什么是智慧农业?
探索 IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite 开始 30 天免费试用
显示生长叶片、线图和滑块的插图

发布日期:2023 年 12 月 10 日
撰稿人:Alice Gomstyn、Alexandra Jonker

什么是智慧农业?

智慧农业,也称为智能农业,是采用先进技术和数据驱动的农场运营,来优化和提高农业生产的可持续性。智能农业使用的技术包括人工智能 (AI)、自动化物联网 (Iot)。

尽管新技术和新工具早已成为农场管理和粮食生产不可或缺的一部分,但如今开发和采用智能农业技术的动力来自于紧要关切的问题。其中最主要的是粮食安全:根据国际货币基金组织的数据,到 2050 年,粮食产量必须增加 70%,才能跟上全球人口增长的步伐。1

气候变化加剧了粮食安全问题,它损害了农作物产量,并危及灌溉用水等自然资源的可用性。除了要应对这些问题,农业部门还面临着成本上升、商品价格波动和监管要求不断提高带来的盈利挑战。

“通过智慧农业,我们可以更好地适应气候变化带来的不确定性,减轻环境影响,提高农业生产的抗灾能力。”

— 国际标准化组织 (ISO) 2

IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite:农业

将智能农业技术与准确的农业预测相结合。

相关内容

可持续农业带来的好处以及我们如何实现可持续发展目标

CIO 是可持续发展战略和计划的促成者
农业实践和技术的演变

早期的农业实践主要利用人力、牲畜和简单工具。农业技术的一些显著进步包括:1701 年发明了播种机,提高了播种效率;19 世纪引入了蒸汽牵引发动机,为谷物脱粒提供动力;20 世纪初引入了燃气拖拉机。

农业机械的出现大大减少了农业生产所需的手工劳动,而收集和分析数据的能力则有助于农民优化作物和牲畜生产。这种“精准农业”也被称为“精准耕作”,其历史至少可以追溯到 20 世纪 80 年代初,是一项由“精准农业之父” Pierre Robert 博士主持开展的工作。Robert 博士研究了土壤的可变性,提出了田地的不同部分需要不同水平的营养物质才能获得最佳作物产量的观点。Robert 的研究为农业系统中变量田间管理的发展铺平了道路。3

20 世纪 90 年代,随着数字作物产量监测仪的发明以及基于卫星的全球定位系统 (GPS) 的越来越多的使用,农业企业使用的技术再次发生了飞跃。将产量监测数据与全球定位系统测绘相结合,就能绘制产量图,在作物收获时实时提供有关作物特点和质量的重要信息。后来,全球定位系统推动了农业技术的另一项重大进步:自动化。自动驾驶拖拉机诞生于 2000 年代初农用设备公司 John Deere 与美国国家航空航天局 (NASA) 的一次合作。

 

在捍卫粮食安全的斗争中,不可或缺的措施是为小规模农业生产者赋能

小农户生产的粮食约占世界粮食供应量的三分之一。

相关内容

IBM 和德克萨斯州农工大学农学院为有需要的农民提供数据、技术和专业知识

当今的智能农业技术

当今的现代农业解决方案由先进技术驱动,这些技术正在彻底改变大小农业企业的农业生产。

信息和通信技术 (ICT)

根据美国商务部国家标准与技术研究所的定义,信息和通信技术包括数据和信息的采集、存储、检索、处理、显示、表示、呈现、组织、管理、安全、传输和交换。收集从土壤含量到天气条件等各方面的数据已成为智能农业的一个重要方面,而信息和通信技术正在帮助农民组织和传输这些数据。

物联网 (IoT)

物联网 (IoT) 是指由实体设备、车辆、电器和其他实体对象组成的网络,这些实体对象内嵌传感器、软件和网络连接,可以收集和共享数据。在智能农业方面,联网的 IoT 设备包括多种 IoT 传感器(也称为“智能传感器”),如用于作物监测、牲畜跟踪和农用设备状况观测等的传感器。配备激光雷达的无人驾驶飞行器 (UAV) 或无人机也可通过遥感技术收集农业数据。

人工智能 (AI) 和机器学习 (ML)

人工智能和机器学习可以帮助农民从 IoT 行动产生的“大数据”(大型、复杂的数据集)中获得见解。通过基于云的 AI 和机器学习解决方案进行数据分析和建模,可为决策和智能农业技术提供依据。例如,由机器学习支持的预测分析、天气数据集和农业预测模型可以帮助农业行业管理农业生产过程,包括作物生产、土地利用和供应链规划。

自动化和机器人技术

自动化和机器人技术在现代智能农业实践中占有重要地位。除了自动拖拉机外,农民还利用机器人完成播种、收割和修剪等任务。他们还可以部署无人机,虽然无人机通常用于数据收集,但利用它进行喷洒化肥和杀虫剂以及其他农业投入,比传统方法更加高效和精确。特别是,更精确和有限的肥料施用会对环境产生显著影响:肥料是温室气体排放的重要来源。

智慧农业在行动

农业部门和技术提供商可以利用智能农业技术和创新,帮助创造更美好的农业未来。以下是通过智能农业实现全球农场生产率优化的几个例子。

在美国德克萨斯州,与智能手机应用程序相连的传感器正在收集有关土壤状况(包括土壤湿度)的实时信息。该应用程序将这些信息与包括天气预报在内的其他数据相结合,进行人工智能分析,从而提出灌溉建议。这些建议被发送到农民的移动设备上,帮助他们有效地调配水资源,使受干旱和气候变化影响地区的作物生长得更好。

美国加利福尼亚州也非常重视水资源的高效利用,一家酒厂采用了基于云的解决方案,从天气预报、卫星图像以及传感器中获取信息,测量葡萄树的压力。对数据的分析会产生适合每棵葡萄树需求的浇水建议。该解决方案实施后,产量增加了 26%,同时用水量减少了 16%。

在哈萨克斯坦阿拉木图地区,占地五公顷的“智能温室”设施配备了物联网技术和人工智能。这些技术监控温室内的状况,并在必要时自动调整温度、光线、湿度和灌溉水平,为作物生长创造最佳环境。4

在英国,研究人员将传感器安装在奶牛场的牛身上,以跟踪它们的活动,包括所走的步数以及进食和躺卧的时间。由于更活跃的牛通常表现得更积极,这些信息可帮助牧场主确定是否有必要采取干预措施,即改变动物的环境以提高它们的满意度,这往往会提高产奶量。5

相关解决方案
IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite:农业

将智能农业技术与准确的农业预测相结合,帮助最大限度地减少干扰,最大限度地提高作物产量。

探索 IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite:农业

IBM Sterling Supply Chain Intelligence Suite:Food Trust

利用一款基于区块链的模块化解决方案,通过更安全、更智能、更可持续的食品生态系统,惠及所有网络参与者。

Explore IBM Sterling Supply Chain Intelligence Suite:Food Trust

TRIRIGA Application Suite - 智能资产管理和 IWMS

借助智能资产管理和集成工作场所管理系统 (IWMS),在整个生命周期中管理房地产组合。

探索 IBM TRIRIGA Application Suite:智能资产管理和 IWMS
资源 什么是物联网?

通过物联网,企业可以更高效、更可控地监控、管理和自动化运营。

为有需要的农民提供数据、技术和专业知识

IBM 和德克萨斯州农工大学农学院携手合作,帮助农民了解用水情况。

什么是地理空间数据?

了解地理空间数据及其用于预测和降低风险的益处。

什么是 LiDAR?

激光雷达是一种遥感技术,利用激光束精确测量环境中的距离和移动情况。

什么是数字化转型?

在市场需求和技术的推动下,数字化转型意味着采用数字化优先的客户、业务合作伙伴和员工体验。

CIO Insights:智能农业和食品供应链管理的未来

了解人工智能如何帮助农业创造更光明的未来。

采取后续步骤

IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite 是一个用于监测、预测和应对天气和气候影响的 SaaS 平台。它包括地理空间和天气数据 API 以及具有行业特定环境模型的可选附加组件,以便您的企业可以预测破坏性的环境条件、主动管理风险并建立更可持续的运营。

深入了解 Environmental Intelligence Suite 预约实时演示
脚注

¹“Helping Feed the World’s Fast-Growing Population.”(ibm.com 外部链接)国际货币基金组织博客,2017 年 1 月 31 日。

²“Smart farming: the transformative potential of data-driven agriculture. (ibm.com 外部链接)国际标准化组织。

³”The Evolution of Precision Agriculture and Policy Implications.” (ibm.com 外部链接)。美国农业局联合会,2023 年 8 月 23 日。

⁴”How a “smart” greenhouse helps Kazakh farmer grow vegetables all year round.” (ibm.com 外部链接)。联合国粮食及农业组织,2023 年 8 月 2 日。

Robocow: Sensors attached to cattle giving farmers a head start on keeping them happy.” (ibm.com 外部链接)。雅虎新闻。2023 年 8 月 14 日。

What is smart farming?
Explore IBM solutions for smart farming Subscribe to Sustainability Updates
Illustration showing growing leaves, line chart and slider

Published: 10 December 2023
Contributors: Alice Gomstyn, Alexandra Jonker

What is smart farming?

Smart farming, also known as smart agriculture, is the adoption of advanced technologies and data-driven farm operations to optimize and improve sustainability in agricultural production. Technologies used for smart farming include artifical intelligence (AI), automation and the Internet of Things (IoT).

While new technologies and tools have long been integral to farm management and food production, urgent concerns drive the development and adoption of smart farming technologies today. Chief among them is food security: food production must increase by 70% by 2050 to keep pace with global population growth, according to the International Monetary Fund.1

Climate change is making it harder to secure enough food. It reduces crop yields and endangers the availability of natural resources such as water for irrigation. In addition to climate issues, the agricultural sector also faces profitability challenges amid the rising costs of inputs like fertilizer, volatile commodity prices and increasing regulatory requirements.

“Through smart farming, we can better adapt to the uncertainties brought by climate change, mitigate environmental impacts and promote resilience in agricultural production.”

— The International Organization for Standardization2

Delve into our exclusive guide to the EU's CSRD

With ESG disclosures starting as early as 2025 for some companies, make sure that you're prepared with our guide.

Related content

Register for the ESG reporting guide

The evolution of agricultural practices and technologies

Early agricultural practices centered on the use of human labor, animals and simple tools. Some notable advancements in agricultural technology were the invention of the seed drill for more efficient planting in 1701, steam traction engines that powered grain threshing in the 1800s, and gas-powered tractors in the early 1900s.

The introduction of farm machinery greatly reduced the need for physical work in farming, while data collection and analysis allowed farmers to improve their crop and livestock outputs. This method, called precision agriculture or precision farming, began in the early 1980s with Dr. Pierre Robert, also known as "the father of precision agriculture". He studied how different areas of a field need various amounts of nutrients for the best crop growth. His work led to the creation of farming systems that apply different amounts of resources across a field.3

In the 1990s, agri-business technology advanced even further with the creation of the digital crop yield monitor and the growing use of satellite-based global positioning systems (GPS). By combining yield data with GPS, farmers could map their yields, giving them important information about crop characteristics and quality in real time during harvest. Later, GPS technology led to another big breakthrough: automation. The self-driving tractor emerged from a partnership between farm equipment company John Deere and NASA in the early 2000s.

 

The fight for food security must empower smallholder farmers

Smallholder farmers produce about one-third of the world's food supply.

Related content

Learn how IBM and Texas A&M AgriLife equip farmers in need

Today’s smart farming technologies

Advanced technologies that are revolutionizing agricultural production at various agri-businesses power today’s modern farming.

Information and communications technology

The US Department of Commerce’s National Institute of Standards and Technology defines information and communications technology (ICT) as the capture, storage, retrieval, processing, display, representation, presentation, organization, management, security, transfer and interchange of data and information. Data collection on everything from soil content to weather conditions has become a key facet of smart farming and ICT is helping farmers organize and transfer that data.

Internet of Things

IoT refers to a network of physical devices, vehicles, appliances and other physical objects that are embedded with sensors, software and network connectivity that allows them to collect data. In the case of smart farming, IoT devices include many kinds of IoT sensors, including sensors for monitoring crops, tracking livestock and observing the condition of farm equipment. Unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) or drones equipped with light detection and ranging (LiDAR) also collect agricultural data through remote sensing.

Artificial intelligence and machine learning

AI and machine learning (ML) can help farmers derive insights from the big data—large, complex data sets—stemming from IoT initiatives. Data analytics and modeling through cloud-based AI and ML tools can inform decision-making and smart farming techniques. For example, predictive analytics, weather data sets and agriculture forecasting models powered by ML can help the agricultural industry manage the production process, including crop production, land utilization and supply chain planning.

Automation and robotics

Automation and robotics figure prominently in modern smart farming practices. In addition to autonomous tractors, farmers use robots for tasks like seeding, harvesting and pruning. They can also deploy UAVs to spray fertilizer, pesticides and other agricultural inputs in a manner that can be more efficient and precise than traditional methods. The more precise and limited application of fertilizer, in particular, can have a notable environmental impact: fertilizer is a significant source of greenhouse gas emissions.

Smart farming in action

The agricultural sector and technology providers can help create a better future of agriculture with smart farming techniques and innovations. Here are just a few examples of farm productivity optimization around the world, due to smart farming:

Smart soil sensing for water optimization

In Texas, sensors linked to a smartphone app are gathering real-time information on soil conditions, including soil moisture. The app combines this information with other data, including weather forecasts, for an AI-powered analysis that results in watering recommendations. The app sends the recommendations to farmers' mobile devices to help them efficiently deploy water resources for better crop growth in areas affected by droughts and climate change.

Cloud-based irrigation for vine stress

In California, where efficient water use is also a major concern, a winery implemented a cloud-based tool that ingests information from weather forecasts, satellite imagery and sensors to measure vine stress. Analysis of the data yields watering recommendations tailored to the needs of each vine. Since putting the tool in place, yields have increased by 26% while reducing water usage by 16%.

AI-driven climate control in greenhouses

In Kazakhstan’s Almaty region, a five-hectare smart greenhouse facility is equipped with IoT technology and AI. These technologies monitor conditions within the greenhouses and automatically adjust temperatures, light, humidity and irrigation levels as necessary to create the optimal environment for crop growth.4

Monitoring animal behavior for improved dairy production

In the United Kingdom, researchers attached sensors to cattle at dairy farms to track their activity, including steps taken and time spent eating and lying down. Since more active cattle generally display more positive behavior, such information can help farmers determine whether interventions are necessary—namely, changing the animals’ environment to raise their contentment levels, which tend to improve milk yields.5

Related solutions
IBM® Environmental Intelligence Suite: Agriculture

Integrate smart farming technology with accurate agricultural forecasting to help minimize disruptions and maximize crop production.

Explore IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite: Agriculture

IBM Sterling® Supply Chain Intelligence Suite: IBM Food Trust®

Use a modular solution built on blockchain, benefiting all network participants with a safer, smarter and more sustainable food network.

Explore IBM Sterling Supply Chain Intelligence Suite: IBM Food Trust

IBM TRIRIGA® Application Suite: Intelligent asset management and IWMS

Manage real estate portfolios across their lifecycle with an intelligent asset management and integrated workplace management system (IWMS).

Explore IBM TRIRIGA Application Suite: Intelligent asset management and IWMS
Resources What is the Internet of Things?

IoT refers to a network of physical devices, vehicles, appliances and other physical objects that are embedded with sensors, software and network connectivity, allowing them to collect and share data.

IBM and Texas A&M AgriLife provide data, technology and expertise to farmers in need

IBM and Texas A&M AgriLife are working together to help farmers receive insights for water usage.

What is geospatial data?

Geospatial data is time-based data that is related to a specific location on the Earth’s surface. It can provide insights into relationships between variables and reveal patterns and trends.

What is LiDAR?

LiDAR is a remote-sensing technology that uses laser beams to measure precise distances and movement in an environment, in real time.

What is digital transformation?

Digital transformation takes a customer-driven, digital-first approach to all aspects of a business, including its business models, customer experiences, processes and operations.

The future of intelligent farming and food supply chain management

This CIO Insights white paper explores how IBM is helping the agriculture industry continue to feed the world through the power of data and AI.

Take the next step

IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite is a SaaS platform used to monitor, predict and respond to weather and climate impact. It includes geospatial and weather data APIs and optional add-ons with industry-specific environmental models—so your business can anticipate disruptive environmental conditions, proactively manage risk and build more sustainable operations.

Explore Environmental Intelligence Suite Book a live demo
Footnotes

¹“Helping Feed the World’s Fast-Growing Population” (link resides outside ibm.com), Rabah Arezki, IMF Blog, 31 January 2017.

²“Smart farming: the transformative potential of data-driven agriculture” (link resides outside ibm.com), ISO.

³“The Evolution of Precision Agriculture and Policy Implications” (link resides outside ibm.com), Bernt Nelson, American Farm Bureau Federation, 23 August 2023.

⁴“How a “smart” greenhouse helps Kazakh farmer grow vegetables all year round” (link resides outside ibm.com), Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, 2 August 2023.

Robocow: Sensors attached to cattle giving farmers a head start on keeping them happy” (link resides outside ibm.com), Yahoo News, 14 August 2023.