软件中断业务连续性,并在发生攻击时快速恢复 - 采用零信任方法,帮助您更快地检测和响应勒索软件,并最大限度减少勒索软件攻击造成的影响。

探索勒索软件防范解决方案
资源 零日漏洞利用终极指南

了解有关零日漏洞利用的重点信息及其在安全中发挥的关键作用。由 IBM 公司的 Randori 编写。

什么是网络攻击?

网络攻击是指试图通过未经授权访问计算机系统来窃取、暴露、更改、禁用或破坏他人的资产。

什么是漏洞管理?

漏洞管理是指持续发现和解决组织 IT 基础架构和软件中的安全缺陷。

采取下一步行动

网络安全威胁变得更加先进和持久,要求安全分析人员付出更多努力来筛选无数的警报和事件。IBM Security QRadar® SIEM 让您可以更轻松、更快速地采取威胁修复措施,同时保持企业盈利。QRadar SIEM 优先处理高精度的警报,帮助您捕获旁人难以察觉的威胁。

了解有关 QRadar SIEM 的更多信息 申请 QRadar SIEM 演示

What is hacking?
Explore IBM's offensive security services Subscribe to security topic updates
Illustration with collage of pictograms of clouds, mobile phone, fingerprint, check mark
What is hacking?

Hacking (also called cyber hacking) is the use of unconventional or illicit means to gain unauthorized access to a digital device, computer system or computer network.

The classic example of a hacker is a cybercriminal who exploits security vulnerabilities or overcomes security measures to break into a computer or computer network to steal data. But hacking does not always have malicious intent. A consumer who jiggers their personal smartphone to run custom programs is also, technically speaking, a hacker.

Malicious hackers have built a enormous cybercrime economy, where outlaws profit by launching cyberattacks or selling malware or stolen data to one another. By one estimate (link resides outside ibm.com), this underground market is the world's third-largest economy behind the US and China.  

On the other end of the hacking spectrum, the cybersecurity community depends increasingly on ethical hackers—hackers with helpful rather than criminal intentions—to test security measures, identify and address security flaws, and prevent cyberthreats. Ethical hackers make an excellent living by helping companies shore up their security systems, or by working with law enforcement to take their malicious counterparts down.

IBM Security X-Force Threat Intelligence Index 2023

The X-Force Threat Intelligence Index offers new insights into top threats to help you prepare and respond faster to cyberattacks, extortion and more.

Related content

Register for the Cost of a Data Breach report

Malicious hackers

Malicious hackers (sometimes called “black hat hackers”) carry out cyberattacks themselves, or develop malware or exploits that they sell to other hackers on the dark web (see, for example, ransomware-as-a-service arrangements). They may work alone or as part of an organized hacker or cybercriminal group.

Financial gain is the most common motivator for malicious hackers. Typically they

  • Steal information or personal data—login credentials, credit card numbers, bank account numbers, social security numbers—they can use to break into other systems or commit identity theft.
     

  • Launch social engineering attacks, such as phishing or business email compromise scams, to trick people into sending money or sensitive data to them.
     

  • Practice extortion—e.g., use ransomware attacks or distributed denial of service (DDoS) attacks to hold data, devices or business operations hostage until the victim pays a ransom. According to the X-Force Threat Intelligence Index, 27 percent of cyberattacks extort their victims.
     

  • Conduct corporate espionage for hire, stealing intellectual property or other sensitive from their client company’s competitiors.

But malicious hackers can have different or additional motivations for committing or enabling cyberattacks. For example, a disgruntled employee might hack an employer’s system purely for spite over being denied a promotion.

Ethical hackers

Ethical hackers (sometimes called "white hat hackers") use their skills to help companies find and fix security vulnerabilities so malicious actors can't use them.

Ethical hacking is a legitimate profession, and ethical hackers often work as security consultants or employees of the companies they're hacking. Ethical hackers follow a strict code of conduct: they always get permission before they hack, don't do any damage, and keep their findings confidential.

One of the most common ethical hacking services is penetration testing, in which hackers launch mock cyberattacks against web applications, networks, or other assets to find their weaknesses. They then work with the owners of the assets to remediate those weaknesses. Ethical hackers may also conduct vulnerability assessments, analyze malware to gather threat intelligence, or participate in secure software development lifecycles.

Other types of hackers

Some hackers don't fit neatly into the ethical or malicious camps. These hackers (sometimes called “gray hat hackers”) break into systems without permission, but they don't do it for malicious purposes. Instead, these hackers tell the companies they hack about the flaws they find in their systems. They may offer to fix vulnerabilities in exchange for a fee or even a job offer. While they have good intentions, these vigilante hackers can accidentally tip off malicious hackers about new attack vectors. 

Some amateur programmers simply hack for fun, to learn new things, or to gain notoriety for breaching difficult targets. 

‘Hacktivists’ are activists who hack systems to bring attention to social and political issues. The loose collective Anonymous is probably the most well-known hacktivist group, having staged attacks against targets like the Russian government (link resides outside ibm.com).

State-sponsored hackers have the official backing of a nation-state. They work with a government to spy on adversaries, disrupt critical infrastructure, or spread misinformation. Whether these hackers are ethical or malicious is in the eye of the beholder. For example, the Stuxnet attack on Iranian nuclear facilities—believed to have been carried out by the US and Israeli governments—is likely to be considered ethical by anyone who views Iran's nuclear program as a threat.

Hacking tools

There's no such thing as a “typical” hack. Hackers use different tactics depending on their goals and the systems they're targeting. A hack can be as simple as sending out mass phishing emails to steal passwords from anyone who bites or as elaborate as an advanced persistent threat (APT) that secretly lurks in a network for months, waiting for the chance to strike.

