什么是AI偏见?
深入了解IBM ® watsonx.governance
眼睛望向观众的特写镜头

撰稿人詹姆斯-霍兹沃斯

日期:12/22/23

什么是AI偏见?

AI偏差,也称为机器学习偏差或算法偏差,是指由于人为偏差而导致原始训练数据或AI 算法发生 偏差 ,导致结果出现偏差,从而导致输出失真和潜在有害的结果。

当AI偏见得不到解决时,它可能会影响组织的成功并阻碍人们参与经济和社会的能力。 偏差会降低AI的准确性,从而降低其潜力。

企业不太可能从产生扭曲结果的系统中获益。 AI偏见引发的丑闻可能会加剧有色人种、女性、残疾人、LGBTQ 群体或其他边缘群体之间的不信任。

AI工作所基于的模型吸收了社会的偏见,这些偏见可以悄悄地嵌入到他们接受训练的海量数据中。 反映社会不平等的历史偏见数据收集可能会在招聘、治安、信用评分等许多用例中对历史上被边缘化的群体造成伤害。 据《华尔街日报》报道,“随着人工智能的使用变得更加广泛,企业仍在努力解决普遍存在的偏见。” 1

浏览 IBM ® watsonx.governance

加速负责任、透明且可解释的AI工作流程。

相关内容

订阅 IBM 时事通讯

真实世界的例子和风险

当AI因偏见而犯错时——例如一群人被剥夺了机会、在照片中被错误识别或受到不公平的惩罚——违规组织的品牌和声誉就会受到损害。 与此同时,这些群体中的人和整个社会可能会在不知不觉中体验到伤害。 以下是一些引人注目的例子,说明AI领域的差异和偏见及其可能造成的危害。

在医疗保健领域,女性或少数群体的数据代表性不足可能会影响预测AI算法。 2 例如,人们发现计算机辅助诊断 (CAD) 系统为非裔美国患者返回的准确度结果低于白人患者。

虽然AI工具可以在搜索过程中简化简历扫描的自动化,以帮助识别理想的候选人,但所请求的信息和筛选出的答案可能会导致不同群体的结果不成比例。 例如,如果一则招聘广告使用了 "忍者 "一词,它可能会吸引更多的男性而不是女性,尽管这绝不是工作要求

作为图像生成的测试,彭博社要求创建 5000 多张AI图像,结果发现,“稳定扩散的世界是由白人男性首席执行官统治的。 妇女很少成为医生、律师或法官。 皮肤黝黑的男人会犯罪,而皮肤黝黑的女人则会做汉堡 "4Midjourney 对AI艺术生成进行了类似的研究,要求提供专业人士的图像。 结果显示,年轻人和老年人都有,但老年人总是男性,这加剧了女性在工作场所角色的性别偏见。 5

刑事司法系统中的一些组织使用人工智能驱动的预测警务工具,旨在识别可能发生犯罪的区域。 然而,这些数据往往依赖于历史逮捕数据,这可能会强化现有的种族貌相模式和过多地针对少数群体社区的做法

偏见的来源

扭曲的结果可能会损害组织和整个社会。 以下是一些较常见的AI偏见类型7

  • 算法偏差:如果问题或提出的问题不完全正确或不具体,或者机器学习算法的反馈无助于指导解决方案的搜索,则可能会产生错误信息。

  • 认知偏差: AI科技需要人类的输入,而人类是容易犯错的。 个人偏见会在从业者不知不觉中渗透进来。 这可能会影响数据集或模型行为。

  • 确认偏差:与认知偏差密切相关,当AI过于依赖数据中预先存在的信念或趋势时,就会发生这种情况——加倍现有的偏差,并且无法识别新的模式或趋势。

  • 排除偏差:这种类型的偏差发生在所使用的数据中遗漏了重要数据的时候,通常是因为开发人员没有发现新的重要因素。

  • 测量偏差:测量偏差是由不完整的数据造成的。 这通常是由于疏忽或缺乏准备而导致数据集中的结果不包括应考虑的全部人口。 例如,如果一所大学想预测成功毕业的因素,但只包括毕业生,那么答案就会完全忽略导致一些人辍学的因素。

