什么是机器学习?

机器学习是人工智能的一种形式,它使系统能够从数据中学习而不是通过显式程序学习。但是机器学习的过程并不简单。随着算法采集训练数据,它可以基于这些数据生成更精确的模型。机器学习模型是使用数据训练机器学习算法时生成的输出。经过训练后,当您为模型提供输入信息时,您将获得相应的输出结果。例如,预测算法将创建预测模型。当您为预测模型添加数据时,您将收到基于训练模型数据的预测结果。

机器学习插图

迭代学习

机器学习使模型能够在部署之前对数据集进行训练。一些机器学习模型联机且连续。联机模型的迭代过程有助于改进数据元素之间的关联类型。出于复杂性和大小的原因,这些模式和关联很容易被人类观察所忽视。模型在经过训练后,可以实时用于从数据中学习。准确性的提高是训练过程和自动化的结果,此二者都是机器学习的一部分。

机器学习环境中的大数据

机器学习要求将正确的数据集应用于学习过程。一个组织不需要有大数据就可以使用机器学习技术;然而,大数据可以帮助提高机器学习模型的准确性。在大数据的帮助下,现在就可以实施数据虚拟化,以便能够以最高效、最具成本效益的方式在本地或云端存储数据。此外,网络速度和可靠性的提高,消除了与以可接受的速度管理大量数据有关的其他物理限制。此外,计算机内存价格和复杂程度的变化也带来了影响,现在可以想象企业如何以五年前难以想象的方式来利用数据。

机器学习方法

要提高预测模型的准确性,机器学习必不可少。根据所处理业务问题的性质,不同类型和容量的数据有着不同的处理方法。在本节中,我们将讨论机器学习的类型。

监督式学习

监督式学习通常从一组既定数据开始,并对该数据如何分类有一定的了解。监督式学习旨在查找可以应用于分析流程的数据模式。此数据具有定义数据含义的标记功能。例如,您可以创建一个机器学习应用程序,根据图像和书面描述来区分数百万种动物。

无监督学习

当问题需要大量未标记的数据时,使用无监督学习。例如,社交媒体应用程序(如 Twitter、Instagram 和 Snapchat)都有大量未标记的数据。要理解这些数据背后的含义,需要算法根据它找到的模式或集群对数据进行分类。无监督学习执行迭代过程,分析数据而无需人工干预。它可以与垃圾邮件检测技术相互配合。分析人员需要处理合法邮件和垃圾邮件中的大量变量来标记来源不明的批量电子邮件。而基于集群和关联的机器学习分类器就可以用于识别垃圾邮件。

强化学习

强化学习是一种行为学习模型。算法接收来自数据分析的反馈,指导用户获得最佳结果。强化学习与其他类型的监督式学习不同,因为系统未经过样本数据集的训练。相反,系统通过试错方法来学习。一系列成功的决策将会强化流程,因为它能够以最佳方式解决手头的问题。

深度学习

深度学习是机器学习的一种具体方法,结合连续层中的神经网络,以迭代方式学习数据。当您尝试从非结构化数据中学习模式时,深度学习将大有助益。深度学习复杂神经网络旨在模拟人类大脑的工作方式,因此可以训练计算机处理定义不明确的抽象概念和问题。一般五岁的孩子可以很容易地分辨出老师的脸和交警的脸之间的区别。相反,计算机必须做大量的工作才能弄清楚谁是谁。类神经网络和深度学习常用于图像识别、语音识别和计算机视觉应用。

机器学习图形

应用机器学习来满足业务需求

机器学习为尝试利用大数据的公司提供了潜在的价值,并且可以帮助他们更好地理解行为、偏好或客户满意度的细微变化。很多企业领导者开始意识到,他们的组织和行业中发生的许多事情并不能通过查询来理解。这些事情并不是您所了解的问题,而是一些隐藏模式和异常,它们藏匿在数据当中,可能会带来积极或消极的影响。

它们如何相互结合

机器学习的优点是可以利用算法和模型来预测结果。诀窍在于确保完成工作的数据科学家使用正确的算法,摄取最合适的数据(准确且干净),并使用性能最佳的模型。如果所有这些元素相互结合,就可以通过从数据中学习来持续训练模型并从结果中学习。 建模、模型训练和测试过程的自动化可以实现准确的预测,从而为业务变化提供支持。

人工智能

产品

IBM Watson Studio

内部部署、私有云或公共云解决方案,为团队提供协作机器学习平台,支持使用顶级开源代码工具来探索、模拟和部署数据解决方案。

IBM Machine Learning for z/OS

一款本地机器学习解决方案,可以从企业数据中提取隐藏的价值。使用 IBM z Systems® 数据快速采集和转换数据,从而创建、部署和管理高度准确的自学模型。

IBM SPSS® Modeler

一个图形分析平台,适用于不同技能水平的用户,可通过文本分析、地理空间分析和优化等多种算法和功能大规模部署洞察。

IBM Watson Explorer

一款机器学习支持的内容分析和认知搜索平台,使用户能够从所有数据中获取切实可行的洞察,并帮助实现更好的业务成果。

成功案例

Ahus 通过 Watson Explorer 获得新洞察,帮助为患者提供高质量的医疗服务

Akershus University Hospital (Ahus) 利用 Watson Explorer 与合作伙伴 Capgemini 一起分析数以千计的放射学报告,从而确认团队是否遵循最佳实践,帮助保持高水准的医疗保健。

实时内容分析可以帮助呼叫中心高效提供客户服务

Mizuho Bank Ltd. 借助 IBM Watson Explorer 的实时自然语言处理功能,有效地推动客户互动,缩短客户问题处理时间。

资源

查看产品展示,了解如何在 IBM Watson Studio 中构建机器学习模型来预测客户流失率

查看更多机器学习和深度学习应用程序教程

立即开始免费试用 Watson Studio Desktop

What is machine learning?

