业务挑战

三菱汽车澳大利亚有限公司以客户为中心的方法带来了可观的业务增长,但随着业务量的增加,其 IT 基础架构的可靠性下降,特别是在高峰时期。

转型

三菱与 IBM 服务部合作,将其现有的 SAP 基础架构迁移到了 IBM Cloud。数据迁移过程简单而无缝,只用了 12 小时即告完成。

结果

缩短 80%

将灾难恢复操作的潜在宕机时间缩短 80%

支持 3000 位用户

通过容量扩充,支持 3000 位用户,能够应对活动高峰和未来扩展

减少管理时间

帮助使销售人员将精力集中在销售现场

业务挑战故事

不断增长的业务与不断变化的 IT 需求

无论是一年一次还是一生一次,购买新车始终是一种重大、激动人心而又有些复杂的体验。经销店员工从一开始就扮演关键角色,无论是耐心接听潜在买家的电话,还是在买家详细考察车场时热情招待。像三菱这样的经销商明白:建立信任和融洽关系有助于让买家在权衡每种模型的利弊时感到更加自在,并最终开始讨论购买条款。

在销售周期的关键时刻,经销店的一切设施都必须顺畅地运行,尤其是 IT 网络。如果网络速度缓慢或无法预测,那么客户可能会变得不耐烦、失去信任或完全放弃购买。

幸运的是,三菱经销店的销售人员知识渊博、和蔼可亲而且经验丰富,他们销售的车辆不仅款式新颖,而且性能可靠。但该组织的 IT 基础架构(负责运行其所有的核心业务流程)在诸如月末促销这样的需求高峰时段开始举步维艰。当系统繁忙时,它就会放慢速度,使工作人员难以按客户需要的那样做出响应和保持专注。

这些挑战不仅在于繁忙时段的销量增加。首席信息官 Mark Tiddy 指出:“三菱实现了巨大的业务增长,我们现在的销售量比五年前增加了大约一半。”

让组织的 IT 基础架构保持可靠运行,同时应对持续增长和管理多变的销售周期变得愈发困难。该组织没有选择继续对澳大利亚所有经销店的单个基础架构进行增量升级,而是决定成为业内第一家全面过渡到云的企业。

我们无缝完成了从旧系统到新系统的数据迁移。而且未对业务造成中断。

Mark Tiddy, 首席信息官, 三菱汽车澳大利亚有限公司

转型故事

快速、无缝地迁移到云

三菱汽车澳大利亚公司将其在澳大利亚的 200 个经销商迁移到了 IBM Cloud,以便交付销售、库存、备件,以及服务、保修、报告、合规性和经销商客户关系管理系统。

三菱在 IBM 服务部的帮助下构建了自己的 SAP 系统,该系统基于 SAP ERP,其中包含了 SAP 客户关系管理 (SAP CRM)、SAP NetWeaver® 门户、SAP 业务仓库 (SAP BW) 以及 SAP 治理、风险和合规性 (SAP GRC),并在 IBM DB2® 上运行。IBM 还帮助对三菱的 SAP 环境进行了多项重大升级。为了继续与 IBM 保持 30 年的积极合作关系,三菱选择利用 IBM Cloud SAP 认证基础架构来支持其不断增长的 IT 需求,并通过 IBM 服务部来帮助完成迁移。IBM 服务部负责管理向 IBM Cloud SAP 认证基础架构的整个迁移活动,包括企业资源规划、企业仓库和 CRM 应用。

其任务关键型 SAP 应用的迁移使经销商能够通过扩展环境来满足业务需求,包括应对销售高峰的需求,并最大程度地减少中断。

Tiddy 指出,将业务关键型应用迁移到云时可能会遇到一些麻烦。“已确定的其中一个问题是,SAP 对各种基础架构平台设有非常严格的认证流程”,他解释道。“IBM 与 SAP 直接合作,能够确保 IBM 基础架构得到适当的认证”,从而使该项目保持正常运转,并使 Tiddy 及其工作人员能够专注于为迁移做准备。

负责三菱澳大利亚客户的 IBM 交付项目主管 Darryl Crittenden 表示认同:“与任何大型迁移一样,我们也遇到了一些问题,但 IBM 坚持不懈地努力,为其获得了 SAP 首次认证。”

