转变营销方式以提供个性化客户体验
当 IBM Consulting™ 借助 Adobe Experience Cloud 优化人员、流程和技术平台时,IBM® 实现了数据驱动和客户至上
探索 Adobe 服务
办公人员在长长的办公桌前有说有笑

“品牌是一种体验,而体验就是品牌。”IBM 全球成长动力副总裁 Ari Sheinkin 的这句话表达了数字经济的不言自喻的真理,也是 IBM 近期营销转型背后的指导原则。

“您可以随心所欲地打广告,并出现在各种社交平台上,但顾客会在体验您的产品或服务五分钟后就做出决定,”Sheinkin 说到。“如果品牌是一种体验,并且在数字世界中,体验会拉动需求,那么您必须从客户体验着手并放眼长远。”

这一洞察信息促使 IBM 市场营销人员开始反思所有渠道的客户参与度。他们发现,孤立数据妨碍了市场营销人员提供一致、相关的跨渠道体验。假设目标客户群的客户参加了一个活动,但也访问了相关网站、下载了白皮书并处理了一封电子邮件。市场营销人员无法轻松连接所有触点,以清楚了解客户的需求,以及他们处于购买周期的哪个阶段,从而提供个性化体验。

在技术方面,IBM 拥有数十种用来管理数据、数字资产、内容和竞销活动的营销工具。但是由于未集成,这些工具阻碍了协作和数据共享,且手动流程也导致其效率低下。例如,IBM 的数字资产分布在 40 个数字资产管理 (DAM) 平台上,每个平台都有自己的内容、标准和元数据。这种分散浪费了市场营销人员寻找资产的时间。

原有流程和组织结构也带来了挑战。IBM 开展了 2800 个竞销活动,但反映的是 IBM 的组织而不是客户的需求。在不同的地理位置、业务部门和产品系列上,每个人都在没有中心愿景或控制的情况下进行创作。

因此,公司启动了一个重大项目,以改造 IBM 市场营销的复杂体系。Sheinkin 解释道:“我们的工作将从根本上得到简化,专注于提供个性化体验和支持这些体验的数据。”

DAM 优化


得益于经优化的流程和技术,web 页面上市速度比以前快了 75%

上市时间加速


得益于经优化的流程和技术,web 页面上市速度比以前快了 75%

 

我们的工作将从根本上得到简化,专注于提供个性化体验和支持这些体验的数据。 Ari Sheinkin Vice President, Global Demand IBM
IBM Garage 共同为员工和客户创造价值

咨询团队与 IBM 市场营销部门合作,运用 IBM Garage™ 方法部署 Adobe 套件。除了这项技术工作之外,IBM iX 设计团队还帮助优化了低效流程,并设想支持转型的新营销技能和角色。

IBM Garage 方法是什么?这是一种加速数字化转型的端到端模型,有助于产生创新想法并加速实施。在这个项目中,由来自营销策略、设计、开发和技术的专家组成的跨职能团队共同创造了新的营销模式。营销策略人员设定方向,然后顾问团队以新的眼光审视这项工作,推动并挑战市场营销人员考虑彻底简化的新方法。

接着,各小组优先考虑在两到六周的冲刺时间内完成项目的各个小部分。这有助于避免出现死胡同或员工孤军奋战。“敏捷的核心原则是以人为本的频繁迭代和测试,”IBM iX 合伙人 Laura Evans 说到。“换句话说,每次小迭代都必须为员工或客户提供更好的体验。然后迭代将继续。”

Adobe 套件是业务转型的催化剂。但如果我们要成为数字优先、以体验为中心、由数据驱动的企业,就必须改变我们的流程、我们的员工、我们的文化,一切都必须改变。 Ari Sheinkin Vice President, Global Demand IBM
Adobe Workfront 将一切汇集

由于 Adobe 技术和新流程主要应用于营销执行,因此整个全球市场营销团队也需要自己的平台。答案是 Adobe Workfront,它是 Adobe 工具和所有 IBM 市场营销之间的结缔组织。

作为领先的 Adobe Workfront 合作伙伴,IBM Consulting 在跨系统和团队优化流程和自动化工作流程方面发挥了关键作用。“IBM Consulting 始终陪伴在我们左右,帮助我们适应新的架构和工作方式。”IBM Workfront 业务负责人 Saralyssa Gonzalez 说道。

Workfront 团队的当务之急是向 IBM 市场营销人员提供营销的共同观点:优先资产、页面、媒体、需求自动化和用户体验表单的中央记录系统。这推动了整个重构市场营销组织的协同效应。

