ACCES Employment 是一家非营利性机构,可将各种不同背景的求职者与主要雇主联系起来。 ACCES 每年与 2800 多个雇主和 40000 名求职者合作,通过七个地点为大多伦多地区提供服务,并为全加拿大在线提供服务,特别关注那些接受过国际培训的专业人士和新来加拿大的人。ACCES 还为世界各地获准移民加拿大的人提供抵达前服务。

与非营利机构和就业服务领域的许多其他组织一样,ACCES 将数字化转型列为战略重点。 利用在线工具来补充面对面互动,该组织能够通过客户的首选渠道联系客户。 此外,数字服务对于移民抵达前的支持和准备至关重要。 数字服务可提高机构的能力,而不必增加人力资源,也不会让工作人员精疲力竭。

“在新冠疫情之前,采用数字技术就是 ACCES 的一个战略重点,如今更为重要,也更加迫切。”ACCES 总裁兼首席执行官 Allison Pond 这样表示。

2016 年,由于埃森哲公司的一项重大技术资助,ACCES 实现了数字服务现代化,也由此正式开始了转型之旅。 通过开发全新的在线学习中心和各种虚拟服务,同时增强 Salesforce CRM,最终取得了出色的成果。 两年多来,ACCES 服务的客户数量翻了一倍还多,从 2016 年的 16000 人增至 2018 年的 36000 人。

这一急剧增长使 ACCES 进入了下一个发展阶段,即如何利用技术来改善客户服务旅程,从而有效地处理不断增长的客户量。“我们仍希望利用技术来简化流程,确保我们能够响应每个寻求我们服务的人”,服务和战略计划高级副总裁 Manjeet Dhiman 表示,“那是我们第一次开始思考 AI 可以为我们的组织带来的价值。”

在 IBM Watson 的支持下,VERA 虚拟助手每月可执行超过

1,800

次对话

VERA 的智能性、效率和可用性第一年即帮助节省了超过

500

个工时

具体的关注点是处理激增的日常和重复的求职者询问,这些询问都会占用工作人员的时间。 地点位于哪里? 我能见见顾问吗? 我需要预约吗? 这个计划要符合哪些条件? 能帮我找份工作并报名参加活动吗? 这类信息都在网站上显示,但人们往往更喜欢互动体验而不是自行搜索。 这样一来,挑战就在于既能够以互动方式交付信息,又能节约人力资源。

ACCES 设想使用 AI 支持的虚拟客服或对话助手作为数字查询的第一联系点。 因此,在 2019 年,ACCES 向埃森哲提交了一份提案,申请为已成功获批的技术开发项目提供第二笔资助。 通过这个项目,ACCES 向供应商发布了一份 RFP,要求其开发一个可以直接通过网站吸引访客的虚拟助手。 它需要以 24x7 方式全天候回答常见问题,避免一些日常查询;允许用户报名参与活动;生成求职者线索以供员工探查;抵消为执行此类任务而耗费的数百个工时。

在供应商评估后,ACCES 团队选择了作为数据科学、机器学习和 AI 领域专家的 IBM 业务合作伙伴 Newcomp Analytics。 是什么让 Newcomp 获得了优势? “我们非常喜欢 IBM 企业 AI 解决方案,Newcomp 凭借其在为其他客户实施这些工具方面的专业知识脱颖而出。”Dhiman 这样表示。 Newcomp 还凭借其对项目的理解、在经验证的实施加速器方面的专业知识,以及在 AI 方面指导 ACCES 员工以支持未来计划的能力,给 ACCES 团队留下了深刻的印象。

疫情肆虐之年的 AI 发展

ACCES 聘请 Newcomp 来帮助进行开发和提供 AI 支持。 有了需求之后,ACCES 和 Newcomp 团队使用了敏捷迭代流程来开发虚拟客服 - ACCES 员工贡献了业务知识,Newcomp 则提供了技术专业知识。 在疫情蔓延之时,迭代开发非常适合该项目,这是因为它需要对工作流程和 AI 对话进行大量更改,以考虑完全采用远程操作。“在疫情期间,我们不得不暂停面对面服务,”Dhiman 解释道。“因此,我们也不得不对 AI 开发过程进行许多调整。”

