什么是网络保险?
网络保险旨在帮助公司承担勒索软件攻击、数据泄露和其他网络事件引发的成本。
订阅 IBM 时事通讯 阅读 2022 年数据泄露成本
显示办公室里的所有人员全都使用 IBM Security 的等距图
什么是网络保险?

网络保险,也称为网络责任保险或网络安全保险,涵盖因网络事件造成的经济损失。 就像汽车保险在发生事故时为车辆损坏和人身伤害买单一样,网络保险可为损坏的计算机系统、丢失的收入、法律费用和其他网络攻击成本买单。

安全漏洞越来越常见,成本也越来越高。 根据 IBM 的数据泄漏成本报告,83% 的组织发生过不止一次数据泄漏,平均泄漏成本为 435 万美元。 网络保险可减轻这些数据泄漏事件造成的财务影响,因此成为当今企业风险管理的重要组成部分。

为什么网络保险至关重要

任何存储客户信息或者依赖技术的公司(包括大多数企业)都面临着网络风险。 安全团队可采取相应措施来缓解网络威胁,但却无法完全杜绝。 根据 Travelers Risk Index(链接位于 ibm.com 外部),57% 的企业领导者认为网络攻击不可避免。

标准企业保险产品(例如,一般责任保险和过失与疏忽保险)通常不会涵盖网络事件造成的损失,这使得公司往往会自行承担勒索软件攻击、商业电子邮件泄漏骗局和其他网络犯罪的全部成本。 这些攻击可能会造成重大经济损失。 例如,勒索软件攻击的平均成本为 454 万美元,这还不包括赎金。 

网络保险的出现正是为了填补这一空缺。 通过涵盖赎金、恶意软件补救和其他成本,网络保险可帮助公司限制其损失,更快恢复,以及提高整体的网络安全永续水平。 

网络保险涵盖哪些方面?

网络保险覆盖范围可以根据业务需求、企业存储的数据类型以及企业所在行业而有所不同。 许多网络保险都为第一方和第三方保险提供了相应的选项。 第一方保险用于对企业的直接损失进行赔偿,例如,恢复数据和复原系统的成本。 第三方保险则对企业以外各方所承受的损失进行赔偿,例如,数据被盗的消费者。

在涉及到具体损失时,很多网络保险对以下事项进行赔偿: 

业务中断

如果公司因网络攻击导致计算机系统脱机而损失收入,那么网络保险可涵盖部分或全部损失。

威胁响应和补救

保险可以对事件响应、系统修复、取证调查以及网络事件发生后所需的其他服务进行赔偿。

法律费用

网络保险可帮助对因网络攻击而引起的诉讼进行赔偿,例如,客户提起的诉讼。 某些保险公司可能会为被保险公司提供法律代表。

数据泄漏恢复

在黑客窃取个人身份信息 (PII) 或其他敏感信息(例如,信用卡或社会保险号)时,网络保险可帮助涵盖通知客户以及提供服务(例如,信用监管)的费用。

监管行动

网络攻击可能会导致监管调查,特别是在高度监管的领域,例如,医疗保健和金融服务领域。 网络保险可能涵盖遵守这些审计要求所产生的成本,包括公司必须支付的任何罚款。

声誉管理

在受到攻击后,公司可能需要雇佣公关公司或采取其他措施来挽救其品牌声誉。 一些网络保险将帮助支付这些费用。

赎金支付

许多网络保险都涵盖勒索软件赎金,但是由于赎金高昂,一些保险提供商正在终止或限制此保险。

典型的网络保险例外情况

虽然网络保险可以涵盖大量事件,但是也有一些事件不会进行赔付。 这些被称为“例外情况”。 常见的例外情况包括:

第三方的违规行为

当供应商和其他合作伙伴遭受攻击时,公司可能会发生数据失窃或者服务中断情况。 网络保险并不总是会为这些损失买单,但某些保险公司会以额外收费的方式提供第三方违规保险。

社会工程

因为社会工程攻击(例如,网络钓鱼)会操纵人们从内部破坏网络安全,所以网络保险并不总是涵盖这些损失。 然而,通常可通过额外付费形式提供社会工程保险。

内部威胁

内部威胁导致的损失(例如,恶意或疏忽的员工)很少会被涵盖在内。

国家资助的攻击

许多网络保险认为这些攻击是战争行为,不会涵盖它们。

利用已知漏洞的网络攻击

如果黑客利用了公司知道但却没有修复的缺陷,许多网络保险将会拒绝索赔。

不是由网络攻击导致的网络故障

大多数计划都不会涵盖错误配置和其他内部错误所导致的中断。

网络保险的现状

虽然网络保险的需求很高,但是不断上升的网络保险费用使公司(尤其是中小企业)很难找到合适的保险。 根据 Marsh McLennan(链接位于 ibm.com 外部),2022 年第 1 季度,网络保险价格上涨了 110%。 

