什么是 REST API?
深入了解 IBM 的 REST API 解决方案 订阅 AI 主题最新消息
API 管理 UI 图像
什么是 REST API?

REST API(也称为 RESTful API 或 RESTful Web API)是一种 应用程序编程接口 (API),它符合 具象状态传输 (REST) 架构风格的设计原则。REST API 提供了一种灵活、轻量级的方式来集成应用程序并连接微服务架构中的组件。

REST 最早是由计算机科学家 Roy Fielding 博士于 2000 年在他的博士论文中定义,它为开发人员提供了相对较高的灵活性、可扩展性和效率。出于这些原因,REST API 已成为在微服务架构中连接组件和应用程序的常用方法。

剖析有关可观察性的常见理解误区

这本电子书旨在破除有关可观测性的误解,并展示其在数字世界中的作用。

相关内容

阅读智能自动化指南

了解 AI 如何优化基于 API 的代理
REST 设计原则 在最基本的层面上,API 是一种机制,它支持应用程序或服务访问另一个应用程序或服务中的资源。访问资源的应用程序或服务是客户端,包含资源的应用程序或服务是服务器。 一些 API,例如 SOAP 或 XML-RPC,对开发人员规定了严格的框架。但是开发人员可以使用几乎任何编程语言开发 REST API,并支持各种数据格式。唯一的要求是,它们符合以下六个 REST 设计原则 – 也称为架构约束: 统一接口

无论请求来自何处,对同一资源发出的所有 API 请求都应该看起来相同。REST API 应确保同一份数据(例如,用户的姓名或电子邮件地址)仅属于一个统一资源标识符 (URI)。资源不应太大,但应包含客户可能需要的每条信息。

客户端与服务器解耦

在 REST API 设计中,客户端和服务器应用程序必须完全相互独立。客户端应用程序应该知道的唯一信息是所请求资源的 URI,它不能以任何其他方式与服务器应用程序交互。同样,除了通过 HTTP 将客户端应用程序传递到所请求的数据外,服务器应用程序不应修改客户端应用程序。

无状态

REST API 是无状态的,这意味着每个请求都需要包含处理它所需的所有信息。换言之,REST API 不需要任何服务器端会话。不允许服务器应用程序存储与客户端请求相关的任何数据。

可缓存性

如果可能,资源应该可以在客户端或服务器端缓存。服务器响应还需要包含有关是否允许对已交付资源进行缓存的信息。目标是提高客户端的性能,同时提高服务器端的可扩展性。

分层系统架构

在 REST API 中,调用和响应会经过多个不同的层。根据经验,不要假定客户端和服务器应用程序直接相互连接。通信环路中可能包含多个不同的中介服务器。REST API 的设计需要确保客户端和服务器都无法判断自己是与最终应用程序还是与中介服务器通信。

按需编码(可选)

REST API 通常发送静态资源,但在某些情况下,响应也可以包含可执行代码(例如 Java 小程序)。在这些情况下,代码只应按需运行。

REST API 的工作原理

REST API 通过 HTTP 请求进行通信,执行标准的数据库功能,如在资源中创建、读取、更新和删除记录(也称为 CRUD)。

例如,REST API 会使用 GET 请求来检索记录。POST 请求用于创建新记录。PUT 请求用于更新记录,DELETE 请求用于删除记录。所有 HTTP 方法都可以在 API 调用中使用。精心设计的 REST API 类似于在具有内置 HTTP 功能的 Web 浏览器中运行的网站。

任何特定时刻或时间戳的资源状态称为资源表示。几乎可以采用任何格式将该信息传递到客户端,包括 JavaScript 对象表示法 (JSON)、HTML、XLT、Python、PHP 或纯文本。JSON 很受欢迎,因为它既能被人类读取,也能被机器读取,而且与编程语言无关。

在 REST API 调用中,请求标头和参数也很重要,因为它们包含重要的标识信息,例如元数据、授权、统一资源标识符 (URI)、缓存、cookie 等。精心设计的 REST API 中会使用请求标头和响应标头以及传统的 HTTP 状态代码。

