什么是客户体验 (CX)?

客户体验能够建立一种情感纽带,帮助企业赢得更多客户,加深客户忠诚度,提升客户的终身价值。

戴眼镜的年轻学生在时尚公寓中使用无线互联网在现代笔记本电脑的键盘上输入课程作业信息
什么是客户体验 (CX)?

根据严格的定义,客户体验 (CX) 是客户在与企业或品牌的所有互动中产生的感知和感受的总和。 X 公司提供了始终如一的出色客户体验,或者 Y 公司笨拙的 Web 站点破坏了他们的整体客户体验,诸如此类的措辞体现了客户体验一词的这种含义。

不过,客户体验也经常被用作为客户体验管理 (CXM) 的简写,后者是指通过为与公司互动的任何人创造理想体验来提高业务成果的策略、技术和实践。 这个词的第二种含义体现在以下措辞中,比如我在我们公司的客户体验团队工作或者我们聘请了一位客户体验顾问

客户体验旨在根据人为因素(例如公司客户对获得的理解、服务和对待的感受)而不是通过产品或服务特性、性能、定价和交付来将公司及其价值主张与竞争对手区分开。 这种差异化优势的目标是与客户形成情感纽带,最大限度地提升客户的终身价值 — 这是公司将从获得的每一位客户身上实现的最终利润。

良好或出色的客户体验可以加深客户忠诚度,提高客户保留率以及增加对客户的销售额,从而最大限度地提升客户的终身价值 (CLV)。 企业也可以通过现有客户的口碑相传和线上品牌宣传来获得新客户,从而推动业务增长。 

如今,客户体验的重要性不容小觑。 据行业分析机构 Gartner 称,三分之二的公司基于客户体验开展竞争(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)。 标准普尔对 IT 高管的研究(2021 年)发现,改善客户体验被认为是数字化转型最重要的推动因素(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)。 行业分析机构 IDC 公司预测,2022 年客户体验技术的支出将达到 6410 亿美元(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)。


主要客户体验概念

以客户为中心

企业转变为以客户体验为重点的重要第一步是,将客户的感知和感受置于关系的主导地位。 这包括将企业的品牌承诺建立在对客户需求和情感的理解之上,并尽可能深入地了解每个潜在客户和实际客户在关系的所有阶段甚至每次互动中的需求。

对于许多公司来说,这是一个重要转变。 它通常需要获得自上而下的支持。 对于在职业生涯中不是特别以客户为中心,或者其成功主要在于达成交易指标或财务 KPI 的高管和经理来说,调整起来可能比较困难。 而且,如上所述,它需要对新技术进行大量投资,包括移动应用、付款处理、高级分析和人工智能。

但是这种转变是值得的,因为虽然客户在字面意义上可能并非始终正确,但客户在与公司互动后的感受永远不会错。 糟糕的客户体验比如延迟交付、与客户支持或客户服务团队产生误解,可能会让客户感到他们被特意挑出来差别对待,尽管这种想法并不合理。 最近的一项调查发现,六分之一的客户会在仅一次糟糕的体验后放弃购买,86% 的客户会在两次或三次糟糕的体验后永远离开一个值得信赖的品牌(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)。

相比之下,积极的客户体验可以让客户觉得公司只为他们而存在 — 更重要的是,能让他们拥有宽广的心胸。 普华永道的调查显示,65% 的消费者认为品牌提供积极的体验比精彩的广告更重要。 这项调查还发现,客户愿意为出色的体验多付 16% 的费用(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)。

客户角色

客户角色也称为买家角色,是虚构或半虚构的角色,代表了公司客户或潜在客户的重要组成部分。 例如,一家生产滑雪和单板滑雪设备的公司可能会创建许多角色,代表初学者、中级滑雪者、专家级滑雪者,甚至是开始滑雪或单板滑雪的孩子的父母。

角色是基于来自各种来源的数据(包括购买行为、网络分析、调查、评级和评论、社交媒体帖子)以及通过与客户服务和支持团队互动获得的反馈和洞察而创建。 创建角色的目的是帮助公司直观呈现所有客户群中的人们在客户生命周期各个阶段的希望和需求。

客户之旅路线图

创建买家角色是客户体验管理计划的第一步。 下一步是客户之旅路线图:定义并优化每个角色在整个客户生命周期中的互动或接触点,涵盖客户第一次了解公司并与之互动、做出首次购买决定、持续使用产品或服务以及决定进行更多购买或放弃这家公司等过程。

