珠宝客户获得个性化的数字体验
通过云端订单管理,优化电子商务履行
Pandora 专卖店

自 1982 年成立以来,Pandora Jewellery 已成为全球销量最大的珠宝品牌。这家丹麦珠宝公司以物美价廉、手工制作的高品质珠宝而享有盛名。客户在全球各地的 Pandora 品牌专卖店和销售点都能获得个性化关注,对此他们深感欣慰,他们可以试戴和个性化定制独特的装饰性手镯和其他收藏品。

与一般珠宝行业的公司类似,Pandora 一直以来依赖于这种高度个性化的方式,而不是电子商务。它的网站更像一个在线目录,而不是数字化商店,而且速度很慢。用于订单和库存管理的传统技术效率低下,且并未实现全球标准化。此外,客户服务代理缺乏对订单、库存和物流的深入了解,无法回答诸如“我的订单在哪里?”以及“什么时候发货?”等基本问题。

这些问题促使 Pandora 的管理团队迫不及待要成为全渠道商务的领导者。通过对线上销售、订单管理、订单履行和退货进行数字化转型,无论客户选择哪个渠道,零售商都可以提供类似于店内体验的个性化数字互动。

Pandora 首席数字与技术官 David Walmsley 表示:“当今的消费者需要更加个性化的产品、服务和互动。作为一个全球品牌,我们的关键问题是要充分利用技术和数据,进而打造出色的客户体验。”

Pandora 工程总监 Anil Uttamchandani 补充道:“我们的主要关注点是个性化。有了这种能力,我们才能根据客户的个性特点来服务客户,无论是线上还是店内,都能为他们提供跨渠道的个性化体验。”

交易量呈爆炸性增长

 

运营不到一年,Pandora 数字平台处理的电子商务交易量增长了100%

简化服务

 

基于 API 的框架可帮助 IBM® Sterling Order Management 简化在线系统和服务的集成

加速开发

 

利用丰富的开箱即用可配置功能,IBM Sterling Order Management 加速了电子商务功能的开发

我们选择了 Salesforce 和 Sterling Order Management,因为它们是目前市场上最出色的产品。此外,IBM 始终让我们感觉他们希望我们取得成功。 Anil Uttamchandani 工程总监 Pandora Jewellery

从 2018 年开始,Pandora 团队评估了为全新数字平台提供支持的技术。必须要采用基于云的可扩展解决方案,且“开箱即用”的智能化和流程自动化将最大限度减少定制开发。可在各种操作系统之间轻松集成,从而加快开发速度。该团队寻找能够提供 Pandora 所需产品的供应商。

该团队选择了由 Salesforce Commerce Cloud 提供支持的平台来开展电子商务销售,并选择了 IBM® Sterling Order Management on Cloud 来优化履行。Uttamchandani 打趣道:“由于我们进入电子商务市场的时间有点晚,所以我们希望全部武装到位。我们选择了 Salesforce 和 Sterling Order Management,因为它们是目前市场上最出色的产品。此外,IBM 始终让我们感觉他们希望我们取得成功。”

疫情期间加速转型

Pandora 于 2018 年至 2019 年启动了该计划,试点范围涵盖美国和加拿大,并在 IBM 业务合作伙伴 Publicis Sapient 的协助下,在澳大利亚和新西兰市场开拓了另一个试点。试点项目打造了一个基础平台,该平台由 Salesforce Commerce Cloud(作为面向客户的前端)和 Sterling Order Management on Cloud(用于优化库存和履行的 SaaS 解决方案)提供支持。

该平台将订单管理与销售、仓储、配送和联络中心系统联系起来。由此,Pandora 员工能够实时了解库存和订单,同时智能化和自动化的履行引擎以尽可能快速且经济高效的方式将订单运送给客户。

Sterling 平台可支持全渠道功能,例如在线订购、店内提货(点击提货)和虚拟排队(当订单准备好提货时通知客户)。借助库存可见性,商店有可能成为在线订单的小型配送中心。

在试点项目打造出完善的操作模板后,2020 年初,Pandora 计划将该平台扩展到欧洲。随后新冠疫情来袭,商店关门,这使电子商务变得愈加重要。Pandora 团队采取的应对措施是加速转型。该公司在哥本哈根成立了一个由约 100 名技术专家组成的数字中心 (Digital Hub) 部门,其任务是进一步增强数字体验,提高电子商务销量。

数字中心和全球各地新入职的数字和技术人才为基础平台增添了重要功能。在部分市场,聊天机器人可作为呼叫中心员工的有力补充。在家工作的销售同事通过网络摄像头为客户提供帮助。利用增强现实技术,客户可以在线试戴商品。此外,大多数商店都在营业,而在线平台 Pandora.net 可提供点击提货以及雕刻等功能。

