云计算

menu icon

云计算

云计算将 IT 基础架构转变为一种实用程序: 您由此可通过互联网“插入”基础架构,并使用计算资源,而无需在内部安装和维护它们。

什么是云计算? 

云计算是指通过互联网按需访问计算资源 - 应用、服务器(物理服务器和虚拟服务器)、数据存储、开发工具和网络功能等等,这些资源托管在由云服务提供商(或 CSP)管理的远程数据中心内。 CSP 提供这些资源时会按月收取订阅费用,或者按使用量收费。

与传统内部部署 IT 相比,并根据您选择的云服务,云计算有助于实现以下各项: 

  • 降低 IT 成本: 通过采用云,您可以避免因购买、安装、配置和管理自己的内部基础架构而引发的一部分或大部分成本,并卸下相关工作负担。  
  • 提高敏捷性并缩短价值实现时间: 借助云,您的企业可以在几分钟内开始使用企业应用,而不必耗费几周或几个月的时间等待 IT 人员回应请求、购买和配置支持硬件以及安装软件。 云还使您能够为特定用户(特别是开发人员和数据科学家)赋能,帮助他们实现软件和支持基础架构。
  • 更轻松、更经济有效地进行扩展:云提供了灵活性,您不必在慢速运行期间购买过多闲置不用的容量,而是可以随意伸缩容量,自如应对流量的峰值和低谷。 您还可以利用云提供商的全球网络,使您的应用距离世界各地的用户更近。

“云计算”一词还指运作云环境的技术。  这包括某种形式的 虚拟化 IT 基础架构 - 服务器、操作系统软件、网络和其他使用特殊软件抽象化的基础架构,以便可以合并和划分 IT,而与物理硬件边界无关。 例如,单个硬件服务器可以分为多个虚拟服务器。

虚拟化使云提供者能够最大程度地利用其数据中心资源。 意料之中的是,许多公司都为其内部基础架构采用了云交付模式,这样一来,与传统 IT 基础架构相比,他们便能够最大程度实现利用率并节省成本,同时还能为最终用户提供相同的自助服务和敏捷性。        

如果您在家或工作时使用计算机或移动设备,那么几乎可以肯定的是,您每天都在使用某种形式的云计算,无论是像 Google Gmail 或 Salesforce 一样的云应用、Netflix 之类的流媒体,还是像 Dropbox 这样的云文件存储。 据最近的调查显示,如今 92% 的企业都使用云(链接位于 IBM 外部),并且其中大多数企业都计划在明年加大使用力度。  

云计算服务

IaaS(基础架构即服务)、PaaS(平台即服务)和 SaaS(软件即服务)是云服务的三种最常见的模式,企业同时使用这三种云服务的情况并不少见。 但是,这三者之间往往会发生混淆,下面介绍了每种服务所包含的内容:

SaaS(软件即服务)

SaaS 也称为基于云的软件或云应用,是在云端托管的应用软件,您可以通过 Web 浏览器、专用桌面客户端或者与桌面或移动操作系统集成的 API 来访问和使用该软件。   在大多数情况下,SaaS 用户都会按月或按年支付订阅费用;一些提供商可能会根据您的实际使用情况提供“按使用量付费”定价模式。  

除了云所带来的节省成本、缩短实现价值的时间和可扩展性方面的优势外,SaaS 还提供了以下优势:

  • 自动升级:借助 SaaS,只要提供商一添加新功能,您便可以充分利用这些功能,而不必统筹安排内部升级事宜。    
  • 防止数据丢失:由于应用数据位于云端,因此使用该应用时,即使设备崩溃或损坏,您也不会丢失数据。

SaaS 是当今大多数商业软件的主要交付模式,目前已有数十万的 SaaS 解决方案可用,从最集中的行业和部门应用到功能强大的企业软件数据库和 AI(人工智能)软件,简直应有尽有。

PaaS(平台即服务)

