什么是网络运营中心 (NOC)?
使用 IBM 解决方案构建您的 NOC 订阅有关云计算的最新消息
显示网络运营中心如何帮助组织保持最佳性能的插图
什么是 NOC?

网络运营中心 (NOC) 可以全天候集中监控和管理计算机、电信或卫星网络系统。它是抵御网络中断和故障的第一道防线。

组织为何使用 NOC?

电信、金融服务、制造业和能源等行业全天候运营,并需要可靠且持续的连接。要保持这种全天候全球运营的现代状态,需要对网络进行持续的监控。这可能使网络服务在传统 IT 服务中难以管理。NOC 为组织执行这种监控,从而快速处理可能影响网络性能的问题,例如识别恶意软件以及管理用户和网站流量数量。NOC 还执行更新和维护并提高网络性能以寻求优化网络。

理想情况下,NOC 团队在幕后工作,最终用户根本不知道他们正在做的工作。如果 NOC 正常工作,最终用户将获得无缝且持续连接的体验,而不会出现长时间停机、恶意软件感染或网络功能不佳等问题。

战略应用程序现代化推动数字化转型

战略应用程序现代化是转型成功的关键之一,可以提高年收入并降低维护和运行成本。

相关内容

注册并获取有关混合云的指南

NOC 的工作方式

NOC 直接与组织合作以监督其复杂的网络环境,包括服务器、数据库、防火墙、设备和相关的外部服务。根据公司的需求,IT 基础设施可能位于本地以及/或者由基于云的提供商提供。

NOC 通常以分层方式运营。事件分为三类,一类是最低级别,例如评估来自基础设施设备的警报,三类是最严重的事件,例如勒索软件攻击或网络中断。如果技术人员不能及时解决问题,则会将问题移交给更有经验的技术人员。然后,NOC 工程师对出现的问题进行故障排除,并寻找防止将来网络停机和连接问题的方法。

一些公司选择在内部运营 NOC,并将基础设施和运营枢纽放在本地,通常位于数据中心内。但对于其他组织,这项工作外包给专门从事网络和基础设施监控和管理的第三方。

NOC 功能

NOC 监督网络系统以管理数据存储,更新软件和确保连接。以下是 NOC 执行的一些任务和操作:

  • 在连接到网络的系统上更新、故障排除和安装软件
  • 管理 IT 基础设施和设备
  • 备份数据并确保可以在网络上访问该数据
  • 提供防病毒支持
  • 监控防火墙和网络安全软件
  • 补丁管理
  • 电子邮件管理服务
  • 网络监控,包括分析网络运行状况、报告性能和网络优化
  • 灾难恢复
NOC 优势

无论是位于内部还是由第三方供应商外包,NOC 都能为公司提供各种优势。

  • 提高 IT 部门效率:通过将 NOC 执行的工作从内部 IT 团队中剥离,员工可以专注于关键项目和新的举措。
  • 可扩展性:随着企业向新的地点和市场扩张,NOC 可以与企业一起发展,并提供每日或季节性流量波动所需的可扩展性。
  • 消除停机:NOC 的全天候功能意味着,始终有人在现场确保所有软件、硬件和网络正常工作。
  • 快速响应事件:NOC 旨在持续监控网络系统,快速发现问题,并在问题出现之前将其扼杀在萌芽状态。这种“始终在线”的设计意味着,可以快速解决事件。
  • 网络优化:NOC 提供有关网络运行状况的实时报告,确定需要改进的领域,并通过这些改进建设更强大的网络。
内部与外包

内部 NOC 需要使用大量的资源,对于一些企业技术或通信公司来说,这种投资是值得的。他们更喜欢在内部管理网络,以保持对网络运营的高度控制。

其他公司、政府机构或大学可能不希望分配大量资源以配备和管理内部团队。对于这些组织,外包 NOC(由技术熟练的专业人员和可信赖的供应商完成该工作)更经济高效,并且工作量更少。对于这些公司,第三方 NOC 提供高质量的标准化网络管理,而无需配备、管理和投资内部团队。由于 NOC 是公司现有员工队伍的补充,因此,还可以让公司的主要技术人员专注于核心业务职能。

