人工智能 (AI)

menu icon

人工智能 (AI)

人工智能使计算机和机器能够模仿人类大脑的感知、学习、解决问题和决策能力。

什么是人工智能?

在计算机科学中,“人工智能 (AI)”一词指的是计算机、机器人或其他机器所展示的任何类似于人的智能。 在流行的用法中,人工智能指的是计算机或机器能够模仿人类的思维能力(从示例和经验中学习、识别对象、理解和响应语言、制定决策、解决问题),同时将这些能力与其他能力相结合,执行人类可能会履行的职能,例如,向旅馆客人打招呼或驾驶汽车等。

在科幻小说中风靡了数十年之后,如今,AI 已然成为我们日常生活的一部分。 突如其来的大量可用数据以及相应的计算机系统的开发和广泛可用,催生了 AI 的迅猛发展。这些系统可以比人类更迅速、更准确地处理所有数据。 AI 会在我们输入单词时补全单词,在我们问路时提供行车路线,会用吸尘器清洁地板,也会推荐我们接下来该买什么或者追哪一部电视剧。 它推动着诸如医学影像分析之类的应用不断发展,帮助技能娴熟的专业人员更快地完成重要工作,并取得更大的成功。

随着当下人工智能的普遍应用,理解 AI 和 AI 术语可能十分困难,因为许多术语可以互换使用。尽管在某些情况下,它们实际上可以互换使用,但在另一些情况下则不可以。 人工智能与机器学习之间有何区别? 机器学习与深度学习、 语音识别与自然语言处理、 弱 AI 与强 AI 之间又有何不同? 本文试着帮助您理清这些术语和其他术语,了解关于 AI 运作方式的基础知识。

人工智能、机器学习与深度学习

若想弄清人工智能 (AI)、机器学习与深度学习之间的关系,最简单的方式如下:

  • 人工智能视为整个计算技术领域,它展现出与人类智能略微相似的任何事物。 AI 系统可以包括任何事物,从专家系统(一个基于复杂规则或 if/then 逻辑做出决策的解决问题的应用)到虚构的皮克斯角色 Wall-E(可开发人类智慧、自由意志和情感的计算机)等类似事物,皆一一涉及。  
  • 机器学习是 AI 应用的一个子集,它可以自行学习。 实际上,随着消化的数据越来越多,它会自我重新编程,旨在有针对性地执行特定任务,并不断提高准确性。 
  • 深度学习是机器学习应用的一个子集,它通过自学,无需人为干预即可执行特定任务,且不断提高准确性。
人工智能、机器学习与深度学习之间的关系图

让我们来仔细研究一下机器学习与深度学习,看看它们之间有何不同。

机器学习

机器学习应用(也称为机器学习模型)基于神经网络 ,它是一种算法计算网络,试图模拟人脑的认知和思维过程。 究其根本而言,神经网络包含以下内容:

  • 一个输入级别,数据由此进入网络。
  • 至少一个隐藏级别,机器学习算法在此处理输入,并对输入应用权重、偏差和阈值。 
  • 一个输出层,在此得出各种结论,其中网络具有各种不同的置信度。
基本神经网络图。

非深度学习模型的机器学习模型基于只有一个隐藏层的人工神经网络。 这些模型会被输入标注数据,即数据通过识别其特征的标签加以增强,从而帮助模型识别和理解数据。 它们能够进行监督式学习(即,需要人类监督的学习),如定期调整模型中的算法。

深度学习

深度学习模型基于深度神经网络 -具有多个隐藏层的神经网络,每一层都进一步优化了前一层的结论。 通过隐藏层进入输出层的这种计算移动方式称为正向传播。 另一种过程则称为反向传播,即识别计算中的错误,为它们分配权重,然后将其推回到前一层,以优化或训练模型。

深度神经网络图。

虽然一些深度学习模型使用的是标注数据,但许多模型都会处理大量未标注的数据。 深度学习模型也能够进行无监督学习 - 只需最基本的人为监管,即可检测数据中的特征和模式。

简单地来说,深度学习与其他机器学习之间的区别就是苹果的 Siri 或亚马逊的 Alexa(无需训练即可识别您的语音命令)与十年前的语音到输入应用之间的区别,后者需要用户在使用前通过向系统说出词语的分数来“训练”程序(并标注数据)。 而深度学习模型则支持远为复杂缜密的应用,这包括图像识别系统,这些系统可以比人类更迅速、更准确地识别日常物体。

若想深入挖掘这些技术之间的细微差别,请阅读“AI、机器学习、深度学习与神经网络:它们之间有何区别?” 

