主页 topics 什么是 2FA:双因子认证? 什么是 2FA:双因素身份验证?
深入了解 IBM Security Verify
双因素身份验证过程的等距图示

发布日期: 2023 年 12 月 20 日
撰稿人:Matthew Kosinski、Amber Forrest

什么是 2FA(双因素身份验证)?

2FA(双因素身份验证)是一种身份验证方法,用户必须提供两个证据,如密码和一次性通行码,才能证明自己的身份并访问在线帐户或其他敏感资源。

大多数互联网用户可能都熟悉基于短信的 2FA 系统。在这类系统中,应用程序会在用户登录时向其手机发送一个数字码。用户必须输入密码和该数字码才能继续。仅输入其中之一是不够的。

2FA 是多因素身份验证 (MFA) 的最常见形式,指用户必须提供至少两个证据的任何身份验证方法。

2FA 有助于加强帐户安全,因此已被广泛采用。用户密码很容易被破解或伪造。2FA 通过要求提供第二个因素,增加了安全性。黑客不仅需要窃取两个凭证才能入侵系统,而且第二个因素通常是难以入侵的,如指纹或有时间限制的密码。

2023 年荣获 Gartner® Magic Quadrant™ for Access Management 领导者称号

在最新的 Gartner® Magic Quadrant™ for Access Management 报告中,IBM 荣获“领导者”称号。

相关内容

订阅 IBM 时事通讯

2FA 的工作原理

当用户尝试访问受 2FA 安全系统保护的资源(例如公司网络)时,系统会提示用户输入第一个身份验证因素。通常,第一个因素是用户名/密码组合。

如果第一个因素有效,系统会要求输入第二个因素。第二个因素有各种形式,从临时代码到生物识别等等。只有在两个因素都核对无误的情况下,用户才能访问资源。

虽然 2FA 通常与计算机系统有关,但它也能保护实物资产和地点。例如,受限制的建筑物可能要求人们出示身份卡并通过指纹扫描才能进入。

身份验证因素的类型

2FA 系统可以使用多种类型的验证因素,真正的 2FA 系统使用两种不同类型的因素。使用两种不同类型的因素被认为比使用两种相同类型的因素更安全,因为黑客需要使用不同的方法来破解每个因素。

例如,黑客可以通过在用户电脑中植入间谍软件来窃取其密码。然而,这种间谍软件无法获取用户手机上的一次性密码。黑客需要找到另一种方法来拦截窃取这些消息。

知识因素:用户知道的内容

在大多数 2FA 实现中,知识因素是第一个身份验证因素。知识因素是理论上只有用户才知道的信息。密码是最常见的知识因素。个人识别码 (PIN) 和安全问题的答案也很常见。

尽管知识因素被广泛使用,但总体而言,尤其是密码,是最容易受到攻击的验证因素类型。黑客可以通过网络钓鱼攻击、在用户设备上安装恶意软件或发动“暴力破解”攻击等手段获取密码和其他知识因素。

其他类型的知识因素并没有带来更多的挑战。许多安全问题(如经典的“您的母亲姓什么?”)的答案都可以通过基础研究或社交工程攻击(诱骗用户泄露个人信息)轻松破解。

值得注意的是,需要密码和安全问题的常见做法并不是真正的 2FA,因为它使用了两个相同类型的因素,这里是两个知识因素。相反,这是一种两步验证过程。

两步验证比单纯的密码更安全,因为它需要两个因素。不过,由于这两个因素属于同一类型,因此与真正的 2FA 因素相比更容易被窃取。

持有因素:用户拥有的东西

持有因素是指一个人拥有的可以用来证明自己身份的东西。两种最常见的持有因素类型是软件令牌和硬件令牌。

软件令牌通常采用一次性密码 (OTP) 的形式。OTP 是 4-8 位数字的一次性密码,会在设定的时间后过期。软件令牌可以通过短信(或电子邮件或语音信息)发送到用户的手机上,也可以由安装在设备上的验证程序生成。

无论属于哪种情况,用户的设备基本上都是持有因素。2FA 系统假定只有合法用户才能访问与该设备共享或由该设备生成的任何信息。

虽然基于短信的 OTP 是最用户友好的持有因素之一,但它们也是最不安全的。用户需要通过互联网或手机连接才能接收这些数字码,黑客可以通过复杂的网络钓鱼或中间人攻击窃取这些数字码。OTP 还容易受到 SIM 卡克隆的影响,在这种情况下,犯罪分子会复制受害者智能手机 SIM 卡的功能,并用它来拦截短信。