根据 451 Research(链接位于 ibm.com 外部),网络保险可能会导致勒索软件攻击增加。 随着越来越多的企业购买网络保险,他们变得更愿意支付赎金,因为保险会涵盖这些费用。 反过来,黑客则会受到鼓励而继续索要赎金。 一个新的勒索软件 HardBit(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)甚至要求受害者分享其网络保险的详细信息,这样黑客便能够计算保险所涵盖的赎金。 

与其他保险产品相比,网络保险相对较新,这也加剧了价格动荡。 保险公司在网络攻击成本方面具有的历史数据有限,因此很难创建精确的风险模型和设置稳定的价格。

随着保险公司看到其损失攀升,他们通过提高保费和限制覆盖范围进行响应。 对于在法国发布的保险,保险公司 AXA 已停止涵盖勒索软件赎金(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)。 Lloyd’s of London(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)将不再涵盖国家资助的网络攻击,这是另一个重大损失的来源。 

保险公司也针对被保险公司规定了更严格的网络安全要求。 除非公司具有适当的多因子认证、数据加密零信任或类似的策略,否则一些保险商甚至都不会提供保险报价。 一些保险公司正日渐承担起咨询角色,让保单持有人和企业所有者访问安全工具和服务提供商,帮助他们改进安全态势。 一些专家预测,网络保险公司可能会成为执行 NIST 网络安全框架等标准的关键要素,因为遵循这些标准的公司的投保成本会更低。

 

相关解决方案
数据安全解决方案

保护多个环境中的企业数据,遵守隐私法规并简化运营复杂程度。

探索数据安全解决方案

网络安全解决方案

IBM Security® 提供企业网络安全解决方案,帮助企业从容应对不确定性,始终保持业务蓬勃发展​。

探索网络安全解决方案

网络安全解决方案

使用 IBM QRadar 保护您的网络基础架构免遭高级威胁和恶意软件的侵害。

探索网络安全解决方案
资源 2022 年的数据泄露成本是多少?

Ponemon Institute 的特色研究 - 年度“数据泄漏成本报告”提供了从 550 次真实数据泄漏中获取的洞察。

什么是网络安全永续?

网络安全永续是指组织预防和承受网络安全事件并从网络安全事件中恢复的能力。

什么是数据安全性?

数据安全性是指在整个生命周期内保护数字信息免遭未经授权的访问、损坏或窃取的做法。

采取下一步行动

了解 IBM 数据安全和保护解决方案如何帮助您提高可视性和发掘更多洞察,以便就网络威胁展开调查并实施补救、执行实时控制以及管理法规合规性。

了解有关 IBM 数据安全解决方案的更多信息

What is cyber insurance?
Cyber insurance helps companies shoulder the costs of ransomware attacks, data breaches, and other cyber incidents.
Subscribe to the IBM newsletter Read Cost of a Data Breach 2022
Isometric drawing showing different office personnel, all using IBM Security
What is cyber insurance?

Cyber insurance, also called cyber liability insurance or cybersecurity insurance, covers financial losses caused by cyber incidents. In the same way that car insurance pays for vehicle damage and bodily harm in the event of an accident, cyber insurance policies pay for damaged computer systems, lost revenue, legal expenses, and other cyberattack costs.

Security breaches are growing more common and more costly. According to IBM’s Cost of a Data Breach report, 83% of organizations have had more than one data breach, and the average breach costs USD 4.35 million. Cyber insurance can lessen the financial impact of these breaches, making it an important part of risk management for businesses today.

Why cyber insurance matters

Any company that stores customer information or relies on technology—which includes most businesses—faces cyber risks. Security teams can take steps to mitigate cyber threats, but they cannot prevent them entirely. According to the Travelers Risk Index (link resides outside ibm.com), 57% of business leaders think cyberattacks are inevitable.

Standard business insurance products, like general liability coverage and errors and omissions policies, typically don’t cover losses from cyber events, leaving companies vulnerable for the full cost of ransomware attacks, business email compromise scams, and other cybercrimes. These attacks can have a heavy financial toll. For example, the average ransomware attack costs USD 4.54 million, not including ransom payments. 

Cyber insurance policies arose to close this coverage gap. By covering ransom payments, malware remediation and other costs, cyber policies can help companies limit their damage, recover more quickly, and raise their overall level of cyber resilience

What does cyber insurance cover?

Cyber insurance coverage can vary based on what the business needs, the types of data the business stores, and the business’s industry. Many cyber policies offer options for first-party and third-party coverage. First-party coverage pays for the business’s direct losses, like the costs of recovering data and restoring systems. Third-party coverage pays for damage suffered by parties outside the business, like consumers who had their data stolen.