PaaS 为软件开发者提供随需应变的平台 - 硬件、完整的软件栈、基础架构,甚至是开发工具,用于运行、开发和管理应用,而不会因在内部维护该平台而引发成本,带来复杂性和不灵活等问题。  

借助 PaaS,云提供商可以在其数据中心托管一切,包括服务器、网络、存储、操作系统软件、中间件和数据库等。开发人员只需从菜单中进行选择,即可启动所需的服务器和环境来运行、构建、测试、部署、维护、更新和扩展应用。

如今,PaaS 通常围绕容器而构建,这是一种虚拟化的计算模型,从虚拟服务器的基础上又向前迈出了一步。容器可对操作系统进行虚拟化,使开发人员能够只使用在任何平台上运行应用所需的操作系统服务来打包应用,而不必进行修改,也无需使用中间件。    

Red Hat OpenShift 是围绕 Docker容器和 Kubernetes而构建的流行 PaaS,Kubernetes 是一种开源容器编排解决方案,可自动为基于容器的应用执行部署、扩展、负载均衡等。 

了解有关 PaaS 的更多信息

IaaS(基础架构即服务)

IaaS 通过互联网在按使用量付费的基础上,提供对基本计算资源的按需访问,这些资源包括物理和虚拟服务器、网络和存储。 IaaS 使最终用户能够根据需要扩展和缩减资源,减少对高额前期资本支出或不必要的内部部署或“自有”基础架构的需求,以及为适应周期性的峰值使用而过度购买资源的需求。      

与 SaaS 和 PaaS (甚至是更新的 PaaS 计算模式,例如容器和无服务器)相反, IaaS 为用户提供了对云端计算资源的最低级别的控制。  

IaaS 是在 21 世纪 10 年代初出现的最流行的云计算模式。  虽然它仍然是多种类型工作负载的云模式,但 SaaS 和 PaaS 的使用率正在以更快的速度增长。    

了解有关 IaaS 的更多信息

无服务器计算 

无服务器计算也可以简称为无服务器,这种云计算模式可以将供应、扩展、调度、修补等各种后端基础架构管理任务卸载至云提供商,使开发者能够将全部时间和精力都集中在特定于其应用的代码和业务逻辑上。       

此外,无服务器仅按请求运行应用代码,并根据请求数自动扩展和缩减支持的基础架构。 借助无服务器计算,客户只需为运行应用时所使用的资源付费,而从不需要为空闲容量买单。 

FaaS(函数即服务)通常会与无服务器计算相混淆,而它实际上只是无服务器的一个子集。   FaaS 支持开发人员执行部分应用代码(称为函数)来响应特定事件。 云服务提供商会在执行代码时,实时自动提供除代码外的所有内容(物理硬件、虚拟机操作系统和 Web 服务器软件管理),并在执行完成后立即收回。在开始执行时即开始计费,并在执行停止时也一道停止。

了解有关无服务器的更多信息

显示谁管理云计算服务中哪些内容的信息图

云计算的类型

公有云

公有云是一种云计算类型,云服务提供商在此通过公共互联网向用户提供各种计算资源,从 SaaS 应用到单个虚拟机 (VM)裸机计算硬件,再到完整的企业级基础架构和开发平台,一应俱全。这些资源可能是免费访问的,也可能会根据基于订阅或按使用量付费的定价模式出售访问权限。

公有云提供商拥有并管理运行其客户工作负载的数据中心、硬件和基础架构且承担全部责任,它通常会提供高带宽网络连接以确保高性能,以及对应用和数据的快速访问。      

公有云是一种多租户环境 - 云提供商的数据中心基础架构由所有公有云客户共享。在领先的公有云(如 Amazon Web Services (AWS)、Google Cloud、IBM Cloud、Microsoft Azure 和 Oracle Cloud)中,这些客户的数量可能达到数百万。

在过去几年里,全球公有云计算市场增长迅速,分析师预计这种趋势还将持续下去;据行业分析架构 Gartner 预测,到 2022 年底,全球公有云收入将超过 USD 3300 亿(链接位于 IBM 外部)。       

