什么是数字化转型?
数字化转型是指在市场需求和技术的推动下,采用数字优先的客户、业务合作伙伴和员工体验。
可选的主要选项 可选的辅助选项
Detail view of businesswoman working on digital tablet during meeting in conference room
定义数字化转型

数字化转型将由客户推动、数字优先的方法应用于企业的所有方面,包括业务模式、客户体验以及流程和运营。 它采用 AI、自动化、混合云以及其他数字技术,借助数据推动智能化工作流程,更迅速,更智慧地做出决策,实时响应市场颠覆性事件。 最终,它改变了客户期望,创造出新的商机。

虽然许多组织都经历过数字化转型,以应对单一的竞争威胁或市场变化,但数字化转型并不是一次性的活动。 《MIT 斯隆管理学院评论》 (链接位于 ibm.com 之外)指出:“数字化转型最恰当的定义就是持续适应不断变化的环境。”它的目标是建立技术和运营基础,以最恰当的方式不断发展和响应不可预测、持续变化的客户期望、市场状况以及当地或全球的事件。

还值得注意的是,虽然数字化转型是企业的任务,但其影响并不止于企业。 正如 Red Hat® 的一位专家所说:“通过软件让生活更美好 - 这就是数字化转型的意义 (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)。 这样定义它怎么样?” 这是一个充分的定义,特别是如果您认为"更好的生活"包括世界上的工作和活动,创造出新的机遇,让人们更方便、更有弹性地应对变化。

正是由于数字化转型,如此多的商业和生活领域与 20 年前相比发生了根本性的变化。 这也是为什么从一定程度上而言,我们现在生活在数字时代。


数字化转型推动力量

客户期望始终是数字化转型的主要推动力量。 它始于一系列新技术的推出,使人们能够以全新方式获取全新类型的信息和能力,例如: 

  • 移动设备
  • 社交媒体
  • 物联网 (IoT)
  • 云计算
像亚马逊 (Amazon) 和奈飞 (Netflix) 这样的企业既充当了

先驱者,也成为颠覆者,他们通过采用这些技术开展以下活动,从竞争对手那里抢占市场份额:

  • 重塑业务模式(电子商务、电子交付)。
  • 优化流程(供应链管理、新功能开发)。
  • 不断完善客户体验(情境化客户评论、个性化推荐)。

竞争对手进行调整,提供更多功能和便利(否则他们只能苦苦挣扎,甚至彻底消失)。 如今,客户希望无论何时何地,使用何种设备,都能够完全以数字方式开展业务,可以即时获得所有支持信息和内容。

归根结底,数字化转型就是为了满足这些不断提升的期望。 但通常,组织的切入点是可以解决特定问题的转型计划,例如:

业务流程自动化

添加 AI 和自动化能力,更好地为客户服务,开展更高价值的工作。 他们创建智能化工作流程,以简化运营模式,提高生产力,帮助员工更快做出更明智的决策。

抵御颠覆大潮

数字化转型实施各种技术和最佳实践,旨在快速创建产品,打造全新客户体验,建立新型业务模式,以响应竞争威胁、市场趋势和客户期望的变化。 

有效应对变化

在该过程中,可对原有技术进行现代化改造,以便能够在现代基础架构中运行,并与现代应用实现互操作。 它将弹性融入系统和流程中,并吸收消化来自并购的应用和数据。

支持按需访问更多资源,而限制更少

数字化转型帮助企业尽可能广泛地采用来自生态系统合作伙伴、行业解决方案领军企业以及多个云服务提供商的解决方案和服务。


新冠病毒疫情:终极推动力量?

2020 年,新冠病毒疫情让每个组织都清楚地了解自己在数字化转型方面的工作和进度(或缺失情况)。 制造商发现自己能够以多快多有效的方式将新产品推向市场。 零售商努力为顾客提供更安全的购物方式。 雇主采用或扩展技术,以支持员工在家工作。

在运营工作流程中,供应链暴露在风险的最前沿。 供应链总是脆弱的;根据 McKinsey Global Institute 的研究,每隔 3.7 年,供应链就会中断持续一个月或更长时间(1)。 但在疫情开始后不久,美国从主要贸易伙伴的进口量突然减少了近 50% (2)。 企业被迫经历在几周或几个月内完成原本需要几年甚至几十年才能完成的供应链转型。