身份验证应用程序可以在没有网络连接的情况下生成令牌。用户将应用程序与自己的帐户配对,应用程序会使用一种算法持续生成基于时间的一次性密码 (TOTP)。每个 TOTP 都会在 30-60 秒后过期,因此很难被盗。有些身份验证应用程序使用推送通知而不是 TOTP;当用户尝试登录帐户时,应用程序会向其手机发送推送通知,用户必须点击推送通知以确认尝试是否合法。

最常见的身份验证应用程序包括 Google Authenticator、Authy、Microsoft Authenticator、LastPass Authenticator 和 Duo。虽然这些应用程序比短信更难破解,但它们并非万无一失。黑客可以使用专门的恶意软件直接从身份验证程序1 中窃取 TOTP 或发起 MFA 疲劳攻击,在这种攻击中,黑客会向设备发送大量欺诈性推送通知,希望受害者不小心确认其中一个。

硬件令牌是作为安全密钥的专用设备,如密钥扣、身份证、加密狗。有些硬件令牌插入电脑的 USB 端口,并将验证信息传输到登录页面;有些则生成验证码,供用户在出现提示时手动输入。

虽然硬件令牌极难被黑客破解,但它们也可能被盗,用户装有软件令牌的移动设备也可能被盗。事实上,根据 IBM 的《数据泄露成本报告》,多达 6% 的数据泄露事件都与设备丢失和被盗有关。

属性因素:用户个人具备的特征

属性因素也称为“生物识别”,是用户独有的物理特征或特点,如指纹、面部特征和视网膜图案。如今生产的许多智能手机和笔记本电脑都内置了人脸和指纹识别器,许多应用程序和网站都可以使用这些生物识别数据作为验证因素。

虽然属性因素是最难破解的,但一旦破解,可能会带来灾难性的后果。2019 年,包含 100 万用户指纹的生物识别数据库被泄露。2从理论上讲,黑客可以窃取这些指纹,或将自己的指纹与数据库中的其他用户配置文件联系起来。

此外,人工智能图像生成技术的进步使网络安全专家担心,黑客可能会利用这些工具骗过面部识别软件。

生物识别数据一旦泄露,就无法快速或轻松地更改,因此很难阻止正在进行的攻击。

行为因素:用户执行的操作

行为因素是根据行为模式验证用户身份的数字工具。例如,用户的典型 IP 地址范围、通常所在位置和平均打字速度。

行为身份验证系统利用 AI 确定用户正常模式的基线,并标记异常活动,如从新设备、电话号码或位置登录。有些 2FA 系统允许用户注册可信设备作为身份验证因素,从而利用行为因素。虽然用户在首次登录时可能需要提供两个因素,但今后使用受信任设备将自动成为第二个因素。

行为因素在自适应身份验证系统中也发挥着作用,该系统会根据风险程度改变身份验证要求。例如,用户可能只需要密码就能从公司网络上的可信设备登录应用程序,但他们可能需要添加第二个因素才能从新设备或未知网络登录。

虽然行为因素为终端用户的身份验证提供了一种复杂的方法,但其部署需要大量的资源和专业知识。此外,如果黑客获得了受信任设备的访问权限,他们就可以冒充用户。

无密码 2FA

由于知识因素很容易被泄露,许多组织正在探索只接受持有、属性和行为因素的无密码身份验证系统。例如,要求用户提供指纹和物理令牌就构成了无密码 2FA 配置。

虽然目前大多数 2FA 方法都使用密码,但业内专家预计,未来将越来越多地不使用密码。Google、Apple、IBM 和 Microsoft 等主要技术提供商已经开始推出无密码身份验证选项。3

2FA 有哪些优点?

