文件传输
跨计算机系统和网络共享任何大小或类型的数据文件
探索解决方案
Shot of a young female designer using a digital tablet in the officehttp://195.154.178.81/DATA/i_collage/pu/shoots/804978.jpg
什么是文件传输?

文件传输是指在计算机系统之间交换数据文件的过程。 Techopedia 将文件传输定义为:“文件传输是指通过网络或互联网连接将文件从一台计算机复制或移动到另一台计算机的过程。 它可以在本地和远程的不同用户和/或计算机之间共享或传输文件或逻辑数据对象。” 1

数据文件可以是结构化或非结构化的 - 包括文档、多媒体、图形、文本和 PDF。 可以在企业内外通过下载或上传操作来共享和传输数据文件。

文件传输通常由通信协议管理,通信协议是一组定义如何在网络中的计算机之间传输信息的规则。 目前使用的通用标准示例包括文件传输协议 (FTP)、传输控制协议 (TCP) 和超文本传输协议 (HTTP)。


文件传输的演变

文件传输始于二十世纪七十年代,当时人们通过软盘来分发数字内容。 最早的一个在线文件共享平台是 Usenet,这是一个允许社区成员发布新闻消息的电子公告板。 用户可以使用此功能与新闻组中的其他人共享数据文件。

在 1985 年制定了第一个通信协议 - FTP。 通过此文件传输标准,用户可以使用同一组规则和语法在不同的计算机系统之间传输数据。

到了二十世纪九十年代,互联网为我们打开了全球通信的大门,让人们能够通过庞大的计算机网络共享信息。 美国在线 (AOL) 是最早的互联网服务提供商之一。 它提供了一个基于预订的电子邮件平台,这个平台上提供了一系列 Web 服务(包括文件传输)。

Napster 音乐网站创建于 1999 年,用户可以在这个平台上与他人共享 mp3 音频文件。 在第一年,它发行了 400 万首歌曲。 2人们普遍认为这个网站是首个点对点文件共享服务。 它为二十一世纪初期的 Gnutella 和 Freenet 等其他共享网络铺平了道路。

如今,许多高速文件传输解决方案可用于管理数字信息流。 Dropbox 和 iCloud 等云存储系统允许用户在异地存储所有类型的数字文件(包括照片和视频)。 使用该服务,用户可以从任何设备访问文件并将其传输到任何设备。

版权与安全性

多年来,广泛的文件传输和数字内容共享带来了很多的道德和法律问题。 维基百科中提到:“文件共享引发了版权问题,并导致了许多诉讼案例。 例如,在一个案例中,美国最高法院裁定,如果点对点网络创建者的软件在售出后成为了侵犯版权的工具,那么受害人可以追究其责任。” 3

文件传输的安全性也是一个关键问题。 Digital Shadows 最近的一项调查发现,因为错误配置的 FTP、文件和目录的远程同步 (Rsync) 以及其他文件传输系统泄漏了 15 亿个数据文件。 “大量泄漏的数据文件包括工资单数据、纳税申报信息、医疗记录、信用卡数据和知识产权。” 4

数据泄露和传输失败都会影响组织的利润和声誉。 根据 IBM Security 和 Poneman Institute 的一项研究  (PDF, 1.6 MB),2018 年数据泄露的平均成本为 386 万美元。 每条丢失或被盗记录的估计成本为 148 美元。


失败不是选项

当 FTP 发生故障时,您的组织就会瘫痪。 了解 IBM MFT 如何为关键文件传输提供安全性、可靠性和治理能力。

下载研究报告 (PDF, 899 KB)

文件传输为何很重要

文件传输是业务运营的核心。 公司每天都会在内部交换数据以及与客户、供应商和合作伙伴交换数据。 无论是需要将批量交易传输给外包的工资单服务提供商,还是需要发送营销活动的数字视频,他们都必须确保数据移动的安全性和效率。

组织仍然是依靠文件传输来共享数字信息。 事实上,超过 50% 的系统集成都是通过文件传输来完成的。 5

Todd Margo 在他的“IBM 托管式文件传输”博客中提到:“从银行和金融服务业到国防和制造业,关键业务数据的传输都是至关重要的。” “为了使业务平稳运行,我们必须能够移动、复制、同步和共享各种不断出现和演变的数字数据(打包为文件)。”

