什么是量子计算?
观看 IBM Quantum 量子计算系统 (04:31) 通往量子安全保障之路
描绘量子计算的插图
什么是量子计算?

量子计算利用专门技术(包括计算机硬件和利用量子力学的算法)来解决传统计算机或超级计算机无法解决或无法快速解决的复杂问题。

如今,IBM Quantum 为数十万开发人员提供了真正的量子硬件,这是一种科学家在三十年前才开始想象的工具。我们的工程师定期推出功能更强大的超导量子处理器,同时在软件和量子传统编排协调方面也取得了重要进展。这项工作将推动实现改变世界所需的量子计算速度和能力。

这些机器与已有半个多世纪历史的传统计算机截然不同。以下是这项变革性技术的入门指南。

了解有关 IBM Quantum 系统的更多信息
开始量子安全之旅

了解量子计算机带来的威胁,并开始采取行动为量子安全密码学做好准备。

相关内容

注册获取有关最受欢迎服务器平台的报告

为什么我们需要量子计算机?

当科学家和工程师遇到难题时,他们会求助于超级计算机。这些都是非常大型的传统计算机,通常拥有数千个传统 CPU 和 GPU 内核,能够运行非常庞大的计算和先进的人工智能。然而,即使超级计算机也是基于二进制代码的机器,依赖于 20 世纪的晶体管技术。他们努力解决某些类型的问题。

如果超级计算机被难住了,那可能是因为这台大型传统计算机被要求解决一个复杂度很高的问题。当传统计算机出现故障时,往往是由于复杂性造成的。

复杂问题是指大量变量以复杂方式相互作用的问题。模拟分子中单个原子的行为是一个复杂的问题,因为所有不同的电子都会相互影响。识别金融交易中微妙的欺诈模式或超级对撞机中的新物理学也是复杂的问题。有些复杂的问题,我们不知道如何用任何规模的传统计算机来解决。

现实世界依靠量子物理学运行。在许多情况下,利用量子比特的量子态进行计算的计算机应该是我们理解量子比特的最佳工具。

量子计算机用于何处? Mercedes-Benz 探索电动汽车的未来 ExxonMobil 致力于解决复杂的能源挑战 欧洲核子研究组织正在努力解释宇宙之谜
量子计算机为何更快

让我们来看一个例子,看看量子计算机如何在传统计算机失败的地方取得成功:

传统计算机可能很擅长完成一些困难的任务,比如对庞大的分子数据库进行分类。但在解决更复杂的问题时,比如模拟这些分子的行为方式时,它就显得力不从心了。

如今,如果科学家想知道一种分子的行为方式,他们必须合成这种分子,并在现实世界中进行实验。如果他们想知道一个细微的调整会对其行为产生怎样的影响,他们通常需要合成新的版本,然后重新进行实验。这个过程既昂贵又耗时,阻碍了医学和半导体设计等不同领域的进步。

一台传统的超级计算机可能会试图用蛮力来模拟分子行为,通过使用其众多处理器来探索分子每个部分可能的行为方式。但当它越过最简单、最直接的分子时,超级计算机就会停滞不前。没有一台计算机拥有足够的工作内存,可以使用任何已知方法处理所有可能的分子行为排列组合。

量子算法采用了一种新方法来解决这类复杂问题:创建多维计算空间。事实证明,在解决化学模拟等复杂问题时,这种方法的效率要高得多。

我们没有好办法用传统计算机创建这些计算空间,这就限制了它们在没有量子计算的情况下的用途。工业化学家已经在探索如何将量子方法融入他们的工作中。这只是一个示例。工程公司、金融机构、全球航运公司等都在探索量子计算机可以解决其领域重要问题的用例。量子研究与开发带来的爆炸性收益正在初步形成。随着量子硬件的扩展和量子算法的进步,许多重要的大问题,如分子模拟,都应该能找到解决方案。

量子计算机如何工作?

量子计算机是优雅的机器,与超级计算机相比,体积更小,所需的能源也更少。 IBM Quantum 量子计算处理器是一块晶片,比笔记本电脑中的晶片大不了多少。 量子硬件系统大约有汽车那么大,主要由冷却系统组成,旨在使超导处理器保持超低运行温度。

经典处理器使用比特来执行操作。 而量子计算机则使用量子比特(CUE 比特)来运行多维量子算法。

超流体
您的台式计算机可能会使用风扇来冷却到适宜的工作温度。 而我们的量子处理器则需要非常低的温度 - 大约比绝对零度高百分之一度。 为了实现这一目标,我们使用超冷超流体来制造超导体。