  • 群体外同质性偏见:这是一种 "知其然不知其所以然 "的情况。 人们倾向于对内群体成员(一个人所属的群体)有更好的了解,并Think他们比外群体成员更加多样化。 结果可能是开发人员创建的算法不太能够区分训练数据中不属于多数群体的个体,从而导致种族偏见、错误分类和错误答案。

  • 偏见:当刻板印象和错误的社会假设进入算法的数据集中时就会发生,这不可避免地会导致有偏见的结果。 例如, AI可以返回结果,显示只有男性是医生,所有护士都是女性。

  • 回忆偏差:这是在数据标注过程中产生的,即通过主观观察应用的标签不一致。

  • 样本/选择偏差:当用于训练机器学习模型的数据不够大、不够代表性或太不完整而无法充分训练系统时,就会出现问题。 如果所有接受培训人工智能模型的学校教师都具有相同的学术资格,那么任何未来考虑的教师都需要具有相同的学术资格。

  • 刻板印象偏见:当AI系统(通常是无意中)强化有害的刻板印象时,就会发生这种情况。 例如,语言翻译系统可以将某些语言与某些性别或种族定型观念联系起来。 麦肯锡对试图消除数据集中的偏见提出了警告:“一种幼稚的Approach是从数据中删除受保护的类别(例如性别或种族),并删除使算法产生偏见的标签。 然而,这种Approach可能行不通,因为删除标签可能会影响对模型的理解,并且结果的准确性可能会变差。” 8

避免偏见的原则

避免偏见陷阱的第一步就是从一开始就退后一步,对AI工作进行一些思考。 与几乎所有业务挑战一样,预先修复问题比等待培训失败然后对损坏的结果进行排序要容易得多。 但许多组织都急于求成:因小失大,这让他们付出了代价。

识别和解决AI中的偏见需要AI治理,或者指导、管理和监控组织的AI活动的能力。 在实践中, AI治理创建了一套政策、实践和框架来指导AI科技的负责任的开发和使用。 如果做得好, AI治理有助于确保企业、客户、员工和整个社会的利益达到平衡。

AI治理通常包括旨在评估公平性、公平性和包容性的方法。 反事实公平等方法可以识别模型决策中的偏见,并确保公平的结果,即使包括性别、种族或性取向等敏感属性。

由于AI的复杂性,算法可能是一个黑匣子系统,对用于创建它的数据几乎没有深入分析。 透明度实践和科技有助于确保使用公正的数据来构建系统,并且结果将是公平的。 致力于保护客户信息的公司建立品牌信任,并且更有可能创建值得信赖的人工智能系统。

为了提供另一层质量保证,可以建立一个 "人在回路中 "系统,提供选择或提出建议,然后由人工决策批准。

如何避免偏见

以下是六个流程步骤的清单,可以使AI程序免受偏见的影响。

1. 选择正确的学习模式:

  • 使用监督模型时,利益相关者选择训练数据。 关键/重要的是,利益相关者团队必须是多元化的——不仅仅是数据科学家——而且他们接受过有助于防止无意识偏见的培训。
  • 无监督模型仅使用AI来识别偏差。 需要将偏见预防工具内置到神经网络中,以便它学会识别什么是偏见。

2. 使用正确数据进行培训:使用错误数据训练的机器学习会产生错误的结果。 无论输入AI的数据都应该完整且平衡,以复制所考虑群体的实际人口统计数据。

3. 选择平衡的团队: AI团队的多样性(种族、经济、教育水平、性别和职位描述)越多样化,它就越有可能认识到偏见。 一个全面的AI团队的人才和观点应该包括AI业务创新者、 AI创造者、 AI实施者以及特定AI工作的消费者代表。 9

4. 谨慎地进行数据处理:企业在处理数据时需要意识到每一步的偏见。 风险不仅仅存在于数据选择中:无论是在预处理、处理中还是处理后,偏差都可能随时出现并被输入到AI中。

5. 持续监控:没有一种模式是完整或永久的。 使用整个组织的真实数据进行持续监控和测试可以帮助在偏见造成伤害之前发现并纠正偏见。 为了进一步避免偏见,组织应考虑由组织内部的独立团队或受信任的第三方进行评估。

6. 避免基础设施问题:除了人为和数据的影响,有时基础设施本身也会造成偏差。 例如,使用从机械传感器收集的数据,如果传感器发生故障,设备本身可能会注入偏差。 这种偏见可能很难发现,需要对最新的数字和技术基础设施进行投资。

相关解决方案
IBM AI解决方案

在整个企业中实施AI以快速、合乎道德的方式提供优势。 我们丰富的企业级AI产品和分析解决方案组合旨在减少AI采用的障碍并建立正确的数据基础,同时优化结果和负责任的使用。

深入了解AI解决方案
Master Data Management

通过提供整个企业中实体数据和关系的全面视图,推动更快的洞察分析 Data Fabric Data Fabric 架构

深入了解数据管理工具

资源 AI中的信任、透明度和治理

本期AI学院,深入了解<asset name>包括AI幻觉、偏见和风险等问题,并了解如何应用AI道德和治理来建立信任。

通过AI治理构建负责任的人工智能工作流程

在此电子书中了解有关负责任、透明和可解释工作流程的AI治理的更多信息。

用现实世界的例子揭示AI偏见

随着公司越来越多地使用AI ,人们开始质疑人类偏见在多大程度上进入了AI系统。

采取后续步骤

开始您的治理战略并成为第一批尝试 watsonx.governance 的人。预计将于 12 月全面上市。

深入了解IBM ® watsonx.governance
脚注

1 《华尔街日报》: AI的崛起让算法偏见成为焦点

2 博思艾伦咨询公司:医疗保健中的人工智能偏见

3 LinkedIn:减少AI偏见——人力资源领导者指南

4 彭博社人类是有偏见的。 生成式AI更糟糕

5 美国对话:年龄歧视、性别歧视、阶级歧视等等—— AI生成图像中存在偏见的 7 个例子

6 科技评论:预测性警务仍然存在种族主义——无论它使用什么数据

7 技术目标:机器学习偏差( AI偏差)
查普曼大学AI中心: AI的偏见
AIMultiple: AI中的偏见——它是什么、类型、示例以及 2023 年修复它的 6 种方法

8 麦肯锡:解决人工智能(和人类)中的偏见问题

9 福布斯:人工智能存在偏见的问题(以及如何让AI变得更好)

What is AI bias?
Explore IBM's AI bias solution Subscribe for AI updates
Illustration with collage of pictograms of clouds, pie chart, graph pictograms

Contributor: James Holdsworth

Date: 12/22/23

What is AI bias?

AI bias, also called machine learning bias or algorithm bias, refers to the occurrence of biased results due to human biases that skew the original training data or AI algorithm—leading to distorted outputs and potentially harmful outcomes.

When AI bias goes unaddressed, it can impact an organization’s success and hinder people’s ability to participate in the economy and society. Bias reduces AI’s accuracy, and therefore its potential.

Businesses are less likely to benefit from systems that produce distorted results. And scandals resulting from AI bias could foster mistrust among people of color, women, people with disabilities, the LGBTQ community, or other marginalized groups.

The models upon which AI efforts are based absorb the biases of society that can be quietly embedded in the mountains of data they're trained on. Historically biased data collection that reflects societal inequity can result in harm to historically marginalized groups in use cases including hiring, policing, credit scoring and many others.  According to The Wall Street Journal, “As use of artificial intelligence becomes more widespread, businesses are still struggling to address pervasive bias.”1

Generative AI and ML for the enterprise

Learn key benefits of generative AI and how organizations can incorporate generative AI and machine learning into their business.

Related content

Register for the ebook on AI data stores

Real-world examples and risks 

When AI makes a mistake due to bias—such as groups of people denied opportunities, misidentified in photos or punished unfairly—the offending organization suffers damage to its brand and reputation. At the same time, the people in those groups and society as a whole can experience harm without even realizing it. Here are a few high-profile examples of disparities and bias in AI and the harm they can cause.

In healthcare, underrepresenting data of women or minority groups can skew predictive AI algorithms.2 For example, computer-aided diagnosis (CAD) systems have been found to return lower accuracy results for African-American patients than white patients.

