什么是事件响应?
正式的事件响应计划能够帮助网络安全团队限制或预防网络攻击或安全违规造成的损失。
摩天大楼的近景
什么是事件响应?

事件响应(有时称为网络安全事件响应)是指组织用于检测和响应网络威胁、安全违规或网络攻击的流程和技术。 事件响应的目标是防患于未然,以及最大程度减少任何网络攻击造成的成本和业务中断。

理想情况下,组织以正式的事件响应计划 (IRP) 的形式定义事件响应流程和技术,该计划明确规定如何发现、遏制和解决不同类型的网络攻击。 有效的事件响应计划可以帮助网络安全团队更快地检测和遏制网络威胁并恢复受影响的系统,减少收入损失、监管罚款以及与这些威胁有关的其他成本。 IBM 的《2022 年数据泄露成本》报告发现,与没有事件响应团队和 IRP 的组织相比,具有事件响应团队并定期检验事件响应计划的组织的平均数据泄露成本要低 266 万美元。


什么是安全事件?

安全事件是指威胁到保密性、完整性或可用性或者组织的信息系统或敏感数据的任何数字或物理安全违规情况。 安全事件的范围非常广泛,例如黑客或未经授权用户有意实施的网络攻击,以及合法授权用户无意违反安全策略的情况。

一些最常见的安全事件包括:

勒索软件 勒索软件是一种恶意软件,它会锁定受害者的数据或计算设备,并且威胁要一直将其锁定,甚至出现更糟的结果 — 除非受害者向攻击者支付赎金。 根据 IBM 的《2022 年数据泄露成本》报告,从 2021 年到 2022 年,勒索软件攻击次数增加了 41%。

了解有关勒索软件的更多信息

网络钓鱼和社会工程。 网络钓鱼攻击是试图操纵接收者分享敏感信息、下载恶意软件、向错误的人转移金钱或资产,或采取其他破坏性行动的数字或语音消息。 诈骗者精心设计网络钓鱼消息,使其看起来或听上去就像来自受信任或可信的组织或个人 — 有时甚至是收件人本人认识的个人。

根据 IBM 的《2022 年数据泄露成本》报告,网络钓鱼是造成的损失最大,同时是第二常见的数据泄露原因。 这也是社会工程攻击的最常见形式 — 此类攻击直击人性,而不是攻击数字安全漏洞,旨在未经授权地访问敏感的个人或企业数据或资产。

了解有关社会工程的更多信息

DDoS 攻击 在分布式拒绝服务 (DDoS) 攻击中,黑客获得大量计算机的远程控制权,使用巨大的流量压垮目标组织的网络或服务器,使这些资源无法为合法用户提供服务。

了解有关 DDoS 攻击的更多信息

供应链攻击。 供应链攻击是指通过攻击目标组织的供应商,例如通过盗窃供应商系统中的敏感数据,或者使用供应商的服务传播恶意软件,从而渗透目标组织的网络攻击。 在 2021 年 7 月,网络犯罪分子利用 Kaseya 的 VSA 平台的一个缺陷 (链接位于 ibm.com 外部),以合法软件更新的幌子向客户传播勒索软件。 根据 IBM 的《2021 年网络弹性组织调研》,尽管供应链攻击日益频繁,但只有 32% 的组织制定了事件响应计划以应对这种特殊的网络威胁。

了解有关供应链安全性的更多信息。

内部威胁 有两种类型的内部威胁。 恶意的内部人员是指故意破坏组织的信息安全的员工、合作伙伴或其他授权用户。 疏忽的内部人员是指由于未遵守安全最佳实践,例如使用弱密码或在不安全的地方存储敏感数据,而无意破坏安全性的授权用户。 

了解有关内部威胁的更多信息


事件响应如何发挥作用

事件响应规划

如上所述,事件响应计划用于指导组织的事件响应工作。 通常,这些计划由计算机安全事件响应团队 (CSIRT) 负责制定和执行,该团队由来自整个组织的各种利益相关方构成,包括首席信息安全官 (CISO)、安全运营中心 (SOC) 和 IT 人员,还包括最高管理层、法务、人力资源、法规合规性和风险管理等职能领域的代表。