客户之旅路线图背后的假设是 1) 潜在客户或客户在每个接触点都带有目的性,比如解决问题、回答问题、比较选项、完成一些待办事项等等;以及 2) 公司可以帮助他们尽可能快速简单以及顺利地实现这些目的并获得令人满意的结果,从而使这些人继续成为忠实的客户。

客户之旅路线图不必总是详尽无遗。 其目的是为制定客户体验战略提供切实可行的洞察。 与其为每个角色绘制涵盖所有客户接触点的端到端路线图,不如将初始目标放在改善公司最明显表现不佳的接触点或能够提供最大优势的角色上。


客户体验战略要素

客户体验管理的“重任”是重新定位企业的各个方面,不仅专注于预测和满足客户的实际需求,还要关注他们的情感需求,从而提供真正出色的客户体验。 赢得客户的心是创造品牌忠诚度、减少客户流失和最大限度提升终身价值的关键。

以下是卓有成效的客户体验战略(CX 战略)的几个关键要素以及推动这些要素的技术。

全渠道方法

客户体验战略应涵盖所有客户互动和沟通渠道,包括

  • 传统媒体消息传递,例如出版物、视频和音频广告以及公关
  • 社交媒体消息传递 — 不仅包括公司自己的社交媒体渠道,还包括第三方博客或 Web 站点上的客户意见和评论
  • 企业 Web 站点、移动应用、聊天机器人以及电子商务体验等的数字体验
  • 直接联系,包括零售环境中的面对面联系以及与客户支持和客户服务团队的电话联系

跨渠道的消息传递和体验应尽可能地保持一致,让潜在客户和客户能够无缝地从一个渠道转移到另一个渠道,就好像它们都是同一体验的一部分。 在最大可能的情况下,客户应该能够在他们选择的渠道上完成尽可能多的目标。例如,如果他们选择通过社交媒体而不是电话来获得客户支持,或者通过应用程序而非电子商务站点进行购买,那么他们应该能够做到这些事情。 无论客户选择任何渠道,都应提供令他们满意的客户体验。

客户自助服务

提供一个电话号码,或者提供一份由客户填写以让代表与之联系的表格,这些不再是可接受的客户体验的组成部分。 客户希望自己获得所需的信息、答案和支持。

常见问题解答 (FAQ)、知识库和客户论坛只是个开始。 客户期望不断增多,包括

  • 能够通过在线交谈或短信与客户服务和支持团队互动
  • 能够使用在线工具安排预约(无需拨打电话)
  • 提供上下文信息 — 例如,包含小册子、产品手册、详细规格、操作视频和其他相关信息的产品页面
  • 优化搜索,使客户能够快速找到问题的答案

客户自助服务是一个并非所有自动化技术都适用的领域。 例如,Forbes 指出(反映了大多数人的感受),在最近的一次客户调查中,39% 的受访者表示他们宁愿打扫厕所也不愿使用交互式语音响应 (IVR) 系统 (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)。 客户体验团队必须注意优先考虑客户的需求,而不是闪亮但无实用价值的新技术。

个性化体验

个性化体验是为满足客户的特定需求、要求、目的、喜好甚至个性而量身定制的互动、服务或产品。 个性化体验的示例包括(但绝不限于以下几点)

  • 能够称呼客户名字与之打招呼的 Web 站点、应用程序或聊天机器人
  • 不会要求客户重复已经提供的数据的客户支持交接
  • 基于之前购买的产品(或观看的视频)的推荐
  • 购买后询问产品性能或者提供操作方法或其他有用产品信息的后续跟进电子邮件或短信

许多个性化的客户互动需要强大的技术,例如高级分析、自动化人工智能 (AI)。 但其他互动需要更简单的技术 — 例如,简单地询问客户“你今天来这里做什么?”的 Web 初始页面。 还有一些互动根本不需要任何技术 — 比如将可口可乐的瓶子标上人们的名字,这样顾客就能为朋友买一杯个性化的饮料。

不管实现方式如何,个性化越来越被视为创造良好客户体验的筹码。 McKinsey 最近的一项研究发现,71% 的客户期望个性化,而 76% 的客户在没有获得个性化服务时会感到沮丧(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)。

员工体验

大多数组织发现,改善客户体验归根结底需要一个并行程序来增强员工的体验 — 增强员工用来与客户互动和提供服务的工具的用户体验和性能。 在 IDC 最近的一项调查(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)中,85% 的受访者一致认为,增强员工体验可以“改善客户体验、提高客户满意度和增加组织收入”。 在同一项调查中,58% 的受访者表示,客户满意度是评估员工生产力的一个关键指标 — 因此,员工获得最佳工具和体验以满足客户期望,这才是公平之举。