结果是成功完成了迁移。“我们无缝完成了从旧系统到新系统的数据迁移。”而且未对业务造成中断。由于需要将大量数据从一个系统迁移到另一个系统,最终的切换工作在一个周末进行,因此宕机时间非常短。”

结果故事

业务连续性、可靠性和可扩展性

在迁移之后,三菱对其新的 IBM Cloud 基础架构所带来的改进感到非常满意。Tiddy 尤为满意的就是新解决方案的业务连续性。他解释说:“在迁移到 IBM Cloud 解决方案之前,我们使用自己的专用基础架构,如果需要切换到 DR(灾难恢复)系统,就会经历长达数周的宕机时间”。而现在,灾难的潜在宕机时间仅为几小时。

Tiddy 指出,潜在宕机时间的这种缩短对于三菱来说尤为重要。“我们的业务无法容忍任何时间超过一到两天的事件,特别是考虑到整个月内的高峰期和低谷期。”

IBM Cloud SAP 认证基础架构的另一个关键优势是可靠性和易于管理。销售人员现在可以从销售现场快速访问系统,避免中断购车的势头。  

最后,将其 SAP 解决方案移至 IBM Cloud 为三菱带来了前所未有的可扩展性。通过经历迁移之后的多年增长,迎来即将出现的更多增长,三菱能够从容应对日益增加的销量。事实上,该组织已经在考虑将该解决方案推广到澳大利亚之外。“下一步合作内容是充分利用我们在三菱汽车澳大利亚公司学到的宝贵经验,并将其推广到全球范围”,Tiddy 表示。“我们的母公司三菱汽车公司 (Mitsubishi Motors Corp.) 开始考虑让全球各地的分销商复用我们的应用平台。”

三菱徽标

三菱汽车澳大利亚有限公司

三菱澳大利亚(外部链接)成立于 1980 年,总部设在墨尔本,是三菱汽车跨国公司的分公司。该组织拥有超过 2000 名员工和 205 个经销商网点,销售各式各样的三菱车辆并提供售后服务,其中包括小型汽车、跑车、轿车、SUV、卡车和混合动力汽车。其 2017 年的年收入为 USD 68 亿。

采取下一步行动

要了解有关本故事中的 IBM 解决方案的更多信息,请联系 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问以下 Web 站点:

Business Challenge

Mitsubishi Motors Australia Ltd.’s customer-focused approach has brought about impressive growth, but as its business volume increased, the reliability of its IT infrastructure declined, particularly during peak times.

Transformation

Mitsubishi worked with IBM Services to migrate its existing SAP infrastructure to IBM Cloud. The data migration was easy, seamless and required only 12 hours.

Results

80% reduction

in potential downtime for disaster recovery operations

Supports 3,000 users

with added capacity for peaks in activity and future expansion

Reduces administration time

and helps keep salespeople on the sales floor

Business challenge story

A growing business with fluctuating IT needs

Whether it happens once a year or once in a lifetime, purchasing a new vehicle is a big, emotional and somewhat complicated experience. Dealership staff play a key role from the very beginning, whether it’s answering potential buyers’ phone calls or greeting them as they peruse the lot. Dealers like Mitsubishi know: Building trust and rapport helps make buyers more comfortable as they weigh the pros and cons of each model and, ultimately, begin discussing the terms of a purchase.

At that critical point in the sales cycle, everything at the dealership must run smoothly, particularly the IT network. If the network is slow or unpredictable, the customer may grow impatient, lose trust or walk away from the sale altogether.

Fortunately, the sales staff at Mitsubishi’s dealerships is knowledgeable, personable and experienced, and the vehicles they sell are attractive and reliable. But the organization’s IT infrastructure, which ran all of its core business processes, was beginning to falter during high-demand periods like month-end sales promotions. The system slowed down when it became busy, making it difficult for staff members to be as responsive and attentive to their customers as they needed to be.

The challenges go beyond increased volume at busy times. Says Mark Tiddy, Chief Information Officer, “at Mitsubishi, growth has been quite significant, and we’re now seeing sales volumes around about 50 percent greater than what they were five years ago.”

