Qu'est-ce que la gestion des exigences ?

Pourquoi de bonnes exigences techniques sont-elles importantes pour le développement de logiciels et de produits ? Des exigences claires, concises et exemptes d'erreurs aident les équipes d'ingénieurs à détecter rapidement les erreurs, ce qui réduit les coûts et les risques du projet.

Cropped shot of a group of young coworkers working in a dimly-lit officehttp://195.154.178.81/DATA/i_collage/pi/shoots/783867.jpg

Fonctionnement de gestion des exigences

L'objectif de la gestion des exigences est de s'assurer que les objectifs de développement du produit sont atteints avec succès. Il s'agit d'un ensemble de techniques permettant de documenter, d'analyser, de hiérarchiser et de convenir des exigences, de sorte que les équipes d'ingénieurs disposent toujours d'exigences actuelles et approuvées. La gestion des exigences permet d'éviter les erreurs en suivant l'évolution des exigences et en favorisant la communication avec les parties prenantes dès le début d'un projet et tout au long du cycle de vie de l'ingénierie.


L'importance de la gestion des exigences

L'internet des objets (IoT) modifie non seulement le fonctionnement des produits, mais aussi leur conception et leur développement. Les produits deviennent de plus en plus complexes, avec davantage de lignes de code et de logiciels supplémentaires, dont certains permettent une connectivité encore plus grande. Avec la gestion des exigences, vous pouvez surmonter la complexité et les interdépendances qui existent dans les cycles de vie de l'ingénierie d'aujourd'hui pour rationaliser le développement des produits et accélérer le déploiement.

Les problèmes de gestion des exigences sont souvent cités comme des causes majeures d'échec des projets. 
Des exigences mal définies peuvent entraîner des dérives, des retards dans les projets, des dépassements de coûts et une qualité médiocre des produits qui ne répondent pas aux besoins des clients et aux exigences de sécurité. 

L'existence d'un plan de gestion des exigences est essentielle à la réussite d'un projet, car il permet aux équipes d'ingénieurs de contrôler la portée et de diriger le cycle de développement du produit. Le logiciel de gestion des exigences vous fournit les outils nécessaires à l'exécution de ce plan, ce qui vous permet de réduire les coûts, d'accélérer la mise sur le marché et d'améliorer le contrôle de la qualité.


Planification et processus de gestion des exigences

Plan de gestion des exigences (RMP)
Un plan de gestion des exigences (RPM) permet d'expliquer comment vous allez recevoir, analyser, documenter et gérer toutes les exigences d'un projet. Le plan couvre généralement tout, de la collecte initiale d'informations sur le projet de haut niveau aux exigences plus détaillées du produit qui pourraient être recueillies tout au long du cycle de vie d'un projet. Les éléments clés à définir dans un plan de gestion des exigences sont la vue d'ensemble du projet, le processus de collecte des exigences, les rôles et responsabilités, les outils et la traçabilité.

Processus de gestion des exigences
Lorsque vous recherchez des outils de gestion des exigences, vous devez tenir compte de quelques caractéristiques essentielles.

Un processus type de gestion des exigences complète le modèle en V de l'ingénierie système par les étapes suivantes :

  • Recueillir les exigences initiales des parties prenantes
  • Analyser les exigences
  • Définir et enregistrer les exigences
  • Prioriser les exigences
  • S'accorder sur les exigences et les approuver
  • Tracer les exigences vers les éléments de travail
  • Interroger les parties prenantes après la mise en œuvre sur les changements nécessaires aux exigences
  • Utiliser la gestion des tests pour vérifier et valider les exigences du système
  • Évaluer l'impact des changements
  • Réviser les exigences
  • Documenter les changements

En suivant ces étapes, les équipes d'ingénierie sont en mesure de maîtriser la complexité inhérente au développement de produits connectés intelligents. L'utilisation d'une solution de gestion des exigences permet de rationaliser le processus, afin d'optimiser votre vitesse de mise sur le marché et d'élargir vos possibilités tout en améliorant la qualité.

Gestion numérique des exigences
La gestion numérique des exigences est un moyen avantageux de saisir, de suivre, d'analyser et de gérer les modifications des exigences. La gestion numérique permet d'assurer le suivi des modifications dans un lieu central et sécurisé, et de renforcer la collaboration entre les membres de l'équipe. Une transparence accrue réduit les doubles emplois et améliore l'agilité tout en contribuant à garantir le respect des normes et de la conformité.