根据 IBM 的《数据泄露成本报告》网络钓鱼和泄露凭证是最常见的网络攻击媒介之一。它们合计占数据泄露事件的 31%。这两种媒介通常都是通过窃取密码来实现的,黑客可以利用这些密码劫持合法帐户和设备进行破坏。

黑客通常以密码为攻击目标,因为很容易通过暴力或欺骗手段破解密码。此外,由于人们重复使用密码,黑客往往可以利用一个被盗密码入侵多个帐户。密码被盗会给用户和组织带来严重后果,导致身份盗窃、金钱盗窃、系统破坏等。

2FA 增加了一层额外的安全保护,有助于阻止未经授权的访问。即使黑客可以窃取密码,他们仍然需要第二个因素才能进入。此外,这些第二因素通常比知识因素更难窃取;黑客必须伪造生物特征、模仿行为或偷窃物理设备。

企业还可以使用双因素身份验证方法来满足合规要求。例如,支付卡行业数据安全标准 (PCI-DSS) 明确要求处理支付卡数据的系统采用 MFA。4《萨班斯-奥克斯利法案》(SOX) 和《通用数据保护条例》(GDPR) 等其他法规并未明确要求 2FA。但是,2FA 可以帮助组织满足这些法律设定的严格安全标准。

在某些情况下,数据泄露事件发生后,组织不得不采用多因素身份验证。例如,2023 年,美国联邦贸易委员会勒令在线酒类销售商 Drizly 实施 MFA,此前,该公司发生了一起影响 250 万客户的漏洞事件。5

相关解决方案
IBM® Security Verify Access 管理

增加深入的环境、情报和安全性,帮助做出有关哪些用户应有权在本地或云端访问组织的数据和应用程序的决策。

深入了解 IBM Security Verify
云身份和访问管理 (IAM) 解决方案

为云 IAM 注入基于风险的身份验证所需的深度上下文。借助 IBM Security Verify 云 IAM 解决方案,为您的消费者和员工提供低摩擦、安全的访问。

深入了解云 IAM 解决方案
高级身份验证解决方案

不止是基本身份验证,还提供免密或多因素验证选项

深入了解先进的身份验证解决方案
资源 什么是身份和访问管理 (IAM)?

身份和访问管理 (IAM) 是一门网络安全学科,专注于管理计算机网络上的用户身份和访问权限。

什么是多重身份验证 (MFA)?

多因素身份验证 (MFA) 是一种身份验证方法,要求用户提供两个或多个证据来证明自己的身份。

《数据泄露的代价》报告

了解数据泄露原因以及增加或减少成本的因素,以便做好更充分的准备。

脚注

所有链接均位于 ibm.com 以外

1 Android malware can steal Google Authenticator 2FA codesZDNET,2020 年 2 月 26 日

2 '1m fingerprint' data leak raises doubts over biometric securityScienceDirect,2019 年 9 月

3 You no longer need a password to sign in to your Google accountThe Verge,2023 年 5 月 3 日

4 PCI DSS: v4.0安全标准委员员,2022 年 3 月

5 In the Matter of Drizly, LLC联邦贸易委员会,2023 年 1 月 10 日

What is two-factor authentication (2FA)?
Explore IBM's 2FA solution Subscribe to Security Topic Updates
Isometric illustration of two-factor authentication process

Published: 20 December 2023
Contributors: Matthew Kosinski, Amber Forrest

What is two-factor authentication?  

Two-factor authentication (2FA) is an identity verification method in which users must supply two pieces of evidence, such as a password and a one-time passcode, to prove their identity and gain access to an online account or other sensitive resources.

Most Internet users are likely familiar with SMS text-based 2FA systems. In this version, an app sends a numeric code to the user's mobile phone at login. The user must enter both their password and this code to proceed. Only entering one or the other is not enough.

2FA is the most common form of multi-factor authentication (MFA), which refers to any authentication method where users must supply at least two pieces of evidence.

2FA has been widely adopted because it helps strengthen account security. User passwords can be easily cracked or falsified. 2FA adds another level of security by requiring a second factor. Not only do hackers need to steal two credentials to break into a system, but the second factor is often something difficult to hack, like a fingerprint or time-limited passcode.

IBM Security X-Force Threat Intelligence Index

Gain insights to prepare and respond to cyberattacks with greater speed and effectiveness with the IBM Security X-Force Threat Intelligence Index.

Related content

Register for the Cost of a Data Breach report

How 2FA works    

When a user tries to access a resource protected by a 2FA security system—like a corporate network, for example—the system prompts the user to enter their first factor of authentication. Often, this first factor is a username/password combination.

If the first factor is valid, the system asks for a second one. There tends to be more variation in second factors, which can range from temporary codes to biometrics and more. The user can only access the resource if both factors check out.

While 2FA is usually associated with computer systems, it can also guard physical assets and locations. For example, a restricted building might require people to flash an ID badge and pass a fingerprint scan to enter. 