人工智能的类型 - 弱 AI 与强 AI

弱 AI 也称为狭义的 AI 或人工狭义智能 (ANI),是经过训练的 AI,专注于执行特定任务。 弱 AI 驱动了现如今我们周围的大多数 AI。“狭义”是这种 AI 的更准确的描述,因为它根本不弱;它支持一些令人印象极其深刻的应用(包括苹果的 Siri 和亚马逊的 Alexa)、在《危险边缘》节目中击败了人类竞争对手的 IBM Watson 计算机,以及自动驾驶汽车。

强 AI 也称为通用人工智能 (AGI),是一种可以更充分地复制人脑自主性的 AI,这种 AI 无需人为干预即可解决各种各样的问题,甚至可以选择想要解决的问题。 强 AI 仍然完全是理论上的,目前并没有实际运用的例子。 但这并不妨碍 AI 研究人员同时(谨慎地)探索超级人工智能 (ASI),这是一种超越人类智能或能力的人工智能。 ASI 的一个例子可能就是 HAL,它是《2001 太空漫游》中的超人(最终成为流氓)计算机助手。

人工智能应用

正如前文所述,人工智能如今无处不在,而其中的一些存在的时间甚至比你想象的还要久远。 这里只举几个最常见的例子:

  • 语音识别:也称为语音转文本 (STT),这种 AI 技术可识别口语词汇,并将它们转换为数字化文本。 语音识别能够驱动计算机听写软件、电视语音遥控器、语音支持的文本消息传递和 GPS 以及语音驱动的电话应答菜单。
  • 自然语言处理 (NLP): NLP支持软件应用、计算机或机器理解、解释和生成人类文本。 NLP 是数字助手(如上述 Siri 和 Alexa)、聊天机器人和其他基于文本的虚拟协助背后的 AI。 某些 NLP 使用情绪分析来检测语言中的情绪、态度或其他主观素质。
  • 图像识别 (计算机视觉机器视觉):这种 AI 技术可识别对象、人员、书写,甚至是静止或移动图像中的动作,并且对它们进行分类。 图像识别通常由深度神经网络所驱动,可用于指纹识别系统、移动支票存款应用、视频和医学图像分析、自动驾驶汽车等诸多方面。
  • 实时推荐: 零售和娱乐网站使用神经网络,根据客户过去的活动、其他客户过去的活动以及各种其他因素(包括当天时间和天气),推荐可能会吸引客户的其他购买物品或媒体。 研究发现,在线推荐可以将销售额提升 5% 到 30% 不等。
  • 病毒和垃圾邮件预防: 在基于规则的专家系统的驱动下,当今的病毒和垃圾邮件检测软件采用了深度神经网络,这些网络可通过学习,在网络犯罪分子刚构想出新型病毒和垃圾邮件时就迅速检测到它们。
  • 自动股票交易: 旨在优化股票投资组合,AI 驱动的高频交易平台每天可完成数千乃至数百万笔交易,而无需人为干预。
  • 拼车服务: Uber、Lyft 和其他拼车服务使用人工智能来匹配乘客和司机,尽可能地减少等待时间和绕道,提供可靠的 ETA,甚至避免流量高峰期间的峰时定价需求。
  • 家用机器人: iRobot 的 Roomba 吸尘器利用人工智能来确定房间的大小,识别并避开障碍物,同时学习最有效的地板清理路线。 类似的技术还能驱动机器人割草机和泳池清洗机。
  • 自动驾驶技术: 这项技术用在商用飞机和军用飞机上已有数十个年头了。 如今,自动驾驶仪结合运用了传感器、GPS 技术、图像识别、防撞技术、机器人技术和自然语言处理技术,可以安全地引导飞机在天空飞行,并根据需要更新人类飞行员。 如今的商业飞行员手动驾驶飞机的时间可以低至三分半钟,这具体因人而异。

人工智能的发展历史: 大事记

“一台会思考的机器”这一构想最早可以追溯到古希腊时期。 而自从电子计算技术问世以来(相对于本文中讨论的某些主题而言),人工智能进化过程中的重要事件和里程碑包括以下内容:

  • 1950:Alan Turing 发表了《计算机器与智能 》一文。在这篇论文中,Turing(因在第二次世界大战期间破解纳粹的 ENIGMA 代码而闻名)提议回答“机器能思考吗?”这一问题,并介绍了图灵测试(链接位于 IBM 外部),用于确定计算机是否可以展示与人类相同的智慧(或相同智慧的产物)。 自此之后,人们就图灵测试的价值一直争论不休。
  • 1956:John McCarthy 在达特茅斯学院举办的首届 AI 会议上创造了“人工智能”一词。(McCarthy 继续发明了 Lisp 语言。)同年晚些时候,Allen Newell、J.C.Shaw 和 Herbert Simon 创建了 Logic Theorist,这是有史以来第一个运行的 AI 软件程序。
  • 1967:Frank Rosenblatt 构建了 Mark 1 Perceptron,这是第一台基于神经网络的计算机,它可以通过试错法不断学习。 就在一年后,Marvin Minsky 和 Seymour Papert 出版了一本名为《感知器》的书,这本书既成为神经网络领域的标志性作品,同时至少在一段时间内,成为反对未来神经网络研究项目的论据。
  • 20 世纪 80 年代:以反向传播(用于训练网络的算法)为特征的神经网络广泛用于 AI 应用中。
  • 1997:IBM 的深蓝计算机在国际象棋比赛(和复赛)中击败国际象棋世界冠军 Garry Kasparov。
  • 2011:IBM Watson 在《危险边缘!》节目中战胜冠军 Ken Jennings 和 Brad Rutter。
  • 2015:百度的 Minwa 超级计算机使用一种称为卷积神经网络的特殊深度神经网络来识别图像并进行分类,其准确率高于一般的人类。
  • 2016:由深度神经网络支持的 DeepMind 的 AlphaGo 程序在五轮比赛中击败了围棋世界冠军 Lee Sodol。 考虑到随着游戏的进行,可能的走法非常之多,这一胜利具有重要意义(仅走了四步之后走法就超过 14.5 万亿种!)。 后来,谷歌以四亿美元的报价收购了 DeepMind。

人工智能和 IBM Cloud

在为企业推进 AI 驱动技术方面,IBM 一直是领导者,它已率先为多种行业开创了机器学习系统的未来。 立足于数十年的 AI 研究成果、多年来与各种规模企业合作积累的经验,以及从 30000 多次 IBM Watson 参与中汲取的知识,IBM 为成功部署人工智能搭建了 AI 之梯

  • 收集:简化数据收集和可访问性。
  • 分析:构建可扩展且值得信赖的 AI 驱动系统。
  • 注入:在整个业务框架中集成和优化系统。
  • 现代化:将 AI 应用和系统带入云端。

IBM Watson 为企业提供彻底改造业务系统和工作流程所需的 AI 工具,同时显著提高自动化水平和效率。 有关 IBM 如何帮助您完成 AI 之旅的更多信息,请浏览 IBM 产品服务组合:托管服务和解决方案

注册 IBMid 并创建 IBM Cloud 帐户

By: IBM Cloud Education

Artificial intelligence enables computers and machines to mimic the perception, learning, problem-solving, and decision-making capabilities of the human mind.

What is artificial intelligence?

In computer science, the term artificial intelligence (AI) refers to any human-like intelligence exhibited by a computer, robot, or other machine. In popular usage, artificial intelligence refers to the ability of a computer or machine to mimic the capabilities of the human mind—learning from examples and experience, recognizing objects, understanding and responding to language, making decisions, solving problems—and combining these and other capabilities to perform functions a human might perform, such as greeting a hotel guest or driving a car.

After decades of being relegated to science fiction, today, AI is part of our everyday lives. The surge in AI development is made possible by the sudden availability of large amounts of data and the corresponding development and wide availability of computer systems that can process all that data faster and more accurately than humans can. AI is completing our words as we type them, providing driving directions when we ask, vacuuming our floors, and recommending what we should buy or binge-watch next. And it’s driving applications—such as medical image analysis—that help skilled professionals do important work faster and with greater success.

As common as artificial intelligence is today, understanding AI and AI terminology can be difficult because many of the terms are used interchangeably; and while they are actually interchangeable in some cases, they aren’t in other cases. What’s the difference between artificial intelligence and machine learning? Between machine learning and deep learning? Between speech recognition and natural language processing? Between weak AI and strong AI? This article will try to help you sort through these and other terms and understand the basics of how AI works.