Attributs des exigences
Pour être considérée comme une « bonne » exigence, une exigence doit présenter certaines caractéristiques, notamment :

  • Spécifique
  • Testable 
  • Claire et concise
  • Exacte
  • Compréhensible
  • Faisable et réaliste
  • Nécessaire

Les ensembles d'exigences doivent également être évalués et doivent être cohérents et non redondants.


Bénéfices de la gestion des exigences

Certains avantages de la gestion des exigences :

  • Réduction des coûts de développement tout au long du cycle de vie
  • Moins de défauts 
  • Minimalisation des risques pour les produits critiques pour la sécurité
  • Livraison plus rapide
  • Réutilisabilité 
  • Traçabilité 
  • Les exigences étant liées aux cas de test
  • Gestion globale de la configuration

Qui est responsable de la gestion des exigences ?

Le directeur produit est généralement responsable de la collecte et de la définition des exigences. Cependant, les exigences peuvent être générées par n'importe quelle partie prenante, y compris les clients, les partenaires, les ventes, le support, la direction, l'ingénierie, les opérations et les membres de l'équipe produit. Une communication constante est nécessaire pour que l'équipe d'ingénieurs comprenne les changements de priorités.


Avantages de la gestion numérique des exigences

Le logiciel de gestion des exigences techniques vous permet de capturer, de suivre, d'analyser et de gérer les modifications apportées aux exigences dans un endroit sécurisé, central et accessible. Cela permet de renforcer la collaboration, d'accroître la transparence et la traçabilité, de réduire les transformations et de développer la convivialité. Une solution numérique améliore également l'agilité des projets tout en facilitant le respect des normes et la conformité aux réglementations.

L'utilisation de la gestion numérique des exigences présente plusieurs avantages :

  • Collaboration en direct : Travailler en temps réel, n'importe où. Les membres de votre équipe peuvent partager des informations dans et entre les documents, où qu'ils se trouvent.
  • Réutilisation : utilisez la même exigence à plusieurs endroits sans avoir à la redéfinir. Vous pouvez créer des lignes de base pour identifier l'état d'une exigence en temps réel; afin de réduire l'occurrence des erreurs de l'utilisateur.
  • Traçabilité : conservez un historique complet des modifications apportées aux exigences afin de pouvoir réagir rapidement aux audits. Votre équipe peut voir ce qui a été modifié, qui l'a modifié et quand il a été modifié.
  • Cohérence : organisez les informations pertinentes de manière logique et facile, de façon à ce que votre équipe et les parties prenantes les comprennent. Vous pouvez trier exigences par priorité, risque, statut et catégorie.

Bonnes pratiques de gestion des exigences

La qualité de vos produits dépend des exigences qui les sous-tendent. Pour que les ingénieurs systèmes puissent gérer la complexité croissante des produits connectés, ils ont besoin d'une meilleure visibilité sur les changements, d'une connaissance plus approfondie des données et d'outils partagés pour favoriser une collaboration globale.

Traçabilité des exigences

Lier les artefacts individuels aux cas de test pour une visibilité totale des changements dans les exigences techniques à mesure qu'ils se produisent. Capturez toutes les annotations, conservez-les et rendez-les facilement accessibles.

Gestion des variantes

Gérez numériquement l'ensemble du processus des versions et des variantes tout en surveillant la progression du système grâce à un tableau de bord partagé. Stockez les données dans un emplacement central et présentez-les sous la forme d'un document.

Conformité de l'ingénierie

Intégrez les normes et réglementations du secteur dans vos exigences, afin d'assurer la conformité dès le début. l'intégration de la conformité dans le cycle de vie de l'ingénierie de bout en bout rend la mise en conformité moins complexe.

Gestion agile

Rationalisez les processus d'ingénierie pour permettre une collaboration mondiale et la réalité d'une source unique de données de référence. Donnez confiance aux équipes qui réalisent le travail en leur montrant la valeur de leurs efforts en temps réel.


Que peut apporter l'IA à la gestion des exigences ?

