什么是 IT 安全?
订阅 IBM 时事通讯 探索 IBM Security QRadar EDR
显示不同办公室人员的等轴测图,全部使用 IBM Security

IT 安全(信息技术安全的缩写)是保护组织的 IT 资产(计算机系统、网络、数字设备、数据)免受未经授权的访问、数据泄露网络攻击和其他恶意活动破坏的做法。

IT 安全的范围很广,通常涉及多种技术和安全解决方案,它们共同解决数字设备、计算机网络、服务器、数据库和软件应用程序的漏洞。最常提到的 IT 安全示例包括数字安全领域,如端点安全云安全网络安全和应用程序安全。但 IT 安全还包括保护容纳数据和 IT 资产的建筑物和设备所需的物理安全措施,例如锁、身份证件、监控摄像头。

IT 安全经常与网络安全相混淆,后者范围较窄,在技术上属于 IT 安全的子集之一。网络安全主要侧重于保护组织免受勒索软件、恶意软件和网络钓鱼诈骗等数字攻击,而 IT 安全则服务于组织的整个技术基础架构,包括笔记本电脑和移动设备等硬件系统、软件应用程序和端点,以及公司网络及其各种组件,如物理数据中心和云数据中心。

2023 年 X-Force 威胁情报行动指南

利用 IBM Security® 的行动建议,掌控组织的网络弹性。

为什么 IT 安全很重要

网络攻击和安全事件可能造成巨大损失,包括业务损失、声誉受损、监管罚款,在某些情况下还会导致勒索和资产被盗。

例如,IBM 的《2023 年数据泄露成本报告》研究了 2022 年 3 月至 2023 年 3 月期间遭受数据泄露的 550 多家公司。这些公司因数据泄露而造成的平均损失为 445 万美元,较一年前类似研究结果增加 2.3%,较 2020 年研究结果增加 15.3%。其背后因素包括从通知客户、管理人员和监管机构到监管罚款、停机期间的收入损失以及永久失去客户等。

有些安全事件的代价比其他事件更高。勒索软件攻击会对组织的数据进行加密,导致系统无法使用,并要求支付昂贵的赎金,以获得解密密钥来解锁数据;越来越多的勒索软件还要求支付第二笔赎金,以防止与公众或其他网络犯罪分子共享敏感数据。据《 2023 年 IBM Security 勒索软件权威指南》显示,赎金要求已升至 7 到 8 位数,在极端情况下甚至高达 8 千万美元。

可以预见的是,IT 安全方面的投资将继续增加。行业分析机构 Gartner 预测,到 2023 年,各组织将在信息安全与风险管理资源和服务上花费 1,883 亿美元,未来几年该市场将继续增长,到 2026 年将达到近 2,620 亿美元,自 2021 年起复合年增长率高达 11%。1

IT 安全类型
云安全

云安全致力于应对组织的云基础架构、应用程序和数据所面临的外部和内部网络威胁。云安全采用责任分担模式:一般来说,云服务提供商 (CSP) 负责确保云服务基础设施的安全,而客户则负责确保在该基础设施上运行的任何设备的安全。也就是说,具体的责任分担因云服务而异。

端点安全

端点安全可保护端点用户和端点设备(如台式机、笔记本电脑、手机和服务器)免受网络攻击。网络罪犯试图通过端点设备对敏感数据和其他资产发起网络攻击,端点安全还可以保护网络免受此类攻击。

网络安全

计算机网络安全有三个主要目标:防止对网络资源未经授权的访问、检测并阻止正在进行的网络攻击和安全漏洞、确保授权用户在需要时能够安全地访问所需的网络资源。

应用程序安全

应用程序安全是指开发人员在构建应用程序时采取的措施,其目的是解决潜在的漏洞,保护客户数据和自身代码不被窃取、泄露或破坏。

网络安全

互联网安全可保护由浏览器或应用程序传输、存储或处理的数据和敏感信息。互联网安全涉及一系列安全实践和技术,用于监控输入的互联网流量是否存在恶意软件和其他恶意内容。这方面的技术包括身份验证机制、网络网关、加密协议以及最值得注意的防火墙。