NOC 与 SOC 和帮助台

NOC 和安全运营中心 (SOC) 都执行任务关键型职能,但网络运营中心、安全运营中心和帮助台的目标存在重大差异。三者都可以在出现问题时提供帮助,但帮助台通常更侧重于最终用户。让我们看看它们有什么不同。

NOC

如前所述,NOC 专注于网络管理,以确保网络正常运行时间并快速发现问题。它们通常在幕后工作以确保无缝体验。

SOC

SOC 也在幕后工作,但专注于网络和信息安全,从而执行威胁分析并监控客户网络上的攻击。SOC 经过训练,可以在出现问题时及时检测到异常并减轻网络攻击。NOC 的使命是确保全天候网络连接,而 SOC 评估威胁并采取保护措施,以防范最终可能中断全天候网络的攻击。

帮助台

帮助台的职责之一是,查找网络问题。然而,帮助台主要与最终用户交互,例如,遇到网络连接中断的办公人员,或遇到设备连接故障的现场技术人员。NOC 很少与最终用户交互,而是直接与托管服务提供商和/或公司内部 IT 团队一起工作。

两个团队都不是孤立工作的;NOC 也可以随时为帮助台提供支持。例如,如果客户服务代表在登录到网络时遇到问题,将先向帮助台求助。如果帮助台没有解决问题,则会上报给 NOC。

AI 和网络运营

5G、边缘计算和物联网 (IoT) 对电信公司的网络服务提出了更高的要求。拥有数百万个端点的网络可能会使系统监督和事件管理变得非常困难。

Ericsson(ibm.com 外部链接)预测,到 2024 年,将有 15 亿 5G 订户订阅增强移动宽带,并具有 41 亿全球蜂窝 IoT 连接。连接到网络的大量用户和设备正在挑战人类应对所有事件的能力。对数百万个传入警报进行故障排除可能会导致级联问题,这会减慢响应速度并给工程师带来压力。

为了应对这些新产品的复杂性,人工智能 (AI) 和自动化使网络运营能够快速分析传入数据,并在数百万个端点中出现问题时进行修复。此外,AI 的高级分析和机器学习功能还可以将 NOC 从被动操作转变为主动操作。

以这种方式使用 AI 被称为网络可观察性。它将许多低级决策活动(如故障排除或容量规划)从工程师转移到网络可观察性工具,并在其中解决这些问题。结果是减少了工程师的机械性工作,减少了将常见问题上报给更高层级,并且工程师有更多时间专注于更大的问题和网络优化。

通信服务提供商 (CSP) 如何使用 AI 技术就是一个例子。AI 可以更深入地了解网络系统的整体运行方式,而不仅仅是逐个分析设备。这些工具将 CSP 转变为更自动化的网络运营,并在影响客户之前解决问题。

NOC 成功案例

Nextel 在巴西拥有 400 多万订户,并一直想方法改进网络运营技术,以保持正常运行时间并最大限度减少中断。服务时间尤其具有挑战性,平均需要 30 分钟以响应网络事件。Nextel 设法将响应操作从被动响应转变为主动响应,并进一步预测响应以满足用户的期望并减少停机。

Nextel 使用 IBM Netcool Operations Insight 监控包含 25,000 多个元素的网络。为了提高预测性,它结合了 IBM Watson® 认知技术以提供更好的网络性能洞察,并找出问题区域。

通过使用这种 AI 技术,Nextel 的网络事件响应时间缩短了 83%,从 30 分钟缩短到 5 分钟。更重要的是,Nextel 能够为全天候依赖移动连接的客户提供更好的服务。

IBM 解决方案
IBM Cloud Pak for Network Automation

了解智能云平台如何实现网络运营自动化和编排。

体验 IBM Cloud Pak® 在网络自动化方面的价值
IBM 可观察性

了解 IBM 的可观察性和 AI 运营解决方案如何共同解决和管理事件。

深入了解 IBM 的协同解决方案
资源 认知网络和服务运营

这是一种变革性方法, 通过不断学习和优化,将网络或服务运营提升到最成熟的水平。

什么是安全运营中心 (SOC)?

