什么是 IT 管理?

管理硬件、软件和网络服务,为组织提供支持。

一位男士和一位女士在服务器机房用平板电脑查看详细信息

IT 管理之定义

IT 管理是指监控和管理组织的信息技术系统,包括硬件、软件和网络。 IT 管理侧重于如何有效地运行信息系统。 同样重要的是,它旨在帮助人员更出色地完成工作。

越来越多的组织将 IT 置于战略的核心地位。 在数字世界,IT 部门承担的任务比以往任何时候都要多,正逐渐成为重塑的重要支点。


IT 管理要素

一个 IT 环境由大量硬件、网络和软件组件构成,包括计算机、服务器、路由器、应用、微服务和移动技术。 一个IT 基础架构 可位于本地、云端或者集成了这两者的混合平台上。

IT 经理负责监控和管理 IT 系统,以确保它们始终可用而且可靠运行。 IT 管理职责和任务包括:

  • 确定 IT 系统的业务需求
  • 管理 IT 预算和成本
  • 监控安全性和合规性
  • 控制系统和网络安全
  • 实施新的软件、硬件和数据系统
  • 提供技术或服务台支持

IT 部门通常由首席信息官 (CIO) 领导。 他们负责确定并确保实现企业的 IT 战略和目标。

许多 CIO 认为,他们的角色将在未来两到三年发生变化。 他们预计,自己的职责将从维护和管理转变为更高价值的战略性活动。 一个关键职责是"通过创建新的工具、解决方案和业务模式,实现有意义的数字变革。"


为何 IT 管理如此重要

IT 支撑着几乎所有的企业活动。 自动化、数据处理和永续连接打开了以前无法想象的能力与效率之门。 技术与日常业务运营可能已无法分开。

与此同时,如果系统性能欠佳或发生故障,就会将组织暴露在风险之中。 网络中断、数据丢失或恶意软件入侵都可能会严重影响日常运营。 例如在美国,数据泄露的平均成本为 386 万美元。 1

IT 管理实践确保信息技术安全、高度可用而且以最高性能运行。

CIO 还在采用新系统以改进运营方面起领导作用。 正如一位 IT 高管所说:"包括机器学习、分析、聊天机器人和区块链在内的诸多新兴技术,完全可以颠覆我们提供服务的方式。"

"IT 正处于前所未有的变革的最前沿。"《CIO 杂志》这样写道。 "每一家企业,现在是技术企业,都面临着即将到来的重大变革:自动化、分散的技术预算、快速采用基于云的服务,以及最近的人工智能,都是企业的当务之急。" 2

除了投资于最新的服务或系统,CIO 还可能需要承担更多责任。 数字化转型需要创新和战略支持。 "对我们来说,CIO 的角色不再是原来的后台技术经理。 没有 CIO 参与,董事会就开不起来。"一位 IT 高管这样说。

"我认为,CIO 必须更精通业务。"另一位高管指出。 "我们必须融入业务,扎根于业务,这样才能知道如何运用技术解决业务挑战,从行业的角度展望未来。"


有效 IT 管理的主要特点

监督当前的 IT 项目和运行始终是 IT 管理的主要任务。 但是,如今的 CIO 需要以全新的创新方式运用技术,帮助企业跟上快速变革的步伐。

IT 管理软件和工具可提供帮助。 数据、分析以及云计算是 CIO 已经涉足的一些领域。 与此同时,他们也在探索人工智能(AI)、物联网(IoT)等技术,以便为将来做好准备。

分析

分析解决方案可以快速挖掘 TB 级的运营数据,快速查找对服务造成影响的根本原因。 它有助于发现潜在的瓶颈、预测中断和显著提高效率。 组织能够深入了解数据或者处理问题、负面 IT 趋势和异常情况的方式,从而能够更轻松地采取措施,避免系统陷入混乱。

