开源软件与闭源软件

开源方式是在开源社区内进行思考和协作的一种形式。这一理念基于知识自由和核心原则:透明、协作、交付、包容和社区。社区的思想交流和软件开发推动了以下行业的创新、科学和技术进步:教育、政府、法律、医疗保健和制造业。这项活动提供了一种通过源代码协作、共享和协助实现个人及团体目标的方式。

开源软件是协作性的,依靠社区生产和同行评审来使用、更改和共享源代码。开发人员分享洞察、构想和代码,共同和单独创建更多创新的软件解决方案。这种可扩展且灵活的软件可确保任何拥有源代码的人都能将其修改、增强和重新分发,从而提高可复用性和可访问性。开源软件基于对等生产和大规模协作的基本原则,从而为最终用户创造更可持续的软件开发体验。 

封源软件 (CSS) 是不向公众分发的专有软件。这类软件进行了加密,因此仅创建该代码的原始作者有权合法复制、修改、更新和编辑源代码。闭源软件会限制最终用户对应用可以执行的操作,防止用户修改、共享、复制或重新发布源代码。

除了开源和闭源软件之外,FOSS(自由和开源软件)允许用户从更有哲理的角度访问软件。在自由和开源软件中,自由软件基金会 (FSF) 保护用户自由,开源促进会 (OSI) 确保可靠软件的技术价值。有各种各样的免费软件许可证,可供商业使用、修改和销售,包括:GPL、LGPL 和 BSD 许可证。

一些最受欢迎的开源软件许可证包括:

  • MIT 许可证©:MIT 许可证是一种免费的软件许可证,允许用户修改原始代码,而且限制要求非常少。 
  • GNU General Public© (GPL):GNU 是一系列免费的软件许可证,可确保最终用户能够运行、研究、共享和修改软件。 
  • Apache®:Apache License 2.0 是一种免费的软件许可证,允许用户出于任何目的使用、修改和分发软件。 
  • BSD:此许可证对开发人员的限制较少,允许用户使用和修改代码而不必共享修改。
  • MySQL™:MySQL 是一个开源数据库管理系统,具有两个单独的许可证 - mySQL Standard Edition 和 MySQL Enterprise Edition。
  • SUSE:SUSE Linux 建立在开源 Linux 内核上,并随系统和应用软件一起分发。
  • Ubuntu®:Ubuntu 是一个 Linux 发行版,由在桌面、云端和物联网中发布的免费和开源软件组成。

Unix® 和 Linux 的历史

Unix 最早是由 AT&T® 贝尔实验室在 1969 年开发,是一种专有但可许可的产品。在接下来的 10 年里,Unix 开发了多个版本,包括 V6,该版本是面向贝尔实验室以外提供的第一个版本。

由于新语言的性质,这个代码很快就引起了学术界的注意。加州大学伯克利分校开始开发自己的 Unix 系统,很快就开发了一个名为 Berkley Software Distribution(BSD 许可证)的学术版本。与此同时,AT&T 将其 Unix 版本演进为 System V。这两个版本最终合并成为统一的第七版 Unix,然后进一步演进为:Sun Solaris、FreeBSD、NetBSD 和 OpenBSD。

1984 年,Richard Stallman 创建了一个名为 GNU (GNU's Not Unix) 的自由 Unix 克隆。此版本是开放的,可根据需要自由使用、修改和重新分发。1991 年,Linus Torvalds 创建了名为“Linux”或 Linux 内核的操作系统内核。通过与 FSF 和 BSD 组件相结合,Linux 成为一个完整的操作系统;现在它可在多个架构上运行,并已被老牌 Unix 供应商采用或支持。


企业中的开源

企业开源不仅仅是开源,而是在开源平台上运行的单一许可开源库的集成。要实现企业开源,安全团队必须对产品进行测试、调整和检查安全缺陷,并且能够响应安全问题。企业开源还具备许多便捷功能,例如单点登录 (SSO) 以及与 SSO 平台和目录管理的集成。