Artificial intelligence, machine learning, and deep learning

The easiest way to understand the relationship between artificial intelligence (AI), machine learning, and deep learning is as follows:

  • Think of artificial intelligence as the entire universe of computing technology that exhibits anything remotely resembling human intelligence. AI systems can include anything from an expert system—a problem-solving application that makes decisions based on complex rules or if/then logic—to something like the equivalent of the fictional Pixar character Wall-E, a computer that develops the intelligence, free will, and emotions of a human being.  
  • Machine learning is a subset of AI application that learns by itself. It actually reprograms itself, as it digests more data, to perform the specific task it's designed to perform with increasingly greater accuracy. 
  • Deep learning is a subset of machine learning application that teaches itself to perform a specific task with increasingly greater accuracy, without human intervention.
Diagam of the relationship between artificial intelligence, machine learning, and deep learning

Let's take a closer look at machine learning and deep learning, and how they differ.

Machine learning

Machine learning applications (also called machine learning models) are based on a neural network, which is a network of algorithmic calculations that attempts to mimic the perception and thought process of the human brain. At its most basic, a neural network consists of the following:

  • An input level, where data enters the network.
  • At least one hidden level, where machine learning algorithms process the inputs and apply weights, biases, and thresholds to the inputs.
  • An output layer, where various conclusions—in which the network has various degrees of confidence—emerge.
Diagram of a basic neural network.

Machine learning models that aren’t deep learning models are based on artificial neural networks with just one hidden layer. These models are fed labeled data—data enhanced with tags that identify its features in a way that helps the model identify and understand the data. They are capable of supervised learning (i.e., learning that requires human supervision), such as periodic adjustment of the algorithms in the model.

Deep learning

Deep learning models are based on deep neural networks—neural networks with multiple hidden layers, each of which further refines the conclusions of the previous layer. This movement of calculations through the hidden layers to the output layer is called forward propagation. Another process, called backpropagation, identifies errors in calculations, assigns them weights, and pushes them back to previous layers to refine or train the model.

Diagram of a deep neural network.

While some deep learning models work with labeled data, many can work with unlabeled data—and lots of it. Deep learning models are also capable of unsupervised learning—detecting features and patterns in data with the barest minimum of human supervision.

A simple illustration of the difference between deep learning and other machine learning is the difference between Apple’s Siri or Amazon’s Alexa (which recognize your voice commands without training) and the voice-to-type applications of a decade ago, which required users to “train” the program (and label the data) by speaking scores of words to the system before use. But deep learning models power far more sophisticated applications, including image recognition systems that can identify everyday objects more quickly and accurately than humans.

For a deeper dive into the nuanced differences between these technologies, read “AI vs. Machine Learning vs. Deep Learning vs. Neural Networks: What’s the Difference?

Types of artificial intelligence—weak AI vs. strong AI

Weak AI—also called Narrow AI or Artificial Narrow Intelligence (ANI)—is AI trained and focused to perform specific tasks. Weak AI drives most of the AI that surrounds us today. ‘Narrow’ is a more accurate descriptor for this AI, because it is anything but weak; it enables some very impressive applications, including Apple's Siri and Amazon's Alexa, the IBM Watson computer that vanquished human competitors on Jeopardy, and self-driving cars.

Strong AI, also called Artificial General Intelligence (AGI), is AI that more fully replicates the autonomy of the human brain—AI that can solve many types or classes of problems and even choose the problems it wants to solve without human intervention. Strong AI is still entirely theoretical, with no practical examples in use today. But that doesn't mean AI researchers aren't also exploring (warily) artificial super intelligence (ASI), which is artificial intelligence superior to human intelligence or ability. An example of ASI might be HAL, the superhuman (and eventually rogue) computer assistant in 2001: A Space Odyssey.

Artificial intelligence applications

As noted earlier, artificial intelligence is everywhere today, but some of it has been around for longer than you think. Here are just a few of the most common examples:

  • Speech recognition: Also called speech to text (STT), speech recognition is AI technology that recognizes spoken words and converts them to digitized text. Speech recognition is the capability that drives computer dictation software, TV voice remotes, voice-enabled text messaging and GPS, and voice-driven phone answering menus.
  • Natural language processing (NLP): NLP enables a software application, computer, or machine to understand, interpret, and generate human text. NLP is the AI behind digital assistants (such as the aforementioned Siri and Alexa), chatbots, and other text-based virtual assistance. Some NLP uses sentiment analysis to detect the mood, attitude, or other subjective qualities in language.
  • Image recognition (computer vision or machine vision): AI technology that can identify and classify objects, people, writing, and even actions within still or moving images. Typically driven by deep neural networks, image recognition is used for fingerprint ID systems, mobile check deposit apps, video and medical image analysis, self-driving cars, and much more.
  • Real-time recommendations: Retail and entertainment web sites use neural networks to recommend additional purchases or media likely to appeal to a customer based on the customer’s past activity, the past activity of other customers, and myriad other factors, including time of day and the weather. Research has found that online recommendations can increase sales anywhere from 5% to 30%.
  • Virus and spam prevention: Once driven by rule-based expert systems, today’s virus and spam detection software employs deep neural networks that can learn to detect new types of virus and spam as quickly as cybercriminals can dream them up.
  • Automated stock trading: Designed to optimize stock portfolios, AI-driven high-frequency trading platforms make thousands or even millions of trades per day without human intervention.
  • Ride-share services: Uber, Lyft, and other ride-share services use artificial intelligence to match up passengers with drivers to minimize wait times and detours, provide reliable ETAs, and even eliminate the need for surge pricing during high-traffic periods.
  • Household robots: iRobot’s Roomba vacuum uses artificial intelligence to determine the size of a room, identify and avoid obstacles, and learn the most efficient route for vacuuming a floor. Similar technology drives robotic lawn mowers and pool cleaners.
  • Autopilot technology: This has been flying commercial and military aircraft for decades. Today, autopilot uses a combination of sensors, GPS technology, image recognition, collision avoidance technology, robotics, and natural language processing to guide an aircraft safely through the skies and update the human pilots as needed. Depending on who you ask, today’s commercial pilots spend as little as three and a half minutes manually piloting a flight.

History of artificial intelligence: Key dates and names

The idea of 'a machine that thinks' dates back to ancient Greece. But since the advent of electronic computing (and relative to some of the topics discussed in this article) important events and milestones in the evolution of artificial intelligence include the following:

  • 1950: Alan Turing publishes Computing Machinery and Intelligence. In the paper, Turing—famous for breaking the Nazi's ENIGMA code during WWII—proposes to answer the question 'can machines think?' and introduces the Turing Test to determine if a computer can demonstrate the same intelligence (or the results of the same intelligence) as a human. The value of the Turing test has been debated ever since.
  • 1956: John McCarthy coins the term 'artificial intelligence' at the first-ever AI conference at Dartmouth College. (McCarthy would go on to invent the Lisp language.) Later that year, Allen Newell, J.C. Shaw, and Herbert Simon create the Logic Theorist, the first-ever running AI software program.
  • 1967: Frank Rosenblatt builds the Mark 1 Perceptron, the first computer based on a neural network that 'learned' though trial and error. Just a year later, Marvin Minsky and Seymour Papert publish a book titled Perceptrons, which becomes both the landmark work on neural networks and, at least for a while, an argument against future neural network research projects.
  • 1980s: Neural networks featuring backpropagation—algorithms for training the network—become widely used in AI applications.
  • 1997: IBM's Deep Blue beats then world chess champion Garry Kasparov, in a chess match (and rematch).
  • 2011: IBM Watson beats champions Ken Jennings and Brad Rutter at Jeopardy!
  • 2015: Baidu's Minwa supercomputer uses a special kind of deep neural network called a convolutional neural network to identify and categorize images with a higher rate of accuracy than the average human.
  • 2016: DeepMind's AlphaGo program, powered by a deep neural network, beats Lee Sodol, the world champion Go player, in a five-game match. The victory is significant given the huge number of possible moves as the game progresses (over 14.5 trillion after just four moves!). Later, Google purchased DeepMind for a reported $400 million.

Artificial intelligence and IBM Cloud

IBM has been a leader in advancing AI-driven technologies for enterprises and has pioneered the future of machine learning systems for multiple industries. Based on decades of AI research, years of experience working with organizations of all sizes, and on learnings from over 30,000 IBM Watson engagements, IBM has developed the AI Ladder for successful artificial intelligence deployments:

  • Collect: Simplifying data collection and accessibility.
  • Analyze: Building scalable and trustworthy AI-driven systems.
  • Infuse: Integrating and optimizing systems across an entire business framework.
  • Modernize: Bringing your AI applications and systems to the cloud.

IBM Watson products and solutions give enterprises the AI tools they need to transform their business systems and workflows, while significantly improving automation and efficiency. For more information on how IBM can help you complete your AI journey, explore IBM's portfolio of managed services and solutions.

Sign up for an IBMid and create your IBM Cloud account.

Follow IBM Cloud

IBM Cloud News connects you to insight and information you can put to work right away—straight from the minds of IBM Cloud experts, IBM customers, and business and IT leaders.

Email subscribeRSS

Be the first to hear about news, product updates, and innovation from IBM Cloud