许多企业都在将其部分计算基础架构移至公有云,因为公有云服务安全永续且易于扩展,可以灵活地进行调整以满足不断变化的工作负载需求。 由于客户只为自己使用的产品服务付费,这种高效率、低资源浪费率的承诺也吸引了一部分企业。 还有部分企业仍在试图减少在硬件和本地基础架构上的支出。  

了解有关公共云的更多信息

私有云

私有云是一种云环境,其中的所有云基础架构和计算资源都专用于一个客户,并且只能由一个客户访问。私有云将云计算的诸多优势(包括安全永续、可伸缩性和服务交付便捷性)与本地基础架构的访问控制、安全性和资源自定义结合在一起。

私有云通常以内部部署方式托管在客户的数据中心内。但私有云也可以托管在独立的云提供商的基础架构上,或者在位于非现场数据中心内的租用基础架构上构建。

许多公司都选择私有云而摒弃公有云,因为私有云是满足其合规要求的更简便方法(或唯一方法)。其他人之所以选择私有云,是因为他们的工作负载涉及机密文档、知识产权、个人身份信息 (PII)、医疗记录、财务数据或其他敏感数据。

通过根据云原生原则构建私有云架构,企业可以灵活而轻松地将工作负载迁移至公有云,或者在混合云(请参阅下文)环境中随时运行它们。

了解有关私有云的更多信息

混合云

混合云如同其名称所言,是公有云和私有云环境的结合。具体地说,理想情况下,混合云将企业的私有云服务和公有云连接到一个灵活的基础架构中,以便运行企业的应用和工作负载。

混合云的目标是混用公有云和私有云资源,并在它们之间进行一定程度的编排,这使企业能够灵活地为每个应用或工作负载选择最佳的云环境,并随着情况的变化在这两种云之间自由地移动工作负载 。 与仅使用公有云或私有云相比,这可帮助企业更加经济高效地实现其技术和业务目标。  

观看我的视频“混合云释义”(6:35):

了解有关混合云的更多信息

多云和混合多云 

多云是使用来自两个或多个不同云提供商的两个或多个云环境。   简单地来说,拥有多云环境可以只是使用一个供应商的电子邮件 SaaS 和另一个供应商的图像编辑 SaaS。    但当企业讨论多云时,他们通常是在谈论使用来自两个或更多领先公有云提供商的多种云服务,包括 SaaS、PaaS 和 IaaS 服务。在一项调查中,有 85% 的企业报告正在使用多云环境。

混合多云是将两个或多个公有云与一个私有云环境一起使用。     

企业选择多云环境,既可以避免被供应商套牢的困境,可以选择更多服务,也可以访问更多创新成果。   但是,您使用的云越多(每种云都有自己的一套管理工具、数据传输速率和安全协议),环境的管理也就越加困难。多云管理平台通过中央仪表板提供跨多个提供商云的可见性,通过这个仪表板,开发团队可以查看其项目和部署,运营团队可以关注集群和节点,而网络安全人员则可以监控威胁。  

了解有关多云的更多信息

云安全

传统上,安全问题一直是企业在考虑使用云服务(尤其是公有云服务)时所面临的一大障碍。而为了响应这一需求,云服务提供商所提供的安全性正在稳步超越内部部署的安全解决方案。      

据安全软件提供商 McAfee 的研究显示,如今,52% 的公司在云端的安全性优于内部(链接位于 IBM 外部)。而据 Gartner 预测,到今年(2020 年),与传统数据中心内的工作负载相比,基础架构即服务 (IaaS) 云工作负载所遭遇的安全事件将会减少 60%(链接位于 IBM 外部)。   

然而,维护云安全性要求具备不同于传统 IT 环境的程序和员工技能。一些云安全性最佳实践包括以下内容:  

