什么是决策树?
了解使用决策树进行数据挖掘和知识发现的优缺点。
探索 IBM SPSS Decision Trees 探索 IBM SPSS Modeler
人工智能和数据存储加速计算的插图
决策树

决策树是一种用于分类和回归任务的非参数监督学习算法。 它是一种分层树形结构,由根节点、分支、内部节点和叶节点组成。

从上图中可以看出,决策树从根节点开始,根节点没有任何传入分支。 然后,根节点的传出分支为内部节点(也称为决策节点)提供信息。 两种节点都基于可用功能执行评估以形成同类子集,这些子集由叶节点或终端节点表示。 叶节点表示数据集内所有可能的结果。 例如,假设您尝试评估自己是否应该去冲浪,您可以使用以下决策规则帮助做出选择:

这种类型的流程图结构创建的决策表示形式易于理解,允许组织中的不同人员更好地了解做出决策的原因。

决策树学习采用"一一击破"的策略,执行贪心搜索 (greedy search) 来识别决策树内的最佳分割点。 然后以自上而下的回归方式重复此拆分过程,直到所有或者大多数记录都标记为特定的类别标签。 是否将所有数据点归为同类子集在很大程度上取决于决策树的复杂性。 较小的决策树更容易获得无法分裂的叶节点,即单个类别中的数据点。 然而,决策树的体量越来越大,就会越来越难保持这种纯度,并且通常会导致落在给定子树内的数据过少。 这种情况被称为数据碎片,通常会引起数据过拟合。 因此通常选择小型决策树,这与奥卡姆剃刀原理的"简单有效原理"相符,即"如无必要,勿增实体"。 换句话说,我们应该只在必要时增加决策树的复杂性,因为最简单的往往是最好的。 为了降低复杂性并防止过拟合,通常采用剪枝算法;这一过程会删除不太重要的特征的分支。 然后,通过交叉验证评估模型的拟合。 另一种保持决策树准确性的方法是使用随机森林算法形成一个集合;这种分类法可以得到更加准确的预测结果,特别是在决策树分支彼此不相关的情况下。

决策树的类型

Hunt 算法于 20 世纪 60 年代提出,起初用于模拟心理学中的人类学习,为许多常用的决策树算法奠定了基础,例如: 

- ID3: 该算法的开发归功于 Ross Quinlan,全称为"迭代二叉树 3 代" ("Iterative Dichotomiser 3")。 该算法利用信息熵与信息增益作为评估候选拆分的指标。  来自Quinlan 自 1986 年对这种算法的研究。

- C4.5:该算法是 ID3 的后期扩展,同样由 Quinlan 开发。 它可以使用信息增益或增益率来评估决策树中的切分点。 

- CART:术语 "CART" 的全称是"分类和回归",提出者是 Leo Breiman。 该算法通常利用"基尼不纯度"来确定要拆分的理想属性。 基尼不纯度衡量随机选择的属性被错误分类的频率。 使用该评估方法时,基尼不纯度越小越理想。 

如何在每个节点上选择最佳属性

虽然可以使用许多方法在每个节点上选择最佳属性,但信息增益和基尼不纯度这两种方法是最常用的决策树模型拆分标准。 它们有助于评估每个测试条件的质量以及样本分类能力。  

信息熵和信息增益

如果不讨论信息熵,就很难解释信息增益。 信息熵是一个源于信息论的概念,用于衡量样本值的不纯度。 它由以下公式定义,其中: 

  • S 代表计算信息熵的数据集 
  • c 表示集合中的类,S
  • p(c) 表示属于类别 c 的数据点占数据集中总数据点数的比例,S

熵值介于 0 和 1 之间。 如果数据集 S 中的所有样本都属于一类,则熵值为零。 如果一半样本属于一类,而另一半属于另一类,则熵值为最高值 1。 为了选择要拆分的最佳特征并确定最佳决策树,必须使用熵值最小的属性。 信息增益表示拆分给定属性之前和之后的熵值差异。 具有最大信息增益的属性的拆分效果最佳,因为它在根据训练数据的目标类别进行分类的效果最佳。 信息增益通常用以下公式表示: 

  • a 表示特定的属性或类标签
  • 信息熵 (S) 是数据集的熵,S
  • |Sv|/ |S| 表示 Sv 值与数据集的值的比例,S
  • 信息熵 (Sv) 是数据集的熵值,Sv

让我们通过一个示例来巩固对这些概念的理解。 假设我们有以下任意数据集:

在这个数据集中,信息熵为 0.94。 通过确定"打网球"为"是"的天数比例 (9/14) 和"打网球"为"否"的天数比例 (5/14) 来计算。 然后将这些值代入上面的信息熵公式。