事件响应计划通常包括

  • CSIRT 的每个成员的作用和职责;
  • 要在整个企业中安装的安全解决方案 — 软件、硬件和其他技术。
  • 业务连续性计划,概括介绍在发生中断事件时尽快恢复受影响的关键系统和数据的程序;
  • 详细的事件响应方法,列出在事件响应流程(如下所示)的每个阶段要采取的具体步骤和执行人员;
  • 沟通计划,用于向公司领导、员工、客户甚至执法机构通报有关事件的情况;
  • 有关文档记录的指示信息,用于收集信息和记录事件,以供事后审查(如有必要)和法律诉讼之用。 

CSIRT 针对各种不同类型的事件起草不同的事件响应计划的情况并不少见,因为每种类型都可能需要独特的响应方式。 根据 IBM 的《2021 年网络弹性组织调研》大多数组织都制定了针对 DDoS 攻击、恶意软件和勒索软件攻击以及网络钓鱼攻击的具体事件响应计划,近一半的组织制定了针对内部威胁的计划。

一些组织采用外部合作伙伴来提供事件响应服务,以补充内部 CSIRT 的不足。 这些合作伙伴通常以收取定金的形式提供服务,协助执行事件管理流程的各个方面,包括准备和执行 IRP。

事件响应流程

大多数 IRP 还遵循相同的通用事件响应框架,该框架基于 SANS 研究所、 美国国家标准与技术研究院 (NIST) 以及美国网络安全和基础设施安全局 (CISA) 开发的事件响应模型。

准备。 事件响应的第一个阶段也是一个持续的过程,旨在确保 CSIRT 始终具有已实施的最佳程序和工具,尽快控制事件并从中恢复,最大程度减少业务中断。

通过定期的风险评估,CSIRT 确定网络漏洞,定义对网络构成风险的各种网络事件,并根据其对组织的潜在影响确定每种类型的优先级。 根据这种风险评估,CSIRT 可能会更新现有事件响应计划或起草新的计划。

检测和分析。 在此阶段,安全团队成员监控网络以发现可疑活动和潜在威胁。 他们分析从设备日志和通过安装在网络上的各种安全工具(反病毒软件、防火墙等)收集的数据、通知和警报,过滤掉假警报,按照严重性对实际警报进行分类。

目前,大多数组织都使用一个或多个安全解决方案,例如 SIEM(安全信息和事件管理)以及 EDR(终端检测和响应),帮助安全团队实时监控和分析安全事件,自动执行事件检测和响应流程。 (有关更多信息,请参阅下面的“事件响应技术”。)

沟通计划也在这个阶段发挥作用。 一旦 CSIRT 确定自己正在处理的威胁或违规的类型,他们将在进入事件响应流程的下个阶段之前,通知相应的人员。 

遏制。 事件响应团队采取措施,防止违规对网络造成进一步的危害。 遏制活动可分为两类:

  • 短期遏制措施的重点是通过隔离受影响的系统,例如让被感染的设备下线,防止当前威胁进一步扩散。
  • 长期遏制措施的重点是通过对未受影响的系统实施更强有力的安全控制,例如将敏感数据库与网络的其他部分分开,保护这些未受影响的系统。

在此阶段,CSIRT 还可创建受影响和未受影响的系统的备份,以防止更多数据丢失,并捕捉事件的取证证据以供进一步研究。 

根除。 威胁得到遏制之后,团队就开始执行完整的补救措施,彻底将威胁从系统中移除。 这包括积极根除威胁本身,例如摧毁恶意软件,从网络中移除未经授权的用户或流氓用户;还包括检查受影响和未受影响的系统,以确保彻底消除违规。 

恢复。 当事件响应团队确信威胁已完全根除之后,他们负责将受影响的系统恢复至正常运行状态。 这可能涉及部署补丁、根据备份重建系统,以及让修复后的系统和设备重新上线。

事后审查。 在事件响应流程的每个阶段,CSIRT 收集违规的证据,记录用于遏制威胁所采取的步骤。 在此阶段,CSIRT 审查这些信息以更好地了解事件。 CSIRT 努力确定攻击的根本原因,确定威胁是如何成功攻破网络的,并解决漏洞,确保将来不再发生此类事件。 

CSIRT 还会审查行之有效的方面,寻找改进系统、工具和流程的机会,以加强事件响应计划,有效应对未来攻击。 根据违规情况,执法机构也可能参与到事后调查。 


事件响应技术

如上所述,除了描述 CSIRT 在发生安全事件时应采取的步骤外,事件响应计划通常还会列出事件响应团队应实施的安全解决方案,用于人工或自动执行主要的事件响应工作流程,例如收集和关联安全数据,实时检测事件,以及响应正在进行的攻击。

一些最常用的事件响应技术包括:

  • SIEM(安全信息和事件管理) SIEM 汇总和关联来自不同内部安全工具(例如防火墙、漏洞扫描器、威胁情报订阅源)以及网络中设备的安全事件数据。 SIEM 通过从这些工具生成的海量通知中确定真正威胁的指示信号,帮助事件响应团队对抗“警报疲劳”。
  • SOAR(安全统筹、自动化和响应):SOAR 帮助安全团队制定行动手册(也就是用于协调各种不同的安全运营和工具以应对安全事件的正式工作流程),并且如有可能,自动执行这些工作流程的某些部分。
  • EDR(终端检测和响应)EDR 是一种软件,旨在自动保护组织的最终用户、终端设备和 IT 资产免受那些突破反病毒软件和其他传统终端安全工具安全防线的网络威胁。 EDR 从网络上的所有终端持续收集数据;它实时分析这些数据,以捕捉已知或可疑的网络威胁的证据,并能自动响应以防止或最大程度减轻所发现的威胁造成的损失。
  • XDR(扩展检测和响应):XDR 是一种网络安全技术,用于统一混合 IT 环境(终端、网络、私有云和公有云)中的各种安全工具、控制点、数据和遥测源以及分析功能,从而创建单一而集中的威胁预防、检测和响应企业系统。 XDR 仍是一种新兴技术,有潜力帮助过度扩展的安全团队和安保运营中心 (SOC) 通过消除安全工具“孤岛”,自动响应整个网络威胁杀伤链,从而做到事半功倍。
  • UEBA(用户和实体行为分析)UEBA 使用行为分析、机器学习算法和自动化技术,发现异常和可能危险的用户和设备行为。 UEBA 在发现内部威胁方面特别有效,它可以发现使用被盗的内部人员凭证的恶意内部人员或黑客,这些行为由于模仿获得授权的网络流程,因此能够逃避其他安全工具的检测。 UEBA 功能通常包括 SIEM、EDR 和 XDR 解决方案。
  • ASM(攻击面管理)ASM 解决方案可自动持续发现、分析、补救和监控组织的攻击面中所有资产的漏洞和潜在攻击方向。 ASM 可发现以前不受监控的网络资产,并对应资产之间的关系。

相关解决方案

X-Force 事件响应团队

通过 IBM Security 提供的事件响应订阅,获得您的企业所需的安全保护,完善违规防范工作。 当您与我们的 IR 顾问精英团队合作时,您就拥有了随时待命的可信合作伙伴,他们可帮助您减少响应事件所需的时间,最大限度地降低事件影响,并帮助您在怀疑发生网络安全事件之前更快地恢复过来。


安全统筹与自动化响应 (SOAR)

威胁检测只完成了一半的安全工作。 您还需要拥有智能事件响应能力,以应对越来越多的警报、繁杂的工具和人员短缺问题。 在 IBM 的帮助下,通过自动化、流程标准化以及与现有安全工具的集成,加快事件响应速度。