  • 共同的安全责任: 通常,云提供商负责保护云基础架构,客户负责保护云中的数据,但明确定义私有和公有第三方之间的数据所有权也很重要。    
  • 数据加密: 不论是静态数据、传输中的数据还是使用中的数据,都应进行加密。 客户需要保持对安全密钥和硬件安全模块的完全控制。
  • 用户身份和访问管理: 客户和 IT 团队需要充分了解网络、设备、应用和数据访问,并具有全面的可见性。
  • 协作管理:IT、运营和安全团队之间适当的沟通和清晰易懂的流程,将确保实现安全且可持续的无缝云集成。 
  • 安全性与合规性监控:首先要了解适用于您所在行业的所有法规合规标准,并对所有互连系统和基于云的服务进行主动监视,以维护公有云、私有云和混合云环境之间所有数据交换的可见性。    

了解有关云安全性的更多信息 

云计算用例

25% 的企业计划明年将其所有应用迁移到云端,这看起来似乎云计算用例是无限的。但即使是对于那些不打算大规模转移到云端的公司来说,某些计划和云计算也是 IT 天堂中的绝配。  

对于云而言,灾备和业务连续性始终是水到渠成的事,因为云提供了经济有效的冗余来保护数据免遭系统故障,以及在发生本地宕机或灾难时恢复数据和应用所需的物理距离。    各大公有云提供商都提供了灾备即服务 (DRaaS)。     

云计算的目标就是涉及高速存储和处理海量数据的任何内容,并且它们所需要的存储和计算能力超出了大多数企业可以或希望购买并在内部部署的范畴。示例包括:

对于采用敏捷方法或 DevOps(或 DevSecOps)来简化开发过程的开发团队来说,云提供了随需应变的最终用户自助服务,避免一些运营任务(如启动开发和测试服务器)成为开发瓶颈。    

IBM Cloud

IBM Cloud 为企业提供最开放、最安全的公有云平台、下一代混合多云平台、高级数据和 AI 功能,以及覆盖 20 个行业的深厚企业专业知识。IBM Cloud 混合云解决方案可为应用和数据提供灵活性和可移植性。Linux®、Kubernetes 和容器都支持这种混合云堆栈,并且可与 RedHat® OpenShift® 结合使用,进而创建连接内部资源和云资源的公共平台。

了解 IBM Cloud 解决方案如何帮助您的企业完成以下工作: 

要开始着手,请注册 IBM ID 并创建 IBM Cloud 帐户

关于作者

Sai Vennam 是 IBM 的开发技术推广工程师,拥有 Kubernetes、OpenShift 和受管云产品的专业知识。 他热衷于将开发人员与技术相关联,帮助开发人员取得成功。 他还有一项爱好,就是利用 Raspberry Pis 和无服务器技术实现家庭自动化。

Twitter: @birdsaiview(链接位于 IBM 外部) 

博客: https://www.ibm.com/cloud/blog/sai-vennam

By: Sai Vennam

Cloud computing transforms IT infrastructure into a utility: It lets you ‘plug into' infrastructure via the internet, and use computing resources without installing and maintaining them on-premises.

What is cloud computing?

Cloud computing is on-demand access, via the internet, to computing resources—applications, servers (physical servers and virtual servers), data storage, development tools, networking capabilities, and more—hosted at a remote data center managed by a cloud services provider (or CSP). The CSP makes these resources available for a monthly subscription fee or bills them according to usage.

Compared to traditional on-premises IT, and depending on the cloud services you select, cloud computing helps do the following:

  • Lower IT costs: Cloud lets you offload some or most of the costs and effort of purchasing, installing, configuring, and managing your own on-premises infrastructure. 
  • Improve agility and time-to-value: With cloud, your organization can start using enterprise applications in minutes, instead of waiting weeks or months for IT to respond to a request, purchase and configure supporting hardware, and install software. Cloud also lets you empower certain users—specifically developers and data scientists—to help themselves to software and support infrastructure.
  • Scale more easily and cost-effectively: Cloud provides elasticity—instead of purchasing excess capacity that sits unused during slow periods, you can scale capacity up and down in response to spikes and dips in traffic. You can also take advantage of your cloud provider’s global network to spread your applications closer to users around the world.