跨职能协作

成功实施客户体验管理计划需要打破组织孤岛,以新的方式共享信息,或许最重要的是,分担客户体验和客户满意度责任。 致力于改善客户体验的公司通常会跨学科(销售、营销、客户支持)统一客户数据,以便创建有关客户的单一事实来源。 大多数企业都会任命一位最高层主管,通常是客户体验官 (CXO),有权让各部门就影响客户体验的跨职能问题开展合作。 事实上,行业分析机构 Gartner 指出, 到 2019 年,只有 11% 的公司没有任命客户体验官 (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)。

反馈和指标

客户体验需要将收集并处理反馈和指标作为日常业务流程的一部分,而不是定期进行或作为一个特殊项目。 公司通常会部署用于实时收集客户反馈和衡量满意度的技术。 常用指标包括:

  • 客户满意度 (CSAT) 得分:CSAT 是在接触点体验后提供的调查中声称满意 (4) 或非常满意 (5) 的受访者百分比。
  • 净推荐值 (NPS):NPS 由咨询公司 Bain and Company 开发,用于询问刚刚体验过某个接触点的用户他们有多大可能会向其他人推荐该公司。 用“推荐者”数量(9 分和 10 分)减去低分用户数量(6 分及以下),并将该净值转换为百分比,范围可以介于 -100(所有 6 分及以下)到 +100(所有 9 分和 10 分)之间。 获得一个正评分通常是第一个目标,而客户体验卓越表现者将获得 80 分的 NPS 评分。
  • 客户费力度 (CES):在接触点体验后,询问客户实现目标的难易程度,将难度从 1(容易)到 5 或 7(困难)进行评分。 人们越来越将 CES 视为比满意度评分调查更能预测真正客户忠诚度的指标。

客户体验与客户关系管理

CRM 或客户关系管理是在整个客户生命周期中收集、跟踪、分析和处理由客户互动所产生的数据的实践。 CRM 还指一类软件系统,例如 Salesforce.com 或 SAP,用于简化和自动执行这种实践。

第一个 CRM 系统早在 Web 出现之前就已经存在,可以说是最早的客户体验管理系统 — 销售和客户服务团队使用它们来优化和个性化直接客户互动(面对面或通过电话、电子邮件或直接邮件)。 如今,CRM 系统已成为组织的客户体验战略所有要素的重要数据源。 许多 CRM 系统还具备自己的先进技术,用于根据客户数据创建和交付体验。

What is customer experience (CX)?

Customer experience creates an emotional bond that helps companies capture more customers, deepen customer loyalty, and increase customer lifetime value.

Young student in eyeglasses typing information for course work on keyboard of modern laptop device using wireless internet in stylish flat

What is customer experience (CX)?

By strict definition, customer experience, or CX, is the sum or aggregate of customers’ perceptions and feelings resulting from all their interactions with a business or brand. It’s this sense of the term that’s reflected in phrases like X Corp provides a consistently great customer experience, or Y Corp’s balky web site undermines their overall customer experience.

Frequently, however, customer experience is also used as shorthand for customer experience management (CXM), which refers to strategies, technologies and practices for improving business results by creating an ideal experience for anyone interacting with a company. This second sense of the term is reflected in phrases like I work on our company’s CX team or we hired a customer experience consultant.

Customer experience seeks to differentiate a company and its value proposition from competitors based on human factors—such as how well the company’s customers are feel they are understood, served and treated—rather than through product or service features, performance, pricing and delivery. The goal of this differentiation is to form an emotional bond with the customer that maximizes the lifetime value of the customer—the ultimate profit the company will realize from each customer acquired.

Good or great customer experience can maximize customer lifetime value (CLV) by deepening customer loyalty, improving customer retention, and generating more and larger sales to customers. It can also drive growth, through acquisition of new customers resulting from existing customers’ word-of-mouth and online advocacy for the brand. 

Today, the importance of customer experience is difficult to overestimate. According to industry analyst Gartner, two-thirds of companies compete based on customer experience (link resides outside of ibm.com). Standard & Poor’s research among IT executives (2021) found that improving customer experience was voiced as the single most important driver of digital transformation (link resides outside ibm.com). And industry analyst, IDC Corp., projects that spending on customer experience technologies will reach USD 641 billion in 2022 (link resides outside ibm.com).