While AI tools can streamline the automation of resume scanning during a search to help identify ideal candidates, the information requested and answers screened out can result in disproportionate outcomes across groups. For example, if a job ad uses the word “ninja,” it might attract more men than women, even though that is in no way a job requirement.3   

As a test of image generation, Bloomberg requested more than 5,000 AI images be created and found that, “The world according to Stable Diffusion is run by white male CEOs. Women are rarely doctors, lawyers or judges. Men with dark skin commit crimes, while women with dark skin flip burgers.”4  Midjourney conducted a similar study of AI art generation, requesting images of people in specialized professions. The result showed both younger and older people, but the older people were always men, reinforcing gender bias of the role of women in the workplace.5 

AI-powered predictive policing tools used by some organizations in the criminal justice system are supposed to identify areas where crime is likely to occur. However, they often rely on historical arrest data, which can reinforce existing patterns of racial profiling and disproportionate targeting of minority communities.6

Sources of bias 

Distorted results can harm organizations and society at large. Here are a few of the more common types of AI bias7

  • Algorithm bias: Misinformation can result if the problem or question asked is not fully correct or specific, or if the feedback to the machine learning algorithm does not help guide the search for a solution. 

  • Cognitive bias: AI technology requires human input, and humans are fallible. Personal bias can seep in without practitioners even realizing it. This can impact either the dataset or model behavior. 
     

  • Confirmation bias: Closely related to cognitive bias, this happens when AI relies too much on pre-existing beliefs or trends in the data—doubling-down on existing biases, and unable to identify new patterns or trends. 
     

  • Exclusion bias: This type of bias occurs when important data is left out of the data being used, often because the developer has failed to see new and important factors. 
     

  • Measurement bias: Measurement bias is caused by incomplete data. This is most often an oversight or lack of preparation that results in the dataset not including the whole population that should be considered. For example, if a college wanted to predict the factors to successful graduation, but included only graduates, the answers would completely miss the factors that cause some to drop out. 
     

  • Out-group homogeneity bias: This is a case of not knowing what one doesn’t know. There is a tendency for people to have a better understanding of ingroup members—the group one belongs to—and to think they are more diverse than outgroup members. The result can be developers creating algorithms that are less capable of distinguishing between individuals who are not part of the majority group in the training data, leading to racial bias, misclassification and incorrect answers. 

  • Prejudice bias: Occurs when stereotypes and faulty societal assumptions find their way into the algorithm’s dataset, which inevitably leads to biased results. For example, AI could return results showing that only males are doctors and all nurses are female. 
     

  • Recall bias: This develops during data labeling, where labels are inconsistently applied by subjective observations.  
     

  • Sample/Selection bias: This is a problem when the data used to train the machine learning model isn't large enough, not representative enough or is too incomplete to sufficiently train the system. If all school teachers consulted to train an AI model have the same academic qualifications, then any future teachers considered would need to have identical academic qualifications. 
     

  • Stereotyping bias: This happens when an AI system—usually inadvertently—reinforces harmful stereotypes. For example, a language translation system could associate some languages with certain genders or ethnic stereotypes. McKinsey gives a word of warning about trying to remove prejudice from datasets: “A naive approach is removing protected classes (such as sex or race) from data and deleting the labels that make the algorithm biased. Yet, this approach may not work because removed labels may affect the understanding of the model and your results’ accuracy may get worse.”8

Principles for avoiding bias 

The first step in avoiding the bias trap is just to step back at the beginning and give an AI effort some thought. As is true with almost any business challenge, problems are much easier to fix up-front rather than waiting for the train wreck and then sorting through the damaged result. But many organizations are in a rush: penny-wise-and-pound-foolish, and it costs them. 

Identifying and addressing bias in AI requires AI governance, or the ability to direct, manage and monitor the AI activities of an organization. In practice, AI governance creates a set of policies, practices and frameworks to guide the responsible development and use of AI technologies. When done well, AI governance helps to ensure that there is a balance of benefits bestowed upon businesses, customers, employees and society as a whole.