The term ‘cloud computing’ also refers to the technology that makes cloud work. This includes some form of virtualized IT infrastructure—servers, operating system software, networking, and other infrastructure that’s abstracted, using special software, so that it can be pooled and divided irrespective of physical hardware boundaries. For example, a single hardware server can be divided into multiple virtual servers.

Virtualization enables cloud providers to make maximum use of their data center resources. Not surprisingly, many corporations have adopted the cloud delivery model for their on-premises infrastructure so they can realize maximum utilization and cost savings vs. traditional IT infrastructure and offer the same self-service and agility to their end-users.

If you use a computer or mobile device at home or at work, you almost certainly use some form of cloud computing every day, whether it’s a cloud application like Google Gmail or Salesforce, streaming media like Netflix, or cloud file storage like Dropbox. According to a recent survey, 92% of organizations use cloud today (outside link), and most of them plan to use it more within the next year.

CLOUD COMPUTING SERVICES

SaaS (Software-as-a-Service)

SaaS—also known as cloud-based software or cloud applications—is application software that’s hosted in the cloud and that you access and use via a web browser, a dedicated desktop client, or an API that integrates with your desktop or mobile operating system. In most cases, SaaS users pay a monthly or annual subscription fee; some may offer ‘pay-as-you-go’ pricing based on your actual usage.

In addition to the cost savings, time-to-value, and scalability benefits of cloud, SaaS offers the following:

  • Automatic upgrades: With SaaS, you take advantage of new features as soon as the provider adds them, without having to orchestrate an on-premises upgrade.
  • Protection from data loss: Because your application data is in the cloud, with the application, you don’t lose data if your device crashes or breaks.

SaaS is the primary delivery model for most commercial software today—there are hundreds of thousands of SaaS solutions available, from the most focused industry and departmental applications, to powerful enterprise software database and AI (artificial intelligence) software.

PaaS (Platform-as-a-Service)

PaaS provides software developers with on-demand platform—hardware, complete software stack, infrastructure, and even development tools—for running, developing, and managing applications without the cost, complexity, and inflexibility of maintaining that platform on-premises.

With PaaS, the cloud provider hosts everything—servers, networks, storage, operating system software, middleware, databases—at their data center. Developers simply pick from a menu to ‘spin up’ servers and environments they need to run, build, test, deploy, maintain, update, and scale applications.

Today, PaaS is often built around containers, a virtualized compute model one step removed from virtual servers. Containers virtualize the operating system, enabling developers to package the application with only the operating system services it needs to run on any platform, without modification and without need for middleware.

Red Hat OpenShift is a popular PaaS built around Docker containers and Kubernetes, an open source container orchestration solution that automates deployment, scaling, load balancing, and more for container-based applications.

Learn more about PaaS

IaaS (Infrastructure-as-a-Service)

IaaS provides on-demand access to fundamental computing resources–physical and virtual servers, networking, and storage—over the internet on a pay-as-you-go basis. IaaS enables end users to scale and shrink resources on an as-needed basis, reducing the need for high, up-front capital expenditures or unnecessary on-premises or ‘owned’ infrastructure and for overbuying resources to accommodate periodic spikes in usage.  

In contrast to SaaS and PaaS (and even newer PaaS computing models such as containers and serverless), IaaS provides the users with the lowest-level control of computing resources in the cloud.

IaaS was the most popular cloud computing model when it emerged in the early 2010s. While it remains the cloud model for many types of workloads, use of SaaS and PaaS is growing at a much faster rate.

Learn more about IaaS

Serverless computing 

Serverless computing (also called simply serverless) is a cloud computing model that offloads all the backend infrastructure management tasks–provisioning, scaling, scheduling, patching—to the cloud provider, freeing developers to focus all their time and effort on the code and business logic specific to their applications.