Grâce à l'IA, les équipes d'ingénieurs peuvent plus facilement repérer les exigences mal rédigées, incomplètes et ambiguës, tout en recevant des conseils en temps réel sur la manière de les améliorer. L'IA Watson note les exigences sur la base d'indicateurs de qualité et présente des suggestions permettant de les rendre plus claires, cohérentes et complètes. En ajoutant l'IA à votre stratégie de gestion des exigences, vous pouvez renforcer la qualité de vos exigences tout en réduisant les erreurs et les coûts.


Solutions connexes

Systems Engineering Requirements Management

Pour que les ingénieurs système puissent gérer la complexité croissante des produits connectés, ils ont besoin d'une meilleure visibilité des changements, d'une compréhension approfondie des données et d'outils partagés pour une collaboration globale.

IBM Engineering Requirements Management DOORS Next

IBM Engineering Requirements Management DOORS Next est une solution évolutive pour optimiser la communication et la collaboration entre les équipes et les parties prenantes pour la vérification des exigences.

Famille IBM Engineering Requirements Management DOORS

La famille IBM Engineering Requirements Management DOORS est une application de gestion des exigences permettant d'optimiser la communication, la collaboration et la vérification des exigences au sein de votre organisation et de votre chaîne d'approvisionnement.

IBM Engineering Requirements Quality Assistant

Utilisez la puissance de Watson AI pour améliorer la qualité des exigences du projet à mesure que vous les rédigez. Maintenant inclus dans la version SaaS d'IBM Engineering Requirements Management DOORS® Next.


Ressources de gestion des exigences

How do you avoid errors in engineering requirements?

The purpose of requirements management is to ensure product development goals are successfully met. It is a set of techniques for documenting, analyzing, prioritizing, and agreeing on requirements so that engineering teams always have current and approved requirements. Requirements management provides a way to avoid errors by keeping track of changes in requirements and fostering communication with stakeholders from the start of a project throughout the engineering lifecycle.


The value of requirements management

The Internet of Things (IoT) is changing not only the way products work, but their design and development. Products are continuously becoming more complex with more lines of code and additional software — some of which allow for even greater connectivity. With requirements management, you can overcome the complexity and interdependencies that exist in today’s engineering lifecycles to streamline product development and accelerate deployment.

Issues in requirements management are often cited as major causes of project failures. 
Having inadequately defined requirements can result in scope creep, project delays, cost overruns, and poor product quality that does not meet customer needs and safety requirements. 

Having a requirements management plan is critical to the success of a project because it enables engineering teams to control the scope and direct the product development lifecycle. Requirements management software provides the tools for you to execute that plan, helping to reduce costs, accelerate time to market and improve quality control.


Requirements management components

Requirements management plan (RMP)

A requirements management plan (RMP) helps explain how you will receive, analyze, document and manage all of the requirements within a project. The plan usually covers everything from initial information gathering of the high-level project to more detailed product requirements that could be gathered throughout the lifecycle of a project. Key items to define in a requirements management plan are the project overview, requirements gathering process, roles and responsibilities, tools, and traceability.

 

Requirements management process

When looking for requirements management tools, there are a few key features to look for.

A typical requirements management process complements the systems engineering V model through these steps:

  • Collect initial requirements from stakeholders
  • Analyze requirements
  • Define and record requirements
  • Prioritize requirements
  • Agree on and approve requirements
  • Trace requirements to work items
  • Query stakeholders after implementation on needed changes to requirements
  • Utilize test management to verify and validate system requirements
  • Assess impact of changes
  • Revise requirements
  • Document changes

By following these steps, engineering teams are able to harness the complexity inherent in developing smart connected products. Using a requirements management solution helps to streamline the process so you can optimize your speed to market and expand your opportunities while improving quality.

 

Digital requirements management

Digital requirements management is a beneficial way to capture, trace, analyze and manage requirements changes. Digital management ensures changes are tracked in a secure, central location, and it allows for strengthened collaboration between team members. Increased transparency minimizes duplicate work and enhances agility while helping to ensure requirements adhere to standards and compliance.

 

Requirements attributes

In order to be considered a “good” requirement, a requirement should have certain characteristics, which include being:

  • Specific
  • Testable 
  • Clear and concise
  • Accurate
  • Understandable
  • Feasible and realistic
  • Necessary

Sets of requirements should also be evaluated and should be consistent and nonredundant.