除了深入了解内部状况,分析还提供洞察,帮助企业更好地了解客户,这反过来又可以促进业务战略。

云计算

云服务提供可扩展性、数据安全性、数据恢复服务等功能。 使用云有助于提高效率,降低基础架构的成本。 它可以让企业的所有方面受益,包括运营和财务部门,并帮助组织为将来的变革性云解决方案做好准备。

许多企业在大型机上托管核心业务应用,每天处理数以百万计的事务。 云支持帮助 IT 部门实现大型机系统现代化,使 CIO 能够集中精力处理其他优先任务。 组织可以实现更高水平的生产力和绩效,并减少相关开销。

人工智能和认知计算

AI 系统分析数据,进行学习和预测问题,以帮助 IT 经理提高服务质量。 此外,基于 AI 的聊天机器人可以作为虚拟客服,与用户进行交谈以解决技术问题。 客户还可以使用它们来了解产品和服务。 未来,认知计算会成为帮助企业管理 IT 和加快创新的关键要素。

物联网

IoT 平台收集来自设备和传感器的数据并进行分析,以主动解决问题,提高生产力。 IT 经理可以快速获得洞察,了解组织在哪些方面表现出色,哪些方面有待改进。

认知学习进一步帮助企业发挥 IoT 的价值。 首先,它可以组合多个数据流,有效识别模式,并提供其他方法无法获得的更多上下文。 智能传感器也有潜力进行自我诊断,根据环境状况进行调整,而不需要人为干预。


IT 管理解决方案

IBM Cloud Paks

一种更迅速、更可靠的现代化和云迁移方法。


智能 IT 运营

构建 AIOps 之旅,实现 IT 运营转型。


员工身份和访问管理 (IAM)

通过云交付的单点登录 (SSO)、多因子认证和身份监管为用户生产力保驾护航。


服务器和存储基础架构

面向本地 IT 和企业混合云的服务器、存储器和软件。


Db2 on Cloud

全面管理的 SQL 云数据库。 支持轻松部署和按需扩展


面向 IBM Z 的 IT 系统管理

通过高效的系统管理和运营洞察,优化复杂的云环境。



引文

"2018 年数据泄露成本研究" (PDF, 1.6 MB) 全球概述,Ponemon Institute LLC

塑造 IT 未来的 9 种力量”(链接位于 ibm.com 之外) IDG Communications, Inc.

What is IT management?

IT management refers to the monitoring and administration of an organization’s information technology systems: hardware, software and networks. IT management focuses on how to make information systems operate efficiently. Just as important, it’s about helping people work better.

Increasing numbers of organizations are putting IT at the center of their strategies. In the digital world, IT departments are tasked to do more than ever and are becoming a fulcrum for reinvention.

“The digital workplace merges work and life – a virtual space with applications, services and information on demand,” says Forbes Insights. “For users, this means access to the technology they need, when they need it, on whichever device they prefer to use.”

IT management essentials

An IT environment consists of a multitude of hardware, network and software components including computers, servers, routers, applications, microservices and mobile technologies. An IT infrastructure can be on premises, in the cloud or on a hybrid platform that integrates both.

IT managers monitor and govern IT systems to ensure they’re always available and function reliably. IT management responsibilities and tasks include:

  • Determining business requirements for IT systems
  • Managing IT budgets and costs
  • Monitoring safety and compliance
  • Controlling system and network security 
  • Implementing new software, hardware and data systems
  • Providing technical or help desk support

IT departments are usually headed by Chief Information Officers (CIOs). They determine IT strategies and goals for the business and ensure they’re implemented.

Many CIOs believe their roles will evolve in the next two to three years. They expect to shift from maintenance and management to higher-value, strategic activities. A key responsibility will be to “implement meaningful digital change through the creation of new tools, solutions and business models.”

Why IT management is important

IT underpins almost all enterprise activity. Automation, data processing and always-on connectivity have opened the door to previously unimagined capabilities and efficiencies. It may be impossible to separate technology from daily business operations.

