AI 如何帮助减少垃圾填埋场废物
Hera 将基于 AI 的自动化引入循环经济
在一家回收工厂,一名工人用铲子推着塑料瓶进行回收

AI 如何帮助解决全球最严峻的各种挑战?

这并非易事。当您在处理复杂的现实问题时,您无法一键开关就让 AI 给出答案。除了艰苦的工作之外,还需具备勇于尝试以及真正拥抱变化的决心。

意大利领先的多功能公用事业公司 Hera SpA 正在将这些优点变为实效,以便探索 AI 如何通过引导人们采用更多可重复使用的材料,从而产生对环境更为有利的结果,进而最大限度地协助减少垃圾填埋场废物。

Hera 采用 IBM 车库创新™(一种数字化转型框架)来帮助设计、构建和扩展 AI 解决方案。Hera 已与 IBM Consulting 开展合作,应用 IBM Cloud Paks 对其应用程序基础架构进行现代化改造,以实现更大的创新开放性。

超大容量

 

在 89 家工厂中,Hera 每年可处理 630 万吨废物

繁重的手动工作量

 

目前,回收流程需 1,400 人手动分拣出可重复使用的材料

Hera 已坚定地选择循环经济。 Andrea Bonetti IT 架构经理 Hera SpA
为环境管理引入创新

作为电力、水循环管理和供暖服务的提供商,同时也是意大利最大的废物管理和回收公司,Hera 身处减少废物以及尽可能减轻环境破坏这一当前斗争的最前线。该公司在创新方面素有盛誉,并为环境管理注入了前瞻性精神。

Hera 的 IT 架构经理 Andrea Bonetti 解释道:“Hera 已坚定地选择循环经济。”传统的回收实践在再利用循环中可能只是一个弧线,而 Hera 提供的集成解决方案将有助于完成这一循环。以塑料为例,Hera 不仅会回收废物,还会将其融入到本身可回收的高质量新产品的生产中。“如今,在我们的土地上,大部分废物都得到了回收”,Bonetti 说道。“只有一小部分废物最终会被焚烧,但这也是在垃圾焚烧发电厂中完成,从而生成新能源。”

当然,回收流程取决于从大量垃圾中快速分拣并分离出可重复使用的材料。正是在此流程中,Bonetti 和他的同事、Hera 的 IT 创新主管 Alessandro Collina 决定探索由 AI 驱动的自动化如何提高效率,并协助将更多材料用于新用途。

这一挑战包含两部分。其中一部分是评估 AI 在垃圾分类方面的潜力。另一部分则是能灵活地整合这种创新,并将其从实验室扩展到企业层面。

 

在垃圾中寻宝

目前,Hera 人员会手动分析废物。当卡车在工厂入口处卸货并将垃圾推向传送带时,观察员会监视可回收材料(包括塑料、玻璃、铝制品和有机材料),并协助指导下游分类。这项工作本身就很繁重,但同时,我们还要从规模的角度来考虑:89 家工厂共有 1,400 名观察员。每年会处理 630 万吨废物。换言之,在显著提高效率方面还大有潜力可挖。

我们的愿景是捕获传入垃圾的视频,并让 AI 识别各种物品和材料的特征,从而挑选出可回收和再利用的部分。“这可能会对回收和处置活动的成本产生决定性影响,而这也是循环经济的重点”,Bonetti 解释道。

为了实现这一愿景,Bonetti 解释说:“我们需要一个能够真正超越概念验证并通过工作方法和有效工具来推进项目的合作伙伴。我们认为,IBM 车库创新能够提供这一切。”

对于以用户为中心的协作式 IBM 车库创新团队来说,制定解决方案的第一步是举行设计思维研讨会,其中涉及获取相关工作环境的第一手经验。“车库创新团队的成员必须‘亲自动手’—在此情况下,这比喻可谓恰如其分”,Bonetti 说道。“我们的经验告诉我们,应该让机器学习专家完全沉浸在现实中,而现实往往会比实验室复杂得多。于是,车库创新团队前去参观某家工厂。根据定义,废物会发生变形且挤成一堆,并且照明条件也并非一成不变。这可不像在 Facebook 照片中识别小猫!”

事实上,Hera 和 IBM 车库创新团队很快意识到这些工厂不适合捕获视频。在极短时间内,就有太多材料流过。相反,他们在上游找到了更合适的有利位置。

通过在垃圾车上安装摄像头,他们可以拍摄从垃圾箱中掉出的少量材料。“这仍然是一个极其快速的图像通道”,Bonetti 表示。“但是,对这些图像的研究可以让我们在收集过程中(而不是在工厂内部)识别废物定性评估的重要模式,而这可以缩短转化流程所需的时间和成本。”

此外,Hera 团队希望将废物质量数据与收集地点关联起来,从而帮助公司制定有针对性的信息活动来帮助人们更好地区分废物。

通过采用 IBM 车库创新的敏捷方法,Hera 和 IBM 车库创新团队在八周内便共同研发并发布了最简化可实施产品 (MVP),该产品结合了 IBM Watson StudioIBM Watson Machine Learning 技术,从而为该用例生成特定工具,其中包括用于识别关键废物模式的机器学习模型。Collina 表示:“有了 IBM 工具,我们不再是纸上谈兵,而是在更快、更敏捷的流程中付诸实践。”

Collina 继续说道:“现在,最紧迫的挑战是了解如何将其工业化。例如,我们如何在一辆卡车上制作原型,这可能需要一年时间,同时光照和天气条件也会发生变化,并且要在一整年里都能继续获得正确的洞察信息。”

应用程序现代化:IT 的循环经济

同时,为了确保其应用程序基础架构能与垃圾分类 AI 进行对接,Hera 还将循环经济理念应用到其内部 IT 中。几年前,Hera 与 IBM 合作开发了一款名为“Beam”的定制应用程序。该应用程序通过从天然气智能仪表收集近乎实时的数据来支持 Hera 的天然气业务。Bonetti、Collina 和团队发现将 Beam 的功能重新用于环境服务和废物收集等其他业务领域的潜力,从更多种设备中提取其他类型的信息,其中包括卡车所安装摄像头拍摄的视频片段。

但是,首先,他们需要对应用程序进行现代化改造。“Beam 仍然很好地完成了原来的任务”,Bonetti 说道。“但是底层的整体架构限制了应用程序的增长和演进。”

通过使用 IBM Cloud Paks,Hera 摆脱了整体架构的限制并且创建了 Beam IoT,这种解决方案灵活开放,可以重新调整用途以支持跨多公用事业业务的各种用例。

“我们的系统进化策略基于三个指导方针”,Bonetti 表示。“云原生开发、集成架构以及通过日益精细化的数据利用来创造价值。这三个指导方针与 Hera 用于将 Beam 变成 Beam IoT 的 IBM 解决方案非常吻合:

  • IBM WebSphere Liberty 和 IBM Transformation Advisor 解决方案(现已在 IBM WebSphere Hybrid Edition 中推出)帮助 Hera 将单一应用程序转换为灵活的微服务架构,从而简化了持续开展的各项适应措施,并对云原生开发提供支持。
  • IBM Cloud Pak for Integration 推出了新的集成工具,以将其用于基于 API 的自动化集成,从而将 Beam 的功能延伸到智能电表用例之外。
  • IBM Cloud Pak for Data 提供与 MVP 中内置功能相同的 IBM Watson 功能,从而帮助 Hera 应用 AI 来自动组织和分析废物数据,并生成可为分类和回收提供辅助信息的洞察。
  •  Red Hat OpenShift 容器平台是所有 IBM Cloud Paks 的其中一部分,可帮助 Hera 在合作伙伴托管的私有云的完全容器化架构中运行 Beam IoT。
循环经济中的新动力

Hera 与 IBM 车库创新以及 IBM Cloud Paks 和 WebSphere 解决方案所完成的工作并非一个有限项目,而是循环的一部分。

Bonetti、Collina 和他们的同事与 IBM 车库创新团队开展合作,从而学习如何训练 AI 来查找可回收废物,以及如何将此类创新扩展到日常环境中。他们不仅会培养出新的、有价值的专业知识,同时还会找到将 AI 应用于公用事业行业的其他手段。

Hera 为 Beam IoT 提供的现代化和灵活性为关键系统注入了更高的可靠性和弹性,同时使其能够持续适应和扩展。

最重要的是,由于这些举措可以显著提高回收废物用于其他用途的成本效率,因此它们有可能会影响整个行业,从而为循环经济注入更大动力,并使地球能够回收一些绿色资源。

开始使用 IBM Consulting

Gruppo Hera 徽标
关于 Hera SpA

Hera (链接位于 ibm.com 外部) 是意大利领先的多功能公用事业公司,该公司提供能源分配、能源销售、水循环管理、供暖以及废物与回收服务。该公司的业务遍及艾米利亚-罗马涅、威尼托和弗留利地区,拥有 8,000 多名员工,年收入超过 60 亿欧元。

采取后续步骤

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多案例 联系 IBM Energinet

北欧能源中心依靠 IBM 车库创新和 Cloud Pak for Data 来设计绿色能源的未来

阅读博客
Decision Makers Ltd.