超导体
在这些超低温度下,我们处理器中的某些材料表现出另一种重要的量子力学效应:电子可以毫无阻力地穿过这些材料。 这使它们成为“超导体”。 

当电子通过超导体时,它们会配对,形成"库珀对"。这些对可以通过名为"量子隧穿"的过程,携带电荷穿过势垒或绝缘体。 放置在绝缘体两侧的两个超导体形成约瑟夫森结

控制
我们的量子计算机使用约瑟夫森结作为超导量子比特。 通过向这些量子比特发射微波光子,我们可以控制它们的行为,并让它们保存、更改和读出单个量子信息单元。

叠加
量子比特本身并不是很有用。 但它可以执行一个重要的技巧:将它保存的量子信息置于叠加状态,这代表了量子比特所有可能配置的组合。 叠加的量子比特组可以创建复杂的多维计算空间。 在这些空间中,可以用新的方式来表示复杂的问题。

纠缠
纠缠是一种量子力学效应,可将两个独立事物的行为关联起来。 当两个量子比特纠缠在一起时,其中一个量子比特的变化就会直接影响到另一个。 量子算法利用这些关系来寻找复杂问题的解决方案

让量子计算机发挥作用

目前 IBM Quantum 在量子计算硬件和软件方面处于世界领先地位。我们的路线图是一个清晰、详细的计划,用于扩展量子处理器,克服扩展问题,并在嘈杂的量子机器时代构建实现量子优势所需的硬件。

如今,量子计算领域的大量工作都致力于实现纠错,一种能够在超大型量子计算机上进行无噪量子计算的技术。

IBM 和其他公司最近的研究表明,在不久的将来,甚至在纠错技术出现之前,嘈杂的量子计算机就可以通过使用被称为“错误缓解”的技术来完成有用的工作。

多年来,IBM 一直在开发完成这些有用工作所需的软件。我们推出了 Qiskit 量子 SDK。它是开源的,基于 Python,是迄今为止世界上使用最广泛的量子 SDK,既可在 IBM 的超导量子计算机机群上执行,也可在使用磁场中离子捕获等替代性技术的系统上执行。

我们开发了 Qiskit Runtime,这是世界上最强大的量子编程模型。(在下一节中了解有关 Qiskit 和 Qiskit Runtime 以及如何开始的更多信息。)

要实现量子优势,需要采用新方法来抑制误差、提高速度并协调量子资源和传统资源。今天,IBM 与我们在工业界、学术界和初创企业的合作伙伴正在 Qiskit Runtime 中为这项工作奠定基础。

量子计算入门

IBM 的量子计算机是使用 Qiskit(我们基于 python 的开源量子 SDK)进行编程的。Qiskit 的模块涵盖金融、化学、优化和机器学习领域的应用。

  • 查看文档,快速入门,并详细了解我们的开发人员工具套件。
  • 构建研究和开发级代码,以便在模拟器或真实硬件上运行。
  • 加入我们由超过 400,000 名用户组成的不断壮大的社区。

准备好应对更大的工作负载了吗?使用 Qiskit Runtime 规模化执行,这是我们用于高效构建和扩展工作负载的量子编程模型。Qiskit Runtime 使用户能够部署定制的量子-传统应用,在全球最高性能的量子系统上轻松访问高性能计算混合计算。

Qiskit Runtime 提供了一个将量子电路与传统处理交织在一起的执行环境,可原生加速某些量子程序的执行。这意味着在世界领先的量子系统上,迭代速度更快、延迟时间更短、计算时间更自由:Qiskit Runtime 基于云的执行模型在模拟分子行为时速度提高了 120 倍。

相关解决方案
商用 Quantum

如今,全球企业都在为迎接量子计算时代做好准备。了解我们的行业专家如何帮助客户利用这项技术获得竞争优势。

立即开始
面向开发人员的 Quantum

在 IBM Quantum 系统(世界上最流行、功能最强大的量子硬件)上构建能以全新方式解决问题的程序。

了解我们的开源 SDK
IBM Quantum Safe

保护量子计算时代的世界数字基础设施。

立即保护您的数据
量子计算资源 IBM Quantum 路线图

这些是我们从现在到 2026 年推动量子技术发展的承诺。

IBM Quantum 案例研究

了解公司和机构为何与 IBM 合作进行量子计算创新。

以量子为中心的超级计算:下一轮计算浪潮

了解 IBM Quantum 的使命是将有用的量子计算带给世界。

量子计算研究

量子计算为各个研究学科带来了耳目一新的多种新可能性。向世界各地的专家了解更多详情。

OpenShift 上的量子计算工作流程

了解 OpenShift 和 IBM Quantum 系统后端如何携手在 Kubernetes 集群上实现量子工作流。

采取后续步骤

量子计算机会使世界上大多数现有的加密算法变得过时。IBM 开发了许多基础技术,确保量子时代整个地球的安全,现在还提供实施这些技术所需的工具和服务。欢迎使用我们的应用程序套件来支持您的量子研究和开发需求。

深入了解 IBM Quantum

What is quantum computing?
Explore IBM's quantum solution Subscribe to the IBM Newsletter
Illustration depicting quantum computing
What is quantum computing?