该解决方案由 IBM Watson® Assistant 软件和 IBM Watson Discovery 解决方案提供支持,前者提供了 AI 支持的对话界面,后者是一种智能搜索和文本分析引擎,可根据用户查询检索非结构化内容。 这两种 AI 服务都在 IBM Cloud® 上运行,它为开发团队提供了一个驱动虚拟客服的各项服务的统一视图,呈现了服务的当前状态,此外还提供了服务利用率的回顾视图。 这促进了关于如何通过 AI 创新改进和优化解决方案的讨论。

开发人员还将该助手与 Salesforce 相集成。 这一集成自动将用户概要文件载入到 CRM 工具中,作为由 ACCES 工作人员跟进的线索。

电脑旁的开发人员

开发完成后,ACCES 将虚拟客服命名为 VERA,这是“虚拟就业和资源助理”(Virtual Employment and Resource Attendant) 的缩写。 它是首批在加拿大非营利就业服务部门部署的 AI 助手之一。

VERA 面向多个服务领域,每周 7 天、每天 24 小时无休止工作,无需人工干预,具体包括以下内容:

  • 为求职者、雇主和志愿者解答常见问题
  • 向用户推荐特定的 ACCES 计划和服务
  • 促进用户注册参加其所感兴趣的研讨会和活动
  • 呈现求职资源的直接链接,如简历模板、文章、视频和网页内容
  • 自动向求职者发送电子邮件
  • 为注册客户提供支持
  • 使用用户概要文件填充 Salesforce CRM,以供员工作为线索进行探寻

VERA 位于各种网页上,具有七个对话分支,可了解 100 多个用户意图,并且在Watson Discovery 存储库中具有 2000 多份文档。 每个计划页面上都会弹出解决方案的定制版本,其中包含信息会话注册或请求项目团队回电的快速链接。 通过这种方式,该解决方案旨在将围绕计划的虚拟对话转换为与人类客服的对话。

“如果用户想深入了解某个特定计划,且他们又进入那个分支,可能就会询问他们一些关于其语言技能、经验水平等方面的问题。”ACCES 数字服务总监 Aimee Holmes 这样表示。 另一个分支可帮助用户找到适合他们的计划。 现有客户拥有自己的分支,可以指导他们与就业顾问交谈、报名参加活动或安排回电。 最后,还有一个分支,供希望使用 ACCES 服务的雇主使用。

VERA 还为那些可能不想注册但在求职方面需要帮助的低接触用户提供资源。 例如,VERA 可以将他们引导至简历撰写教程或者面试技巧。 这类材料的结尾通常是:“如果您想了解更多细节,请致电顾问,我们可以单独与您合作。”这是一个良性循环,增加了 ACCES Employment 的可信度。

提高了给予求职者帮助的能力

ACCES 和 Newcomp 团队于 2020 年 8 月完成了 Beta 测试版,在 2020 年 10 月进行测试和试运行之后,该助手于 2021 年 1 月完全集成到网站中。 迄今为止,结果非常不错。

VERA 每月进行 1800 多次对话。 它极大地促进了计划和活动的直接注册,并提供了 75% 的用户满意度。“我们更新并精简了网站,新增的 VERA 为客户创造了全新的体验。 它的互动性更强,更便于客户找到信息,”Dhiman 说道。

ACCES 员工非常感谢 VERA,因为它使他们能够专注于更高价值的活动。 一些工作人员将客户推荐至 VERA 进行活动注册。 大约 100 名雇主通过 VERA 与 ACCES 建立了联系。 与 Salesforce 的集成简化了将数字查询转化为客户的过程。

为了与 ACCES 的现场工作流程协调一致,VERA 要求用户提供他们的联系信息和资格证书。 这为顾问提供了一个用户快照,作为继续对话的跳板。 该信息出现在熟悉的 Salesforce 环境中,用于管理潜在客户和客户关系。 事实上,工作人员已经将大约四分之一的 VERA 线索转化为客户,这在疫情期间着实是一项令人印象深刻的成就。

“VERA 为服务打开了另一扇门,这对我们来说是一个非常好的时机,”Holmes 这样说道。 根据 ACCES 团队的计算结果,该虚拟客服在不到一年的服务时间里节省了约 500 个工时。

开发团队仍在通过监控错误答案来提高 VERA 的准确性。 随着疫苗接种率增加和疫情限制的解除,ACCES 计划采用一种混合运营模式,将最佳在线服务与现场互动结合起来。 随着办公室重新开放,越来越多的人开始找工作,ACCES 将修改其流程,也许还会修改 VERA 所提供的信息。 这样,VERA 将会与运营变化保持一致。