What's more, serverless runs application code on a per-request basis only and scales the supporting infrastructure up and down automatically in response to the number of requests. With serverless, customers pay only for the resources being used when the application is running—they never pay for idle capacity. 

FaaS, or Function-as-a-Service, is often confused with serverless computing when, in fact, it's a subset of serverless. FaaS allows developers to execute portions of application code (called functions) in response to specific events. Everything besides the code—physical hardware, virtual machine operating system, and web server software management—is provisioned automatically by the cloud service provider in real-time as the code executes and is spun back down once the execution completes. Billing starts when execution starts and stops when execution stops.

Learn more about serverless

Diagram depicting the different types of cloud computing and who is responsible for managing different elements.

TYPES OF CLOUD COMPUTING

Public cloud

Public cloud is a type of cloud computing in which a cloud service provider makes computing resources—anything from SaaS applications, to individual virtual machines (VMs), to bare metal computing hardware, to complete enterprise-grade infrastructures and development platforms—available to users over the public internet. These resources might be accessible for free, or access might be sold according to subscription-based or pay-per-usage pricing models.

The public cloud provider owns, manages, and assumes all responsibility for the data centers, hardware, and infrastructure on which its customers’ workloads run, and it typically provides high-bandwidth network connectivity to ensure high performance and rapid access to applications and data. 

Public cloud is a multi-tenant environment—the cloud provider's data center infrastructure is shared by all public cloud customers. In the leading public clouds—Amazon Web Services (AWS), Google Cloud, IBM Cloud, Microsoft Azure, and Oracle Cloud—those customers can number in the millions.

The global market for public cloud computing has grown rapidly over the past few years, and analysts forecast that this trend will continue; industry analyst Gartner predicts that worldwide public cloud revenues will exceed $330 billion by the end of 2022 (outside link).

Many enterprises are moving portions of their computing infrastructure to the public cloud because public cloud services are elastic and readily scalable, flexibly adjusting to meet changing workload demands. Others are attracted by the promise of greater efficiency and fewer wasted resources since customers pay only for what they use. Still others seek to reduce spending on hardware and on-premises infrastructures.

Learn more about public cloud

Private cloud

Private cloud is a cloud environment in which all cloud infrastructure and computing resources are dedicated to, and accessible by, one customer only. Private cloud combines many of the benefits of cloud computing—including elasticity, scalability, and ease of service delivery—with the access control, security, and resource customization of on-premises infrastructure.

A private cloud is typically hosted on-premises in the customer's data center. But a private cloud can also be hosted on an independent cloud provider’s infrastructure or built on rented infrastructure housed in an offsite data center.

Many companies choose private cloud over public cloud because private cloud is an easier way (or the only way) to meet their regulatory compliance requirements. Others choose private cloud because their workloads deal with confidential documents, intellectual property, personally identifiable information (PII), medical records, financial data, or other sensitive data.

By building private cloud architecture according to cloud native principles, an organization gives itself the flexibility to easily move workloads to public cloud or run them within a hybrid cloud (see below) environment whenever they’re ready.

Learn more about private cloud

Hybrid cloud

Hybrid cloud is just what it sounds like—a combination of public and private cloud environments. Specifically, and ideally, a hybrid cloud connects an organization's private cloud services and public clouds into a single, flexible infrastructure for running the organization’s applications and workloads.

The goal of hybrid cloud is to establish a mix of public and private cloud resources—and with a level of orchestration between them—that gives an organization the flexibility to choose the optimal cloud for each application or workload and to move workloads freely between the two clouds as circumstances change. This enables the organization to meet its technical and business objectives more effectively and cost-efficiently than it could with public or private cloud alone.

Watch my video, “Hybrid Cloud Explained” (6:35):

Learn more about hybrid cloud

Multicloud and hybrid multicloud

Multicloud is the use of two or more clouds from two or more different cloud providers. Having a multicloud environment can be as simple using email SaaS from one vendor and image editing SaaS from another. But when enterprises talk about multicloud, they're typically talking about using multiple cloud services—including SaaS, PaaS, and IaaS services—from two or more of the leading public cloud providers. In one survey, 85% of organizations reported using multicloud environments.