他接着描述了影响当今文件传输需求的一些推动因素:

  • 数据量:在文件传输的工作负载需求方面,与过去相比,现在的批处理频率更高,处理的文件更大且更多样化。 同时还需要用于流传输的创新型应用程序流程。
  • 大数据与物联网: 企业正在部署文件传输技术,旨在在物联网 (IoT) 和大数据分析等领域实现批量交易文件交换。 这对数据传输的速度提出了更高的要求。 而且,为了支持更详细的分析,数据量也在增加。 速度和文件容量这套“组合拳”对文件传输技术提出了特殊的挑战。
  • 安全性:因为网络安全问题的不断加剧,所以我们需要采用更好的安全技术。 在可能的情况下,文件传输系统应通过支持硬件加速器、新的安全处理软件和文件传输吞吐量改进来弥补安全开销。

根据 Ovum 分析师报告  (PDF, 446 KB):“不遵守数据安全和隐私法规以及缺乏端到端可见性和监控仍然是现有文件传输解决方案功能存在的主要问题。” 该报告进一步补充道:“…云支持、通过 API 简化集成和用户体验改进是开发的几个主要主题。

超越 FTP

FTP 和安全 FTP (SFTP) 是最广泛使用的文件传输方法。 一部分原因是它们易于使用且通常免费或价格低廉。 通常是通过大多数人都可以访问的 FTP 网站来完成传输。 如果组织偶尔需要发送不敏感的文件,那么该技术就非常适用;但如果更广泛地使用此技术,则可能导致这类文件处于危险之中。

最近的研究表明,来自 FTP 服务器的超过 4 亿个文件在网上公开可用6。 文件被暴露后,FTP 并不会记录安全违规或对用户进行认证 - 帮助检测和阻止违规或网络威胁所需的基本功能。 该技术还通过“先到先服务”方式发送文件。 因此,组织无法优先考虑关键传输或快速响应业务需求。

为了摆脱 FTP 的隐性成本和风险,越来越多的企业选择安全且可扩展的文件传输软件。


有效文件传输的主要功能

高级文件传输解决方案提供了一些高性能功能,可以支持可靠的数字内容流。 它们包括最新的安全功能,能够保护正在传输的敏感信息。 同时,它们还提供了对文件移动的操作可见性,因此可以检测传输失败或延迟等问题。

要实现的关键文件传输功能:

  • 高性能。 可以跨越任意距离移动数据,实现高达每秒数个千兆位的速度,并支持数千个并发传输会话。
  • 完整的可见性。 实时提供完整的视图。 组织可以看到谁在传输文件、共享的内容以及通过系统传输的数据量。
  • 安全性。 包括安全协议、内部和外部传输加密以及数字签名。 提供会话中断和协议检查等功能,可以保护多层敏感数据。
  • 公有云和私有云。 可以部署在云或混合基础架构中,实现了更高的可用性、无限的存储容量和传输扩展能力。

托管式文件传输 (MFT) 是一个可行的选择。 这种类型的系统可以管理文件传输的各个方面,包括通信通道、协议、工作流程、供应和 API。 与 FTP 等应用程序相比,MFT 是一种更可靠、更有效的技术,可用于安全数据传输。

或者,组织可以使用 IBM Aspera 等高速文件传输解决方案,通过广域网 (WAN) 快速传输大型文件,例如高清广播视频。 它采用了获得专利的快速安全协议 (FASP) 技术,因此其速度比 FTP 或 HTTP 要快数百倍。 无论文件大小、传输距离或网络状况如何,它都能提供安全传输。


成功案例
Fox Sports

了解该客户如何在 IBM Aspera 的帮助下成功完成 2018 年世界杯的电视报道。

圣丹斯电影节

了解该客户如何使用 IBM Aspera 在全球范围内自动交付 12,000 部电影。


相关解决方案

IBM Aspera on Cloud

在混合云之间以最大速度传输、交换和自动交付大数据


IBM Secure File Transfer

整合的 MFT 解决方案,以企业所需的速度和规模安全地传输数据。


IBM Connect:Direct

提供高容量且安全可靠的企业级文件传输



来源

1 https://www.techopedia.com/definition/7192/file-transfer (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)

2 https://www.theguardian.com/music/2013/feb/24/napster-music-free-file-sharing (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)

3 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File_sharing (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)

4, 6 https://resources.digitalshadows.com/whitepapers-and-reports/too-much-information-misconfigured-ftp-smb-rsync-and-s3-buckets-exposing-1-5-billion-files (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)

5 Vanson Bourne,IBM 供应链数据报告,2017 年 11 月

What is file transfer?