 

REST API 最佳实践

尽管灵活性是 REST API 设计的一大优势,但是这种灵活性同样也容易设计出不连续或性能不佳的 API。因此,专业开发人员分享了 REST API 规范的最佳实践。

OpenAPI 规范 (OAS) 建立了一个接口来描述 API,该描述方式支持任何开发人员或应用程序发现它,并完全理解其参数与能力。这些信息包括可用端点、每个端点上允许的操作、操作参数、身份验证方法等。最新版本的 OAS3 包括手动操作工具,例如 OpenAPI Generator,可以用不同的编程语言生成 API 客户端和服务器存根。

确保 REST API 的安全也要从行业最佳实践开始。使用哈希算法确保密码安全,使用 HTTPS 实现安全数据传输。类似 OAuth 2.0 的授权框架可以帮助限制第三方应用程序的权限。

使用 HTTP 标头中的时间戳,API 还可以拒绝在特定时间段后到达的任何请求。其他确保只有授权客户端才能访问 API 的方法包括参数验证和 JSON Web 令牌。

相关解决方案 IBM API Connect

通过 IBM API Connect 的安全 API 管理可以跨多云管理您的 API 生命周期,促成整体业务生态系统实现社交化,并优化经济效益。

集成解决方案

借助集成解决方案实现连接、自动化并释放业务潜力

iPaaS 解决方案

连接应用程序、数据、业务流程和服务,无论它们是托管在本地、私有云中还是公共云环境中。

资源 什么是 API?

了解应用程序编程接口 (API) 如何使应用程序能够轻松安全地交换数据和功能,从而简化软件开发和创新。

什么是 API 管理?

了解 API 管理以及统一 API 管理平台如何帮助您的组织扩大规模。

2023 年 Gartner 关键能力报告

阅读 2023 年 Gartner《全生命周期 API 管理关键功能》报告,详细了解 Gartner 为何将 IBM 评为领导者。

采取后续步骤

使用 IBM API Connect 在整个生命周期中保护和管理企业 API。它可以帮助您和您的客户持续创建、管理、保护企业 API,促进其社交化并实现经济效益,还可以在 IBM Marketplace 和 AWS 上作为高度可扩展 API 管理平台使用。

探索 API Connect 预约实时演示

What is a REST API?
Explore IBM's REST API solution Subscribe to AI Topic Updates
API management UI image
What is a REST API?

A REST API (also called a RESTful API or RESTful web API) is an application programming interface (API) that conforms to the design principles of the representational state transfer (REST) architectural style. REST APIs provide a flexible, lightweight way to integrate applications and to connect components in microservices architectures.
 

First, defined in 2000 by computer scientist Dr. Roy Fielding in his doctoral dissertation, REST provides a relatively high level of flexibility, scalability and efficiency for developers. For these reasons, REST APIs have emerged as a common method for connecting components and applications in a microservices architecture.

Debunking the myths of observability

This ebook aims to debunk myths surrounding observability and showcase its role in the digital world.

Related content

Read a guide to intelligent automation

Learn how AI optimizes API-based agents
REST design principles At the most basic level, an API is a mechanism that enables an application or service to access a resource within another application or service. The application or service that accesses resources is the client, and the application or service that contains the resource is the server. Some APIs, such as SOAP or XML-RPC, impose a strict framework on developers. But developers can develop REST APIs using virtually any programming language and support a variety of data formats. The only requirement is that they align to these six REST design principles - also known as architectural constraints: Uniform interface

All API requests for the same resource should look the same, no matter where the request comes from. The REST API should ensure that the same piece of data, such as the name or email address of a user, belongs to only one uniform resource identifier (URI). Resources shouldn’t be too large but should contain every piece of information that the client might need.