When it comes to specific losses, many cyber policies pay for things like: 

Business interruptions

If a company loses revenue because a cyberattack takes computer systems offline, cyber policies may cover some or all of those losses.

Threat response and remediation

Insurance may pay for incident response, system repairs, forensic investigations, and other services needed after a cyber event.

Legal expenses

Cyber policies may help pay for litigation arising from a cyberattack, such as lawsuits filed by customers. Some insurance companies may supply legal representation for the insured company.

Data breach recovery

When hackers steal personally identifiable information (PII) or other sensitive information like credit card or social security numbers, cyber policies can help cover the costs of notifying customers and providing services like credit monitoring.

Regulatory action

Cyberattacks may lead to regulatory investigations, especially in highly regulated fields like healthcare and financial services. Cyber policies may cover the costs of complying with these audits, including any fines the company must pay.

Reputation management

A company may need to hire a public relations firm or take other steps to repair its brand following an attack. Some cyber policies will help defray these costs.

Ransom payments

Many cyber policies cover ransomware payments, but some insurance providers are ending or limiting this coverage because of the high costs of ransoms.

Typical cyber insurance exclusions

While cyber policies can cover a lot, there are some incidents they won’t pay for. These are called “exclusions.” Common exclusions include:

Breaches of third parties

A company can have its data stolen or services disrupted when vendors and other partners are breached. Cyber insurance doesn’t always pay for these losses, but some insurers offer third-party breach coverage for an added cost.

Social engineering

Because social engineering attacks like phishing manipulate people into compromising cybersecurity from the inside, cyber policies don’t always cover these losses. However, social engineering coverage is often available at an additional cost.

Insider threats

Losses caused by insider threats like malicious or negligent employees are rarely covered.

State-sponsored attacks

Many cyber policies consider these attacks acts of war and will not cover them.

Cyberattacks that exploit a known vulnerability

If hackers exploit a flaw the company knew about but didn’t fix, many cyber policies will deny the claim.

Network failures not caused by cyberattacks

Most plans do not cover outages caused by misconfigurations and other internal errors.

The state of cyber insurance today

While demand for cyber insurance is high, rising cyber insurance costs are making it hard for companies—especially small businesses—to find coverage. According to Marsh McLennan (link resides outside ibm.com), cyber insurance prices rose by 110% in the first quarter of 2022. 

According to 451 Research (link resides outside ibm.com), cyber insurance may contribute to increasing ransomware attacks. As more businesses buy cyber policies, they become more comfortable paying ransoms because insurance will cover them. Hackers, in turn, feel encouraged to keep asking for ransoms. One new strain of ransomware, HardBit (link resides outside ibm.com), even asks victims to share the details of their cyber policies so the hackers can calculate a ransom the policy will cover. 

Price turbulence is also fueled by the fact that cyber insurance is relatively new compared to other insurance products. Insurers have limited historical data on cyberattack costs, which makes it difficult to create accurate risk models and set stable prices.

As insurance companies see their losses climb, they respond by raising premiums and limiting coverage. Insurer AXA has stopped covering ransomware payments (link resides outside ibm.com) for policies issued in France. Lloyd’s of London (link resides outside ibm.com) will no longer cover state-sponsored cyberattacks, another source of major losses. 

Insurers are also setting stricter network security requirements for insured companies. Some underwriters won’t even offer an insurance quote unless a company has multi-factor authentication, data encryption, zero trust, or similar policies in place. Some insurance companies are taking on a more consultative role, giving policyholders and business owners access to security tools and service providers to help them improve security posture. Some experts predict that cyber insurers may become key figures in enforcing standards like the NIST Cybersecurity Framework, as companies that follow these standards will be less costly to insure.

 

Related solutions
Data security solutions

Protect enterprise data across multiple environments, meet privacy regulations, and simplify operational complexity.

Explore data security solutions

Cybersecurity solutions

IBM Security® provides enterprise cybersecurity solutions to help you thrive in the face of uncertainty.

Explore cybersecurity solutions

Network security solutions

Protect your network infrastructure against advanced threats and malware with IBM QRadar.

Explore network security solutions
Resources How much does a data breach cost in 2022?
The annual Cost of a Data Breach Report, featuring research by Ponemon Institute, offers insights gained from 550 real breaches.
What is cyber resilience?
Cyber resilience is an organization's ability to prevent, withstand, and recover from cybersecurity incidents.
What is data security?
Data security is the practice of protecting digital information from unauthorized access, corruption, or theft throughout its entire lifecycle.
Take the next step

Learn how IBM data security and protection solutions can help you gain greater visibility and insights to investigate and remediate cyberthreats, enforce real-time controls, and manage regulatory compliance.

Learn more about IBM data security solutions