Key customer experience concepts

Customer centricity

The essential first step for a business moving to a customer experience focus is to place the customer’s perceptions and feelings in the driver’s seat of the relationship. This includes basing the business’ brand promise on an understanding of its customers’ needs and emotions, and acquiring as deep an understanding as possible of what each prospective and actual customer is seeking at each stage—or even during each interaction—of the relationship.

For many companies this is a significant transition. It typically requires support from the boardroom down. It can be a difficult adjustment for executives and managers whose careers have not been particularly customer-centric, or who have found success focusing on transactional metrics or financial KPIs. And, as cited above, it involves a substantial investment in new technologies—everything from mobile apps, to payment processing, to advanced analytics and artificial intelligence.

But the transition is worth the effort, because while the customer may not always be right in the literal sense, customers are never wrong about how they feel after interacting with a company. A bad customer experience—a late delivery, a misunderstanding with the customer support or customer service team—can make customers feel, however unreasonably, like they’ve been singled out specifically and intentionally for poor treatment. One recent survey found that one in six customers would abandon a purchase after just one bad experience, and 86% of customers will leave a trusted brand for good after just two or three bad experiences (link resides outside ibm.com).

In contrast, a positive customer experience can leave customers feeling like a company exists just for them—and more important, leave them feeling generous. According to PwC, 65% of consumers feel a positive experience with a brand is more important than good advertising. The same survey revealed that customers would pay up to 16% for a great experience (link resides outside ibm.com).

Customer personas

A customer persona, also called buyer persona, is a fictional or semi-fictional character who represents a significant segment of a company’s customers or potential customers. For example, a company that manufactures skiing and snowboarding equipment might create personas representing a novice skier, an intermediate snowboarder, an expert skier, or even the parent of a child getting into skiing or snowboarding.

Personas are created based on data from a variety of sources—purchasing behaviors, web analytics, surveys, ratings and reviews, social media posts—as well as on feedback and insights from interaction with customer service and support teams. The goal of creating personas is the help the company visualize the wants and needs of people in each customer segment at the various stages of the customer lifecycle.

Customer journey mapping

Buyer personas are the starting point of a customer experience management program. The next step customer journey mapping: Defining and then optimizing the interactions, or touchpoints, that each persona has throughout the customer lifecycle, from the first time the customer learns of and engages with the company, to the process of making an initial purchase decision, through their ongoing use of the product or service and decision to make additional purchases and or abandon the company.

The assumptions behind customer journey mapping are 1) that prospects or customers are purposeful at each touchpoint—trying to solve a problem, answer a question, compare options, cross something off a to-do list, etc.—and 2) that the company can keep these people on their journies to becoming loyal customers by helping them achieve those purposes as quickly, simply, smoothly and satisfyingly as possible.

Customer journey mapping needn’t always be exhaustive. The goal is to deliver actionable insights for developing a customer experience strategy. Rather than completing an end-to-end map of every customer touchpoint for every persona, the initial goal might be to focus on the touchpoints where a company is most clearly underperforming, or on the personas that offer the greatest upside.


Elements of customer experience strategy

The “heavy lifting” of CXM is to re-orient all aspects of the enterprise to a tight focus on anticipating and meeting not just a customer’s needs, but their emotional wants, to deliver a truly great customer experience. Winning the customer’s heart is what creates brand loyalty, reduces customer churn and maximizes lifetime value.

What follow are several key elements of an effective customer experience strategy (CX strategy) and the technologies that drive them.

Omnichannel approach

CX strategy should encompass all channels of customer engagement and communication, including

  • Traditional media messaging, such as print, video and audio advertising and PR
  • Social media messaging—not only the company’s own social media channels, but also customer comments and reviews on third party blogs or web sites
  • Digital experiences such as the corporate web site, mobile apps, chatbots, the ecommerce experience and more
  • Direct contact including face-to-face contact in a retail setting and phone contact customer support and customer service teams

The messaging and experience should be as consistent as possible across channels, so that prospects and customers move seamlessly from one channel to another as if it were all part of the same experience. To the greatest extend possible, customers should be able to accomplish as much and as many of their goals in the channel of their choice—e.g., if they choose to get customer support through social media vs. the phone, or purchase via the app vs. ecommerce site, they should be able to do those things. The customer experience should meet them wherever they are.

Customer self-service

Providing a phone number, or offering a form customers can fill to have a representative get in touch—these are no longer components of an acceptable customer experience. Customers want to help themselves to the information, answers and support they need.