At the same time, an organization is vulnerable when systems underperform or fail. A down network, lost data or malware can severely impact day to day operations. The average cost of a data breach in the US, for example, is $3.86 million. (1)

IT management practices ensure that information technologies are secure, highly available and perform at their peak.

CIOs also take a lead role in adopting new systems to improve operations. Suggests an IT executive: “Emerging technologies, such as machine learning, analytics, chatbots and blockchain, can completely revolutionize our way of offering services.”

“IT is on the precipice of unprecedented change,” says CIO magazine. “Every company, now in the business of technology, is experiencing glimmers of larger shifts to come: automation, decentralized technology budgets, rapid adoption of cloud-based services, and most recently, artificial intelligence as a business necessity.” (2)

CIOs may need to do more than invest in the latest service or system. Digital transformation requires innovation and strategic enablement. “For us, the CIO’s role is no longer the old back-office technology manager. There’s no boardroom conversation that happens without the CIO involved,” notes one IT executive.

"I think CIOs have to become more business savvy,” notes another. “We have to be integrated and ingrained in the business, so we know how to use technology to resolve business challenges and make things forward-looking from an industry perspective.”

Key features of effective IT management

Overseeing current IT projects and operations will always be part of an IT management mandate. But today's CIOs will need to use technology in new, innovative ways to help the business keep pace with rapid change.

IT management software and tools can help. Data and analytics, as well as cloud, are some of the areas CIOs have pursued. At the same time, they’re looking at artificial intelligence (AI), Internet of Things (IoT) and more to prepare for the future.

Analytics

An analytics solution can mine terabytes of operational data quickly to find the root cause of service impacts. It helps identify potential bottlenecks, predict outages and drive greater efficiency. Organizations gain insights into data or processing issues, negative IT trends and anomalies – making it easier to take steps to avoid system chaos.

Beyond in-house optics, analytics provide insights to help enterprises better understand their customers – which in turn can drive business strategy.

Cloud computing

Cloud services offer scalability, data security, data recovery services and more. Using the cloud can improve efficiencies and reduce infrastructure costs. It can benefit all aspects of the business, from operations to finance, and help position the organization for transformative cloud-based solutions in future.

Many enterprises host core business applications on mainframes, which process millions of transactions each day. Cloud enablement helps IT departments modernize their mainframe systems – while freeing up CIOs to focus on other priorities. Organizations benefit from higher levels of productivity and performance with less overhead.

AI and cognitive computing

AI systems analyze data, learn and predict problems to help IT managers deliver better service quality. As well, AI-based chatbots can function as virtual agents, talking with users to resolve technical issues. Customers can also use them to learn about products and services. Moving ahead, cognitive computing may become vital to helping enterprises manage IT and accelerate innovation.

IoT

IoT platforms collect and analyze data from devices and sensors, helping to proactively resolve issues and improve productivity. IT managers can quickly derive insights into what the organization is doing right – and what it could be doing better.

Cognitive learning further enables business to unlock IoT value. For one, it could combine multiple data streams to identify patterns and provide more context than would otherwise be available. Intelligent sensors too have the potential to self-diagnose and adapt to their environment without the need for human intervention.

Featured products

IBM Netcool Operations Insight

Modernize and simplify IT operations with machine learning and container based deployment to rapidly identify, isolate and resolve issues.

IBM Operations Analytics

Provides advanced AI operations with machine learning to proactively avoid outages and drive automation.

IBM Cloud Identity

Secure user productivity with cloud delivered Single Sign-On (SSO), multifactor authentication and identity governance.

IBM Cloud Management for Hybrid Deployment

Supports smarter management and business decisions across cloud, hybrid and traditional environments using a new flexible consumption model.

IBM Db2 on Cloud

A fully managed SQL cloud database. Easily deploy and scale on demand.

IBM Z

Optimize complex cloud environments with efficient systems management and operational insights.