“我们通过 Workfront 为彼此之间打造了无缝的实地体验,”Gonzalez 说到。“这种更高效的工作模式有助于我们提供由数据驱动且相关的客户体验。”

早期成就涉及将内容翻译成 IBM 在其各个地区支持的八种语言的复杂问题。通过 Workfront 与外部翻译服务和全球市场营销团队集成,翻译速度提高了 55%,质量提高了 28%。

彻底简化带来巨大红利

IBM Consulting 帮助加快了转型项目实现价值的时间。部署新技术平台仅用不到一年的时间,简化的自动化工作模式已降低了数亿美元的成本。该项目还加快了上市时间,并协助实现了客户体验的个性化。

试想将 2800 个竞销活动简化为 100 个的好处。“通过这 100 个竞销活动,我们不仅可以覆盖之前已覆盖的所有受众,还可以变得更加个性化,因为竞销活动更加简单,”Sheinkin 说到。“我们还见证了媒体投资回报率提高了 35%,因为我们有足够的资金来实现 100 个竞销活动的目标。”

将 40 个 DAM 平台整合为 Adobe Experience Manager 管理的一个平台也能带来好处。无需再维护 39 个平台,可降低成本。由于市场营销人员清楚资产位置,Web 页面的上市速度提高了 75%。而且,一致的元数据可以更轻松地实时自动化个性化设置。

这些优势将帮助 IBM 大规模地提供个性化体验。当客户访问 IBM.com 时,他们看到的页面将与他们相关,案例研究也将涉及其行业的重要领域。媒体和网络社交参与的连续性都将像是一段旅程。

“从以体验为中心着手,并致力于支撑这些优势的彻底简化,”Sheinkin 说到。“这一切都是因为我们选择了客户至上。”

IBM 徽标
关于 IBM

IBM 是全球领先的混合云、人工智能和商业服务提供商,帮助超过 175 个国家/地区的客户利用数据洞察、简化业务流程、降低成本并获得竞争优势。

    采取下一步行动

    要详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

    查看更多案例 联系 IBM Boots UK
    零售商转向数字商务并延续其 173 年的创新之路
    阅读成功案例
    Salesforce
    唯一平台,唯一可信源,One IBM
    阅读成功案例
    法律

    © Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

    2022 年 11 月在美国制作。

    IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Consulting、IBM Cloud、IBM Garage 和 IBM iX 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/trademark

    Adobe、Adobe 徽标、PostScript 和 PostScript 徽标是 Adobe Systems Incorporated 在美国和/或其他国家/地区的注册商标或商标。

    本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

    文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter for thought-provoking insights on emerging trends.

“Your brand is your experience and your experience is your brand.” With these words, Ari Sheinkin, Vice President, Global Demand at IBM, expresses a truism of the digital economy and a guiding principle behind IBM’s recent marketing transformation.

“You can do all the advertising you want and be on all the social platforms, but five minutes after someone experiences your product or service, they’ve made up their mind,” says Sheinkin. “If your brand is your experience, and in a digital world your experience drives demand, then you have to start and work backwards from the client experience.”

This insight led IBM marketers to reflect on client engagement across all channels. They found that siloed data prevented marketers from delivering consistent, relevant cross-channel experiences. Say a client from a target account went to an event, but also had visited the website, downloaded a white paper and engaged with an email. Marketers couldn’t easily connect all the touch points to get a clear picture of what that client wanted and where they were in the buying cycle to deliver a personalized experience.

On the technology side, IBM had dozens of marketing tools for managing data, digital assets, content and campaigns. Being unintegrated, they hindered collaboration and data sharing, and manual processes made them inefficient. IBM’s digital assets, for instance, were spread across 40 digital asset management (DAM) platforms, each with its own content, standards and metadata. Such dispersion wasted marketers’ time in finding assets.

Legacy processes and organizational structure led to challenges as well. IBM was running 2,800 campaigns, which reflected IBM’s organization rather than client needs. Across geographies, business units and product lines, everyone was creating without a central vision or control.

Thus began a major project to transform the complex system that was IBM marketing. Explains Sheinkin: “Our work would be to radically simplify—focused on delivering personalized experiences and on the data that supports those experiences.”