检测和响应管理服务

随着笔记本电脑、台式机和远程工作人员的数量不断增加,老练的网络犯罪分子面对您的企业也有了更多的可乘之机。 他们从这些切入点深入,通常不会被察觉。 IBM 提供了一种集全天候预防、检测和快速响应于一身的一站式功能,可以借助威胁情报和主动威胁搜寻功能来识别和补救高级威胁。


端点检测与响应 (EDR)

远程工作趋势和终端之间的日益互联互通使得恶意活动持续增加。 通过利用 AI 驱动的现代 EDR,自动阻止和隔离恶意软件和勒索软件威胁,减轻分析人员的工作负担。


IBM 安全框架和发现研讨会

在一场时长 3 小时、虚拟或面对面的设计思维免费对话中,与 IBM 的资深安全架构师和顾问一起了解贵组织的网络安全形势,确定各种计划的优先顺序。

What is incident response?
A formal incident response plan enables cybersecurity teams to limit or prevent damage from cyberattacks or security breaches.
Zoomed-in view of a skyscraper
What is incident response?

Incident response (sometimes called cybersecurity incident response) refers to an organization’s processes and technologies for detecting and responding to cyberthreats, security breaches or cyberattacks. The goal of incident response is to prevent cyberattacks before they happen, and to minimize the cost and business disruption resulting from any cyberattacks that occur.

Ideally, an organization defines incident response processes and technologies in a formal incident response plan (IRP) that specifies exactly how different types of cyberattacks should be identified, contained, and resolved. An effective incident response plan can help cybersecurity teams detect and contain cyberthreats and restore affected systems faster, and reduce the lost revenue, regulatory fines and other costs associate with these threats. IBM’s Cost of a Data Breach 2022 Report found that organizations with incident response teams and regularly tested incident response plans had an average data breach cost USD 2.66 million lower than that of organizations without incident response teams and IRPs.


What are security incidents?

A security incident, or security event, is any digital or physical breach that threatens the confidentiality, integrity or availability or an organization’s information systems or sensitive data. Security incidents can range from intentional cyberattacks by hackers or unauthorized users, to unintentional violations of security policy by legitimate authorized users.

Some of the most common security incidents include:

Ransomware. Ransomware is a type of malicious software, or malware, that locks up a victim's data or computing device and threatens to keep it locked—or worse—unless the victim pays the attacker a ransom. According to IBM's Cost of a Data Breach 2022 report, ransomware attacks rose by 41 percent between 2021 and 2022.

Learn more about ransomware.

Phishing and social engineering. Phishing attacks are digital or voice messages that try to manipulate recipients into sharing sensitive information, downloading malicious software, transferring money or assets to the wrong people, or taking some other damaging action. Scammers craft phishing messages to look or sound like they come from a trusted or credible organization or individual—sometimes even an individual the recipient knows personally.

Phishing is the most costly and second most common cause of data breaches, according to IBM's Cost of a Data Breach 2022 report. It’s also the most common form of social engineering—a class of attack that hacks human nature, rather than digital security vulnerabilities, to gain unauthorized access to sensitive personal or enterprise data or assets.

Learn more about social engineering.

DDoS attacks. In a distributed denial-of-service (DDoS) attack, hackers gain remote control of large numbers of computers and use them to overwhelm a target organization’s network or servers with traffic, making those resources unavailable to legitimate users.

Learn more about DDoS attacks.

Supply chain attacks. Supply chain attacks are cyberattacks that infiltrate a target organization by attacking its vendors—e.g., by stealing sensitive data from a supplier’s systems, or by using a vendor’s services to distribute malware. In July 2021, cybercriminals took advantage of a flaw in Kaseya's VSA platform (link resides outside ibm.com) to spread ransomware to customers under the guise of a legitimate software update. Even though supply chain attacks are increasing in frequency, only 32 percent of organizations have incident response plans prepared for this particular cyber threat, according to IBM's 2021 Cyber Resilient Organization Study.

Learn more about supply chain security.

Insider threats. There are two types of insider threats. Malicious insiders are employees, partners or other authorized users who intentionally compromise an organization’s information security. Negligent insiders are authorized user who unintentionally compromise security by failing to follow security best practices—by, say, using weak passwords, or storing sensitive data in insecure places. 