Types of authentication factors  

There are multiple types of authentication factors that 2FA systems can use, and true 2FA systems use two factors of two different types. Using two different types of factors is considered more secure than using two factors of the same type because hackers need to use separate methods to crack each factor.

For example, hackers could steal a user's password by planting spyware on their computer. Yet that spyware wouldn't pick up one-time passcodes on the user's phone. The hackers would need to find another way to intercept those messages. 

Knowledge factors: something the user knows  

In most 2FA implementations, a knowledge factor serves as the first authentication factor. A knowledge factor is a bit of information that, theoretically, only the user would know. A password is the most common knowledge factor. Personal identification numbers (PINs) and answers to security questions are also typical.

Despite their widespread use, knowledge factors in general—and passwords in particular—are the most vulnerable type of authentication factor. Hackers can obtain passwords and other knowledge factors through phishing attacks, installing malware on users' devices or staging brute-force attacks in which they use bots to generate and test potential passwords on an account until one works. 

Other types of knowledge factors don't present much more of a challenge. Answers to many security questions—like the classic "What is your mother's maiden name?"—can be cracked easily through basic research or social engineering attacks that trick users into divulging personal information. 

It's worth noting that the common practice of requiring a password and a security question is not true 2FA because it uses two factors of the same type—in this case, two knowledge factors. Rather, this would be an example of a two-step verification process. 

Two-step verification can be more secure than a password alone because it requires two factors. Still, because these are two factors of the same type, they're easier to steal than true 2FA factors.  

Possession factors: Something the user has

Possession factors are things a person owns that they can use to authenticate themselves. The two most common types of possession factors are software tokens and hardware tokens.

Software tokens often take the form of one-time passwords (OTPs). OTPs are 4-8 digit, single-use passcodes that expire after a set amount of time. Software tokens can be sent to a user's phone via text message (or email or voice message) or generated by an authenticator app installed on the device.  

In either case, the user's device essentially acts as the possession factor. The 2FA system assumes that only the legitimate user will have access to any information shared with or generated by that device.  

While SMS-based OTPs are some of the most user-friendly possession factors, they are also the least secure. Users need an internet or cellular connection to receive these codes, and hackers can steal them through sophisticated phishing or man-in-the-middle attacks. OTPs are also vulnerable to SIM cloning, in which criminals create a functional duplicate of the victim's smartphone's SIM card and use it to intercept their text messages.

Authenticator apps can generate tokens without a network connection. The user pairs the app with their accounts, and the app uses an algorithm to continuously generate time-based one-time passwords (TOTPs). Each TOTP expires in 30-60 seconds, making it difficult to steal. Some authenticator apps use push notifications rather than TOTPs; when a user tries to log into an account, the app sends a push notification to their phone, which they must tap to confirm the attempt is legitimate. 

The most common authenticator apps include Google Authenticator, Authy, Microsoft Authenticator, LastPass Authenticator and Duo. While these apps are harder to crack than text messages, they're not foolproof. Hackers can use specialized malware to steal TOTPs directly from authenticators1 or launch MFA fatigue attacks, in which they flood a device with fraudulent push notifications in the hopes that the victim will accidentally confirm one. 

Hardware tokens are dedicated devices—key fobs, ID cards, dongles—that function as security keys. Some hardware tokens plug into a computer's USB port and transmit authentication information to the login page; others generate verification codes for the user to enter manually when prompted.

While hardware tokens are extremely difficult to hack, they can be stolen—as can users' mobile devices containing software tokens. In fact, lost and stolen devices are a factor in as many as 6 percent of data breaches, according to IBM's Cost of a Data Breach report

Inherent factors: Something unique to the user as a person

Also called "biometrics," inherent factors are physical characteristics or traits unique to the user, like fingerprints, facial features and retinal patterns. Many smartphones and laptops produced today have built-in face and fingerprint readers, and many apps and websites can use this biometric data as an authentication factor.  

While inherent factors are the most difficult to crack, it can be disastrous when they are. In 2019, a biometric database containing 1 million users' fingerprints was breached.2 Theoretically, hackers could steal these fingerprints or link their own fingerprints to another user's profile in the database. 

Additionally, advances in AI image generation have cybersecurity experts concerned that hackers may use these tools to fool facial recognition software.  

When biometric data is compromised, it can't be changed quickly or easily, making it hard to stop attacks in progress.