IBM Consulting optimized DAM by consolidating 40 platforms into

1

using Adobe Experience Manager

Thanks to optimized processes and technology, web pages come to market

75%

faster than before

Deploying the Adobe Experience Cloud platform

Transformation began with data consolidation and rationalization. Then, IBM marketing replaced legacy marketing tools with Adobe Experience Cloud, the industry leading integrated suite for marketing execution. The suite includes

“The Adobe suite was a catalyst for business transformation,” says Sheinkin. “But if we were to become digital-first, experience centric and data driven, we would have to change our processes, our people, our culture—everything had to change.”

Expert in business transformation at large enterprises, IBM Consulting™ supported the project end to end, from business strategy and process design though data, infrastructure, development and testing. IBM iX® (link resides outside of ibm.com), the experience design team within IBM Consulting, managed the project hand in hand with IBM marketing.

IBM Garage co-creates value for employees and clients

Working with IBM marketing, the consulting team used the IBM Garage™ method to deploy the Adobe suite. Alongside this technical work, the IBM iX design team helped optimize inefficient processes and envision new marketing skills and roles that would support transformation.

What is the IBM Garage methodology? It’s an end-to-end model for accelerating digital transformation that helps generate innovative ideas and speed implementation. In this project, blended squads with experts from marketing strategy, design, development and technology co-created the new marketing model. Marketing strategists set the direction, and then the squad of consultants viewed the work with fresh eyes, pushing and challenging the marketers to consider new approaches for radical simplification.

Next, the squads prioritized small pieces of the project to be completed in sprints of two to six weeks. This helped avoid lengthy dead ends and staffers working in isolation. “The core agile principal is frequent iterations and testing guided by a human focus,” says Laura Evans, Partner at IBM iX. “In other words, each small iteration must support a better experience for either an employee or client. And then the iterations continue.”

Man in a office pointing to bulletin board covered in post-it notes

Adobe Workfront ties it all together

Because the Adobe technology and new processes applied mainly to marketing execution, the entire global marketing team also needed its own platform. The answer was Adobe Workfront, the connective tissue among the Adobe tools and all of IBM marketing.

As a leading Adobe Workfront partner, IBM Consulting played a critical role in optimizing processes and automating workflows across systems and the team. “IBM Consulting has been alongside us every step of the way to help us adapt to the new construct and ways of working,” says Saralyssa Gonzalez, Workfront Business Owner at IBM.

The Workfront team’s immediate focus was to provide a common view of marketing to IBM marketers: a central system of record for priority assets, pages, media, demand automation and user experience forms. Doing so drove synergy across the reimagined marketing organization.

“With Workfront, we created seamless experiences on the ground among ourselves,” says Gonzalez. “This more efficient working model helps us deliver client experiences that are data driven and relevant.”

One early success involves the complex problem of translating content into the eight languages IBM supports across its geographies. With Workfront integrating with an outside translation service and the global marketing team, translations are 55% faster and quality is 28% better.

Co-workers in a meeting

Radical simplification pays big dividends

IBM Consulting helped deliver fast time to value for the transformation project. Deploying the new technology platform took less than a year, and a simplified, automated working model has reduced costs by hundreds of millions of dollars. The project has also accelerated time to market and helped personalize client experiences.

Consider the advantages of simplifying 2,800 campaigns down to 100. “With those 100, we can not only reach all the audiences we previously reached, but we can be more personalized because the campaigns are simpler,” says Sheinkin. “We’re also seeing 35% better ROI on media because we have enough funds to hit our numbers on 100 campaigns.”

Consolidating 40 DAM platforms into one under Adobe Experience Manager pays dividends as well. Not having to maintain 39 platforms reduces costs. Web pages are coming to market 75% faster because marketers know where the assets are. And consistent metadata makes it easier to automate personalization in real time.

Such benefits will help IBM deliver personalized experiences at scale. When clients come to IBM.com, the pages they see will be relevant to them and case studies will matter for their industry. And the continuity from the media and social engagement to the web will all feel like one journey.

“Starting with experience centricity and committing to radical simplification underpins these benefits,” says Sheinkin. “It’s all because we made the choice to be more focused on the client.”

IBM logo

About IBM

IBM is a leading global hybrid cloud, AI and business services provider, helping clients in more than 175 countries capitalize on insights from their data, streamline business processes, reduce costs and gain a competitive edge.

Solution components:

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States, November 2022.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, IBM Consulting, IBM Cloud, IBM Garage, and IBM iX are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at http://www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.

Adobe, the Adobe logo, PostScript, and the PostScript logo are either registered trademarks or trademarks of Adobe Systems Incorporated in the United States, and/or other countries.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED "AS IS" WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.