什么是电子数据交换 (EDI)?

EDI 是一种标准格式,用于在两个组织之间以电子方式交换业务信息,而不是使用纸质文件。

电子数据交换

什么是 EDI?

EDI 代表电子数据交换,是以标准格式在公司间进行的业务文档通信。 简而言之,EDI 就是一种标准的电子格式,它取代了采购单或发票之类的纸质文档。 通过自动执行基于纸张的事务,企业可以节省时间,并消除人工处理所导致的代价高昂的错误。

在 EDI 事务中,信息直接从一个企业中的计算机应用移至另一个企业中的计算机应用。 EDI 标准以文档格式定义了信息的位置和顺序。 利用这种自动化功能,人们可以快速共享数据,而不是像使用纸质文档或其他方法那样不得不耗费几个小时、几天乃至几周时间。

如今,许多行业都使用 EDI 集成来共享一系列文档类型,包括采购单、发票、询价单和贷款申请等。 在大多数情况下,这些组织是贸易伙伴,他们作为供应链和企业到企业 (B2B) 网络的成员,频繁交易货物和服务。


EDI 的工作方式

所有 EDI 事务都由 EDI 消息标准来定义。 制定适当的数据质量治理流程至关重要。 如果缺少信息,或者信息处于错误的位置,可能无法正确处理 EDI 文档。

标准是 EDI 对话的基础。¹EDI 消息标准由若干组织共同定义,这包括 ODETTE、TRADACOMS、GS1、Peppol 和认证标准委员会 X12 (ASC X12)。

一般来说,EDI 传输有两种基本类型:

  • 点对点或直接连接:两台计算机或系统通过互联网进行连接,无需借助任何媒介,且通常使用安全协议。
  • 增值网络(VAN):第三方网络负责管理数据传输,通常采用邮件装箱范式。

EDI因特网传输协议包括安全文件传输协议  (SFTP)、适用性声明 2(AS2,一种基于 HTTPS 的协议)、简单对象访问协议 (SOAP) 等等。 EDI 数据元素包括诸如发送方 ID 和接收方 ID 之类的项。 数据段组合了两个或更多相关元素,从而赋予它们更大的意义。 例如,FNAME 和 LNAME 可以组合成 CUSTOMERNAME。 包络构成不同类型的数据,并包含发送方和接收方地址信息。 EDI 文档流或消息流描述了 EDI 消息前往各种入站和出站地址及部门以执行业务流程或事务的移动过程。²

诸如可扩展标记语言(XML)或 JavaScript Object Notation(JSON)之类的元语言是对 EDI 的补充而不是替代。 企业必须准备好应对数量不断增加的文档格式和传输选项。 一家全球制造商日常要与将近 2000 个合作伙伴交流 55 种不同类型的文档。

“在开始使用 IBM Supply Chain Business Network 之前,我们多达 20% 的 B2B 事务会出现错误。 现在,我们的错误率大大降低,例如,我们过去常常因为客户提交错误代码而遇到与转移订单相关的问题,这对我们的客户服务团队来说非常难以解决。 而如今这种情况差不多减少了 80%,因为以往这些都是手动完成的。” 阅读其他 EDI 管理人员向 IDC 表达的看法, 了解他们如何使用 IBM Sterling Supply Chain Business Network 实现战略价值。


EDI 的优势

EDI 事务对于 B2B 流程至关重要,它们仍然是各种规模企业之间交换文档和事务的首选方式。

EDI 技术通过自动化和 B2B 集成提供了五个关键业务优势:

对于大型组织而言,EDI 支持在贸易伙伴之间建立标准,从而始终如一地实现效益。 对于较小的组织,坚持 EDI 可提供更大的集成 与拥有大量预算和强大影响力的大公司合作。


EDI 实施

对于某些企业而言,EDI 可能实施起来比较困难。 其中一个原因,就是需要跟上不断变化的政府法规、标准和更新的步伐。 它本身也很复杂,因为需要满足纷繁复杂的全球业务需求。 例如,B2B 网络中的每个贸易伙伴可能都会提出各自的需求。 即使两个合作伙伴可能同意使用特定类型的 EDI 文档,但每个合作伙伴都可能具有需要支持的独特的格式处理需求。 这些因素导致许多组织将其 EDI 解决方案外包出去。

无论是内部处理还是外包,要高效实施 EDI,都需要具备某些基本条件、能力和资源。 除了协定文档类型、安全传输方法以及必备硬件和软件等因素之外,有效的 EDI 实施应考虑以下方面:

转换或映射软件

此类型的转换软件 会获取名称、地址、货币金额、部件号和数量等字段,并将它们从业务应用格式映射到标准化文档,反之亦然。

批处理封包或解包功能

这些功能通过使发送方和接收方能够打包和解包事务,支持大型 EDI 消息批处理。 然后,可以通过贸易伙伴企业的多个部门或区域将这些事务分组,或者将事务拆分到多个部门或区域。

消息路由机制

在消息解包后,需要使用路由机制对不同组的消息进行排序,并将它们传递到相应的目标。 可能还需要进行消息转换,以将消息转换为适合目标的格式。

贸易伙伴协议 (TPA)

TPA 用于澄清相关条款和条件,建立业务文档标准,并定义贸易伙伴之间的通信和业务协议。


EDI 的未来

思考以下场景: 与破损货物相关的退款由 EDI 214 文档(一条运输承运方装运状态消息)所触发。 装运的材料已无法使用或不可销售。 退款最有可能引发争议。

未来供应链中, EDI 将成为支持物联网 (IoT)、区块链和人工智能 (AI) 等创新技术的核心文档交换功能。³ 未来的 EDI 将使用:

  • IoT 传感器,这些传感器已整合到货物包装中,并与定期的 EDI 214 消息相关联,可以近乎实时地查看包裹状况。 
  • 区块链技术该技术支持装运的 EDI 信息流,可提供共享的事实版本,足以快速解决乃至避免退款纠纷。 
  • AI 代理,用于监视与装运有关的所有事件和信息,并能够识别不合规事件。 AI 代理还可以确定是否需要重新装运,分析最高效的更换来源,发起新装运并接受经过授权的退货。

相关解决方案

数字供应链网络

通过安全无缝的无摩擦任意互联,简化了供应链执行方式,这种互联可通过嵌入式 AI 进行扩展,以在发生中断之前检测出异常状况。

B2B集成网关

在基于混合云技术而构建的高度安全的单一网关上整合所有复杂的 B2B 和 EDI 集成与处理工作。

贸易伙伴的加入和管理

在管理和维持现有合作伙伴的同时,减少新合作伙伴加入所需的时间和资源。

在任何格式与标准之间进行数据转换

在整个企业范围内,无需编码,即可在不同的结构化和非结构化格式与行业标准之间自动进行复杂的数据转换和验证。

自动执行手动事务

通过将基于纸张、传真和电话的事务转换为 EDI 格式,使得与非 EDI 供应商和客户的供应链事务实现数字化和自动化,从而减少了错误并节省了时间。

从所有贸易伙伴接收 EDI 数据

通过转换服务将非结构化文档(如传真、电子邮件和 PDF)转换为高效的 EDI 格式。


脚注

1电子数据交换,(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)" 维基百科

2EDI 和 B2B 基础知识,(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)” Sriniedibasics,2011 年 8 月 20 日

3EDI 的未来:IBM 的观点 (PDF, 411 KB)”  IBM Watson Supply Chain,2018 年 10 月

What is electronic data interchange (EDI)?

EDI is a standard format to exchange business information between two organizations electronically instead of using paper documents

  1. What's the future of EDI?
EDI

What is EDI?

EDI, which stands for electronic data interchange, is the intercompany communication of business documents in a standard format. The simple definition of EDI is a standard electronic format that replaces paper-based documents such as purchase orders or invoices. By automating paper-based transactions, organizations can save time and eliminate costly errors caused by manual processing.

In EDI transactions, information moves directly from a computer application in one organization to a computer application in another. EDI standards define the location and order of information in a document format. With this automated capability, data can be shared rapidly instead of over the hours, days or weeks required when using paper documents or other methods.

Today, industries use EDI integration to share a range of document types — from purchase orders to invoices to requests for quotations to loan applications and more. In most instances, these organizations are trading partners that exchange goods and services frequently as part of their supply chains and business-to-business (B2B) networks.


How EDI works

All EDI transactions get defined by EDI message standards. It is vital to have proper governance processes for data quality. When information is missing or in the wrong place, the EDI document might not be processed correctly.

Standards are the basis of EDI conversations.¹ Several organizations define the EDI message standards, including ODETTE, TRADACOMS, GS1, Peppol and the Accredited Standard Committee X12 (ASC X12).

In general, there are two basic types of EDI transmission:

  • Point-to-point or direct connections: Two computers or systems connect with no intermediary over the internet, generally with secure protocols.
  • Value-added network (VAN): A third-party network manages data transmission, generally with a mail boxing paradigm.