Learn more about insider threats.


How incident response works

Incident response planning

As noted above, an organization’s incident response efforts are guided by an incident response plan. Typically these are created and executed by a computer security incident response team (CSIRT) made up of stakeholders from across the organization—the chief information security officer (CISO), security operations center (SOC) and IT staff, but also representatives from executive leadership, legal, human resources, regulatory compliance and risk management.

An incident response plan usually includes

  • The roles and responsibilities of each member of the CSIRT;
  • The security solutions—software, hardware and other technologies—to be installed across the enterprise.
  • A business continuity plan outlining procedures for restoring critical affected systems and data as quickly possible in the event of an outage;
  • A detailed incident response methodology that lays out the specific steps to be taken at each phase of the incident response process (see below), and by whom;
  • A communications plan for informing company leaders, employees, customers, and even law enforcement about incidents;
  • Instructions for documenting for collecting information and documenting incidents for post-mortem review and (if necessary) legal proceedings. 

It’s not uncommon for the CSIRT to draft different incident response plans for different types incidents, as each type may require a unique response. According to IBM's 2021 Cyber Resilient Organization Study, most organizations have specific incident response plans pertaining to DDoS attacks, malware and ransomware, and phishing, and nearly half have plans for insider threats.

Some organizations supplement in-house CSIRTs with external partners providing incident response services. These partners often work on retainer, assist with various aspects of the incident management process, including preparing and executing IRPs.

The incident response process

Most IRPs also follow the same general incident response framework based on incident response models developed by the SANS Institute, the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), and the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Agency (CISA).

Preparation. This first phase of incident response is also a continuous one, to make sure that the CSIRT always has best possible procedures and tools in place to respond to identify, contain and recover from an incident as quickly as possible and within minimal business disruption.

Through regular risk assessment the CSIRT identifies network vulnerabilities, defines the various types of security incidents that pose a risk to the network, and prioritizes each type according to its potential impact on the organization. Based on this risk assessment, the CSIRT may update existing incident response plans or draft new ones.

Detection and Analysis. During this phase, security team members monitor the network for suspicious activity and potential threats. They analyze data, notifications and alerts gathered from device logs and from various security tools (antivirus software, firewalls) installed on the network, filtering out the false positives and triage the actual alerts in order of severity.

Today, most organizations use one or more security solutions—such as SIEM (security information and event management) and EDR (endpoint detection and response)—to help security teams monitor and analyze security events in real time, and automate incident detection and response processes. (See “Incident response technologies,” below for more.)

The communication plan also comes into play during this phase. Once the CSIRT has determined what kind of threat or breach they're dealing with, they'll notify the appropriate personnel before moving to the next stage of the incident response process. 

Containment. The incident response team takes steps to stop the breach from doing further damage to the network. Containment activities can be split into two categories:

  • Short-term containment measures focus on preventing the current threat from spreading by isolating the affected systems, such as by taking infected devices offline.
  • Long-term containment measures focus on protecting unaffected systems by placing stronger security controls around them, such as segmenting sensitive databases from the rest of the network.

At this stage, the CSIRT may also create backups of affected and unaffected systems to prevent additional data loss, and to capture forensic evidence of the incident for future study. 

Eradication. Once the threat has been contained, the team moves on to full remediation and complete removal of the threat from the system. This involves actively eradicating the threat itself—e.g., destroying malware, booting an unauthorized or rogue user from the network—and reviewing both affected and unaffected systems to ensure no traces of the breach are left behind. 

Recovery. When the incident response team is confident the threat has been entirely eradicated, they restore affected systems to normal operations. This may involve deploying patches, rebuilding systems from backups, and bringing remediated systems and devices back online.

Post-incident review. Throughout each phase of the incident response process, the CSIRT collects evidence of the breach and documents the steps it takes to contain and eradicate the threat. At this stage, the CSIRT reviews this information to better understand the incident. The CSIRT seeks to determine the root cause of the attack, identify how it successfully breached the network, and resolve vulnerabilities so that future incidents of this type don't occur. 