对淡水的新见解

阅读成功案例
赫尔辛基地区交通管理局

保证赫尔辛基的正常运转

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022。IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 3 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Cloud Paks、IBM Garage、IBM Watson 和 WebSphere 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。有关 IBM 商标的最新清单,请访问网站 ibm.com/trademark

Red Hat 和 OpenShift 是 Red Hat, Inc. 或其子公司在美国和其他国家或地区的注册商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

How AI can help reduce landfill waste

Hera brings AI-based automation to the circular economy
by Rob Spencer
5-minute read

How can AI help address the world’s most serious challenges?

It won’t be simple. When you’re dealing with complex, real-world problems, you can’t just flip a switch and have AI give you the answer. In addition to painstaking work, it will take a willingness to experiment and real openness to change.

Hera SpA, a leading multi-utility in Italy, is putting these virtues to work as it explores how AI can help minimize landfill waste by directing more reusable material to outcomes that are better for the environment.

HERA control room

Across 89 plants, Hera treats

6.3 million

tons of waste each year

Currently, the recycling process requires

1,400

people to manually spot reusable material

Hera has adopted, with absolute conviction, the circular economy.
Andrea Bonetti
Manager of IT Architecture, Hera SpA
Bringing innovation to environmental stewardship

As a provider of electricity, water cycle management and heating services, and as Italy’s largest waste management and recycling company, Hera is on the front lines of today’s battle to reduce waste and minimize environmental damage. The company has a reputation as an innovator, and it is bringing a forward-looking spirit to environmental stewardship.

Andrea Bonetti, Hera’s Manager of IT Architecture, explains, “Hera has adopted, with absolute conviction, the circular economy.” Where traditional recycling practices may be one arc in the cycle of re-use, Hera offers integrated solutions that help complete the circle. With plastics, for example, it not only recovers waste but also incorporates it into production of high-quality new products that are themselves recyclable. “Today, in our territories, most of the waste is recovered,” says Bonetti. “Only a small portion ends up burnt, but this is burnt in waste-to-energy plants, producing new energy.”

Rolls of recycled material stacked
Stack of compressed plastic containers

The recovery process, of course, depends on quickly finding and separating reusable material from vast quantities of refuse. It was this process where Bonetti and his colleague, Alessandro Collina, Hera’s Head of IT Innovation, decided to explore how AI-powered automation could improve efficiency and help channel more material to new use.

The challenge is twofold. Evaluating the potential of AI for waste sorting is one part. The other part is having the flexibility to incorporate this kind of innovation and scale it from laboratory to enterprise dimensions.

For both sides of the challenge, Hera decided to work with IBM. The company engaged IBM Garage™ — a framework for digital transformation — to help design, build and scale an AI solution. And Hera worked with IBM® Global Business Services® and applied IBM Cloud Paks® to modernize its application infrastructure for greater openness to innovation.

Finding the treasure in the trash

Currently, Hera personnel analyze waste manually. As trucks unload at the entrance to the plants and the trash is pushed toward conveyors, spotters watch for recoverable materials — including plastics, glass, aluminum and organic material — and help direct downstream sorting. It’s an onerous job on its own; but consider it at scale: 1,400 spotters across 89 plants. 6.3 million tons of waste treated every year. In other words, there is potential for much greater efficiency.

The vision is to capture video of incoming trash and have AI recognize characteristics of items and materials that would qualify them for recovery and reuse. “This could have a decisive impact on the costs of recovery and disposal activities, which is the focus of the circular economy,” explains Bonetti.

To realize this vision, Bonetti explains, “We needed a partner who could really go beyond a proof of concept and facilitate the project with both working methodologies and effective tools. We thought we could find all this in the IBM Garage.”

Recycling workers on sorting line
Garbage truck with worker

For the user-centered and collaborative IBM Garage team, the first step toward a solution was a design thinking workshop that involved gaining firsthand experience of the working environment. “The guys at the Garage had to ‘get their hands dirty’ — a particularly fitting metaphor in this case,” says Bonetti. “We have learned from experience to immerse machine learning specialists in reality, which is always much more complex than the laboratory. So the Garage team came to see a plant. Waste is, by definition, deformed and crowded, and the lighting conditions are variable. It is not like recognizing kittens in Facebook photos!”

In fact, the Hera and IBM Garage teams quickly recognized that the plants were not the right place to capture video. There was too much material going by in too little time. Instead, they identified a better vantage point upstream.