Behavioral factors: Something the user does  

Behavioral factors are digital artifacts that verify a user's identity based on behavior patterns. Examples include a user's typical IP address range, usual location and average typing speed. 

Behavioral authentication systems use artificial intelligence to determine a baseline for users' normal patterns and flag anomalous activity like logging in from a new device, phone number or location. Some 2FA systems leverage behavioral factors by allowing users to register trusted devices as authentication factors. While the user may need to supply two factors at first login, use of the trusted device will automatically act as the second factor in the future.

Behavioral factors also play a role in adaptive authentication systems, which change authentication requirements based on risk level. For example, a user may only need a password to log into an app from a trusted device on the company network, but they may need to add a second factor to log in from a new device or an unknown network. 

While behavioral factors offer a sophisticated way to authenticate end users, they require significant resources and expertise to deploy. Moreover, if a hacker gains access to a trusted device, they can impersonate the user.  

Passwordless 2FA  

Because knowledge factors are so easy to compromise, many organizations are exploring passwordless authentication systems that only accept possession, inherent and behavioral factors. For example, asking a user for a fingerprint and a physical token would constitute a passwordless 2FA configuration. 

While most current 2FA methods use passwords, industry experts anticipate an increasingly passwordless future. Major technology providers like Google, Apple, IBM and Microsoft have begun rolling out passwordless authentication options.3 

What are the benefits of 2FA?  

According to IBM's Cost of a Data Breach report, phishing and compromised credentials are among the most common cyberattack vectors. Together, they account for 31 percent of data breaches. Both vectors often work by stealing passwords, which hackers can then use to hijack legitimate accounts and devices to wreak havoc.

Hackers typically target passwords because they're pretty easy to crack through brute force or deception. Furthermore, because people reuse passwords, hackers can often use a single stolen password to break into multiple accounts. The consequences of a stolen password can be significant for users and organizations, leading to identity theft, monetary theft, system sabotage and more. 

2FA helps thwart unauthorized access by adding an extra layer of security. Even if hackers can steal a password, they still need a second factor to get in. Moreover, these second factors are usually harder to steal than a knowledge factor; hackers would have to falsify biometrics, mimic behaviors or pilfer physical devices. 

Organizations can also use two-factor authentication methods to meet compliance requirements. For example, the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI-DSS) explicitly requires MFA for systems that handle payment card data.4 Other regulations like the Sarbanes-Oxley (SOX) Act and the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) don't explicitly require 2FA. However, 2FA can help organizations meet the strict security standards these laws set.

In some instances, organizations have been compelled to adopt multi-factor authentication in the wake of data breaches. For example, in 2023, the Federal Trade Commission ordered the online alcohol seller Drizly to implement MFA following a breach that affected 2.5 million customers. 

Related solutions
IBM Security® Verify Access Management

Add deep context, intelligence and security to decisions about which users should have access to your organization’s data and applications, on premises or in the cloud.

Explore IBM Security® Verify
Cloud identity and access management (IAM) solutions

Infuse cloud IAM with the deep context necessary for risk-based authentication. Enable low-friction, secure access for your consumers and workforce with IBM Security Verify cloud IAM solutions.

Explore cloud IAM solutions
Advanced authentication solutions

Go beyond basic authentication with options for passwordless or multifactor authentication.

Explore advanced authentication solutions
Resources What is IAM?

IAM is a cybersecurity discipline focused on managing user identities and access permissions on a computer network.

What is MFA?

MFA is an identity verification method that requires users to provide two or more pieces of evidence to prove their identities.

Cost of a Data Breach report

Cost of a Data Breach report better prepares one for breaches by understanding their causes and the factors that increase or reduce their costs.

Take the next step

IBM Security Verify is a leading identity and access management (IAM) platform that provides AI-powered capabilities for managing your workforce and customer needs. Unify identity silos, reduce the risk of identity-based attacks, and provide modern authentication, including passwordless capabilities.

Explore Verify Try Verify for 90 days
Footnotes

All links reside outside ibm.com

1 Android malware can steal Google Authenticator 2FA codesZDNET, 26 February 2020

2 '1m fingerprint' data leak raises doubts over biometric security, ScienceDirect, September 2019

3 You no longer need a password to sign in to your Google account, The Verge, 3 May 2023

4 PCI DSS: v4.0, Security Standards Council, March 2022

5 In the Matter of Drizly, LLC, Federal Trade Commission, 10 January 2023