File transfer refers to the exchange of data files between computer systems. According to Techopedia: “File transfer is the process of copying or moving a file from one computer to another over a network or internet connection. It enables sharing, transferring or transmitting a file or a logical data object between different users and/or computers both locally and remotely.” (1)

Data files may be structured or unstructured — including documents, multimedia, graphics, text and PDFs. They can be shared using download or upload and transmitted inside or outside the enterprise.

File transfer is usually governed by a communications protocol, a set of rules that defines how information is transmitted between computers in a network. File transfer protocol (FTP), transmission control protocol (TCP) and hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) are examples of common standards used today.

Evolution of file transfer

File transfer began in the 1970s, when people started to look beyond floppy disks for distributing digital content. One of the first online file-sharing platforms was Usenet, an electronic bulletin board that allowed community members to post news items. The functionality enabled users to share data files with others in the newsgroup.

In 1985, the first communications protocol, FTP, was established. The file transfer standard allowed users to transmit data between different computer systems using the same set of rules and syntax.

By the 1990s, the internet opened up communications across the globe, enabling people to share information over a massive network of computers. America Online (AOL) became one of the first Internet service providers. It offered a subscription-based, email platform with a range of web services including file transfer.

The Napster music site was created in 1999, enabling users to share mp3 audio files with their peers. The first year, it had 4 million songs in circulation. (2) The site is generally credited with being the first peer-to-peer file sharing service. It paved the way for other sharing networks such as Gnutella and Freenet in the early 2000s.

Today, many high-speed file transfer solutions are available to manage the flow of digital information. Cloud storage systems like Dropbox and iCloud allow users to store digital files of all types (including photos and video) offsite. Using the service, people can access and transfer files from any device to any device.

Copyright and security

The widespread transfer of files and sharing of digital content has presented ethical and legal challenges over the years. According to Wikipedia: “File sharing raises copyright issues and has led to many lawsuits. For example, in one case the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that the creators of peer-to-peer networks can be held liable if their software is marketed as a tool for copyright infringement.” (3)

File transfer security too is a critical issue. A recent survey by Digital Shadows found 1.5 billion data files exposed through misconfigured FTPs, remote synchronizing of files and directories (Rsync), and other file transfer systems. “Vast exposure of data includes documents spanning payroll data, tax return information, medical records, credit card data and intellectual property.” (4)

Data breaches and failed transfers can impact an organization’s bottom line and reputation. According to a study by IBM Security and the Poneman Institute, the average cost of a data breach in 2018 was $3.86 million. The estimated cost for each lost or stolen record: $148.

Failure is not an option

When FTP fails, your organization is grounded. Learn how IBM MFT provides security, reliability and governance of your critical file transfers.

Why file transfer is important

File transfer is at the core of business operations. Companies routinely exchange data internally and with customers, suppliers, and partners every day. Whether they need to transfer batch transactions to an outsourced payroll provider or send a digital video for a marketing campaign, they must be able to move data securely and efficiently.

Organizations continue to rely on file transfer for sharing digital information. In fact, more than 50 percent of all systems integration is done through file transfer. (5)

“The transfer of business-critical data is essential in industries from banking and financial services to defense and manufacturing,” says Todd Margo in his IBM managed file transfer blog. “For business to run smoothly, constantly emerging and evolving forms of digital data, packaged in the form of files, must be moved, duplicated, synchronized and shared.”