Quantum computing uses specialized technology—including computer hardware and algorithms that take advantage of quantum mechanics—to solve complex problems that classical computers or supercomputers can’t solve, or can’t solve quickly enough.

Today, IBM Quantum makes real quantum hardware—a tool that scientists only began to imagine three decades ago—available to hundreds of thousands of developers. Our engineers deliver ever-more-powerful superconducting quantum processors at regular intervals, alongside crucial advances in software and quantum-classical orchestration. This work drives toward the quantum computing speed and capacity necessary to change the world. 

These machines are very different from the classical computers that have been around for more than half a century. Here's a primer on this transformative technology.

Learn more about IBM Quantum Systems
Start your journey toward quantum-safe security

Learn about threats posed by quantum computers and start to take action to prepare for quantum-safe cryptography.

Related content

Register for the report on the most popular server platforms

Why do we need quantum computers?

When scientists and engineers encounter difficult problems, they turn to supercomputers. These are very large classical computers, often with thousands of classical CPU and GPU cores capable of running very large calculations and advanced artificial intelligence. However, even supercomputers are binary code-based machines reliant on 20th-century transistor technology. They struggle to solve certain kinds of problems.

If a supercomputer gets stumped, that's probably because the big classical machine was asked to solve a problem with a high degree of complexity. When classical computers fail, it's often due to complexity.

Complex problems are problems with lots of variables interacting in complicated ways. Modeling the behavior of individual atoms in a molecule is a complex problem, because of all the different electrons interacting with one another. Identifying subtle patterns of fraud in financial transactions or new physics in a supercollider are also complex problems. There are some complex problems that we do not know how to solve with classical computers at any scale.

The real world runs on quantum physics. Computers that make calculations by using the quantum states of quantum bits should in many situations be our best tools for understanding it.

Where are quantum computers used?
Why quantum computers are faster

Let's look at an example that shows how quantum computers can succeed where classical computers fail:

A classical computer might be great at difficult tasks like sorting through a big database of molecules. But it struggles to solve more complex problems, like simulating how those molecules behave.

Today, if scientists want to know how a molecule will behave they must synthesize it and experiment with it in the real world. If they want to know how a slight tweak would impact its behavior, they usually need to synthesize the new version and run their experiment all over again. This is an expensive, time-consuming process that impedes progress in fields as diverse as medicine and semiconductor design.

A classical supercomputer might try to simulate molecular behavior with brute force, by using its many processors to explore every possible way every part of the molecule might behave. But as it moves past the simplest, most straightforward molecules available, the supercomputer stalls. No computer has the working memory to handle all the possible permutations of molecular behavior by using any known methods.

Quantum algorithms take a new approach to these sorts of complex problems—creating multidimensional computational spaces. This turns out to be a much more efficient way of solving complex problems like chemical simulations.

We do not have a good way to create these computational spaces with classical computers, which limits their usefulness without quantum computation. Industrial chemists are already exploring ways to integrate quantum methods into their work. This is just one example. Engineering firms, financial institutions, global shipping companies—among others—are exploring use cases where quantum computers could solve important problems in their fields. An explosion of benefits from quantum research and development is taking shape on the horizon. As quantum hardware scales and quantum algorithms advance, many big, important problems like molecular simulation should find solutions.

How do quantum computers work?

An IBM Quantum processor is a wafer not much bigger than the one found in a laptop. And a quantum hardware system is about the size of a car, made up mostly of cooling systems to keep the superconducting processor at its ultra-cold operational temperature.

A classical processor uses classical bits to perform its operations. A quantum computer uses qubits (CUE-bits) to run multidimensional quantum algorithms.

Superconductors

Your desktop computer likely uses a fan to get cold enough to work. Our quantum processors need to be very cold–about a hundredth of a degree above absolute zero—to avoid “decoherence,” or retain their quantum states. To achieve this, we use super-cooled superfluids. At these ultra-low temperatures certain materials exhibit an important quantum mechanical effect: electrons move through them without resistance. This makes them "superconductors."  

When electrons pass through superconductors they match up, forming "Cooper pairs." These pairs can carry a charge across barriers, or insulators, through a process known as quantum tunneling. Two superconductors placed on either side of an insulator form a Josephson junction.

