什么是供应商管理?

对供应商和交易伙伴进行识别、资格认定、引入、交易和协作的流程

Container ship in import export and business logistic,By crane,Trade Port, Shipping cargo to harbor

供应商管理如何运作?

今天的供应链构成了供应商和交易伙伴的庞大、复杂的生态系统,其中的每一个成员都会在向市场交付货物和服务的过程中带来价值。 全球企业往往依赖数万甚至数十万个供应商。 公司实现一个供应商关系管理流程来管理这组庞大的合作伙伴关系。 供应商管理是支持公司对适合其业务的供应商进行识别、资格认定、引入、交易和协作的流程集合。


为什么供应商管理十分重要?

对于参与产品交付业务的公司,成功依赖于获得、保留供应商并与之有效配合工作的能力,从而满足客户对按时足额交付优质产品的期望。 公司多达 50% 的价值可能依赖于其 供应商关系 (PDF, 1.5 MB) 强大程度。

但是,随着供应链成为全球性的网络之网络,供应商管理流程也变得日益复杂、费时又费钱。 对手动纸质流程的严重依赖,以及数字事件和表单填写的双重录入,加剧了这些挑战,从而减慢执行速度,造成人为错误,并阻碍敏捷性。

这些困难又遇上动荡的时代,更是雪上加霜。 最近的事件突显了公司与其合作伙伴和供应商之间持续关系的关键重要性,以及这些关系对于在供应链中维护敏捷性和弹性的基础作用。

供应链领导者通过加大投入来对供应商管理流程进行数字化和现代化,从而应对这些挑战。 这样可带来许多优势,包含增强的供应商验证、改进的引入流程和更强大的生命周期跟踪。 结果:更有效的供应链关系管理。


有效供应商管理的优势

提高供应链敏捷性

通过对新供应商快速进行识别、资格认定、引入和管理,更快地响应意外市场事件、新业务需求和新兴战略联盟。

实现成本节约

通过实现无摩擦的供应商连接和协作,推动更高水平的效率和生产力并降低成本。

降低供应链风险

通过消除交易盲点并实现多方可见性以最大限度减少供应商纠纷,从而缓解风险,哪怕是在危机时期。


有效供应商管理的主要特性

供应商协作

企业买方和一个或更多供应商之间交换的数字交易和人工互动,它们共同努力来交付用于为最终客户生产成品的原料、部件或耗材。

供应商引入

供应商关系管理流程,涉及发现和验证供应商,与这些供应商全面互联互通,提供与相关企业系统的连接并实现商家到商家的交易。

供应商关系管理

采购和供应链活动,涉及构筑与供应商之间的互利关系,包括管理与第三方公司的互动,并针对各种类型的供应商关系(例如,“非亲密的正常关系”)制定策略。

供应商生命周期管理

大多数供应商管理活动,包括选择和雇用供应商、引入这些供应商、管理和执行合同、管理支付、处理终止,等等。

供应商信息管理

基于从企业的供应商收到的广泛通信,收集、维护和应用这些供应商的相关数据的流程。


供应商管理的未来如何?

供应商管理的未来是一种完全数字化的体验,通过多企业供应链业务网络、与战略性供应商的直接连接以及为复杂供应链流程专门构建的区块链来提供。

供应商管理将继续在数字化、信任、透明度和情报基础上进行构建,以提高数据质量,确保信息即时性并优化流程。 它将:

  • 进一步延伸 以将更多参与者包含到商家到商家的交易流程中,支持运营商积极参与解决交付中断,并支持认证机构及其他合作伙伴更快验证供应商的财务和法律状况。 

  • 提供广泛可信的数据 ,这些数据为政府机构所接受,可减少审计工作,简化商家到商家和商家到政府的采购,并确保符合贸易和海关法规。 从解决争议和完成重复文书工作中节省下来的时间,现在可以用在其他地方,产生更多战略效果。

  • 变得更智慧 ,因为人工智能会继续自我学习,并随着时间推移使用更多数据构建知识。 企业可以打磨为每个唯一供应链和供应商关系精准制定建议和次优操作的能力,然后自信地应用人工智能以扩展人工能力,并自动启动恢复流程,缓解对业务和客户的影响。

  • 创造新的价值 ,充分利用生态系统各个成员开发的新功能。 这些功能不仅带来战略和运营绩效优势,还可以商业化。

  • 实现更深入的可见性 ,查看更上游的供应商,确定优化供应链运营以及在动荡时代进行管理的方法。 如今,估计有 40% 的供应链中断发生在 2 至 10 级供应商之间,但大多数供应链专业人士主要只与他们的 1 级供应商协作。

供应商管理案例研究

Home Depot

零售商 Home Depot 采用区块链提供实时、多方可见性,可清楚了解发货和收货流程,减少供货商纠纷并加强供应商关系。

Southwire

Southwire 依赖于全球业务网络来扩展其本地货运合作伙伴网络,将处理发票的速度提高了 40%,并加强了供应商关系。

Li & Fung

供应链公司 Li & Fung Limited 在单个平台上整合了 15,000 家供应商和成千上万个客户,以便在中国的光棍节处理每小时 150 万笔的交易峰值。


相关解决方案

供应链协作

了解 800,000 个交易伙伴信任 IBM 的合作伙伴网络连接的原因。

供应商管理

发现跨行业的供应商信息源如何加快供应商引入和生命周期管理过程。

端到端交易可视性

利用 AI 和区块链照亮 B2B 交易盲点,实现从订购到交付的实时共享可视性。

What is supplier management?