企业 IT 环境需要大量投资和规划,往往会使软件在安装应用时就已过时。这些应用还经常需要进行服务协议中规定的额外培训和认证。不过,企业开源具有可预测的生命周期,其中的信息和组件按照不同的速度发展。这类软件具有很长的使用寿命;例如,Red Hat® Enterprise Linux 的生命周期为 10 年。  

由于其通用性、安全性、演进、社区、训练和稳定性,许多企业和个人都更喜欢在专有或商业软件上使用开源软件。使用开源软件的一些好处是:节省成本,灵活定制代码,以及自由利用社区而不是单一供应商。开源也存在一些弊端,包括:不合格的支持、糟糕的文档、过度的复杂性、侵入性广告和漏洞。

对于那些仍需要专有软件的企业来说,还存在软件过时、批量产品、更高或出乎意料的成本、混乱的许可安排和依赖单一供应商等弊端。不过,有些企业会被单一供应商所吸引,因为能够一站式采购,获得可扩展的企业级产品、专业接口和例程更新,无需编程,以及可与应用和产品集成。 


历史和演进

兑现开源承诺

许多像 IBM 这样的企业都致力于通过支持新兴社区、促进许可开发和倡导治理与标准来实现开源。

灵活的区块链框架

了解有关 Hyperledger Fabric 的更多信息,这是一个帮助创新者进行全球业务转型的区块链框架。

资源

企业开源专业知识

了解企业如何创建、采用和扩展开源技术以形成开放的企业环境。

新兴开源项目

我们的开发人员正在为区块链、容器和 AI 创建新兴的开源代码。

Forrester 市场调研

了解企业如何利用开源技术大规模采用软件。

解决方案

Linux 服务器解决方案

将 Linux 集成到本地和云端的 IT 基础架构中,从而提高灵活性和控制力。

Linux on IBM Z

IBM Z 大型机平台上的 Linux 操作系统具备混合多云中的数据隐私和网络安全特性。

IBM LinuxONE

了解安全的开源软件服务器,具备针对关键应用的最佳安全性和可扩展性。

Enterprise Linux on Power Systems™

利用这些操作服务器和开放式基础架构,为现代工作负载管理大量数据。

IBM AIX® 操作系统

从基于标准的可扩展操作系统中获益,该系统具有值得信赖的安全设置、无与伦比的正常运行时间和获得保证的投资保护。

IBM 云上的 Red Hat 应用

借助 Red Hat,您可以构建和开发可在 IBM 公共云或私有云上部署的应用。

What is open source software?

Open source software (OSS) is a decentralized development model that distributes source code publicly for open collaboration and peer production known as “the open source way.”

Man working in a desktop computer

Open source vs closed source software

The open source way is a form of thinking and collaborating within the open source community. This philosophy is based on intellectual freedom and core principles: transparency, collaboration, delivery, inclusion, and community. The exchange of ideas and software developed by communities has driven creative, scientific, and technological advancement in such industries as: education, government, law, health, and manufacturing. This movement created a way for a global community to collaborate, share, and assist  both individual and group goals through source code.

Open source software is collaborative, relying on community production and peer review to use, change, and share source code with each other. Developers share insights, ideas, and code to create more innovative software solutions both collectively and individually. This scalable and flexible software ensures that anyone with the source code can modify, enhance, and redistribute it for better reusability and accessibility. Open source software operates with the underlying principles of peer production and mass collaboration, creating more sustainable software development for end users.  

Closed source software (CSS) is proprietary software that is not distributed to the public. The software is encrypted, so only the original authors who created the code exclusively have rights to legally copy, modify, update, and edit the source code. Closed software imposes restrictions on what the end user can do with the application, preventing users from modifying, sharing, copying, or republishing the source code.

In additional to open and closed source, FOSS (Free/Open Source Software) allows users access to software from a more philosophical perspective. Within FOSS, there is Free Software Foundation (FSF) to protect user freedoms and Open Source Initiative (OSI) to ensure the technical values of reliable software. There are a wide variety of free software licenses that can be used, modified, and sold commercially including: GPL, LGPL, and BSD licenses.