Control

Our quantum computers use Josephson junctions as superconducting qubits. By firing microwave photons at these qubits, we can control their behavior and get them to hold, change and read out individual units of quantum information.

Superposition

A qubit itself isn't very useful. But it can perform an important trick: placing the quantum information it holds into a state of superposition, which represents a combination of all possible configurations of the qubit. Groups of qubits in superposition can create complex, multidimensional computational spaces. Complex problems can be represented in new ways in these spaces.

Entanglement

Quantum entanglement is an effect that correlates the behavior of two separate things. Physicists have found that when two qubits are entangled, changes to one qubit directly impact the other.

Interference

In an environment of entanged qubits placed into a state of superposition, there are waves of probabilities. These are the probabilities of the outcomes of a measurement of the system. These waves can build on each other when many of them peak at a particular outcome, or cancel each other out when peaks and troughs interact. These are both forms of interference.

A computation on a quantum computer works by preparing a superposition of all possibile computational states. A quantum circuit, prepared by the user, uses interference selectively on the components of the superposition according to an algorithm. Many possible outcomes are cancelled out through interference, while others are amplified. The amplified outcomes are the solutions to the computation.

Making quantum computers useful

Right now, IBM Quantum leads the world in quantum computing hardware and software. Our Roadmap is a clear, detailed plan to scale quantum processors, overcome the scaling problem, and build the hardware necessary for quantum advantage in the era of noisy quantum machines.

Today, a great deal of the work in the field of quantum computing is devoted to realizing error correction—a technique that would enable noise-free quantum computation on very large quantum computers.

Recent work from IBM and elsewhere has shown that noisy quantum computers might be able to do useful work in the near future, even before the advent of error correction, by using techniques known as error mitigation.

IBM has spent years advancing the software that will be necessary to do that useful work. We introduced the Qiskit quantum SDK. It is open source, Python-based, and by far the most widely-used quantum SDK in the world—useful for executions both on IBM’s fleet of superconducting quantum computers and on systems that use alternative technologies like ions trapped in magnetic fields.

We developed Qiskit Runtime, the most powerful quantum programming model in the world. (Learn more about both Qiskit and Qiskit Runtime, and how to get started, in the next section.)

Achieving quantum advantage requires new methods of suppressing errors, increasing speed and orchestrating quantum and classical resources. The foundations of that work are being laid today in Qiskit Runtime by IBM and our partners in industry, academia and startups.

Get started

IBM's quantum computers are programmed by using Qiskit, our open-source, python-based quantum SDK. Qiskit has modules that cover applications in finance, chemistry, optimization and machine learning.

  • Check out the documentation to get started quickly and learn more about our suite of developer tools.
  • Build research and development-level code to run on simulators or real hardware.
  • Join our growing community of 400,000+ users.

Ready for larger workloads? Execute at scale with Qiskit Runtime, our quantum programming model for efficiently building and scaling workloads. Qiskit Runtime enables users to deploy custom quantum-classical applications with easy access to HPC hybrid computations on the highest performing quantum systems in the world.

Qiskit Runtime provides an execution environment for weaving together quantum circuits with classical processing, natively accelerating the execution of certain quantum programs. This means faster iteration, reduced latency and more uninhibited compute time on the world's leading quantum systems: Qiskit Runtime's cloud-based execution model demonstrated a 120x speedup in simulating molecular behavior.

Related solutions
Quantum for business

Global businesses are readying themselves today for the era of quantum computing. See how our industry experts prepare our clients to use this technology for competitive advantage.

Get started today
Quantum for developers

Build programs that solve problems in new ways on IBM Quantum systems—the most popular and powerful quantum hardware in the world.

Learn about our open-source SDK
IBM Quantum Safe

Securing the world’s digital infrastructure for the era of quantum computing.

Secure your data today
Resources The IBM Quantum roadmap

These are our commitments to advance quantum technology between now and 2026.

IBM Quantum case studies

Learn why companies and institutions are partnering with IBM for quantum computing innovation.

Quantum-centric supercomputing: the next wave of computing

Learn about IBM Quantum’s mission is to bring useful quantum computing to the world.

Quantum computing research

Quantum computing opens dazzling new possibilities across research disciplines. Learn about them from world experts.

Quantum workflows on OpenShift

Discover how OpenShift and IBM Quantum system back end work hand-in-hand to enable quantum workflow on a Kubernetes cluster.

Take the next step

Quantum computers make most of the world’s existing encryption algorithms obsolete. IBM developed many of the foundational technologies that will secure the world in the quantum era, and now offers the tools and services needed to implement them. Use our suite of applications to support your quantum research and development needs.

Explore IBM Quantum