什么是地理空间数据?
地理空间数据是基于时间的数据,与地球表面之上的指定位置有关。 它可以洞察变量之间的关系,并揭示模式和趋势
了解地理空间数据如何保护野生动物和业务
Space background. 3D render
地理空间数据定义

地理空间数据是描述地球表面之上或接近地球表面的物体、事件或其他特征的信息。 地理空间数据一般将位置信息(通常是地球上的坐标)和属性信息(相关对象、事件或现象的特征)与时间信息(位置和属性存在的时间或寿命)结合起来。 所提供的位置短期内可能为静态(例如一件设备、地震事件、贫困儿童的位置),也可能为动态(例如移动的车辆或行人、传染病的传播)。

地理空间数据通常包括以不同的格式从不同的来源收集的大量空间数据集,其中有人口普查数据、卫星图像、天气数据、手机数据、所绘制图像和社交媒体数据等信息。 当地理空间数据可以发现、共享、分析并与传统的业务数据结合使用时,它发挥的作用最大。

地理空间分析用于向传统类型的数据添加时间和位置,构建数据可视化。 这些可视化可以包含地图、图表、统计数据和统计图,显示历史变化和当前变化。 所附加的上下文支持对事件进行更完整的描述。 大量电子表格中可能被忽视的洞察在易于识别的视觉模式和图像中得到了揭示。 这样可以更快速、更方便、更准确地做出预测。

地理空间信息系统 (GIS)特别与可视化表现中数据的物理映射息息相关。 例如,当飓风地图(显示位置和时间)与另一层显示潜在雷击区域的图层相叠加时,您就会看到 GIS 所发挥的作用。

参阅学术会议:利用地理空间分析降低业务风险

地理空间数据类型和实例

地理空间数据类型
地理空间数据是与某种类型的地理指标一起记录的信息。 地理空间数据有两种主要形式:矢量数据和栅格数据。

矢量数据是点、线和多边形表示房产、城市、道路、山脉和水体等特征的数据。 例如,使用矢量数据的视觉表示可能包含由点表示的房屋、由线表示的道路和由多边形表示的整个城镇。

栅格数据是根据行和栏进行标识的像素化或网格化的单元格。 栅格数据产生的图像,例如照片和卫星图像,实质上要更加复杂。

 

地理空间数据示例
地理空间数据示例包括:

  • 矢量和属性: 对于如点、线和多边形等位置的描述性信息
  • 点云: 可以作为 3D 模型重新构建的一组共同定位的图表绘制点
  • 栅格和卫星图像: 从上方拍摄我们世界的高分辨率图像
  • 人口普查数据: 公布指定地理区域相关的人口普查数据,用于研究社区趋势
  • 手机数据由卫星传送的呼叫,基于 GPS 位置坐标
  • 所绘制图像:建筑物或其他结构的 CAD 图像,提供地理信息和建筑数据
  • 社交媒体数据: 数据科学家可以研究社交媒体上的帖子,确定新兴趋势
查看更多地理空间数据应用实例

地理空间技术
地理空间技术是指收集、存储和组织地理信息的全部技术。 其中包括卫星技术,可以进行地理测绘和地球分析。 地理空间技术在若干相关技术中都有所应用,如地理信息系统 (GIS),全球定位系统 (GPS),地理围栏和遥感。

 

地理空间技术和 Python
广受欢迎的编程语言 Python 非常适合处理地理空间数据,能够容纳矢量数据和栅格数据,这两种是地理空间数据的典型表示方式。 可以使用 Fiona 和 GeoPandas 等程序处理矢量数据。 可以使用诸如 xarray 等程序处理栅格数据。


地理空间大数据挑战

处理大量地理空间数据集面临着许多挑战。 出于这个原因,许多企业都在努力充分利用地理空间数据的优势。

首先,有大量的地理空间数据。 例如,据估计,每天会生成 100 TB 的天气相关数据。 仅这一点就给大多数企业带来了巨大的储存和访问问题。 地理空间数据还存储在许多不同的文件中,给找到解决特定问题所需数据的文件带来困难。