Some of the most popular open source software licenses include:

  • MIT License©: MIT License is a free software license that allows users to modify the original code with very few restrictions. 
  • GNU General Public© (GPL): The GNU is a series of free software licenses that guarantee end users the ability to run, study, share, and modify software. 
  • Apache®: The Apache License 2.0 is a free software license that allows users to use, modify, and distribute the software for any purpose. 
  • BSD: This license has fewer restrictions on developers, allowing users to use and modify the code without having to share modifications.
  • MySQL™: MySQL is an open-source database management system with two separate licenses - the MySQL Standard Edition and MySQL Enterprise Edition.
  • SUSE: SUSE Linux is built on top of open source Linux kernel and distributed with system and application software.
  • Ubuntu®: Ubuntu is a Linux distribution made of free and open source software released in desktop, cloud, and IoT.

History of Unix® and Linux

Unix development started in 1969 at AT&T® Bell Labs as a proprietary but licensable product.  For the next ten years, the development of Unix had multiple versions including V6, which became the first available outside of Bell Labs.

This code soon caught the attention of the academic community due to the nature of the new language. The University of California at Berkley started the development of its own Unix and soon developed an academic version called the Berkley Software Distribution (BSD license). Simultaneously, AT&T evolved their version of Unix into System V. These two versions eventually merged to create the unified seventh edition of Unix and then further evolved into such programs as: Sun Solaris, FreeBSD, NetBSD, and OpenBSD.

In 1984, Richard Stallman created a free Unix clone named GNU (GNU’s Not Unix). This version was open to be used freely, modified, and redistributed as needed. In 1991, Linus Torvalds created the operating system kernel known as “Linux” or the Linux kernel. Combined with FSF and BSD components, Linux became a fully operating system; it now runs on several architectures and has been adopted or supported by old-line Unix vendors.


Open source in enterprises

Enterprise open source is more than just open source, it’s an integration of a single permissively licensed open source library that is run on open source. To be enterprise open source, a product has to be tested, adjusted, and examined for security flaws by a security team who can respond to security issues. Enterprise open source also has convenient features, such as single sign-on (SSO) and integration with SSO platforms and directory management.

Enterprise IT environments require a lot of investment and planning, often making software outdated by the time that applications are installed. These applications also often require additional training and certifications, which are stated in the service agreements. However, enterprise open source has a predictable lifecycle with information and components that move at different speeds. The software has a long lifespan with important applications; for example, Red Hat® Enterprise Linux has a lifecycle of 10 years.   

Many companies and individuals prefer to use open source software over proprietary or commercial software due to its versatility, security, evolution, community, training, and stability.  Some advantages of using open source are: cost and savings, flexibility of customizing code, and freedom of leveraging a community instead of a single vendor. There are some disadvantages to open source, which include: subpar support, poor documentation, undue complexity, intrusive advertising, and vulnerabilities.

For those who still require proprietary software, there are the disadvantages to outdated software, bulk products, higher or unexpected costs, confusing licensing arrangements, and single vendor dependence.  However, some companies are drawn to a single vendor for one-stop shopping, scalable enterprise-grade products, professional interface, routine updates, no programming required, and integration with applications and products. 


History and evolution

Commitment to open source

Many enterprise companies like IBM have been committed to open source, from backing emerging communities to contributing to the development of licenses to advocating governance and standards.

Flexible blockchain frameworks

Discover more about Hyperledger Fabric, the blockchain framework that is helping innovators with a global business transformation.


Solutions

Linux server solutions

Integrate Linux into your IT infrastructure on-premises and in the cloud for better flexibility and control.

Linux on IBM Z

The Linux operating system on the IBM Z mainframe platform features data privacy and cyber security on a hybrid multi-cloud.

IBM LinuxONE

Discover the secure open source software server with optimal security and scalability for critical applications.

Enterprise Linux on Power Systems™

Manage massive amounts of data for modern workloads with these operating servers and open infrastructure.

IBM AIX® operating system

Benefit from a scalable standards-based operating system with trusted security settings, unmatched uptime, and guaranteed investment protection.

Red Hat applications on IBM cloud

With Red Hat, you can build and develop applications to deploy on IBM public or private cloud.