Frequently asked questions (FAQs), knowledge bases and customer forums are just a start. Increasingly customer expectations include

  • Ability to engage customer service and support teams via online chat or SMS text messaging
  • Ability to schedule appointments using online tools (and without making a phone call)
  • Information in context—for example, product pages populated with brochures, product manuals, detailed specs, how-to videos and other pertinent information
  • Optimized search that enables customer to quickly find answers to their questions

Customer self-service is one area where not all automation is good automation. For example, according to Forbes (and reflecting the feelings of many), 39% of respondents to a recent customer survey indicated they would rather clean a toilet than engage with an interactive voice response (IVR) system (link resides outside ibm.com). CX teams mest be careful to prioritize the needs and wants of the customer over shiny new technical toys.

Personalized experiences

Personalized experiences are interactions, services or products tailored to meet a customer’s specific wants, requirements, purposes, likes, or even personality. Examples of personalized experiences include (but are by no means limited to)

  • A web site, app or chatbot that greets the customer by first name
  • A customer support hand-off that doesn’t ask the customer to repeat data already provided
  • Recommendations based on previous product purchases (or videos viewed)
  • A follow-up email or text message after a purchase to ask how the product is performing, or provide how-tos or other useful product information

Many personalized customer interactions involve powerful technologies such as advanced analytics, automation and artificial intelligence (AI). But others require simpler technology—e.g., a web ‘splash page’ that simply asks a customer, ‘what are you here for today?’ And still others require no technology at all—like Coca Cola's bottles labeled with people’s first names, enabling a customer to give a friend a personalized drink.

Regardless of how its implemented, personalization is increasingly seen as table stakes for a good customer experience. A recent study by McKinsey found that 71 percent of customers expect personalization and 76% of customers get frustrated when they don’t find it (link resides outside ibm.com).

Employee experience

Most organizations find that improving customer experience ultimately requires a parallel program that enhances your employees’ experience—enhancing the user experience and performance of the tools employees use to interact with and serve customers. 85% of respondents to a recent IDC survey (link resides outside ibm.com) agreed that improved employee experience results in ‘a better customer experience, higher customer satisfaction, and higher revenues for their organization.’ In the same survey, 58% indicated that customer satisfaction is a key metric for evaluating employee productivity—so it seems only fair that employees should have the best possible tools and experience for meeting customer expectations.

Cross-functional collaboration

Successful customer experience management initiatives break down organizational silos, share information in new ways and, perhaps most importantly, share responsibility for customer experience and customer satisfaction. Companies committed to customer experience often unify customer data across disciplines— sales, marketing, customer support—to create a single source of truth about customers. And most appoint a C-level executive, typically a customer experience officer (CXO), with the authority to make departments work together on cross-functional issues that impact customer experience. In fact, according to industry analyst Gartner, by 2019 just 11 percent of companies lacked a CXO (link resides outside ibm.com).

Feedback and metrics

Customer experience requires collecting and processing feedback and measurement as part of the everyday business process, vs. periodically or as a special project. Companies typically deploy technologies for capturing customer feedback and measuring satisfaction in real time. Common metrics include:

  • Customer satisfaction (CSAT) score: CSAT is the percentage of respondents who claim to be satisfied (4) or very satisfied (5) in surveys offered after a touchpoint experience.
  • Net Promoter Score (NPS): Developed by the consultancy Bain and Company, NPS asks users who have just experienced a touchpoint how likely they are to recommend the company to others. The number of low scores (6 or less) is subtracted from number of “promoters” (9’s and 10’s), and the net is converted into a percentage, which can range from -100 (all 6’s or less) to +100 (all 9’s and 10’s). Earning a positive score is typically the first goal, while the very best CX performers will attain NPS scores of 80.
  • Customer Effort Score (CES): After a touch, the customer is asked how easy or difficult it was to accomplish their goal, rating the difficulty from 1 (easy) to 5 or 7 (difficult). Increasingly CES is viewed as a better predictor of genuine customer loyalty than surveys that score satisfaction levels.

Customer experience vs. CRM

CRM, or customer relationship management, is the practice of collecting, tracking, analyzing and acting on data resulting from customer interactions throughout the entire customer lifecycle. CRM also refers to a category of software systems, such Salesforce.com or SAP, used to simplify and automate this practice.

The first CRM systems, which existed before the advent of the Web, could be considered the first customer experience management systems—they were used by sales and customer service teams to optimize and personalize direct customer interactions (face-to-face or via telephone, email or direct mail). Today CRM systems serve as an essential data source for all elements of an organization’s customer experience strategy. Many CRM systems also include their own advanced technology for creating and delivering experiences based on customer data.