The CSIRT also reviews what went well and looks for opportunities to improve systems, tools, and processes to strengthen incident response initiatives against future attacks. Depending on the circumstances of the breach, law enforcement may also be involved in the post-incident investigation. 


Incident response technologies

As noted above, in addition to describing the steps CSIRTs should take in the event of a security incident, incident response plans typically outline the security solutions that incident response teams should have in place to carry out or automate key incident response workflows, such as gathering and correlating security data, detecting incidents in real-time, and responding to in-progress attacks.

Some of the most commonly used incident response technologies include:

  • SIEM (security information and event management): SIEM aggregates and correlates security event data from disparate internal security tools (e.g. firewalls, vulnerability scanners, threat intelligence feeds) and from devices on the network. SIEM can help incident response teams fight ‘alert fatigue’ by indicators of actual threats from the huge volume of notifications these tools generate.
  • SOAR (security orchestration, automation and response): SOAR enables security teams to define playbooks—formalized workflows that coordinate different security operations and tools in response to security incidents—and to automate portions of these workflows where possible.
  • EDR (endpoint detection and response): EDR is software designed to automatically protect an organization's end users, endpoint devices and IT assets against cyberthreats that get past antivirus software and other traditional endpoint security tools. EDR collects data continuously from all endpoints on the network; it analyzes the data in real time for evidence of known or suspected cyberthreats, and can respond automatically to prevent or minimize damage from threats it identifies.
  • XDR (extended detection and response): XDR is cybersecurity technology that unifies security tools, control points, data and telemetry sources, and analytics across the hybrid IT environment (endpoints, networks, private and public clouds) to create a single, central enterprise system for threat prevention, detection and response. A still-emerging technology, XDR has the potential to help overextended security teams and security operations centers (SOCs) do more with less by eliminating by eliminating silos between security tools and automating response across the entire cyberthreat kill chain.
  • UEBA (user and entity behavior analytics): (UEBA) uses behavioral analytics, machine learning algorithms, and automation to identify abnormal and potentially dangerous user and device behavior. UEBA is particularly effective at identifying insider threats—malicious insiders or hackers using compromised insider credentials—that can elude other security tools because they mimic authorized network traffic. UEBA functionality is often included SIEM, EDR, and XDR solutions.
  • ASM (attach surface management): ASM solutions automate the continuous discovery, analysis, remediation, and monitoring of the vulnerabilities and potential attack vectors across all the assets in an organization's attack surface. ASM can uncover previously unmonitored network assets, map relationships between assets,

Related solutions

X-Force Incident Response Team

Get the security protection your organization needs to improve breach readiness with an incident response retainer subscription from IBM Security. When you engage with our elite team of IR consultants, you have trusted partners on standby to help reduce the time it takes to respond to an incident, minimize its impact and help you recover faster before a cybersecurity incident is suspected.


Security orchestration, automation and response (SOAR)

Threat detection is only half of the security equation. You also need a smart incident response to the growing volume of alerts, multiple tools and staff shortages. Accelerate incident response with automation, process standardization and integration with your existing security tools with IBM.


Managed detection and response services

With the growing number of laptops, desktops and remote workers, sophisticated cybercriminals have even more open doors to your organization. From these entry points, they can often proceed deep and unnoticed. IBM delivers a turnkey, 24x7 threat prevention, detection and fast response capability, fueled by threat intelligence and proactive threat hunting to identify and remediate advanced threats.


Endpoint detection and response (EDR)

Remote work trends and an increase in the interconnectivity of endpoints have led to a rise in malicious activities. Reduce analyst workloads by leveraging a modern, AI-driven EDR that can automatically block, and isolate malware and ransomware threats.


IBM Security Framing and Discovery Workshop

Understand your cybersecurity landscape and prioritize initiatives together with senior IBM security architects and consultants in a no-cost, virtual or in-person, 3-hour design thinking session.