IoT 和 OT 安全

物联网安全侧重于防止与互联网连接的传感器和设备(如门铃摄像头、智能电器、现代汽车)被黑客控制或被黑客用来渗透组织网络。运营技术安全更侧重于监控或控制公司内部流程的连接设备,例如自动化装配线上的传感器。

IT 安全威胁

所有组织都很容易受到来自组织内外的网络威胁。这些威胁可能是故意所为,例如在网络犯罪分子的情况下,也可能是无心之失,例如员工或承包商不小心点击恶意链接或下载恶意软件。

IT 安全旨在解决广泛的安全风险,并考虑所有类型的威胁行为者及其不同的动机、策略和技能水平。

恶意软件

恶意软件是一种流氓软件,可使受感染的系统无法运行、破坏数据、窃取信息,甚至擦除对操作系统至关重要的文件。

众所周知的恶意软件类型包括:

  • 勒索软件是一种锁定受害者的数据或设备并威胁将其保持锁定(或更糟)的恶意软件,除非受害者向攻击者支付赎金。根据 2023 年 IBM Security X-Force Threat Intelligence 指数,勒索软件攻击占 2022 年所有网络攻击的 17%。
     

  • 特洛伊木马是一种恶意软件,它伪装成有用的程序或隐藏在合法软件中,诱使人们下载。远程访问特洛伊木马 (RAT) 会在受害者的设备上创建秘密后门,而植入式特洛伊木马一旦站稳脚跟,就会安装其他恶意软件。

  • 间谍软件秘密收集敏感信息,如用户名、密码、信用卡号码和其他个人数据,并将此类信息传输给黑客。
     

  • 蠕虫病毒是一种可在应用程序和设备之间自动传播的自我复制恶意软件。

社会工程攻击

社交操纵手段通常被称为“人为操控”,即通过操纵受害者的行为,迫使受害者暴露敏感信息、破坏组织安全或威胁组织财务状况。

网络钓鱼是最常见和最臭名昭著的社交操纵手段。网络钓鱼攻击使用欺诈性电子邮件、短信或电话,诱骗人们共享个人数据或访问凭证、下载恶意软件、向网络罪犯汇款或采取其他可能遭受网络犯罪攻击的行动。特殊类型的网络钓鱼包括

  • 鱼叉式网络钓鱼 — 一种针对性很强的网络钓鱼攻击,旨在操纵特定个人,通常使用受害者公共社交媒体资料中的详细信息来使骗术更具说服力。
     

  • 鲸钓 – 以公司高管或富裕人群为目标的鱼叉式网络钓鱼。
     

  • 商业电子邮件泄露 (BEC) — 一种网络犯罪分子冒充高管、供应商或可信业务伙伴的骗局,旨在诱骗受害者进行汇款或泄露敏感数据。

尾随是另一种攻击方式虽然技术含量不高,但对 IT 安全的威胁并不小:尾随是指跟踪(或“尾随”)有权进入数据中心的人(例如持有通行证的人),并在门关闭之前从他们身后潜入。

拒绝服务 (DoS) 攻击

DoS 攻击通过大量欺诈性流量淹没网站、应用程序或系统,使其速度太慢而无法使用,甚至无法向合法用户提供服务。分布式拒绝服务 (DDoS) 攻击是使用僵尸网络,即由连接互联网、受恶意软件感染的设备组成的网络,使目标应用程序或系统瘫痪或崩溃。

零日攻击

零日攻击会利用计算机软件、硬件或固件中未知或尚未解决的安全漏洞。“零日”是指软件或设备供应商有零日或没有时间来修复漏洞,因为恶意行为者已经可以使用这个漏洞来访问易受攻击的系统。

内部威胁

内部威胁来自员工、合作伙伴和其他有权访问网络的用户。无论是无意的(如第三方供应商被诱骗启动恶意软件)还是恶意的(如心怀不满的员工一心想要报复),内部威胁都具有隐患。Verizon(ibm.com 外部链接)最近的一份报告显示,虽然外部威胁平均会破坏约 2 亿条记录,但涉及内部威胁参与者的威胁却暴露了多达 10 亿条记录。

