什么是供应链管理?

供应链管理负责处理商品或服务的整个生产流程 - 从原始组件一直到将最终产品交付给消费者。 为了完成此任务,公司将创建一个供应商网络(链中的“链接”),用于将产品从原材料供应商移交到直接与用户打交道的组织。

供应链管理如何运作?

根据 CIO¹ 的说法,传统供应链管理系统包含五个组成部分:

规划

规划和管理满足客户对公司产品或服务的需求所需的所有资源。 建立供应链后,确定度量标准以衡量供应链是否高效、有效、能为客户带来价值并实现公司目标。

采购

选择能提供创建产品所需的商品和服务的供应商。 然后,建立用于监视和管理供应商关系的流程。 关键流程包括: 订购、接收、管理库存和授权供应商付款。

制造业

组织接收原材料、制造产品、检验质量、打包运输和安排交货所需的活动。

交货与物流

协调客户订单、安排 交货、分派货物、给客户开票和接收付款。

退货

创建用于收回有缺陷、过剩或不需要产品的网络或流程。


供应链管理为何很重要?

有效的供应链管理系统可最大程度地减少生产周期中的成本、浪费和时间。 即时供应链已成为一种行业标准,其中零售销售员可自动向制造商发出补货订单。 因此,零售货架几乎可以与产品售出一样快地进行补货。 进一步改进此流程的一种方法是分析来自供应链合作伙伴的数据,了解可以在哪里进行进一步改进。

通过分析合作伙伴数据,CIO.com 帖子¹ 确定了有效供应链管理可增加供应链周期价值的三种情况:

  • 识别潜在问题。当客户订购的产品数量超出制造商的交货能力时,买方可能会抱怨服务质量差。 通过数据分析,制造商可能可以在买家感到失望之前预测缺货情况。
  • 动态优化价格。季节性产品的货架期有限。 在当季结束时,这些产品通常会报废或以很大的折扣出售。 航空公司、酒店和其他易变质的“产品”通常会动态调整价格以满足需求。 根据分析软件的分析结果显示,即使是耐用商品,类似的预测技术也可以提高利润率。
  • 改进“可用量承诺”库存的分配。分析软件工具可根据销售预测、实际订单和原材料的承诺交付量来动态分配资源并安排工作。 制造商可以在客户下订单时确认产品交货日期,从而大大减少了错误填写的订单。

有效供应链管理的主要特性

供应链是面向客户和消费者的最明显的业务“面” 一家公司若能够更好更有效地进行供应链管理,就能更好地保护其商业声誉和长期可持续性。

在 IDC 的 Simon Ellis 在打造思考型供应链的必由之路²  (The Path to a Thinking Supply Chain) 一文中通过确定未来有效供应链管理的五个“C”来定义什么是供应链管理:

  • 互联互通:能够访问社交媒体中的非结构化数据、物联网 (IoT) 中的结构化数据,以及通过传统 ERP 和 B2B 集成工具提供的更多传统数据集。
  • 协作性:越来越多地改善与供应商的协作意味着使用基于云的商业网络来支持多企业协作和互动。
  • 网络感知:供应链必须加强自己的系统,防止网络入侵和黑客攻击,这应该是企业普遍关注的问题。
  • 认知技术支持:人工智能平台通过对整个供应链的决策和行动进行整理、协调和执行,成为现代供应链的控制塔。 供应链的大部分是自动化的并且具备自学习能力。
  • 全面:分析功能必须用实时数据进行扩展。 获得全面、快速的洞察。 在未来的供应链中,延迟是不可接受的。

许多供应链已经开始这样做,以空前的积极性参与基于云的商业网络,从而增强了分析功能。


供应链管理的演变

过去的供应链关注的是实体资产的可用性、流动和成本,而当今的供应链则关注对解决方案中捆绑的数据、服务和产品的管理。 现代供应链管理系统关注的不仅仅是位置时间。 供应链管理会影响产品和服务的质量、交货速度、成本、客户体验和盈利能力。

在 2017 年,一个典型的供应链访问的数据量是 5 年前的 50 倍。¹ 然而,这些数据中仅有不到四分之一得到分析。 这意味着关键的时间敏感型数据(例如,与天气、突发性劳动力短缺、政治动荡和需求小爆发相关的信息)可能会失去价值。