Client-server decoupling

In REST API design, client and server applications must be completely independent of each other. The only information that the client application should know is the URI of the requested resource; it can't interact with the server application in any other ways. Similarly, a server application shouldn't modify the client application other than passing it to the requested data via HTTP.

Statelessness

REST APIs are stateless, meaning that each request needs to include all the information necessary for processing it. In other words, REST APIs do not require any server-side sessions. Server applications aren’t allowed to store any data related to a client request.

Cacheability

When possible, resources should be cacheable on the client or server side. Server responses also need to contain information about whether caching is allowed for the delivered resource. The goal is to improve performance on the client side, while increasing scalability on the server side.

Layered system architecture

In REST APIs, the calls and responses go through different layers. As a rule of thumb, don’t assume that the client, and server applications connect directly to each other. There may be a number of different intermediaries in the communication loop. REST APIs need to be designed so that neither the client nor the server can tell whether it communicates with the end application or an intermediary.

Code on demand (optional)

REST APIs usually send static resources, but in certain cases, responses can also contain executable code (such as Java applets). In these cases, the code should only run on-demand.

How REST APIs work

REST APIs communicate through HTTP requests to perform standard database functions like creating, reading, updating and deleting records (also known as CRUD) within a resource.

For example, a REST API would use a GET request to retrieve a record. A POST request creates a new record. A PUT request updates a record, and a DELETE request deletes one. All HTTP methods can be used in API calls. A well-designed REST API is similar to a website running in a web browser with built-in HTTP functionality.

The state of a resource at any particular instant, or timestamp, is known as the resource representation. This information can be delivered to a client in virtually any format including JavaScript Object Notation (JSON), HTML, XLT, Python, PHP or plain text. JSON is popular because it’s readable by both humans and machines—and it is programming language-agnostic.

Request headers and parameters are also important in REST API calls because they include important identifier information such as metadata, authorizations, uniform resource identifiers (URIs), caching, cookies and more. Request headers and response headers, along with conventional HTTP status codes, are used within well-designed REST APIs.

 

REST API best practices

Although flexibility is a big advantage of REST API design, that same flexibility makes it easy to design an API that’s broken or performs poorly. For this reason, professional developers share best practices in REST API specifications.

The OpenAPI Specification (OAS) establishes an interface for describing an API in a way that allows any developer or application to discover it and fully understand its parameters and capabilities. This information includes available endpoints, allowed operations on each endpoint, operation parameters, authentication methods and more. The latest version, OAS3, includes with hands-on tools, such as the OpenAPI Generator, for generating API clients and server stubs in different programming languages.

Securing a REST API also starts with industry best practices. Use hashing algorithms for password security and HTTPS for secure data transmission. An authorization framework like OAuth 2.0 can help limit the privileges of third-party applications.

Using a timestamp in the HTTP header, an API can also reject any request that arrives after a certain time period. Parameter validation and JSON Web Tokens are other ways to ensure that only authorized clients can access the API.

Related solutions IBM API Connect®

Manage your API lifecycle across multiple clouds, boost socialization and optimize monetization efforts across your entire business ecosystem with the secure API management of IBM API Connect®.

Integration solutions

Connect, automate and unlock business potential with Integration solutions.

iPaaS Solutions

Connect applications, data, business processes, and services, whether they are hosted on-premises, in a private cloud, or within a public cloud environment.

Resources What is an API?

Learn how application programming interfaces, or APIs, simplify software development and innovation by enabling applications to exchange data and functionality easily and securely.

What is API management?

Learn about API management and how a unified API management platform can help your organization scale.

2023 Gartner Critical Capabilities

Read the 2023 Gartner® Critical Capabilities for Full Lifecycle API Management report for more details on why Gartner recognized IBM named a Leader.

Take the next step

Use IBM API Connect to secure and manage enterprise APIs throughout their lifecycle. It helps you and your customers consistently create, manage, secure, socialize and monetize enterprise APIs, and is also available as a highly scalable API management platform on IBM Marketplace and AWS.

Explore API Connect Book a live demo