By mounting cameras on trash trucks, they could video the smaller amounts of material falling out of bins. “It’s still an extremely rapid passage of images,” says Bonetti. “But the study of these images has allowed us to identify significant patterns for the qualitative evaluation of the waste during the collection process, not inside the plant, which could improve the time and cost of the transformation process.”

In addition, the Hera team hopes to correlate waste-quality data with collection locations, helping the company develop targeted information campaigns to help people better differentiate between waste items.

Following the agile IBM Garage Methodology, in eight weeks Hera and the IBM Garage team co-created and released a minimum viable product (MVP) that incorporates IBM Watson® Studio and IBM Watson Machine Learning technology to generate a specific tool for the use case, including a machine learning model to recognize the key waste patterns. According to Collina, “The IBM tools allowed us to take thoughts that previously were only written on paper and make them reality in a much faster and more agile process.”

Collina continues: “Now, the most urgent challenge is to understand how this can be industrialized. How can we do a prototype, for example, on a single truck for perhaps a year, with all the variations in lighting and weather, and continue getting the right insight throughout the year.”

Woman throwing plastic trash into recycling bin
App modernization: the circular economy of IT
Monitor with waste sorting plant depiction

Meanwhile, to ensure its application infrastructure could accommodate the waste-sorting AI, Hera applied the circular economy concept to its internal IT. Some years ago, Hera had worked with IBM to develop a custom application called “Beam,” which supports Hera’s gas business by collecting near-real-time data from gas smart-meters. Bonetti, Collina and team saw the potential to recycle Beam’s functionality for other business areas such as environmental services and waste collection, pulling other types of information from a wider array of devices — including video footage from truck-mounted cameras.

First, however, they needed to modernize the app. “Beam still performed its original task very well,” says Bonetti. “But an underlying monolithic architecture constrained the application’s growth and evolution.”

Using IBM Cloud Paks, Hera freed itself from the constraints of the monolith and created Beam IoT, a flexible, open solution that can be repurposed to support use cases across the multi-utility business.

“Our systems evolution strategy rests on three guidelines,” says Bonetti. “Cloud native development, integration architecture, and increasingly refined use of data to create value. Those three guidelines map perfectly to the IBM solutions that Hera used to turn Beam into Beam IoT:

  • IBM WebSphere® Liberty and IBM Transformation Advisor solutions — now available in IBM WebSphere Hybrid Edition — helped Hera convert the monolithic application to a flexible microservice architecture that eases ongoing adaptations and supports cloud-native development.
  • IBM Cloud Paks for Integration introduced new integration tools for automated, API-based integrations that extend Beam’s capabilities beyond the smart-meter use case.
  • IBM Cloud Paks for Data supplies the same IBM Watson capabilities built into the MVP, helping Hera apply AI to automate the organization and analysis of waste data and the generation of insights that inform sorting and recovery.
  • The Red Hat® OpenShift® container platform, which is part of all IBM Cloud Paks, helps Hera run Beam IoT in a fully containerized architecture in a private cloud hosted by a partner.
  • New momentum in the circular economy
    Boxes with Separate collection of waste for recycling

    The work Hera is doing with IBM Garage and the IBM Cloud Paks and WebSphere solutions is not a finite project; it is part of a cycle.

    As Bonetti, Collina, and their colleagues work with the IBM Garage team to learn how to train AI to find recoverable waste, and how to scale such an innovation to the everyday environment, they will not only cultivate new and valuable expertise; they will also identify other ways to put AI to work in the utilities industry.

    The modernization and flexibility Hera has brought to Beam IoT instills greater reliability and resilience in a critical system while opening it up to ongoing adaptation and expansion.

    And most important, because these efforts could drastically improve the cost efficiency of reclaiming waste for other uses, they have the potential to influence an industry, generating greater momentum in the circular economy and allowing the world to reclaim some of its green.

    Hera SpA logo

    About Hera SpA

    HeraExternal Link is a leading multi-utility in Italy, providing energy distribution, energy sales, water cycle management, heating, and waste and recycling services. It operates across the Emilia-Romagna, Veneto and Friuli regions, employing more than 8,000 people and earning more than €6 billion in yearly revenue.

    Solution components
    Hera SpA logo

    About Hera SpA

    HeraExternal Link is a leading multi-utility in Italy, providing energy distribution, energy sales, water cycle management, heating, and waste and recycling services. It operates across the Emilia-Romagna, Veneto and Friuli regions, employing more than 8,000 people and earning more than €6 billion in yearly revenue.

    Solution components