Machine learning is a form of AI that enables a system to learn from data rather than through explicit programming. However, machine learning is not a simple process. As the algorithms ingest training data, it is then possible to produce more precise models based on that data. A machine learning model is the output generated when you train your machine learning algorithm with data. After training, when you provide a model with an input, you will be given an output. For example, a predictive algorithm will create a predictive model. Then, when you provide the predictive model with data, you will receive a prediction based on the data that trained the model.

Illustration for machine learning

Iterative learning

Machine learning enables models to train on data sets before being deployed. Some machine- learning models are online and continuous. This iterative process of online models leads to an improvement in the types of associations made between data elements. Due to their complexity and size, these patterns and associations could have easily been overlooked by human observation. After a model has been trained, it can be used in real time to learn from data. The improvements in accuracy are a result of the training process and automation that are part of machine learning.

Big data in context of machine learning

Machine learning requires that the right set of data be applied to a learning process. An organization does not have to have big data to use machine-learning techniques; however, big data can help improve the accuracy of machine-learning models. With big data, it is now possible to virtualize data so it can be stored in the most efficient and cost effective manner, whether on-premises or in the cloud. In addition, improvements in network speed and reliability have removed other physical limitations associated with managing massive amounts of data at the acceptable speed. Add to this the impact of changes in the price and sophistication of computer memory and it’s now possible to imagine how companies can leverage data in ways that would be been inconceivable only five years ago.

Approaches to machine learning

Machine learning techniques are required to improve the accuracy of predictive models. Depending on the nature of the business problem being addressed, there are different approaches based on the type and volume of the data. In this section, we discuss the categories of machine learning.

Supervised learning

Supervised learning typically begins with an established set of data and a certain understanding of how that data is classified. Supervised learning is intended to find patterns in data that can be applied to an analytics process. This data has labeled features that define the meaning of data. For example, you can create a machine-learning application that distinguishes between millions of animals, based onimages and written descriptions.

Unsupervised learning

Unsupervised learning is used when the problem requires a massive amount of unlabeled data. For example, social media applications, such as Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat, all have large amounts of unlabeled data. Understanding the meaning behind this data requires algorithms that classify the data based on the patterns or clusters it finds. Unsupervised learning conducts an iterative process,analyzing data without human intervention. It is used with email spam-detecting technology. There are far too many variables in legitimate and spam emails for an analyst to tag unsolicited bulk email. Instead, machine learning classifiers, based on clustering and association, are applied to identify unwanted email.

Reinforcement learning

Reinforcement learning is a behavioral learning model. The algorithm receives feedback from the data analysis, guiding the user to the best outcome. Reinforcement learning differs from other types of supervised learning, because the system isn’t trained with the sample data set. Rather, the system learns through trial and error. Therefore, a sequence of successful decisions will result in the process being reinforced, because it best solves the problem at hand.

Deep learning

Deep learning is a specific method of machine learning that incorporates neural networks in successive layers to learn from data in an iterative manner. Deep learning is especially useful when you’re trying to learn patterns from unstructured data. Deep learning complex neural networks are designed to emulate how the human brain works, so computers can be trained to deal with poorly defined abstractions and problems.. The average five-year-old child can easily recognize the difference between his teacher’s face and the face of the crossing guard. In contrast, the computer must do a lot of work to figure out who is who. Neural networks and deep learning are often used in image recognition, speech, and computer vision applications.

Graphic for Machine Learning

Applying machine learning to business needs

Machine learning offers potential value to companies trying to leverage big data and helps them better understand subtle changes in behavior, preferences or customer satisfaction. Business leaders are beginning to appreciate that many things happening within their organizations and industries can’t be understood through a query. It isn’t the questions that you know, it’s the hidden patterns and anomalies buried in the data that can help or hurt you.

How it all comes together

The advantage of machine learning is that it is possible to leverage algorithms and models to predict outcomes. The trick is to ensure that the data scientists doing the work are using the right algorithms, ingesting the most appropriate data (that is accurate and clean) and using the best performing models. If all these elements come together it’s possible to continuously train the model and learn from the outcomes by learning from the data. The automation of this process of modeling, training the model and testing leads to accurate predictions to support business change.

Artificial intelligence

Products

IBM Watson Studio

An on-premises, private or public cloud solution that provides a collaborative machine-learning platform for teams to explore, model and deploy data solutions, using the top open-source tools.

IBM Machine Learning for z/OS

An on-premises machine-learning solution that extracts hidden value from enterprise data. Quickly ingest and transform data to create, deploy and manage high-accuracy self-learning models, using IBM z Systems® data.

IBM SPSS® Modeler

A graphical analytics platform for users of all skill levels to deploy insights at scale with a wide range of algorithms and capabilities such as text analytics, geospatial analysis and optimization.

IBM Watson Explorer

A machine learning-powered content analytics and cognitive search platform that provides users with access to actionable insights from all the data and helps achieve better business outcomes.

Case studies

Ahus gains new insights with Watson Explorer to deliver high-quality health

Akershus University Hospital (Ahus) is using Watson Explorer, together with partner Capgemini, to analyze thousands of radiology repots to confirm that teams are following best practices, helping maintain high healthcare standards.

Real-time content analytics helps call centers serve customers effectively

Mizuho Bank Ltd. drives customer interactions effectively and reduces customer handling time with the help of the real-time natural language processing capabilities of IBM Watson Explorer.

Resources

Take a guided tour of how to build a machine learning model to predict customer churn in IBM Watson Studio

Check out more machine learning and deep learning applications tutorials

Start your trial of Watson Studio now at no cost