中间人 (MITM) 攻击

在中间人 (MITM) 攻击中,网络罪犯通过网络连接进行窃听,并拦截和中继转发双方之间的消息以窃取数据。不安全的 Wi-Fi 网络是黑客发起 MITM 攻击的理想“狩猎场”。

IT 安全实践和技术

随着网络安全威胁的严重性和复杂性不断升级,组织正在部署结合了一系列安全系统、程序和技术的 IT 安全策略。

在经验丰富的安全团队的监督下,这些 IT 安全实践和技术可帮助保护组织的整个 IT 基础架构,避免或减轻已知和未知网络威胁的影响。

安全意识培训

由于许多网络攻击(如网络钓鱼攻击)利用了人的弱点,因此员工培训已成为抵御内部威胁的重要防线。

安全意识培训有助于员工发现安全威胁,保持安全的工作场所习惯。培训主题通常包括网络钓鱼意识、密码安全、定期更新软件的重要性以及隐私问题,例如如何保护客户数据和其他敏感信息。

多重认证

除了用户名和密码外,多因素身份验证还需要一个或多个凭证。实施多因素身份验证,即使黑客能够窃取或获取合法用户的用户名和密码,也可以防止黑客访问网络上的应用程序或数据。单点登录使用户一次登入会话,在会话期间无需再次登录,即可安全访问多个相关的应用程序和服务,因此,多因素身份验证对于使用单点登录的组织至关重要。

事件响应

事件响应(有时称为网络安全事件响应)是指组织用于检测和响应网络威胁、安全漏洞或网络攻击的流程和技术。事件响应的目标是防患于未然,以及最大程度减少任何网络攻击造成的成本和业务中断。

许多组织制定了正式的事件响应计划 (IRP),规定了用于发现、遏制和解决不同类型的网络攻击的流程和安全软件(见下文)。根据《2003 年数据泄露成本报告》,在制定并定期测试正式 IRP 的组织中,数据泄露成本比平均水平(445 万美元)低 232,008 美元。

安全软件

没有任何一种安全工具可以完全防止网络攻击。尽管如此,有几种工具可以发挥作用,降低网络风险、防止网络攻击以及在发生攻击时最大程度地减少损失。

帮助检测和转移网络攻击的常见安全软件包括:

  • 电子邮件安全工具,包括基于 AI 的反网络钓鱼软件、垃圾邮件过滤器和安全电子邮件网关

  • 防病毒软件可以帮助消除间谍软件或恶意软件攻击者可能采取的一些行为,防止其侵入目标网络进行研究、窃听对话或控制电子邮件帐户

  • 系统和软件补丁可以弥补黑客经常利用的技术漏洞

  • 安全 Web 网关和其他网络过滤工具可以阻止通常与网络钓鱼电子邮件相关联的恶意网站

进攻性安全

进攻性安全 (OffSec) 是指一系列主动安全战略,使用的策略与恶意行为者在现实世界攻击中所用对抗策略相同,但目的是加强而不是危害网络安全

进攻性安全行动通常由道德黑客和网络安全专家执行,他们利用自己的黑客技能来发现和修复 IT 系统漏洞。常见的进攻性安全方法包括

  • 漏洞扫描 – 使用与网络罪犯相同的工具来检测和发现组织的 IT 基础架构和应用程序中可被利用的安全漏洞和薄弱环节。

  • 渗透测试 – 发起模拟网络攻击,发现计算机系统、响应工作流程和用户安全意识的漏洞和薄弱环节。《支付卡行业数据安全标准》(PCI-DSS) 等数据隐私法规要求定期进行渗透测试。
     