EDI internet transmission protocols include Secure File Transfer Protocol (SFTP), Applicability Statement 2 or AS2, an HTTPS-based protocol, Simple Object Access Protocol (SOAP) and others. EDI data elements include items such as sender ID and receiver ID. Data segments combine two or more related elements to give them greater meaning. For example, FNAME and LNAME can combine to form CUSTOMERNAME. Envelopes structure different types of data and carry the sender and receiver address information. EDI document flow or message flow describes the movement of EDI messages to various inbound and outbound addresses and departments to execute a business process or transaction.²

Metalanguages such as Extensible Markup Language (XML) or JavaScript Object Notation (JSON) complement rather than replace EDI. Companies must be ready to handle an ever-increasing number of document formats and transmission options. One global manufacturer routinely exchanges about 55 different document types with nearly 2,000 partners.

“As many as 20% of our B2B transactions were producing an error before we began using IBM Supply Chain Business Network. We have fewer errors now — for example, we used to have issues with transfer orders because a client would submit a wrong code, which was painful for our client service team. It happens probably 80% less now because all of that used to be done manually.” Read what other EDI managers tell IDC about how they drive strategic value with IBM Sterling Supply Chain Business Network.


Benefits of EDI

EDI transactions are essential to B2B processes and continue to be the preferred means to exchange documents and transactions between businesses both small and large.

There are five key business benefits that EDI technology delivers through automation and B2B integration:

For large organizations, EDI enables standards to be instituted across trading partners to achieve benefits consistently. For smaller organizations, adherence to EDI offers greater integration with larger firms that have big budgets and strong influence.


EDI implementation

For some enterprises, EDI can be difficult to implement. One reason is the need to keep pace with shifting government regulations, standards and updates. It is also inherently complex, as it needs to accommodate the complexities of global business needs. For example, each trading partner in a B2B network can present individual requirements. Even though two partners may agree on which EDI document to use, each can have unique formatting requirements that need to be supported. These factors, and others, have led many organizations to outsource their EDI solutions.

Whether in-house or outsourced, there are some basic conditions, capabilities and resources needed to implement EDI effectively. In addition to factors such as agreement on document types, secure transmission methods, and requisite hardware and software, an effective EDI implementation should consider:

Translation or mapping software

This type of transformation software takes fields such as names, addresses, currency amounts, part numbers and quantities, and maps them from business application formats into standardized documents and vice versa.

Batch enveloping or de-enveloping capabilities

These capabilities support large EDI message batches by enabling senders and receivers to wrap and unwrap transactions. The transactions can then be grouped from or split into several divisions or areas of a trading associate’s business.

Message routing mechanisms

After a message is de-enveloped, routing mechanisms are required to sort the messages for different groups and deliver them to the appropriate targets. Message transformation may also be required to get the message into the correct format for its destination.

Trading partner agreements (TPA)

TPA clarifies terms and conditions, establishes standards for business documents and defines communications and business protocols between trading partners.


The future of EDI

Consider this scenario: a chargeback related to a damaged shipment is triggered using an EDI 214 document — a Transportation Carrier Shipment Status Message. The material in the shipment is unusable or unsaleable. Disputes will most likely arise based on the chargeback.

In future supply chains, EDI will be the core document exchange capability to support innovations such as the Internet of Things (IoT), blockchain and artificial intelligence (AI)³. Future EDI will use:

  • IoT sensors incorporated into a shipment’s packaging and tied to periodic EDI 214 messages to improve package condition visibility in near real time. 
  • Blockchain technology underpinning EDI information flows for shipments to offer a shared version of the truth that can quickly resolve and even avoid chargeback disputes. 
  • An AI agent that monitors all relevant events and information connected to a shipment and can identify a non-compliant event. AI agents can also determine if a reshipment is required, analyze the most efficient source of replacement, initiate a new shipment and accept an authorized return.

Related solutions

Digital supply chain network

Streamline supply chain execution through seamless and secured any-to-any frictionless connectivity, built to scale with embedded AI to detect anomalies before disruptions occur.

B2B integration gateway

Consolidate all your complex B2B and EDI integration and processing on a single, security-rich gateway built on hybrid-cloud technology.

Onboarding and management of trading partners

Reduce the time and resources required to onboard new partners while managing and maintaining existing partners.

Any-to-any data transformation

Automate complex transformation and validation of data between different structured and unstructured formats and industry standards at enterprise scale without coding.

Automation of manual transactions

Digitize and automate supply chain transactions with non-EDI suppliers and customers to reduce errors and save time by converting paper, fax and phone-based transactions into EDI format.

Receive EDI from all trading partners

Transform non-structured documents such as faxes, emails and PDFs into an efficient EDI format with conversion services.