影响是持久的。 在最近的一项调研中 (PDF, 1.2 MB),Twilio 表示新冠病毒疫情是“影响十年的数字加速器”。在疫情之前的 2019 年 10 月,行业分析机构 IDC 预测到 2023 年,全球数字化转型的支出将达到 2.3 万亿美元(3)。 而到了 2020 年 12 月,也就是疫情爆发后的第八个月,IDC 将预测开支提高了近两倍,达到 6.8 万亿美元(4)

企业如何在充满不确定性的时代转型 (PDF, 201 KB)


变革性技术

几乎任何数字技术都可以在组织的数字化转型战略中发挥作用。 但在目前以及不远的将来发挥核心作用的技术包括:

人工智能 (AI) 和自动化

 

人工智能 (AI) 技术(例如机器学习)支持计算机或机器模拟人类大脑的能力。 AI 从示例中学习,识别对象,做出决策,等等。 与自动化技术结合后,AI 可以将智能和实时 决策融入任何工作流程中。 它可以成为有力的推动力量:推动创新型智慧产品,推动日益个性化的客户和用户体验,推动优化的工作流程以支持供应链管理、变化管理等方面。

混合云

 

混合云是云计算基础架构,借助统筹、管理和应用可移植性等功能,将本地 IT、公有云和私有云资源连接起来。 通过创建灵活、最优的单个云以运行每一个工作负载,而不是将组织锁定在单个平台或供应商,混合云提供持久数字化转型成功所需的敏捷性、可扩展性和弹性。

微服务

 

微服务 是云原生应用架构,单个应用由多个松散耦合、可单独部署的组件构成。 通过与敏捷或 DevOps 方法结合,微服务就成为创造和对抗数字颠覆大潮的引擎。 它使企业能够每天部署新软件或产品功能,有时每天可部署成百上千次。

物联网

 

物联网 (IoT) 是配备传感器的物体和设备,通过互联网收集和传输数据。 IoT 设备是数字技术与实体现实交汇之处。 包括供应链物流和自动驾驶汽车之类的应用生成实时数据,然后由 AI 和大数据分析应用将其转变为自动化操作和决策。

区块链

 

区块链是分布式、永久性和不可改变的电子交易账本或记录。 对于需要访问记录的人,区块链提供总体交易透明度,对于不需要访问的人,则不允许访问。 组织将区块链作为超级弹性供应链和跨境金融服务转型的基础。 

数字化

 

数字化就是将基于纸面的信息转化为数字数据。 也许人们觉得数字打印的信息是一种比较"古老"的做法,但它却是几乎所有行业或领域的数字化转型工作的一个组成部分。 它也是医疗保健行业(电子病历 (EMR))、政府机构和教育行业的基础性转型计划的基石。

 

 


数字化转型战略

100 个详细制定数字化转型战略的组织可能会产生 100 个不同的路线图。 尽管如此,大多数成功的数字化转型都与企业的业务战略契合,并遵循两个原则:

  1. 他们采用逆向思维,首先考虑理想的客户体验。
  2. 他们采取整体方法来实施运营转型。

企业首先设想他们的产品和品牌将带给客户的体验,确保他们长久地成为自己的客户。 要实现这个目标,他们必须分析市场以及技术趋势,以预测客户的需求或期望将如何改变,并发现可以掀起颠覆大潮的机会。

然后,组织确定如何端到端地转变数字业务,包括基础架构、产品开发、运营和工作流程。 最后,他们创造新的客户体验,并且不断改进以应对商机和变化。

埃克森美孚改变加油站的客户体验 (02:32)

相关解决方案

数字化转型

开发数字优先的业务模式,以获得竞争优势,从根本上改变为客户实现价值的方式。 利用 IBM 的业务战略和技术专业知识,加速您的数字化转型之旅。


IBM Garage™

IBM Garage 是用于加速数字化转型的端到端模型。 它帮助您产生创新想法,并为您提供实践、技术和专业知识,以便将这些想法转化为业务价值。


AI 驱动的自动化解决方案

利用经过检验的方法扩展 AI,实现基于 AI 的自动化,从而简化业务运营。


业务咨询服务

数字化转型要想取得成功,就必须跨越组织边界和原有系统集成各种流程。 通过解锁财务、采购、客户服务、人才管理等流程中的数据,提高效率。


业务运营解决方案

利用 AI 驱动的企业资产管理、供应链和设施运营解决方案,建立更富有弹性的企业。



引用

¹ "Risk, Resilience and Rebalancing in Global Value Chains"(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)。 McKinsey Global Institute,2020 年 8 月

² Covid 19 Digital Engagement Report  (链接位于 ibm.com 之外 - PDF,7.4 MB)。 Twilio, Inc.,第 5 页

³ 根据一项新的 IDC 开支指南,到 2023 年,全球在数字化转型方面的开支将达到 2.3 万亿美元,超过所有 ICT 开支的一半  (链接位于 ibm.com 之外)。 BusinessWire.com,2019 年 10 月 28 日

 随着企业和政府为新常态做准备,全球数字化转型投资将达到  6.8 万亿美元 (链接位于 ibm.com 之外)。 IDC.com,2020 年 12 月。

What is digital transformation?

