什么是 OEM(原始设备制造商)?

IBM Services

一种针对第三方系统、软件和组件的集成式支持策略

原始设备制造商 (OEM) 是指为另一家公司的最终产品制造系统或组件的厂商。 例如,计算机制造商普遍将 OEM 部件(如处理器和软件等)捆绑或集成至自己所销售的解决方案中。

OEM 模式可显著节省时间和资金。 第三方组件能让企业专注于核心业务,而不必对每个三级部件或系统进行开发。

最终客户(如 IT 部门)可能会处理涉及多个 OEM 厂商和第三方供应商的捆绑产品和系统。 通常这就需要某种形式的集中控制方案,以确保系统整体的可靠性和可用性。

 

为什么 OEM 很重要?

通过与 OEM 厂商合作,制造商或经销商可降低成本。 此类企业无需自己建造工厂生产或从事 OEM 产品的制造。 他们只需将 OEM 零件集成至自有系统中,以自己的品牌名称销售。

由于规模经济的原因,OEM 产品可做到价格更便宜。 “OEM 厂商擅长制造一种(仅一种)产品,通过经济高效、精简快捷的方式生产数十万甚至数百万个此类产品而取得成功”(财经网站 TheStreet )⁽¹⁾。

更重要的是,OEM 方式可提供良好的投资回报。 “采用 OEM 零件、组件和产品可延长合作公司产品的使用寿命,从而保持最佳性能,还可利用备件节省资金,同时提高公司的净利润。” ⁽²⁾

成本节约通常会传导至购买捆绑产品或系统的客户。

对于最终客户来说,管理多个产品、系统和供应商的工作可能会比较复杂。 随着企业采用新技术,用于技术支持和维护工作的模型就会增长极快。 可能有数十家 OEM 厂商和第三方提供商在为其硬件和软件产品提供服务。

许多组织通过某种集中式支持和服务模式来简化其 OEM 和供应商管理工作。

“试着支持包含了多个供应商产品的 IT 解决方案,就好比试着管理汽车的 30,000 多个零件,” David Subia 在其 IBM 博客中表示。 “您会让多个供应商管理各个部件,还是委托一位值得信赖的机械师来确保系统以最低的维护成本实现高效、安全地运行?” 

观看视频 - Fortis Healthcare: IT 简约化,维护标准化  (2:06)

 

高效 OEM 技术支持的主要特点

IT 支持提供商通过其服务来帮助客户处理多供应商环境。 提供商可代表组织管理与多个 OEM 厂商和第三方供应商的关系——仅需一个联络点即可。

一个服务合作伙伴可支持多个供应商产品,简化计费工作,保持一致的服务水平。 此外,服务提供商与产品供应商一起处理换件物流,确保在需要时能提供组件或零件。

合适的技术支持合作伙伴还会采用人工智能 (AI) 和分析等创新技术,主动监测产品或系统的潜在问题,并加以诊断和解决。

区块链

产品修复、补丁、更新和其他功能通常是自动完成的,无需通知人工操作员。 技术支持提供商将对该工作已完成这一状态予以存档记录,这是其服务的一部分。 区块链有助于这项工作的落实,因为可赋予贯穿整个系统的可追溯性和问责性。

通过将区块链嵌至多供应商技术支持服务合同中,支持服务可提供便于审计的交易数据,同时还可监测服务级别协议 (SLA) 指标。

预测性分析

预测性分析从数据中提取洞察成果,用以预测发展趋势和行为。 认知技术 (AI) 可处理来自数百个技术支持 代理的问题。 这项技术以先前的修复、日志文件和其他技术文档为基础,从中得出概率分数,籍此分析各种支持解决方案并进行排序。 借助这些功能,企业可提前预测到将会发生的硬件故障,做到防患于未然。

增强现实 (AR)

AR 平台可为移动设备提供可视化工具和 3D 建模。 通过这种技术,技术人员可捕获技术问题的实时图像并传送给远程产品专家。 专家可通过交互式语音和视频链接指导技术人员修复问题。

确保技术人员能立即获取有关任何状况的正确知识或情报,有助于降低运营支持工作的成本,保持系统的正常运行。

观看视频 - IBM 采用增强现实技术,提供技术支持服务  (2:21)

 

资源

IBM 在技术支持方面的创新

充分发挥先进技术的优势,简化企业 IT 支持管理。

 

IBM 技术支持服务,打造差异化优势

了解如何通过预测性分析和认知系统来节约时间和降低资源消耗。

观看视频  (2:18)

 

IBM 采用增强现实技术,提供技术支持服务

借助远程支持代理,通过手机上的增强现实 (AR) 技术输出可视化指示,为用户提供指导。深入了解其中详情。

观看视频  (2:21)

 

为什么选择 IBM 作为贵组织的技术支持服务提供商?

