向人们输送电力
Mercados EMI 帮助印度预测电力需求
预约实时演示
安装在新孟买潘维尔附近一个村庄山上的输电塔及其电力电缆。

根据世界银行 发布的一份报告(链接位于 ibm.com 外部),直到几年前,印度农村地区仍有数百万人无法可靠地获得电力供应。缺乏电气化并不是单一原因。相反,是基础设施老化、配送效率低下、人口不断增长以及持续的供需差距等一系列问题让家庭陷入了黑暗之中。

为解决这一问题,印度于 2016 年推出了 “全天候全民供电”计划,旨在为每个家庭、企业和其他用电实体提供全天候电力供应。作为中央政府和各邦政府的联合举措,该计划还对能源供应和需求实施了新的严格规定。

Rachit Kumar Agarwal 是 Mercados Energy Markets India Private Limited, India (Mercados EMI) 的执行合伙人,这是一家专门为能源行业提供解决方案的咨询公司。他回忆起当时的挑战:“各国必须事先获得电力。这意味着他们必须准确了解每天、每小时和每 15 分钟所需的电量。这是个问题。”

对于州政府来说,平衡供给的关键在于准确预测需求。但直到最近,官员们还在使用电子表格手动计算预测结果。他们分析了多年的历史需求数据,但计算结果却有偏差。预测结果过高或过低。由于缺乏精确性,配电公司购买的电力过多,导致浪费,或者电力购买过少,造成经济损失。

加强预测

 

预测电力需求的误差率为 1.8% - 6% ,而过去的误差率为 10% – 15%

增强成果

 

天气更新频率 15 分钟到 7 小时不等

我们与公用事业公司进行了长达六个月的详细讨论,得出的结论是,准确的天气数据在预测需求方面发挥着非常重要的作用。 Rachit Kumar Agarwal 执行合伙人 Mercados Energy Markets India Private Limited, India

当印度电力监管机构中央电力监管委员会(CERC) 将国家电网的运行频段缩小到 49.9 赫兹到 50.05 赫兹时,问题就变得更加复杂了。“为了将频段保持在该范围内,电力公司必须准确估算需求量,”Agarwal 先生解释说,“然后根据该需求提取准确的电量。如果提取不足或提取过多,可能会受到处罚。

“最重要的是,您必须知道您将消耗多少电量,这样您购买的电量才是您所需要的。”

天气数据因素

2020 年初,北方邦和比哈尔邦向 Mercados EMI 求助,这两个邦地处冬夏极端分明的地区,拥有印度最大的消费者群体。除了寻求一种能在预测过程中融入 AI 的解决方案外,官员们还希望更好地了解影响需求的所有因素,而不仅仅是历史数据。

事实证明,预测能源消耗与天气有很大关系。

“我们与电力公司进行了长达六个月的详细讨论,得出的结论是,准确的天气数据在预测需求方面发挥着非常重要的作用,”Agarwal 先生回忆道。凭借新的洞察分析,Mercados EMI 根据环境数据服务创建了基于 AI 的需求预测解决方案 - jouleOS®,该解决方案源自 IBM 旗下的 The Weather Company®。该技术可帮助预测人员提前预测能源需求。

此后,IBM 的解决方案不断扩展。现在,企业可以通过 IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite 访问 Weather Data API,该套件是一套将 Weather Company Data API 与 Geospatial Analytics、可视化仪表板和警报功能相结合并加以集成的应用程序。

为了构建预测解决方案,Mercados EMI 首先开发了一个模型来准确了解需求。该模型将该州的历史需求数据与 The Weather Company History on Demand 数据包中的历史天气模式数据相结合。

“我们已经掌握了往年的需求数据。我们需要的是历史天气模式,“Agarwal 先生补充道。“因此,举例来说,如果某个特定时刻的需求是 5000 兆瓦,那么这一时刻的天气参数是什么?当天气参数发生变化时,需求又发生了什么变化?”

为了回答这些问题,并最终满足政府对数据分辨率的要求,Mercados EMI 应用了 The Weather Company 增强预测数据的预测引擎和 IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite 平台。“天气数据是我们从 IBM 获得巨大帮助的地方,”Agarwal 先生补充道。“它不仅为我们提供了时间回报—每小时和以 15 分钟为增量,直至 7 小时,而且还提供了 500 x 500 米地理半径范围内的回报。”15 分钟的预报是一项重大改进:以前,各州依赖的是公开开源数据库提供的三小时内的天气数据。

这些模型与 Mercados EMI 专有的 AI 引擎相结合,可帮助配电公司提前一天更好地预测电力需求。Mercado EMI 现可在其电力 Portfolio Optimization 解决方案套件中提供 jouleOS 技术。

如今,北方邦和比哈尔邦都在使用这一系统,中央邦和印度南部的一个邦也将很快跟进。

 