现代供应链会利用由链过程生成且由分析专家和数据研究员整理的海量数据。 未来的供应链领导者及其管理的企业资源规划 (ERP) 系统可能会专注于优化这些数据的实用性 - 以最小的延迟实时分析这些数据。

供应链管理用例

Chemonics

Chemonics 和 IBM 共同创建了一个称为“Automatic Requisition Tracking Management Information System”( ARTMIS) 的一流平台。

ARTMIS 平台可帮助跟踪供应链各个环节的出货量。 这样,Chemonics 便可以管理长达 24 个月的订单。

BASF

BASF 希望将数字化作为其业务不可或缺的一部分,从而为客户创造额外的价值、发展业务并提高效率。 通过与 IBM 合作,该公司的营养与健康部门利用 IBM® Watson™ 技术进行了概念验证 (PoC),探索 AI 和机器学习技术如何支持更明智的库存决策,从而帮助确保产品在正确的时间到达正确的位置。

Farger Connect

了解 Farmer Connect 和 IBM Food Trust™ 如何利用区块链将咖啡种植者与消费者联系在一起。


供应链咨询

供应链咨询

借助 IBM 服务,您可以将供应链流程转变为智能工作流程,从而获得更高的响应能力和创新水平。 挑战攻克孤立流程以提高效率,使团队能够执行和交付,以及使用 AI 和区块链等新兴技术释放价值链各个环节(包括需求规划、订单编排和订单履行)中的机会。

探索供应链主题

供应链控制塔

供应链控制塔应提供整个供应链的端到端可见性,尤其是对不可预见的外部事件的可见性。

订单管理

跟踪从开始到履行的订单,并管理在订单的整个生命周期内与订单相关的人员、流程和数据。

库存管理

清晰地呈现库存交易,可以对从原材料到制成品的整个过程(包括订购、存储和使用库存)产生积极影响。

电子数据交换

EDI 是一种标准格式,可以通过电子方式(而不是使用纸质文档)在两个组织之间交换业务信息。

供应链分析

能够影响质量、交货速度、客户体验和盈利能力的分析功能。

供应链优化

供应链优化充分利用了区块链、人工智能和物联网等技术和资源,因此可以提高供应网络的效率和性能。

区块链供应链

利用 IBM Blockchain 的业务和技术专业知识,增进整个供应链网络的信任。

B2B 集成

企业到企业 (B2B) 集成是对业务流程以及两个或更多个组织之间的通信进行自动化的过程。

管理文件传输

管理文件传输 (MFT) 是一种技术平台,组织可使用此平台在系统与人员之间安全可靠地交换电子数据以满足合规性需求。

供应链管理资源

博客: IBM Supply Chain

有关构建自我纠正型智能供应链的洞察。

博客: IBM Blockchain

有关构建可自我纠正的智能区块链供应链的洞察。

供应链解决方案

构建富有弹性的智慧供应链,在面临中断时能够轻松调整。 随着客户需求的变化,智慧的供应链可以进行扩展以满足新的需求。 智慧的供应链更加可靠,能够在您与客户之间建立信任。

IBM 解决方案

订单管理

通过订单管理软件,您可以使用强大的核心功能和下一级选项来编排整个履行网络。

供应链透明度

了解为什么 80 万贸易合作伙伴信任 IBM 凭借市场领先的 AI 和区块链功能建立的合作伙伴网络连接。

供应链可视性

IBM Sterling Supply Chain Insights 是一种 AI 支持的解决方案,可通过快速关联系统孤岛中的数据,捕获组织知识和创建数字行动方案,提供实时情报来优化供应链的运行。

面向食品的区块链

加入由生产商、供应商、制造商、零售商和其他机构组成的生态系统,为所有人建立一个更智能、更安全、可持续性更强的食品体系。

零售供应链

优化零售供应链,能够响应任何规模的趋势。

制造供应链

工业 4.0 挖掘隐藏的数据,转变供应链的规划和运营模式。 履行承诺,降低成本。

来源

¹什么是供应链管理 (SCM)?,Bart Perkins & Thomas Wailgum,CIO,2017 年 8 月 27 日 (ibm.com 外部链接)
²通往思考型供应链的必由之路 (1.5 MB),Simon Ellis & John Santagate,IDC Technology Spotlight,2018 年 8 月

What is supply chain management?