Pandora 的数字和技术团队在短短几个月内成功开发和实施了所有这些功能,为疫情期间的销售旺季做好了准备。

Uttamchandani 表示:“点击提货是一项重要功能,因为这是一项个性化服务,客户可以选择从附近的商店提货,而不是等待送货。”

当我们雄心勃勃地踏上数字化之旅时,我们与多个合作伙伴开展合作,他们将助力我们成功实现目标。Sterling 正是一家这样的合作伙伴,在他们的帮助下,开发人员可以考虑如何解决业务问题,而不是纠结于技术问题。 Anil Uttamchandani 工程总监 Pandora Jewellery
创新转型的蓝图

通过远程工作,该数字中心在不到五个月的时间内就在欧洲部署了增强型 Sterling 平台。结果非常好。

Uttamchandani 说道:“2021 年,我们的工作非常顺利,这要归功于我们全球各地的所有出色的同事、商店员工和生产部门的同事。当然,在线平台的帮助也很大,Sterling 便是一路扶持我们的合作伙伴之一。”该平台为 Pandora 继续向电子商务领导者转型奠定了基础。

Uttamchandani 表示:“我们的愿景是建立一个简化的技术环境,以提高速度,缩短其他数字功能和创新的上市时间。当我们雄心勃勃地踏上数字化之旅时,我们与多个合作伙伴开展合作,他们将助力我们成功实现目标。Sterling 正是一家这样的合作伙伴,在他们的帮助下,开发人员可以考虑如何解决业务问题,而不是纠结于技术问题。”

例如,Uttamchandani 举出了支持数字客户更改支付提供商的例子。他解释说:“这听起来很简单,但是当你拥有一个基于 API 的平台,能够集成不同的提供商,而无需在基础层面进行任何更改时,事情就会变得容易得多。”

另一个例子是配送中心经理提出请求,希望能将重物转运到另一个中心。开发人员很快添加了该功能,因为 Sterling 解决方案支持在配置中进行此类更改,而不需要自定义编码。Uttamchandani 表示:“借助 Sterling,我们可以更快完成工作并立即解决供应链问题。”

该平台最初的成功并没有让数字团队放慢脚步。开发人员正在努力将该平台扩展到 Pandora 开展业务的每个地区。全渠道增强功能包括在线购买、退货和无限货架服务,让顾客可以订购到店内缺货或通常不出售的商品。开发人员正在实现订单承诺以及从商店配送在线订单的能力。他们正在通过数据驱动的建议来进一步实现个性化。

此外,Uttamchandani 正在探索最新 Sterling 版本的功能,他说,这些功能可以帮助我们“为未来做好准备”。业务经理可通过运营仪表板获得更多控制权;AI 辅助履行可分析一系列复杂因素;而借助“保存销售记录”功能,员工可以发现其他商店的库存缺货情况并估计交货时间。

在实施这一积极议程的过程中,Uttamchandani 确信自己的团队未来一定会取得成功。他这样总结道:“2022 年是我们能够加速发展的一年,因为现在我们已经打好了基础。”

Pandora 徽标
关于 Pandora Jewellery

Pandora(ibm.com 外部链接)是全球最大的珠宝品牌。该公司设计、制造和销售采用优质材料手工打造而成且价格合理的珠宝饰品。Pandora Jewellery 通过 6,800 个销售点在 100 多个国家/地区开展销售业务,其中包括 2,600 多家概念店。Pandora 总部位于丹麦哥本哈根,在全球拥有 27,000 名员工;另外,在泰国的两家 LEED 金级认证工厂,它们主要采用回收的金银制作珠宝。该公司 2021 年销售额为 31 亿欧元。

Publicis Sapient 徽标
关于 Publicis Sapient

Publicis Sapient(ibm.com 外部链接)总部位于美国马萨诸塞州波士顿,是一家专门从事数字化转型的 IBM 业务合作伙伴。该公司的 SPEED 能力包括战略和咨询、产品、经验、工程和数据。Publicis Sapient 是总部位于巴黎的 Publicis Groupe 的一个分支机构,Publicis Groupe 在全球设有 50 多个办事处,拥有约 20,000 名员工。

采取下一步行动
降低供应链风险,节省数百万欧元成本 Brother International Europe 全渠道配送从未如此出色 Sally Beauty Holdings Formica Group 加快 B2B 交易 Formica Group
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022。IBM Corporation, Hybrid Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 3 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Sterling 以及 Sterling 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新列表可参见下列网站的“Copyright and trademark information”部分:https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Jewelry customers gain a personalized digital experience

Optimizing e-commerce fulfillment with cloud-based order management
by Tom Farre
7-minute read
Pandora store

Since its founding in 1982, Pandora Jewellery has become the world’s largest jewelry brand by volume. The Danish jeweler is known for its affordable, hand-finished and high-quality jewelry. And customers appreciate the individual attention they get at Pandora-brand stores and points-of-sale around the world, where they can try on and personalize the distinctive charm bracelets and other collectible pieces.