此外,地理空间数据以许多不同的格式储存,并根据不同的标准进行校准。 任何比较、合并或映射数据的工作都首先需要对大量的数据进行清除和重新格式化。

最后,处理原始地理空间数据需要专业知识和应用高等数学来完成必要任务,例如数据层的地理空间对齐。 除非分析人员十分精通,并经验丰富,否则他们将无法从数据获取价值,也难以朝着企业的业务目标迈进。


地理空间数据收集与管理

地理空间数据收集
因为企业通常需要的地理空间数据量非常巨大,所以他们希望使用服务来获取经过精心策划的地理空间数据。

无论您从何处获取地理空间数据,数据质量必须始终保证。 数据匮乏会导致模型使用极少或受限。 (警示名言“数据不良,洞察不良”经证明千真万确。) 这似乎不言而喻,企业可以从适当使用管理和策划数据的解决方案中受益,这样任何“垃圾”数据都会得到恰当处理。

 

地理空间数据管理
现在的数据如此丰富,管理数据就变得相当重要。 许多企业发现自身被数据淹没,于是他们求助内部的数据科学家帮助管理数据。 据估计,多达 90% 的数据科学家的时间都花在了数据策划活动上,包括组织、“清理”和重新格式化数据。 这样一来,这些数据科学家每一工作日中只有 10% 的时间用于分析数据趋势,并利用这些洞察帮助制定业务策略。

公司采用IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite等解决方案进行数据收集和数据管理时,就可以更高效地执行这两项活动。 该解决方案可以扩展,而且基于云,能够适应不同的文件格式。 通过使用精心策划的优化信息数据库,数据科学家可以有更多时间专注于如何使用分析洞察,将其转化为企业进展和业务影响。 


使用地理空间数据的好处

预先警告

通过数据异常,地理空间数据可以提示企业即将有会影响企业的变化。

加深了解

使用地理空间数据可以为企业提供证明,说明为什么有些分析解决方案行得通,有的却行不通。

提高效率

企业可以利用地理空间数据所提供数字的精度,提高公司运营的整体效率。


地理空间分析与分析

虽然地理空间分析由 GIS 赋权,最初用于地质学、生态学和流行病学等生命科学方面,但在此之后,地理空间分析在大多数行业的使用都愈发显现。 现在它的应用触及国防和社会科学等多个行业。 地理空间分析产生的洞察影响着和自然资源管理和国家情报同等重要的问题。

地理空间分析有助于同时研究多种事情,监视数百甚至数千个事件,并从中收集相关数据。 这为各种规模的企业提供了利用数据做出更明智业务决策的机会:

  • 公用事业供应商可以分析数十万英里的输电线的性能。
  • 连锁餐厅可以利用地理空间分析技术来跟踪食品供应商将到的货物。
  • 风能和太阳能装置可以通过精准定位本地资产来分析环境条件。

近年来,由于物联网 (IoT) 内部的相对爆炸式发展,分析大量数据的工作更具挑战性。 各种类型和用途的物体和设备现在都设计为能够传输与该设备的性能或协议相关的数据。 这对地理空间分析是个好消息,因为地理空间分析需要大量的数据来收集有价值的洞察。

 

地理空间分析
通过地理空间分析收集的数据,与根据时间和空间组织数据,最大限度地提高数据影响的增强视觉方法相结合,就是地理空间分析。

当数据以这种方式可视化时,研究数据的人更容易发现可能在起作用的趋势的迹象。 地理空间分析能够有效地传达变化情况的形状和能量。 随着这种情况的相关数据收集越来越多,就越容易发现这种情况中的细微差别。


地理空间分析市场与行业

地理空间分析市场目前增长可观且稳定,事实上在审查中,到 2025 年,该市场的价值预计将增长到 963 亿美元,在 5 年期间实现 12.9 %的年销售额增长。¹

 

地理空间行业应用
以下是不同行业使用地理空间分析的方式:

  • 政府可以采纳健康、疾病和天气的相关洞察,并在自然灾害或紧急健康事件发生时,利用这些洞察更好地向公众提供建议。
  • 电力设施供应商可以利用数据来帮助预测可能发生的服务中断、优化维护和工作人员安排。
  • 保险公司可以更精准地预测风险,并告诫投保人他们可能很快会面临的潜在问题。
  • 农场和农业贷款人可以改进评估信用风险评分的方法,减少不良贷款。
COVID-19 地图绘制

根据人口数据、直播视频、地图和天气,使用地理空间分析模型绘制 COVID-19 地图。

了解地理空间分析和 COVID-19
植被管理

通过用户定义的功能 (UDF),地理空间分析支持参与植被管理的人员评估水和湿度水平。

了解有关植被管理的信息
龙卷风跟踪

用户定义的功能还可以帮助气象学家处理传入的数据,绘制龙卷风可能在该地区通过的路径。

了解跟踪恶劣天气
野火地图绘制

在一个平台上拥有如卫星图像、人口普查数据和风势预测等相关数据,可以让事故指挥官绘制野火增长和移动的图表。

了解更多野火报告的相关信息

地理空间数据的未来

大多数专家预计,地理空间技术将变得越来越复杂,尤其是在该技术与机器学习和 AI 密切相关的情况下。 

事实上,预计地理空间 AI 即将盛行,为机器学习带来地理元素。 专家们还预测,制图将成为一种服务,根据消费者或行业需求,用户可以租用极高分辨率的定制地图。

此外,还在开发专门依赖地理空间技术的新型交通工具。 它们将使用的更为频繁——无论是携带包裹穿越天空(无人机),还是自动驾驶在路上(自动驾驶汽车)。 这些技术还将应用于新的应用程序,例如使用无人机进行航空测绘。


相关解决方案

提高数据科学的工作效率

这是为地理时空数据设计的平台,包含代表多种类型的超过 6 PB 的数据集。


有效的植被管理

当您将强大的分析应用于服务区域内所有植被的管理时,看看会发生什么。


基于位置的应用程序开发更加轻松

支持基于位置的应用程序,能够处理高级地理空间查询,同时为空间数据利用优化存储。



来源

¹ 地理空间分析市场 (链接位于 ibm.com 外部),市场与市场,2020 年 8 月。

Geospatial data definition

Geospatial data is information that describes objects, events or other features with a location on or near the surface of the earth. Geospatial data typically combines location information (usually coordinates on the earth) and attribute information (the characteristics of the object, event or phenomena concerned) with temporal information (the time or life span at which the location and attributes exist). The location provided may be static in the short term (for example, the location of a piece of equipment, an earthquake event, children living in poverty) or dynamic (for example, a moving vehicle or pedestrian, the spread of an infectious disease).

Geospatial data typically involves large sets of spatial data gleaned from many diverse sources in varying formats and can include information such as census data, satellite imagery, weather data, cell phone data, drawn images and social media data. Geospatial data is most useful when it can be discovered, shared, analyzed and used in combination with traditional business data.

Geospatial analytics is used to add timing and location to traditional types of data and to build data visualizations. These visualizations can include maps, graphs, statistics and cartograms that show historical changes and current shifts. This additional context allows for a more complete picture of events. Insights that might be overlooked in a massive spreadsheet are revealed in easy-to-recognize visual patterns and images. This can make predictions faster, easier and more accurate.

Geospatial information systems (GIS) relate specifically to the physical mapping of data within a visual representation. For example, when a hurricane map (which shows location and time) is overlaid with another layer showing potential areas for lightning strikes, you’re seeing GIS in action.


Types and examples of geospatial data

Types of geospatial data

Geospatial data is information recorded in conjunction with a geographic indicator of some type. There are two primary forms of geospatial data: vector data and raster data.

Vector data is data in which points, lines and polygons represent features such as properties, cities, roads, mountains and bodies of water. For example, a visual representation using vector data might include houses represented by points, roads represented by lines and entire towns represented by polygons.

Raster data is pixelated or gridded cells which are identified according to row and column. Raster data creates imagery that’s substantially more complex, such as photographs and satellite images.