未来,Newcomp 团队将继续支持 VERA,并帮助 ACCES 人员获得 AI 专业知识。 这项合作已促使人们产生了将 AI 融入其他服务领域的想法,例如,使用 VERA 和 AI 通过提高互动性和吸引力来改进电子学习。“我们的确想探究如何扩大 AI 和其他技术的运用,从而继续构建我们的服务并使之现代化,”Dhiman 这样表示。

“VERA 是我们所提供的就业服务的一项重要补充,它将大幅提高我们应对不断增长的服务需求的能力”,ACCES 总裁兼首席执行官 Pond 说道,“AI 为我们的组织和整个行业提供了全新的可能性,这让我们倍感兴奋。”

解决方案组件

ACCES Employment 徽标

关于 ACCES Employment

ACCES(外部链接)成立于 1986 年,是一家非营利性机构,它主要是将求职者与雇主联系起来,为他们找到与其资历和经验相符的职位。每年,它在加拿大大多伦多地区的 7 个地点和线上为近 4 万名求职者提供服务。 ACCES 的愿景是建立一支具有充分包容性的劳动力队伍,体现加拿大人口的多样性、技能和经验。

Newcomp 徽标

关于 Newcomp Analytics

作为 With Watson® 计划的一员,IBM 业务合作伙伴 Newcomp(外部链接)利用分析技术,在银行、教育、医疗保健和其他行业帮助客户获得强大的洞察。 它为北美的 400 多家企业提供了正确的工具、软件和专业知识,帮助他们了解其数据。 Newcomp 总部位于加拿大,成立于 1991 年,员工约 75 人。

With Watson 徽标

关于 With Watson

With Watson 计划是一个全球客户成功计划,为将 Watson 技术嵌入其产品的组织提供专属的品牌、营销和支持资源。

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, Hybrid Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 12 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Cloud、IBM Watson 和 With Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多管辖区域注册的商标。 其他产品和服务可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下 Web 站点上的"Copyright and trademark information"部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:https://www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可随时对其进行修改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有这些产品或服务。

引用的性能数据和客户示例仅用于演示目的。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和运行条件而异。本文档中的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,不包含任何有关适销、适用于某种特定用途的保证以及有关非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品是根据产品提供时所依据的协议条款和条件提供保证的。

A virtual assistant transforms digital employment services

Harnessing AI, a nonprofit boosts its capacity to help jobseekers and newcomers to Canada find work
by Tom Farre
7-minute read
People sharing laptop

ACCES Employment is a nonprofit agency that connects jobseekers from diverse backgrounds with leading employers. Serving the Greater Toronto area from seven locations and all of Canada online, ACCES works with over 2,800 employers and 40,000 jobseekers annually, with a special focus on internationally trained professionals and newcomers to Canada. ACCES also provides pre-arrival services to people around the world who are approved for immigration to Canada.

Like many other organizations in the nonprofit and employment services sectors, ACCES has set digital transformation as a strategic priority. Complementing in-person interactions with online tools has allowed the organization to reach clients through their preferred channels. Also, digital services are essential to supporting and preparing immigrants before arrival. Digital services can boost the agency’s capacity without increasing or straining staff resources.

“Adopting digital technology was an important strategic priority at ACCES before the pandemic, and now it’s even more important and urgent,” says Allison Pond, President and CEO at ACCES.

The transformation journey began in earnest in 2016 thanks to a major technology grant from Accenture that helped ACCES modernize its digital services. Developing a new online learning hub and various virtual services along with enhancing Salesforce CRM produced excellent results. Over two years, ACCES more than doubled the number of clients served, from 16,000 in 2016 to 36,000 in 2018.

This dramatic increase led ACCES to the next stage of development — how to efficiently handle growing client volume by leveraging technology to enhance the client service journey. “We wanted to, again, continue to leverage technology to streamline our processes and ensure we could respond to everyone who sought our services,” says Manjeet Dhiman, Senior Vice President, Services and Strategic Initiatives. “That’s when we first thought about the value AI could bring to our organization.”

The specific concern was handling the surge of routine and repetitive jobseeker inquiries that tied up personnel. Where are you located? Can I see a counselor? Do I need an appointment? What are the eligibility criteria for this program? Can you help me find a job and register for an event? Such information was on the website, but people often prefer an interactive experience to searching. The challenge, then, was to deliver the information interactively while conserving staff resources.