天气数据是我们从 IBM 解决方案中获得巨大帮助的地方。 Rachit Kumar Agarwal 执行合伙人 Mercados Energy Markets India Private Limited, India
精确预测需求

该州需求预测的准确性几乎立即得到提高。在手动操作的情况下,误差率为 10% – 15%。利用 IBM 的气象数据作为关键输入,Mercados EMI 最初的误差率仅为 5% – 6%。有些时候,准确率甚至低至 1.8%,相当于 98.2% 的准确率。

Agarwal 先生指出,天气数据是该解决方案取得成功的关键。“我们还有其他投入,例如假期、特殊日子和星期日。但主要还是天气原因—需求方程的系数表明,天气在预测中起着非常重要的作用。”

除了日前需求预测之外,Mercados EMI 还使用 The Weather Company 提供的天气数据进行实时需求预测。印度电力交易所于 2020 年 6 月推出了实时市场,提前几个时间段进行电力交易。为此,Mercados EMI 于 2021 年 1 月为北方邦电力公司成功部署了印度首个实时市场引擎。该引擎帮助北方邦的配电公司预测特定送电时间的需求,并在实时市场上买卖电力。

“这意味着,如果我想在上午 10:17 预测下午 2:00 的需求,我就可以做到,”Agarwal 先生总结道。“这是对未来长达七小时的精细需求预测,具有非常高的准确性。这将是印度首个解决方案,我们已正式引用 IBM 作为我们的气象资料来源。”

Mercados Energy Markets India Pvt. Ltd. 徽标
关于 Mercados Energy Markets India Pvt. Ltd.

总部位于德里的 Mercados EMI 外部链接 (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)是一家国际知名的咨询公司,专门为电力、石油和天然气以及可再生能源领域提供解决方案。其服务和专业知识涵盖电力市场设计、需求预测、电力 Portfolio Optimization、政策和监管、公用事业管理、市场模拟、业务战略和电网建模等领域。Mercados EMI 成立于 2008 年。

采取下一步行动
查看更多客户案例 预约演示
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021.IBM Corporation, The Weather Company, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 1 月

IBM、IBM 标志和 ibm.com 是国际商业机器公司在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade.shtml 上的“版权和商标信息”部分中提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

The Weather Channel®、The Weather Company® 和 The Weather Underground® 是 IBM 公司 TWC Product and Technology, LLC 的商标或注册商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Power to the people

Mercados EMI helps India predict electricity demand
Deirdre Puleo
4-minute read
Power transmission tower and its power cables installed over a hill in a village near Panvel, Navi Mumbai.

Until just a few years ago, millions of people in rural India did not have reliable access to electricity, according to a report issued by the World Bank. There was no singular reason for the lack of electrification. Rather, it was a combination of issues — an aging infrastructure, distribution inefficiencies, an ever-growing population and a relentless gap between supply and demand — that left households in the dark.

To combat this problem, India launched its 24/7 Power For All program in 2016, aimed at providing every household, business and other electricity-consuming entity with round-the-clock access to power. As a joint initiative between the central and state governments, the program also imposed new and strict regulations related to energy supply and demand.

Rachit Kumar Agarwal is the Managing Partner at Mercados Energy Markets India Private Limited, India (Mercados EMI), a consultancy firm that specializes in solutions for the energy sector. He recalls the challenge: “States had to procure power beforehand. This meant they had to know precisely how much power was required every day, every hour and in 15-minute time blocks. It was a problem.”

For state governments, the key to balancing supply is accurately predicting demand. But, until recently, officials calculated predictions manually using spreadsheets. They analyzed years’ worth of historical demand data, yet calculations were off. Predictions came in too high or too low. Lacking precision, distribution companies bought too much power, leading to waste, or too little power, contributing to financial losses.

The night skyline of India, Uttar Pradesh (United Provinces), Allahlabad

Predicts electricity demand with error margins of

1.8% – 6%

compared to 10% – 15% in the past

Frequency of weather updates

15

minutes, out to seven hours

What came out of our detailed discussions with the utilities over six months was that accurate weather data plays a very important role in predicting demand.
Rachit Kumar Agarwal
Managing Partner, Mercados Energy Markets India Private Limited, India

The problem only grew more complicated when India’s electricity regulator, the Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (CERC), narrowed the operating frequency band for the national grid to the range of 49.9 hertz to 50.05 hertz. “To maintain the frequency within this range, the utilities have to accurately estimate the demand,” explains Mr. Agarwal, “and then draw the exact amount of power based on that demand. If you under-draw or over-draw, there may be penalties.

“The bottom line is you have to know how much power you will consume so that you buy only as much as you require.”