  • 红色测试 – 授权有道德的黑客对组织发起模拟的、以目标为导向的网络攻击。

进攻性安全强化了安全软件和其他防御性安全措施,可以发现其他安全措施可能忽略的未知网络攻击途径或载体,并为安全团队提供可以用来加强防御性安全措施的信息。

IT 安全、信息安全与网络安全之间的比较

考虑到“IT 安全”、“信息安全”和“网络安全”这三个术语有很大的重叠,它们经常(也是错误地)互换使用。它们主要在适用范围上有所不同。

  • 信息安全是指保护组织的数字文件和数据、纸质文件、物理介质甚至人类语音,防止未经授权的访问、披露、使用或篡改。信息安全在三者中的范围最广:与 IT 安全一样,涉及保护 IT 有形资产和数据中心,但也涉及纸质文件和其他介质存储设施的实体安全。

  • 网络安全着重保护数字数据和资产免受网络威胁,包括来自外部和内部威胁参与者的恶意行为,以及粗心大意的内部人员造成的意外威胁。虽然网络安全是一项艰巨的任务,但其范围是三者中最窄的,因为它不涉及纸质或模拟数据的保护。
相关解决方案
IBM Security® QRadar® EDR

通过易于使用的智能自动化(几乎不需要人工交互)来保护端点免受网络攻击,检测异常行为,并近乎实时地进行修复。

探索 QRadar EDR

托管基础架构和网络安全服务

借助行之有效的安全专业知识,以及入侵检测和防御、端点安全管理等现代解决方案,保护基础架构和网络免受复杂的网络安全威胁。

深入了解解决方案

网络安全解决方案

新一代网络安全解决方案可智能识别未知威胁,并实时调整,保护整个网络免受高级威胁和恶意软件的侵扰。

探索网络安全解决方案
资源 2023 年《数据泄露的代价》报告

了解数据泄露原因以及增加或减少成本的因素,以便做好更充分的准备。从 550 多家遭遇数据泄露的组织中汲取经验。

什么是 SIEM?

SIEM(安全信息和事件管理)是一种软件,在潜在的安全威胁和漏洞破坏业务运营之前,组织可利用该软件识别并加以解决。

IBM Security 2023 年 X-Force 威胁情报指数

了解威胁,战胜威胁 - 获取可操作的洞察力,帮助您了解威胁参与者如何发动攻击,以及您应如何积极主动地保护您的组织。

采取下一步行动

IBM Security QRadar EDR(旧称 ReaQta)凭借几乎不需要人员交互且简单易用的智能自动化,几近实时地修复已知和未知的端点威胁。了解 QRadar EDR 如何帮助安全团队快速做出明智的决策,并专注于重要威胁。或者预约一次现场演示,了解 QRadar EDR 的实际应用。

探索 QRadar EDR 申请 QRadar EDR 演示
脚注

1到 2026 年,网络安全支出将超过 2600 亿美元(ibm.com 外部链接),Cybersecurity Dive,2022 年 10 月 16 日

Home Topics IT Security What is IT security?
Explore IBM's IT security solution Subscribe to Security Topic Updates
Illustration showing collage of cloud, fingerprint and mobile phone pictograms
What is IT security?

IT security, which is short for information technology security, is the practice of protecting an organization’s IT assets—computer systems, networks, digital devices, data—from unauthorized access, data breaches, cyberattacks and other malicious activity. 

The scope of IT security is broad and often involves a mix of technologies and security solutions. These work together to address vulnerabilities in digital devices, computer networks, servers, databases and software applications.

The most commonly cited examples of IT security include digital security disciplines such as endpoint security, cloud security, network security and application security. But IT security also includes physical security measures—for example, locks, ID cards, surveillance cameras—required to protect buildings and devices that house data and IT assets.

IT security is often confused with cybersecurity, a narrower discipline that is technically a subset of IT security. Cybersecurity focuses primarily on protecting organizations from digital attacks, like ransomware, malware and phishing scams. Whereas IT security services an organization’s entire technical infrastructure, including hardware systems, software applications and endpoints, like laptops and mobile devices. IT security also protects the company network and its various components, like physical and cloud-based data centers.

Cost of a Data Breach

Get insights to better manage the risk of a data breach with the latest Cost of a Data Breach report.

Related content

Register for the X-Force Threat Intelligence Index

Why IT security matters

Cyberattacks and security incidents can exact a huge toll measured in lost business, damaged reputations, regulatory fines and, in some cases, extortion and stolen assets.