He goes on to describe some of the forces impacting today’s file transfer requirements:

  • Data volumes: Workload requirements for file transfer tend to be higher-frequency batching and larger, more varied files than in the past. There is also a demand for innovative application processes for streaming transfers.
  • Big data and IoT:  Businesses are deploying file transfer technology to enable bulk transaction file exchange in areas such as the Internet of Things (IoT) and big data analytics. This puts a premium on the speed of data transfers. In addition, data volumes are increasing to support more detailed analytics. This one-two punch of speed and file volume creates a special challenge for file transfer technologies.
  • Security: Cybersecurity concerns continue to heighten, leading to the adoption of better security technologies. File transfer systems, where possible, should compensate for security overhead by supporting hardware-accelerators, new security process software and file transfer throughput improvements.

According to an Ovum analyst report: “Non-compliance to data security and privacy regulations and a lack of end-to-end visibility and monitoring remain the main concerns with regard to the features and capabilities of existing file transfer solutions.” The report further adds that “…cloud enablement, simplified integration via APIs and user experience improvement are key themes for development.”

Beyond FTP

FTP and Secure FTP (SFTP) are among the most widely used methods of file transfer. Part of the appeal is that they are simple to use and often free or inexpensive. Transfer is usually done by way of an FTP web site that most anyone can access. The technology works well if an organization has an occasional need to send non-sensitive files, but when used more broadly it can put them at risk.

Recent research shows that more than 400 million files from FTP servers are publicly available online(6). When files are exposed, FTP does not log security violations or authenticate users — basic capabilities needed to help detect and stop breaches or cyber threats. The technology also sends files on a first-come, first-served basis. As such, organizations can’t prioritize critical transfers or respond as quickly to business needs.

To get beyond the hidden costs and risks of FTP, more enterprises are choosing secure and scalable file transfer software.

Key features of effective file transfer

Advanced file transfer solutions offer high-performance capabilities to support the reliable flow of digital content. They include the latest security features to protect sensitive information being transmitted. At the same time, they provide operational visibility over file movement to detect issues like failed transfers or delays.

Key file transfer capabilities to look for:

  • High performance. Moves data over any distance and can achieve up to multiple gigabit-per-second speeds, with support for thousands of concurrent transfer sessions.
  • Full visibility. Provides a complete view in real time. Organizations can see who is transferring files, what is being shared and the volume passing through the system.
  • Security. Includes secure protocols, encryption of internal and external transfers, and digital signatures. Offers capabilities like session breaks and protocol inspection to protect sensitive data at multiple layers.
  • Public and private cloud. Can be deployed in a cloud or hybrid infrastructure, taking advantage of higher availability, unlimited storage and transfer scale-out.

Managed file transfer (MFT) is a viable option. This type of system manages all aspects of file transfer including communications channels, protocols, workflow, provisioning and APIs. MFT is a more reliable and efficient technology for secure data transfer, outpacing applications such as FTP.

Alternatively, a high-speed file transfer solution like IBM Aspera enables organizations to rapidly transfer large files, such as high-definition broadcast videos, over a wide area network (WAN). It uses patented fast and secure protocol (FASP) technology to achieve speeds that are hundreds of times faster than FTP or HTTP. It provides secure delivery regardless of file size, transfer distance or network conditions.

Case studies

Fox Sports

See how this customer won 2018 World Cup TV coverage with the help of IBM Aspera.

Netflix and Sony Pictures

Learn how customers like Netflix and Sony partnered with IBM Aspera to build solutions critical to their business success.

Sundance Film Festival

Discover how this customer automates delivery of 12,000 films globally with IBM Aspera.

Resources

6 ways FTP/SFTP is putting your business at risk

Learn why FTP-based solutions are not designed to handle the need for fast, secure and scalable exchange of digital information.

IBM Secure File Transfer

Read how to securely move data at the speed and scale of your business.

IBM enhances UX and cloud deployment and monitoring capabilities of its MFT portfolio

Read how IBM is modernizing its MFT solutions to meet evolving business IT requirements.

Featured products

IBM Aspera on Cloud

Transfer, exchange and automate the delivery of your large data across hybrid clouds at maximum speed

IBM Secure File Transfer

A consolidated MFT solution that securely moves data at the speed and scale of your business

IBM Connect:Direct

Provides high-volume, reliable and secure enterprise file transfers.