 

Examples of geospatial data

Examples of geospatial data include:

  • Vectors and attributes: Descriptive information about a location such as points, lines and polygons
  • Point clouds: A collection of co-located charted points that can be recontextured as 3D models
  • Raster and satellite imagery: High-resolution images of our world, taken from above
  • Census data: Released census data tied to specific geographic areas, for the study of community trends
  • Cell phone data: Calls routed by satellite, based on GPS location coordinates
  • Drawn images: CAD images of buildings or other structures, delivering geographic information as well as architectural data
  • Social media data: Social media posts that data scientists can study to identify emerging trends

Geospatial big data challenges

Dealing with large geospatial data sets presents many challenges. For this reason, many organizations struggle to take full advantage of geospatial data.

First, there is the sheer volume of geospatial data. For example, it is estimated that 100 TB of weather-related data is generated daily. This alone presents considerable storage and access problems for most organizations. Geospatial data is also stored across many different files, which makes it difficult to find the files that contain the data needed to solve your specific problem.

In addition, geospatial data is stored in many different formats and calibrated by different standards. Any effort to compare, combine or map data first requires a significant amount of data scrubbing and reformatting.

Finally, working with raw geospatial data requires specialized knowledge and the application of advanced mathematics to conduct necessary tasks, such as geospatial alignment of data layers. Unless analysts are proficient and experienced at this work, they will not get value from the data or make progress toward their organization’s business goals.


Geospatial data collection and management

Geospatial data collection

Because the sheer volume of geospatial data routinely required by enterprises is prohibitively large, many organizations look to using a service to obtain curated geospatial data.

Regardless of where you source your geospatial data, data quality must always be maintained. Poor data results in models of little or limited use. (The cautionary phrase “Bad data in — bad insights out” proves brutally true.) It seems self-evident that organizations can benefit significantly from having a solution in place that curates and checks data, so any “garbage” data gets properly accounted for.

 

Geospatial data management

With so much data now in abundance, managing it takes on considerable importance. Many organizations are finding themselves overrun with data and are turning to their in-house data scientists to help them manage it. It has been estimated that as much as 90% of data scientists’ time is spent on data-curation activities, including organizing, “cleaning” and reformatting data. That leaves those data scientists with only 10% of their workday to devote to analyzing data trends and using those insights to help shape business policy.

When a company turns over data collection and management to a solution such as IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite, both data collection and data management activities can be executed more efficiently. The solution is scalable, cloud-based and able to accommodate different file formats. By using a curated database of optimized information, data scientists can have more time to concentrate on how to use analytic insights and convert them into organizational progress and business impact. 


Benefits of using geospatial data

Advance warnings

Through data anomalies, geospatial data can give organizations a heads-up regarding incoming changes set to affect their enterprise.

Deeper understanding

Using geospatial data can provide organizations with evidence of why and how some analytics solutions work well while others don’t.

Heightened efficiency

Organizations can use the numerical precision provided by geospatial data to improve the overall efficiency of company operations.


Geospatial analysis and analytics

Although geospatial analysis, as empowered by GIS, was originally used in connection with life sciences such as geology, ecology and epidemiology, its use has since become manifest throughout most industries. Its applications now touch industries as diverse as defense and social sciences. And the insights that geospatial analysis generates affect matters as critically important as natural resource management and national intelligence.

Geospatial analysis lends itself to the study of many things at once, monitoring hundreds or even thousands of events and collecting pertinent data from them. This provides enterprises of all sizes the chance to leverage data to make more informed business decisions:

  • Utilities providers can analyze the performance of hundreds of thousands of miles of power lines.
  • Restaurant chains can use geospatial analysis techniques to track incoming shipments from food providers.
  • Wind and solar installations can analyze environmental conditions by pinpointing local assets.

Efforts to analyze massive amounts of data have become more challenging in recent years due to a relative explosion within the Internet of Things (IoT). Objects and devices of all types and purposes are now being engineered to be able to transmit data relevant to that device’s performance or protocols. That’s good news for geospatial analysis, which involves a profusion of data in order to glean valuable insights.