For example, IBM’s Cost of a Data Breach 2023 report studied over 550 companies who suffered a data breach between March 2022 and March 2022. The average cost of a data breach to those companies was USD 4.45 million—up 2.3 percent from findings of a similar study a year earlier, and up 15.3 percent over a 2020 study. Factors contributing to the cost include everything from notifying customers, executives and regulators to regulatory fines, revenues lost during downtime, and customers lost permanently.

Some security incidents are more costly than others. Ransomware attacks encrypt an organization’s data, rendering systems unusable, and demand an expensive ransom payment for a decryption key to unlock the data. Increasingly, the cybercriminals demand a second ransom to prevent sharing sensitive data with the public or other cybercriminals. According to the IBM Security Definitive Guide to Ransomware 2023, ransom demands have risen to 7- and 8-figure amounts, and in extreme cases have been as high as USD 80 million.

Predictably, investments in IT security continue to rise. Industry analyst Gartner® predicted that in 2023 organizations would spend USD 188.3 billion on information security and risk management resources and services. The forecast also projects the market to continue to balloon in the coming years, generating nearly USD 262 billion by 2026, following its compound annual growth rate of 11 percent from 2021.1

Types of IT security
Cloud security

Cloud security addresses external and internal cyberthreats to an organization’s cloud-based infrastructure, applications and data. Cloud security operates on the shared responsibility model: Generally speaking, the cloud service provider (CSP) is responsible for securing the infrastructure with which it delivers cloud services, and the customer is responsible for securing whatever it runs on that infrastructure. However, details of that shared responsibility vary depending on the cloud service.

Endpoint security

Endpoint security protects end-users and endpoint devices, like desktops, laptops, cellphones and servers, against cyberattacks. Endpoint security also protects networks against cybercriminals who try to use endpoint devices to launch cyberattacks on their sensitive data and other assets.

Network security

Network security has three chief objectives: The first objective is to prevent unauthorized access to network resources. Second, it aims to detect and stop cyberattacks and security breaches in real-time. Third, it ensures that authorized users have secure access to the network resources they need when needed.

Application security

Application security refers to measures developers take while building an app. These steps address potential vulnerabilities, and protect customer data and their own code from being stolen, leaked or compromised.

Internet security

Internet security protects data and sensitive information transmitted, stored or processed by browsers or apps. Internet security involves a range of security practices and technologies that monitor incoming internet traffic for malware and other malicious content. Technologies in this area include authentication mechanisms, web gateways, encryption protocols and, most notably, firewalls.

IoT and OT security

Internet of Things (IoT) security focuses on preventing Internet-connected sensors and devices, for example doorbell cameras, smart appliances, modern automobiles. IoT aims to stop hackers from taking control of these devices. It also prevents hackers from using these devices to infiltrate an organization’s network. Operational technology (OT) security focuses more specifically on connected devices that monitor or control processes within a company—for example, sensors on an automated assembly line.

IT security threats

Every organization is susceptible to cyberthreats from inside and outside their organizations. These threats can be intentional, as with cybercriminals, or unintentional, as with employees or contractors who accidentally click malicious links or download malware. 

IT security aims to address this wide range of security risks and account for all types of threat actors and their varying motivations, tactics and skill levels.

Malware

Malware is malicious software that can render infected systems inoperable, destroying data, stealing information and even wiping files critical to the operating system. 

Well-known types of malware include: 

  • Ransomware is malware that locks a victim’s data or device and threatens to keep it locked—or worse—unless the victim pays a ransom to the attacker. According to the IBM Security X-Force Threat Intelligence Index 2023, ransomware attacks represented 17 percent of all cyberattacks in 2022.
     

  • A Trojan horse is malware that tricks people into downloading it by disguising itself as a useful program or hiding within legitimate software. A remote access Trojan (RAT) creates a secret backdoor on the victim’s device, while a dropper Trojan installs additional malware once it has a foothold.
     

  • Spyware secretly gathers sensitive information, such as usernames, passwords, credit card numbers and other personal data, and transmits it back to the hacker.
     

  • A worm is self-replicating malware that can automatically spread between apps and devices.