Benefits of requirements management

Some of the benefits of requirements management include:

  • Lower cost of development across the lifecycle
  • Fewer defects 
  • Minimized risk for safety-critical products
  • Faster delivery
  • Reusability 
  • Traceability 
  • Requirements being tied to test cases
  • Global configuration management

Who is responsible for requirements management?

The product manager is typically responsible for curating and defining requirements. However, requirements can be generated by any stakeholder, including customers, partners, sales, support, management, engineering, operations and product team members. Constant communication is necessary to ensure the engineering team understands changing priorities.


Benefits of digital requirements management

Engineering requirements management software enables you to capture, trace, analyze and manage changes to requirements in a secure, central and accessible location. This strengthens collaboration, increases transparency and traceability, minimizes rework, and expands usability. A digital solution also enhances project agility while making it easier to adhere to standards and maintain regulation compliance.

There are several benefits to using digital requirements management:

  • Live collaboration: Work in real time, anywhere. Your team members can share information in and between documents, wherever they are located.
  • Reuse: Use the same requirement in multiple places without having to redefine it. You can create baselines to identify the state of a requirement in real time to reduce the occurrence of user errors.
  • Traceability: Maintain a full history of changes in requirements so you can respond quickly to audits. Your team can see what changed, who changed it and when it changed.
  • Consistency: Organize relevant information logically and easily in a way your team and stakeholders understand. You can sort requirements by priority, risk, status and category.
     

Best practices for requirements management

Your products are only as good as the requirements that drive them. For systems engineers to manage the growing complexity of connected products, they need better visibility into changes, deeper insight into data and shared tools for global collaboration.

Requirements traceability

Link individual artifacts to test cases for full visibility of changes in engineering requirements as they happen. Capture all annotations, maintain them and make them easily accessible.

Variant management

Digitally manage the entire version and variant process while monitoring the progression of the system through a shared dashboard. Store data in a central location and present it in document format.

Engineering compliance

Incorporate industry standards and regulations into your requirements to achieve compliance early on. Building compliance into the end-to-end engineering lifecycle makes achieving compliance less complex.

Agile management

Streamline engineering processes to enable global collaboration and the reality of a single source of truth. Build confidence in the teams doing the work by showing them the value of their efforts in real time.


How can AI help with requirements management?

Through the use of AI, engineering teams can more easily flag poorly written, incomplete and ambiguous requirements while receiving real-time coaching on how to improve them. Watson AI scores requirements based on quality indicators and will present suggestions that can make them more clear, consistent and complete. By adding AI to your requirements management strategy, you can strengthen the quality of your requirements while reducing errors and costs.

Resources

Bringing AI to Requirements Management

IBM is bringing the power of Watson™ artificial intelligence to help address the need for getting requirements right the first time.

Improve requirements quality by integrating AI to automate simple tasks

Detecting errors in requirements early in a project can help avoid costly rework and delays. By infusing AI into the requirements development phase, teams can spot quality issues right away and correct them before it’s too late.

New ways of working can actually accelerate your team’s productivity

To help address productivity challenges that engineering and product development teams face, IBM is responding with a new solution: IBM Engineering Requirements Management DOORS Next with Quality Assistant, a SaaS solution.

Adopt an end-to-end approach to product development

As products become increasingly complex, the tools needed to design and develop them also become more complex. By integrating stages of the engineering lifecycle, from requirements to modeling and testing, teams can improve product quality and time to market.

Comparison of DOORS and DOORS Next

IBM Engineering Requirements Management DOORS® and IBM Engineering Requirements Management DOORS Next are requirements management products with many similar capabilities. However, the products offer different implementations and strategic opportunities for requirements analysts and design, development and test teams.

IBM solutions

Systems Engineering Requirements Management

For systems engineers to manage the growing complexity of connected products, they need better visibility into changes, deeper insight into data and shared tools for global collaboration.

IBM Engineering Requirements Management DOORS Next

IBM Engineering Requirements Management DOORS Next provides a scalable solution to optimize communication and collaboration among teams and stakeholders for the verification of requirements.

IBM Engineering Requirements Management DOORS Family

IBM Engineering Requirements Management DOORS Family is a requirements management application for optimizing requirements communication, collaboration and verification throughout your organization and supply chain.

IBM Engineering Requirements Quality Assistant

Use the power of Watson AI to improve the quality of project requirements as you write them. Now bundled with IBM Engineering Requirements Management DOORS® Next SaaS version.