AI governance often includes methods that aim to assess fairness, equity and inclusion. Approaches such as counterfactual fairness identifies bias in a model’s decision making and ensures equitable results, even when sensitive attributes, such as gender, race or sexual orientation are included.

 Because of the complexity of AI, an algorithm can be a black box system with little insight into the data used to create it. Transparency practices and technologies help ensure that unbiased data is used to build the system and that results will be fair. Companies that work to protect customers’ information build brand trust and are more likely to create trustworthy AI systems.

To provide another layer of quality assurance, institute a “human-in-the-loop” system to offer options or make recommendations that can then be approved by human decisions.

How to avoid bias

Here’s a checklist of six process steps that can keep AI programs free of bias.

1.  Select the correct learning model:

  • When using a supervised model, stakeholders select the training data. It’s critical that the stakeholder team be diverse—not just data scientists— and that they have had training to help prevent unconscious bias.  
  • Unsupervised models use AI alone to identify bias. Bias prevention tools need to be built into the neural network so that it learns to recognize what is biased.

2.  Train with the right data: Machine learning trained on the wrong data will produce wrong results. Whatever data is fed into the AI should be complete and balanced to replicate the actual demographics of the group being considered.     

3.  Choose a balanced team: The more varied the AI team—racially, economically, by educational level, by gender and by job description—the more likely it will recognize bias. The talents and viewpoints on a well-rounded AI team should include AI business innovators, AI creators, AI implementers, and a representation of the consumers of this particular AI effort.9  

4.  Perform data processing mindfully: Businesses need to be aware of bias at each step when processing data. The risk is not just in data selection: whether during pre-processing, in-processing or post-processing, bias can creep in at any point and be fed into the AI.  

5.  Continually monitor: No model is ever complete or permanent. Ongoing monitoring and testing with real-world data from across an organization can help detect and correct bias before it causes harm. To further avoid bias, organizations should consider assessments by an independent team from within the organization or a trusted third-party.  

6.  Avoid infrastructural issues: Aside from human and data influences, sometimes infrastructure itself can cause bias. For example, using data collected from mechanical sensors, the equipment itself could inject bias if the sensors are malfunctioning. This kind of bias can be difficult to detect and requires investment in the latest digital and technological infrastructures.

Related solutions
IBM AI solutions

Operationalize AI across your business to deliver benefits quickly and ethically. Our rich portfolio of business-grade AI products and analytics solutions are designed to reduce the hurdles of AI adoption and establish the right data foundation while optimizing for outcomes and responsible use.

Explore AI solutions
Master data management

Drive faster insights by delivering a comprehensive view of an entity’s data and relationships across the enterprise data fabric

Explore data management tools

Resources Trust, transparency and governance in AI

In this episode of AI Academy, explore issues including AI hallucination, bias and risk, and learn how applying AI ethics and governance builds trust.

Build responsible AI workflows with AI governance

Learn more about AI governance for responsible, transparent, and explainable workflows in this eBook.

Shedding light on AI bias with real world examples

As companies increase their use of AI, people are questioning the extent to which human biases have made their way into AI systems.

Take the next step

Accelerate responsible, transparent and explainable AI workflows across the lifecycle for both generative and machine learning models. Direct, manage, and monitor your organization’s AI activities to better manage growing AI regulations and detect and mitigate risk.

Explore watsonx.governance Book a live demo
Footnotes

1 The Wall Street Journal: Rise of AI Puts Spotlight on Bias in Algorithms

2  Booz Allen Hamilton: Artificial Intelligence Bias in Healthcare

3  LinkedIn:  Reducing AI Bias — A Guide for HR Leaders

4  Bloomberg: Humans Are Biased. Generative AI Is Even Worse

5  The Conversation US: Ageism, sexism, classism and more — 7 examples of bias in AI-generated images

6  Technology Review:  Predictive policing is still racist—whatever data it uses

7  Tech Target: Machine learning bias (AI bias)
     Chapman University AI Hub: Bias in AI    
     AIMultiple: Bias in AI —What it is, Types, Examples & 6 Ways to Fix it in 2023

8  McKinsey: Tackling bias in artificial intelligence (and in humans)

9  Forbes:  The Problem With Biased AIs (and How To Make AI Better)