安全运营中心统一和协调所有网络安全技术和运营,从而提高组织的威胁检测、响应和预防能力。

采取后续步骤

IBM SevOne Network Performance Management (NPM) 专为现代网络而设计,可通过支持机器学习的分析功能,帮助您及早发现、解决和预防网络性能问题。它利用实时的可行洞察,帮助主动监控企业、通信和托管服务提供商的多供应商网络。

深入了解 SevOne NPM 预约实时演示

What is a network operations center (NOC)?
Build your NOC with IBM solutions Subscribe for cloud updates
Illustration showing how network operations centers help organizations maintain optimal performance
What is an NOC?

A network operations center (NOC) is a centralized location where computer, telecommunications, or satellite networks systems are monitored and managed 24x7. It is the first line of defense against network disruptions and failures. 

Why organizations use NOCs

Industries like telecommunications, financial services, manufacturing, and the energy sector operate around the clock and need reliable, constant connectivity. Maintaining this modern state of 24-7 global operations requires continuous network monitoring. This can make network services challenging to manage within traditional IT services. NOCs do this monitoring for organizations, quickly dealing with issues that might impact network performance, such as identifying malware and managing volume of users and website traffic. They also seek to optimize the network by performing updates and maintenance, and improving network performance.

Ideally, a NOC team is operating behind the scenes without the end user ever being aware of the work they’re doing. If a NOC is functioning properly, the end user has a seamless, continuously connected experience without issues such as prolonged downtime, malware infection, or poor network functionality.

Strategic app modernization drives digital transformation

Strategic application modernization is one key to transformational success that can boost annual revenue and lower maintenance and running costs.

Related content

Register for the guide on hybrid cloud

How NOCs work

NOCs work directly with organizations to oversee their complex networking environments, including servers, databases, firewalls, devices, and related external services. The IT infrastructure may be located on-premises and/or with a cloud-based provider, depending on the company’s needs.

NOCs typically operate in a tiered fashion. Incidents are categorized from one to three, with one being the lowest level, such as assessing alerts from infrastructure devices, and three being the most severe incidents, such as a ransomware attack or network outage. If a technician cannot resolve an issue in a timely manner, it moves up to a more experienced technician. NOC engineers then troubleshoot problems that arise and look for ways to prevent future network downtime and connectivity issues.

Some companies choose to operate a NOC internally and locate the infrastructure and operations hub on-premises, often within the data center. But for other organizations, this work is outsourced to a third party that specializes in network and infrastructure monitoring and management.

NOC capabilities

The NOC oversees network systems to manage data storage, update software and ensure connectivity. Here are some of the tasks and operations that a NOC performs:

  • Updating, troubleshooting, and installing software on systems connected to the network
  • Managing IT infrastructure and equipment
  • Backing up data and ensuring its accessibility on the network
  • Providing antivirus support
  • Monitoring firewall and network security software
  • Patch management
  • Emailing management services
  • Network monitoring, including analyzing the health of the network, reporting on performance and network optimization
  • Disaster recovery
Benefits of NOCs

Whether located in-house or contracted through a third-party vendor, NOCs offer companies various advantages.

  • More efficient IT departments: By taking the work performed by a NOC off the internal IT team, employees can focus on critical projects and new initiatives.
  • Scalability: A NOC can grow with an enterprise as it expands into new locations and markets, as well as offer the scalability that is needed for daily or seasonal fluctuations in traffic.
  • Eliminates downtime: The 24-7 capabilities of a NOC mean someone is always there to ensure that all software, hardware, and networks are working.
  • Rapid incident response: NOCs are designed to continually monitor network systems, identify problems quickly, as well as head off issues before they become a problem. This “always on” design means that incidents are resolved quickly.
  • Network optimization: NOCs provide real-time reporting on the health of your network, identify areas of improvement, and build these improvements for a stronger network.
In-house versus outsourced

An in-house NOC requires significant resources, and for some enterprise tech or communications companies the investment is worth it. They prefer to manage their networks internally to maintain a high level of control over the network operations.

Other companies, governmental agencies, or universities, may not want to allocate the enormous resources it takes to staff and manage an in-house team. Outsourcing a NOC, where the work is managed by skilled professionals and a trusted vendor, can be more cost-effective and less work for these organizations. For these companies, a third-party NOC provides high-quality, standardized management of networks without the requirements of staffing, managing, and funding an internal team. Because they act as an extension of a company’s existing workforce, NOCs also enable a company’s primary technical staff focus on core business functions.