That said, hackers do share a standard set of tools they tend to use.

Specialized operating systems: While hackers can launch attacks from standard Mac or Microsoft operating systems, many use customized OSs. For example, Kali Linux, an open-source Linux distribution designed for penetration testing, is popular among ethical hackers.

Credential-cracking tools: These programs can uncover passwords by breaking encryptions or launching brute-force attacks, which use bots or scripts to automatically generate and test potential passwords until one works. 

Port scanners: Port scanners remotely test devices for open and available ports, which hackers can use to gain access to a network. 

Vulnerability scanners: Vulnerability scanners search systems for known vulnerabilities, allowing hackers to quickly find entryways into a target. 

Packet analyzers: These tools analyze network traffic to determine where it's coming from, where it's going, and—in some cases—what data it contains. 

Malware: Malicious software, or malware, is a key weapon in malicious hackers' arsenals. Some of the most commonly used malware types include:

  • Ransomware locks up a victim's devices or data and demands a ransom payment to unlock them.
     

  • Botnets are networks of internet-connected, malware-infected devices under a hacker's control. Hackers often use botnets to launch distributed denial of service (DDoS) attacks.
     

  • Trojan horses disguise themselves as useful programs or hide within legitimate software to trick users into installing them. Hackers use Trojans to secretly gain remote access to devices or download additional malware without users knowing.
     

  • Spyware secretly gathers sensitive information—like passwords or bank account details—and transmits it back to the attacker.

Notable hacks and hackers
The 414s

In the early 1980s, a group of young hackers known as the 414s breached high-profile targets like Los Alamos National Laboratory and Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. While the 414s did it for fun and caused little real damage, their hacks motivated the US Congress to pass the Computer Fraud and Abuse Act, which officially made malicious hacking a crime. 

The Morris Worm

One of the first computer worms, the Morris worm was designed and released onto the early internet in 1988 as an experiment. However, it ended up causing more damage than intended. The worm forced thousands of computers offline and racked up an estimated USD 10,000,000 in costs related to downtime and remediation. Robert Tappan Morris, the worm's programmer, was the first person to receive a felony conviction under the Computer Fraud and Abuse Act. 

Colonial Pipeline

In 2021, hackers infected Colonial Pipeline's systems with ransomware, forcing the company to temporarily shut down the pipeline supplying 45 percent of the US East Coast's fuel. Hackers used an employee's password, found on the dark web, to access the network. The Colonial Pipeline Company paid a USD 5 million ransom to regain access to its data.  

Defending against hackers

Any organization that relies on computer systems for critical functions—which includes most businesses—is at risk of being hacked. There is no way to stay off hackers' radars, but companies can make it harder for hackers to break in.

Strong passwords and multi-factor authentication

According to IBM's Cost of a Data Breach report, stolen and compromised credentials are the most common attack vector for data breaches. Requiring strong passwords can make it harder for hackers to steal credentials, and multi-factor authentication (MFA) makes it so that a pilfered password isn't enough to get in. Some organizations mandate password managers to help employees create different passwords for different accounts and avoid reusing passwords.

Cybersecurity awareness training

Social engineering attacks, sometimes called "human hacking," use psychological manipulation rather than technological means. Training employees to recognize and respond to social engineering attacks can help make these scams less effective.

Patch management

Hackers often look for easy targets, choosing to breach networks with well-known vulnerabilities. A formal patch management program can help companies stay updated on security patches from software providers, making it harder for hackers to get in.

Cybersecurity software

Firewalls and intrusion prevention systems (IPSs) can help detect and block hackers from entering a network. Security information and event management (SIEM) software can help spot hacks in progress. Antivirus programs can find and delete malware, and endpoint detection and response (EDR) platforms can automate responses to even complex hacks like APTs. Remote employees can use virtual private networks (VPNs) to shield traffic from eavesdroppers. 

Ethical hacking

It's mentioned above but bears repeating: Ethical hackers are one of the best defenses against malicious hackers. Ethical hackers can use vulnerability assessments, penetration tests, red teaming and other services to find and fix vulnerabilities and security issues before hackers and cyberthreats can exploit them.

Related solutions
IBM Security® QRadar® Suite

Outsmart attacks with a connected, modernized security suite. The QRadar portfolio is embedded with enterprise-grade AI and offers integrated products for endpoint security, log management, SIEM and SOAR—all with a common user interface, shared insights and connected workflows.

Explore QRadar Suite
X-Force incident response team

Proactive threat hunting, continuous monitoring and a deep investigation of threats are just a few of the priorities facing an already busy IT department. Having a trusted incident response team on standby can reduce your response time, minimize the impact of a cyberattack, and help you recover faster.

Explore X-Force incident response
Ransomware protection solutions

Stop ransomware from interrupting business continuity, and recover quickly when attacks occur—with a zero trust approach that helps you detect and respond to ransomware faster and minimize the impact of ransomware attacks.

Explore ransomware protection solutions
Resources What is a cyberattack?

Cyberattacks are attempts to steal, expose, alter, disable, or destroy another's assets through unauthorized access to computer systems.

What is vulnerability management?

Vulnerability management is the continuous discovery and resolution of security flaws in an organization’s IT infrastructure and software.

Take the next step

Cybersecurity threats are becoming more advanced, more persistent and are demanding more effort by security analysts to sift through countless alerts and incidents. IBM Security QRadar SIEM helps you remediate threats faster while maintaining your bottom line. QRadar SIEM prioritizes high-fidelity alerts to help you catch threats that others miss.

Explore QRadar SIEM Book a live demo