Indian woman sitting on the varanda under a bright bulb
Electricity Pylon On Land Against Sky
Weather data is where we gained immense help from the IBM solution.
Rachit Kumar Agarwal
Managing Partner, Mercados Energy Markets India Private Limited, India
Factoring in weather data
Weather data is where we gained immense help from the IBM solution.
Rachit Kumar Agarwal
Managing Partner, Mercados Energy Markets India Private Limited, India

In early 2020, the states of Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, located in a region of extreme summers and winters and having some of the largest consumer bases in India, turned to Mercados EMI for help. In addition to seeking a solution that would infuse AI into the prediction process, officials wanted to better understand all of the factors that impact demand — not just historical data.

Turns out, predicting energy consumption has a lot to do with the weather.

“What came out of our detailed discussions with the utilities over six months was that accurate weather data plays a very important role in predicting demand,” recalls Mr. Agarwal. Armed with new insights, Mercados EMI created an AI-based demand forecasting solution — jouleOS® — based on Weather Company Data Packages from The Weather Company®, an IBM Business. The technology helps forecasters predict day-ahead energy requirements.

The IBM solution has since expanded. Now, organizations can access Weather Data APIs through the IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite, a suite of applications that combine and integrate The Weather Company Data APIs with geospatial analytics, dashboards for visualization and alerting capabilities.

To build its forecasting solution, Mercados EMI first developed a model to accurately understand demand. The model combined the state’s historical demand data with historical weather pattern data from The Weather Company History on Demand data package.

“We already had the demand data from previous years. What we required was historical weather patterns,” adds Mr. Agarwal. “So, for example, if demand is 5,000 megawatts at a particular instant, what were the weather parameters at that instant? And when the weather parameters changed, how did the demand change?”

To answer these questions and, ultimately, meet the government’s data resolution requirements, Mercados EMI applied the forecast engines of The Weather Company Enhanced Forecast data. “Weather data is where we gained immense help from IBM,” adds Mr. Agarwal. “It not only provided us the return in terms of time — hourly and at 15-minute increments out to seven hours — but also within a geographic radius of 500 x 500 meters.” The 15-minute forecasts represent a significant improvement: previously, the states relied on weather data with a timeframe of three hours from publicly available open-source databases.

The models, combined with Mercados EMI’s proprietary AI engine, help distribution companies better forecast electricity demand a day ahead. Mercado EMI now offers its jouleOS technology under its Power Portfolio Optimization suite of solutions.

Today, both the states of Uttar Pradesh and Bihar use the system, with Madhya Pradesh and a state in Southern India soon to follow.

Low Angle View Of Electricity Pylons Against Cloudy Sky During Sunset
Forecasting demand with precision

The accuracy of the state’s demand predictions improved almost immediately. When the process was manual-based, error margins ran 10% – 15%. With IBM’s weather data as a key input, Mercados EMI achieved an initial error rate of only 5% – 6%. On some days, it’s as low as 1.8%, equating to a 98.2% accuracy rate.

Mr. Agarwal points to weather data for the solution’s success. “We have other inputs, like holidays, special days and Sundays. But it’s predominantly weather — the coefficients of the demand equation showed that weather plays a very important role in forecasting.”

In addition to day-ahead demand forecasting, Mercados EMI uses weather data from The Weather Company for real-time demand forecasting. The real-time market was launched by the power exchanges in India in June 2020 to trade power a few time blocks in advance. In response, Mercados EMI successfully deployed India’s first real-time market engine for the Uttar Pradesh Power Corporation in January 2021. The engine helps distribution companies in Uttar Pradesh predict demand at specific delivery times and to buy and sell electricity in the real-time market.

“It means if at 10:17 AM I want to predict demand at 2:00 PM, I can,” concludes Mr. Agarwal. “It’s demand forecasting at a granular level, up to seven hours into the future with very sharp accuracy. This will be a first-in-India solution and we have quoted IBM as our weather source, officially.”

Mercados Energy Markets India Pvt. Ltd. logo
About Mercados Energy Markets India Pvt. Ltd.

Delhi-based Mercados EMIExternal Link is an internationally-recognized consultancy firm that specializes in solutions for the electricity, oil and gas, and renewable energy sectors. Its services and expertise cover the areas of power market design, demand forecasting, power portfolio optimization, policy and regulation, utility management, markets simulation, business strategy and grid modeling. Mercados EMI was founded in 2008.

Solution components
Mercados Energy Markets India Pvt. Ltd. logo
About Mercados Energy Markets India Pvt. Ltd.

Delhi-based Mercados EMIExternal Link is an internationally-recognized consultancy firm that specializes in solutions for the electricity, oil and gas, and renewable energy sectors. Its services and expertise cover the areas of power market design, demand forecasting, power portfolio optimization, policy and regulation, utility management, markets simulation, business strategy and grid modeling. Mercados EMI was founded in 2008.

Solution components