 

Social engineering attacks

Frequently referred to as "human hacking," social engineering manipulates victims into taking actions that expose sensitive information, compromise their organization’s security, or threaten their organization's financial well-being.

Phishing is the best-known and most pervasive type of social engineering attack. Phishing attacks use fraudulent emails, text messages or phone calls to trick people. These attacks aim to get people to share personal data or access credentials, download malware, send money to cybercriminals, or take other actions that might expose them to cybercrimes. Special types of phishing include: 

  • Spear phishing—highly targeted phishing attacks that manipulate a specific individual, often using details from the victim’s public social media profiles to make the ruse more convincing.
     

  • Whale phishing—spear phishing that targets corporate executives or wealthy individuals.
     

  • Business email compromise (BEC)—scams in which cybercriminals pose as executives, vendors or trusted business associates to trick victims into wiring money or sharing sensitive data.

Another social engineering tactic, tailgating, is less technical but no less a threat to IT security: it involves following (or ‘tailing’) an individual with physical access to a data center (say, someone with an ID card) and literally sneaking in behind them before the door closes.

Denial of service (DoS) attacks

A DoS attack overwhelms a website, application or system with volumes of fraudulent traffic, rendering it too slow to use or altogether unavailable to legitimate users. A distributed denial-of-service (DDoS) attack uses a network of internet-connected, malware-infected devices—called a botnet—to cripple or crash the target application or system. 

Zero-day exploits

A zero-day exploit takes advantage of an unknown or as-yet-unaddressed security flaw in computer software, hardware or firmware. ‘Zero day’ refers to the fact that the software or device vendor has zero days, or no time, to fix the flaw, because malicious actors can already use it to gain access to vulnerable systems.

Insider threats

Insider threats originate from employees, partners and other users with authorized access to the network. Whether unintentional (for example, a third-party vendor tricked into launching malware) or malicious (for example, a disgruntled employee bent on revenge), insider threats have teeth. A recent report from Verizon (link resides outside ibm.com) reveals that while the average external threat compromises around 200 million records, threats involving an inside threat actor have exposed as many as 1 billion records.

Man-in-the-middle (MITM) attacks

In an MITM attack, a cybercriminal eavesdrops on a network connection and intercepts and relays messages between two parties to steal data. Unsecured wifi networks are happy hunting grounds for hackers launching MITM attacks.

IT security practices and technologies

As cybersecurity threats continue to escalate in ferocity and complexity, organizations are deploying IT security strategies that combine a range of security systems, programs and technologies. 

Overseen by experienced security teams, these IT security practices and technologies can help protect an organization’s entire IT infrastructure, and avoid or mitigate the impact of known and unknown cyberthreats.

Security awareness training

Because many cyberattacks, such as phishing attacks, exploit human vulnerabilities, employee training has become an important line of defense against insider threats.

Security awareness training teaches employees to recognize security threats and use secure workplace habits. Topics covered often include phishing awareness, password security, the importance of running regular software updates, and privacy issues, like how to protect customer data and other sensitive information.

Multi-factor authentication

Multi-factor authentication requires one or more credentials in addition to a username and password. Implementing multi-factor authentication can prevent a hacker from gaining access to applications or data on the network. This authentication works even if the hacker is able to steal or obtain a legitimate user's username and password.

Multi-factor authentication is critical for organizations that use single sign-on systems. These systems enable users to log in to a session once and access multiple related applications and services during that session without logging in again.

Incident response

Incident response, sometimes called cybersecurity incident response, refers to an organization’s processes and technologies for detecting and responding to cyberthreats, security breaches and cyberattacks. The goal of incident response is to prevent cyberattacks before they happen, and to minimize the cost and business disruption resulting from any cyberattacks that occur.

Many organizations create a formal incident response plan (IRP) that defines the processes and security software they use to identify, contain and resolve to different types of cyberattacks. According to the Cost of a Data Breach 2003 report, at organizations that create and regularly test a formal IRP the cost of a data breach was USD 232,008 less than the average (USD 4.45 million).