Driven by market demand and fueled by technology, digital transformation means adopting digital-first customer, business partner and employee experiences.

Detail view of businesswoman working on digital tablet during meeting in conference room

Defining digital transformation

Digital transformation takes a customer-driven, digital-first approach to all aspects of a business, from its business models to customer experiences to processes and operations. It uses AI, automation, hybrid cloud and other digital technologies to leverage data and drive intelligent workflows, faster and smarter decision-making, and real-time response to market disruptions. And ultimately, it changes customer expectations and creates new business opportunities.

While many organizations have undertaken a digital transformation in response to a single competitive threat or market shift, it has never been about making a one-time fix. According to MIT Sloan Management Review (link resides outside of ibm.com), "Digital Transformation is better thought of as continual adaptation to a constantly changing environment." Its goal is to build a technical and operational foundation, to evolve and respond in the best possible way to unpredictable and ever-changing customer expectations, market conditions and local or global events.

It's also worth noting that while digital transformation is something that businesses undertake, the effect goes well beyond business. As one expert at Red Hat puts it, “Better living through software—that's what digital transformation is (link resides outside of ibm.com). How's that for a definition?” It's a solid definition, particularly if you think that 'better living' includes working and playing in a world that promises new opportunities, more convenience and greater resilience to change.

Digital transformation is why so many areas of business and life are fundamentally different from those of 20 years ago. It's also why we are now living in the digital age to one degree or another.


Digital transformation drivers

Customer expectations have always been the prime drivers of digital transformation. It began when a rush of new technologies made new kinds of information and capabilities accessible in new ways, such as: 

  • Mobile devices
  • Social media
  • The internet of things (IoT)
  • Cloud computing

Pioneers—disruptors—such as Amazon and Netflix snatched market share from their competition by adopting these technologies to:

  • Reinvent business models (ecommerce, electronic delivery).
  • Optimize processes (supply chain management, new feature development).
  • Constantly improve the customer experience (in-context customer reviews, personalized recommendations).

See how other organizations are transforming digitally.

Competitors adapted to provide even more capability and convenience (or they struggled and maybe even disappeared). Today, customers expect to conduct all business digitally, wherever, and whenever, using any device, with all the supporting information and content they need close at hand.

Ultimately, digital transformation is about meeting these ever-escalating expectations. But often, an organization's entry point is a transformation initiative that addresses a specific means to this end, such as:

Automating business processes

Adding AI and automation serve customers better and do higher-value work. They create intelligent workflows that simplify operating models, increase productivity and enable employees to make better decisions faster.

Defending against disruption

Digital transformation implements technologies and best practices for fast product creation, new customer experiences and new business models in response to shifts in competitive threats, market trends and customer expectations. 

Dealing with change effectively

This process can include modernizing legacy technology to run on modern infrastructure and interoperate with modern applications. It builds resilience into systems and processes and assimilates applications and data from acquisitions or mergers.

Enabling on-demand access to more resources, with fewer limits

Digital transformation empowers the business to adopt the widest possible range of solutions and services from ecosystem partners, industry solution leaders and multiple cloud service providers.


COVID-19 pandemic: The ultimate driver?

In 2020, the COVID-19 pandemic laid bare every organization's digital transformation efforts and progress (or lack thereof). Manufacturers learned just how quickly and effectively they could get new products to market. Retailers scrambled to provide customers new and safer ways to shop. Employers adopted or expanded technologies that let employees work from home.

Among operational workflows, supply chains were the most glaringly exposed. Supply chains are always vulnerable; according to the McKinsey Global Institute, supply chain disruptions lasting one month or longer occur every 3.7 years (1). But shortly after the pandemic began, the United States suddenly imported almost 50% less from major trading partners (2). Companies were forced to undergo years or decades worth of supply chain transformation in weeks or months.