Keeping the organization’s IT infrastructure running reliably while also managing continued growth and a variable sales cycle was becoming increasingly difficult. Rather than continue to perform incremental upgrades to the individual infrastructures at dealerships across Australia, the organization decided to become one of the first in its industry to make a full transition to the cloud.

The actual migration of data from the old system to the new system was seamless. It was done without disruption to the business.

—Mark Tiddy, Chief Information Officer, Mitsubishi Motors Australia Ltd.

Transformation story

A quick, seamless migration to the cloud

Mitsubishi Motors Australia migrated 200 of its Australian dealers to the IBM Cloud to deliver sales, inventory, spare parts, and service, warranty, reporting, compliance and dealership customer relationship management systems.

Mitsubishi relied on IBM Services to help build its SAP system, which is based on SAP ERP and includes SAP Customer Relationship Management (SAP CRM), SAP NetWeaver® Portal, SAP Business Warehouse (SAP BW), and SAP Governance, Risk and Compliance (SAP GRC) and runs on IBM DB2®. IBM has also helped with several significant upgrades to Mitsubishi’s SAP environment. Seeking to continue its positive 30 year working relationship with IBM, Mitsubishi selected IBM Cloud SAP-certified infrastructure to support its growing IT requirements, and IBM Services to help complete the transition. IBM Services managed the entire migration to the IBM Cloud SAP-certified infrastructure, including enterprise resource planning, enterprise warehouse and CRM applications.

The migration of their mission-critical SAP applications allows dealers to meet peak sales demands and minimize disruption by scaling the environment to meet the needs of the business.

Tiddy notes migrating business-critical applications to the cloud held some potential for trouble. “One of the issues that was identified was that SAP has very stringent certification processes for the various infrastructure platforms,” he explains. “IBM worked directly with SAP to make sure that the IBM infrastructure was certified appropriately,” thereby keeping the project on track and allowing Tiddy and his staff to focus on preparing for the migration.

Darryl Crittenden, the IBM Delivery Project Executive for the Mitsubishi Australia account, agrees: “As with any large migration, there were some issues that were encountered, and IBM stayed the course, achieving first time certification for SAP.”

The result was a successful migration. “The actual migration of data from the old system to the new system was seamless.” says Tiddy.It was done without disruption to the business. The final cutover occurred over a weekend, and the downtime for that was quite minimal, given the fact that there was a huge amount of data that needed to be migrated from one system to the other.”

Results story

Resilience, reliability and scalability

With the migration behind it, Mitsubishi is pleased with the improvements brought about by its new IBM Cloud infrastructure. Tiddy is particularly happy with the resilience of the new solution. He explains: “Prior to moving to the IBM Cloud solution, with our dedicated infrastructure, if we had a need to actually switch over to a DR (disaster recovery) system, we would have seen downtime for the business of weeks.” Today, potential downtime from a disaster is just hours.

This reduction in potential downtime is particularly important to Mitsubishi, says Tiddy. “The business really would not be able to tolerate anything more than one to two days, particularly given the peaks and troughs that we see in our business throughout the month.”

Another key advantage of the IBM Cloud SAP-certified infrastructure is reliability and ease of administration. Salespeople can now access the system quickly, from the sales floor, without interrupting the momentum of a vehicle purchase.   

Lastly, moving its SAP solution to the IBM Cloud brings Mitsubishi unprecedented scalability. With several years of growth behind it and more growth on the horizon, Mitsubishi is positioned to handle increased volume gracefully. In fact, the organization is already looking at expanding the solution beyond Australia. “What's next in the partnership is to leverage what we've learned here in Mitsubishi Motors Australia and take that to the global level,” says Tiddy. “Our parent company, Mitsubishi Motors Corp., is looking to reuse our application platform with other distributors throughout the world.”

business logo

About Mitsubishi Motors Australia Ltd.

Founded in 1980 and headquartered in Melbourne, Mitsubishi Australia is a division of the global Mitsubishi Motors Corp. With more than 2,000 employees and 205 dealer sites, the organization sells and services a wide variety of Mitsubishi vehicles, including small cars, sports cars, sedans, SUVs, trucks and hybrids. Its 2017 annual revenue was USD 6.8 billion.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following websites: