什么是电子数据交换?

电子数据交换 (EDI) 是指以标准格式进行公司间业务文档交流。通过使用 EDI,信息可以直接从一个组织中的计算机应用移到另一个组织的计算机应用中。¹ EDI 标准规定了哪些信息可以通过 EDI 文档或消息格式传输到哪些目的地,无需手动重新加密即可接受这些信息。这种自动化能力有助于快速共享信息,而不像共享纸质文档或其他方法那样需要小时数、数天甚至数周。

企业可使用 EDI 集成并共享一系列文档类型,包括采购单、发票、询价单和贷款申请等。在大多数情况下,这些组织是贸易伙伴,他们作为供应链和企业到企业 (B2B) 网络的成员,频繁交易货物和服务。

EDI 概述

所有 EDI 事务都由 EDI 消息标准定义。必须实施行之有效的监管流程,以确保数据质量。如果缺少信息,或者信息处于错误的位置,可能无法正确处理 EDI 文档。

标准是 EDI 对话的基础。²有几个组织负责定义 EDI 消息标准,包括 ODETTE、TRADACOMS、GS1、PEPPOL 和公认标准委员会 X12 (ASC X12)。

通常,EDI 传输可以分为两种基本类型:

  • 点到点连接,也叫直接连接。两台计算机或系统通过互联网,在没有中介的情况下连接,通常使用安全协议。
  • 增值网络 (VAN)。第三方网络管理数据传输,通常使用邮箱范例。

EDI 互联网传输协议包括安全文件传输协议 (SFTP)、适用性声明 2(AS2,一种基于 HTTPS 的协议)、简单对象访问协议 (SOAP),等等。

EDI 数据由发送方 ID 和接收方 ID 等数据元素构成。数据段组合了两个或更多相关元素以赋予更多含义,例如,FNAME 和 LNAME 可以组合形成 CUSTOMERNAME。包络构成不同类型的数据,并包含发送方和接收方地址信息。

EDI 文档流或消息流描述了 EDI 消息在各种入站和出站地址和部门之间的移动情况,以执行业务流程或事务。³

为什么 EDI 非常重要

这个世界的运转离不开 EDI 这种全球性的基础 B2B 技术。作为在 B2B 事务流程中交换文档的首选方法,它成为一种主流方法,得到了全球各地企业的广泛采用。

作为一种自动化技术,EDI 可以带来许多核心业务效益:

  • 节省时间和金钱。自动执行先前使用纸质文档的人工流程。
  • 提高效率和生产力。能够在更少的时间内共享和处理更多的业务文档。
  • 减少错误。EDI 严格的标准化有助于确保信息和数据在进入业务流程或应用之前进行正确的格式处理。
  • 改进可追溯性和报告功能。电子文档可与一系列 IT 系统集成,以支持数据收集、可视性和分析。
  • 支持打造积极的客户体验。有助于实现高效的事务执行以及迅捷可靠的产品和服务交付。

EDI 对于各种规模的企业都很重要。对于大型企业而言,EDI 支持在贸易伙伴之间建立标准,以持续实现效益。对于小型企业而言,遵循 EDI 有助于促进与拥有较大预算、影响力比较大的大型企业整合。

可扩展标记语言 (XML) 等元语言、JavaScript 对象表示法 (JSON) 和应用编程接口 (API) 集成可以对 EDI 起到有益补充作用,而不是用于取代 EDI。企业必须准备好应对数量不断增加的文档格式和传输选项。一家全球制造商日常要与将近 2000 个合作伙伴交流 55 种不同类型的文档。

高效的 EDI

对于某些企业而言,EDI 可能实施起来比较困难。其中一个原因,就是需要跟上不断变化的政府法规、标准和更新的步伐。EDI 本身也很复杂,因为它需要考虑到全球业务需求的复杂性。例如,B2B 网络中的每个贸易伙伴都可以提出独特的需求。即使两个合作伙伴可能同意使用特定类型的 EDI 文档,但每个合作伙伴都可能具有需要支持的独特的格式处理需求。这些因素和其他因素导致许多组织将 EDI 外包出去。

无论是内部处理还是外包,要高效实施 EDI,都需要某些基本的条件、能力和资源。除了就文档类型、安全传输方法以及必备硬件和软件等显而易见的因素达成一致意见外,高效的 EDI 实施还应考虑:

  • 转换或映射软件。获取名称、地址、货币金额、部件号和数量等字段,并将其从业务应用格式映射到标准化的文档,反之亦然。
  • 批量封包或解包功能。支持大量 EDI 消息的批处理,使发件人和接收方能够打包解包事务,可以根据贸易伙伴企业中的多个部门或领域对事务进行组合或拆分。
  • 消息路由机制。当消息解包后,需要针对不同分组对消息进行排序,然后将其发送到相应的目标。可能还需要进行消息转换,以将消息转换为适合目标的格式。
  • 贸易伙伴协议 (TPA)。阐明条款和条件,确立业务文档的标准,并定义贸易伙伴之间的通信和业务协议。

EDI 的未来

请考虑以下场景。今天,通过使用 EDI 214 文档(承运方装运状态消息)触发了与货物损坏相关的退款。装运的材料已无法使用或不可销售。退款最有可能引发争议。

但在未来的供应链中,EDI 将成为核心文档交换能力,支持诸如物联网 (IoT)、区块链和人工智能 (AI) 等创新。⁴ 未来的 EDI 将使用:

  • IoT 传感器。整合到装运货物的包装中,与定期的 EDI 214 消息关联,可以接近实时地反映包装状况。
  • 区块链技术。装运的基本 EDI 信息流可提供共同的事实版本,帮助快速解决问题,甚至避免产生退款纠纷。
  • AI 客服。监控与装运关联的所有相关事件和信息,发现不合规的事件,确定是否需要重新发货,分析最高效的更换货源,启动新的装运和授权退货。

来源

¹ “电子数据交换 (EDI):简介”,Roger Clark 著,Business Credit,2001 年 10 月

² “电子数据交换”,Wikipedia

³ “EDI和 B2B 基础知识”, Sriniedibasics,2011 年 8 月 20 日

⁴ “EDI 的未来:IBM 观点”,IBM Watson Supply Chain,2018 年 10 月 (PDF, 1 MB)

What is electronic data interchange?

Electronic data interchange (EDI) is the intercompany communication of business documents in a standard format. With EDI, the information moves directly from a computer application in one organization to an application in another.¹ EDI standards, which specify what information goes where in an EDI document or message, eliminate the need to manually rekey information so that it can be accepted. This automated capability enables information to be shared rapidly, instead of the hours, days or weeks required with paper documents or other methods.

Businesses use EDI to integrate and share a range of document types — from purchase orders to invoices to requests for quotations to loan applications and more. In most instances, these organizations are trading partners that exchange goods and services frequently as part of their supply chains and business-to-business (B2B) networks.

An overview of EDI

All EDI transactions are defined by EDI message standards. It is important to have good governance processes for data quality. When information is missing or in the wrong place, the EDI document might not be processed correctly.

Standards are the basis of EDI conversations.² There are several organizations that define the EDI message standards, including ODETTE, TRADACOMS, GS1, PEPPOL and the Accredited Standards Committee X12 (ASC X12).

In general, EDI transmissions can be broken down into two basic types:

  • Point-to-point or direct connections. Two computers or systems connect with no intermediary over the internet, generally with secure protocols.
  • Value-added network (VAN). A third-party network manages data transmission, generally with a mail boxing paradigm.

EDI internet transmission protocols include Secure File Transfer Protocol (SFTP), Applicability Statement 2 or AS2, an HTTPS-based protocol, Simple Object Access Protocol (SOAP) and others.

EDI data is made up of data elements such as sender ID and receiver ID. Data segments combine two or more related elements to give them greater meaning, FNAME and LNAME can combine to form CUSTOMERNAME for example. Envelopes structure different types of data and carry the sender and receiver address information.

EDI document flow or message flow describes the movement of EDI messages to various inbound and outbound addresses and departments to execute a business process or transaction.³

Why EDI is important

The world as we know it runs on and depends on EDI, a global, foundational B2B technology. It has gained mainstream adoption throughout businesses worldwide as the preferred means to exchange documents in the B2B transaction process.

As an automation technology, EDI delivers core business benefits:

  • Saves time and money. Automates a process previously manually executed with paper documents.
  • Improves efficiency and productivity. More business documents are shared and processed in less time.
  • Reduces errors. EDI’s rigid standardization helps ensure that information and data is correctly formatted before it enters business processes or applications.
  • Improves traceability and reporting. Electronic documents can be integrated with a range of IT systems to support data collection, visibility and analysis.
  • Supports positive customer experiences. Enables efficient transaction execution and prompt, reliable product and service delivery.

EDI is important to both large and small businesses. For large organizations, EDI enables standards to be instituted across trading partners to consistently achieve benefits. For smaller organizations, adherence to EDI offers greater integration with larger firms that have big budgets and strong influence.

Metalanguages like Extensible Markup Language (XML) or JavaScript Object Notation (JSON), and application programming interface (API) integration complement, rather than replace EDI. Companies must be ready to handle an ever-increasing number of document formats and transmission options. One global manufacturer routinely exchanges about 55 different document types with nearly 2,000 partners.

Effective EDI

For some enterprises, EDI can be difficult to implement. One reason is the need to keep pace with shifting government regulations, standards and updates. It is also inherently complex, as it needs to accommodate the complexities of global business needs. For example, each trading partner in a B2B network can present unique requirements. Even though two partners may agree on which EDI document to use, each can have unique formatting requirements that need to be supported. These factors, and others, have led many organizations to outsource their EDI.

Whether kept in-house or outsourced, there are some basic conditions, capabilities and resources needed to implement EDI effectively. In addition to obvious factors like agreement on document types, secure transmission methods, and requisite hardware and software, an effective EDI implementation should consider:

  • Translation or mapping software. Takes fields such as names, addresses, currency amounts, part numbers and quantities, and maps them from business application formats into standardized documents and vice versa.
  • Batch enveloping or deenveloping capabilities. Supports large EDI message batches to enable senders and receivers to wrap and unwrap transactions which can then be grouped from or split to several divisions or areas of a trading partner’s business.
  • Message routing mechanisms. Required once a message is deenveloped to sort messages for different groups and deliver them to the appropriate targets. Message transformation may also be required to get the message into the correct format for its destination.
  • Trading partner agreements (TPA). Clarifies terms and conditions, establishes standards for business documents and defines communications and business protocols between trading partners.

The future of EDI

Consider this scenario. Today, a chargeback related to a damaged shipment is triggered using an EDI 214 document — a Transportation Carrier Shipment Status Message. The material in the shipment is unusable or unsaleable. Disputes will most likely arise based on the chargeback.

But in future supply chains, EDI will be the core document exchange capability to support innovations like the Internet of Things (IoT), blockchain and artificial intelligence (AI).⁴ Future EDI will use:

  • IoT sensors. Incorporated into the shipment’s packaging and tied to periodic EDI 214 messages to improve package condition visibility in near real time.
  • Blockchain technology. Underpinning EDI information flows for shipments can offer a shared version of the truth to help quickly resolve and even avoid chargeback disputes.
  • AI agent. Monitors all relevant events and information connected to the shipment, and can identify a non-compliant event, determine if a reshipment is required, analyze the most efficient source of replacement, initiate a new shipment and an authorized return.

Source

¹ “Electronic data interchange (EDI): An introduction,” Roger Clark, Business Credit, Oct 2001

² “Electronic data interchanges,” Wikipedia

³ “EDI and B2B basics,” Sriniedibasics, 20 Aug 2011

⁴ “The future of EDI: An IBM point-of-view,” IBM Watson Supply Chain, Oct 2018. (PDF, 1 MB)