 

Geospatial analytics

When the collection of data achieved through geospatial analysis is combined with a heightened visual approach that maximizes the data’s impact by organizing it according to time and space, that is geospatial analytics.

When data is made visual in this way, it makes it easier for those studying it to derive indications about trends that might be at work. Geospatial analytics is able to effectively convey the shape and the energy of a changing situation. And as increasing amounts of data are gathered about that scenario, it becomes easier to spot even more subtle nuances within that situation.


Geospatial analytics market and industry

The geospatial analytics market is presently experiencing considerable and steady growth; in fact, the market is expected to grow in value to USD 96.3 billion by 2025, achieving a 12.9% annual sales growth during the 5-year period under review.¹

 

Geospatial applications by industry

Here’s how different industries are using geospatial analytics:

  • Governments can take insights about health, disease and weather and use them to better advise the public when a natural disaster strikes, or an emergency health event occurs.
  • Electric utilities providers can use data to help predict possible service disruptions and optimize maintenance and crew schedules.
  • Insurers can do a more accurate job of projecting risks and warning policy holders about potential issues they may soon be facing.
  • Farm and agricultural lenders can improve the methodology they use to assess credit risk scores and reduce bad loan placements.

What is geospatial data used for?

COVID-19 mapping

COVID-19 mapping is performed using geospatial analytic models, based on population data, livestreaming video, maps and weather.

Vegetation management

Through user defined functions (UDFs), geospatial analytics enables those involved in vegetation management to assess water and moisture levels.

Tornado tracking

User defined functions are also useful at helping meteorologists work with incoming data to chart the path of tornadoes that could be moving through an area.

Wildfire mapping

Having relevant data — such as satellite imagery, census data and wind forecasts — in one platform lets incident commanders chart wildfire growth and movement.


Geospatial data technology

Geospatial technology

Geospatial technology refers to all the technology required for the collecting, storing and organizing of geographic information. It includes the satellite technology which allowed for the geographic mapping and analysis of Earth. Geospatial technology can be found in several related technologies, such as Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Global Positioning Systems (GPS), geofencing and remote sensing.

 

Geospatial technology and Python

The popular programming language Python is well suited to working with geospatial data and is capable of accommodating both vector data and raster data, the two ways in which geospatial data are typically represented. Vector data can be worked with by using programs such as Fiona and GeoPandas. Raster data can be worked with by using a program such as xarray.


Geospatial data future

Most experts expect geospatial technology to become increasingly sophisticated, especially as that technology comes into closer contact with machine learning and AI. 

In fact, it is expected that geospatial AI will also come into its own, bringing a geographic element to machine learning. Experts also forecast the arrival of mapping as a service, in which custom maps of remarkably high resolution can be produced for hire, based on consumer or industrial need.

Also in development are new types of vehicles that rely expressly on geospatial technology. They will be used in greater frequency — whether they traverse the sky carrying packages (drones) or drive themselves down streets (autonomous vehicles). New applications for these technologies will also be found, such as using drones for aerial-mapping purposes.

Geospatial data resources

Introduction to geospatial data using Python

Master fundamentals of geospatial data for Python, including the difference between vector and raster data, working with coordinate systems, and geospatial data samples.

Skills badge: Geospatial Analytics V4.2.x

Increase the value of your personal brand by enhancing your skill set through the IBM Data and AI Learning Product Skills Validation Digital Badge Program.

Focus on weather

Get a fast crash course in how weather affects different industries by viewing the subject through 6 topics conveniently divided for fast learning.

Solutions

Boost data science productivity

Meet the platform engineered for geospatial-temporal data, complete with over 6 PB of datasets representing a huge array of categories.

Effective vegetation management

See what happens when you apply powerful analytics to the management of all vegetation within a service territory.

Easier location-based app development

Power location-based apps and capably handle advanced geospatial queries while utilizing storage optimized for spatial data.

Footnote

¹ Geospatial Analytics Market (Link resides outside ibm.com), Markets and Markets, August 2020.