熵(网球)= -(9/14) log2(9/14) – (5/14) log2 (5/14) = 0.94

然后我们可以单独计算每个属性的信息增益。 例如,属性"湿度"的信息增益如下:

增益(网球,湿度)= (0.94)-(7/14)*(0.985) – (7/14)*(0.592) = 0.151

 

回顾一下,

- 7/14 表示湿度为"高"的值与湿度值总数的比例。 在这种情况下,湿度为"高"的值的数量与湿度为"正常"的值的数量相同。

- 0.985 是"湿度=高"的熵值

- 0.59 是"湿度=正常"的熵值

然后重复计算上表中每个属性的信息增益,并选择信息增益最高的属性作为决策树中的第一个切分点。 在这种情况下,outlook 会产生信息增益最大值。 同时对每个子树重复该过程。 

基尼不纯度 

基尼不纯度指根据数据集的类别分布来标记其随机数据点时,出现错误分类的概率。 与信息熵类似,如果数据集 S 无法继续拆分(即属于一个类别),那么其不纯度为零。 公式如下: 

决策树的优缺点

虽然决策树可用于多种用例,但其他算法通常优于决策树算法。 也就是说,决策树对于 数据挖掘 与知识发现任务特别有效。 下面让我们探讨利用决策树的主要优势与挑战:

优势

- 易于解释: 决策树的布尔逻辑和可视化表现形式有助于理解和使用。 决策树的分层结构也更易于发现最重要的属性,而其他算法并不能清楚表明,比 神经网络

- 几乎不需要数据准备: 决策树具有许多特征,比其他分类方法更加灵活。 它可以处理离散型或连续型等各种数据类型,并且连续值可通过使用阈值转换为分类值。 此外,它还可以处理具有缺失值的数据,这种数据会给其他分类方法(如朴素贝叶斯算法)造成困难。  

- 更加灵活:决策树可用于分类和回归任务,比其他一些算法更灵活。 它对属性之间的潜在关系也不敏感;这意味着,如果两个变量的相关性极高,那么该算法只会选择其中一个特征来拆分。 

缺点

- 容易过拟合:复杂的决策树往往会出现过拟合,并且不能很好地用于新数据。 这种情况可以通过预剪枝或后剪枝来避免。 预剪枝在数据不足时停止决策树的发展,而后剪枝在决策树形成后删除数据不足的子树。 

-预估器方差高: 数据中的微小变化会产生非常不同的决策树。 Bagging算法或估计值的平均值可以降低决策树方差。 然而,这种方法使用起来有限,会产生高度相关的预测器。  

- 成本更高:决策树在构建过程中采用贪心搜索方法,其训练成本会高于其他算法。 

- 在 scikit-learn 中无法得到完全支持:   Scikit-learn 是一个常用的基于 Python 的机器学习库。 虽然 scikit-learn 库有决策树模块(DecisionTreeClassifier),但当前的实现不支持分类变量。

决策树与 IBM

IBM SPSS Modeler 一组数据挖掘工具,允许用户开发预测模型以将其部署至业务运营中。 IBM SPSS Modeler 围绕行业标准 CRISP-DM 模型进行设计,支持从数据处理到实现更好的业务成果的整个数据挖掘过程。

IBM SPSS Decision Trees 拥有可视化分类和决策树功能,帮助您向非技术受众展示分类结果和更清晰地解释分析过程。 创建分类模型,用于分段、分层、预测、数据缩减和变量筛选。

要了解 IBM 的数据挖掘工具和解决方案的更多信息,请立即注册 IBMid 并创建 IBM Cloud 帐户。

相关解决方案
IBM SPSS Modeler

IBM SPSS Modeler 是一组数据挖掘工具,允许用户开发预测模型以将其部署至业务运营中。 IBM SPSS Modeler 围绕行业标准 CRISP-DM 模型进行设计,支持从数据处理到实现更好的业务成果的整个数据挖掘过程。

探索 IBM SPSS Modeler
IBM SPSS Decision Trees

IBM SPSS Decision Trees 拥有可视化分类和决策树功能,帮助您向非技术受众展示分类结果和更清晰地解释分析过程。 创建分类模型,用于分段、分层、预测、数据缩减和变量筛选。

探索 IBM SPSS Decision Trees
资源 IBM SPSS 软件

借助 IBM SPSS 软件的高级统计分析功能,寻找商机、提高效率并最大限度降低风险。

IBM SPSS Statistics 用例

了解各行各业的专家如何使用 IBM SPSS Statistics 。 基于他们的洞察进行学习,将其用于自身领域,取得更好的成果。

了解有关 IBM 的数据挖掘解决方案的更多信息

要了解 IBM 的数据挖掘工具和解决方案的更多信息,请立即注册 IBMid 并创建 IBM Cloud 帐户。

创建帐户

What is a Decision Tree?