Similar to the jewelry industry in general, Pandora traditionally has relied on this personal, high-touch approach rather than e-commerce. Its website was more akin to an online catalog than a digital store, and it was slow. Heritage technology for order and inventory management was inefficient and unstandardized globally. And customer service agents lacked insights into orders, inventory and logistics that could answer basic questions like “Where is my order?” and “When will it ship?”

These issues led Pandora’s management team to prioritize becoming a leader in omnichannel commerce. By digitally transforming online sales, order management, fulfillment and returns, the retailer could offer personalized digital interactions similar to the in-store experience, whichever channel customers chose.

“Today’s consumer demands more personalized products, services and interactions,” says David Walmsley, Chief Digital & Technology Officer at Pandora. “How we derive benefits from technology and data to create a great customer experience is key for us as a global brand.”

“Our main focus is on personalization,” adds Anil Uttamchandani, Director of Engineering at Pandora. “It’s the ability to treat customers with all their individuality and give them a personalized experience across channels, whether it’s online or in our stores.”

Pandora jewelry

In less than one year of operation, Pandora’s digital platform handled a

100%

increase in e-commerce volume

An API-based framework helps IBM Sterling Order Management

streamline

integration of online systems and services

With rich functionality configurable out of the box, IBM Sterling Order Management

accelerates

e-commerce feature development

We chose Salesforce and Sterling Order Management because they are the best available in the market. And I always get a feeling from IBM that they want us to succeed.
Anil Uttamchandani
Director of Engineering, Pandora Jewellery

Starting in 2018, Pandora’s team evaluated technology to power the new digital platform. Scalable, cloud-based solutions were a must, and “out of the box” intelligence and process automation would minimize custom development. Ease of integration among diverse operational systems would speed development. And the team sought vendors who were able to deliver what Pandora was looking for.

The team chose a platform powered by Salesforce Commerce Cloud for e-commerce sales and IBM Sterling® Order Management on Cloud to optimize fulfillment. “As we were somewhat late to the e-commerce party, we wanted to arrive best dressed,” quips Uttamchandani. “We chose Salesforce and Sterling Order Management because they are the best available in the market. And I always get a feeling from IBM that they want us to succeed.”

Pandora’s production site
Pandora store interior
As we are on an ambitious digital journey, we are working with several partners that can help us successfully realize our goals. Sterling is one partner that helps us create this landscape where developers can think about solving business problems rather than technical problems.
Anil Uttamchandani
Director of Engineering, Pandora Jewellery
Accelerating transformation during the pandemic
As we are on an ambitious digital journey, we are working with several partners that can help us successfully realize our goals. Sterling is one partner that helps us create this landscape where developers can think about solving business problems rather than technical problems.
Anil Uttamchandani
Director of Engineering, Pandora Jewellery

Pandora began the initiative in 2018 – 2019 with a pilot covering the US and Canada, and another for the Australia-New Zealand market assisted by IBM Business Partner Publicis Sapient. The pilots created a cornerstone platform powered by Salesforce Commerce Cloud as the customer-facing front end and Sterling™ Order Management on Cloud, a SaaS solution for optimizing inventory and fulfillment.

The platform linked order management with systems for sales, warehousing, distribution and the contact center. This gave Pandora personnel insights into inventory and orders in real time, while an intelligent and automated fulfillment engine shipped orders to customers as quickly and cost effectively as possible.

The Sterling platform can power omnichannel functions such as order online, pickup in store (click and collect) and virtual queuing, which notifies customers when an order is ready for pickup. And inventory visibility offers the potential to use stores as mini-distribution centers for online orders.

With the pilots creating a sound operational template, in early 2020 Pandora planned to extend the platform to Europe. Then the pandemic hit, causing stores to close and making e-commerce even more essential. The Pandora team responded by turbocharging its transformation. It established a Digital Hub unit of some 100 technical specialists in Copenhagen, whose task was to further enhance the digital experience and drive e-commerce sales.