Supply chain management is the handling of the entire production flow of a good or service — starting from the raw components all the way to delivering the final product to the consumer. A company creates a network of suppliers (“links” in the chain) that move the product along from the suppliers of raw materials to those organizations that deal directly with users.

How does supply chain management work?

According to CIO¹, there are five components of traditional supply chain management systems:

Planning

Plan and manage all resources required to meet customer demand for a company’s product or service. When the supply chain is established, determine metrics to measure whether the supply chain is efficient, effective, delivers value to customers and meets company goals.

Sourcing

Choose suppliers to provide the goods and services needed to create the product. Then, establish processes to monitor and manage supplier relationships. Key processes include: ordering, receiving, managing inventory and authorizing supplier payments.

Manufacturing

Organize the activities required to accept raw materials, manufacture the product, test for quality, package for shipping and schedule for delivery.

Delivery and Logistics

Coordinate customer orders, schedule deliveries, dispatch loads, invoice customers and receive payments.

Returning

Create a network or process to take back defective, excess or unwanted products.


Why is supply chain management important?

Effective supply chain management systems minimize cost, waste and time in the production cycle. The industry standard has become a just-in-time supply chain where retail sales automatically signal replenishment orders to manufacturers. Retail shelves can then be restocked almost as quickly as product is sold. One way to further improve on this process is to analyze the data from supply chain partners to see where further improvements can be made.

By analyzing partner data, the CIO.com post¹ identifies three scenarios where effective supply chain management increases value to the supply chain cycle:

  • Identifying potential problems. When a customer orders more product than the manufacturer can deliver, the buyer can complain of poor service. Through data analysis, manufacturers may be able to anticipate the shortage before the buyer is disappointed.
  • Optimizing price dynamically. Seasonal products have a limited shelf life. At the end of the season, these products are typically scrapped or sold at deep discounts. Airlines, hotels and others with perishable “products” typically adjust prices dynamically to meet demand. By using analytic software, similar forecasting techniques can improve margins, even for hard goods.
  • Improving the allocation of “available to promise” inventory. Analytical software tools help to dynamically allocate resources and schedule work based on the sales forecast, actual orders and promised delivery of raw materials. Manufacturers can confirm a product delivery date when the order is placed significantly reducing incorrectly-filled orders.

Key features of effective supply chain management

The supply chain is the most obvious “face” of the business for customers and consumers. The better and more effective a company’s supply chain management is, the better it protects its business reputation and long-term sustainability.

IDC’s Simon Ellis in The Path to a Thinking Supply Chain² defines what is supply chain management by identifying the five “Cs” of the effective supply chain management of the future:

  • Connected: Being able to access unstructured data from social media, structured data from the Internet of Things (IoT) and more traditional data sets available through traditional ERP and B2B integration tools.
  • Collaborative: Improving collaboration with suppliers increasingly means the use of cloud-based commerce networks to enable multi-enterprise collaboration and engagement.
  • Cyber-aware: The supply chain must harden its systems and protect them from cyber-intrusions and hacks, which should be an enterprise-wide concern.
  • Cognitively enabled: The AI platform becomes the modern supply chain's control tower by collating, coordinating and conducting decisions and actions across the chain. Most of the supply chain is automated and self-learning.
  • Comprehensive: Analytics capabilities must be scaled with data in real time. Insights will be comprehensive and fast. Latency is unacceptable in the supply chain of the future.

Many supply chains have begun this process, with participation in cloud-based commerce networks at an all-time high and major efforts underway to bolster analytics capabilities.


Evolution of supply chain management

While yesterday’s supply chains were focused on the availability, movement and cost of physical assets, today’s supply chains are about the management of data, services and products bundled into solutions. Modern supply chain management systems are about much more than just where and when. Supply chain management affects product and service quality, delivery, costs, customer experience and ultimately, profitability.