Learn the pros and cons of using decision trees for data mining and knowledge discovery tasks.

AI and Data Storage Accelerated Computing Illustration

Decision Trees

A decision tree is a non-parametric supervised learning algorithm, which is utilized for both classification and regression tasks. It has a hierarchical, tree structure, which consists of a root node, branches, internal nodes and leaf nodes.

As you can see from the diagram above, a decision tree starts with a root node, which does not have any incoming branches. The outgoing branches from the root node then feed into the internal nodes, also known as decision nodes. Based on the available features, both node types conduct evaluations to form homogenous subsets, which are denoted by leaf nodes, or terminal nodes. The leaf nodes represent all the possible outcomes within the dataset. As an example, let’s imagine that you were trying to assess whether or not you should go surf, you may use the following decision rules to make a choice:

This type of flowchart structure also creates an easy to digest representation of decision-making, allowing different groups across an organization to better understand why a decision was made.

Decision tree learning employs a divide and conquer strategy by conducting a greedy search to identify the optimal split points within a tree. This process of splitting is then repeated in a top-down, recursive manner until all, or the majority of records have been classified under specific class labels. Whether or not all data points are classified as homogenous sets is largely dependent on the complexity of the decision tree. Smaller trees are more easily able to attain pure leaf nodes—i.e. data points in a single class. However, as a tree grows in size, it becomes increasingly difficult to maintain this purity, and it usually results in too little data falling within a given subtree. When this occurs, it is known as data fragmentation, and it can often lead to overfitting. As a result, decision trees have preference for small trees, which is consistent with the principle of parsimony in Occam’s Razor; that is, “entities should not be multiplied beyond necessity.” Said differently, decision trees should add complexity only if necessary, as the simplest explanation is often the best. To reduce complexity and prevent overfitting, pruning is usually employed; this is a process, which removes branches that split on features with low importance. The model’s fit can then be evaluated through the process of cross-validation. Another way that decision trees can maintain their accuracy is by forming an ensemble via a random forest algorithm; this classifier predicts more accurate results, particularly when the individual trees are uncorrelated with each other.


Types of Decision Trees

Hunt’s algorithm, which was developed in the 1960s to model human learning in Psychology, forms the foundation of many popular decision tree algorithms, such as the following: 

- ID3: Ross Quinlan is credited within the development of ID3, which is shorthand for “Iterative Dichotomiser 3.” This algorithm leverages entropy and information gain as metrics to evaluate candidate splits. Some of Quinlan’s research on this algorithm from 1986 can be found here (PDF, 1.3 MB) (link resides outside of ibm.com).

- C4.5: This algorithm is considered a later iteration of ID3, which was also developed by Quinlan. It can use information gain or gain ratios to evaluate split points within the decision trees. 

- CART: The term, CART, is an abbreviation for “classification and regression trees” and was introduced by Leo Breiman. This algorithm typically utilizes Gini impurity to identify the ideal attribute to split on. Gini impurity measures how often a randomly chosen attribute is misclassified. When evaluating using Gini impurity, a lower value is more ideal. 


How to choose the best attribute at each node

While there are multiple ways to select the best attribute at each node, two methods, information gain and Gini impurity, act as popular splitting criterion for decision tree models. They help to evaluate the quality of each test condition and how well it will be able to classify samples into a class.  

Entropy and Information Gain

It’s difficult to explain information gain without first discussing entropy. Entropy is a concept that stems from information theory, which measures the impurity of the sample values. It is defined with by the following formula, where: 

  • S represents the data set that entropy is calculated 
  • c represents the classes in set, S
  • p(c) represents the proportion of data points that belong to class c to the number of total data points in set, S

Entropy values can fall between 0 and 1. If all samples in data set, S, belong to one class, then entropy will equal zero. If half of the samples are classified as one class and the other half are in another class, entropy will be at its highest at 1. In order to select the best feature to split on and find the optimal decision tree, the attribute with the smallest amount of entropy should be used. Information gain represents the difference in entropy before and after a split on a given attribute. The attribute with the highest information gain will produce the best split as it’s doing the best job at classifying the training data according to its target classification. Information gain is usually represented with the following formula, where: 

  • a represents a specific attribute or class label
  • Entropy(S) is the entropy of dataset, S
  • |Sv|/ |S| represents the proportion of the values in Sv to the number of values in dataset, S
  • Entropy(Sv) is the entropy of dataset, Sv

Let’s walk through an example to solidify these concepts. Imagine that we have the following arbitrary dataset:

For this dataset, the entropy is 0.94. This can be calculated by finding the proportion of days where “Play Tennis” is “Yes”, which is 9/14, and the proportion of days where “Play Tennis” is “No”, which is 5/14. Then, these values can be plugged into the entropy formula above.