Hybrid multicloud is the use of two or more public clouds together with a private cloud environment. 

Organizations choose multicloud to avoid vendor lock-in, to have more services to choose from, and to access to more innovation. But the more clouds you use—each with its own set of management tools, data transmission rates, and security protocols—the more difficult it can be to manage your environment. Multicloud management platforms provide visibility across multiple provider clouds through a central dashboard, where development teams can see their projects and deployments, operations teams can keep an eye on clusters and nodes, and the cybersecurity staff can monitor for threats.

Learn more about multicloud

Diagram showing the Four Types of Cloud Computing.

Cloud security

Traditionally, security concerns have been the primary obstacle for organizations considering cloud services, particularly public cloud services. In response to demand, however, the security offered by cloud service providers is steadily outstripping on-premises security solutions.

According to security software provider McAfee, today, 52% of companies experience better security in the cloud than on-premises (outside link). And Gartner has predicted that by this year (2020), infrastructure as a service (IaaS) cloud workloads will experience 60% fewer security incidents than those in traditional data centers (outside link).

Nevertheless, maintaining cloud security demands different procedures and employee skillsets than in legacy IT environments. Some cloud security best practices include the following:

  • Shared responsibility for security: Generally, the cloud provider is responsible for securing cloud infrastructure and the customer is responsible for protecting its data within the cloud—but it's also important to clearly define data ownership between private and public third parties.
  • Data encryption: Data should be encrypted while at rest, in transit, and in use. Customers need to maintain full control over security keys and hardware security module.
  • User identity and access management: Customer and IT teams need full understanding of and visibility into network, device, application, and data access.
  • Collaborative management: Proper communication and clear, understandable processes between IT, operations, and security teams will ensure seamless cloud integrations that are secure and sustainable.
  • Security and compliance monitoring: This begins with understanding all regulatory compliance standards applicable to your industry and setting up active monitoring of all connected systems and cloud-based services to maintain visibility of all data exchanges between public, private, and hybrid cloud environments.

Learn more about cloud security

Cloud use cases

With 25% of organizations planning to move all their applications to cloud within the next year, it would seem that cloud computing use cases are limitless. But even for companies not planning a wholesale shift to the cloud, certain initiatives and cloud computing are a match made in IT heaven.

Disaster recovery and business continuity have always been a natural for cloud because cloud provides cost-effective redundancy to protect data against system failures and the physical distance required to recover data and applications in the event of a local outage or disaster. All of the major public cloud providers offer Disaster-Recovery-as-a-Service (DRaaS).

Anything that involves storing and processing huge volumes of data at high speeds—and requires more storage and computing capacity than most organizations can or want to purchase and deploy on-premises—is a target for cloud computing. Examples include:

For development teams adopting Agile or DevOps (or DevSecOps) to streamline development, cloud offers the on-demand end-user self-service that keeps operations tasks—such as spinning up development and test servers—from becoming development bottlenecks. 

IBM Cloud

IBM Cloud offers the most open and secure public cloud platform for business, a next-generation hybrid multicloud platform, advanced data and AI capabilities, and deep enterprise expertise across 20 industries. IBM Cloud hybrid cloud solutions deliver flexibility and portability for both applications and data. Linux®, Kubernetes, and containers support this hybrid cloud stack, and combine with RedHat® OpenShift® to create a common platform connecting on-premises and cloud resources.

Learn how IBM Cloud solutions can help your organization with the following:

To get started, sign up for an IBM ID and create your IBM Cloud account.

About the Author

Sai Vennam is a Developer Advocate at IBM with expertise on Kubernetes, OpenShift, and managed cloud offerings. He’s passionate about connecting developers with technology that allows them to be successful. As a hobby, he works on his home automation using Raspberry Pis and serverless technology.

Twitter: @birdsaiview

Blogs: https://www.ibm.com/cloud/blog/sai-vennam