阅读并了解,在这个认知时代,组织如何做到主动支持自己企业的 IT 需求。

阅读更多

 

特色服务

多供应商 IT 支持服务

阅读更多

 

IBM 硬件和软件支持服务

阅读更多

 

资料来源:

1. https://www.thestreet.com/markets/commodities/what-is-original-equipment-manufacturer-oem-14696882 (链接位于 ibm.com 之外)

2. 同上

An integrated support strategy for third party systems, software and components

By IBM Services

What is OEM?

An original equipment manufacturer (OEM) makes systems or components that are used in another company’s end product. Computer manufacturers, for example, commonly bundle or integrate OEM parts – such as processors and software – into the solutions they sell.

OEMs can save time and money. Third-party components enable an enterprise to focus on its core business instead of having to develop each tertiary part or system.

An end customer, such as an IT department, may handle bundled products and systems involving multiple OEM and third-party vendors. Some form of centralized control is usually required to ensure overall system reliability and availability.

Watch the video -  What is OEM?

 

Why OEM is important

By partnering with an OEM, a manufacturer or reseller can reduce costs. Companies don’t need to build manufacturing facilities or handle OEM production in-house. They simply integrate the OEM parts into their system and sell under their own brand name.

OEM products can be cheaper due to economies of scale. “The OEM excels in building one product and one product only, and thrives by building hundreds of thousands, or even millions of those products on a cost-effective, streamlined basis,” says TheStreet.⁽¹⁾

What’s more, OEMs may provide a good return on investment. “OEM parts, components and products extend the life of the partnering company's product, thus maintaining top performance and saving money with replacement parts and increasing the company's financial bottom line.” ⁽²⁾

The cost savings are usually passed along to the customer who purchases the bundled product or system.

For the end customer, managing multiple products, systems and vendors may become a complicated task. As an enterprise adopts new technologies, the technical support and maintenance model grows exponentially. Dozens of OEMs and third-party providers may be servicing their hardware and software products.

Many organizations reduce their OEM and vendor complexity with a centralized support and service model.

“Trying to support IT solutions that include products from several vendors would be like having to manage the roughly 30,000 parts that make up your car,” says David Subia in his IBM blog. “Would you have multiple vendors managing each part, or go to one trusted mechanic to ensure that it performs efficiently, safely and at minimal cost to maintain?” 

Watch the video - Streamline your data center maintenance

Watch the video - Fortis Healthcare: Streamline IT Standardizes Care

 

Key features of effective OEM support

An IT support provider offers services to help a customer with its multivendor environment. The provider can manage relationships with multiple OEM and third-party vendors on behalf of the organization – from a single point of contact.

A services partner can support multivendor products, offer simplified invoicing and maintain consistent service levels. As well, the provider handles replacement logistics with suppliers, making sure components or parts are available when required.

The right support partner also uses technology innovations such as artificial intelligence (AI) and analytics to proactively monitor, diagnose and resolve product or system problems.

Blockchain

Product fixes, patches, updates and other functions are often done automatically, without notification to human operators. As part of its service, a support provider will document that the work has been completed. A blockchain can assist the task by providing traceability and accountability across the system.

By embedding blockchain into multivendor support contracts, support services can provide audit-ready transaction data while monitoring service level agreement (SLA) metrics.

Predictive analytics

Predictive analytics extracts insights from data to predict trends and behavior. Cognitive technology (AI) can process questions from hundreds of technical support agents. It analyzes and ranks support solutions using probability scores based on previous fixes, log files and other technical documentation. With these capabilities, an enterprise can identify upcoming hardware failures before they arise and prevent them from occurring again.

Augmented reality (AR)

An AR platform provides visualization tools and 3-D modeling for mobile devices. It allows a technician to capture real-time images of technical issues and share with a remote product specialist. The expert guides the technician to repair the problem using interactive voice and video links.

Giving technicians immediate access to the right knowledge for any situation helps lower the cost of support operations and keeps systems up and running.

Watch the video - IBM Augmented Reality for Technology Support Services

Resources

IBM innovation in technology support 

Harness advanced technologies to simplify your IT support management.

Learn more

Healthcare Technology Support Solutions from IBM

See how IBM supports healthcare providers with a full range of digital technologies including medical devices.

Watch the video

 

IBM Technology Support Services delivery difference

Learn how to reduce time and resource waste with predictive analytics and cognitive systems.

Watch the video

 

IBM Augmented Reality for Technology Support Services

Discover how AR can guide users through visual instructions on their mobile devices, with the help of remote support agents.

Watch the video

 

Why choose IBM as your technical support services provider

Read how organizations can proactively support their IT needs in the cognitive era.

Read More

 

Smart IT support can save both time and money

See how streamlining support with smart technology can save time and costs.

Read More

 

Featured services

Multi-Vendor IT Support Services

Read More

 

IBM Hardware and Software Support Services

Read More

 

Sources:

1. https://www.thestreet.com/markets/commodities/what-is-original-equipment-manufacturer-oem-14696882

2. Ibid.