The impact figures to be lasting. In a recent study, Twilio called COVID-19 "the digital accelerant of the decade." Prior to the pandemic in October 2019, industry analyst IDC forecast worldwide spending on digital transformation would reach USD 2.3 trillion in 2023 (3). By December 2020, eight months into the pandemic, IDC nearly tripled that estimate to USD 6.8 trillion (4).

How businesses transform in uncertainty (PDF, 201 KB)


Transformational technologies

Virtually any digital technology can play a role in an organization's digital transformation strategy. But technologies that figure to play a central role today and in the near future include:

Artificial intelligence and automation

 

Artificial intelligence (AI) technologies, such as machine learning, enable a computer or machine to mimic the human mind's capabilities. AI learns from examples, recognizing objects, making decisions and more. When combined with automation, AI can infuse intelligence and real-time decision-making into any workflow. It can drive everything from innovative smart products, from increasingly personalized customer and user experiences to optimized workflows for supply chain management, change management and more.

Hybrid cloud

 

A hybrid cloud is a cloud computing infrastructure that connects on-premises IT, public cloud and private cloud resources with orchestration, management and application portability. By creating a single, flexible, optimal cloud for running every workload—and by not locking an organization into a single platform or vendor—hybrid cloud provides the agility, scalability and resilience required for enduring digital transformation success.

Microservices

 

Microservices is a cloud-native application architecture in which a single application is composed of loosely coupled, independently deployable components. Together with Agile or DevOps methodologies, microservices are an engine for creating or countering digital disruption. It enables organizations to deploy new software or product features daily or sometimes hundreds or thousands of times a day.

Internet of Things

 

The Internet of Things (IoT) are objects and devices equipped with sensors that collect and transmit data over the internet. IoT devices are where digital technology meets physical reality. Applications like supply chain logistics and self-driving cars generate real-time data that AI and big data analytics applications turn into automation and decisions.

Blockchain

 

Blockchain is a distributed, permanent and immutable ledger or record of electronic transactions. Blockchain provides total transaction transparency to those who require it and is inaccessible to those that don't. Organizations are using blockchain as a foundation for super-resilient supply chain and cross-border financial services transformations.

Digitization

 

Digitization, or digitalization, is the conversion of paper-based information into digital data. Digitizing printed information may seem like an old practice, but it’s a component of digital transformation efforts in virtually every industry or sector. It’s also a cornerstone of foundational transformation initiatives in healthcare (electronic medical records or EMR), government and education

 

 


Digital transformation strategy

A hundred organizations detailing their digital transformation strategies will likely result in 100 different roadmaps. Still, most successful digital transformations are aligned to a company's business strategy and follow two principles:

  1. They work backward, starting with the ideal customer experience.
  2. They take a holistic approach to transforming operations.

Enterprises start by envisioning the experience they want customers to have with their product and their brand for as many months or years as they want them to be customers. This objective means they must analyze their market, along with technology trends, to forecast or anticipate how customer needs or expectations may change and to spot opportunities for disruption.

Organizations then determine how they must transform the digital business from end-to-end, including infrastructure, product development, operations, and workflows. And finally, they bring the customer experience to life and improve it continually in response to opportunity and change.


Related solutions

Digital transformation

Develop a digital-first business model to gain a competitive advantage and fundamentally transform how you deliver value to customers. Accelerate your digital transformation journey with IBM’s business strategy and technology expertise.

IBM Garage

IBM Garage is an end-to-end model for accelerating digital transformation. It helps you generate innovative ideas and equips you with the practices, technologies, and expertise to turn those ideas into business value.

AI-powered automation solutions

Simplify how your business operates through AI-powered automation with our proven methodologies for scaling AI.

Business consulting services

To succeed with digital transformation, you must integrate processes across organizational boundaries and legacy systems. Improve efficiency by unlocking data across finance, procurement, customer service, and talent management processes.

Business operations solutions

Build a more resilient business with AI-powered solutions for enterprise asset management, supply chain, and facilities operations.


Citations

¹ 'Risk, Resilience and Rebalancing in Global Value Chains' (link resides outside of ibm.com). McKinsey Global Institute, August 2020

² Covid 19 Digital Engagement Report (link resides outside of ibm.com). Twilio, Inc., page 5

³ Worldwide Spending on Digital Transformation Will Reach $2.3 Trillion in 2023, More Than Half of All ICT Spending, According to a New IDC Spending Guide (link resides outside of ibm.com). BusinessWire.com, October 28, 2019

 Digital Transformation Investments to Top $6.8 Trillion Globally as Businesses & Governments Prepare for the Next Normal (link resides outside of ibm.com). IDC.com, December 2020.