People standing using computers

Powered by IBM Watson, the VERA virtual assistant conducts more than

1,800

conversations each month

Of all the people interacting with VERA in its first year,

1/4

became ACCES clients

VERA’s intelligence, efficiency and availability saved more than

500

staff hours in the first year

We have updated and streamlined our website, and the addition of VERA creates a whole new experience for clients. It becomes much more interactive and easier for them to find information.
Manjeet Dhiman
Senior Vice President, Services and Strategic Initiatives, ACCES Employment

ACCES envisioned an AI powered virtual agent, or conversational assistant, as the first point of contact for digital inquiries. Thus in 2019, ACCES submitted a proposal to Accenture for a second grant for a technology development project that was successfully approved. Through this project, ACCES issued an RFP for a vendor to develop a virtual assistant that could engage visitors directly from the website. It would need to answer FAQs 24x7 to head off routine queries; allow users to register for events; generate jobseeker leads for staff to pursue; and offset hundreds of staff hours performing such tasks.

After a vendor evaluation, the ACCES team chose IBM Business Partner Newcomp Analytics, an expert in data science, machine learning and AI. What gave Newcomp the edge? “There were things about the IBM enterprise AI solutions that we really liked, and Newcomp stood out for their expertise in implementing these tools for other clients,” says Dhiman. Newcomp also impressed the ACCES team with its understanding of the project, its expertise in proven implementation accelerators, and its ability to coach ACCES staffers in AI to support future initiatives.

Woman typing on a laptop
Man working on a computer
During the pandemic, we had to suspend in-person service delivery. As a result, we also had to make many adjustments to the AI development process.
Manjeet Dhiman
Senior Vice President, Services and Strategic Initiatives, ACCES Employment
AI development in a pandemic year
During the pandemic, we had to suspend in-person service delivery. As a result, we also had to make many adjustments to the AI development process.
Manjeet Dhiman
Senior Vice President, Services and Strategic Initiatives, ACCES Employment

ACCES engaged Newcomp for development assistance and AI support. With the requirements in hand, the ACCES and Newcomp team used an agile, iterative process to develop the virtual agent — ACCES staff contributed business knowledge and Newcomp provided technology expertise. Iterative development served the project well when the pandemic hit, since it necessitated considerable changes to workflows and AI dialogues to account for fully remote operations. “During the pandemic, we had to suspend in-person service delivery,” explains Dhiman. “As a result, we also had to make many adjustments to the AI development process.”

The solution is powered by IBM Watson® Assistant software, which provides the AI-powered conversational interface, and the IBM Watson Discovery solution, an intelligent search and text analytics engine that retrieves unstructured content in response to user queries. Both AI services run on IBM Cloud®, which gives the development team a consolidated view of the services that power the agent — the current state of services along with a retrospective view of service utilization. This fosters discussions on how to improve and optimize the solution through AI innovation.

The developers also integrated the assistant with Salesforce. The integration automatically onboards user profiles into the CRM tool as leads for follow-up by ACCES’s staff.

After development was complete, ACCES named the agent VERA, an acronym for Virtual Employment and Resource Attendant. It is one of the first AI assistants to be deployed in the Canadian nonprofit employment services sector.

VERA addresses multiple areas of service, 24 hours a day, seven days a week, without human intervention, including the following:

  • Answering FAQs for jobseekers, employers and volunteers
  • Referring users to specific ACCES programs and services
  • Facilitating registration of users into workshops and events that match their interests
  • Surfacing direct links to job-search resources such as resume templates, articles, videos and web content
  • Automating email flows to jobseekers
  • Supporting registered clients
  • Populating Salesforce CRM with user profiles for staff to pursue as leads
  • Residing on various web pages, VERA features seven conversation branches, understands more than 100 user intents and has more than 2,000 documents in the Watson Discovery repository. Custom versions of the solution pop up on each program page with quick links for information session registration or requesting a call-back from the program team. In this way, the solution aims to convert the virtual conversation around programs to a dialogue with a human agent.

    “If users want to learn more about a particular program, and they go down that branch, they may be asked relevant questions about their language skills, experience level and so on,” says Aimee Holmes, Director of Digital Services at ACCES. Another branch helps users find programs that are right for them. Existing clients have their own branch, which may direct them to speak with their employment consultant, register for an event or schedule a callback. Finally, there’s a branch for employers interested in using ACCES’s services.