Processes for identifying, qualifying, onboarding, transacting and collaborating with suppliers and trading partners

How does supplier management work?

Today’s supply chains constitute a large, complex ecosystem of suppliers and trading partners, each of them adding value as they deliver goods and services to the marketplace. Global enterprises often rely on tens of thousands or even hundreds of thousands of suppliers. Companies implement a supplier relationship management process to manage this vast array of partnerships. Supplier management is the collection of processes that enables a company to identify, qualify, onboard, transact and collaborate with the right suppliers for their business.


Why is supplier management important?

For companies in the product-delivery business, success depends on the ability to acquire, retain and effectively work with suppliers to meet customer expectations for quality products — delivered on time and in full. As much as 50% of a company’s value can depend on its supplier relationship (PDF, 1.5 MB) strength.

But as supply chains have become global networks of networks, supplier management processes have grown increasingly complex, time-consuming and costly. A strong dependence on manual, paper-based processes, as well as double entry of digital events and form filling has exacerbated these challenges — slowing execution, enabling human error and hindering agility.

These difficulties are greatly compounded by turbulent times. Recent events have spotlighted the critical importance of the ongoing relationships between a company and its partnerships and suppliers, and how essential those relationships are to maintaining agility and resiliency within supply chains.

Supply chain leaders have responded to these challenges by increasing their commitment to digitizing and modernizing supplier management processes. The numerous benefits include enhanced supplier verification, improved onboarding and stronger lifecycle tracking. Result: more effective supply chain relationship management.


Benefits of effective supplier management

Increase supply chain agility

Respond faster to unexpected marketplace events, new business needs and emerging strategic alliances with the ability to quickly identify, qualify, onboard and manage new suppliers.

Achieve cost savings

Drive new levels of efficiency and productivity — and reduce costs — by enabling frictionless supplier connectivity and collaboration.

Reduce supply chain risk

Mitigate risk — even in times of crisis — by eliminating transaction blind spots and enabling multi-party visibility to minimize vendor disputes.


Key features of effective supplier management

Supplier collaboration

The digital transactions and human interactions exchanged between an enterprise buyer and one or more suppliers as they jointly work to deliver the raw materials, parts or supplies used to produce a finished product for end customers.

Supplier onboarding

Supplier relationship management processes associated with discovering and validating suppliers, becoming interconnected with those suppliers, providing connectivity with relevant enterprise systems and enabling B2B transactions.

Supplier relationship management

Procurement and supply chain activities related to building mutually-beneficial relationships with suppliers, including managing interactions with third-party companies and developing strategies for various types of supplier relationships (for example, an “arms length relationship”).

Supplier lifecycle management

Most supplier management activities, including selecting and hiring suppliers, onboarding those suppliers, managing and enforcing contracts, administering payments, handling terminations, and more.

Supplier information management

The process of collecting, maintaining and applying data related to a business’s suppliers, based on extensive communication received from those suppliers.


What’s the future of supplier management?

The future of supplier management is a fully digital experience delivered through multi-enterprise supply chain business networks, direct connections with strategic suppliers, and purpose-built blockchains for complex supply chain processes.

Supplier management will continue to build on digitization, trust, transparency and intelligence to improve data quality, ensure information immediacy and optimize processes. It will:

  • Extend even further to include more participants in the B2B transactional processes, enabling carriers to be active participants in resolving delivery disruptions, and certifiers and other partners to more quickly validate the financial and legal status of suppliers. 

  • Deliver widely trusted data accepted by government agencies to reduce audits, simplify B2B and B2G procurement, and ensure compliance with trade and customs regulations. Time saved resolving disputes and completing repetitive paperwork can now be spent more strategically.

  • Become even smarter as AI continues to self-learn and build knowledge over time with more data. Honing the ability to pinpoint recommendations and next-best actions for each unique supply chain and supplier relationship, organizations can then confidently apply AI to extend human capabilities and automatically initiate recovery processes to mitigate impacts to the business and customers.

  • Create new value through new capabilities developed with members of the ecosystem. These capabilities not only deliver strategic and operational performance benefits, but can also be commercialized.

  • Enable deeper visibility into further upstream suppliers to identify ways to optimize supply chain operations and manage during times of change. Today, an estimated 40% of supply chain disruptions occur among Tier 2 to Tier 10 suppliers, yet most supply chain professionals collaborate primarily with only their Tier 1 suppliers.

Supplier management case studies

Home Depot

Retailer Home Depot uses blockchain to provide real-time, multi-party visibility into shipping and receiving processes, reducing vendor disputes and strengthening supplier relationships.

Southwire

Southwire relies on a global business network to expand its network of local freight partners, process invoices 40% faster and strengthen supplier relationships.

Li & Fung

Supply chain company Li & Fung Limited integrates with 15,000 suppliers and thousands of customers on a single platform in order to handle transaction peaks of 1.5 million per hour on China’s Singles’ Day.


Related solutions

Supply Chain Collaboration

Find out why 800,000 trading partners trust IBM for partner network connectivity.

Supplier management

Discover how a cross-industry source of supplier information accelerates supplier onboarding and lifecycle management.

End-to-end transaction visibility

Illuminate B2B transaction blind spots with AI and blockchain to get real-time shared visibility, from order through delivery.