Entropy (Tennis) = -(9/14) log2(9/14) – (5/14) log2 (5/14) = 0.94

We can then compute the information gain for each of the attributes individually. For example, the information gain for the attribute, “Humidity” would be the following:

Gain (Tennis, Humidity) = (0.94)-(7/14)*(0.985) – (7/14)*(0.592) = 0.151

 

As a recap,

- 7/14 represents the proportion of values where humidity equals “high” to the total number of humidity values. In this case, the number of values where humidity equals “high” is the same as the number of values where humidity equals “normal”.

- 0.985 is the entropy when Humidity = “high”

- 0.59 is the entropy when Humidity = “normal”

Then, repeat the calculation for information gain for each attribute in the table above, and select the attribute with the highest information gain to be the first split point in the decision tree. In this case, outlook produces the highest information gain. From there, the process is repeated for each subtree. 

Gini Impurity 

Gini impurity is the probability of incorrectly classifying random data point in the dataset if it were labeled based on the class distribution of the dataset. Similar to entropy, if set, S, is pure—i.e. belonging to one class) then, its impurity is zero. This is denoted by the following formula: 


Advantages and disadvantages of Decision Trees

While decision trees can be used in a variety of use cases, other algorithms typically outperform decision tree algorithms. That said, decision trees are particularly useful for data mining and knowledge discovery tasks. Let’s explore the key benefits and challenges of utilizing decision trees more below:

Advantages

- Easy to interpret: The Boolean logic and visual representations of decision trees make them easier to understand and consume. The hierarchical nature of a decision tree also makes it easy to see which attributes are most important, which isn’t always clear with other algorithms, like neural networks.

- Little to no data preparation required: Decision trees have a number of characteristics, which make it more flexible than other classifiers. It can handle various data types—i.e. discrete or continuous values, and continuous values can be converted into categorical values through the use of thresholds. Additionally, it can also handle values with missing values, which can be problematic for other classifiers, like Naïve Bayes.  

- More flexible: Decision trees can be leveraged for both classification and regression tasks, making it more flexible than some other algorithms. It’s also insensitive to underlying relationships between attributes; this means that if two variables are highly correlated, the algorithm will only choose one of the features to split on. 

Disadvantages

- Prone to overfitting: Complex decision trees tend to overfit and do not generalize well to new data. This scenario can be avoided through the processes of pre-pruning or post-pruning. Pre-pruning halts tree growth when there is insufficient data while post-pruning removes subtrees with inadequate data after tree construction. 

- High variance estimators: Small variations within data can produce a very different decision tree. Bagging, or the averaging of estimates, can be a method of reducing variance of decision trees. However, this approach is limited as it can lead to highly correlated predictors.  

- More costly: Given that decision trees take a greedy search approach during construction, they can be more expensive to train compared to other algorithms. 

- Not fully supported in scikit-learn:  Scikit-learn is a popular machine learning library based in Python. While this library does have a Decision Tree module (DecisionTreeClassifier, link resides outside of ibm.com), the current implementation does not support categorical variables.


Decision Trees and IBM

IBM SPSS Modeler is a data mining tool that allows you to develop predictive models to deploy them into business operations. Designed around the industry-standard CRISP-DM model, IBM SPSS Modeler supports the entire data mining process, from data processing to better business outcomes.

IBM SPSS Decision Trees features visual classification and decision trees to help you present categorical results and more clearly explain analysis to non-technical audiences. Create classification models for segmentation, stratification, prediction, data reduction and variable screening.

For more information on IBM's data mining tools and solutions, sign up for an IBMid and create an IBM Cloud account today.


Related solutions

IBM SPSS Modeler 

IBM SPSS Modeler is a data mining tool that allows you to develop predictive models to deploy them into business operations. Designed around the industry-standard CRISP-DM model, IBM SPSS Modeler supports the entire data mining process, from data processing to better business outcomes.


IBM SPSS Decision Trees 

IBM SPSS Decision Trees features visual classification and decision trees to help you present categorical results and more clearly explain analysis to non-technical audiences. Create classification models for segmentation, stratification, prediction, data reduction and variable screening.



Learn more about IBM's data mining solutions

For more information on IBM's data mining tools and solutions, sign up for an IBMid and create an IBM Cloud account today.