NOC versus SOC versus help desk

NOC and a security operations center (SOC) both perform mission-critical functions, but there are major differences in the objectives of a network operations center. A security operations center and a help desk. All three offer assistance when problems arise, although help desks are often more focused on the end user. Let’s look at each and how they differ.

NOC

As noted previously, NOCs focus on network management to ensure network uptime and identify problems quickly. They typically work behind the scenes to ensure a seamless experience.

SOC

A SOC also works behind the scenes, but is focused on network and information security, performing threat analysis and monitoring for attacks on a client network. SOCs are trained to detect anomalies and mitigate cyberattacks as they arise. Where the NOC’s mission is to ensure 24-7 network connectivity, a SOC is assessing threats and building protections against attacks that might ultimately disrupt the 24-7 network.

Help desk

Help desks identify issues with the network, among other roles. However, the help desk mainly interacts with the end user, such as an office worker experiencing disruption in network connectivity, or a field technician having trouble with an equipment connection. NOCs rarely interact with the end user, but instead work directly with managed service providers and/or a company’s internal IT team.

Neither team works in isolation; NOCs can also be on call to support the help desk. For example, if a customer service rep is having trouble logging on to the network, this would be referred to the help desk first. If the issue cannot be resolved there, it would be escalated to the NOC.

AI and network operations

5G, edge computing and the Internet of Things (IoT) are putting increased demands on telecommunication companies’ network services. A network with millions of endpoints can make system oversight and incident management difficult.

By 2024, Ericsson (link resides outside ibm.com) predicts there will be 1.5 billion 5G subscriptions for enhanced mobile broadband and 4.1 billion global cellular IoT connections. The sheer volume of use and devices that are connected to the network is challenging human capabilities to respond to all incidents. Troubleshooting millions of incoming alarms can lead to cascading problems that slow down response time and put strain on engineers.

To handle the complexity of these new products, Artificial Intelligence (AI) and automation are making it possible for network operations to quickly analyze incoming data and fix issues across millions of endpoints as they arise. In addition, the advanced analytics and machine learning capabilities of AI can shift a NOC from reactive to proactive operations.

Using AI in this way is referred to as network observability. It shifts many low-level decision-making activities—such as troubleshooting or capacity planning—from engineers to the network observability tool, where they are resolved. The result is less rote work for engineers, reducing escalation of common issues to higher tiers, and more time to focus on larger issues and network optimization.

An example is how AI technology is being used by communication service providers (CSPs). AI offers greater insight into how a network system is working throughout, not just analyzing device by device. These tools are transforming CSPs to more automated network operations where problems are fixed before they impact customers.

NOC case study

With more than 4 million subscribers in Brazil, Nextel was looking for a way to improve network operations technologies to maintain uptime and minimize outages. Service time was especially challenging, taking an average of 30 minutes to respond to network incidents. Nextel looked for way to shift response operation from reactive to proactive and further still, to predictive responses to meet users’ expectations and reduce downtime.

Nextel uses IBM Netcool Operations Insight to monitor a network of more than 25,000 elements. To become more predictive, it incorporated IBM Watson® cognitive technology for better insights on network performance and to identify problems areas.

With the use of this AI technology, Nextel saw an 83% reduction in response time to network incidents, from 30 minutes down to five minutes. More importantly, Nextel was able to deliver better service to its customers, which rely on mobile connectivity 24-7.

IBM Solutions
IBM Cloud Pak® for Network Automation

Learn how an intelligent cloud platform enables the automation and orchestration of network operations.

Experience the value of IBM Cloud Pak® for Network Automation
IBM Observability

See how IBM's Observability and AI Operations Solutions fit together to resolve and manage incidents.

Discover IBM’s synergistic solutions
Resources Cognitive Network and Service Operations

A transformative approach to elevate network or service operations to the most mature levels with continuous learning and optimization.

What is a Security Operations Center (SOC)?

A security operations center improves an organization's threat detection, response and prevention capabilities by unifying and coordinating all cybersecurity technologies and operations.

Take the next step

Designed for modern networks, IBM SevOne Network Performance Management (NPM) helps you spot, address, and prevent network performance issues early with machine learning-powered analytics. With real-time actionable insights, it helps proactively monitor multi-vendor networks across enterprise, communication and managed service providers.

Explore SevOne NPM Book a live demo