As recently as 2017, a typical supply chain accessed 50 times more data than just five years earlier.¹ However, less than a quarter of this data is being analyzed. That means the value of critical, time-sensitive data — such as information about weather, sudden labor shortages, political unrest and microbursts in demand — can be lost.

Modern supply chains take advantage of massive amounts of data generated by the chain process and are curated by analytical experts and data scientists. Future supply chain leaders and the Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) systems they manage will likely focus on optimizing the usefulness of this data — analyzing it in real time with minimal latency.

Supply chain management use cases

Chemonics

Chemonics and IBM co-created a first-of-its-kind platform called Automatic Requisition Tracking Management Information System (ARTMIS).

The ARTMIS platform helps track shipments at every step of the supply chain. This has allowed Chemonics to manage orders up to 24 months out.

BASF

BASF wanted to make digitalization an integral part of its business to create additional value for customers, grow the business and improve efficiency. Working with IBM, the company’s Nutrition and Health division conducted a proof of concept (PoC) with IBM® Watson™ technology to explore how AI and machine learning can support smarter inventory decisions, helping to ensure that products arrive in the right place at the right time.

Farmer Connect

Learn how Farmer Connect and IBM Food Trust™ are connecting coffee growers and consumers with blockchain.


Supply chain consulting

Supply chain consulting

With IBM Services, you can evolve your supply chain processes into intelligent workflows, to reach new levels of responsiveness and innovation. Challenge siloed processes to uncover efficiencies, enable your teams to execute and deliver, and use emerging technologies like AI and blockchain to unlock opportunities in every step of the value chain — from demand planning to order orchestration and fulfilment.

Explore supply chain topics

Supply chain control tower

A supply chain control tower should provide end-to-end visibility across the supply chain — particularly into unforeseen external events.

Order management

The tracking of orders from inception to fulfillment and managing the people, processes and data connected to the order as it moves through its lifecycle.

Inventory management

Clear visibility into inventory transactions can positively impact the entire process of ordering, storing and using inventory — from raw materials to finished product.

Electronic data interchange

EDI is a standard format to exchange business information between two organizations electronically instead of using paper documents.

Supply chain analytics

Analytics that can affect quality, delivery, the customer experience — and ultimately, profitability.

Supply chain optimization

Supply chain optimization makes the best use of technology and resources like blockchain, AI and IoT to improve efficiency and performance in a supply network.

Blockchain supply chain

Enhance trust across your supply chain network with the business and technical expertise of IBM Blockchain.

B2B integration

Business-to-business (B2B) integration is the automation of business processes and communication between two or more organizations.

Managed file transfer

Managed file transfer (MFT) is a technology platform that allows organizations to reliably exchange electronic data between systems and people in a secure way to meet compliance needs.

Supply chain management resources

Blog: IBM Supply Chain

Insights on building an intelligent, self-correcting supply chain.

Blog: IBM Blockchain

Insights on building an intelligent, self-correcting blockchain supply chain.

Supply chain solutions

Built to be resilient, smarter supply chains adapt when facing disruptions. Smarter supply chains can scale to meet new demands as customer needs change. Smarter supply chains are more reliable and designed to build trust between you and your customers.

IBM solutions

Order management

Order management software lets you orchestrate your entire fulfillment network with powerful core capabilities and next-level options.

Supply chain transparency

Find out why 800,000 trading partners trust IBM for partner network connectivity with market-leading AI and blockchain capabilities.

Supply chain visibility

IBM Sterling Supply Chain Insights is an AI-enabled solution that delivers real-time intelligence to optimize supply chain performance by quickly correlating data from siloed systems, capturing organizational knowledge and creating digital playbooks.

Blockchain for food

Join an ecosystem of producers, suppliers, manufacturers, retailers and others creating a smarter, safer and more sustainable food system for all.

Supply chain for retail

Optimize your retail supply chain with the ability to respond to trends at any scale.

Container logistics

Transform your container logistics by freeing it from traditional data systems, manual document handling and poor visibility.

¹ What is supply chain management (SCM)? (link resides outside ibm.com), Bart Perkins & Thomas Wailgum, CIO, 27 August 2017
² The Path to a Thinking Supply Chain (PDF, 1.5 MB), Simon Ellis & John Santagate, IDC Technology Spotlight, August 2018