All newly onboarded digital and technology talent at the Digital Hub and across the globe added significant capabilities to the foundational platform. In selected markets, a chatbot supplemented call-center personnel. Sales colleagues working from home assisted customers over webcams. Augmented reality let customers try on items online. In addition, the majority of the stores were operational and Pandora.net, the online platform, offered features like click and collect as well as engraving.

All these features were successfully developed and implemented by Pandora’s digital and technology team in just a few months to be ready for peak season amidst the pandemic.

“Click and collect is an important feature because it supports personalization, providing the ability for customers to choose to collect online purchases from a nearby store, instead of waiting for them to be delivered,” says Uttamchandani.

A blueprint for innovative transformation

Working remotely, the Digital Hub deployed the enhanced Sterling platform in Europe in less than five months. The results have been excellent.

“We had a very good year in 2021 because of all our amazing colleagues across the globe, our store staff and our colleagues in manufacturing. Of course, the online platform helped, and Sterling is one of the partners that helped us on our way,” says Uttamchandani. The platform sets the stage for continuing Pandora’s transformation into e-commerce leader.

“Our vision is to have a simplified technology landscape to provide velocity that reduces time to market for additional digital features, for innovation,” says Uttamchandani. “As we are on an ambitious digital journey, we are working with several partners that can help us successfully realize our goals. Sterling is one partner that helps us create this landscape where developers can think about solving business problems rather than technical problems.”

As an example, Uttamchandani cites giving digital customers the ability to change payment providers. “It sounds like a simple thing,” he explains, “but it’s much easier when you have an API-based platform capable of integrating different providers without changing anything at the fundamental level.”

Another example came when distribution center managers requested the ability to divert heavy loads to another center. Developers added the feature quickly because the Sterling solution lets such changes be made in configuration — without requiring custom coding. “With Sterling, we can get things done faster and solve supply chain problems out of the box,” says Uttamchandani.

The platform’s initial success hasn’t caused the digital team to slow down. Developers are working to extend the platform to every Pandora geography. Omnichannel enhancements include buy online, return to store and an endless-aisle service that lets customers order items that are out of stock in stores or not normally sold there. Developers are implementing order promise and the ability to distribute online orders from stores. And they are furthering personalization with data-driven recommendations.

Additionally, Uttamchandani is exploring features from the latest Sterling version that can help “prepare us for tomorrow,” he says. Operational dashboards give business managers more control; AI-assisted fulfillment analyzes a range of complex factors; and a “save the sale” function lets associates locate out-of-stock inventory in other stores and estimate delivery times.

In implementing this aggressive agenda, Uttamchandani is confident in his team’s prospects for success. He sums it up this way: “2022 is the year we will be able to accelerate because now our base is ready.”

Pandora Jewellery logo
About Pandora Jewellery

PandoraExternal Link is the world’s largest jewelry brand. The company designs, manufactures and markets hand-finished jewelry made from high-quality materials at affordable prices. Pandora jewelry is sold in more than 100 countries through 6,800 points of sale, including more than 2,600 concept stores. Headquartered in Copenhagen, Denmark, Pandora employs 27,000 people worldwide and crafts its jewelry at two LEED Gold-certified facilities in Thailand using mainly recycled silver and gold. The company generated sales of EUR 3.1 billion in 2021.

Publicis Sapient logo
About Publicis Sapient

Headquartered in the US in Boston, Massachusetts, Publicis SapientExternal Link is an IBM Business Partner specializing in digital transformation. The company’s SPEED capabilities include Strategy and Consulting, Product, Experience, Engineering and Data. Publicis Sapient is a division of Paris-based Publicis Groupe, which employs around 20,000 people in more than 50 offices worldwide.

Solution component
Pandora Jewellery logo
About Pandora Jewellery

Founded in 1982, PandoraExternal Link is the world’s largest jewelry brand. The company designs, manufactures and markets hand-finished jewelry made from high-quality materials at affordable prices. Pandora jewelry is sold in more than 100 countries through 6,800 points of sale, including more than 2,600 concept stores. Headquartered in Copenhagen, Denmark, Pandora employs 27,000 people worldwide and crafts its jewelry at two LEED Gold-certified facilities in Thailand using mainly recycled silver and gold. The company generated sales of EUR 3.1 billion in 2021.

Publicis Sapient logo
About Publicis Sapient

Headquartered in the US in Boston, Massachusetts, Publicis SapientExternal Link is an IBM Business Partner specializing in digital transformation. The company’s SPEED capabilities include Strategy and Consulting, Product, Experience, Engineering and Data. Publicis Sapient is as division of Paris-based Publicis Groupe, which employs around 20,000 people in more than 50 offices worldwide.

Solution component