Security software

No single security tool can prevent cyberattacks altogether. Still, several tools can play a role in mitigating cyber risks, preventing cyberattacks and minimizing damage when an attack occurs. 

Common security software to help detect and divert cyberattacks include: 

  • Email security tools, including AI-based anti-phishing software, spam filters and secure email gateways

  • Antivirus software to neutralize spyware or malware attackers might use to target network security to conduct research, eavesdrop on conversations, or takeover email accounts

  • System and software patches to close technical vulnerabilities commonly exploited by hackers

  • Secure web gateways and other web filtering tools to block malicious websites often linked to phishing emails

 

 

 

 

Offensive security
  • Offensive security, or “OffSec,” refers to a range of proactive security strategies that use adversarial tactics—the same tactics malicious actors use in real-world attacks—to strengthen network security rather than compromise it.

Offensive security operations are often carried out by ethical hackers, cybersecurity professionals who use their hacking skills to find and fix IT system flaws. Common offensive security methods include:

  • Vulnerability scanning—using the same tools that cybercriminals use to detect and identify exploitable security flaws and weaknesses in an organization’s IT infrastructure and applications.
  • Penetration testing—launching a mock cyberattack to uncover vulnerabilities and weaknesses in computer systems, response workflows and users' security awareness. Some data privacy regulations, such as the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI-DSS), specify regular penetration texting as a requirement for compliance.
     

  • Red teaming—authorizing a team of ethical hackers to launch a simulated, goal-oriented cyberattack on the organization.

Offensive security complements security software and other defensive security measures—it discovers unknown cyberattack avenues, or vectors, that other security measures might miss. And it yields information security teams can use to make their defensive security measures stronger.

IT security versus information security versus cybersecurity

Given their significant overlap, the terms ‘IT security,’ ‘information security’ and ‘cybersecurity’ are often (and mistakenly) used interchangeably. They differ primarily in scope.

  • Information security is the protection of an organization's digital files and data, paper document, physical media and even human speech against unauthorized access, disclosure, use or alteration. Information security has the broadest scope of the three: like IT security, it is concerned with protecting physical IT assets and data centers. Additionally, it concerns the physical security of facilities for storing paper files and other media.

  • Cybersecurity focuses on the protection of digital data and assets from cyberthreats—malicious actions from external and internal threat actors, and accidental threats posed by careless insiders. While an enormous undertaking, cybersecurity has the narrowest scope of the three in that it's not concerned with protection of paper or analog data.
Related solutions
IBM Security® QRadar® EDR

Secure endpoints from cyberattacks, detect anomalous behavior and remediate in near real-time with easy-to-use intelligent automation that requires little-to-no human interaction.

Explore QRadar EDR

Managed infrastructure and network security services

Protect your infrastructure and network from sophisticated cybersecurity threats by using proven security expertise and modern solutions. These solutions include intrusion detection and prevention, endpoint security management and more.

Explore the solutions

Network security solutions

Protect your entire network against advanced threats and malware, with next-generation network security solutions that intelligently recognize even unknown threats and adapt to prevent them in real-time.

Explore network security solutions
Resources Cost of a Data Breach Report 2023

Be better prepared for breaches by understanding their causes and the factors that increase or reduce costs. Learn from the experiences of more than 550 organizations that were hit by a data breach.

What is SIEM?

Read how SIEM (security information and event management) software helps organizations recognize and address potential security threats and vulnerabilities before they can disrupt business operations.

IBM Security® X-Force® Threat Intelligence Index 2023

Know the threat to beat the threat—get actionable insights that help you understand how threat actors are waging attacks, and how to proactively protect your organization.

Take the next step

IBM Security QRadar EDR, formerly ReaQta, remediates known and unknown endpoint threats in near real time with easy-to-use intelligent automation that requires little-to-no human interaction. Make quick and informed decisions with attack visualization storyboards. Use automated alert management to focus on threats that matter. And safeguard business continuity with advanced, continously-learning AI capabilities.

Explore QRadar EDR Book a live demo
Footnotes

1Cybersecurity spending on pace to surpass $260B by 2026 (link resides outside ibm.com), Cybersecurity Dive, 16 October 2022