    VERA also offers resources for light-touch users who may not want to register but need help with their job search. VERA can direct them to resume-writing tutorials, for example, or tips on acing a job interview. This type of material often concludes with, “If you want more details, call a counsellor so we can work with you individually.” It’s a virtuous circle that adds to ACCES Employment’s credibility.

    Increased capacity to assist jobseekers

    The ACCES and Newcomp team completed a beta version in August 2020, and after testing and a soft launch in October 2020, the attendant was 100% integrated into the website in January 2021. The results so far have been excellent.

    VERA conducts over 1,800 conversations each month. It contributes significantly to direct program and event registrations and delivers a 75% user satisfaction rate. “We have updated and streamlined our website, and the addition of VERA creates a whole new experience for clients. It becomes much more interactive and easier for them to find information,” says Dhiman.

    ACCES employees appreciate VERA because it frees them to focus on higher-value activities. Some staff refer clients to VERA for event registrations. Around 100 employers have connected with ACCES through VERA. And integration with Salesforce has streamlined the process of converting digital inquiries into clients.

    To harmonize with ACCES’s in-person workflow, VERA asks users for their contact information and about their qualifications. This gives consultants a user snapshot that serves as a springboard to continue the conversation. The information appears in the familiar Salesforce environment for managing prospect and client relationships. In fact, staff have converted approximately one quarter of VERA leads into clients, an impressive achievement during the pandemic.

    “VERA has opened another doorway to service, and this has come at a very good time for us,” says Holmes. The ACCES team calculates that the agent has saved some 500 employee hours in less than one year in service.

    The development team continues to improve VERA’s accuracy by monitoring incorrect answers. And as vaccinations increase and pandemic restrictions are lifted, ACCES plans to adopt a hybrid operating model that combines the best of online services with in-person interactions. With offices reopening and more people looking for work, ACCES will revise its processes and perhaps the information VERA serves up. This way, VERA will align with operational changes.

    Moving forward, the Newcomp team will continue to support VERA and help ACCES personnel gain AI expertise. The collaboration has already generated ideas for infusing AI into other service areas — for instance, using VERA and AI to improve e-learning by making it more interactive and engaging. “We really want to look into how we can expand the use of AI and other technology to continue to build and modernize our services,” says Dhiman.

    “VERA is an important addition to our employment service provision and will greatly enhance our ability to respond to growing demand for our services,” says ACCES President and CEO Pond. “We are excited by the new possibilities that AI provides to our organization and to the sector overall.”

    ACCES Employment logo
    About ACCES Employment

    Founded in 1986, ACCESExternal Link is a nonprofit agency that connects jobseekers with employers in roles suited to their qualifications and experience. It serves nearly 40,000 jobseekers annually from seven locations in the Greater Toronto, Canada area and online. ACCES’s vision a fully inclusive workforce that reflects the diversity, skills and experience of Canada’s population.

    Newcomp logo
    About Newcomp Analytics

    A member of the With Watson® Program, IBM Business Partner NewcompExternal Link helps customers in banking, education, healthcare and other industries obtain powerful insights using analytics. It has provided more than 400 enterprises in North America with the right tools, software and expertise to make sense of their data. Based in Canada, Newcomp was founded in 1991 and employs approximately 75 people.

    With Watson logo
    About With Watson

    The With Watson Program is a global customer success program providing exclusive brand, marketing and enablement resources to organizations that are embedding Watson technologies into their offerings.

    Solution components
    ACCES Employment logo
    About ACCES Employment

    Founded in 1986, ACCESExternal Link is a nonprofit agency that connects jobseekers with employers in roles suited to their qualifications and experience. It serves nearly 40,000 jobseekers annually from seven locations in the Greater Toronto, Canada area and online. ACCES’s vision a fully inclusive workforce that reflects the diversity, skills and experience of Canada’s population.

    Newcomp logo
    About Newcomp Analytics

    A member of the With Watson® Program, IBM Business Partner NewcompExternal Link helps customers in banking, education, healthcare and other industries obtain powerful insights using analytics. It has provided more than 400 enterprises in North America with the right tools, software and expertise to make sense of their data. Based in Canada, Newcomp was founded in 1991 and employs approximately 75 people.

    With Watson logo
    About With Watson

    The With Watson Program is a global customer success program providing exclusive brand, marketing and enablement resources to organizations that are embedding Watson technologies into their offerings.

    Solution components